• English  English
    Select to close.
    Current Settings are:
      /  English

    Change Preferences:
    Country / Region of Residence:
    Available Languages:
  • |
  • |
  • |
  • 1 888 HOLIDAY
Select to close.
Select to close.
Email or IHG® Rewards Club # PIN
Not a member?Join Today!
Forgot PIN
All fields are required.
 
If you have forgotten or lost your Personal Identification Number (PIN), we can email your PIN to the email address in your IHG® Rewards Club account profile.
If you do not have an email address in your profile, please contact your local IHG® Rewards Club Customer Care  to source your PIN and to update your profile with your email address. When you receive your PIN you can also update your email address viawww.ihgrewardsclub.com/email.
IHG® Rewards Club # Email Address

Not a member?Join Today!
Create PIN
All fields are required.
IHG® Rewards Club # ZIP/Postal Code
First Name Last Name
Please select a 4 number Personal Identification Number (PIN) which will be used to access your IHG® Rewards Club account.
PIN Verify PIN
 
Not a member?Join Today!
Create Email
All fields are required.
Thank you. Your PIN has been created. Please enter your email address so you can use it to log into the site in the future.
Email Address Verify Email Address
 
Email Hotel Get Directions Add to Favourites Print Fact Sheet

Book this Hotel

Best Price Guarantee
1

Reward Nights

When redeeming points for a Reward Night, you may only book one room at a time.


Once you complete your Reward Night reservation you will be given the option to duplicate this reservation.

(e.g. 31 Oct 2014)
(e.g. 01 Nov 2014)
Have a Group Code?
Have a Corporate ID?
Check Availability
Processing your request...

* Requires affiliation in the respective organization.

** Best Available Rate Search does not include affiliation rates.

Select to close.

To book more than 9 rooms for one stay or request a quote, please use our Easy Meetings tool, call 1-800-MEETING (in United States, Mexico and Canada) or contact a Global Sales Office.

Close Button
Your Recently Viewed Hotels

Welcome to Holiday Inn San Diego - La Mesa

Location: Suburban

  • Location: Suburban
  • Closest City: SAN DIEGO
  • Distance From Hotel: 17.0MI
  • Local time zone: GMT-07:00

Check In: 3:00 PM Check Out: 11:00 AM

  • Check In: 3:00 PM
  • Check Out: 11:00 AM
  • Minimum check-in age: 18
  • Late checkout available

Credit cards

Credit cards

  • American Express
  • Carte Blanche
  • Diners Club
  • Discover
  • Master Card
  • Visa

Accessibility

Accessibility

  • Number of Rooms:7
  • Parking
  • Service Animals Allowed

Languages

Languages

  1. English
  2. Spanish

Pet Policy

Pet Policy

Service dogs only. No charge fee or deposit for service animals. However, owner is responsible for any damage or added cleaning fees due to soiling.

What's nearby

What's nearby

Attraction:
Grossmont College Sports Football Baseball
Distance From Hotel:5.0MI
Attraction:
SeaWorld San Diego
Distance From Hotel:6.0MI
Attraction:
Old Town San Diego-State Historic Park
Distance From Hotel:11.0MI
Attraction:
San Diego Zoo
Distance From Hotel:11.0MI

Parking

Parking

  • Number of parking spaces176
  • Car Parking Available
  • Registered guest parking only. Unauthorized vehicles will be towed at owners expense. Complimentary Parking pass for one car, per room, will be issued at check-in. Oversize Vehicles not permitted without approval from General Manager ahead of time.

