• English  English
    Select to close.
    Current Settings are:
      /  English

    Change Preferences:
    Country / Region of Residence:
    Available Languages:
  • |
  • |
  • |
  • 1 888 HOLIDAY
Select to close.
Select to close.
Email or IHG® Rewards Club # PIN
Not a member?Join Today!
Forgot PIN
All fields are required.
 
If you have forgotten or lost your Personal Identification Number (PIN), we can email your PIN to the email address in your IHG® Rewards Club account profile.
If you do not have an email address in your profile, please contact your local IHG® Rewards Club Customer Care  to source your PIN and to update your profile with your email address. When you receive your PIN you can also update your email address viawww.ihgrewardsclub.com/email.
IHG® Rewards Club # Email Address

Not a member?Join Today!
Create PIN
All fields are required.
IHG® Rewards Club # ZIP/Postal Code
First Name Last Name
Please select a 4 number Personal Identification Number (PIN) which will be used to access your IHG® Rewards Club account.
PIN Verify PIN
 
Not a member?Join Today!
Create Email
All fields are required.
Thank you. Your PIN has been created. Please enter your email address so you can use it to log into the site in the future.
Email Address Verify Email Address
 
Email Hotel Get Directions Add to Favourites Print Fact Sheet

Book this Hotel

Best Price Guarantee
1

Reward Nights

When redeeming points for a Reward Night, you may only book one room at a time.


Once you complete your Reward Night reservation you will be given the option to duplicate this reservation.

(e.g. 30 Sep 2014)
(e.g. 01 Oct 2014)
Have a Group Code?
Have a Corporate ID?
Check Availability
Processing your request...

* Requires affiliation in the respective organization.

** Best Available Rate Search does not include affiliation rates.

Select to close.

To book more than 9 rooms for one stay or request a quote, please use our Easy Meetings tool, call 1-800-MEETING (in United States, Mexico and Canada) or contact a Global Sales Office.

Close Button
Your Recently Viewed Hotels

Welcome to Holiday Inn San Diego-Mission Valley

Location: Suburban

  • Location: Suburban
  • Closest City: SAN DIEGO
  • Distance From Hotel: 8.0MI
  • Local time zone: GMT-07:00

Check In: 3:00 PM Check Out: 12:00 PM

  • Check In: 3:00 PM
  • Check Out: 12:00 PM
  • Minimum check-in age: 18
  • Late checkout available

Credit cards

Credit cards

  • American Express
  • Carte Blanche
  • Diners Club
  • Discover
  • Master Card
  • Visa

Accessibility

Accessibility

  • Number of Rooms:8
  • Parking
  • Service Animals Allowed

Languages

Languages

  1. English

Parking

Parking

  • Number of parking spaces182
  • Car Parking Available
  • Complimentary outdoor and covered parking.

Internet

Standard Internet Service

Standard Internet service is free for all guests
Wireless Internet available in Standard Rooms,Executive Rooms,Suites,Business Center,Public Areas
Wired Internet available in Standard Rooms,Executive Rooms,Suites,Business Center,Public Areas

Accommodation

Accommodation

  • Hotel renovated in:February 01, 2002
  • Total number of rooms:175
  • Total number of suites:19
  • Total number of rooms with only one bed:60
  • Total number of non-smoking rooms:175
  • Total number of accessible rooms:8
  • Interior corridor
  • Total number of floors:4
  • FEMA Property Number:CA2228

Enjoy San Diego major attractions within 15 minutes of the Holiday Inn ® Mission Valley-Stadium!

Just miles from Old Town Historic Park, Gaslamp Quarter, beaches and San Diego International Airport, our hotel is an ideal choice. If you're visiting for business in San Diego, enjoy free Wi-Fi access as well as our 24-hour Business Center. Road Warriors can keep up exercise routines with our on-site Fitness Center. On weekdays, from 7am-11am and 5pm-9pm, use the complimentary five mile
View More

Enjoy San Diego major attractions within 15 minutes of the Holiday Inn ® Mission Valley-Stadium!

