Select to close.
Select to close.
Email or IHG® Rewards Club # PIN
Not a member?Join Today!
Forgot PIN
All fields are required.
 
If you have forgotten or lost your Personal Identification Number (PIN), we can email your PIN to the email address in your IHG® Rewards Club account profile.
If you do not have an email address in your profile, please contact your local IHG® Rewards Club Customer Care  to source your PIN and to update your profile with your email address. When you receive your PIN you can also update your email address viawww.ihgrewardsclub.com/email.
IHG® Rewards Club # Email Address

Not a member?Join Today!
Create PIN
All fields are required.
IHG® Rewards Club # ZIP/Postal Code
First Name Last Name
Please select a 4 number Personal Identification Number (PIN) which will be used to access your IHG® Rewards Club account.
PIN Verify PIN
 
Not a member?Join Today!
Create Email
All fields are required.
Thank you. Your PIN has been created. Please enter your email address so you can use it to log into the site in the future.
Email Address Verify Email Address
 
Email Hotel Get Directions Add to Favourites Print Fact Sheet

Book this Hotel

Best Price Guarantee
1

Reward Nights

When redeeming points for a Reward Night, you may only book one room at a time.


Once you complete your Reward Night reservation you will be given the option to duplicate this reservation.

(e.g. 01 Oct 2014)
(e.g. 02 Oct 2014)
Have a Group Code?
Have a Corporate ID?
Check Availability
Processing your request...

* Requires affiliation in the respective organization.

** Best Available Rate Search does not include affiliation rates.

Select to close.

To book more than 9 rooms for one stay or request a quote, please use our Easy Meetings tool, call 1-800-MEETING (in United States, Mexico and Canada) or contact a Global Sales Office.

