• English  English
    Select to close.
    Current Settings are:
      /  English

    Change Preferences:
    Country / Region of Residence:
    Available Languages:
  • |
  • |
  • |
  • 1 888 HOLIDAY
Select to close.
Select to close.
Email or IHG® Rewards Club # PIN
Not a member?Join Today!
Forgot PIN
All fields are required.
 
If you have forgotten or lost your Personal Identification Number (PIN), we can email your PIN to the email address in your IHG® Rewards Club account profile.
If you do not have an email address in your profile, please contact your local IHG® Rewards Club Customer Care  to source your PIN and to update your profile with your email address. When you receive your PIN you can also update your email address viawww.ihgrewardsclub.com/email.
IHG® Rewards Club # Email Address

Not a member?Join Today!
Create PIN
All fields are required.
IHG® Rewards Club # ZIP/Postal Code
First Name Last Name
Please select a 4 number Personal Identification Number (PIN) which will be used to access your IHG® Rewards Club account.
PIN Verify PIN
 
Not a member?Join Today!
Create Email
All fields are required.
Thank you. Your PIN has been created. Please enter your email address so you can use it to log into the site in the future.
Email Address Verify Email Address
 
Email Hotel Get Directions Add to Favourites Print Fact Sheet

Book this Hotel

Best Price Guarantee
1

Reward Nights

When redeeming points for a Reward Night, you may only book one room at a time.


Once you complete your Reward Night reservation you will be given the option to duplicate this reservation.

(e.g. 21 Sep 2014)
(e.g. 22 Sep 2014)
Have a Group Code?
Have a Corporate ID?
Check Availability
Processing your request...

* Requires affiliation in the respective organization.

** Best Available Rate Search does not include affiliation rates.

Select to close.

To book more than 9 rooms for one stay or request a quote, please use our Easy Meetings tool, call 1-800-MEETING (in United States, Mexico and Canada) or contact a Global Sales Office.

Close Button
Your Recently Viewed Hotels

Welcome to Holiday Inn San Diego-Mission Valley

Location: Suburban

  • Location: Suburban
  • Closest City: SAN DIEGO
  • Distance From Hotel: 8.0MI
  • Local time zone: GMT-07:00

Check In: 3:00 PM Check Out: 12:00 PM

  • Check In: 3:00 PM
  • Check Out: 12:00 PM
  • Minimum check-in age: 18
  • Late checkout available

Credit cards

Credit cards

  • American Express
  • Carte Blanche
  • Diners Club
  • Discover
  • Master Card
  • Visa

Accessibility

Accessibility

  • Number of Rooms:8
  • Parking
  • Service Animals Allowed

Languages

Languages

  1. English

Parking

Parking

  • Number of parking spaces182
  • Car Parking Available
  • Complimentary outdoor and covered parking.

Internet

Standard Internet Service

Standard Internet service is free for all guests
Wireless Internet available in Standard Rooms,Executive Rooms,Suites,Business Center,Public Areas
Wired Internet available in Standard Rooms,Executive Rooms,Suites,Business Center,Public Areas

Accommodation

Accommodation

  • Hotel renovated in:February 01, 2002
  • Total number of rooms:175
  • Total number of suites:19
  • Total number of rooms with only one bed:60
  • Total number of non-smoking rooms:175
  • Total number of accessible rooms:8
  • Interior corridor
  • Total number of floors:4
  • FEMA Property Number:CA2228

Enjoy San Diego major attractions within 15 minutes of the Holiday Inn ® Mission Valley-Stadium!

Just miles from Old Town Historic Park, Gaslamp Quarter, beaches and San Diego International Airport, our hotel is an ideal choice. If you're visiting for business in San Diego, enjoy free Wi-Fi access as well as our 24-hour Business Center. Road Warriors can keep up exercise routines with our on-site Fitness Center. On weekdays, from 7am-11am and 5pm-9pm, use the complimentary five mile
View More

Enjoy San Diego major attractions within 15 minutes of the Holiday Inn ® Mission Valley-Stadium!

