• English  English
    Select to close.
    Current Settings are:
      /  English

    Change Preferences:
    Country / Region of Residence:
    Available Languages:
  • |
  • |
  • |
  • 1 888 HOLIDAY
Select to close.
Select to close.
Email or IHG® Rewards Club # PIN
Not a member?Join Today!
Forgot PIN
All fields are required.
 
If you have forgotten or lost your Personal Identification Number (PIN), we can email your PIN to the email address in your IHG® Rewards Club account profile.
If you do not have an email address in your profile, please contact your local IHG® Rewards Club Customer Care  to source your PIN and to update your profile with your email address. When you receive your PIN you can also update your email address viawww.ihgrewardsclub.com/email.
IHG® Rewards Club # Email Address

Not a member?Join Today!
Create PIN
All fields are required.
IHG® Rewards Club # ZIP/Postal Code
First Name Last Name
Please select a 4 number Personal Identification Number (PIN) which will be used to access your IHG® Rewards Club account.
PIN Verify PIN
 
Not a member?Join Today!
Create Email
All fields are required.
Thank you. Your PIN has been created. Please enter your email address so you can use it to log into the site in the future.
Email Address Verify Email Address
 
Email Hotel Get Directions Add to Favourites Print Fact Sheet

Book this Hotel

Best Price Guarantee
1

Reward Nights

When redeeming points for a Reward Night, you may only book one room at a time.


Once you complete your Reward Night reservation you will be given the option to duplicate this reservation.

(e.g. 02 Oct 2014)
(e.g. 03 Oct 2014)
Have a Group Code?
Have a Corporate ID?
Check Availability
Processing your request...

* Requires affiliation in the respective organization.

** Best Available Rate Search does not include affiliation rates.

Select to close.

To book more than 9 rooms for one stay or request a quote, please use our Easy Meetings tool, call 1-800-MEETING (in United States, Mexico and Canada) or contact a Global Sales Office.

Close Button
Your Recently Viewed Hotels

Welcome to Holiday Inn Ellesmere Port/ Cheshire Oaks

Location: Suburban

  • Location: Suburban
  • Closest City: CHESTER
  • Distance From Hotel: 7.0MI
  • Local time zone: GMT+01:00

Check In: 2:00 PM Check Out: 11:00 AM

  • Check In: 2:00 PM
  • Check Out: 11:00 AM
  • Minimum check-in age: 18
  • Late checkout available

Credit cards

Credit cards

  • American Express
  • Master Card
  • Visa

Accessibility

Accessibility

  • Number of Rooms:4
  • Parking
  • Service Animals Allowed

Languages

Languages

  1. English
  2. Polish

Pet Policy

Pet Policy

No Dogs except Assistance Dogs

What's nearby

What's nearby

Attraction:
Ellesmere Port Boat Museum
Distance From Hotel:0.35MI
Attraction:
Multi Screen Vue Cinema -
Distance From Hotel:4.0MI
Attraction:
Blue Planet Aquarium
Distance From Hotel:4.0MI
Attraction:
Cheshire Oaks Designer Outlet Village
Distance From Hotel:4.0MI

Parking

Parking

  • Number of parking spaces85
  • Car Parking Available
  • Hotel offers free parking

Internet

Standard Internet Service

Standard Internet service is free for all guests
Wireless Internet available in Public Areas
Wired Internet available in Standard Rooms,Executive Rooms,Suites,Business Center,Public Areas

Accommodation

Accommodation

  • Hotel renovated in:February 01, 2002
  • Total number of rooms:83
  • Total number of suites:1
  • Total number of rooms with only one bed:31
  • Total number of rooms with only double beds:10
  • Total number of non-smoking rooms:83
  • Total number of accessible rooms:4
  • Interior corridor
  • Total number of floors:3

Enjoy a peaceful canalside location at the Holiday Inn Ellesmere Port/Cheshire Oaks, set on the beautiful Wirral Peninsula.

All 83 fresh, modern Guest rooms at the wharf-style Holiday Inn Ellesmere Port/Cheshire Oaks hotel offer high-speed Internet and canal views. Cross bridges and locks to arrive at our tranquil island home and take a few short steps along the towpath to reach our heated indoor pool, sauna and 9 naturally lit meeting rooms.

