Select to close.
Select to close.
Email or IHG® Rewards Club # PIN
Not a member?Join Today!
Forgot PIN
All fields are required.
 
If you have forgotten or lost your Personal Identification Number (PIN), we can email your PIN to the email address in your IHG® Rewards Club account profile.
If you do not have an email address in your profile, please contact your local IHG® Rewards Club Customer Care  to source your PIN and to update your profile with your email address. When you receive your PIN you can also update your email address viawww.ihgrewardsclub.com/email.
IHG® Rewards Club # Email Address

Not a member?Join Today!
Create PIN
All fields are required.
IHG® Rewards Club # ZIP/Postal Code
First Name Last Name
Please select a 4 number Personal Identification Number (PIN) which will be used to access your IHG® Rewards Club account.
PIN Verify PIN
 
Not a member?Join Today!
Create Email
All fields are required.
Thank you. Your PIN has been created. Please enter your email address so you can use it to log into the site in the future.
Email Address Verify Email Address
 
Email Hotel Get Directions Add to Favourites Print Fact Sheet

Book this Hotel

Best Price Guarantee
1

Reward Nights

When redeeming points for a Reward Night, you may only book one room at a time.


Once you complete your Reward Night reservation you will be given the option to duplicate this reservation.

(e.g. 17 Dec 2014)
(e.g. 18 Dec 2014)
Have a Group Code?
Have a Corporate ID?
Check Availability
Processing your request...

* Requires affiliation in the respective organization.

** Best Available Rate Search does not include affiliation rates.

Select to close.

To book more than 9 rooms for one stay or request a quote, please use our Easy Meetings tool, call 1-800-MEETING (in United States, Mexico and Canada) or contact a Global Sales Office.

