• English  English
    Select to close.
    Current Settings are:
      /  English

    Change Preferences:
    Country / Region of Residence:
    Available Languages:
  • |
  • |
  • |
  • 1 888 HOLIDAY
Select to close.
Select to close.
Email or IHG® Rewards Club # PIN
Not a member?Join Today!
Forgot PIN
All fields are required.
 
If you have forgotten or lost your Personal Identification Number (PIN), we can email your PIN to the email address in your IHG® Rewards Club account profile.
If you do not have an email address in your profile, please contact your local IHG® Rewards Club Customer Care  to source your PIN and to update your profile with your email address. When you receive your PIN you can also update your email address viawww.ihgrewardsclub.com/email.
IHG® Rewards Club # Email Address

Not a member?Join Today!
Create PIN
All fields are required.
IHG® Rewards Club # ZIP/Postal Code
First Name Last Name
Please select a 4 number Personal Identification Number (PIN) which will be used to access your IHG® Rewards Club account.
PIN Verify PIN
 
Not a member?Join Today!
Create Email
All fields are required.
Thank you. Your PIN has been created. Please enter your email address so you can use it to log into the site in the future.
Email Address Verify Email Address
 
Email Hotel Get Directions Add to Favourites Print Fact Sheet

Book this Hotel

Best Price Guarantee
1

Reward Nights

When redeeming points for a Reward Night, you may only book one room at a time.


Once you complete your Reward Night reservation you will be given the option to duplicate this reservation.

(e.g. 30 Aug 2014)
(e.g. 31 Aug 2014)
Have a Group Code?
Have a Corporate ID?
Check Availability
Processing your request...

* Requires affiliation in the respective organization.

** Best Available Rate Search does not include affiliation rates.

Select to close.

To book more than 9 rooms for one stay or request a quote, please use our Easy Meetings tool, call 1-800-MEETING (in United States, Mexico and Canada) or contact a Global Sales Office.

Close Button
Your Recently Viewed Hotels

Welcome to Holiday Inn Ipswich

Location: Suburban

  • Location: Suburban
  • Closest City: IPSWICH
  • Distance From Hotel: 3.2KM
  • Local time zone: GMT+01:00

Check In: 2:00 PM Check Out: 12:00 PM

  • Check In: 2:00 PM
  • Check Out: 12:00 PM
  • Minimum check-in age: 18
  • Late checkout available

Credit cards

Credit cards

  • American Express
  • Master Card
  • Visa

Accessibility

Accessibility

  • Number of Rooms:3
  • Parking
  • Service Animals Allowed

Languages

Languages

  1. German
  2. English
  3. Spanish
  4. French
  5. Portuguese
  6. Slovak

Pet Policy

Pet Policy

Guide and Assistance dogs only allowed.

What's nearby

What's nearby

Attraction:
Suffolk Heritage Coast
Distance From Hotel:0.0KM
Attraction:
University Campus Suffolk
Distance From Hotel:3.0KM
Attraction:
Ipswich Town Football Ground
Distance From Hotel:4.0KM
Attraction:
Ipswich Town Centre
Distance From Hotel:5.0KM

Parking

Parking

  • Number of parking spaces250
  • Car Parking Available
  • Coach Parking

    Access to rear Car Parks direct from bedroom corridors

Internet

Standard Internet Service

Standard Internet service is free for all IHG® Rewards Club members
Wireless Internet available in Public Areas
Wired Internet available in Standard Rooms,Executive Rooms,Public Areas
Standard Room Wired Fee for Non Members:£ 16.00 16.0  GBP

Accommodation

Accommodation

  • Hotel renovated in:February 01, 2004
  • Total number of rooms:108
  • Total number of rooms with only one bed:81
  • Total number of rooms with only double beds:27
  • Total number of non-smoking rooms:108
  • Total number of accessible rooms:3
  • Executive rooms
  • Interior corridor
  • Total number of floors:2

Stay at the relaxing Holiday Inn Ipswich hotel for its accessible location and well-equipped Spirit Health Club.

Tree-dotted lawns surround the modern Holiday Inn Ipswich, situated 2.5 miles outside Ipswich town centre. We're easy to find on the Copdock Roundabout interchange of the well-linked A12 and A14. Step inside our health club, where floor-to-ceiling windows bathe our swimming pool in natural daylight.

Ipswich station is only 7 minutes' drive, with
View More

Stay at the relaxing Holiday Inn Ipswich hotel for its accessible location and well-equipped Spirit Health Club.

