• English  English
    Select to close.
    Current Settings are:
      /  English

    Change Preferences:
    Country / Region of Residence:
    Available Languages:
  • |
  • |
  • |
  • 1 888 HOLIDAY
Select to close.
Select to close.
Email or IHG® Rewards Club # PIN
Not a member?Join Today!
Forgot PIN
All fields are required.
 
If you have forgotten or lost your Personal Identification Number (PIN), we can email your PIN to the email address in your IHG® Rewards Club account profile.
If you do not have an email address in your profile, please contact your local IHG® Rewards Club Customer Care  to source your PIN and to update your profile with your email address. When you receive your PIN you can also update your email address viawww.ihgrewardsclub.com/email.
IHG® Rewards Club # Email Address

Not a member?Join Today!
Create PIN
All fields are required.
IHG® Rewards Club # ZIP/Postal Code
First Name Last Name
Please select a 4 number Personal Identification Number (PIN) which will be used to access your IHG® Rewards Club account.
PIN Verify PIN
 
Not a member?Join Today!
Create Email
All fields are required.
Thank you. Your PIN has been created. Please enter your email address so you can use it to log into the site in the future.
Email Address Verify Email Address
 
Email Hotel Get Directions Add to Favourites Print Fact Sheet

Book this Hotel

Best Price Guarantee
1

Reward Nights

When redeeming points for a Reward Night, you may only book one room at a time.


Once you complete your Reward Night reservation you will be given the option to duplicate this reservation.

(e.g. 30 Oct 2014)
(e.g. 31 Oct 2014)
Have a Group Code?
Have a Corporate ID?
Check Availability
Processing your request...

* Requires affiliation in the respective organization.

** Best Available Rate Search does not include affiliation rates.

Select to close.

To book more than 9 rooms for one stay or request a quote, please use our Easy Meetings tool, call 1-800-MEETING (in United States, Mexico and Canada) or contact a Global Sales Office.

Close Button
Your Recently Viewed Hotels

Welcome to Holiday Inn San Diego - La Mesa

Location: Suburban

  • Location: Suburban
  • Closest City: SAN DIEGO
  • Distance From Hotel: 17.0MI
  • Local time zone: GMT-07:00

Check In: 3:00 PM Check Out: 11:00 AM

  • Check In: 3:00 PM
  • Check Out: 11:00 AM
  • Minimum check-in age: 18
  • Late checkout available

Credit cards

Credit cards

  • American Express
  • Carte Blanche
  • Diners Club
  • Discover
  • Master Card
  • Visa

Accessibility

Accessibility

  • Number of Rooms:7
  • Parking
  • Service Animals Allowed

Languages

Languages

  1. English
  2. Spanish

Pet Policy

Pet Policy

Service dogs only. No charge fee or deposit for service animals. However, owner is responsible for any damage or added cleaning fees due to soiling.

What's nearby

What's nearby

Attraction:
Grossmont College Sports Football Baseball
Distance From Hotel:5.0MI
Attraction:
SeaWorld San Diego
Distance From Hotel:6.0MI
Attraction:
Old Town San Diego-State Historic Park
Distance From Hotel:11.0MI
Attraction:
San Diego Zoo
Distance From Hotel:11.0MI

Parking

Parking

  • Number of parking spaces176
  • Car Parking Available
  • Registered guest parking only. Unauthorized vehicles will be towed at owners expense. Complimentary Parking pass for one car, per room, will be issued at check-in. Oversize Vehicles not permitted without approval from General Manager ahead of time.

