• English  English
    Select to close.
    Current Settings are:
      /  English

    Change Preferences:
    Country / Region of Residence:
    Available Languages:
  • |
  • |
  • |
  • 1 888 HOLIDAY
Select to close.
Select to close.
Email or IHG® Rewards Club # PIN
Not a member?Join Today!
Forgot PIN
All fields are required.
 
If you have forgotten or lost your Personal Identification Number (PIN), we can email your PIN to the email address in your IHG® Rewards Club account profile.
If you do not have an email address in your profile, please contact your local IHG® Rewards Club Customer Care  to source your PIN and to update your profile with your email address. When you receive your PIN you can also update your email address viawww.ihgrewardsclub.com/email.
IHG® Rewards Club # Email Address

Not a member?Join Today!
Create PIN
All fields are required.
IHG® Rewards Club # ZIP/Postal Code
First Name Last Name
Please select a 4 number Personal Identification Number (PIN) which will be used to access your IHG® Rewards Club account.
PIN Verify PIN
 
Not a member?Join Today!
Create Email
All fields are required.
Thank you. Your PIN has been created. Please enter your email address so you can use it to log into the site in the future.
Email Address Verify Email Address
 
Email Hotel Get Directions Add to Favourites Print Fact Sheet

Book this Hotel

Best Price Guarantee
1

Reward Nights

When redeeming points for a Reward Night, you may only book one room at a time.


Once you complete your Reward Night reservation you will be given the option to duplicate this reservation.

(e.g. 13 Jul 2014)
(e.g. 14 Jul 2014)
Have a Group Code?
Have a Corporate ID?
Check Availability
Processing your request...

* Requires affiliation in the respective organization.

** Best Available Rate Search does not include affiliation rates.

Select to close.

To book more than 9 rooms for one stay or request a quote, please use our Easy Meetings tool, call 1-800-MEETING (in United States, Mexico and Canada) or contact a Global Sales Office.

Close Button
Your Recently Viewed Hotels

Welcome to Holiday Inn Darlington - North A1m, Jct.59

Location: Suburban

  • Location: Suburban
  • Closest City: DARLINGTON
  • Distance From Hotel: 7.6KM
  • Local time zone: GMT+01:00

Check In: 2:00 PM Check Out: 11:00 AM

  • Check In: 2:00 PM
  • Check Out: 11:00 AM
  • Minimum check-in age: 18
  • Late checkout available

Credit cards

Credit cards

  • American Express
  • Master Card
  • Visa

Accessibility

Accessibility

  • Number of Rooms:3
  • Parking
  • Service Animals Allowed

Languages

Languages

  1. English

Pet Policy

Pet Policy

Hotel accepts pets, guide dogs and service animals on request prior to arrival.
Pet fee amount  10.00  GBP  per night

What's nearby

What's nearby

Attraction:
Head of Steam Darlington, Railway Museum
Distance From Hotel:8.0MI
Attraction:
Beamish Museum
Distance From Hotel:48.0MI
Attraction:
Catterick Racecourse
Distance From Hotel:29.0MI

Parking

Parking

  • Number of parking spaces120
  • Car Parking Available
  • The hotels offers 120 complimentary car park spaces, available for all guests.

Internet

Standard Internet Service

Standard Internet service is free for all guests
Wireless Internet available in Standard Rooms,Executive Rooms,Public Areas

