• English  English
    Select to close.
    Current Settings are:
      /  English

    Change Preferences:
    Country / Region of Residence:
    Available Languages:
  • |
  • |
  • |
  • 1 888 HOLIDAY
Select to close.
Select to close.
Email or IHG® Rewards Club # PIN
Not a member?Join Today!
Forgot PIN
All fields are required.
 
If you have forgotten or lost your Personal Identification Number (PIN), we can email your PIN to the email address in your IHG® Rewards Club account profile.
If you do not have an email address in your profile, please contact your local IHG® Rewards Club Customer Care  to source your PIN and to update your profile with your email address. When you receive your PIN you can also update your email address viawww.ihgrewardsclub.com/email.
IHG® Rewards Club # Email Address

Not a member?Join Today!
Create PIN
All fields are required.
IHG® Rewards Club # ZIP/Postal Code
First Name Last Name
Please select a 4 number Personal Identification Number (PIN) which will be used to access your IHG® Rewards Club account.
PIN Verify PIN
 
Not a member?Join Today!
Create Email
All fields are required.
Thank you. Your PIN has been created. Please enter your email address so you can use it to log into the site in the future.
Email Address Verify Email Address
 
Email Hotel Get Directions Add to Favourites Print Fact Sheet

Book this Hotel

Best Price Guarantee
1

Reward Nights

When redeeming points for a Reward Night, you may only book one room at a time.


Once you complete your Reward Night reservation you will be given the option to duplicate this reservation.

(e.g. 30 Oct 2014)
(e.g. 31 Oct 2014)
Have a Group Code?
Have a Corporate ID?
Check Availability
Processing your request...

* Requires affiliation in the respective organization.

** Best Available Rate Search does not include affiliation rates.

Select to close.

To book more than 9 rooms for one stay or request a quote, please use our Easy Meetings tool, call 1-800-MEETING (in United States, Mexico and Canada) or contact a Global Sales Office.

Close Button
Your Recently Viewed Hotels

Welcome to Holiday Inn Colchester

Location: Suburban

  • Location: Suburban
  • Closest City: COLCHESTER
  • Distance From Hotel: 4.5KM
  • Local time zone: GMT-00:00

Check In: 2:00 PM Check Out: 12:00 PM

  • Check In: 2:00 PM
  • Check Out: 12:00 PM
  • Minimum check-in age: 18
  • Late checkout available

Credit cards

Credit cards

  • American Express
  • Master Card
  • Visa

Accessibility

Accessibility

  • Number of Rooms:3
  • Parking
  • Service Animals Allowed

Languages

Languages

  1. German
  2. English
  3. French
  4. Polish

Pet Policy

Pet Policy

The Hotel only accept's guide dogs and hearing dogs.

What's nearby

What's nearby

Attraction:
Colchester Zoo
Distance From Hotel:2.5MI
Attraction:
Colchester Castle & Town Centre
Distance From Hotel:3.6MI
Attraction:
East Anglian Railway Museum
Distance From Hotel:4.2MI
Attraction:
Roller World
Distance From Hotel:4.8MI

Parking

Parking

  • Number of parking spaces110
  • Car Parking Available
  • 3 Accessible parking spaces available (Blue Badge)

Internet

Standard Internet Service

Standard Internet service is free for all IHG® Rewards Club members
Wireless Internet available in Standard Rooms,Executive Rooms,Business Center,Public Areas
Standard Room Wireless Fee for Non Members:£ 16.00 16.0  GBP

Accommodation

Accommodation

  • Total number of rooms:110
  • Total number of non-smoking rooms:109
  • Total number of accessible rooms:3
  • Executive rooms
  • Interior corridor
  • Total number of floors:2

Book the Holiday Inn Colchester hotel for a rural location with easy access to the A12 and Colchester Zoo.

The attractive Holiday Inn Colchester welcomes you with landscaped lawns and a clocktower, in the village of Eight Ash Green just 4 miles from Colchester town centre. Enjoy the peaceful grounds from our restaurant patio after a relaxing swim in our indoor pool. We're less than a mile from the A12 for road links to central London and Ipswich, and 35 miles from
View More

Book the Holiday Inn Colchester hotel for a rural location with easy access to the A12 and Colchester Zoo.

The attractive Holiday Inn Colchester welcomes you with landscaped lawns and a clocktower, in the village of Eight Ash Green just 4 miles from Colchester town centre. Enjoy the peaceful grounds from our restaurant patio after a relaxing swim in our indoor pool. We're less than a mile from the A12 for road links to central London and Ipswich, and 35 miles from London-Stansted Airport. See large mammals and exotic birds at the family-friendly Colchester Zoo, 2.5 miles away.