Just miles from Old Town Historic Park, Gaslamp Quarter, beaches and San Diego International Airport, our hotel is an ideal choice. If you're visiting for business in San Diego, enjoy free Wi-Fi access as well as our 24-hour Business Center. Road Warriors can keep up exercise routines with our on-site Fitness Center. On weekdays, from 7am-11am and 5pm-9pm, use the complimentary five mile radius and airport (SAN) shuttle.

Top corporations like Caterpillar Solar Turbines, SDG&E, Hamilton Sundstrand, UTC, SHARP, Northrop Grumman, Kaiser, Jack in the Box, Kyocera, Cubic, Rady Children's Hospital are minutes away. SDSU, Mesa College, and University of Phoenix are within a few miles. Viejas Arena, Hickman Field, MCAS Miramar, Admiral Baker Club, MCRD, Qualcomm Stadium and Valley View Casino are nearby.

Enjoy attractions like SeaWorld, San Diego Zoo and a San Diego Chargers or Padres game while in town. Relax in the outdoor heated pool or spa. Indulge with daily happy hour, a cocktail or delectable entree on-site at Rayo Bar and Grill. The lobby marketplace sells food and snacks 24-hours a day.

As a "thank you" to our military and federal government personnel, their stay includes a complimentary breakfast and dinner entree for one person when booking the government rate.

View Less
Features
Central to downtown, beaches, San Diego Zoo and Sea World, the word "great" describes this hotel's location in San Diego County perfectly. Stay in the middle of everything to conveniently enjoy it all

