• English  English
    Select to close.
    Current Settings are:
      /  English

    Change Preferences:
    Country / Region of Residence:
    Available Languages:
  • |
  • |
  • |
  • 1 888 HOLIDAY
Select to close.
Select to close.
Email or IHG® Rewards Club # PIN
Not a member?Join Today!
Forgot PIN
All fields are required.
 
If you have forgotten or lost your Personal Identification Number (PIN), we can email your PIN to the email address in your IHG® Rewards Club account profile.
If you do not have an email address in your profile, please contact your local IHG® Rewards Club Customer Care  to source your PIN and to update your profile with your email address. When you receive your PIN you can also update your email address viawww.ihgrewardsclub.com/email.
IHG® Rewards Club # Email Address

Not a member?Join Today!
Create PIN
All fields are required.
IHG® Rewards Club # ZIP/Postal Code
First Name Last Name
Please select a 4 number Personal Identification Number (PIN) which will be used to access your IHG® Rewards Club account.
PIN Verify PIN
 
Not a member?Join Today!
Create Email
All fields are required.
Thank you. Your PIN has been created. Please enter your email address so you can use it to log into the site in the future.
Email Address Verify Email Address
 
Email Hotel Get Directions Add to Favourites Print Fact Sheet

Book this Hotel

Best Price Guarantee
1

Reward Nights

When redeeming points for a Reward Night, you may only book one room at a time.


Once you complete your Reward Night reservation you will be given the option to duplicate this reservation.

(e.g. 20 Sep 2014)
(e.g. 21 Sep 2014)
Have a Group Code?
Have a Corporate ID?
Check Availability
Processing your request...

* Requires affiliation in the respective organization.

** Best Available Rate Search does not include affiliation rates.

Select to close.

To book more than 9 rooms for one stay or request a quote, please use our Easy Meetings tool, call 1-800-MEETING (in United States, Mexico and Canada) or contact a Global Sales Office.

Close Button
Your Recently Viewed Hotels

Welcome to Holiday Inn Darlington - North A1m, Jct.59

Location: Suburban

  • Location: Suburban
  • Closest City: DARLINGTON
  • Distance From Hotel: 7.6KM
  • Local time zone: GMT+01:00

Check In: 2:00 PM Check Out: 11:00 AM

  • Check In: 2:00 PM
  • Check Out: 11:00 AM
  • Minimum check-in age: 18
  • Late checkout available

Credit cards

Credit cards

  • American Express
  • Master Card
  • Visa

Accessibility

Accessibility

  • Number of Rooms:3
  • Parking
  • Service Animals Allowed

Languages

Languages

  1. English

Pet Policy

Pet Policy

Hotel accepts pets, guide dogs and service animals on request prior to arrival.
Pet fee amount  10.00  GBP  per night

What's nearby

What's nearby

Attraction:
Head of Steam Darlington, Railway Museum
Distance From Hotel:8.0MI
Attraction:
Catterick Racecourse
Distance From Hotel:29.0MI
Attraction:
Beamish Museum
Distance From Hotel:48.0MI

Parking

Parking

  • Number of parking spaces120
  • Car Parking Available
  • The hotels offers 120 complimentary car park spaces, available for all guests.

Internet

Standard Internet Service

Standard Internet service is free for all guests
Wireless Internet available in Standard Rooms,Executive Rooms,Public Areas

Accommodation

Accommodation

  • Hotel renovated in:February 01, 2014
  • Total number of rooms:80
  • Total number of rooms with only one bed:80
  • Total number of rooms with only double beds:20
  • Total number of non-smoking rooms:80
  • Total number of accessible rooms:3
  • Executive rooms
  • Interior corridor
  • Total number of floors:3
Welcome to Holiday Inn Darlington North, your accommodation choice for North East England. Situated on the A1M, junction 59, our modern hotel is the ideal choice for exploring the North East England country side and any business trip. Our immaculate, tastefully decorated accommodation is both contemporary and comforting, representing great value for money. The Holiday Inn Darlington North, is ideal for business travelers, with 4 air-conditioned meeting rooms, versatile mini-gym, well equipped bedrooms
View More
Welcome to Holiday Inn Darlington North, your accommodation choice for North East England. Situated on the A1M, junction 59, our modern hotel is the ideal choice for exploring the North East England country side and any business trip. Our immaculate, tastefully decorated accommodation is both contemporary and comforting, representing great value for money. The Holiday Inn Darlington North, is ideal for business travelers, with 4 air-conditioned meeting rooms, versatile mini-gym, well equipped bedrooms with work space and complimentary Wi-Fi throughout. The hotel is conveniently located for visits to the historic Durham Cathedral, beautiful countryside of County Durham, the award winning Beamish Museum and the Durham University Botanic Gardens. After a busy day, rewind at the hotel in our modern, stylish bar and restaurant, open throughout the day serving hot and cold meals, branded coffees and a wide range of beverages. Our friendly team looks forward to welcoming you to our new Holiday Inn Darlington North.
View Less
Features
The Holiday Inn Darlington North is a smoke free hotel offering guests premium amenities - such as free high-speed wireless Internet access and free parking. The hotel has added a mini-gym which is free to use for all hotel guests.

