• English  English
    Select to close.
    Current Settings are:
      /  English

    Change Preferences:
    Country / Region of Residence:
    Available Languages:
  • |
  • |
  • |
  • 1 888 HOLIDAY
Select to close.
Select to close.
Email or IHG® Rewards Club # PIN
Not a member?Join Today!
Forgot PIN
All fields are required.
 
If you have forgotten or lost your Personal Identification Number (PIN), we can email your PIN to the email address in your IHG® Rewards Club account profile.
If you do not have an email address in your profile, please contact your local IHG® Rewards Club Customer Care  to source your PIN and to update your profile with your email address. When you receive your PIN you can also update your email address viawww.ihgrewardsclub.com/email.
IHG® Rewards Club # Email Address

Not a member?Join Today!
Create PIN
All fields are required.
IHG® Rewards Club # ZIP/Postal Code
First Name Last Name
Please select a 4 number Personal Identification Number (PIN) which will be used to access your IHG® Rewards Club account.
PIN Verify PIN
 
Not a member?Join Today!
Create Email
All fields are required.
Thank you. Your PIN has been created. Please enter your email address so you can use it to log into the site in the future.
Email Address Verify Email Address
 
Email Hotel Get Directions Add to Favourites Print Fact Sheet

Book this Hotel

Best Price Guarantee
1

Reward Nights

When redeeming points for a Reward Night, you may only book one room at a time.


Once you complete your Reward Night reservation you will be given the option to duplicate this reservation.

(e.g. 26 Nov 2014)
(e.g. 27 Nov 2014)
Have a Group Code?
Have a Corporate ID?
Check Availability
Processing your request...

* Requires affiliation in the respective organization.

** Best Available Rate Search does not include affiliation rates.

Select to close.

To book more than 9 rooms for one stay or request a quote, please use our Easy Meetings tool, call 1-800-MEETING (in United States, Mexico and Canada) or contact a Global Sales Office.

Close Button
Your Recently Viewed Hotels

Welcome to Holiday Inn San Diego-Mission Valley

Location: Suburban

  • Location: Suburban
  • Closest City: SAN DIEGO
  • Distance From Hotel: 8.0MI
  • Local time zone: GMT-08:00

Check In: 3:00 PM Check Out: 12:00 PM

  • Check In: 3:00 PM
  • Check Out: 12:00 PM
  • Minimum check-in age: 18
  • Late checkout available

Credit cards

Credit cards

  • American Express
  • Carte Blanche
  • Diners Club
  • Discover
  • Master Card
  • Visa

Accessibility

Accessibility

  • Number of Rooms:8
  • Parking
  • Service Animals Allowed

Languages

Languages

  1. English

Parking

Parking

  • Number of parking spaces182
  • Car Parking Available
  • Complimentary outdoor and covered parking.

Internet

Standard Internet Service

Standard Internet service is free for all guests
Wireless Internet available in Standard Rooms,Executive Rooms,Suites,Business Center,Public Areas
Wired Internet available in Standard Rooms,Executive Rooms,Suites,Business Center,Public Areas

Accommodation

Accommodation

  • Hotel renovated in:February 01, 2002
  • Total number of rooms:175
  • Total number of suites:19
  • Total number of rooms with only one bed:60
  • Total number of non-smoking rooms:175
  • Total number of accessible rooms:8
  • Interior corridor
  • Total number of floors:4
  • FEMA Property Number:CA2228

Enjoy San Diego major attractions within 15 minutes of the Holiday Inn ® Mission Valley-Stadium!

Just miles from Old Town Historic Park, Gaslamp Quarter, beaches and San Diego International Airport, our hotel is an ideal choice. If you're visiting for business in San Diego, enjoy free Wi-Fi access as well as our 24-hour Business Center. Road Warriors can keep up exercise routines with our on-site Fitness Center. On weekdays, from 7am-11am and 5pm-9pm, use the complimentary five mile
View More

Enjoy San Diego major attractions within 15 minutes of the Holiday Inn ® Mission Valley-Stadium!

