• English  English
    Select to close.
    Current Settings are:
      /  English

    Change Preferences:
    Country / Region of Residence:
    Available Languages:
  • |
  • |
  • |
  • 1 888 HOLIDAY
Select to close.
Select to close.
Email or IHG® Rewards Club # PIN
Not a member?Join Today!
Forgot PIN
All fields are required.
 
If you have forgotten or lost your Personal Identification Number (PIN), we can email your PIN to the email address in your IHG® Rewards Club account profile.
If you do not have an email address in your profile, please contact your local IHG® Rewards Club Customer Care  to source your PIN and to update your profile with your email address. When you receive your PIN you can also update your email address viawww.ihgrewardsclub.com/email.
IHG® Rewards Club # Email Address

Not a member?Join Today!
Create PIN
All fields are required.
IHG® Rewards Club # ZIP/Postal Code
First Name Last Name
Please select a 4 number Personal Identification Number (PIN) which will be used to access your IHG® Rewards Club account.
PIN Verify PIN
 
Not a member?Join Today!
Create Email
All fields are required.
Thank you. Your PIN has been created. Please enter your email address so you can use it to log into the site in the future.
Email Address Verify Email Address
 
Email Hotel Get Directions Add to Favourites Print Fact Sheet

Book this Hotel

Best Price Guarantee
1

Reward Nights

When redeeming points for a Reward Night, you may only book one room at a time.


Once you complete your Reward Night reservation you will be given the option to duplicate this reservation.

(e.g. 21 Sep 2014)
(e.g. 22 Sep 2014)
Have a Group Code?
Have a Corporate ID?
Check Availability
Processing your request...

* Requires affiliation in the respective organization.

** Best Available Rate Search does not include affiliation rates.

Select to close.

To book more than 9 rooms for one stay or request a quote, please use our Easy Meetings tool, call 1-800-MEETING (in United States, Mexico and Canada) or contact a Global Sales Office.

Close Button
Your Recently Viewed Hotels

Welcome to Holiday Inn Darlington - North A1m, Jct.59

Location: Suburban

  • Location: Suburban
  • Closest City: DARLINGTON
  • Distance From Hotel: 7.6KM
  • Local time zone: GMT+01:00

Check In: 2:00 PM Check Out: 11:00 AM

  • Check In: 2:00 PM
  • Check Out: 11:00 AM
  • Minimum check-in age: 18
  • Late checkout available

Credit cards

Credit cards

  • American Express
  • Master Card
  • Visa

Accessibility

Accessibility

  • Number of Rooms:3
  • Parking
  • Service Animals Allowed

Languages

Languages

  1. English

Pet Policy

Pet Policy

Hotel accepts pets, guide dogs and service animals on request prior to arrival.
Pet fee amount  10.00  GBP  per night

What's nearby

What's nearby

Attraction:
Head of Steam Darlington, Railway Museum
Distance From Hotel:8.0MI
Attraction:
Catterick Racecourse
Distance From Hotel:29.0MI
Attraction:
Beamish Museum
Distance From Hotel:48.0MI

Parking

Parking

  • Number of parking spaces120
  • Car Parking Available
  • The hotels offers 120 complimentary car park spaces, available for all guests.

Internet

Standard Internet Service

Standard Internet service is free for all guests
Wireless Internet available in Standard Rooms,Executive Rooms,Public Areas

Accommodation

Accommodation

  • Hotel renovated in:February 01, 2014
  • Total number of rooms:80
  • Total number of rooms with only one bed:80
  • Total number of rooms with only double beds:20
  • Total number of non-smoking rooms:80
  • Total number of accessible rooms:3
  • Executive rooms
  • Interior corridor
  • Total number of floors:3
Welcome to Holiday Inn Darlington North, your accommodation choice for North East England. Situated on the A1M, junction 59, our modern hotel is the ideal choice for exploring the North East England country side and any business trip. Our immaculate, tastefully decorated accommodation is both contemporary and comforting, representing great value for money. The Holiday Inn Darlington North, is ideal for business travelers, with 4 air-conditioned meeting rooms, versatile mini-gym, well equipped bedrooms
View More
Welcome to Holiday Inn Darlington North, your accommodation choice for North East England. Situated on the A1M, junction 59, our modern hotel is the ideal choice for exploring the North East England country side and any business trip. Our immaculate, tastefully decorated accommodation is both contemporary and comforting, representing great value for money. The Holiday Inn Darlington North, is ideal for business travelers, with 4 air-conditioned meeting rooms, versatile mini-gym, well equipped bedrooms with work space and complimentary Wi-Fi throughout. The hotel is conveniently located for visits to the historic Durham Cathedral, beautiful countryside of County Durham, the award winning Beamish Museum and the Durham University Botanic Gardens. After a busy day, rewind at the hotel in our modern, stylish bar and restaurant, open throughout the day serving hot and cold meals, branded coffees and a wide range of beverages. Our friendly team looks forward to welcoming you to our new Holiday Inn Darlington North.
View Less
Features
The Holiday Inn Darlington North is a smoke free hotel offering guests premium amenities - such as free high-speed wireless Internet access and free parking. The hotel has added a mini-gym which is free to use for all hotel guests.

