Your session will expire in 5 minutes, 0 seconds, due to inactivity. Stay Logged In
Create PIN
All fields are required
If you joined IHG® Rewards Club at a hotel, then you will need to create a 4-digit PIN in order to access your IHG® Rewards Club account.
Unexpected Server Error
Your session has expired. Please sign in to your profile
We are sorry, our system is temporarily unavailable. Please try again later or contact the IHG® Rewards Club Customer Care Centre for assistance.
The 4-digit numbers entered must match.
Forgot PIN?
All fields are required
Unexpected Server Error
Your session has expired. Please sign in to your profile
We are sorry, our system is temporarily unavailable. Please try again later or contact the IHG® Rewards Club Customer Care Centre for assistance.
Don't have an email address in your profile?

Contact your local IHG® Rewards Club Customer Care to source your PIN and to update your profile with your email address. When you receive your PIN you can also update your email address via www.ihg.com/updateemail.

Book Now
MoreFewer Options

* Required Field

** Best Available Rate Search does not include affiliation rates.

Manage Reservations
Need to make changes to your reservation? You've come to the right place!
Already an IHG® Rewards Club Member? to view reservations.
View This Reservation

* Required Field

Manage Reservations
Need to make changes to your reservation? You've come to the right place!
Already an IHG® Rewards Club Member? to view reservations.
View This Reservation

* Required Field

Guest Reviews
Each review and rating that we receive is verified to ensure that we only display information provided by guests who have actually stayed in the hotel.
90%
Recommend This Property

Overall Experience

4.1

based on 745 reviews
90%
Recommend This Property

Ratings Breakdown

745reviews

  • 5 Stars
    335
  • 4 Stars
    253
  • 3 Stars
    92
  • 2 Stars
    44
  • 1 Stars
    21

GOOD AND BAD.

By

10 July 2016

In many ways the hotel was as good as it should be so do not be put off.
However the issue is when coaches arrive the dining experience becomes a disaster.
On the other hand the reception manager was great.

Read More
Read Less

Clean, modern facilities

By

06 July 2016

Following the floods,the hotel has been completely refurbished. Well over due. However much cleaner, modern and rooms well decorated and comfortable. Staff always attentive and friendly.
Breakfast hot and replenished quickly. Excellent choice of food.
Pool area much cleaner and fresher again after refurbishment.

Posted byHotelStaff
12 July 2016
Dear Diandbez Thank you so much for your lovely comments. We all agree that although Storm Desmond caused havoc and closed the hotel for very nearly 6 months, the hotel was long over due a make over. Every cloud has a silver lining. I will certainly pass your comments on to the team. We look forward to welcoming you back again should your travels bring you to Lancaster again. Sincerely Francis Hindle General Manager
Read More
Read Less

An Ideal stop on the way up to Scotland.

By

04 July 2016

club

Travelled with two small children, making a six hour journey to Scotland. Decided to stay at the Lancaster Holiday Inn, as it had a swimming pool. It was brilliant. The kids had a ball and it really helped to make the journey part of the holiday. Definately would go back.

Posted byHotelStaff
06 July 2016
Dear Leasko Thank you so much for taking the time to write a review about your recent stay. We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stop off here in Lancaster at that you and the children enjoyed the leisure facilities in the Spirit Health Club. We look forward to welcoming you back for a stop over on your next journey North. Sincerely Francis Hindle General Manager
Read More
Read Less

Needs finishing

By

02 July 2016

club

With mirrors awaiting fitting in the reception and a fire door return hinge missing the hotel just felt as if it had opened too early after the refit. The staff were lovely but were constantly having to apologise for shortcomings.

Posted byHotelStaff
05 July 2016
Dear SB-T We appreciate all our customers comments and I am truly sorry for the shortfall you experienced during your recent stay. Prior to reopening we were assured that all facets of our hotel would be fully operational and up to our high standards, sadly this was not the case. I do hope that this has not stopped you from wanting to return to the hotel should your travels bring you North again in the near future. Sincerely Francis Hindle General Manager
Read More
Read Less

mr

By

23 June 2016

Great to have the hotel back open and even better than before. Always enjoy staying here but now more so. Great hotel. Would recommend

Posted byHotelStaff
04 July 2016
Dear matty107 Thank you so much for taking the time out to rate and review your recent visit to the Holiday Inn Lancaster, I fully appreciate your kind comments and will pass them on to all the team. Sincerely Francis Hindle General Manager
Posted byHotelStaff
04 July 2016
Dear matty107 Thank you for your lovely review. Glad to hear that you like the refurbishments. It was sad that we were completely flooded by Storm Desmond but every cloud has a silver lining, and now we have a lovely "new" hotel. We look forward to welcoming you back when your travels bring you to Lancaster again. Sincerely Francis Hindle General Manager
Read More
Read Less

Not what it was

By

21 June 2016

club

Have used this Hotel dozens of times for 20 years, off Isle of Man ferry it is the worst we have known it despite refurbishment following floods.

Hard pressed night porter checking people in off Ferry and serving drinks.

Worst of all was the racket outside our room at 7am when housekeeping staff arrived, loud conversation, shouting, cleaning carts being banged, I assumed at first ignorant guests but on checking, now wide awake realized staff. Not what you want having only checked in at 1 am.

Will not use again, will go across the road

Posted byHotelStaff
27 June 2016
Dear yuuk I was disheartened to read of your disappointment after your recent stay. As I am sure you are aware, the hotel recently reopened following the devastation of Storm Desmond. And we have a completely new team of house keepers. I am truly sorry for the disturbances at such an early hour and will certainly pass your comments on to the whole team. Hopefully, you will one day visit us again for us to prove that our service is usually impeccable. Sincerely Francis Hindle General Manager
Read More
Read Less

Holiday Inn Lancaster

By

19 June 2016

platinumelite

This has been re-furbished since it was flooded and is a good value property to stay if visiting Lancaster or the South Lakes.