Internet

Standard Internet Service

Standard Internet service is free for all guests
Wireless Internet available in Standard Rooms,Executive Rooms,Suites,Business Center,Public Areas

Accommodation

Accommodation

  • Hotel renovated in:February 01, 2009
  • Total number of rooms:141
  • Total number of suites:7
  • Total number of rooms with only one bed:57
  • Total number of rooms with only double beds:84
  • Total number of non-smoking rooms:141
  • Total number of accessible rooms:7
  • Interior corridor
  • Total number of floors:3

Welcome to Holiday Inn San Diego - La Mesa! San Diego flows with the charisma of its Spanish settlers, with sun, sand, beaches, mountains, world class golf courses and lakes providing a wide array of options to both business and leisure travelers. This Holiday Inn is centrally located in San Diego County, only minutes from downtown, with easy access to both important industries and the many attractions of the city. Viejas and Barona Casino, located in East County, feature world class gaming,
View More

Welcome to Holiday Inn San Diego - La Mesa! San Diego flows with the charisma of its Spanish settlers, with sun, sand, beaches, mountains, world class golf courses and lakes providing a wide array of options to both business and leisure travelers. This Holiday Inn is centrally located in San Diego County, only minutes from downtown, with easy access to both important industries and the many attractions of the city. Viejas and Barona Casino, located in East County, feature world class gaming, dining and entertainment. Discover some of San Diego's history by visiting Old Town San Diego with its famous Bazaar Del Mundo, Cabrillo National Monument, Gaslamp Quarter or one of the region's many missions. Enjoy Balboa Park, botanical gardens, museums, galleries, even wineries in North County.

On the tree-lined streets of La Mesa, Holiday Inn San Diego - La Mesa is a full service hotel, with modern design and friendly staff. Featuring a state-of-the-art fitness center, a well-appointed heated outdoor pool, and highly equipped business center, Holiday Inn provides the perfect place to stay for any trip to San Diego.

Holiday Inn San Diego - La Mesa--everything you need to visit this coastal Southern Californian city.

View Less
Features
Well situated in a picturesque city with lots of character, Holiday Inn San Diego - La Mesa allows ease of access to an incredible range of businesses, attractions, and pleasant destinations...