Close Button
Rated 4.4 out of 5 by 284 reviewers.
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Lovely hotel Very happy with the hotel. Staff very friendly and helpful. Relaxing spacious clean rooms. Fab view. Nice to hear the water of a night. Comfortable bed. Great breakfast. Can not fault this holiday inn or my stay here. Would highly recommend 19 September 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Fabulous, friendly staff. A little haven! We spent August bank holiday here. 2 adults & 2 children, 10 & 12 yrs. I cannot say enough to praise the staff. Despite the hotel being VERY busy, nothing was too much trouble and we were always greeted with a smile. We needed to go to Liverpool on the Saturday for a sports competition. The hotel staff happily froze my ice packs for me on Friday night so I could pack my picnic box the next day, and then filled my flasks with boiling water the next morning. We only had B&B so I cannot say anything about the restaurant meals, but the breakfasts were wonderful and there was always lots available. Even beautiful, fresh crusty bread in both white and brown which you could slice to suit yourself. Our room had two double beds which were a good size and very comfortable, but it was quite cramped. Once we were all in there and our luggage, there really wasn't anywhere to put anything! However, it was great value for money, so that is only a very minor thing. It was fine for along weekend. We had a room looking out of the back of the hotel, overlooking the canal and locks. It was really lovely surroundings and very quiet. The hotel is less than 5mins drive from the motorway and you can be at Cheshire Oaks in 10mins easily. Great for access to shops and restaurants. Very easy access to both Liverpool and Chester also. Excellent stay! Highly recommended! 17 September 2013
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Poor bed The bed was not a proper bed it had wooden slats and could be folded up into a cupboard it was not of a standard which I expected of a Holiday Inn and was very uncomfortable. When I complained about it on arrival I was told that there was no other room available as the hotel was full. This was not a last minute booking as I had booked the room two months earlier. I will NOT be returning to this Holiday Inn. 12 September 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Lovely room and great service Spent a lovely weekend with my two young daughters at the Ellsmere Port Holiday Inn. This was their first time staying in a hotel and they had a great time. Wonderful facilities and had a great time using the pool, although only small it was ideal for young children. Food was delicious and great value for money, staff very friendly and made the whole weekend very enjoyable. Looking forward to our next visit. 06 September 2013
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by small and congested room Felt room was small & congested for the family of 4, also the Sofa bed were not very comfortable. 05 September 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Consistently good I stay here on business quite often and think it is always the best Holiday Inn in the UK. Pleasant situation and excellent service all round 05 September 2013
Rated 2.0 out of 5.0 by bed Me and my husband took our grandchildren aged 9 and 2 to stay and the sofa bed kept collapsing whilst the children were lying on it. 03 September 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Comfortable and great service. This was our first visit to Ellesmere Port and we were very pleasantly surprised. Initially a bit hard to find off the motorway, but once we had done that, we realised just how handy everything was. We were one motorway junction from Cheshire Oaks, which we used for shopping and evening meals. Very easy to travel N, S, E & W. We used the local railway station for a trip to Liverpool, which was well worth a visit. Breakfasts were plentiful, and there was plenty of choice. The room was comfortable and well furnished. We also made good use of the nearby fitness centre. The staff were welcoming and friendly and there were no problems to resolve. We would love to return to this hotel as it has a lot to offer. 02 September 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great location and facilities The hotel is based in a lovely setting by the canal next to the Boat museum and offers a lovely relaxing feel to your break. The facilities were excellent and the staff were friendly and accommodating. My only slight negative is that the family room seemed a bit cramped! But overall, we all really enjoyed our overnight Chester Zoo break at this hotel. 02 September 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Great location for visiting Liverpool or Chester attractions Welcoming staff and cosy, comfortable room. Only had time for breakfast in the restaurant this time as we were meeting friends locally for dinner during our stay. Good choice of juice, cereals and cold/cooked breakfast items. As well as the multiple attractions of Liverpool (we left the car at Hoylake Station Park & Ride and took the train) there is the National Waterways Boat Museum on site and Chester Zoo not far away. Will no doubt be back again. 30 August 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by another great stay excellent food, lovely surroundings and very pleasant and helpful staff as always. 30 August 2013
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Starting to look tired Great site, good set up and totally meets needs I have been staying at hotel since it opened for business and pleasure but also for family events including a 40th and 50th anniversary The hotel is starting to look tired but the staff work hard to cover crack Accepting it was a bank holiday but we had to wait for breakfast as there where too many guests for tables available at 9am. Got back to hotel at 11am and bar closed. Didn't stay at hotel for food as in past felt that staff didn't really care. Classic responses when I asked who supplied their chicken the staff said "brakes" ! Gym and swimming pol sum it up.......tired and needs a few quid spending on facilities Shame really as it meets everything else I need in a hotel MD....... Please note 29 August 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Good Hotel The hotel is very conveniently located for The Blue Planet Aquarium and Chester Oaks Designer Outlet. It is also easy to get to from the motorway and it's location on the old docks is very unique. The hotel itself was clean and pleasant and the staff were very friendly. We enjoyed our stay here, and would have no second thoughts about booking to stay here again. 