Just miles from Old Town Historic Park, Gaslamp Quarter, beaches and San Diego International Airport, our hotel is an ideal choice. If you're visiting for business in San Diego, enjoy free Wi-Fi access as well as our 24-hour Business Center. Road Warriors can keep up exercise routines with our on-site Fitness Center. On weekdays, from 7am-11am and 5pm-9pm, use the complimentary five mile radius and airport (SAN) shuttle.

Top corporations like Caterpillar Solar Turbines, SDG&E, Hamilton Sundstrand, UTC, SHARP, Northrop Grumman, Kaiser, Jack in the Box, Kyocera, Cubic, Rady Children's Hospital are minutes away. SDSU, Mesa College, and University of Phoenix are within a few miles. Viejas Arena, Hickman Field, MCAS Miramar, Admiral Baker Club, MCRD, Qualcomm Stadium and Valley View Casino are nearby.

Enjoy attractions like SeaWorld, San Diego Zoo and a San Diego Chargers or Padres game while in town. Relax in the outdoor heated pool or spa. Indulge with daily happy hour, a cocktail or delectable entree on-site at Rayo Bar and Grill. The lobby marketplace sells food and snacks 24-hours a day.

As a "thank you" to our military and federal government personnel, their stay includes a complimentary breakfast and dinner entree for one person when booking the government rate.

View Less
Features
Central to downtown, beaches, San Diego Zoo and Sea World, the word "great" describes this hotel's location in San Diego County perfectly. Stay in the middle of everything to conveniently enjoy it all