Internet

Standard Internet Service

Standard Internet service is free for all guests
Wireless Internet available in Standard Rooms,Executive Rooms,Suites,Business Center,Public Areas

Accommodation

Accommodation

  • Hotel renovated in:February 01, 2009
  • Total number of rooms:141
  • Total number of suites:7
  • Total number of rooms with only one bed:57
  • Total number of rooms with only double beds:84
  • Total number of non-smoking rooms:141
  • Total number of accessible rooms:7
  • Interior corridor
  • Total number of floors:3

Welcome to Holiday Inn San Diego - La Mesa! San Diego flows with the charisma of its Spanish settlers, with sun, sand, beaches, mountains, world class golf courses and lakes providing a wide array of options to both business and leisure travelers. This Holiday Inn is centrally located in San Diego County, only minutes from downtown, with easy access to both important industries and the many attractions of the city. Viejas and Barona Casino, located in East County, feature world class gaming,
View More

Welcome to Holiday Inn San Diego - La Mesa! San Diego flows with the charisma of its Spanish settlers, with sun, sand, beaches, mountains, world class golf courses and lakes providing a wide array of options to both business and leisure travelers. This Holiday Inn is centrally located in San Diego County, only minutes from downtown, with easy access to both important industries and the many attractions of the city. Viejas and Barona Casino, located in East County, feature world class gaming, dining and entertainment. Discover some of San Diego's history by visiting Old Town San Diego with its famous Bazaar Del Mundo, Cabrillo National Monument, Gaslamp Quarter or one of the region's many missions. Enjoy Balboa Park, botanical gardens, museums, galleries, even wineries in North County.

On the tree-lined streets of La Mesa, Holiday Inn San Diego - La Mesa is a full service hotel, with modern design and friendly staff. Featuring a state-of-the-art fitness center, a well-appointed heated outdoor pool, and highly equipped business center, Holiday Inn provides the perfect place to stay for any trip to San Diego.

Holiday Inn San Diego - La Mesa--everything you need to visit this coastal Southern Californian city.

View Less
Features
Well situated in a picturesque city with lots of character, Holiday Inn San Diego - La Mesa allows ease of access to an incredible range of businesses, attractions, and pleasant destinations...