Close Button
Rated 4.2 out of 5 by 61 reviewers.
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great shopping days!! Spend some wonderful days with my husband in this hotel who was on a business trip in Essen. Great restaurant and nice shopping facilities right in front of the hotel. Lobby bar sometimes too small in the evening but the staff was always great and helpful! 23 September 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by 4 stars hotel? Hello. I have stayed in your Hotel but I was wondering that it is a 4 star Hotel????? 225 euro for Ibis Standard is a joke.... 22 September 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 great hotel to visit We had a 3day stay in this hotel and it was great! The staff was very friendly, food was excellent and the room was nice and clean. If you ever visit Essen this is the hotel to be!!! 16 September 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Nice hotel, even with children We had a reservation of two rooms, our little one 2 years needed a baby bed, what is placed by the crew members of the hotel in a family room. One room with airco, the other not, that was a little minor. But never less, everything was alright. Greetings, the family Roothoofd - Verhaegen 24 August 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Holiday Inn Essen I stayed the last 2 years because of my work in many Hotels true Europa , Swiss , Italy , Great Britain , Norway etc.etc, the best place for me was and is The Holiday Inn at Essen , great service , price worthy and as well the breakfast as the diners showing that the people working there love them jobs , I highly recommend it there as well for business as pleasure . 23 August 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by I will come back !!! =) Dear Holiday Inn Team, I stayed in your Hotel and I really enjoyed my stay in Essen with you. The Check In was very detailed but quite fast. The room was clean and unusual big - very good ! There was just an air condition missing. I asked at the reception for it and they told me, that this is just available in the higher room categories, not in the normal Standard rooms - but when you open the window everything is fine ;) The breakfast buffet is really big - there is something for everybody !!! A little terrace is available as well, so in summer you can sit outside in the back of the hotel. The city center is very close to the hotel, you just need go out of the hotel and then you can already see the big shopping centre "Limbecker Platz". The Check out was fast as well ! Everthing on the invoice was correct. =) In total I can say everything was fine: the hotel is nice and clean, lovely personal, good location and nice city !!! 23 August 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by moviepark package Very good value for the price withe 2 days ticket, close to the park Warm welcome, staff very helpful even after departure (I forgot something in the room and they sent it back in Belgium between 2 days). Huge breakfast, confortable room, free wifi was ok. 21 August 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Nice Hotel in the city centre, delicate breakfast We stayed 2 night at the Holiday Inn Essen City Centre. Hotel staff was friendly all the time during our stay. The room we've booked was clean, very generous and had a mordern look. The lobby was a bit old fashioned but not in a bad state! Very good breakfast buffet with a huge variety of food and beverages. Shopping Centre and metro just 5 minutes to walk! We would love to come back when we visit Essen the next time! 13 August 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Feel comfortable and welcomed The staff is very friendly and they do everything for the satisfaction of their guests. The hotel is directly in the centre of Essen and you only need 3 minutes to the pedestrian and shopping area. The rooms are big enough and very cleanly. 07 August 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great "one day"- vacation We booked this hotel because of a recommendation from a good friend who had stayed here several times before and our expectations were fulfilled!!! The staff at the reception was friendly and very helpful as we asked for several directions (two girls with a map looking confused...:) ). The room (double room with two beds) was very large but we spend more time outside in the shopping mall- indeed, it is within walking distance and offers a variety of good labels! In the evening we had dinner on the hotel terrace - really nice place to be with good food and several suitable wines. As we went to the breakfast the next morning it was a little bit crowded but again we found some space on the hotel terrace. A great breakfast buffet!!! We made ourselves some fresh waffles and were offered a fresh Latte Macchiato- perfect service! We were really sad to leave but- we will return :) 06 August 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Good place to stay in Essen The hotel is in the centre of Essen. Outside it is sometimes a little busy. The parking space is too small - that is the only thing I wouldn't recommend. The check in was friendly and my room was very big and also with aircondition. The tv was new - the free pay tv didn't worked all the time but that wasn't a problem for me. WIFI didn't cost anything and was working well. The service team was friendly even when they were very busy. Breakfast was outstanding good. 25 July 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Nice City Hotel - central located I stayed one night at this classic Holiday Inn Hotel in Essen. It is good located - very central. Nice staff - big rooms and even a wardrobe. Breakfast is the best - staff at the bar also friendly and entertaining. I will come back. 02 July 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Good Breakfast, and in the middle of Essen Perfet value and rate for the rooms and the Tickets for the Movie Park. We arrieved with a group of 16 People and can confirm that everything was great. Hotel in the middle of the Town, 5 minutes into the shopping mile. Great. We would book there again. 14 June 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Very Nice Comfortable huge rooms. Not the newest and biggest hotel, but the very friendly staff and the overall services (internet, sauna etc. free of charge) makes a stay very pleasant! 12 June 2013