Guest Reviews

Rated 4.0 out of 5 by 158 reviewers.
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great Hotel This hotel was recently remodeled and is very clean. The staff is friendly and helpful. Would recommend to anyone. 11 November 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great Service They are re modeling. We will come back to enjoy the new rooms. The staff made us very comfortable among the lots of movement. They gave us goodies and kept us constantly informed. They also moved us to a quitter area. The GM was very friendly and concerned for all the guest. He gave us 15% of coupon for our next stay and we will be back. 07 November 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great Service from Staff The rooms have been updated since the last time we stayed at this location. 03 November 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great Hotel! The staff always make a huge difference in any hotel stay, they are excellent at this one. Always greeting with smiles and asking if anything is needed when passing through the lobby and the services staff were extremely friendly and helpful when called upon. The hotel is undergoing many upgrades and thus our stay did not allow them to be at their best although everyone was extremely accommodating. It will be nice to see the updated appearance in the rooms on our next visit. The breakfast selection is as expected at a Holiday Inn Express however I believe a closer watch of quantity would prevent the hard biscuit's/Danish and the dried out bacon 01 November 2014
Rated 2.0 out of 5.0 by Outdated Facilities I've stayed at many Holiday Inn Expresses for business travel, and this one is on the lower end of the quality scale. My A/C did not work in the room, and the lighting was extremely hot, particularly in the bathroom. Overall, this hotel got the job done, but it did not provide the experience I expect from this brand. I would not stay at this location again. 29 October 2014
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Neeed improvement Since the Hotel is very close to the Interstate , the road noise is too much in the room. It is better to install new double panel windows (Good sound Proof). The noise disturbed our sleep whole night. Another improvment is the Carpet on the Walkway and in the elevators. It is very old, dirty and dull. The Staff were nice, the breakfast was good , room was clean and big.. those were the compliments... Thanks Earnest 22 October 2014
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Being remodeled It was like putting lipstick on a pig, redoing rooms alto just changing furniture and a poor quality at that. 20 October 2014
Rated 2.0 out of 5.0 by Making improvements The front desk staff was very good. She tried to get the Internet working without any luck even after having support contacted, the Internet was working the next morning. The updating of the rooms was ongoing with evidence of the furniture boxes in some of the parking spaces. The room door when locked with the deadbolt the door was very hard to open with the door handle. The room smoke detector looked to be VERY old. Sine the rooms are being updated, so should the detectors. The parking spots are tight but with my small car was not an issue. breakfast smelt good but we did not partake. The door condition in the hallway (paint) was not great 19 October 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Very nice Hotel My husband and I always stay at this hotel. We have to go to San Diego for Doctors visits and one of us always stat there when the other has to be in the hospital for any length of time. Have been staying at this same hotel for years beginning in 1993. The best always . 17 October 2014
Rated 2.0 out of 5.0 by Inept and disorganized hotel staff I visited for a wedding with a reserved block of rooms. Check in time was 3pm. Obviously, people showed up early to attempt to check in. The person at the front desk let us know we'd be able to check in at 3pm and the hotel was at capacity the night before and needed to be cleaned. The hotel failed to hire enough cleaning staff to clean the rooms in a timely fashion. Hotel check in didn't begin until 3:15 and didn't conclude until nearly 5pm for all the guests. This resulted in a delay that actually pushed the ceremony start time back due to some people having to wait through a 2 hour delay from the scheduled check in time. They need to hire more staff or bring in more staff on days when they are at capacity and have to turn over the hotel in time for another large party. So far there's been no offer from Holiday Inn to make this right at all. 09 October 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Very clean This hotel is well located . Upon arrival we were greeted by name and with smiles. They were welcoming us with open arms. The rooms were very very clean. All the staff has been well trained for guests need. We were very happy and we will always come here again. 30 September 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great Hotel I really enjoyed my stay at HI Express in La Mesa! Great room, updated and comfortable. 29 September 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Comfortable bed and great service. Easy access to good Mexican and seafood restaurants next door. Great breakfast. Friendly staff. 22 September 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Needs Repair Hotel is quiet , needs a lot of upgrade its very used parking on the weekend is adequate at best , hard to find a place to park , temperature was very hot and room air conditioner did not seem to keep up 18 September 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Holiday Inn in La Mesa, California This hotel is in a fine location near the freeway (8). The service and the breakfast were excellent! A great place to stay!! 16 September 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Nice place to Stay in San Deigo I stayed there during the labor day weekend. The hotel is nice and clean, staff is courteous, breakfast was good. 11 September 2014
