• English  English
    Select to close.
    Current Settings are:
      /  English

    Change Preferences:
    Country / Region of Residence:
    Available Languages:
  • |
  • |
  • |
  • 1 888 HOLIDAY
Select to close.
Select to close.
Email or IHG® Rewards Club # PIN
Not a member?Join Today!
Forgot PIN
All fields are required.
 
If you have forgotten or lost your Personal Identification Number (PIN), we can email your PIN to the email address in your IHG® Rewards Club account profile.
If you do not have an email address in your profile, please contact your local IHG® Rewards Club Customer Care  to source your PIN and to update your profile with your email address. When you receive your PIN you can also update your email address viawww.ihgrewardsclub.com/email.
IHG® Rewards Club # Email Address

Not a member?Join Today!
Create PIN
All fields are required.
IHG® Rewards Club # ZIP/Postal Code
First Name Last Name
Please select a 4 number Personal Identification Number (PIN) which will be used to access your IHG® Rewards Club account.
PIN Verify PIN
 
Not a member?Join Today!
Create Email
All fields are required.
Thank you. Your PIN has been created. Please enter your email address so you can use it to log into the site in the future.
Email Address Verify Email Address
 
Email Hotel Get Directions Add to Favourites Print Fact Sheet

Book this Hotel

Best Price Guarantee
1

Reward Nights

When redeeming points for a Reward Night, you may only book one room at a time.


Once you complete your Reward Night reservation you will be given the option to duplicate this reservation.

(e.g. 18 Sep 2014)
(e.g. 19 Sep 2014)
Have a Group Code?
Have a Corporate ID?
Check Availability
Processing your request...

* Requires affiliation in the respective organization.

** Best Available Rate Search does not include affiliation rates.

Select to close.

To book more than 9 rooms for one stay or request a quote, please use our Easy Meetings tool, call 1-800-MEETING (in United States, Mexico and Canada) or contact a Global Sales Office.

Close Button
Your Recently Viewed Hotels

Welcome to Holiday Inn San Diego-Mission Valley

Location: Suburban

  • Location: Suburban
  • Closest City: SAN DIEGO
  • Distance From Hotel: 8.0MI
  • Local time zone: GMT-07:00

Check In: 3:00 PM Check Out: 12:00 PM

  • Check In: 3:00 PM
  • Check Out: 12:00 PM
  • Minimum check-in age: 18
  • Late checkout available

Credit cards

Credit cards

  • American Express
  • Carte Blanche
  • Diners Club
  • Discover
  • Master Card
  • Visa

Accessibility

Accessibility

  • Number of Rooms:8
  • Parking
  • Service Animals Allowed

Languages

Languages

  1. English

Parking

Parking

  • Number of parking spaces182
  • Car Parking Available
  • Complimentary outdoor and covered parking.

Internet

Standard Internet Service

Standard Internet service is free for all guests
Wireless Internet available in Standard Rooms,Executive Rooms,Suites,Business Center,Public Areas
Wired Internet available in Standard Rooms,Executive Rooms,Suites,Business Center,Public Areas

Accommodation

Accommodation

  • Hotel renovated in:February 01, 2002
  • Total number of rooms:175
  • Total number of suites:19
  • Total number of rooms with only one bed:60
  • Total number of non-smoking rooms:175
  • Total number of accessible rooms:8
  • Interior corridor
  • Total number of floors:4
  • FEMA Property Number:CA2228

Enjoy San Diego major attractions within 15 minutes of the Holiday Inn ® Mission Valley-Stadium!

Just miles from Old Town Historic Park, Gaslamp Quarter, beaches and San Diego International Airport, our hotel is an ideal choice. If you're visiting for business in San Diego, enjoy free Wi-Fi access as well as our 24-hour Business Center. Road Warriors can keep up exercise routines with our on-site Fitness Center. On weekdays, from 7am-11am and 5pm-9pm, use the complimentary five mile
View More

Enjoy San Diego major attractions within 15 minutes of the Holiday Inn ® Mission Valley-Stadium!

Just miles from Old Town Historic Park, Gaslamp Quarter, beaches and San Diego International Airport, our hotel is an ideal choice. If you're visiting for business in San Diego, enjoy free Wi-Fi access as well as our 24-hour Business Center. Road Warriors can keep up exercise routines with our on-site Fitness Center. On weekdays, from 7am-11am and 5pm-9pm, use the complimentary five mile radius and airport (SAN) shuttle.

Top corporations like Caterpillar Solar Turbines, SDG&E, Hamilton Sundstrand, UTC, SHARP, Northrop Grumman, Kaiser, Jack in the Box, Kyocera, Cubic, Rady Children's Hospital are minutes away. SDSU, Mesa College, and University of Phoenix are within a few miles. Viejas Arena, Hickman Field, MCAS Miramar, Admiral Baker Club, MCRD, Qualcomm Stadium and Valley View Casino are nearby.