Guest Reviews

Rated 4.2 out of 5 by 196 reviewers.
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Would stay again A busy roundabout on the A1 doesn't suggest a great place to stay, but we liked it. The service was good, the room comfortable and breakfast fits the bill, all at an acceptable price. We didn't try the restaurant in the evening, so can't comment on that, but we are game to give it a try when we stay again. Staff were polite an professional. If I have to make a negative comment, it is that hot chocolate was not offered for those who don't drink tea or coffee at breakfast. It was available at additional cost. That is fairly petty and didn't take away from our satisfaction with our stay. We would be very happy to stay again and to reccommend to others. There was a tourist information book in the room, which tempted us to return and explore the southern area of the North East and we would stay here to do just that. 05 September 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great Service When first booking this hotel they did not have a family room available but the staff so kindly arranged an alternative which was excellent we all enjoyed our stay and will be booking this hotel again 05 September 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by nice hotel very nice hotel and great food and drink,but some staff could look a bit more happy, room 137 bed not great. 04 September 2013
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Ok if you don't want frills I have used this hotel on a few occasion, its ok for a motorway stop, but feel it could do better with little extras that make your stay more pleasant. Like Sky sports in the bar, you need to go to the nearby village if you want to watch football. Nuts or crisps to enjoy with your drink, These are only available with a free drink ( if your a gold member) ,I used my free drink when I entered the bar before tea, 3 hours later was told i could have had nuts with it, but cant buy them, i had to do without! The room was obviously recently refurbished but had a lamp shade fitted and a broken window frame meaning only one catch would work. 01 September 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by EXCEPTIONAL FOR AN ACCESSIBLE ROOM THIS HOTEL HAS REALLY THOUGHT ABOUT THE NEEDS OF THE DISABLED PERSON. THE WET ROOM WAS FIRST CLASS. ANOTHER HANDRAIL NEAR THE SHOWER WOULD HAVE BEEN PERFECT BUT THIS DID NOT DETRACT FOR THE OVERALL COMFORT. A SECOND CHAIR IN THE ROOM WOULD HAVE ALSO BEEN USEFUL. NOT ALL WHEELCHAIR USERS LIKE TO SIT IN THEIR CHAIR ALL OF THE TIME. EVEN THOUGH THE HOTEL IS CLOSE TO THE A1/A66 JUNCTION YOU HARDLY NOTICED THE TRAFFIC OR ANY NOISE. OVERALL I WOULD RECOMMEND THIS HOTEL. WELL DONE HOLIDAY INN FOR GETTING IT RIGHT. 01 September 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Good place to break your journey We stayed here once before a long time ago when it was owned by another company . The property has much improved with a total refurbishment. This time we were breaking a long journey so were looking forward to a good meal and a quiet night; we were not disappointed. We enjoyed a lovely meal in the Italian restaurant where the service was excellent. The wine was a bit overpriced for what it was but enjoyable just the same. One drawback was the lack of television for the night we were there, apparently a fault affecting the whole hotel. Would definitely stop here again 27 August 2013
Rated 2.0 out of 5.0 by Great Rooms awfull bar food The reception on arrival and the room was above average but the bar food is one of the worst I have ever received in any hotel and my complaint was met with an offer of a drink! The second meal was not much better 23 August 2013
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Alarm call I like most things about the Scotch Corner Holiday Inn in terms of the room, restaurant and location. However, I was very, very disappointed that having asked for an alarm call as my phone wasn't working properly- and checked that one was definitely booked - it didn't happen. As a result I was late for an important meeting. Poor. 23 August 2013
Rated 2.0 out of 5.0 by Poor booking Don't trust what the booking representative says over the telephone. Firstly I do not think you should pay for the telephone call to book the reservation. Secondly when I booked the hotel we where offered two interconnecting rooms for a family of four (one standard double room and an executive room) at the price of two standard double rooms. This was confirmed by the booking representative. Two days later received a telephone call from the hotel asking for more money and advising that the representative shouldn't have offered the executive room at the same price as the standard room. Therefore had to accept two separate rooms. One room had holes in the towels and a broken toilet roll holder on the floor. In the morning the breakfast was nice apart from the cheese being out of date. 20 August 2013