Guests attending
View More

Enjoy a peaceful canalside location at the Holiday Inn Ellesmere Port/Cheshire Oaks, set on the beautiful Wirral Peninsula.

All 83 fresh, modern Guest rooms at the wharf-style Holiday Inn Ellesmere Port/Cheshire Oaks hotel offer high-speed Internet and canal views. Cross bridges and locks to arrive at our tranquil island home and take a few short steps along the towpath to reach our heated indoor pool, sauna and 9 naturally lit meeting rooms.

Guests attending weddings or conferences at Holiday Inn Ellesmere Port/Cheshire Oaks enjoy use of the private bar and lounge in our 270-person Mercer Suite. It's easy to reach meetings in Liverpool and Manchester thanks to convenient motorway connections. Liverpool John Lennon Airport is 8 miles from the hotel.

Meet cheeky monkeys at Chester Zoo, 6 miles from the hotel, and head to nearby Cheshire Oaks Designer Outlet for big-name fashion bargains. It's a short, picturesque stroll along the River Mersey to view historic vessels at the National Waterways Museum, and Chester city centre is 12 miles from the hotel.

Work up an appetite in the air-conditioned Fitness Centre at Holiday Inn Ellesmere Port/Cheshire Oaks before a full English breakfast in The Locks Restaurant, overlooking the canal. Tasty dishes like grilled tuna and sizzling steaks are available at lunch and dinner An you can mingle till late in Locks Bar.

View Less
Features
The National Waterways Museum brings together a unique fleet of historic boats with rich collections and archives to tell the story of Britains canals and waterways. The historic docks at Ellesmere Port provide the perfect setting. With its stunning location on the banks of the Mersey and the Manchester Ship Canal, extensive in-door displays, boat trips and historic buildings.