Guest Reviews

Rated 4.2 out of 5 by 196 reviewers.
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Well up to usual standard Everything was just as we anticipated. The usual type of room for a night's stay, cheerful and efficient service from staff and both breakfast and dinner were excellent. For future reference, if you want to turn off that irritating night-light in the bathroom, take the plastic key out of the gizmo by the door! 29 April 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Excellent Hotel I have been staying at the hotel for the past few weeks for work purposes. The hotel is excellent and very good value for money. The rooms are stylish and comfortable, with the added luxury of a fridge, complimentary bottled water and Kit Kat biscuits. The staff are friendly and helpful, especially at breakfast. There is a good choice of breakfast items and it all looks fresh and appetising. Also there is a good choice of healthy options for those of us who don't want the Full English. There is a beauty salon and hairdressers on site, next to the gym, which was also excellent, with appointments available at short notice and reasonably priced. I would not hesitate to recommend this hotel to anyone, whether it is for business purposes or leisure. 28 April 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Two thoroughly satisfied customers Great to be recognised as frequent guests. Feels more like coming back to friends and much more relaxing than being an anonymous hotel guest. Staff were friendly and helpful both in the hotel and in the leisure club. Great value as we were in an upgraded room. A touch of Easter luxury - thank you to one and all for making it a VERY enjoyable stay. 22 April 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Excellent Hotel for the Price!!!! Booked this hotel for a nights stay to relax. The staff on arrival were very friendly and polite. The Italian restaurant served first class food, my steak was cooked to perfection. Rooms very modern and very clean! But the down side was, that the view from my room was of a roof top full of chimney air vents which was disappointing. Breakfast was very nice and some of the food was cooked fresh i.e. eggs and bacon, which was a little wait but i'd rather have it fresh than for the food to have been sat there for a while and dried up. Overall, loved my nights stay and will defo stay over again. 14 April 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Always top class I stay at this hotel every other week as my HQ is in the area. The rooms are always spotless and the beds very comfortable and they are very modern in design. There is an excellent pizza restaurant onsite or the bar food is equally good with lots of choice. I find bar and food prices very reasonable. Staff are always friendly and willing to help. All in all an excellent hotel. 21 March 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great nights sleep and excellent dinner I keep coming back due to a great experience time and time again. Friendly staff, relaxing atmosphere and mouth watering Italian restaurant served with a smile. Business trips made easy. Highly recommended 14 March 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Superb restaurant, friendly and welcoming staff. The Italian Restaurant is excellent, we had the daily special on both nights of our stay and had a bottle from their 'wine of the month' each evening, which were both good value and high quality. The staff are very welcoming and friendly in both hotel and restaurant. 10 March 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Surprising Scotch Corner on a dark and stormy night is bleak and uninviting and the Hotel from outside is a grim sight. Once inside the hotel you enter a warn and hospitable hotel with comfortable rooms friendly staff and an excellent restaurant. A very pleasant over night stay which i would recommend thoroughly. 08 March 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Peter Had a great break, romantic break well worth the money , pity we were not advised before hand the pool refurb had been completed. 01 March 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by A nice break Booked online a couple of months ahead, price was pretty good. First impressions were good, there's clearly been some serious money spent on this hotel. Parking was sufficient, although I imagine it would be tight if there was a wedding or similar on. The room was out in the rear of the hotel. Beware - there was no lift access to about 15 of the rooms, including ours. (18 steps in 2 flights). Not a problem for us, but if you have a problem with stairs then make sure you make the hotel aware of this. Room specification was good - we were in a standard room. Aircon, huge tv, mini fridge with water juice and kitkat included. Not the biggest, a bit crowded with desk, side table and 3 chairs, but no real issue here. Sleep came pretty easily, although the heating/aircon woke us on the first night spewing out boiling hot air. Took a few mins to persuade it to give something tolerable! So why a 4 not a 5? 2 small issues really. Firstly, a slight smell from the drains was noticeable at times through the stay. Not really a problem as weather wasn't warm, and should be easy to rectify. Secondly - the restaurant. Cramped, and boiling hot at all times of day. And don't try and swap things from the dishes on the menu - it's 'company policy' not to do so, even when it's a carb for another carb. 'Pie of the day' from the bar menu was superb - we preferred the bar menu to the restaurant. So overall - a nice, well equipped hotel, that could be excellent with some minor improvements. 26 February 2014