Rated 2.0 out of 5.0 by Poor staff and useless systems The staff at checkin were unable to effectively use there own systems. Even worse it took I've 5 mins to get the attention of front desk staff who were more interested in having a private conversation in the back office, there was no bell or notice out to attract the attention staff, eventually I had to leak over the counter and shot very loudly to here there attention, this made me feel very uncomfortable. Phones down to front desk to send up a toothbrush, this never arrived and when calling to chase the line was not answered. TV system in the property was faulty and informed that there is only one working TV in the entire hotle, offered complimetary breakfast to compensate. Overall I feel the usual high standards expected of holiday inn had not remotely been met, from my observations I put this down to increadabely poor staffing choices and a complete lack of quality managmet. Expected more from holiday inn, by far the worst holiday inn I have stayed in, possibly one of the worst hotels I have stayed in, expect more from a business orientated hotle. 18 August 2013
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by needs better management Generally, OK, but TV system didn't work throughout our stay and AC was temperamental. No newspapers abound, but staff were very friendly. Needs management to get on top of the little things because they matter. 18 August 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Extremely helpful staff! We used the hotel for an overnight stay whilst attending a wedding in the area. The reception staff went out of their way to help us, which was very pleasing. The hotel itself was a good introduction to the Holiday Inn chain, (we have never used this chain before). On the strength of this visit we have booked to stay with you when we holiday in Italy in September. We have already told friends about our very comfortable stay. Thank you all. p.s. Breakfast was just so enjoyable and leisurely, another bonus!! 16 August 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Nice place ... Our room was wonderful and comfortable. Very spacious and relaxing. 12 August 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by wonderful staff. lovely hotel Friendly staff and helpful. Will use this hotel again. Well done holiday inn 01 August 2013
Rated 1.0 out of 5.0 by Poor stay 1. No upgrade available 2. No wifi connectivity 3 Only limited choice of tv stations 4. Breakfast was poor the eggs were of very low quality the staff were polite and courteous but the stay was very poor. Next time i'm in the area I will stay at the Washington HI. 30 July 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Relaxing stay, faultless. From check in to when I checked out I couldn't fault. Room (exec) newly refurbished was spacious and bed very comfortable. Room service was very good and staff overall couldn't seem to do enough to help you feel comfortable. Walked around the separate fitness centre, looked very inviting. Would recommend. 27 July 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great Hotel Quality Service all round - staff service plus great ambience.. We'll be back for a 50* discount!! Cheers 24 July 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 Great Food and Pool Lovely Holiday Inn. Fabulous Italian restaraunt. Decent size pool 23 July 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by FEEL WANTED. Stayed 4 times now and usually something just is not right, but this 4th visit went without a problem, and to make it really better we were given a free up-grade getting a bigger room than booked. Rooms are very good value, breakfast is brilliant, and staff could not be better......they work very hard. We think that food in the bar is a bit over priced for bar food. Small portions with top prices. Must admit that this hotel is value for money in most areas and the staff do make you FEEL WANTED. We stay overnight on way to lakes just to add that bit extra to our week-end away. Will most certainly go back. 20 July 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Welcome break from a long journey Booked this hotel following a friend's recommendation. They were not wrong. The location was quite right for our holiday to Scotland, the hotel was clean and staff very friendly and helpful. The air conditioning in our room was not as efficient as we had hoped and the fridge was not working. Staff changed our room but the air-con was still not adequate even though it was working. To that extent, staff provided us with a makeshift alternative - a fan, which helped (the air-con could have done with being a bit more powerful to circulate the cold air). It was unfortunate that the evening we stayed was one of the hottest days of the year. The restaurant was very nice and the meal tasty. Would I go there again? I certainly would. 18 July 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great hotel Lovely hotel, rooms very well finished, comfy beds and pillows, more like a boutique hotel :) Restaurant said there was an hours wait but as I was myself kindly fitted me in - there was however several empty tables. Service was spot on - would stay again, happily 17 July 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Spot on after a long day travelling Holiday Inn Darlington is the only Holiday Inn that has managed to get my room upgraded every time which to a Platinum member is fantastic. For my business need the location is spot on and a good place to use as a local base. Wireless internet always good there. Breakfast always good with staff always keen to assist no matter what the request. Resturant staff fantastic always asking if all is ok and if there is anything else I may need but in away which was natural and not just going through the moitions. 