Make your London meeting with ease by taking a Liverpool Street-bound train from Colchester Town rail station, 4 miles away. Our hotel is 1 mile from companies in Tollgate Retail Park and 4 miles from Flakt Woods' offices. Invite delegates to Holiday Inn Colchester's 7 day-lit meeting rooms, with wireless Internet.

It's 4 miles to historical Colchester town centre with its ancient Roman walls and Norman castle. Visit the beach at Clacton-on-Sea & the River Orwell waterfront in Ipswich, both 30 minutes by car. Our Helena Suite with al fresco seating is a good choice for your wedding breakfast for up to 100 guests.

Sample classic British cooking beneath the beams of Holiday Inn Colchester's rustic Trader's Bar and Grill. You can work out or enjoy a soothing facial in our inviting Spirit Health Club.

View Less
Features
Holiday Inn Colchester can help ensure your wedding day goes like a dream with our all-inclusive Wedding Packages. Call to find out about our Function Room, which has an outdoor seating area and is suitable for a wedding breakfast for 100 people.

Guest Reviews

Rated 3.7 out of 5 by 95 reviewers.
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Great Room, shame about breakfast I have stayed here a few times. My room was great - clean, comfortable and quiet. Breakfast here is hit and miss, some days there is a hot buffet others it is cooked to order. Last week there was a hot buffet on Monday morning - great when you want ot get some breakfast quickly and get out to work, Wednesday was cooked to order..... I had fruit and apple juice - no hot drink offered no order for hot items taken, had I been paying myself I would have said something. A business hotel user wants to simply get breakfast and go, we don't have time for breakfast to be cooked to order 08 May 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Standard Holiday Inn - Friendly/Helpful staff The Holiday Inn Orwell is just like most other Holiday Inn hotels. The rooms are clean and comfortable. The Internet is slow. The staff are friendly, responsive and helpful. The food choice is limited but evening specials brought some variety (lots of eateries nearby the hotel if you get bored of the menu). Use of David Lloyd gym next door or a fitness room in the hotel itself 16 April 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by excellent staff, very welcoming from the moment I arrived in reception, the staff were friendly, attentive and welcoming, stayed 2 nights over the weekend, room was spotlessly clean, had family over for breakfast, and the restaurant staff were excellent. all in all, made a very good weekend stay well done 03 April 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Always a warm welcome I have stayed at this hotel a few times for business and although there were some minor faults (such as a bit noisy on occasion and the room taking a while to heat up) I will continue to go back as the staff are always very friendly, respectful and willing to sort out any problem. I would stay just for fun as it is such a nice atmosphere. with lots of areas to relax or even go to the gym. 15 March 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Good hotel v.friendly staff i have started to stay at this hotel one night a week on business. location great for travel 2 mins from dual carriage way. 2 mins drive to a great selcction of pubs and restaurants. Not eaten here at night, buffet breakfast average but i dont usually bother. Good nights sleep, clean rooms - could do with an update in places but fine. Staff really nice and very helpful. on my second stay they said welcome back. When i ordered an ironing board the second night reception said you had one bought last week to the room didnt you? next week we will have one in the room waiting - a nice touch i thought - even though the ironing board didnt come! Staying here two nights on a leisure break this week as my partner joining me so will may have a different opinion. 05 March 2014
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Dated Hotel The staff were pleasent but the hotel is tired and dated and clearly needs money spending on it to bring it up to the standard of the rest of the estate. Paiint peeling from window frames, shower needed fixing and radiator once one would not go off. Was not offered wake up call or newspaper on check in. On the plus side breakfast was cooked to order due to lack of customers and was good. 26 February 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Nice hotel, decor starting to look a little dated. Can't really complain about anything. Staff friendly & welcoming food OK, price reasonable, rooms clean & tidy just as you would expect from any of the Holiday Inns or IHG brand hotels. The thing I find with 99% of the Holiday Inns is they are all starting to look a little dated. Back in the 80's these hotels would be really posh now the general decor and rooms look old and could do with modernising, apart from the TV's which are very nice 32" flat screens. Will visit again soon & can recommend 21 February 2014
Rated 1.0 out of 5.0 by Dated Holiday - Poor Design, Unusual Charges Stayed at the hotel 2 weeks in a row, the first week i had room service, they got the order wrong (asked for no cheese on burger) and didnt provide any cutlery for the desert. Second week, we noticed we were being charged a service charge for drinks at the bar ? (never seen this in a hotel in the uk before, i can understand a service charge for room service, but for drinks at the bar ?), receptionist was very rude to a colleague who pointed this out. The room design is very dated, in the bathrooms there is a metal toilet roll holder where your left knee would go when sitting down, incredibly stupid positioning. The wi-fi although free (gold members) its incredibly slow, tracked at about 0.3 Mb/sm ok for emails but useless for iplayer. Good sized car park is about the only positive i can think of. 10 February 2014
