• English  English
    Select to close.
    Current Settings are:
      /  English

    Change Preferences:
    Country / Region of Residence:
    Available Languages:
  • |
  • |
  • |
  • 1 888 HOLIDAY
Select to close.
Select to close.
Email or IHG® Rewards Club # PIN
Not a member?Join Today!
Forgot PIN
All fields are required.
 
If you have forgotten or lost your Personal Identification Number (PIN), we can email your PIN to the email address in your IHG® Rewards Club account profile.
If you do not have an email address in your profile, please contact your local IHG® Rewards Club Customer Care  to source your PIN and to update your profile with your email address. When you receive your PIN you can also update your email address viawww.ihgrewardsclub.com/email.
IHG® Rewards Club # Email Address

Not a member?Join Today!
Create PIN
All fields are required.
IHG® Rewards Club # ZIP/Postal Code
First Name Last Name
Please select a 4 number Personal Identification Number (PIN) which will be used to access your IHG® Rewards Club account.
PIN Verify PIN
 
Not a member?Join Today!
Create Email
All fields are required.
Thank you. Your PIN has been created. Please enter your email address so you can use it to log into the site in the future.
Email Address Verify Email Address
 
Email Hotel Get Directions Add to Favourites Print Fact Sheet

Book this Hotel

Best Price Guarantee
1

Reward Nights

When redeeming points for a Reward Night, you may only book one room at a time.


Once you complete your Reward Night reservation you will be given the option to duplicate this reservation.

(e.g. 13 Jul 2014)
(e.g. 14 Jul 2014)
Have a Group Code?
Have a Corporate ID?
Check Availability
Processing your request...

* Requires affiliation in the respective organization.

** Best Available Rate Search does not include affiliation rates.

Select to close.

To book more than 9 rooms for one stay or request a quote, please use our Easy Meetings tool, call 1-800-MEETING (in United States, Mexico and Canada) or contact a Global Sales Office.

Close Button
Your Recently Viewed Hotels

Welcome to Holiday Inn San Diego - Bayside

Location: Airport

  • Location: Airport
  • Closest City: SAN DIEGO
  • Distance From Hotel: 3.5MI
  • Local time zone: GMT-07:00

Check In: 4:00 PM Check Out: 12:00 PM

  • Check In: 4:00 PM
  • Check Out: 12:00 PM
  • Minimum check-in age: 18

Credit cards

Credit cards

  • American Express
  • Carte Blanche
  • Diners Club
  • Discover
  • Master Card
  • Visa

Accessibility

Accessibility

  • Number of Rooms:14
  • Parking
  • Service Animals Allowed

Languages

Languages

  1. German
  2. English
  3. Spanish
  4. French
  5. Portuguese
  6. Tagalog
  7. Chinese

Pet Policy

Pet Policy

No pets allowed. Kennels within walking distance, 2 blocks of hotel.

What's nearby

What's nearby

Attraction:
Downtown San Diego
Distance From Hotel:3.0MI
Attraction:
Sport fishing & whale watching
Distance From Hotel:0.0MI
Attraction:
Harbor and Dinner Cruises
Distance From Hotel:3.0MI
Attraction:
Horton Plaza
Distance From Hotel:4.0MI

Parking

Parking

  • Car Parking Available
  • Self Parking available for $10 per day. Outdoor parking lot.
  • Daily Parking Fee ( 10.00  USD)

Internet

Standard Internet Service

Standard Internet service is free for all guests
Wireless Internet available in Standard Rooms,Executive Rooms,Suites,Business Center,Public Areas
Wired Internet available in Standard Rooms,Executive Rooms,Suites,Business Center,Public Areas

Accommodation

Accommodation

  • Hotel renovated in:February 01, 2013
  • Total number of rooms:291
  • Total number of suites:10
  • Total number of rooms with only one bed:66
  • Total number of rooms with only double beds:171
  • Total number of non-smoking rooms:291
  • Total number of accessible rooms:14
  • Executive rooms
  • Interior corridor
  • Total number of floors:5
  • FEMA Property Number:CA1446

Unpack, and enjoy San Diego at this bay front hotel near the San Diego Zoo, SeaWorld, and beaches. The Holiday Inn San Diego Bayside is located in Point Loma, walking distance of restaurants, sport fishing and whale watching marinas. Borrow a bicycle, stroll the bayside walking path, or unwind at our tropical pool area.

Our striking Bayside Building, with its subtle nod to the nautical, is reminiscent of the bow of a ship with graceful curves and contemporary, intricate designs. The new
View More

Unpack, and enjoy San Diego at this bay front hotel near the San Diego Zoo, SeaWorld, and beaches. The Holiday Inn San Diego Bayside is located in Point Loma, walking distance of restaurants, sport fishing and whale watching marinas. Borrow a bicycle, stroll the bayside walking path, or unwind at our tropical pool area.

Our striking Bayside Building, with its subtle nod to the nautical, is reminiscent of the bow of a ship with graceful curves and contemporary, intricate designs. The new expansion includes a dramatic grand entrance, a contemporary lobby, 57 oversized rooms and suites, a new ballroom, and boardroom.