09 July 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great place to stop This is an excellent place to stop over, it is the best place in the area. 04 July 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Very Nice Suprise I would recommend staying at this hotel, I stayed in room 010, and was instantly impressed with the modern, bright, clean and fashionable finish to the room, the bed, pillows and bedding were really comfy bathroom was great, lovely new bath and shower. I like the complimentary Still and Sparkling water and a Kit Kat - the room facilities are great - everything you would need for an overnight stay. The staff on reception / in the Italian and during breakfast were, fun, pleasant and discreet. The food in the Italian I would recommend and indeed the draft Moretti beer too! All in all one of my fave stays in a holiday in. I didn't have time to use the leisure club, but it looked great and I believe it has a pool too. If you're in that neck of the woods, stay there. 04 July 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Clean, comfortable and friendly service. The overall impression of the hotel, from the moment you enter the foyer, is clean , smart , modern and welcoming. the staff all presented an efficient business like, friendly impression. we were given all the information we needed and made to feel comfortable from the start. Our rooms were kept to a very high standard and despite being close to the busy scotch corner junction, we did not notice any traffic noise to speak of. if we have one negative comment it is that the breakfast, which was generous, was not kept very hot. overall a very good experience. 29 June 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Stay at scotch corner My first impression when i pulled up is this biulding looks awful, but to my pleasant suprise it has recently under gone a full refurbishment and the hotel inside is beautiful. Staff were great hotel was great and food was great and this review would have been great but for one thing! The bed was just awful, it had collapsed at one and had been bodged back together with some blocks of wood that meant you could not lay flat. As if this was not bad enough the bed was worn in the middle so as much as i tried to sleep on one side of the bed gravity kept making me roll toward the middle of the bed. All in all a fab ulous hotel but i did not sleep a wink. What a shame it could have been the best holiday in i have ever stayed at 27 June 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Good base for the work programmed with excellent service It is not the first time that I have stayed at this hotel but the facilities and service remain at a high standard. One evening our bar meal was taking longer than normal, a member of staff on her own initative went to the kitchen to sort it out. We only became aware of the situation when she came to apologies for the delay. 27 June 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by A relaxing & comfortable stay. This is a regular stop on our journeys from/to Scotland. We have come to expect a warm welcome, a comfortable, relaxing stay and good food. Again, we were not disappointed. My usual niggle - choice of drinks in the bar not good for those who, like me, prefer beer to lager/wine/spirits. On this occasion a belated shock was receiving a "parking charge" for use of the car park, which is run by a private company who clearly couldn't be bothered to check that I was a hotel guest. I had, as requested, given my car registration when I checked in. That is being sorted out by the very helpful hotel staff. Looking forward to our next visit in a few weeks time. 24 June 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great staff Stayed on two occasions another stay planned, lovely relaxed, very clean and great staff, good value for money, being able to cancel at a late time without charges is excellent service 13 June 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Excellent service and a thoroughly enjoyable stay. We booked for one night at this location on our way up to the Highlands and we're so glad we did. What a brilliant start to our holiday from the friendly and helpful check in service to the excellent restaurant food. When you're in ths hotel you would never think you're just a stones throw from the A1. The atmosphere is welcoming and the whole experience was excellent. The standard of food in the restaurant was fantastic and the garlic pizza bread starter was to die for. Thank you for giving us a great start to our holiday - we will definitely be back. 10 June 2013
<<prev 4 5 6 7 8 next>>
Exterior Feature
Exterior Feature
Select to close.
Exterior Feature Lobby Lounge Hotel Lobby Holiday Inn Darlington North A1m Junction 59 Hotel Entrance
Select to close.
Your Nights, On Us
Close
Check-In Date
(e.g. 21 Sep 2014)
Check-Out Date
(e.g. 22 Sep 2014)
Check Availability
Loading