Guest Reviews

Rated 4.4 out of 5 by 304 reviewers.
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Short Break I have stayed at other IHG hotels over the past 18 months and was expecting great things at the Crowne Plaza. I chose the hotel for its central location in Chester and was not disapointed with that, as it is very close to all the shops restaurants and bars you could possible need for a 5 day stay. The room was ok but was looking tired, with paper and paint peeling in places and a window that refused to shut properly. Cannot fault the reception staff, who were very friendly and informative and nothing was to much trouble. 16 September 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Disappointing stay Unfortunately my stay was disappointing. Although the bed was comfortable, the pillows were not satisfactory and no other choice of pillows were offered. Wifi access was very poor and frustrating. 15 September 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Late Arrival Staff extremely helpful even though arrived, due to terrible road conditions too late for dinner and being a diabetic - food was readily available - thank you 15 September 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Perfect location for Chester City Centre - Perfect base to explore the City of Chester, being a short walk from the many resturants and bars. - From booking to checking out we received excellent customer service. - Staff were polite and attentive. - The rooms are clean and comfortable. - The breakfast was wonderful with a huge choice of food. - The bar area was friendly and comfortable. - The communial areas are clean and inviting. - The only negative is car park charges for parking at the Hotel. 15 September 2014
Rated 2.0 out of 5.0 by Melissa Jordan Poor looking dated exterior. Reception and bar area have been modernised but the rest of the hotel needs updating. The food in the restaurant is very good but is let down by extremely poor service. 08 September 2014
Rated 2.0 out of 5.0 by Overall experience was poor Good breakfast, ambiance of dining/bar very good. Poor room quality/uncomfortable beds, small pool, dirty carpets and poor sleep. 07 September 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by chester break good location, helpful & cheerful staff, good food, comfortable bed & very clean & well serviced room, absolutely no complaints. will recommend to friends. 05 September 2014
Rated 2.0 out of 5.0 by Poor service in the restaurant Disappointing for a Crowne Plaza. Restaurant service very poor. Don't go to the restaurant when they have a corporate event as you will be ignored. Manager doesn't care. 04 September 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great hotel in central location Excellent quality hotel within easy walking distance of centre and race course. Lovely large rooms with all expected added extras. Buffet breakfast was very nice. Would definitely stay here again :-) 04 September 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Excellent Stay We stayed at the Crowne Plaza due to it being in the centre of Chester. The hotel was excellent, our room was very clean and the bed was huge! We ate at the hotel one evening and the food was very nice! The pool and other facilities were excellent, would recommend this hotel to anyone looking to stay in Chester. The staff could not have been anymore helpful and friendly than what they were......Excellent hotel! 02 September 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by nice and comfortable room. My husband and i went thursday to saturday great position of hotel close to the centre of chester. Excellent inside and friendly room was very clean and tidy. 02 September 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great location This was the first time I've used this hotel, it was easy to find and plenty of places to park . Excellent atmosphere in the bar, great free bar snaks. Room was spacious and clean I had a lovely quiet nights sleep, Having just used it for business, I'm going to book it for pleasure it's so close to the Main Street in Chester with all it's bars and shops I'm sure of a great time. 01 September 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Good night's sleep Booked this hotel as it was conveniently close to the city centre. Unfortunately my car GPS set chose this day to refuse to work, and the directions in the confirmation email were hopelessly inadequate. It is impossible to read road names while driving, especially if, like Hoole Way, they are not to be seen. A map of the roads to the hotel would have been much more helpful. Reception was quick and efficient, though obviously the hotel car park is too small, as we had to use the next door municipal car park at a price. The room was good, and the huge bed was very comfortable. The room amenities were all that I expected, although I was unable to access the hotel information on the TV set. Breakfast was delicious and the choice was good, and the view from the breakfast restaurant was exceptional. A thoroughly enjoyable stay, once I found the hotel! 29 August 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Best hotel,in Chester Having stayed at the Crowne Plaza for the past week whilst competing in the World Town Crier Championships, my wife and I found the hotel extremely comfortable and welcoming, from the reception staff to the breakfast crew and the room staff nothing was to much trouble. The room was very comfortable and spacious, and they had even arranged for a bed extension to accommodate my 7ft 2ins frame!!! The breakfast was out of this world. We cannot comment on evening meals as our competition organisers had arranged evening meals elsewhere my wife is confined to a wheelchair and we have stayed in many hotels across the Country but this is the very first time that the reception staff explained in great detail the fire evacuation procedure and the duty porter even walked us to the fire refuge point. We are hoping to return to the Crowne Plaza for a short holiday very soon as we did not get much time to see the beautiful city 28 August 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Lovely hotel Superb location near the centre of chester. Service was excellent. I would certainly recommend this hotel for people wishing to explore Chester. 28 August 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Dinner bed and breakfast We had a lovely evening at the Crown Plaza Chester. The food, service and bedroom was really good and excellent value. The breakfast was hot with an excellent choice of food including freshly made omelets. I would stay again. Close to city center for good shopping. 28 August 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by nice hotel - poor wifi nice hotel and leisure facilities but appalling wifi service. to be fair we didnt pay for it but, if we had , i would have wanted a refund 27 August 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Good hotel with easy access to Chester City shopping. We stayed one night on the dinner and breakfast package. The food was very good and well worth the money charged. The staff were exceptional and the hotel location ideal for the city shops. The room was warm and our bed comfortable. The room at the back of the hotel was very quiet. In every respect this was a good hotel experience. 27 August 2014