Guest Reviews

Rated 3.9 out of 5 by 145 reviewers.
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Needs Repair Hotel is quiet , needs a lot of upgrade its very used parking on the weekend is adequate at best , hard to find a place to park , temperature was very hot and room air conditioner did not seem to keep up 18 September 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Holiday Inn in La Mesa, California This hotel is in a fine location near the freeway (8). The service and the breakfast were excellent! A great place to stay!! 16 September 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Nice place to Stay in San Deigo I stayed there during the labor day weekend. The hotel is nice and clean, staff is courteous, breakfast was good. 11 September 2014
Rated 2.0 out of 5.0 by Beware!!!-Hotel does not award bonus points as promised I was promised 500 bonus IHG rewards points for being a Platinum member when I checked in. They thanked me for being a Platinum member and said that I will get 500 points added to my account after check out. I waited for 2 weeks after I checked out and still did not see the points on the account. I called and spoke to Carlos who said I am not entitled to the points because I used reward points for my stay. I told him that the clerk knew I was checking in with reward points and still said I was entitled to the points. I have stayed at other IHG hotels on points and was still awarded bonus points by the hotel. Changing the rules after the fact is a misrepresentation of facts presented to the guest and is a negative reflection on the hotel and IHG as a whole. I am a loyal and frequent business and personal stay guest of IHG for many years. This leaves a very bad taste in my mouth that I cannot trust a IHG hotel to deliver on a promise of awarding a small amount of 500 bonus points as appreciation for being a loyal guest for many years. If it was an error by the staff in awarding the points, the hotel should still do the honorable thing and award the points. Is 500 points worth alienating a loyal guest who has been staying over 60 nights a year at IHG properties on a regular basis? I guess so based on the response I received from the hotel. Any guest staying at this property should be cautious and check their reward points carefully. You may be shorted points as well. 11 September 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 Friendly staff The Hotel is located close to the San Diego state. The staff was very helpful. Restaurants are at walking distances. We had a lovely stay we will always come back to this hotel and recommend to other students visiting the area. Thank you 10 September 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Vacation stay We were met with attentive, friendly staff. They were willing to assist with recommendations on eateries and shopping in the area. There was some repairs being done on our level or the floor below in which we heard hammering and drilling noises; however, this was concluded by 3p and did not go into the night hours. Our room was excellent and comfortable with the exception of a broken piece on the security curtain. We had to pull lightly and work the curtains to close completely for privacy and lighting. 06 September 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great Hotel Great hotel. 10 mins drive to Sea World. Quiet. Clean. Friendly staff. Would stay here again if I'm in the area. 04 September 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Clean room with great shower. Pleasant stay made far more pleasant by offering a clean room and bathroom with a great soothing shower. Most hotels are too cheap or clueless to know that something as simple as a nice, well functioning shower makes all the difference in the world when you are travelling. 02 September 2014
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Good not great... Recently stayed at this hotel about a week ago. Check-in was smooth. There were just two things that I found quite peculiar. One was while shaving, I somehow found myself sweating, I didn't know why because the shower was off and I just had the lights on, so upon further inspection I look up and on top of the mirror there were 5 HEAT PRODUCING LIGHBULBS, like the one's for plants and lizards, so I turn off those lights and try the one directly above the toilet and... yes to my disbelief that too had the same kind of bulb,just ended up taking a shower with the lights off and door open. 29 August 2014
Rated 1.0 out of 5.0 by Worst Stay Ever I have been staying at this Holiday Inn for the past 2-3 years and had always loved it. The staff was always nice and very curteous and they always seemed eage to please. This time around it was differant though. Upon checking in they put me in a room next to the freeway. I knew from a previous stay that I wouldn't be albe to stay there but thought I would try it since they were so busy. It was so loud I couldn't sleep at all. Also when I got to the room it looked like someone had just washed thier hair in the sink. There was long black hair in the sink and the shampoo bottle and lotion were 1/2 empty and sitting next to the sink. There were other cleanliness issues I won't go into but also the TV wasn't working and the screen froze every 2 minutes or so. I asked the next day to be moved only to be told no, that there were no rooms available. This was afternoon but before check in time plus I had just checked online reservations and it said they had a room available. Maintenance came to the room 2-3 times to fix the TV and couldn't fix it. After being treated like my concerns didn't matter I canceled the rest of my resrvation and moved to another Holiday Inn. I did end up staying another day because I had to cancel before 6:00 PM but no way I could have gone with out sleep any longer. There was 1 young lady who did go out of her way to help and apologised for the way we had been treated. SHe was the one who made sure my cancelation was put in and the charges changed. Now I just got my CC statement and I was over charged and now have to clear that up too. I will never be back to this Holiday Inn Express. 28 August 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Friendly and helpful staff Great place to stay, very clean. Friendly staff, great breakfast with friendly service. 26 August 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great amentities We were very pleasantly surprised with the quality of the service we received for the value. The room was very spacious and comfortable. The staff was very friendly and responsive to our requests. Also the amenities of a hot breakfast, and snacks in the lobby made it very welcoming and comfortable. There are also two great restaurants on either side of the hotel which was very convenient. We will definitely stay at this hotel again and will probably seek out a Holiday Inn Express in the future. 