29 August 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by daughter's wedding Hi we have just had our daughters wedding here, it was only six weeks start to finish , the staff were fab, the coordinator was great always on the end of the phone or e-mail, food was excellent nothing was to much trouble, thanks very much, the setting for the photo's was fab xxx 28 August 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Quiet and Peaceful Hotel We stopped over from a visit from Cheshire Oaks Outlet (Which is only 2/3mins drive away) on our way down to London for a long bank holiday weekend. All the staff were really helpful. Missus used the gym onsite and was a little on the small side but overall good to use. If we do go back to Cheshire, we will definitely think of stopping at Ellesmere Port Holiday Inn. 28 August 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by One of holiday inns Gems Stayed over during a leisure trip looked after well as usual. One of Holiday inns understated properties. 27 August 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Nice location, good service Stayed one night whilst visiting friends in Chester, hotel was in a nice location by the canal locks. Breakfast was good and staff helpfull . 26 August 2013
Rated 2.0 out of 5.0 by Great staff, otherwise pretty poor I'm afraid this hotel was a bit of a curates egg. The staff were uniformly great. Very good natured and tried hard. Price was quite reasonable too considering it included breakfast. Unfortunately the rest of the hotel wasn't of the same quality....and I really don't understand how that can happen. There were many examples of things being 'not quite right' which, individually, were trivial but, overall, left quite a poor impression of the hotel, including; * Bin not empty in the room when we arrived * Non matching cups (3 mugs, 1 cup) in the room, no spoons * Exposed wiring in the wall of the room (looks like it was for a temperature sensor) * Quite tight restrictions on children's use of pool (not after 8pm, not before 10am) * Thin walls and floors, so lots of noise from adjoining rooms * Food was very average quality at top shelf prices * Went to dinner at about 19:00 hrs; had run out of Guacamole * Went to breakfast about 09:30; had run out of Orange Juice and croissants ...there were lots of other bits and pieces in a similar vein, but you get the idea. So; great staff, hotel not to usual Holiday Inn standard. DAVE 25 August 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 Once again, a very pleasant stay It had been some time since we visited the Holiday Inn, Ellesmere Port, and we were keen to see if the previously high standards were still in place. Just off the motorway, and close to outlet shopping, the Hotel is well signposted. It is equally well situated for shopping as for touring North Wales/Liverpool/Manchester. Car parking is particularly good, with ample spaces close to the entrance. This was important as my elderly mother accompanied us. The lady at reception was very pleasant and asked us to wait for a few minutes whilst rooms were being prepared. As we were early, this was no hardship whatever. I hold IHG Rewards Club Gold status, and this was recognised by allocating a larger room and vouchers for use in the restaurant. It took only a few minutes before our rooms were ready, and this was much appreciated. I had reserved an accessible room for my mother, and this was in very good order. Our room was down the corridor, and was very pleasant indeed. We noticed that the bathroom toiletries are now large bottles attached to the wall. No doubt this is a cost reduction exercise, but the quality remains high so it is not a problem at all. The hospitality tray was well stocked and our room had excellent air conditioning: very useful during the warm muggy weather! After a day visiting relatives, we returned to the hotel at approximately 10pm and were delighted to note bar food was still available We had asked the server what soup was on offer and were informed it was tomato. This was perfect with sandwiches for a late night snack. After over 20 minutes had passed we were informed that a mistake had been made, and the soup was in fact Vegetable, and would this be alright? My response was that it didn’t really matter once we didn’t have too much longer to wait. 10 minutes later, the food arrived. The vegetable soup consisted of a clear liquid with undercooked lumps of vegetables, and pre-buttered bread on the side. The sandwiches (Tuna and so-called Thick Ham) were poorly filled, and the ham in particular was so thin as to be almost translucent. Given the lateness of the hour, and the imminent closure of the kitchen we decided not to raise our complaints until the following morning. Breakfast is served in the restaurant which overlooks the canal. It is a very pleasant room, and the food was excellent. The staff were particularly pleasant. Despite being very busy, there was time for a friendly word with everybody they encountered. Indeed any staff members we encountered throughout our stay were without exception very friendly. I then spoke to a duty manager, and outlined my concerns about the food quality of the previous evening. He was very apologetic, appreciated my coming to him and adjusted the bill to take account of the poor food the previous evening. We then left the hotel to do some shopping and returned mid afternoon to refresh ourselves. I visited the leisure centre and had a pleasant swim and sauna. On returning to the hotel later that evening, we once again ate in the bar. My Mother had excellent fish and chips, and I indulged in a plate of pure comfort food: eggs, beans & chips. This was of a far higher standard than the previous night, and we thoroughly enjoyed the meal. This was a very pleasant stay in a hotel which manages to maintain a high standard. Staff are very pleasant and the hotel’s location make it a good choice. 