Just miles from Old Town Historic Park, Gaslamp Quarter, beaches and San Diego International Airport, our hotel is an ideal choice. If you're visiting for business in San Diego, enjoy free Wi-Fi access as well as our 24-hour Business Center. Road Warriors can keep up exercise routines with our on-site Fitness Center. On weekdays, from 7am-11am and 5pm-9pm, use the complimentary five mile radius and airport (SAN) shuttle.

Top corporations like Caterpillar Solar Turbines, SDG&E, Hamilton Sundstrand, UTC, SHARP, Northrop Grumman, Kaiser, Jack in the Box, Kyocera, Cubic, Rady Children's Hospital are minutes away. SDSU, Mesa College, and University of Phoenix are within a few miles. Viejas Arena, Hickman Field, MCAS Miramar, Admiral Baker Club, MCRD, Qualcomm Stadium and Valley View Casino are nearby.

Enjoy attractions like SeaWorld, San Diego Zoo and a San Diego Chargers or Padres game while in town. Relax in the outdoor heated pool or spa. Indulge with daily happy hour, a cocktail or delectable entree on-site at Rayo Bar and Grill. The lobby marketplace sells food and snacks 24-hours a day.

As a "thank you" to our military and federal government personnel, their stay includes a complimentary breakfast and dinner entree for one person when booking the government rate.

View Less
Features
Central to downtown, beaches, San Diego Zoo and Sea World, the word "great" describes this hotel's location in San Diego County perfectly. Stay in the middle of everything to conveniently enjoy it all