Rated 1.0 out of 5.0 by dont turn up late Arrived at hotel about 22.45 hours . After checking in I enquired if it was possible to have some food and was informed no hot food was available due to the time. I was informed I could have a cold sandwich and I asked if I could have it in the bar with my complimentary drink as a ihg member. I was told that I would have to go upstairs to my room and order it as room service only. What nonsense. 26 February 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Wonderful Hotel and Staff Used Priority Club points to stay the night. The hotel is exceptionally clean and comfortable. We ate in the Italian restaurant (Fratelli's) and the food and service was second to none and exceptionally well priced! Excellent breakfast in the morning with good quality ingredients. My only complaint was, not having been to the area before, it took us 4 attempts to find the entrance to the hotel off the main A1M/A66 road. It is not clearly signposted and the entrance is partly coned and RIGHT ON the roundabout exit onto the A66. If you miss it, turn into the Vintage hotel 100 yards further up where you can cross the carriageway back to the roundabout and have another go! Excellent hotel all round with great food and service at a very affordable price, we will be using this hotel again in our travel plans for the area! 24 February 2014
Rated 1.0 out of 5.0 by Not as good as previous visits - is there a problem I have stayed at this hotel several times previously. There is always been a slight odour in the reception area. Having been placed in the "special quiet area" through back I was able to track the source of the odour to drains in the kitchen. My first room was exceptionally hot and I had to change rooms. I checked in at 10.30pm so fairly quiet. I was not registered as a priority member. When I asked about a mileage voucher I was told flatly that they had run out but I could have a drink if I really wanted. I checkout the following morning at 10am. It took over 15 minutes with only one person in front of me. Lots of staff appeared and disappeared but nobody helped the receptionist with the growing queue. I shudder to think what service would be like at peak times. The breakfast was excellent but it appears to be a separate company. 22 February 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Not your typical Holiday Inn As a platinum IHG member I stay at a lot of Holiday Inn's and this hotel ranks very highly among my stays with this brand. The building seems to have a bit of history to it with its large open passageways and it is complimented with a modern decor. The Executive room that i had was spacious, furnished to a high standard and the gym that accompanies the hotel was a great addition. Not like some hotels where you find the Gym tucked away in a broom cupboard. I will be staying again. 17 February 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Excellent value for money Very comfortable stay. There was a wedding party at the hotel but it did not affect our stay. We were accommodated in a room away from the wedding guests and were not disturbed at all. The room was clean and spacious with everything you would expect from a Holiday Inn. We will certainly stay in this hotel in the future. 12 February 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Will definately stay again After leaving a few bad reviews lately I was beginning to doubt the IHG brand, so what a pleasure it was to have a lovely stay here. I would recommend this hotel, especially for breaking up a long journey. 11 February 2014
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Lack of attention to detail This has the potential to be a pleasant and memorable hotel, but the experience is consistently spoiled by a continuing lack of attention to detail and service. Examples - lights that don't work in bedrooms; fire doors that creak and squeak; queues for check in and check out; no one to sign you in for breakfast; having to ask for coffee at breakfast; cobwebs hanging in the room; dimly lit bathrooms so you can't shave; cold bathrooms; cleaning of public areas at peak breakfast utilization. There are some things that are hard to solve - the hotel is next to the A1 and the A66, so it's never going to be a haven of quiet. But noisy bathroom fans, noisy air conditioning and lots of noise from the kitchen area even at night just emphasize the lack of quiet and disturb sleep. My overall impression is that there is a lack of attention and focus from management so that these slipshod behaviours are allowed to continue. It's a real shame, because the place is obviously busy - with more attention to detail it could even become popular and a memorable experience. 05 February 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Does what is says on the tin Clean and tidy hotel, ideal for business stays, friendly staff, awesome pizza. 04 February 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Comfortable and relaxing This is a regular stop on our journeys to & from Scotland, and once again we were not disappointed. The whole hotel experience is very relaxing, from the warm welcome at check in to the comfort of the room to the ambience in the bar/ lounge. Good food choice at a good price and good quality. 03 February 2014
Rated 1.0 out of 5.0 by annoyed with misleading information for IGH Club members I am a IHG® Rewards Club member. For the last 12 months, IHG/Holiday Inn have been advertising free internet starting from Jan 2014 as a benefit for club members. Now that 2014 has arrived, I have discovered that the benefit isn't what I expected. The free internet service is a slow service completely unsatisfactory by current internet standards. Furthermore, not even all Holiday Inn have a free internet service for club members. For decent fast broadband internet connection you still have to pay! 30 January 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Awesome location and service Stayed for 4 nights on business, the staff were awesome and very knowledgeable. Comfort and cleanliness second to none. The gym and spa staff should also get a mention and the classes were complimentary. 27 January 2014