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by no hot water Rooms ok but on getting up to leave no hot water for a shower, called reception and advised someone will take a look Hour later left the room and still no hot water, cold showers in January is hardly what i was expecting No apology, just a suggestion that if i waited a while it might get sorted out, Not really acceptable when having to get to work so paid and left. Wont be using that hotel again! 26 January 2014
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Vending Machine.....STILL Broken There "should" be a functioning Vending Machine in this Hotel however I have stayed there several times now and the "out of order" notice remains on the machine which houses a single lonely packet of sweets on view to tempt the Guest -- wonder if it will ever get repaired? 19 January 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Excellent Value, large rooms This hotel provides exceptional value for business/leisure guests in the Ipswich area. The general decor in the rooms is somewhat dated. However, the rooms are very spacious and comfortable. My welcome to the hotel was both warm and professional. I had previously stayed at this hotel and found myself disappointed with the overall customer experience and I'm pleased to report that issues I had raised appear to have been resolved. Thanks to the General Manager, Jason, for responding to my previous feedback in a positive and meaningful way. I will certainly choose this hotel for future visits to Ipswich and would recommend it to others. 09 January 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Great value Stayed here before and up to the usual standards. Breakfast was fantastic and the whole package for the 2 nights were great value for money. 05 January 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Dreadful breakfast Although we came down for breakfast pretty late in the time allocated we were still in the time scale. Paid £9.95 per head for breakfast which was dried up and nasty and to be honest very little of it, ... my son refused to eat it and had cereal instead, very expensive cereal I have every paid! Tip get down early for breakfast! 31 December 2013
Rated 1.0 out of 5.0 by Boxing Day Unfortunately our room was freezing!! Me and my husband and 10 year old returned to our room around 10.30pm but was met by a very cold room. We turned the radiator on which didn't seem to make a difference as the window did not close properly so the wind kept the room cold. We were too tired and cold to report this to the hotel, but informed the receptionist in the morning. We would not return to this hotel. 30 December 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great hotel and staff let down only by wifi cost and online booking. 5 of us stayed 2 nights B&B over Christmas while visiting a family member nearby. I was very impressed with the attention to detail of the reception staff who phoned me a couple of times to check our exact room requirements and advise of limed meals over the Christmas period. Naomi and Michelle were very friendly and efficient. The online booking (nothing to do with this individual hotel) was NOT good as I was not able to select 3 different room types on one booking so had to call the hotel as well.I was disappointed that wi-fi was not free (or rather my 2 children were) but the rooms were spacious, clean and well equipped. We were also on the ground floor which was a bonus for my father in law, as I had forgotten to ask about this. Breakfast on Christmas day was lovely and cooked to order with friendly waitress service (sorry I did not note your name). The next day it was 'help yourself' but with the same plentiful selection. Very pleased with the value for money we received. I would definitely recommend this hotel and will book again without hesitation if we need to stay in this area again. 30 December 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Ouiet room I asked for a quiet room,and I got a quiet room was very happy. Marion or maralyn at reception was very helpful,will be back soon. 25 December 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Lovely venue and lovely staff We have just enjoyed a Christmas party night last Saturday. From the minute we walked into reception we were made to feel extremely welcome. The room was very nice, the dinner/dance was good fun and the breakfast the next day very good. Excellent value for money. Hopefully see you again next year. 19 December 2013
Rated 2.0 out of 5.0 wouldn't go again nice building, helpful staff and a good restaurant. But too much traffic noise through the night 07 December 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Well above expectations This was a real surprise. A hotel in a business park just off the A14 isn't a promising start, but it was lovely. It's a long, low sprawling building with lots of room, extremely convenient for anywhere east of Ipswich. Very welcoming and helpful reception (I arrived late and tired) and a large comfortable clean room with a sleep-inducing mattress. I didn't choose to have supper (they go on serving until late) but breakfast was good and checkout quick and friendly. I shall be back. 06 December 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 Costly wifi.......... Why ????? Nice hotel stayed a few times but wonder why I have to pay for wifi when Holiday Inn Express is free Not on ,bad value for money 06 December 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Excellent service It felt like being in your very own country house. Not like a chain hotel at all. The receptionist was particularly welcoming and attentive making everything very easy. We had room service - again excellent service and food. A very enjoyable stay - no wonder brides choose this as a wedding venue. Thank you. 28 November 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great staff and stay Staff really helpful made stay feel as if it was for pleasure and not just work. 23 November 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Good value hotel Food quality is very good. In particular the breakfast is outstanding when Rex is working. Most of my employees have commeneted on the quality of breakfast service friom Rex! 21 November 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by better than expected Great experience, nothing posh but comfortable and excellent staff. the surprise was how quiet and relaxing the room was. A little dated decor -wise, but even that was quite refreshing. 