Enjoy attractions like SeaWorld, San Diego Zoo and a San Diego Chargers or Padres game while in town. Relax in the outdoor heated pool or spa. Indulge with daily happy hour, a cocktail or delectable entree on-site at Rayo Bar and Grill. The lobby marketplace sells food and snacks 24-hours a day.

As a "thank you" to our military and federal government personnel, their stay includes a complimentary breakfast and dinner entree for one person when booking the government rate.

View Less
Features
Central to downtown, beaches, San Diego Zoo and Sea World, the word "great" describes this hotel's location in San Diego County perfectly. Stay in the middle of everything to conveniently enjoy it all

Guest Reviews

Rated 3.9 out of 5 by 135 reviewers.
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Friendly and helpful staff Great place to stay, very clean. Friendly staff, great breakfast with friendly service. 26 August 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great amentities We were very pleasantly surprised with the quality of the service we received for the value. The room was very spacious and comfortable. The staff was very friendly and responsive to our requests. Also the amenities of a hot breakfast, and snacks in the lobby made it very welcoming and comfortable. There are also two great restaurants on either side of the hotel which was very convenient. We will definitely stay at this hotel again and will probably seek out a Holiday Inn Express in the future. 25 August 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Very clean Hotel Staff was very helpfull. Clean hotel . Great location for our business trip. We will start using this hotel for our next stay. 24 August 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great hotel in La Mesa Overall this hotel is a bit older, but the location is great and it is evendent they have made some major improvments on the property. This is good, because the location is great and the staff is very nice. I will definately stay here on my next visit. Thanks, Carp. 23 August 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great Stay- Thank You! Thank you so much. Great TV, amazing beds, powerful A/Cs, yummy breakfast, friendly, smiling staff, coffee 24/7, easy parking, cool restaurant bar next door, good times! 20 August 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Nice Holiday Inn Express and Location is good. Stayed at the Holiday Inn Express La Mesa for one night during by trip on the west coast. The staff was very nice and they took care of me during my stay. I would definitely stay again on my next trip to the area. 20 August 2014
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Good stay but... overall not a bad experience however some of the areas such as the lobby or main hallways were not the most clean; also the room decoration, furniture and carpers are somewhat old. I had stayed at several Holiday Inns in different areas and countries and so far I will rate this one the least recomandable. 18 August 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great service I like the locatio of this hotel for my business trips. Restaurants are walking distance. The staff is very help full. Great value., very clean and comfortable. I will always stay here in future. 18 August 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 Good hotel It's good hotel. However, the breakfast room is too small, so many people can't sit. The variety of breakfast should be improved. Not everyone like western style breakfast. You need to provide wide variety of choices like Chinese dim sum, fried rice, etc. 18 August 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Very Comfortable place to stay We enjoyed our week at the Holiday Inn Express in La Mesa, very much. It is a clean and comfortable hotel with an outstanding efficient staff. No problems, great vacation. We would recommend this hotel to everybody. It's close to the freeway, between El Cajon and La Mesa with several great restaurants very close by. 14 August 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great hotel and convenient location This a great little hotel in a convenient location. I would recommend this hotel if visiting the San Diego area. 10 August 2014
Rated 2.0 out of 5.0 by Do not recommend this property this time. I always stay at this Holiday Inn Express when visiting San Diego. Service in the past has been awesome! However, this time around the overall experience was not good. I ended up canceling my reservation and moving to another hotel. I was very disappointed in the manner in which I was treated. I understand this is a busy time of year but I was a loyal guest who deserved to be treated better irregardless of how busy the hotel was. I am sorry that I will not be staying there anymore. 07 August 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Comfortable bed and convenient location The La Mesa location is just what we wanted to be close to family. The convenience to restaurants, bars, freeway, and shopping is excellent. The king bed was comfortable...and we are picky. But, coming from a semi germaphobe, the room did have that strong "hotel smell" that lingers in your clothes long after you have checked out and the "questionably clean" upholstered couch and chair. But all in all, the room was clean...bathroom was kept clean with abundant clean towels and the bed linens were clean and comfortable. 07 August 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great friendly service I had made a mistake when booking the room and had only booked for one night. I called to change it to four nights and they did so immediately at the same rate as my initial reservation. Then my flight was delayed a couple hours which led to us arriving at the hotel at 1 am. They said no problem when I called to notify them. When we finally arrived they had our check-in info preprinted and ready to go. One night it was completely full and so were all of the parking spots. The night manager made sure I had a place to park our rental car. Great customer service. I highly recommend this hotel. Thanks! 