Our services and amenities, such as the Point Loma Cafe and full business center ensure seamless travel, and the our 10,000 square feet of meeting space is ideal for retreats, military reunions, small corporate conferences and business meetings. Guest rooms are engineered with relaxation at heart and efficiency in mind, including work desks and free high-speed wireless Internet.

The Holiday Inn San Diego Bayside is located across the street from Point Loma Naval Base near a range of area businesses, and is a short drive from the San Diego Convention center and the airport. The hotel offers free 24-hour airport and cruise ship terminal shuttle service. Whether your trip to San Diego is for business or leisure, at the Holiday Inn San Diego Bayside a typical day is atypically refreshing.

View Less
Features
Planning a San Diego cruise? Our hotel offers complimentary transportation to the San Diego Cruise Ship Terminal.

Guest Reviews

Rated 4.1 out of 5 by 61 reviewers.
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great location Location for this hotel is excellent. It is close to the beach and within walking distance to restaurants. If you're inclined to walk, then the main shopping and beaches are within walking distance. The hotel is comfortable with a decent breakfast to start your day. 09 June 2014
Rated 2.0 out of 5.0 by Not a platinum treatment After a long trip getting here, I was not even offered a bottle of water! Not what I expected for platinum member, where as other properties I get a welcome basket! 11 May 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Management and Staff are true professionals I had a small problem which was addressed immediately by the hotel manager, he was professional and most importantly he listened. I want to thank the manager as well as the staff for making my experience a very positive one. Everyone who I came in contact from the hotel was courteous and very respectful. I never take the time to write a letter but I wanted to thank everyone for my great experience. I have lots of options on where I can stay but I can say without a doubt that I would stay at this hotel as well as recommend it to all my friends and family. Simply put I wanted to say Thank you 28 April 2014
Rated 2.0 out of 5.0 by Beware the traffic noise!! I was given a room right on the street. Incredibly noisy all night long. The sidewalk is literally right outside the window and the 5-lane major road no more than 10 feet from the window. Heavy trucks and buses and all manner of traffic running through the night and increasingly loud and busy in the dawn hours as rush hour began. I had a hard time sleeping, despite being exhausted. No mention of this fact was made when I made the booking nor when I checked in. As a Platinum IHG Rewards member I think they might have tried a little harder to give me a quieter room. A room away from the street would no doubt have been much quieter. In the morning, the woman staffing the front desk merely shrugged when I asked why I got the streetside room. She couldn't have cared less, apparently. Also, the entire parking lot was ripped up and a giant excavator and massive tandem dumptrucks were busy loading concrete and asphalt in the morning. Otherwise, it looks like a quaint and unique property that might be just right for other travelers. Also further from UCSD than I was led to believe. 21 April 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Very close to Beach Very nice area. Safe and clean rooms. Breakfast was what you can expect from Holiday inn Express. 14 April 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Very nice place Staff was great and helpful. Within a good distance to hospital 09 March 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Not your typical Holiday Inn Express Although this is not a typical four story HIE we were pleasantly surprised by it's charm. We had two pool side rooms in the one story section of the motel which were very clean and had character. The outdoor pool and hot tub area were very nice and the staff throughout the motel were very friendly and helpful. The only drawback to the rooms was there were no bathtubs for the young children but the showers were nice sized so it really was not a problem. 07 March 2014
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Nice Spot, Some Quirks Good location with decent parking. Older rehab'd building with old-style central pool & hot tub area was nice for wife and kid. The college age kids drinking beer and smoking in it at night were less pleasant. The internet in the room was horrible. I ended up having to spend 2+ hours outside on a bench behind the main office to get a decent enough signal to finish my business tasks each night of the stay. Not what I expect from an IHG property. The room was good, the kitchenette was a nice addition. The lack of a shower door must be a "California" thing. I found both IHG properties that I stayed at in San Diego recently lacking. 03 February 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Excellent Again This was at least our fourth stay; and we plan on staying at the HI Express in La Jolla again and again. Great amenities and very friendly staff! 29 January 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by great location Somewhat dated facilities,otherwise nice stay-great location and food 23 January 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Recent stay Very clean and nice,great location will definitely be back 06 January 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great family hotel with excellent service We had such a wonderful stay at this hotel, it was memorable for the great facitlies like the nice pool and pool area: the amazing breakfast; comfortable beds and a kitchen in our room. The staff are professional and always helpful and kind. We stayed here over Christmas and it was best .one that our family can remember! Thank you Holiday Inn La Jolla, you did a great job! 04 January 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great family visit We brought our two sons and their families to LaJolla to visit their sister(our daughter) who lives in LJ. We had stayed at this location on previous visits because of convenience, location, quality, and a friendly and helpful staff. We had a wonderful experience!! 03 January 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Very nice place! We arrived on Christmas Day. The desk clerk was kind enough to print a list of local restaurants and call around until she found some that were open. We were able to have a great "Christmas Dinner" due to her helpfulness. We were pleased with the decor, the location of our room, and the location of the hotel. Staff were very responsive when we had a need. Breakfast room and food was nice. Thank you for a great Christmas vacation experience! We loved La Jolla! 