Leisure facilities are good and the staff frieenddly

Posted byHotelStaff
27 June 2016
Dear Richard AP Thank you for taking the time to rate your recent stay at the Holiday Inn Lancaster. I have passed on your feedback on the staff and our leisure facilities and hope that we can welcome you to the hotel again soon. Sincerely Francis Hindle General Manager
Read More
Read Less

Not an improvement

By

19 June 2016

Since the hotel has reopened, there has been a backward step in the quality of the experience. Telephones missing from the rooms mean that room service has to be ordered at the bar or reception. The room service food was delivered as incorrect versus the actual order and was of poor quality and cold. A real shame, as I used this hotel at least twice a month prior to the refurbishment, and will have to reconsider future visits.

Posted byCustomerCare
30 June 2016
Dear Christheref01, Thank you for being an IHG Rewards Club Gold member and for taking the time to share your comments. It is nice to see the excellent rating you gave to your sleep quality. However, we sincerely apologize for any inconvenience our telephone connection and in-room dining service may have caused you. We take all feedback from our guests seriously as these help us gauge what we are doing right and what we need to improve on. Once again thank you for staying with us and we hope we can welcome you back and provide you with a better experience in the future. Kind Regards, Christian C. Case Manager IHGService
Read More
Read Less

New look holiday inn, with smart rooms ane comfy beds

By

17 June 2016

club

Smart new looks; generally good service although breakfast a bit chaotic, staff needed more training. Evening meal terrific, staff were more attentive at evening meal. They seemed to be more experienced.
Been going to this hotel for 20 years, not as good as it used to be.

Posted byHotelStaff
04 July 2016
Dear The big dad Since we reopened in June we have taken on a number of new staff, particularly in the restaurant & bar. I am sorry if this has caused some inconvenience to our guests but we hope that they will soon be up to speed. I am sure that given time they will meet the high standards that our guests have come to expect. Hopefully, this will not stop you from visiting us again in the future. Sincerely Francis Hindle General Manager
Read More
Read Less

The apparent lack of proper management!

By

15 June 2016

The only positive thing I can say about this hotel - is it's convenient location, with ease of access to M6 and the Lake District just a 30 minutes drive away.

The rest of my experience was really dreadful, and if summarising, I would say there was the apparent lack of management, combined with a whole lot of various technical issues.

To start with, when we checked in, we were given the minimal possible information: just the directions to our room. No mentioning of breakfast arrangements, health club open hours (and the fact that the pool is closed!), IHG membership recognition, internet (or rather, the lack of it!), etc.

There was a distinctive paint smell in the lobby and corridors, but to our luck this wasn't so critical in the room.

We were not given the full set of towels, and there was no remote from TV. To sort this out, I had to go back to the reception twice: my first attempt resulted in no action (the note was taken by a receptionist, with a promise, but no further action). Why couldn't I just call them and remind about the problems? Well, the telephone was not physically connected to anything in the room, and I couldn't locate the socket - looks like it must have been hidden behind some furniture. When I mentioned this to the staff, I was told that the telephone line was down anyway.

The internet was not working on the first night. The staff told us that this is due to a heavy load, and we just "need to keep trying". On the second day, however, it worked perfectly well.

Having a breakfast - is another horrific experience. We had to queue for 15 minutes or so just waiting to be seated. And I should say, all that time I observed 3-4 vacant tables. But the staff simply could not organise themselves properly to clean those tables promptly. Three or four staff members chaotically tossed around, periodically approaching us and promising to sort out something "quickly". They seemed to be simply not ready to deal with the large number of guests.

The same chaos was with the kitchen organisation. When finally seated, we had to catch few staff members and remind them that we need some coffee. There was a selection of juices on offer, but not a single glass available (and the situation hasn't change in next 20 minutes), empty food trays not being replaced promptly, and so on and so forth.

As mentioned already by other reviewers, the pool in the health club was closed "until next week". To be honest, having observed all that chaos, I was no longer surprised to hear that! Certainly, my family was very disappointed, but at least we had a roof above us and a warm bed...

All in all, I can only hope that all that mess will be sorted out soon, as I used to have a completely different experience from other Holiday Inns.

Posted byCustomerCare
29 June 2016
Dear gorbick, Thank you for taking the time to share your comments with us and being one of our valued IHG Rewards Club members. I truly appreciate that you have regarded our location convenient for your needs. However, we’re very sorry that some amenities, facilities and overall condition of the hotel fell below your expectations. I have sent you a private message in an effort to discuss your concerns further and the opportunity to restore your faith in our hotel. We look forward to welcoming you back on your next future visit and see the improvements made. Sincerely, Dianne L. Case Manager IHGService
Read More
Read Less

Excellent Staff

By

15 June 2016

club

Excellent staff, very polite and approachable. Modern interior due to recent refurbishment. Perfect stop over.

Read More
Read Less

Great place to stay and excelent service.

By

14 June 2016

club

Friendly staff who were willing to help.
The manager was extremely helpful one morning when our car would not start due to a flat battery and despite it raining went to get his own car so that we could get our started with some jump leads.
The hotel has been fully refurbished following the December 2015 flood and has only recently re-opened.
Excellent location for the M6 and trips to the Lake District and other local attractions.

Posted byHotelStaff
20 June 2016
Dear Dodger E17 Than you so much for taking the time out to rate your recent stay. I'm just glad that we were able to help out with the car problem and hope you got back home to London safely without any further problems. Hopefully, you'll pay us a visit again when you head North. Sincerely Francis Hindle General Manager
Read More
Read Less