Accommodation

Accommodation

  • Hotel renovated in:February 01, 2014
  • Total number of rooms:80
  • Total number of rooms with only one bed:80
  • Total number of rooms with only double beds:20
  • Total number of non-smoking rooms:80
  • Total number of accessible rooms:3
  • Executive rooms
  • Interior corridor
  • Total number of floors:3
Welcome to Holiday Inn Darlington North, your accommodation choice for North East England. Situated on the A1M, junction 59, our modern hotel is the ideal choice for exploring the North East England country side and any business trip. Our immaculate, tastefully decorated accommodation is both contemporary and comforting, representing great value for money. The Holiday Inn Darlington North, is ideal for business travelers, with 4 air-conditioned meeting rooms, versatile mini-gym, well equipped bedrooms
View More
Welcome to Holiday Inn Darlington North, your accommodation choice for North East England. Situated on the A1M, junction 59, our modern hotel is the ideal choice for exploring the North East England country side and any business trip. Our immaculate, tastefully decorated accommodation is both contemporary and comforting, representing great value for money. The Holiday Inn Darlington North, is ideal for business travelers, with 4 air-conditioned meeting rooms, versatile mini-gym, well equipped bedrooms with work space and complimentary Wi-Fi throughout. The hotel is conveniently located for visits to the historic Durham Cathedral, beautiful countryside of County Durham, the award winning Beamish Museum and the Durham University Botanic Gardens. After a busy day, rewind at the hotel in our modern, stylish bar and restaurant, open throughout the day serving hot and cold meals, branded coffees and a wide range of beverages. Our friendly team looks forward to welcoming you to our new Holiday Inn Darlington North.
View Less
Features
The hotel has undergone complete refurbishment during 2013.