04 August 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Helpful Staff One of the housekeeping staff was extremely helpful in explaining the bus and trolley system. We wanted to go to the zoo, and she went out of her way to print out the bus schedule and provided a map of the trolley routes. 03 August 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great Hotel The hotel was well kept and very clean. The staff was very pleasant and helpful. 31 July 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Everything perfect Everything is what I expected. No complaints at all. 31 July 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Nice room and clean sheet. would defintley come back to San Diego La Mesa with friends and family. Excellent service and attentive to my daughter. 30 July 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Another Great Stay at a Great Hotel I can always count on the staff to get it right at this properrty. Even during a very busy time the still manage to pay attention to the details. Thank you guys. 30 July 2014
Rated 2.0 out of 5.0 by You get what you pay for Our room was large but that only meant I needed 2 bottles of febreeze and Lysol to make the room smell remotely better. It smelled like a refrigerator that was no longer working, so bad to the point that ithe smell wafted into the hall. The carpet was less than clean and I didn't want anything to touch it. Our bed had queen sized sheets on a King sized bed so the sheets fell off as soon as we sat on the bed. This is when having my own sheets really came in handy because I'm not ok with sleeping on a bare hotel mattress. One night, we were also confronted by a suspicious young "gangster" in his car in the parking lot threatening us to "watch who we look at when in Cali". This had nothing to do with the hotel itself but was unexpected since the area didn't look sketchy. 27 July 2014
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Lots of noise There was a lot of loud noise in the hallway, shouting and cursing between at least two people. Lots of people running back and forth down the hall. Approximately 11:00 PM I looked out to the parking lot to check on my vehicle, and noticed a group of 5-10 people standing and drinking alcohol by vehicles next to mine. They continued to bring out a cooler and play music while using my vehicle as something to lean against. This continued well after midnight. 27 July 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great stay I stay here about once a month. Im always gald to see that even with Comic Con going on last week, the rewards nights are still about the same price. 27 July 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by clean room and great breakfast Great place to stay. Rooms very clean and shower had plenty of hot water and pressure. Excellent breakfast each day. Staff were friendly and helpful. 26 July 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Nice hotel and friendly staff This was a clean and comfortable little hotel in La Mesa. The staff were friendly and the breakfast had great options. Will definately staff here again. Chan 24 July 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Friendly staff, awesome breakfast, free laundry, sleepers could use an upgrade! We stayed at this hotel for 5 nights on our family vacation. The front desk staff was very friendly right off the bat. The breakfast room was very clean and the lady taking care of the breakfast room was nice. This is the only hotel on our trip (out of like 5), that allows you to take the food back to your room. We didn't know this until checking out. They have a nice breakfast variety, although it does not change day to day. Carlos - thank you! Your attitude and friendliness helped brighten our day! Oh - and they have free laundry machines! Just give it some time, don't throw the laundry in an hour before checkout like we did. :) Our only complaint is that rooms for 4 people are not two double beds, but a bed and a sleeper. Which is still OK, since everything was booked in San Diego for the dates, but the mattress on the sleeper was terrible. I know the hotel is going through renovations, I hope this is one of the things that will be changed. We had to ask for extra blankets just for padding so that the wires from the mattress don't cut into our backs. We recommend this hotel and hope the property itself will get an uplift soon. The service is top notch though! 23 July 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great service. Carlos and Seyam were awesome. The two of them took such good care of Us going out of there way. We have stayed here several times and will continue to do so. 23 July 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Wonderful stay What I liked about the hotel is that it is entirely smoke-free. It is very clean and the staff were very helpful. I would stay here again. 22 July 2014
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Best Holiday Inn Location to SDSU This is an average Holiday Inn Express with free breakfast, free wifi, and a pooli. It's about 7 minutes east from the SDSU campus and it's where I stay as a Platinum member when going to SDSU. The staff is responsive. 19 July 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Nice Place The place was clean and comfortable and has easy access to highway 8, which gets you to most places you would want to go in the San Diego area. The motel is beginning to show its age, but other than that the place is great. Only complaint is the desk chairs in the rooms are dirty and look gross. Also wish the desk chairs could be elevated. For short people the chairs are almost useless. 18 July 2014
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Noisy Too much noise from outside and inside the hotel. The noise interfered with sleep. 18 July 2014
<<prev2 3 4 5 6 next>>
Hotel Exterior view at Entry of Murphy Canyon Road
Hotel Exterior view at Entry of Murphy Canyon Road
Select to close.
Hotel Exterior view at Entry of Murphy Canyon Road Front Desk Hotel Lobby Hotel Exterior Reception Reception
Select to close.
Close
Check-In Date
(e.g. 18 Sep 2014)
Check-Out Date
(e.g. 19 Sep 2014)
Check Availability
Loading