Rated 2.0 out of 5.0 by Beware!!!-Hotel does not award bonus points as promised I was promised 500 bonus IHG rewards points for being a Platinum member when I checked in. They thanked me for being a Platinum member and said that I will get 500 points added to my account after check out. I waited for 2 weeks after I checked out and still did not see the points on the account. I called and spoke to Carlos who said I am not entitled to the points because I used reward points for my stay. I told him that the clerk knew I was checking in with reward points and still said I was entitled to the points. I have stayed at other IHG hotels on points and was still awarded bonus points by the hotel. Changing the rules after the fact is a misrepresentation of facts presented to the guest and is a negative reflection on the hotel and IHG as a whole. I am a loyal and frequent business and personal stay guest of IHG for many years. This leaves a very bad taste in my mouth that I cannot trust a IHG hotel to deliver on a promise of awarding a small amount of 500 bonus points as appreciation for being a loyal guest for many years. If it was an error by the staff in awarding the points, the hotel should still do the honorable thing and award the points. Is 500 points worth alienating a loyal guest who has been staying over 60 nights a year at IHG properties on a regular basis? I guess so based on the response I received from the hotel. Any guest staying at this property should be cautious and check their reward points carefully. You may be shorted points as well. 11 September 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 Friendly staff The Hotel is located close to the San Diego state. The staff was very helpful. Restaurants are at walking distances. We had a lovely stay we will always come back to this hotel and recommend to other students visiting the area. Thank you 10 September 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Vacation stay We were met with attentive, friendly staff. They were willing to assist with recommendations on eateries and shopping in the area. There was some repairs being done on our level or the floor below in which we heard hammering and drilling noises; however, this was concluded by 3p and did not go into the night hours. Our room was excellent and comfortable with the exception of a broken piece on the security curtain. We had to pull lightly and work the curtains to close completely for privacy and lighting. 06 September 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great Hotel Great hotel. 10 mins drive to Sea World. Quiet. Clean. Friendly staff. Would stay here again if I'm in the area. 04 September 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Clean room with great shower. Pleasant stay made far more pleasant by offering a clean room and bathroom with a great soothing shower. Most hotels are too cheap or clueless to know that something as simple as a nice, well functioning shower makes all the difference in the world when you are travelling. 02 September 2014
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Good not great... Recently stayed at this hotel about a week ago. Check-in was smooth. There were just two things that I found quite peculiar. One was while shaving, I somehow found myself sweating, I didn't know why because the shower was off and I just had the lights on, so upon further inspection I look up and on top of the mirror there were 5 HEAT PRODUCING LIGHBULBS, like the one's for plants and lizards, so I turn off those lights and try the one directly above the toilet and... yes to my disbelief that too had the same kind of bulb,just ended up taking a shower with the lights off and door open. 29 August 2014
Rated 1.0 out of 5.0 by Worst Stay Ever I have been staying at this Holiday Inn for the past 2-3 years and had always loved it. The staff was always nice and very curteous and they always seemed eage to please. This time around it was differant though. Upon checking in they put me in a room next to the freeway. I knew from a previous stay that I wouldn't be albe to stay there but thought I would try it since they were so busy. It was so loud I couldn't sleep at all. Also when I got to the room it looked like someone had just washed thier hair in the sink. There was long black hair in the sink and the shampoo bottle and lotion were 1/2 empty and sitting next to the sink. There were other cleanliness issues I won't go into but also the TV wasn't working and the screen froze every 2 minutes or so. I asked the next day to be moved only to be told no, that there were no rooms available. This was afternoon but before check in time plus I had just checked online reservations and it said they had a room available. Maintenance came to the room 2-3 times to fix the TV and couldn't fix it. After being treated like my concerns didn't matter I canceled the rest of my resrvation and moved to another Holiday Inn. I did end up staying another day because I had to cancel before 6:00 PM but no way I could have gone with out sleep any longer. There was 1 young lady who did go out of her way to help and apologised for the way we had been treated. SHe was the one who made sure my cancelation was put in and the charges changed. Now I just got my CC statement and I was over charged and now have to clear that up too. I will never be back to this Holiday Inn Express. 28 August 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Friendly and helpful staff Great place to stay, very clean. Friendly staff, great breakfast with friendly service. 26 August 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great amentities We were very pleasantly surprised with the quality of the service we received for the value. The room was very spacious and comfortable. The staff was very friendly and responsive to our requests. Also the amenities of a hot breakfast, and snacks in the lobby made it very welcoming and comfortable. There are also two great restaurants on either side of the hotel which was very convenient. We will definitely stay at this hotel again and will probably seek out a Holiday Inn Express in the future. 25 August 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Very clean Hotel Staff was very helpfull. Clean hotel . Great location for our business trip. We will start using this hotel for our next stay. 24 August 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great hotel in La Mesa Overall this hotel is a bit older, but the location is great and it is evendent they have made some major improvments on the property. This is good, because the location is great and the staff is very nice. I will definately stay here on my next visit. Thanks, Carp. 23 August 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great Stay- Thank You! Thank you so much. Great TV, amazing beds, powerful A/Cs, yummy breakfast, friendly, smiling staff, coffee 24/7, easy parking, cool restaurant bar next door, good times! 20 August 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Nice Holiday Inn Express and Location is good. Stayed at the Holiday Inn Express La Mesa for one night during by trip on the west coast. The staff was very nice and they took care of me during my stay. I would definitely stay again on my next trip to the area. 20 August 2014
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Good stay but... overall not a bad experience however some of the areas such as the lobby or main hallways were not the most clean; also the room decoration, furniture and carpers are somewhat old. I had stayed at several Holiday Inns in different areas and countries and so far I will rate this one the least recomandable. 18 August 2014
<<prev2 3 4 5 6 next>>
Hotel Exterior view at Entry of Murphy Canyon Road
Hotel Exterior view at Entry of Murphy Canyon Road
Select to close.
Hotel Exterior view at Entry of Murphy Canyon Road Front Desk Hotel Lobby Hotel Exterior Reception Reception
Select to close.
Terms & Conditions
Close
Check-In Date
(e.g. 26 Nov 2014)
Check-Out Date
(e.g. 27 Nov 2014)
Check Availability
Loading