Guest Reviews

Rated 4.1 out of 5 by 154 reviewers.
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Refreshing and relaxing for a short stay. Very pleased with the 2 night stay everything here in the room and everything out and about with the A1 and A66 nearby, Along with a very warm welcome a pleasant and relaxing stay (the pool added to that !) 18 June 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Great, relaxing hotel Very relaxing hotel in a handy location. Good wireless service, friendly staff, good food and good value for money. Highly recommended 18 June 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Scotch Corner Hotel This hotel has been very sympathetically modernised retaining the charm of its era. The staff are friendly and welcoming, offering excellent customer service. The rooms are very tastefully decorated and comfortable. For eating, the Italian restaurant offers great food and a very friendly ambience. This is one of the best, if not thee best Holiday Inn I have stayed at. 17 June 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Second stay This is my second stay here and both times have been excellent. Clean modern with a nice bar area, comfortable rooms with complimentary water and juice in the fridge. My only issue was the heating came on during the night and I couldn't get it to go off again - probably easy to do but not in the middle of the night. So too hot in the room. Thank goodness for the water in the fridge though! An excellent place to stop over on a North/South journey - or South/North for that matter. i will happily stay here again. 16 June 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Ideal location The hotel location was perfect for our journey plan. I passed it many times over the past 30 odd years but now it is a keystone to any planned trips! 14 June 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Great Hotel. Actually, apart from a few issues including poor mattress, minor cleanliness and maintenance issues, it was a fantastic hotel with good food and environment. We would stay again, but make sure we understood what events were going on and where our room was situated compared to the event. Also, although I could get my iPhone etc to connect to the wireless network, Macbook was very reluctant. 11 June 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by A good two days here. An excellent place to use as a base for the surrounding area. Richmond is nearby, but watch out for the parking restrictions. It cost me £25 as I did not notice the signs regarding 'disc zone'. I looked for parking meters and thought it was OK as I did not see any. Barnard Castle is also nearby and a nice place to visit. Traffic Wardens there as well though. The hotel is very nice with a good selection of bar or restaurant food, served by attentive and friendly young staff. The rooms are very nice as well although I found it hard to manage the air conditioning. We like a cold room and had to open the window - not too clever for a quiet sleep when you have the A66 outside. Also had a small problem with a sink but the staff immediately attended and gave us another room a very nice G 07 June 2014
Rated 2.0 out of 5.0 by Uncomfortable bed but good service Everything about the hotel was very good except the mattress was unbearably hard. If you like sleeping on a marble slab this hotel is excellent value for money in this area. 04 June 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by in the north east, go there! every thing was fine.even the 2 slices of italan bread for 4.75 ! 03 June 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Fantastic Customer Service very impressed with the customer service at this Holiday Inn. Very friendly, attentive staff. Nothing was ever too much trouble 02 June 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by GOOD STOP OVER The exterior view of the hotel is not very promising, it looks very 1950s and austere, it could do with a bit of greening up / exterior decoration, however the interior has had a major make over and is very clean and modern. The staff were very friendly but I felt sorry for the lady on reception who checked me in at about 6pm, was still on duty when I got back at 11.30pm and was there when I checked out about 9.30am - she must have had very little sleep but was still bright and cheerful. Room was clean and comfortable and well furnished. The fact that breakfast was extra was a minus point, but seems to be the norm these days, but the cafe in the lay by around the corner on the A66 benefited in that I bought breakfast there. I would be happy to stay again. 31 May 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 A lovely weekend All in all we had a lovely time my niece was getting married and the ceremony and party was being held here . I only had a slight hiccup re one room but apart from the man not sorting it or if he had come back to me to say sorry cannot do that would have been fine never mind we had a fantastic time and would do it again ...in actual fact I'm staying soon at the Black prince Holiday inn and we are all looking forward to it . Highly recommend a lovely place. 31 May 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by one night stop over this was a quick stop over on the way to the Lake District which turned out to be an excellent choice - upgraded to executive room which was spacious, food in restaurant good quality and breakfast was even better, plenty of choice just minor point though - Love coffee in the morning and was a bit sad that it wasn't up to the standard you would expect of this hotel - 26 May 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Lovely Hotel I enjoy staying here as it is friendly very clean and the food is excellent but I do have a moan.......the hotel has loads of staff except on reception which can make leaving a long process although the staff always apologise. 24 May 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 Nicely refurbished hotel Arrived after midnight fir a 1-night stay. Was very pleasantly surprised by the hotel refurb (and I say that just because I haven't been there for over 25 years, and it was then a very basic traditional roadside stop). Lobby, restaurant and room were modern, inviting, and well appointed. Night porter was very friendly and professional. The non-refund rate represented good value. The only (relatively minor) negative was the rather amateurish breakfast service staff. Pleasant enough, but more concerned about their convenience when traipsing the stock of cleaning materials past the customers eating. And only when it was realised belatedly that certain breakfast items had run out, clumsily ladlling out the wholesale fruit segment tins and fruit juice cartons as though they were filling up the cattle trough. They were dressed smartly, but lacked finesse and seemed unaware of the impression it gave the customers. 19 May 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by good service apart from the breakfast which was stale at 9.15am. lovely staff, good room. we went to breakfast at 0915 to find stale food drying up under the lamps.At Christmas when the hotel was shortstaffed the breakfast was fresh ,obviously a different chef at Christmas. 17 May 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Bank holiday weekend Staff all very friendly ,helpful and polite. Lovely room, excellent facilities, very good breakfast. Would definitely recommend this hotel. 