Guest Reviews

Rated 4.1 out of 5 by 180 reviewers.
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Highly recommended The staff was very friendly and helpful. We stayed in 3 hotels on our vacation - 1 night in Primm, NV, 2 nights in La Mesa, CA and 2 nights in Anaheim, CA. This was by far our favorite hotel not only for this trip but also including my last 2 visits to San Diego. The room was spotless and comfortable. Lots of choices on TV during our down time and the free Wi-Fi was nice too. The only issue I had was in trying to maintain a constant temperature in the shower (I like mine somewhere between lukewarm and hot) but my wife said she didn't have a problem at all (she likes hers a little hotter). The bathroom was extremely clean and there were ample amenities. I even had a chance to use the on-site laundry facility while there. It was a little smaller than I'd imagined but it was very convenient. Neither the washer nor dryer took very long and since you needed the room key to get into the laundry room it felt more secure in that I didn't have to babysit my laundry. The area seemed nice and was within walking distance to a convenience store and gas station and close to other shopping centers and restaurants. I would HIGHLY RECOMMEND this hotel and plan to stay there again on my next visit. 19 October 2013
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Suggestions A jacuzzi/hot tub at pool. Continental breakfast. Crucial! 2nd courtesy computer. Airport shuttle. Crucial. Add TCM, ESPN, please. 17 October 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by An East County Gem The quality of service, comfort and cleanliness at this Holiday Inn was perfect! I picked this hotel because of its location, and didn't really expect much. I have high standards, and every single one of them was met! I especially enjoyed the friendly professionalism of Joshua, who was a delight to speak with and really helped me out during a very stressful visit. This hotel is great, and when I visit East County next time, I will immediately book this hotel. Fantastic! 17 October 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by WONDERFUL EXPERIENCE... Great People, Great Location, Fablous room!!! Resturant fantastic as well!!! 16 October 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Joshua is the best I stayed twice at this hotel this week - pre and post cruise. When I checked in the 1st time Joshua was at the front desk and he was friendly, cheerful, efficient and helpful. The second stay the lobby was very busy... and Joshua was friendly, cheerful, efficient and helpful! As a single woman traveler I want a safe, friendly, clean, comfortable, reasonable hotel and that's exactly what I found at the Holiday Inn in La Mesa! PS Cudos to management... you are doing something right, as every employee that I met in the halls and elevator was courteous and cheerful. I own a business and know that a good attitude filters down... I'll be back! 14 October 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Nice Stay We stayed for a week and it was a nice stay. Only thing missing was a jacuzzi to relax in. 10 October 2013
Rated 1.0 out of 5.0 by Not Quiet Pretty disappointed with Holiday Inn. We checked in fairly early and got a room on the main floor. When we went to bed that night it was really noisy. A dog was barking, people were talking loudly and the people in the room above us were loud. Overall bad experience and won't be staying here again. 08 October 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by I like the comforts of home I have been staying at this Holiday Inn 3 to 4 times aweek for the past 5 months.As I enter the lobby I feel that comfort is just steps away.Iam welcome by cheerful staff member ,a few papers to sign and room key ,I know Iam on my way to a clean room.Time to relax after a long day.I have used the pool,that too is very clean and kept neat.I do Order room service for a dinner as well as breakfast......always on time,hot ,a smile from the staff and asking if there is anything else that they could get for me.Oh yes the food from the Measa Grill as well as drinks are excellent.My hat off to the cook well done!Staff is always trying to do the best you can feel it,they care about you...just like home.I will be back to that fine welcoming Holiday Inn many times more ,we are like family.Job Well Done Staff .Keep up the good work! 08 October 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Great stay Great stay at the La Mesa Holiday Inn, frist class experience from the helpful staff to the great food, and service at the grill. If you're planning a trip to the San Diego area I highly recomend the La Mesa Holiday Inn. The bed was very comfortable, the king room was spacious and very well appointed. Thumbs up on this one! 06 October 2013
Rated 2.0 out of 5.0 by BAD SERVICE!!!!!!! holiday inn LA MESA great hotel very clean but horrible service. I waited 15 minutes for someone to assist me at the front desk, worst of all i never got my $20 REFUND back i went to my bank called holiday inn 5 times and speak with the hotel manager Michael and he didn't do anything to help me. Last time i go there. 05 October 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Allways nice Stayed here a lot . Staff is very nice . Rooms are very clean. Whenever I'm in San Diego I will stay here even if is a drive from what I'm doing out here 04 October 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Traveler6060 In my previous review I mentioned about residing at this hotel with family members. Well this time my husband and I resided at this hotel just last week. My husband is a difficult person to please when it comes to being comfortable at hotels. When we departed from this hotel he mentioned that he enjoyed the stay. I am happy to say that there were no complaints from him. The staff made sure that our stay was as comfortable as I wanted it to be. Note: Andre at the front desk made sure that my reservation was correct before leaving home and that there would be no issues upon our arrival to the hotel. Thank you Andre 04 October 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Quiet and comfortable Incredibly clean! Bed was very comfortable. Free internet, nice touch. Food a little pricey for quality of, but nice portions. Have to ask ... is it a standing hotel joke to always have at least one lamp with a dead bulb?! All joking aside, very efficient staff and conveniently located. Thanks for the lodging. 03 October 2013