Guest Reviews

Rated 3.9 out of 5 by 145 reviewers.
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Lots of noise There was a lot of loud noise in the hallway, shouting and cursing between at least two people. Lots of people running back and forth down the hall. Approximately 11:00 PM I looked out to the parking lot to check on my vehicle, and noticed a group of 5-10 people standing and drinking alcohol by vehicles next to mine. They continued to bring out a cooler and play music while using my vehicle as something to lean against. This continued well after midnight. 27 July 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great stay I stay here about once a month. Im always gald to see that even with Comic Con going on last week, the rewards nights are still about the same price. 27 July 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by clean room and great breakfast Great place to stay. Rooms very clean and shower had plenty of hot water and pressure. Excellent breakfast each day. Staff were friendly and helpful. 26 July 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Nice hotel and friendly staff This was a clean and comfortable little hotel in La Mesa. The staff were friendly and the breakfast had great options. Will definately staff here again. Chan 24 July 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Friendly staff, awesome breakfast, free laundry, sleepers could use an upgrade! We stayed at this hotel for 5 nights on our family vacation. The front desk staff was very friendly right off the bat. The breakfast room was very clean and the lady taking care of the breakfast room was nice. This is the only hotel on our trip (out of like 5), that allows you to take the food back to your room. We didn't know this until checking out. They have a nice breakfast variety, although it does not change day to day. Carlos - thank you! Your attitude and friendliness helped brighten our day! Oh - and they have free laundry machines! Just give it some time, don't throw the laundry in an hour before checkout like we did. :) Our only complaint is that rooms for 4 people are not two double beds, but a bed and a sleeper. Which is still OK, since everything was booked in San Diego for the dates, but the mattress on the sleeper was terrible. I know the hotel is going through renovations, I hope this is one of the things that will be changed. We had to ask for extra blankets just for padding so that the wires from the mattress don't cut into our backs. We recommend this hotel and hope the property itself will get an uplift soon. The service is top notch though! 23 July 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great service. Carlos and Seyam were awesome. The two of them took such good care of Us going out of there way. We have stayed here several times and will continue to do so. 23 July 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Wonderful stay What I liked about the hotel is that it is entirely smoke-free. It is very clean and the staff were very helpful. I would stay here again. 22 July 2014
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Best Holiday Inn Location to SDSU This is an average Holiday Inn Express with free breakfast, free wifi, and a pooli. It's about 7 minutes east from the SDSU campus and it's where I stay as a Platinum member when going to SDSU. The staff is responsive. 19 July 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Nice Place The place was clean and comfortable and has easy access to highway 8, which gets you to most places you would want to go in the San Diego area. The motel is beginning to show its age, but other than that the place is great. Only complaint is the desk chairs in the rooms are dirty and look gross. Also wish the desk chairs could be elevated. For short people the chairs are almost useless. 18 July 2014
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Noisy Too much noise from outside and inside the hotel. The noise interfered with sleep. 18 July 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by I "heart" Holiday Inn Great hotel! Comfortable beds and clean rooms. They even had cribs for my little baby. Hotel staff very friendly and knowledgable. Breakfast was good but not enough tables for eating at. I would definately come back!! 16 July 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Good hotel Comfortable room and attentive staff despite the issue that is very near to a freeway 14 July 2014
Rated 2.0 out of 5.0 by unhappy Very unhappy with the lack of customer service during Thursday evening as i needed help with one of the computers in your business center the same computer i used that very morning and the gentleman that morning was very helpful with assisting me but i didn't receive the same service that evening as i asked for help i was told that if the computer is not working that any WiFi device that i own i will be able to use the WiFi in my room i find that very rude and distasteful as i wanted to use your business center not my cell phone but i did get some very good and professional help later on that night from the clerk who works overnight now i wanted to speak with management when i was checking out but clerk didn't seem to have any information on how to get a hold of management and wasn't knowledgeable as i had question about my bill during the whole check out process which took 15min the only word he was saying was i don't know thank you for some good customer service but i will not be staying at this property again 13 July 2014
Rated 1.0 out of 5.0 by Poor Customer Service & insufficient bathroom supplies My job involves travel and wherever possible Holiday Inn Express is first on my list for accommodation. I am a platinum member. I have never been disappointed by Holiday Inn Express until my recent stay at the San Diego-La Mesa Holiday Inn Express. On arrival the clerk Sayem was busy with a couple of clients. When my turn came up, he asked for my last name and credit card. He gave me a document to sign, then the room keys. He did not offer me a choice or either 500 welcome bonus points or welcome package. He did not tell me whether there was WIFI available or not. He told me about the breakfast times and location. So I left for the elevators. Next evening I passed by the front desk and he greeted me happily asking me whether my toilet was fixed by maintenance the previous evening. I said yes someone came and fixed the toilet. (On my arrival the toilet was flooded when flushing). I took the opportunity to inquire why he did not offer me a welcome package or even welcome bonus points. He replied "we stopped doing that. We only do it for platinum members" to which I informed him I was a platinum member. He grinned, looked at something on his desk and said "Oh yes, I see you are a platinum member.... I told you but you must have not heard me." Really??? I don't think so. He now offered me the choice between a water bottle and trail mix OR 500 welcome bonus points. Neither of points for my stay or the 500 welcome bonus points have been added to my account. I found myself in an embarrassing situation in the bathroom when there was hardly any toilet tissue paper. Please provide the room with a supply of at least one extra tissue paper. I am disappointed. I will be coming back to San Diego-La Mesa soon but definitely not staying at that hotel. 