19 November 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 Friendly Staff and Good Service Just a one night stay here. A friendly welcome & a comfortable room. Although it suffered from traffic noise. (They should really consider sound proofing & triple glazing). Arrived about 4:45 & needed to be out by 6:30, so was looking for a quick meal. The restaurant achieved this without any fuss. Breakfast was excellent in choice quality & service. Our compliments to the chef & all the staff. 02 November 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 Excellent value and helpful service A party of six adults stayed overnight at this hotel as we were attending a wedding party nearby. We were all pleased with the service we received. The food in the bar was good value and the menu varied. Breakfast offered a large choice of food and most importantly, the hot dishes were hot! Rooms were large and comfortable. When we returned late a very helpful night porter provided us with tea and coffee. Overall a good experience and definitely value for money 24 October 2013
Rated 1.0 out of 5.0 by Would not recommend - noisy and poor customer service. The Holiday Inn brand are, in theory, meant to provide a standard level of service wherever you may be staying. The staff at this hotel did not appear to be familiar with these basic standards and the customer service fell far below which I would normally expect at Holiday Inns. The levels of noise (due to a party/function) were unacceptable. Furthermore, the fire alarms were activated twice during the night and there was no letter of apology/explanation at checkout. However, the hotel is good value and has great potential due to the size of the rooms and the facilities. However, it does need a makeover and some staff training. I fully agree with the comments of Stuart500 below. 17 October 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Comfortable clean room The room was comfortable and clean. the staff were very helpful and the food & service were excellent. Would definitely recommend. The only complaint is that the shower height was not adjustable. 08 October 2013
Rated 1.0 out of 5.0 by Considered leaving at 3:00AM - TOO NOISY - worst stay ever! Apart from accommodation in Uzbekistan and China I cannot think of a worse night's sleep I have ever had over the last 20+ adult years visiting 32 different countries. Our last stay overnight was in June at a nearby River Orwell hotel that deserved a solid 3 stars for the same price, my main gripe there was some corridor noise which I wanted to reduce hence trying here instead. I had read the previous review mentioning the disco noise but expected to get back from a wedding reception around the time it finished (00:30#. Having arrived back early at 22:00 due to a tired family, I soon realised that the music was just about bearable but the people passing in the corridor, talking in the reception / lobby area and the closing of nearby doors was ridiculously noisy. I managed to get an hours sleep up until 01:42 when I was awoken by swearing drunks congregating outside. The shouting and swearing went off and on until 03:35 when it eventually fell quiet. During almost 2 hours I had heard the reception telephone ringing several times #I stayed in room2) with a female assistant asking the wandering guests to please go back to their rooms as other people had complained. Her effectiveness was poor, I assume the drunk guests were more important to the ones trying to sleep, a persistent neighbouring guest had more luck at herding the guests away. I am extremely disappointed in the Holiday Inn staff and have no confidence in their ability to provide an adequate hotel service. Either sort the noisy guests out or get quieter rooms, some hotels do both......oh what bliss. The good points were that the room was big, looked clean and had hot water. The hotel was also near to where we needed to be and the breakfast staff were polite and did a good job. The breakfast was okay, not good but not bad although it was not exactly value for money. Perhaps there was more than only 2 tea bags in the room but I couldn't find them. To be fair the previous hotel competitor had also only supplied 2 bags but I feel that this was a missed opportunity to do at least one thing better than them. The tired decor matches the lack of sound insulation, this old building needs more than redecorating. If you want a good night's sleep then I cannot recommend this hotel. I can't help but laugh / cry at seeing the word Atmosphere on the comments form! 08 October 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Best Holiday Inn ive stayed in . Very helpful and friendly staff,lovely clean room and a fantastic breakfast ive stayed in many Holiday Inns but this one must be the best . 02 October 2013
<<prev 2 3 4 next>>
Kids, Stay and Eat Free at Holiday Inn
Close
Check-In Date
(e.g. 30 Oct 2014)
Check-Out Date
(e.g. 31 Oct 2014)
Check Availability
Loading