Rated 1.0 out of 5.0 by Dropped Standard Check in horrendous, went through everything only to be told that she had booked me in under some one else with the same name, so started the full process again! Just what you need after a six hour drive. Food in restaurant was horrible! Crab Ravioli was cold in the middle and the sauce was Luke warm...when I complained she said Oh I'll stick it in the microwave to heat it up!! Such a disappointment .....once you get to this hotel ypu are really isolated so you're trapped to eat there or drive miles to a decent restaurant. The food is expensive and dire......avoid this if possible. If Gordon Ramsey ate here it would be one of his worst Kitchen Nightmares! 18 January 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Good job The folks at this hotel did a very good job for us, as did the very efficient online help desk which I used to make some late adjustments to my stay. We are a family of five, and were given two very large, clean, warm and comfortable connecting rooms. The food can be questionable here - avoid the chicken wings at all costs; greasy and no meat on them - and breakfast on a standalone basis is expensive but if you book ahead on a package deal there are some good prices to be had. My children's food was filling, good quality and good value. We'd definitely stay here again. 07 January 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Spacious rooms Very pleasantly surprised at how quiet the rooms were. Not stayed here in past as thought would be noisy due to location. Very good size rooms, clean and comfortable. Lovely bar/lounge area. Like use of slippers and robe in room and complimentary drinks and chocolate. Breakfast only criticism as not very hot and little choice for vegetarians. 02 January 2014
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Good room, poor breakfast The room was comfortable and well-appointed. The shower was good although an over-bath shower which is not as good as a cubicle. The breakfast was not good. The hot food was cold because it had been standing for too long although we went to breakfast at 8.30 am. It was disappointing, there was no choice of eggs. The fruit salad seemed a little stale. 30 December 2013
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by improvement required Hotel itself was quite nice. Italian restaurant within the hotel was very good. Maybe it was because I was using reward points but the room wasn't up to standard. There were several items that required immediate maintenance. Need to see an improvement before I would stay here again! 25 December 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by consistently good Another well appointed,spotlessly clean room. Friendly and helpful staff and hats off to the chef and restaurant staff for an outstanding meal and service. The Specials menu is well named. 21 December 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Hard to improve on, great hotel to stay at Stopped off at the Holiday Inn Scotch Corner, on route from moving house from Hertforshire to Fife, smart, spacious, great looking rooms with a few little nice touches, great food, had room service and breakfast was also fantastic, definately recommend staying here, overal rating, first class 19 December 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Good clean Facilities This Holiday Inn has new-looking, clean facilities. The heating is more effective in the bedrooms than in most hotels these days and everything was neat and tidy when I was in. I didn't get to see too much of the rest of the hotel, as I was just there overnight - but breakfast was good and staff were generally friendly. Pricing was what you'd expect for a reasonable budget hotel. I'd recommend it on this basis. 19 December 2013
Rated 1.0 out of 5.0 by Poor service and terrible food I stayed in the hotel on the night of the 13th December. I stayed with my close friend and his family as my friend was getting married the next day. The room was ok, I have stayed in better holiday Inns, the shower head was hanging of the wall in the bathroom. The bed was small and like a slab of wood with rock solid pillows to accompany - again very disappointing. We dined in the restaurant and all I say is this was atrocious. We where a table of 11 (all overnight guests) booked in at 6.30. We eventually got served our food after 8.30pm and the quality of the food was very very poor. It is not as if the restaurant was busy, there where a further 2 tables of 2 people on each.. Perhaps this shocking service was due to a Christmas party night being hosted??? But this should not affect the service and quality of food being served to your other overnight guests in your main restaurant. Breakfast the next morning was not much better, extremely slow service and very dried out food on the hot plates and this was only at 8.45am!!! This experience has really disappointed me for a Holiday Inn -part of such a worldwide hotel group. I look forward to receiving some feedback from the result of this appalling review. Thanks 18 December 2013
<<prev 2 3 4 5 6 ... 8 next>>
Exterior Feature
Exterior Feature
Select to close.
Exterior Feature Lobby Lounge Hotel Lobby Holiday Inn Darlington North A1m Junction 59 Hotel Entrance
Select to close.
Terms & Conditions
Your Nights, On Us
Close
Check-In Date
(e.g. 20 Sep 2014)
Check-Out Date
(e.g. 21 Sep 2014)
Check Availability
Loading