Tree-dotted lawns surround the modern Holiday Inn Ipswich, situated 2.5 miles outside Ipswich town centre. We're easy to find on the Copdock Roundabout interchange of the well-linked A12 and A14. Step inside our health club, where floor-to-ceiling windows bathe our swimming pool in natural daylight.

Ipswich station is only 7 minutes' drive, with direct trains to London's Liverpool Street station. Your clients at Textron or the BT Group offices in Adastral Park are both under 20 minutes' drive away. Our 8 air-conditioned meeting rooms include the rustic-style Windmill Room and all have wireless Internet. Unwind at Holiday Inn Ipswich with a workout in our air-conditioned Fitness Centre.

You can meet rare-breed Essex pigs and pick up produce at Jimmy's Farm's shop, 10 minutes by car from Holiday Inn Ipswich. We're just 4 miles from action-packed Ipswich Town FC home games at Portman Road stadium, and Sutton Hoo's fascinating Anglo-Saxon burial mounds are 12 miles away.

Children will have fun adventures on the ropes and slides in our colourful outdoor play area, while adults can relax in the sauna or steam room. The Junction restaurant offers breakfast while the wooden-beamed Millers bar serves a pub menu of gourmet burgers and nachos.

View Less
Features
The Holiday Inn Ipswich London Road is conveniently located just two and a half miles from Ipswich town centre. The hotel is close to the A12 and A14 interchange and just seven minutes from Ipswich train station. Dine in our Junction Restaurant or enjoy a drink and light meal in our Millers Bar. Our fantastic Spirit Health Club is for free, you can unwind in the pool, sauna or steam room.