Guest Reviews

Rated 3.9 out of 5 by 136 reviewers.
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Noisy Too much noise from outside and inside the hotel. The noise interfered with sleep. 18 July 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by I "heart" Holiday Inn Great hotel! Comfortable beds and clean rooms. They even had cribs for my little baby. Hotel staff very friendly and knowledgable. Breakfast was good but not enough tables for eating at. I would definately come back!! 16 July 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Good hotel Comfortable room and attentive staff despite the issue that is very near to a freeway 14 July 2014
Rated 2.0 out of 5.0 by unhappy Very unhappy with the lack of customer service during Thursday evening as i needed help with one of the computers in your business center the same computer i used that very morning and the gentleman that morning was very helpful with assisting me but i didn't receive the same service that evening as i asked for help i was told that if the computer is not working that any WiFi device that i own i will be able to use the WiFi in my room i find that very rude and distasteful as i wanted to use your business center not my cell phone but i did get some very good and professional help later on that night from the clerk who works overnight now i wanted to speak with management when i was checking out but clerk didn't seem to have any information on how to get a hold of management and wasn't knowledgeable as i had question about my bill during the whole check out process which took 15min the only word he was saying was i don't know thank you for some good customer service but i will not be staying at this property again 13 July 2014
Rated 1.0 out of 5.0 by Poor Customer Service & insufficient bathroom supplies My job involves travel and wherever possible Holiday Inn Express is first on my list for accommodation. I am a platinum member. I have never been disappointed by Holiday Inn Express until my recent stay at the San Diego-La Mesa Holiday Inn Express. On arrival the clerk Sayem was busy with a couple of clients. When my turn came up, he asked for my last name and credit card. He gave me a document to sign, then the room keys. He did not offer me a choice or either 500 welcome bonus points or welcome package. He did not tell me whether there was WIFI available or not. He told me about the breakfast times and location. So I left for the elevators. Next evening I passed by the front desk and he greeted me happily asking me whether my toilet was fixed by maintenance the previous evening. I said yes someone came and fixed the toilet. (On my arrival the toilet was flooded when flushing). I took the opportunity to inquire why he did not offer me a welcome package or even welcome bonus points. He replied "we stopped doing that. We only do it for platinum members" to which I informed him I was a platinum member. He grinned, looked at something on his desk and said "Oh yes, I see you are a platinum member.... I told you but you must have not heard me." Really??? I don't think so. He now offered me the choice between a water bottle and trail mix OR 500 welcome bonus points. Neither of points for my stay or the 500 welcome bonus points have been added to my account. I found myself in an embarrassing situation in the bathroom when there was hardly any toilet tissue paper. Please provide the room with a supply of at least one extra tissue paper. I am disappointed. I will be coming back to San Diego-La Mesa soon but definitely not staying at that hotel. 10 July 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Clean,Comfortable, and Outstanding Service I am allergic to dogs, so I chose this hotel based on their No Pets Policy. I have spent several sleepless nights in rooms previously occupied by someone who just had to bring little "Cuddles" along. What I experienced at this hotel exceeded my expectations. The room was very clean and fresh smelling. The breakfast room was well equipped with the basics (cereal, fruit, waffles, bagels, eggs, etc.) and was well staffed. The hotel staff were very friendly and helpful, especially Seyam at the front desk who went out of his way to make our stay delightful. I would highly recommend this hotel to anyone traveling without their pet. 09 July 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great stay Great hotel and good staff and I will definitely will be staying here again 06 July 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great service, very clean and very responsive team. Excellent staff, confortable and clean rooms at a reasonable price. Breakfast had plenty of choices and well prepared. HiFi was reliable. Only concern was locaiton of pool (at one end of complex) and was not heated. 03 July 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Decent stay for decent price This facility isn't fancy but it was clean and the employees were unfailingly friendly. My room didn't face the interstate and the noise wasn't terrible at all. Variety of items for breakfast - yogurt to pancakes to eggs and bacon. I needed a place to sleep while working all day. This facility worked well and have already booked another visit for next week. 27 June 2014
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 Remodeling necessary Staff friendly, location good and hotel comfortable. The rooms definitely need some help. 23 June 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Post stay help in returning item left in room My husband left a gym bag with two items, and didn't realize it until we arrived home. When he called, they were able to identify the item and sent it to him. It arrived in good time. 18 June 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by room @3:15p.m.-Sunday-room not touched by housekeeping-overheard 0ne of the housekeepers use the excuse,they were cleaning the empty rooms-no acceptable to return to room at this hour and not be able tosit & relax-had to wait in lobby-UNACCEPTABLE!!!!!! On a bright note"-SEYAM gave excellent service-deserves to be employee of the year also a Keeper!!!! Bobbie Call 13 June 2014