01 January 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by VERY ATTENTIVE Had some problems with T shower N hot water was fixed the same day in a timely fashion.The complete staff was very attentive 2 all our needs.Thank U Lanie!!! 31 December 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by regular guest since 30 years … … due to the great location close the beautiful Wind'n Sea Beach and due to the southern californian atmosphere 26 December 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by I love this hotel This HIE was a real surprise. It is actually a older beach type California motel that has been re furbished to HI standards. The room was really large, very clean with the wonderful bedding HIE is now using. The rooms circle the pool and most of the building is one story. We used it for a late night arrival for business in La Jolla but I would love to go back and really be able to enjoy the ambience. The location is also very good. It is in a part residential and part business area so walking to restaurants and the beach is a plus. The only reason I did not give it 5* is the difficulty we had getting our luggage to the room. There are a few steps to go up so the luggage cart could not roll to the room. However, there is a ramp but it goes thru the pool area which was closed late at night. The night manager was great and helped us carry all our stuff to the room. If you are looking for a California experience this is it!! 11 December 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by ADA acessible Room was nice and accomodted my mobility scooter. Was a bit tight in space in the bathroom but the roll-in shower was very nice. Rolling to the bech in my scooter was fairly easy. There are a few curb cuts missing in the sidewalk near the beach but can be avoided by using driveways. Pool and spa have lifts to accommodate ADA needs. 08 December 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Beachy This is an older property being upgraded, it appears. The room was clean and cozy, no complaints. It's an easy walking location. My only suggestion, to the property manager/owner, would be to keep coffee in the great room available to guests. 20 November 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Spacious room, great service and nice location I got a suite room, which is very spacious and clean. The front desk service was great. The hotel was within walking distance to La Jolla Cove and other tourist attractions. I really enjoyed my stay. 15 November 2013
Rated 2.0 out of 5.0 by Very old Up on check in the lady wasn't very nice she didn't offer us any upgrade options at end all she said have a nice day . NO thank you for choosing Holliday inn etc. The room looks like hasn't been maintain the sink was cracked the fauset was loose & the shower when you take shower the water goes out on floor no door we used towels on the floor every day . Very noisy you could hear everything outside. 23 October 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Helpful Staff and Clean Environment I stayed here for 5 days and 6 nights. I Loved this hotel and location. The staff was very helpful and my room was very clean and comfortable. I felt safe and that was important to me as I was traveling by myself. I came to California to attend a funeral. So even though it was a sad time the environment was comfortable to relax. The short was to the Ocean was beautiful and friendly people all around. It was also a short walk to a few nice restaurants and stores. The breakfast was well stocked and warm. I would stay again if I evergo to California again. Thank you! 03 October 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great service by all staff Very comfortable room with great amenities. In-room kitchenette and on-ground laundry facilities were invaluable. Ceiling fan and ability to open windows for fresh breeze were great. Staff were professional, knowledgeable, friendly and available to answer questions and provide any assistance requested. I highly recommend the La Jolla Holiday Inn Express. 03 October 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by A nice experience Nice large room, fast friendly service, and extremely nice office personnel. A great deal for the price! 23 September 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great place I stay at Holiday Inn Express a lot. Almost all of them are good. This one was in the top group. 20 September 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by it was great staff was so nice to us the little suit the upgraded us too was wonderful. The bed was very comfortable. The Shower was nice also. The whole experience was great Thank you so much 13 September 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 Good stay at Holiday Inn Express We had a great time at the holiday inn express. Rooms were comfortable and clean. The front desk person helped us out when we had a 7am flight. They got us a car and everything worked out well. Also the property is about 500 m from the beach! 06 September 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by great customer service, comfortable bed and clean rooms. We have stayed here twice this year and really enjoy it. The location is perfect. The staff is very friendly and accomodating. Looking forward to our next stay! 05 September 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great family hotel with wonderful pool Stay here for a very relaxing holiday, such comforatble beds and clean rooms. The Staff were so welcoming and kind, and had good recommendations for restaurants, things to do and running routes. The pool area was wonderful, nice chairs and palm trees-you felt you were in a tropical paradise! Close to the beach, restaurants and shops. Very highly recommended., 01 September 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Property Cleanliness My wife and I were so impressed with beauty of the pool area as well as really nice breakfast area-the breakfast was one of the best we have in any included breakfast packages. A short walk to beach made this place a great vacation experience. 31 August 2013
<<prev2 3 next>>
We are pround to announce the opening of our new Bayside Building!
We are pround to announce the opening of our new Bayside Building!
Select to close.
We are pround to announce the opening of our new Bayside Building! Take a stoll or a bike ride along the bayside path Our stunning new lobby welcomes you in style. Lobby Area Walk to dining and sport fishing marinas across from the hotel Stunning new 'Intersections' sculpture outside of  the hotel lobby Aerial Shot with downtown San Diego background Aerial View, including Expansion View of Pool featuring our original building
Select to close.
Terms & Conditions
Close
Check-In Date
(e.g. 13 Jul 2014)
Check-Out Date
(e.g. 14 Jul 2014)
Check Availability
Loading