09 May 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Generally excellent Did get lost walking to hotel from railway station. Think perhaps the directions could usefully be clearer. By not providing real distance & no referenced cost for taxi all indicated it was a few minutes walk. A scale on the map provided on line would be really helpful! 29 April 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Well up to usual standard Everything was just as we anticipated. The usual type of room for a night's stay, cheerful and efficient service from staff and both breakfast and dinner were excellent. For future reference, if you want to turn off that irritating night-light in the bathroom, take the plastic key out of the gizmo by the door! 29 April 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Excellent Hotel I have been staying at the hotel for the past few weeks for work purposes. The hotel is excellent and very good value for money. The rooms are stylish and comfortable, with the added luxury of a fridge, complimentary bottled water and Kit Kat biscuits. The staff are friendly and helpful, especially at breakfast. There is a good choice of breakfast items and it all looks fresh and appetising. Also there is a good choice of healthy options for those of us who don't want the Full English. There is a beauty salon and hairdressers on site, next to the gym, which was also excellent, with appointments available at short notice and reasonably priced. I would not hesitate to recommend this hotel to anyone, whether it is for business purposes or leisure. 28 April 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Two thoroughly satisfied customers Great to be recognised as frequent guests. Feels more like coming back to friends and much more relaxing than being an anonymous hotel guest. Staff were friendly and helpful both in the hotel and in the leisure club. Great value as we were in an upgraded room. A touch of Easter luxury - thank you to one and all for making it a VERY enjoyable stay. 22 April 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Excellent Hotel for the Price!!!! Booked this hotel for a nights stay to relax. The staff on arrival were very friendly and polite. The Italian restaurant served first class food, my steak was cooked to perfection. Rooms very modern and very clean! But the down side was, that the view from my room was of a roof top full of chimney air vents which was disappointing. Breakfast was very nice and some of the food was cooked fresh i.e. eggs and bacon, which was a little wait but i'd rather have it fresh than for the food to have been sat there for a while and dried up. Overall, loved my nights stay and will defo stay over again. 14 April 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Always top class I stay at this hotel every other week as my HQ is in the area. The rooms are always spotless and the beds very comfortable and they are very modern in design. There is an excellent pizza restaurant onsite or the bar food is equally good with lots of choice. I find bar and food prices very reasonable. Staff are always friendly and willing to help. All in all an excellent hotel. 21 March 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great nights sleep and excellent dinner I keep coming back due to a great experience time and time again. Friendly staff, relaxing atmosphere and mouth watering Italian restaurant served with a smile. Business trips made easy. Highly recommended 14 March 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Superb restaurant, friendly and welcoming staff. The Italian Restaurant is excellent, we had the daily special on both nights of our stay and had a bottle from their 'wine of the month' each evening, which were both good value and high quality. The staff are very welcoming and friendly in both hotel and restaurant. 10 March 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Surprising Scotch Corner on a dark and stormy night is bleak and uninviting and the Hotel from outside is a grim sight. Once inside the hotel you enter a warn and hospitable hotel with comfortable rooms friendly staff and an excellent restaurant. A very pleasant over night stay which i would recommend thoroughly. 08 March 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Peter Had a great break, romantic break well worth the money , pity we were not advised before hand the pool refurb had been completed. 01 March 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by A nice break Booked online a couple of months ahead, price was pretty good. First impressions were good, there's clearly been some serious money spent on this hotel. Parking was sufficient, although I imagine it would be tight if there was a wedding or similar on. The room was out in the rear of the hotel. Beware - there was no lift access to about 15 of the rooms, including ours. (18 steps in 2 flights). Not a problem for us, but if you have a problem with stairs then make sure you make the hotel aware of this. Room specification was good - we were in a standard room. Aircon, huge tv, mini fridge with water juice and kitkat included. Not the biggest, a bit crowded with desk, side table and 3 chairs, but no real issue here. Sleep came pretty easily, although the heating/aircon woke us on the first night spewing out boiling hot air. Took a few mins to persuade it to give something tolerable! So why a 4 not a 5? 2 small issues really. Firstly, a slight smell from the drains was noticeable at times through the stay. Not really a problem as weather wasn't warm, and should be easy to rectify. Secondly - the restaurant. Cramped, and boiling hot at all times of day. And don't try and swap things from the dishes on the menu - it's 'company policy' not to do so, even when it's a carb for another carb. 'Pie of the day' from the bar menu was superb - we preferred the bar menu to the restaurant. So overall - a nice, well equipped hotel, that could be excellent with some minor improvements. 26 February 2014
Rated 1.0 out of 5.0 by dont turn up late Arrived at hotel about 22.45 hours . After checking in I enquired if it was possible to have some food and was informed no hot food was available due to the time. I was informed I could have a cold sandwich and I asked if I could have it in the bar with my complimentary drink as a ihg member. I was told that I would have to go upstairs to my room and order it as room service only. What nonsense. 26 February 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Wonderful Hotel and Staff Used Priority Club points to stay the night. The hotel is exceptionally clean and comfortable. We ate in the Italian restaurant (Fratelli's) and the food and service was second to none and exceptionally well priced! Excellent breakfast in the morning with good quality ingredients. My only complaint was, not having been to the area before, it took us 4 attempts to find the entrance to the hotel off the main A1M/A66 road. It is not clearly signposted and the entrance is partly coned and RIGHT ON the roundabout exit onto the A66. If you miss it, turn into the Vintage hotel 100 yards further up where you can cross the carriageway back to the roundabout and have another go! Excellent hotel all round with great food and service at a very affordable price, we will be using this hotel again in our travel plans for the area! 24 February 2014
<<prev2 3 4 5 6 next>>
Exterior Feature
Exterior Feature
Select to close.
Exterior Feature Hotel Lobby Holiday Inn Darlington North A1m Junction 59 Hotel Entrance Lobby Lounge
Select to close.
Terms & Conditions
Kids, Stay and Eat Free at Holiday Inn
Close
Check-In Date
(e.g. 13 Jul 2014)
Check-Out Date
(e.g. 14 Jul 2014)
Check Availability
Loading