Rated 2.0 out of 5.0 by compassionate I had surgery on Mon. the 9th and we wew to check out on Tue. By 11. Your managers allowed me to stay until 2:00 until I felt better. This act of kindness was awesome!!! 13 June 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by questionable placement of breakfast room Great hotel. Large rooms, good breakfast, friendly staff. But breakfast room is on second floor, surrounded by guest rooms. 04 June 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Suite was GREAT! Having two rooms made a vast difference while watching TV. While sitting in the room not used for sleeping I was able to watch the TV without bothering anyone trying to sleep. I love the Suites. The lighting could be better. Not conducive to reading, even in the extra room that was set up for meetings. The overall experience at the Holiday Inn Express was outstanding. The members of the staff were very helpful and courteous. Noise from the hallway was loud, but only because there were children having fun. 03 June 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Generally clean and comfortable Only criticism is the desk chairs in the rooms are stained and look very dirty. Also, the chairs sit very low so that you need to be a VERY tall person to sit and work at the desk comfortably. Lighting is good. Like the free parking, although some of the parking spaces are VERY tight. Free breakfast staff are very pleasant. 01 June 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Friendly Staff I feel that service must be rewarded. This hotel has a great staff, their atitude towards the guest must be commended. I enjoyed the breakfast it was complete and to my taste. The location of the hotel is great for quick in and out of freeway. Restaurants were close by one can have a drink and not worry about driving. I will always come back. 27 May 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Perfect place to stay in La Mesa area This hotel is close to downtown and the beaches, without being in all the congestion of those areas. The staff is fantastic, the rooms are comfortable and very well decorated, and there is plenty of parking. Recognition of IHG Rewards Members? Not so much anymore; they seem to have stopped handing out the little treats that were so welcome. 23 May 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Improvements The hotel is great in service providing. On top it keeps on improving . They have done new wall paper in the rooms , new tiles etc. Now they are saying that new furniture is coming. We will be back Well done holiday inn 22 May 2014
Rated 2.0 out of 5.0 by Bad oder in hallways I must say this is the worst Holiday Inn Express I have stayed ever! The staff is great, but the condition of this hotel is bad. I understand that this a older building, but I think you can do better in renovation cleanliness. The carpet on the second floor is buckled in spots it smalls bad, my shower curtain was filthy, carpet in elevator is filthy. 12 May 2014
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Satisfactory Overall, stay was satisfactory. Interior needs to be updated (e.g. new carpets, drapes, paint). Not the usual quality of Holiday Inn or Holiday Inn Express that we are used to. 26 April 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Service Excellence I travel for my business and am in sales. Upon arriving and staying first time at this hotel. I got service starting from the enterance of the hotel. I must say the staff is great and deserve recognition. The location is great. Quick in and out of freeway. Restaurants walking distances. Down town San Diego is close by. I was very happy. 16 April 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great Staff This Hotel was perfect for our needs. We have stayed in the area in other hotels. The service provided by this hotel and the staff deserves praise. We will any day stay here again and will recomend this hotel to others. 04 April 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Room and Bed Comfotable ..a Little noisey The Interstate 8 freeway is within a stones throw , so the vehicle noise can be a bit annoying if you a light sleeper noteworthy are the 3 restaurants you can walk to from the front door 31 March 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Great service! Great staff! When i first came into this hotel i saw there was renovations being done so in my mind im thinking there went my nights sleep right? But no the girl that checked me in was very very nice she moved and upgraded me to a great room away from the noise she made me feel right at home! I believe her name was adriana i was impressed by her great customer service! I also had the pleasure to meet and chat with both the cafeteria lady sandra and maintenance man armando who were both very nice and attentive. Everyone there showed lots of attention to their guests and i love that! The only person that lacked all of the above i believe her name was belen? I would express concern on certain things i needed and she simply didnt care, she needs to be replaced. Other than her i would most definitely recommend this hotel to everyone and all families. I will be sure to return and hope that my favorite staff is still there :) 23 March 2014
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Quick check in The service to get us checked in was speedy and the person was accommodating . 16 March 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Well kept and good value We've stayed at this location several times when visiting in the area. Staff is friendly and helpful. Room, while "no frills," is comfortable and clean. Our only real complaint is the odor of whatever is used to clean in the hallways, which fortunately doesn't extend to the rooms. 16 March 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great location Small property but nice place. Location is great if you are heading out of town. Staff was polite, room was up to date, and breakfast wasn't bad. 07 March 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by La Mesa Holiday Inn Express Comfortable, convenient, quiet and secure. Excellent! Welcoming staff and management 10 February 2014
Rated 1.0 out of 5.0 by Night staff exceptional but building in need of much updating Walls and carpeting all down the hallway to our room dirty and not a pleasant smell at all. The walls in our room were exceptionally thin. Truly kept thinking someone else was in the room with us. We had to turn our TV up so we could hear it over the next rooms TV. It wasn't as if the next rooms TV was blasting, but hard to believe it wasn't in the very same room as ours. If I didn't have ear plugs I wouldn't have been able to fall asleep. I was embarrassed to use the bathroom knowing there was no way they couldn't hear me. I even contemplated going to use the one in the lobby. It was as if they were standing right there with me, No exaggeration. We were told we had a view. When I opened the curtains I couldn't believe how dirty the window was. I mean REALLY dirty enough to mask the view. The highway traffic was loud as well. A positive was the bathroom was updated and clean. 28 January 2014
<<prev 2 3 4 5 6 next>>
Hotel Exterior view at Entry of Murphy Canyon Road
Hotel Exterior view at Entry of Murphy Canyon Road
Select to close.
Hotel Exterior view at Entry of Murphy Canyon Road Front Desk Hotel Lobby Hotel Exterior Reception Reception
Select to close.
Close
Check-In Date
(e.g. 21 Sep 2014)
Check-Out Date
(e.g. 22 Sep 2014)
Check Availability
Loading