25 August 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Very clean Hotel Staff was very helpfull. Clean hotel . Great location for our business trip. We will start using this hotel for our next stay. 24 August 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great hotel in La Mesa Overall this hotel is a bit older, but the location is great and it is evendent they have made some major improvments on the property. This is good, because the location is great and the staff is very nice. I will definately stay here on my next visit. Thanks, Carp. 23 August 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great Stay- Thank You! Thank you so much. Great TV, amazing beds, powerful A/Cs, yummy breakfast, friendly, smiling staff, coffee 24/7, easy parking, cool restaurant bar next door, good times! 20 August 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Nice Holiday Inn Express and Location is good. Stayed at the Holiday Inn Express La Mesa for one night during by trip on the west coast. The staff was very nice and they took care of me during my stay. I would definitely stay again on my next trip to the area. 20 August 2014
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Good stay but... overall not a bad experience however some of the areas such as the lobby or main hallways were not the most clean; also the room decoration, furniture and carpers are somewhat old. I had stayed at several Holiday Inns in different areas and countries and so far I will rate this one the least recomandable. 18 August 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great service I like the locatio of this hotel for my business trips. Restaurants are walking distance. The staff is very help full. Great value., very clean and comfortable. I will always stay here in future. 18 August 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 Good hotel It's good hotel. However, the breakfast room is too small, so many people can't sit. The variety of breakfast should be improved. Not everyone like western style breakfast. You need to provide wide variety of choices like Chinese dim sum, fried rice, etc. 18 August 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Very Comfortable place to stay We enjoyed our week at the Holiday Inn Express in La Mesa, very much. It is a clean and comfortable hotel with an outstanding efficient staff. No problems, great vacation. We would recommend this hotel to everybody. It's close to the freeway, between El Cajon and La Mesa with several great restaurants very close by. 14 August 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great hotel and convenient location This a great little hotel in a convenient location. I would recommend this hotel if visiting the San Diego area. 10 August 2014
Rated 2.0 out of 5.0 by Do not recommend this property this time. I always stay at this Holiday Inn Express when visiting San Diego. Service in the past has been awesome! However, this time around the overall experience was not good. I ended up canceling my reservation and moving to another hotel. I was very disappointed in the manner in which I was treated. I understand this is a busy time of year but I was a loyal guest who deserved to be treated better irregardless of how busy the hotel was. I am sorry that I will not be staying there anymore. 07 August 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Comfortable bed and convenient location The La Mesa location is just what we wanted to be close to family. The convenience to restaurants, bars, freeway, and shopping is excellent. The king bed was comfortable...and we are picky. But, coming from a semi germaphobe, the room did have that strong "hotel smell" that lingers in your clothes long after you have checked out and the "questionably clean" upholstered couch and chair. But all in all, the room was clean...bathroom was kept clean with abundant clean towels and the bed linens were clean and comfortable. 07 August 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great friendly service I had made a mistake when booking the room and had only booked for one night. I called to change it to four nights and they did so immediately at the same rate as my initial reservation. Then my flight was delayed a couple hours which led to us arriving at the hotel at 1 am. They said no problem when I called to notify them. When we finally arrived they had our check-in info preprinted and ready to go. One night it was completely full and so were all of the parking spots. The night manager made sure I had a place to park our rental car. Great customer service. I highly recommend this hotel. Thanks! 04 August 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Helpful Staff One of the housekeeping staff was extremely helpful in explaining the bus and trolley system. We wanted to go to the zoo, and she went out of her way to print out the bus schedule and provided a map of the trolley routes. 03 August 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great Hotel The hotel was well kept and very clean. The staff was very pleasant and helpful. 31 July 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Everything perfect Everything is what I expected. No complaints at all. 31 July 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Nice room and clean sheet. would defintley come back to San Diego La Mesa with friends and family. Excellent service and attentive to my daughter. 30 July 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Another Great Stay at a Great Hotel I can always count on the staff to get it right at this properrty. Even during a very busy time the still manage to pay attention to the details. Thank you guys. 30 July 2014
Rated 2.0 out of 5.0 by You get what you pay for Our room was large but that only meant I needed 2 bottles of febreeze and Lysol to make the room smell remotely better. It smelled like a refrigerator that was no longer working, so bad to the point that ithe smell wafted into the hall. The carpet was less than clean and I didn't want anything to touch it. Our bed had queen sized sheets on a King sized bed so the sheets fell off as soon as we sat on the bed. This is when having my own sheets really came in handy because I'm not ok with sleeping on a bare hotel mattress. One night, we were also confronted by a suspicious young "gangster" in his car in the parking lot threatening us to "watch who we look at when in Cali". This had nothing to do with the hotel itself but was unexpected since the area didn't look sketchy. 27 July 2014
<<prev2 3 4 5 6 next>>
Terms & Conditions
Close
Check-In Date
(e.g. 31 Oct 2014)
Check-Out Date
(e.g. 01 Nov 2014)
Check Availability
Loading