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Very Average Car park was full every time I tried to use it. Full of badly parked cars taking up multiple spaces. Checked into the room and the bath had not been cleaned properly, lots of hair! Huge crack in the washbasin, that leaked all over the floor. Apparently my room gave me access to the executive lounge, well I have to say that in over 10 years of travelling on business this is the saddest lounge I have ever encountered. IHG must be the only 'reward' scheme where platinum members do not get automatic access to the lounge. Paying extra for this was just an insult to be honest. I wont be rushing back to this hotel and I'm now looking for an alternative to stay in the Chester area. 24 August 2014
Rated 1.0 out of 5.0 by Mr Coomes hotel nice enough but room service got our food orders wrong both nights and even though I paid cash both nights I will still charged for one of them when checking out. 22 August 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Excellent hotel! We stayed at the Crowne Plaza in Chester for the night with friends even though we all live relatively close. We wanted to spend an evening in Chester. The hotel was a really good choice. The rooms were clean, the beds were comfy and the bathrooms were of a very good standard. we had rooms 222 and 229. The hotel staff couldn't do enough for us. They were polite and recommended a lovely restaurant for the evening meal. From the hotel it was only a short walk into Chester city centre. Breakfast was buffet style and the staff again were more than helpful. Extra choices at breakfast were available. We would certainly use this hotel again, next time we would like to try out the spa facilities. 19 August 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by If only the jacuzzi worked Grotty from outside but really nice inside. Staff extremely well trained and courteous. Close to City Centre so did not use the restaurant or bar which would have to match the centre of Chester for variety and price. Jacuzzi not working, with no warning when booking or at reception and no knowledge of when it would be fixed. Internet annoyingly inefficient compared to other hotels. I phone kept losing the connection and difficult then to reattach Would use hotel again tho, with my wife if they fix the jacuzzi 19 August 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Overall experience Excellent Stayed with my sister for a 3 night break and was thrilled with every aspect of the hotel. All members of staff polite, friendly, helpful and very professional which made our stay very enjoyable and we fully intend to stay here again and recommend this hotel to family and friends should they be visiting the Chester area. First class. 18 August 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by A fabulous break with great service We've just had a great couple of days in Chester. The hotel staff were fantastic; so professional-yet friendly and exceptionally helpful.The food was brilliant and the service, especially at reception-including the concierge, was just perfect. Our room was quiet and so,so comfortable...and the club room with drinks etc was just right after long days on our feet. We also loved the pool and the gym...so we didn't feel too guilty about eating so much! Thank you everyone for a well needed beeak! 16 August 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Very friendly and helpful staff The frontage leaves a bit to be desired but don't be fooled this good quality hotel is very well located for visiting Chester and leaving the car in the car park. Very helpful staff and good food. 15 August 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by GREAT HOTEL, STAFF AND SERVICE I recently stayed at the Crowne Plaza in Chester and would highly recommend this hotel. The hotel is lovely and clean and the staff are some of the friendliest I have ever dealt with when staying in a hotel. We arrived for the Chester Races for a business family day out that my work had organised and left our car and returned to the hotel in the evening. The staff were so helpful checking us in and letting us know where everything was in the hotel, as well as entertaining our baby boy whilst we went through the check in process. Our room was bright and airy and very clean and tidy. The travel cot provided for my baby boy looked new and also had a lovely safari quilt with it which he loved sitting on. At breakfast the staff cut up my sons fruit and toast and got us a high chair and a lovely large table before we had even sat down which was so kind. The food was lovely and the choice of so many different items at breakfast was such good value for money. We would defiantly stay here again when we next visit Chester as a family as the standard of service and care we received was excellent. 15 August 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Good Stay Hotel is idea for access to the town centre. The facilities in the hotel are good, good food, friendly atmosphere and staff 13 August 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great Breakfast This was our second visit to this hotel, that in itself speaks volumes as i have very high standards and would not return if i had any problems on the first visit. The staff all very pleasant and attentive.Chester as always a great location for a short break or indeed retail therapy.the only thing that i would recommend is a car park refund to hotel guests. 12 August 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Relaxing stay We stayed one night, the location was perfect for our shopping visit to Chester. Lovely comfortable clean room, swimming pool a decent size and warm! Staff were friendly and helpful, we will definitely be back. 12 August 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Amazing staff Having stayed for the first time in Chester, I found the staff friendly, polite and above all helpful. Jack in the restaurant is a charactor who is clearly passionate about his job. His attitude towards his staff and guests is amazing. This is continued towards his staff who he clearly motivates well and who always have a smile. I would seriously consider his advice when it comes to the menu, especially if he recommends a burger that he can negotiate with the chef to design himself. Overall the stay was very relaxing and the service within the hotel was something that has not been experienced before. Many thanks to all and I will certainly be returning... 10 August 2014
<<prev2 3 4 5 ... 11 next>>
Hotel Exterior
Hotel Exterior
Select to close.
Hotel Exterior Reception Area Attractions Front Desk Hotel Exterior
Select to close.
Kids, Stay and Eat Free at Holiday Inn
Close
Check-In Date
(e.g. 02 Oct 2014)
Check-Out Date
(e.g. 03 Oct 2014)
Check Availability
Loading