Guest Reviews

Rated 3.8 out of 5 by 83 reviewers.
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Dreadful breakfast Although we came down for breakfast pretty late in the time allocated we were still in the time scale. Paid £9.95 per head for breakfast which was dried up and nasty and to be honest very little of it, ... my son refused to eat it and had cereal instead, very expensive cereal I have every paid! Tip get down early for breakfast! 31 December 2013
Rated 1.0 out of 5.0 by Boxing Day Unfortunately our room was freezing!! Me and my husband and 10 year old returned to our room around 10.30pm but was met by a very cold room. We turned the radiator on which didn't seem to make a difference as the window did not close properly so the wind kept the room cold. We were too tired and cold to report this to the hotel, but informed the receptionist in the morning. We would not return to this hotel. 30 December 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great hotel and staff let down only by wifi cost and online booking. 5 of us stayed 2 nights B&B over Christmas while visiting a family member nearby. I was very impressed with the attention to detail of the reception staff who phoned me a couple of times to check our exact room requirements and advise of limed meals over the Christmas period. Naomi and Michelle were very friendly and efficient. The online booking (nothing to do with this individual hotel) was NOT good as I was not able to select 3 different room types on one booking so had to call the hotel as well.I was disappointed that wi-fi was not free (or rather my 2 children were) but the rooms were spacious, clean and well equipped. We were also on the ground floor which was a bonus for my father in law, as I had forgotten to ask about this. Breakfast on Christmas day was lovely and cooked to order with friendly waitress service (sorry I did not note your name). The next day it was 'help yourself' but with the same plentiful selection. Very pleased with the value for money we received. I would definitely recommend this hotel and will book again without hesitation if we need to stay in this area again. 30 December 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Ouiet room I asked for a quiet room,and I got a quiet room was very happy. Marion or maralyn at reception was very helpful,will be back soon. 25 December 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Lovely venue and lovely staff We have just enjoyed a Christmas party night last Saturday. From the minute we walked into reception we were made to feel extremely welcome. The room was very nice, the dinner/dance was good fun and the breakfast the next day very good. Excellent value for money. Hopefully see you again next year. 19 December 2013
Rated 2.0 out of 5.0 wouldn't go again nice building, helpful staff and a good restaurant. But too much traffic noise through the night 07 December 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Well above expectations This was a real surprise. A hotel in a business park just off the A14 isn't a promising start, but it was lovely. It's a long, low sprawling building with lots of room, extremely convenient for anywhere east of Ipswich. Very welcoming and helpful reception (I arrived late and tired) and a large comfortable clean room with a sleep-inducing mattress. I didn't choose to have supper (they go on serving until late) but breakfast was good and checkout quick and friendly. I shall be back. 06 December 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 Costly wifi.......... Why ????? Nice hotel stayed a few times but wonder why I have to pay for wifi when Holiday Inn Express is free Not on ,bad value for money 06 December 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Excellent service It felt like being in your very own country house. Not like a chain hotel at all. The receptionist was particularly welcoming and attentive making everything very easy. We had room service - again excellent service and food. A very enjoyable stay - no wonder brides choose this as a wedding venue. Thank you. 28 November 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great staff and stay Staff really helpful made stay feel as if it was for pleasure and not just work. 23 November 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Good value hotel Food quality is very good. In particular the breakfast is outstanding when Rex is working. Most of my employees have commeneted on the quality of breakfast service friom Rex! 21 November 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by better than expected Great experience, nothing posh but comfortable and excellent staff. the surprise was how quiet and relaxing the room was. A little dated decor -wise, but even that was quite refreshing. 19 November 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 Friendly Staff and Good Service Just a one night stay here. A friendly welcome & a comfortable room. Although it suffered from traffic noise. (They should really consider sound proofing & triple glazing). Arrived about 4:45 & needed to be out by 6:30, so was looking for a quick meal. The restaurant achieved this without any fuss. Breakfast was excellent in choice quality & service. Our compliments to the chef & all the staff. 02 November 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 Excellent value and helpful service A party of six adults stayed overnight at this hotel as we were attending a wedding party nearby. We were all pleased with the service we received. The food in the bar was good value and the menu varied. Breakfast offered a large choice of food and most importantly, the hot dishes were hot! Rooms were large and comfortable. When we returned late a very helpful night porter provided us with tea and coffee. Overall a good experience and definitely value for money 24 October 2013
Rated 1.0 out of 5.0 by Would not recommend - noisy and poor customer service. The Holiday Inn brand are, in theory, meant to provide a standard level of service wherever you may be staying. The staff at this hotel did not appear to be familiar with these basic standards and the customer service fell far below which I would normally expect at Holiday Inns. The levels of noise (due to a party/function) were unacceptable. Furthermore, the fire alarms were activated twice during the night and there was no letter of apology/explanation at checkout. However, the hotel is good value and has great potential due to the size of the rooms and the facilities. However, it does need a makeover and some staff training. I fully agree with the comments of Stuart500 below. 17 October 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Comfortable clean room The room was comfortable and clean. the staff were very helpful and the food & service were excellent. Would definitely recommend. The only complaint is that the shower height was not adjustable. 08 October 2013