10 July 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Clean,Comfortable, and Outstanding Service I am allergic to dogs, so I chose this hotel based on their No Pets Policy. I have spent several sleepless nights in rooms previously occupied by someone who just had to bring little "Cuddles" along. What I experienced at this hotel exceeded my expectations. The room was very clean and fresh smelling. The breakfast room was well equipped with the basics (cereal, fruit, waffles, bagels, eggs, etc.) and was well staffed. The hotel staff were very friendly and helpful, especially Seyam at the front desk who went out of his way to make our stay delightful. I would highly recommend this hotel to anyone traveling without their pet. 09 July 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great stay Great hotel and good staff and I will definitely will be staying here again 06 July 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great service, very clean and very responsive team. Excellent staff, confortable and clean rooms at a reasonable price. Breakfast had plenty of choices and well prepared. HiFi was reliable. Only concern was locaiton of pool (at one end of complex) and was not heated. 03 July 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Decent stay for decent price This facility isn't fancy but it was clean and the employees were unfailingly friendly. My room didn't face the interstate and the noise wasn't terrible at all. Variety of items for breakfast - yogurt to pancakes to eggs and bacon. I needed a place to sleep while working all day. This facility worked well and have already booked another visit for next week. 27 June 2014
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 Remodeling necessary Staff friendly, location good and hotel comfortable. The rooms definitely need some help. 23 June 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Post stay help in returning item left in room My husband left a gym bag with two items, and didn't realize it until we arrived home. When he called, they were able to identify the item and sent it to him. It arrived in good time. 18 June 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by room @3:15p.m.-Sunday-room not touched by housekeeping-overheard 0ne of the housekeepers use the excuse,they were cleaning the empty rooms-no acceptable to return to room at this hour and not be able tosit & relax-had to wait in lobby-UNACCEPTABLE!!!!!! On a bright note"-SEYAM gave excellent service-deserves to be employee of the year also a Keeper!!!! Bobbie Call 13 June 2014
Rated 2.0 out of 5.0 by compassionate I had surgery on Mon. the 9th and we wew to check out on Tue. By 11. Your managers allowed me to stay until 2:00 until I felt better. This act of kindness was awesome!!! 13 June 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by questionable placement of breakfast room Great hotel. Large rooms, good breakfast, friendly staff. But breakfast room is on second floor, surrounded by guest rooms. 04 June 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Suite was GREAT! Having two rooms made a vast difference while watching TV. While sitting in the room not used for sleeping I was able to watch the TV without bothering anyone trying to sleep. I love the Suites. The lighting could be better. Not conducive to reading, even in the extra room that was set up for meetings. The overall experience at the Holiday Inn Express was outstanding. The members of the staff were very helpful and courteous. Noise from the hallway was loud, but only because there were children having fun. 03 June 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Generally clean and comfortable Only criticism is the desk chairs in the rooms are stained and look very dirty. Also, the chairs sit very low so that you need to be a VERY tall person to sit and work at the desk comfortably. Lighting is good. Like the free parking, although some of the parking spaces are VERY tight. Free breakfast staff are very pleasant. 01 June 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Friendly Staff I feel that service must be rewarded. This hotel has a great staff, their atitude towards the guest must be commended. I enjoyed the breakfast it was complete and to my taste. The location of the hotel is great for quick in and out of freeway. Restaurants were close by one can have a drink and not worry about driving. I will always come back. 27 May 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Perfect place to stay in La Mesa area This hotel is close to downtown and the beaches, without being in all the congestion of those areas. The staff is fantastic, the rooms are comfortable and very well decorated, and there is plenty of parking. Recognition of IHG Rewards Members? Not so much anymore; they seem to have stopped handing out the little treats that were so welcome. 23 May 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Improvements The hotel is great in service providing. On top it keeps on improving . They have done new wall paper in the rooms , new tiles etc. Now they are saying that new furniture is coming. We will be back Well done holiday inn 22 May 2014
Rated 2.0 out of 5.0 by Bad oder in hallways I must say this is the worst Holiday Inn Express I have stayed ever! The staff is great, but the condition of this hotel is bad. I understand that this a older building, but I think you can do better in renovation cleanliness. The carpet on the second floor is buckled in spots it smalls bad, my shower curtain was filthy, carpet in elevator is filthy. 12 May 2014
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Satisfactory Overall, stay was satisfactory. Interior needs to be updated (e.g. new carpets, drapes, paint). Not the usual quality of Holiday Inn or Holiday Inn Express that we are used to. 26 April 2014
<<prev 2 3 4 5 6 next>>
Terms & Conditions
Close
Check-In Date
(e.g. 30 Oct 2014)
Check-Out Date
(e.g. 31 Oct 2014)
Check Availability
Loading