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 Terrible facility What a terrible facility. 1st day, my room is 208, the door is broken after a night and couldn't open by card. And my room changed to 210, behind the elevator. The terrible smell is in and out room all the day, and many children are runing and shouting in the corridor until midnight during weekend. It's really not a good feeling for everyone of us, I will never chose this hotel forever. 28 May 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Business hotel near shopping mall - nice business hotel in the centre of Essen next to the shopping mall - got a new renovated room - with a lot of space - room with small kitchenette - friendly staff - reception and also rest of the team - parking are very small - nice sauna and very small gym - breakfast a little bit expensive - but great buffet for breakfast - best i have seen the last months - free wifi 16 April 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by General We stayed here prior to our departure from Duseldorf into Amsterdam. It was the closest HI we could find to the Mall. Did not expect what we found when we walked in the door. Great and friendly service in setting up early morning (4AM) transportation to the airport. The evening food was very good, the morning breakfast buffet was excellent (on a Saturday even) and the staff was helpful, friendly and very courtesy. The hotel is very convienent to the mall and other shopping. I would rate our stay here as one of the best HI's I've stayed in and I use them both in the US and Internationally. Great room, very reasonably priced, clean and bathrooms were spotless. Cant say enough, thanks HI 13 April 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Excellent business hotel I stayed at the Holiday Inn Essen City Centre for one night. The staff at the reception was very friendly. They gave me a lot of information and helped me also with my flight booking - excellent! I got a really new (renovated?) room - it was very spacious with a big fridge and a microwave - the internet was free of charge. I would like also to recommend the fanatastic breakfast ( I love the waffles and also the chicken nuggets)! The service team was also very freindly and helpful. If I had to stay again in Essen, I am sure to come back! 03 April 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Good city hotel with friendly staff and new renovated room I stayed at the hotel for business. The parking garage was very small so be carefull when driving your car into it. The staff during my total stay was very friendly and helpful - even special wishes were friendly fullfilled ( restaurant ordered Bratkartoffeln instead of french fries). The staff told me, that they have renovated nearly 60 rooms at the beginning of the year. I got a new renovated room which was very nice and comfortable. Even I got a lot of space in the room. The team has a good knowledge about the city and the area. I would like to come back, if I had to stay in Essen. 27 March 2013
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Could be better Well the room and everything was fine until i realised a day later i had left my washbag at the hotel. I then contacted the hotel and asked if they had found it and gave me the room number. I was told i would be contacted, i received nothing. So the next day after visiting a client nearby i went by to the hotel and found my washbag at the reception. no note had been left to conatct me and the excuse was that they didnt have a name!!!!! Strange when you book in to a hotel they take your name. The cleaning team had found it on the day I checked out and passed it to the reception. I found a note inside the bag. Thank you Cleaning Team. Apart from my small rant above I found the hotel to be exactly described and it was nicley located for ease of access to all local facilities. 20 February 2013
Rated 2.0 out of 5.0 by Overcharging is Standard. And bring your own toilet paper, I stayed recently at this hotel, booking 1 Suite for myself, plus 2 twin rooms for employees. I used to stay here regularly, but this is the first time I have done so for several years. The twin rooms turned out to be 2 singles pushed together to make a double. It was not possible to pull them apart, as the bedside tables were fixed to the wall. Apparently this passes as a twin. The Suite was extremely poor. It was just an ordinary room with a wall between the bedroom and sitting area. None of the usual extra amenities were present – no robe, slippers, toiletries etc. It was also quite small – I have had larger standard rooms at this hotel. The hotel website advertises a music sound system, but there wasn’t one. It also advertises a fully stocked fridge, but again this was untrue (unless you count the mini-bar). In all the rooms, towels were frayed and bedding was heavily worn. Particularly annoying however was the lack of housekeeping. Beds were made, and towels folded, but no extra supplies were given – not even toilet paper! I had to ring down to Reception for tea, coffee, milk and toilet paper for 2 of our rooms – a very sorry state of affairs in any hotel. I had fully intended to complain to the Manager, but when I went down to check-out, there were already more than 20 people queuing to do so, and only 2 Receptionists working. When I got to the front of the queue the hotel then tried to overcharge me by over $150 for extra breakfasts – this despite the fact they had the correct paperwork, it was just that the IT system insisting on the extra money. By the time this was all sorted I was already late for my last meeting, and did not have time to complain. So I emailed the hotel when I got home. I got a response from the manager, in which he admitted that overcharging for breakfast was normal, and only when guests complain is it corrected! He had no interest in the general shoddiness, or lack of room supplies including toilet paper – apparently this is something that “housekeeping could improve on”. Music sound systems were also “available from reception”. I stay in a lot of hotels, and I would rate this as a poor 3 stars. I think the hotel management is trying to cut every corner it can. Its fine if you can get a cheap room, because that is all this is worth. The only plus point was that the hotel seemed quite clean. 24 October 2012
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Gute Lage Hotel liegt sehr central mitten in Essen. Verkehrsanbindung top und ein guter Ausgangspunkt für viele interessante Ziele in Stadt und Umgebung. 09 October 2012
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Sehr schönes Hotel in der Innenstadt - gute Nähe zum Shopping Center - gute Parkmöglichkeiten 06 October 2012
<<prev 2 3