Rated 1.0 out of 5.0 by Considered leaving at 3:00AM - TOO NOISY - worst stay ever! Apart from accommodation in Uzbekistan and China I cannot think of a worse night's sleep I have ever had over the last 20+ adult years visiting 32 different countries. Our last stay overnight was in June at a nearby River Orwell hotel that deserved a solid 3 stars for the same price, my main gripe there was some corridor noise which I wanted to reduce hence trying here instead. I had read the previous review mentioning the disco noise but expected to get back from a wedding reception around the time it finished (00:30#. Having arrived back early at 22:00 due to a tired family, I soon realised that the music was just about bearable but the people passing in the corridor, talking in the reception / lobby area and the closing of nearby doors was ridiculously noisy. I managed to get an hours sleep up until 01:42 when I was awoken by swearing drunks congregating outside. The shouting and swearing went off and on until 03:35 when it eventually fell quiet. During almost 2 hours I had heard the reception telephone ringing several times #I stayed in room2) with a female assistant asking the wandering guests to please go back to their rooms as other people had complained. Her effectiveness was poor, I assume the drunk guests were more important to the ones trying to sleep, a persistent neighbouring guest had more luck at herding the guests away. I am extremely disappointed in the Holiday Inn staff and have no confidence in their ability to provide an adequate hotel service. Either sort the noisy guests out or get quieter rooms, some hotels do both......oh what bliss. The good points were that the room was big, looked clean and had hot water. The hotel was also near to where we needed to be and the breakfast staff were polite and did a good job. The breakfast was okay, not good but not bad although it was not exactly value for money. Perhaps there was more than only 2 tea bags in the room but I couldn't find them. To be fair the previous hotel competitor had also only supplied 2 bags but I feel that this was a missed opportunity to do at least one thing better than them. The tired decor matches the lack of sound insulation, this old building needs more than redecorating. If you want a good night's sleep then I cannot recommend this hotel. I can't help but laugh / cry at seeing the word Atmosphere on the comments form! 08 October 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Best Holiday Inn ive stayed in . Very helpful and friendly staff,lovely clean room and a fantastic breakfast ive stayed in many Holiday Inns but this one must be the best . 02 October 2013
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by good room poor food Requested a room with disabled facilities but none available. The Exec Suite was good and comfortable. Note in room referring to 'special restaurant menu' certainly did not live up to expectations. The quality and presentation of food was poor and would not recommend dinning in the restaurant. 28 September 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Will stay again Nice Hotel, we only stayed 1 night as we were visiting family. We used the swimming pool at the local gym free of charge which was lovely. Our room was very cosy with a king size bed, we both slept well. Noise from the corridor is a problem with people talking loudly returning to the rooms. We never ate there as it was a bit pricey and breakfast was still £9.95 each, we only wanted tea and toast but the lady said it was still that price as it was a fixed price breakfast, maybe the Hotel should also cater for guests that don't want a big breakfast. Overall we would recommend this Hotel 25 September 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Very enjoyable overnight stay Very relaxing stay with very good service. Staff excellent. Food very tasty and rooms clean and comfortable and quiet (even though we were on the ground floor near the hotel entrance and road) 08 September 2013
Rated 1.0 out of 5.0 by Tired decor, hot hotel room, loud disco. The king-sized bed was comfortable, the room was large, and the water was hot. Those were the good points. Sadly the decor was extremely tired, there was no air conditioning in the room and the exceptionally loud disco (and the people AT the disco) was so loud I couldn't have the window open. Ear-plugs work wonders, thankfully! The room was clean however the bath wasn't, there were a few hairs in the bath..... No idea about the food- I chose not to have breakfast as it was rather too expensive...... I had arrived very late, having been working nearby, and left very early the next morning - I wouldn't have enjoyed being there any longer. 05 September 2013
Rated 1.0 out of 5.0 by Worse ever!!!!!! Nice room, away from the noise of the 2 functions going on 31/8, Wrong, ! noisy children running riot in the 'staff only' car park until midnight, restaurant became a conference room set with tables & chairs, limited menu & 1 other diner.breakfast was a equally riotous affair, lack of glasses, long wait for top ups. A problem with the bill @ dinner time could not be sorted until the next morning, A very apologetic desk staff took feedback, checked my e- mail address & assured me the manager would contact me.......still waiting, had this been my only stay @ this chain it would certainly be my last. 04 September 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Excellent wedding venue We had our wedding at Holiday inn Ipswich Orwell venue with the whole package and staff and service was excellent, the venue room was beautiful and the whole day ran like clockwork. They were very professional and made us feel relaxed. The food was amazing for the wedding meal with generous portions and the evening hot buffet was also amazing. The D.J. the hotel booked was spot on as well. The hotel room was very spacious and comfortable. The morning breakfast was superb. All in all we would recommend anyone to get married here for a beautiful wedding at a very reasonable price. 27 August 2013