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Uneventful except for broken AC The stay was uneventful, expect for the broken AC unit. I just ignored it since it was late, and a pretty full house. The hotel was clean, the staff were nice, the stay wasn't anything special, and I don't think I'd do it again unless the price was very very low. 02 October 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by good price, friendly staff This is our second visit to this hotel. Its a great location for East county visits. The price is fair, rooms are comfortable, bathroom lighting could be better. The carpet in the hall is in dire need of replacement! It may be clean but it sure looks dirty and stained. The restaurant/bar is pretty good but mix drinks were not very tasty. Stick with beer! Parking is OK. Staff is very helpful and friendly. 30 September 2013
Rated 2.0 out of 5.0 by Not like a Holiday Inn Express Stayed here for 2 nights. Thought we booked the Holiday Inn Express. we were wrong . first of all you better secure your parking space early because at night when the hotel fills up there isn't any. The staff was very friendly and treated us great. The rooms were ok but the carpets in the main hallways and rooms were in dire need of shampooing. They were dirty and dingy. The rooms were OK but not as nice as the Holiday Inn Express hotels we are accustomed to. Oh well maybe next time. Overall Holiday Inns are mostly nice but this one needs some help. You decide for yourself. I'll stay somewhere else next time. 25 September 2013
Rated 2.0 out of 5.0 by Bed room location. Upon check in I asked not to be near the elevator. Not only did she put us in a room right behind the elevator but I was also by the maintenance room. Since work is being done workers were there at 7am. Every time the A/C went on it sounded like a truck was going by. I had done to ask for a new room but the women who checked us in said the hotel was full. This is our second bad experience. I doubt we will return to this location. To top things off there was throw up right in FRont of the elevator when we were leaving. Also they never gave us new shampoo, conditioner or soap for the next day. 25 September 2013
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Noisy A/C but nice overall The whole reason we stayed here was because it had become too hot to sleep at night so we decided to treat ourselves with a nice cool room and a good night's sleep. Ironically the A/C unit was so noisy and cut on and off all night that sleep was not restful. 11 September 2013
Rated 2.0 out of 5.0 by Dirty Room I was hoping that this would be a nice Holiday Inn but it wasn't. We only stayed for one night but it was enough. Check in was a breeze and the staff was nice but that was all I liked about the stay. We had gone to a wedding and came back really late to our room and as I turned to fluff my pillow there were lots of someone else's hair on the pillow. Gross! Luckily I had an extra pillow I brought and used that one but was still grossed out that I couldn't really sleep. At check out I told the front desk and we were on our way. Also the air conditioner had tons of stains on it. 08 September 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Great front desk personell Overall we have been happy with our many stays at the La Mesa Holiday Inn Express. I would like to comment on the sheets..they are very thin and worn..new linens would be a nice improvement. 28 August 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Proximity to SDSU & Pillows! My friend Pat and I enjoyed one short, but COOL, and relaxing night at the La Mesa HI. LOVED the pillow choices clearly labeled on both beds: 2 firm or 2 soft. Proximity to SDSU was a plus. Sleeping at this HI was no problem, even close to Interstate 8!! We'll be here again on the next college visit! 26 August 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great Stay I thought the staff and personnel were very good, the housekeeping was great and I would recommend this facility to anybody. 24 August 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Awesome Awesome hotel that offers rooms at lower price compare to those near San Died]go downtown area. 21 August 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great Stay My family and I had a great stay this past week. Staff were friendly, food was good and the room clean. We got what we expected. Keep up the great work. 19 August 2013
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Good stay, with a couple of caveats.... Very friendly staff member checked us in. Lovely bedding, great pillows, mattress average for a good hotel (meaning, slightly too soft for my taste, but not bad). Bathroom towels nice and fluffy. Two armchairs, but would have liked an armless hard chair to use at desk/table. Caveat #1 - the alarm clock was impossible to figure out, and the alarm ended up not going off at the time I thought I set it for. (Thank goodness for cell phone alarms.) Caveat #2 - Impossible to regulate shower temp. After 10 minutes of trying to finesse a balance between sudden changes of blistering heat and arctic cold, I settled for a quick soap-and-rinse and no shampoo during one of the cold cycles. Yikes. 17 August 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by staff are wonderful. I had problemes in past stays at this hotel,but I have to say the staff always did there best to make things better .They went out of there way to make it right .Job well done!Love the decor of the rooms very clean.The outside is well kept too.MesaGrill.......GOOOOOOD food and drinks! 14 August 2013
Rated 2.0 out of 5.0 by Average stay This hotel needs to be remodeled. The halls are dark, not cleaned and have dark brown carpets. It like stepping back a couple of decades and it isn't cheap. 14 August 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Good Location when visiting San Diego Stayed here for 2 nights and can't complain. The rooms and hotel were clean. There is enough restaurants and stores nearby in case you need anything. The drive to San Diego Gaslamp is about 15 min but you have to pay to park. The hotel pool was not the best. It was an afterthought put in the corner of the parking area. 13 August 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Confortable beds and clean Bed was so confortable!!. and all room where very nice and clean. 13 August 2013
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by ants and springy mattress I was surprised that the hotel had ants in the bathroom. The bed had springs sticking out the sides. i will not stay there again. some of the staff cared and helped answer questions. Some of the staff was not familiar with the location and how to help me get around without a car. 12 August 2013
<<prev 3 4 5 6 7 next>>
Hotel Exterior view at Entry of Murphy Canyon Road
Hotel Exterior view at Entry of Murphy Canyon Road
Select to close.
Hotel Exterior view at Entry of Murphy Canyon Road Front Desk Hotel Lobby Hotel Exterior Reception Reception
Select to close.
Close
Check-In Date
(e.g. 30 Sep 2014)
Check-Out Date
(e.g. 01 Oct 2014)
Check Availability
Loading