23 August 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Good location & friendly staff. An excellent location close to motorway links and public transport into Liverpool city centre: this well-priced hotel is set right by a nicely-landscaped canal showing its industrial heritage with swans swimming as we ate breakfast! It provided a decent base from which to take the train into Liverpool...our trip was to visit both the Walker and Lady Lever Art galleries. Ellesmere Port railway station is a brisk 15 minute walk away (trains run every 30 mins): the return fare into the city at under £5 each seems very reasonable for the distance and easy access to the main sights on arrival….taking the car would have involved parking charges for the day (free at the hotel), plus the river tunnel toll of £1.60 each way. Hotel staff were friendly and helpful although it would be worthwhile for them to explain the breakfast charging policy on arrival, rather than guests having to query the bill at check-out. Luckily for us the receptionist who dealt with the matter understood our annoyance at not being told we needed to book breakfast in advance to pay £10 each rather than £13.95. At £10 the breakfast is good value with excellent choice of fruit, cereals, yoghurt, cold and cooked dishes although the bread selection was rather limited. Happily the coffee was passable although somewhat weak: there was a comprehensive range of Twinings tea bags on offer, plus fruit juice. We didn't have dinner so cannot comment on any other meals. We had booked a "standard" room but, on reading a review found out it would most likely have a folding bed: an immediate phone call to the hotel reassured us that a regular bed would be held for us. The room was very clean with double bed, desk and armchair plus good quality TV, kettle with tea etc. Bathroom was small but functional with fresh towels and plenty of hot water: shower was very weak and bath tub narrow but adequate…lighting too dull for applying make-up! Unfortunately the bed was too hard for me as I'm small so my back was not resting but simply on the top of the mattress: husband felt comfortable as he's larger than me! Generally we thought it a very quiet location although the usual noise of other guests in the corridor was disturbing in the morning. Our room had a view towards the river with beautiful sunset: after a long day on our feet it was a treat to sit and watch TV. We didn't use the pool so can't comment but it is located in a seperate building a short walk across the car park. We would recommend this friendly hotel and will use it again on our next visit. 23 August 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Visit to Ellesmere Port Staff were helpful. had booked a twin bedded room and the sofa bed had not been made up. this was quickly resolved. we wanted to eat off the premises and a recommendation and post code were provided to enable this (a good recommendation too!) decor was a little dated and damaged through wear and tear. Would have liked a selection of fruit tea in the room. There was a wedding on which made the hotel busier than usual, but aside from there being nowhere to park on site at the point of arrival, this was resolved later and there was no effect felt on our stay as a result of this wedding. 23 August 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Excellent customer service and comfort, good breakfast Stayed here for a short break. Lovely room, overlooking the canal basin. Very comfy bed and relaxing room space. We had booked a stay with breakfast. They provided a wonderful choice from croissants (which the staff will warm for you).... to fruit and cereals and toast, with the 'full english' as well. The staff were obliging and helpful, from the front desk to the room cleaners, who took time to say 'hello' when we walked down the corridor. The pool and sauna were just a 1 minute stroll away, and the kids loved it...complimentary towels provided as well. Used room service for a family evening meal. Great food, excellent presentation and good portion size....everyone was very happy. It is close to some great tourist spots, like the national waterways museum, blue planet aquarium, chester zoo and cheshire oaks. Parking is good, but on a first come first served basis in front of the hotel and to the right. Overflow parking is the other side of the entrance bridge, if you are a late arrival. We would certainly go again. 18 August 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Great location Good hotel great location. Thought I was b&b but was room only and breakfast is a bit expensive. Meals and drinks also over priced. Swimming pool is excellent. I stayed in holiday inn express in stoke and was much cheaper there also breakfast was free. Staff very helpful and nothing was too much trouble. 17 August 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great service in restaurant Quick and easy check in, lift up to the room was very small but hey ho. Room had two double beds one of which had a very soft mattress which I can not stand!! But the other was more firm and to my liking. Bathroom small but clean and tidy. Great view from room over looking the canal!!! Evening meal in restaurant was fab, both waitresses kind and friendly, even took the kids out to fees the ducks!!! Also gave kids colouring sheets and then sweets. The food was of a good standard I had the burger followed by a wonderful cheesecake. Breakfast was lovely again overlooking the canal, plenty of good to choose from and it was great that the kids ate for free. Will defo visit again. !!! 17 August 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Ideal Excellent location for Chester the shopping outlet and Holyhead 17 August 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Harry Potter and the room under the stairs I am a regular at this hotel and was disappointed to to be allocated a dual purpose room with a fold down bed, a completely new experience, which was noisy (metal creaking as you turned over) and it had a wooden board on the floor to catch your toes. Also the throw on the top of the bed was soiled with chocolate or the like. My wife and I were disappointed but the hotel was very full. 15 August 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Ellesmere Port Holiday Inn For the past fifteen years i have been staying at the Ellesmere Port Holiday Inn for Business and pleasure. In all that time i have never had any cause to complain about Service , Facilities or Staff. On every occasion the Service provided has been of an extremley high standard, the satff are always pleasant and helpful , the rooms are always clean and the food from the kitchen is delicious! I will be booking a room for next Thursday night as i have to work in Chester the next day. Says it all really !! 14 August 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Good hotel Good hotel only thing that let them down was fold out double bed which was very uncomfortable. 13 August 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great Hotel I have stayed in this hotel about 7 times now, the hotel is always clean and the staff always helpful. The atmosphere is relaxing and if I have had any problems the staff have always sorted them out straight away. Would definitely recommend staying in this hotel. 12 August 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Great place to stay I would definitely stay here again. The staff couldn't do enough for you and were really friendly. The kids loved the view from the hotel - plenty of ducks and a couple of swans. The plus is the little pool which is great. If I was going to have a negative I'd say the evening meal wasn't great but the breakfasts more than made up for that! 12 August 2013
<<prev 5 6 7 8 9 ... 11 next>>