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Management needed Booked on a whim 24 hours ahead of our stay which was for 2 nights b&b family room staying Friday and Saturday nights. I booked via Hol Inn website. Check in was prompt and staff member polite. He advised me that it would have been cheaper if I had booked direct with hotel. He asked me if this was ok as he would have to charge the rate I had booked (£15 more than if I had phoned to book) and what could I say other than it looked as if I had no choice in the matter! Our family room was not as pictured on website. My daughter who is nearly 10 yrs old had a z-bed which had to be positioned right next to the double bed. It left no room to move around the double bed and it even made opening the window difficult. The bathroom was ok but old. The cleanliness of the bath was poor as I discovered when trying torted why the water seemed slow to drain and found quite a lot of hair wrapped around the plug hole. Saturday breakfast was a,joke. At 9a.m 1 staff member was initially seen who seemed for 10 minutes or so to be completely alone. All tables were full of used plates. We were warned there was a bit if a wait for cooked items. This turned out to be about 15 mins but others had waited double that time. Disgruntled customers appeared to be the norm. Other staff did arrive and help but that was easily 35mins after we first sat down. No milk available for cereal-the dispenser was not refilled. Only 2 drinking glasses were available and several juice jugs were empty and not replenish and ditto pastries/muffins and other breakfast goods. Worse still, staff seemed not to even register. We decided not to go for a repeat of breakfast on Sunday and having heard so many other guests complain about breakfast on check out, I did the same. I got a different staff member who accepted how bad it had been the previous morning and because I pushed,she agreed to deduct the charge for breakfast. Sadly, during our exchange, ras t her than apologise and be gracious, she felt the need to give me 101 reasons why/defences of the Saturday morning. This was not my problem as a guest. I suggest management actually manage the hotel and put enough staff on if they know they are going to be busy. In all, hotel ok but a little tired. Staff friendly enough but in need of some reminders of what customer service means. 27 August 2013
Rated 2.0 out of 5.0 by Not the hotel's fault But one of the worst nights sleep ever due to kids fuelled up on sugarry fizzy drinks in the bar, then screaming up and down the corridor till late night. Reception did try to sort it out, but then having got to sleep the guest upstairs' phone started vibrating at 3.00 am for his alarm, then had to endure the noise of him getting up. 26 August 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Excellent completely enjoyed our stay couldn't fault it in any way. Will definitely come again. Our friends who I brought with us enjoyed the experience too. all excellent!!!! 22 August 2013
Rated 2.0 out of 5.0 by Broken toilet, dirty grout, old and murky I found this hotel to be sub-par. The flush on my toilet was broken, which I was going to report the following morning but there was no receptionist to be found. Grout in bathroom needed cleaning. Very grissely sausages for breakfast. Bath not suitable to be used for a shower given the narrow base. Musky old smell around the hotel. No ironing board or iron in rooms. Very disappointing all in all. 16 August 2013
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Problems finding hotel, using internet and in-room facilities,otherwise OK ! Your directions to the hotel are basically incorrect. It says ' take IPSWICH ORWELL exit off A14 signposted RANSOMES EUROPARK'. Not knowing the area I thought it would be simple but its NOT,because there is no exit off A14 marked 'Ipswich Orwell' , only 'Ipswich Nacton' in either direction, also the only sign to Ransomes is way down the slip road AFTER you have left the A14. This needs correcting.Having eventually found the place, I asked at check-in to use the computor , which I was pleased to learn is at last FREE for Elite members.I was told there is NO COMPUTOR - you need to use wi-fi in room or laptop to access internet . This is extraordinary, and I have never had this problem in any HI before. I complained to the Mgr, Jason, who immediately offered to let me use his own laptop which was very helpful, and said that I was the first person to ask to use a hotel computor in his 2 months there. Possibly not too surprising as HI have until recently been charging £5 or more for each use !! As far as I am aware it is not yet compulsory in this country to own a laptop or wifi device and I think a computor for guest use , paricularly as it will be free to all guests shortly, should be provided in all your hotels as standard. Otherwise you cant promote this as an upgraded benefit for all guests.Next problem was in the room - someone had decided to leave one bedside lamp unplugged , and moved the other across room and there was no bedside cabinet on right side of bed at all! We improvised on this as I had got fed up with complaining, but there is a housekeeping issue there somewhere.On the bright side the new menu items being trialled were good,eg the POUSSIN, also the fresh PANCAKES for breakfast.We were supposed to be having a relaxing break, I'm not sure these problems helped ! 14 August 2013
Rated 2.0 out of 5.0 by food i was charged 4.95 for the smallest bowl of chips i have ever seen in my life and to add insult to injury the sauce bottle was the dirtest bottle of sauce i reckon they could have found "disgusting" for you review readers at the holiday inn i have photos for you apprusal also the internet charge realy gets my back up, you go to the budget hotels and its free, for the priceholiday inn charge you would expect free internet ps dont even get me started on the service charge for someone to walk 30 paces to my room holiday inn general never get my rewards points right either??? 04 August 2013
<<prev 2 3 4 next>>
Indoor Heated Swimming Pool at The Spirit Club Ipswich
Indoor Heated Swimming Pool at The Spirit Club Ipswich
Select to close.
Indoor Heated Swimming Pool at The Spirit Club Ipswich Flatford Mill Scenery / Landscape at Holiday Inn Ipswich Banquet Room at Holiday Inn Ipswich Christchurch Mansion Welcome to Holiday Inn Ipswich Hotel Exterior Entrance Front Desk at Holiday Inn Ipswich Hotel Lobby Millers Bar & Lounge at Holiday Inn Ipswich
Select to close.
Terms & Conditions
Holiday Inn Running
Close
Check-In Date
(e.g. 30 Aug 2014)
Check-Out Date
(e.g. 31 Aug 2014)
Check Availability
Loading