• English  English
    Select to close.
    Current Settings are:
      /  English

    Change Preferences:
    Country / Region of Residence:
    Available Languages:
  • |
  • |
  • |
  • 1 888 HOLIDAY
Select to close.
Select to close.
Email or IHG® Rewards Club # PIN
Not a member?Join Today!
Forgot PIN
All fields are required.
 
If you have forgotten or lost your Personal Identification Number (PIN), we can email your PIN to the email address in your IHG® Rewards Club account profile.
If you do not have an email address in your profile, please contact your local IHG® Rewards Club Customer Care  to source your PIN and to update your profile with your email address. When you receive your PIN you can also update your email address viawww.ihgrewardsclub.com/email.
IHG® Rewards Club # Email Address

Not a member?Join Today!
Create PIN
All fields are required.
IHG® Rewards Club # ZIP/Postal Code
First Name Last Name
Please select a 4 number Personal Identification Number (PIN) which will be used to access your IHG® Rewards Club account.
PIN Verify PIN
 
Not a member?Join Today!
Create Email
All fields are required.
Thank you. Your PIN has been created. Please enter your email address so you can use it to log into the site in the future.
Email Address Verify Email Address
 
Email Hotel Get Directions Add to Favourites Print Fact Sheet

Book this Hotel

Best Price Guarantee
1

Reward Nights

When redeeming points for a Reward Night, you may only book one room at a time.


Once you complete your Reward Night reservation you will be given the option to duplicate this reservation.

(e.g. 11 Jul 2014)
(e.g. 12 Jul 2014)
Have a Group Code?
Have a Corporate ID?
Check Availability
Processing your request...

* Requires affiliation in the respective organization.

** Best Available Rate Search does not include affiliation rates.

Select to close.

To book more than 9 rooms for one stay or request a quote, please use our Easy Meetings tool, call 1-800-MEETING (in United States, Mexico and Canada) or contact a Global Sales Office.

Close Button
Your Recently Viewed Hotels

Welcome to Holiday Inn Solihull

Location: Downtown/City Center

  • Location: Downtown/City Center
  • Closest City: BIRMINGHAM
  • Distance From Hotel: 8.0MI
  • Local time zone: GMT-00:00

Check In: 2:00 PM Check Out: 11:00 AM

  • Check In: 2:00 PM
  • Check Out: 11:00 AM
  • Minimum check-in age: 18
  • Late checkout available

Credit cards

Credit cards

  • American Express
  • Master Card
  • Visa

Accessibility

Accessibility

  • Number of Rooms:2
  • Parking
  • Service Animals Allowed

Languages

Languages

  1. Czech
  2. English
  3. French
  4. Hungarian
  5. Polish
  6. Slovak

Pet Policy

Pet Policy

Dogs and small animals allowed. Charge of 10.00 per animal per night. Assistance dogs are accommodated free of charge, Please advise upon booking that you wish to bring an animal with you.
Pet fee amount  10.00  GBP  per night

What's nearby

What's nearby

Attraction:
Stratford Upon Avon, Shakespeare's Birthplace
Distance From Hotel:25.0MI
Attraction:
Sea Life Birmingham
Distance From Hotel:8.0MI
Attraction:
Alton Towers & Theme Park
Distance From Hotel:52.0MI
Attraction:
Think Tank
Distance From Hotel:8.0MI

Parking

Parking

  • Number of parking spaces164
  • Car Parking Available
  • The hotel as a large spacious car park, located at the front of the hotel which can accommodate 164 cars. Parking charges apply @ £5.00 per car per night. Space for larger vans and coaches
  • Daily Parking Fee ( 5.00  GBP)

Internet

Standard Internet Service

Standard Internet service is free for all IHG® Rewards Club members
Wireless Internet available in Standard Rooms,Executive Rooms,Suites,Business Center,Public Areas
Standard Room Wireless Fee for Non Members:£ 15.00 15.0  GBP
Wired Internet available in Standard Rooms,Executive Rooms,Suites,Business Center,Public Areas
Standard Room Wired Fee for Non Members:£ 15.00 15.0  GBP

Accommodation

Accommodation

  • Total number of rooms:120
  • Total number of suites:2
  • Total number of rooms with only double beds:31
  • Total number of non-smoking rooms:120
  • Total number of accessible rooms:2
  • Executive rooms
  • Interior corridor
  • Total number of floors:4

Choose the Holiday Inn Solihull hotel for its picturesque location just 5 miles from Birmingham NEC.

Centred around a pretty lake and fountain in leafy gardens in the heart of Solihull town centre. Our red-brick hotel is just a short drive from concerts and exhibitions at Birmingham NEC and LG Arena. Relax with a drink on our terrace and unwind in Holiday Inn Solihull's Fitness Centre with facilities including a gym, sauna and heated indoor
View More

Choose the Holiday Inn Solihull hotel for its picturesque location just 5 miles from Birmingham NEC.

Centred around a pretty lake and fountain in leafy gardens in the heart of Solihull town centre. Our red-brick hotel is just a short drive from concerts and exhibitions at Birmingham NEC and LG Arena. Relax with a drink on our terrace and unwind in Holiday Inn Solihull's Fitness Centre with facilities including a gym, sauna and heated indoor pool.

Prepare your presentation with wireless Internet, available throughout Holiday Inn Solihull, and welcome colleagues to an event in one of our 12 modern meeting rooms. We offer ample parking for your delegates and are just 10 minutes' drive from Birmingham International Airport.

Visit the National Sea Life Centre, where a million-litre tank with giant sea turtles and reef sharks brings the oceans to life. Chocoholics should head for Cadbury World, 8 miles away, to see how the famous chocolate is made and visit the world's biggest chocolate shop. Browse high-street fashions in Touchwood Shopping Centre opposite the hotel.

After a day's business or sightseeing, unwind in our steam room and indulge in a beauty treatment in Holiday Inn Solihull's extensive Fitness Centre. Brookes Restaurant serves an international menu for lunch and dinner, and you can mingle till late in our sociable lounge bar overlooking the lake.

View Less
Features
Pre-book our Cadbury Experience Package to enjoy discounted entry to nearby Cadbury World. Dinner and breakfast at Holiday Inn Solihull is included when you choose this good-value package.

Guest Reviews

Rated 3.8 out of 5 by 200 reviewers.
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by A fortnight in Birmingham I was there for two weeks, a bit longer than the average traveler staying at the HIE NEC. From what I gathered that would be about 3-4 nights. The room was clean, but had an odd odor I attributed to the damp UK weather. The bed was pretty good surprisingly, no stiff back in the morning. Internet service, while not really high speed as advertised, was almost adequate. Very odd to limit upload to 250MB/Session. Made working from VPN very challenging. The location to the work site was great, walking distance. Now here is where thing go downhill. Though close to the place I was working, there is absolutely nothing else close by. The only food options are "The Little Owl" which is next door or the HIE bar. The Little Owl is a review for another time. The hotel bar has a decent selection of libations to choose from. The food however it nothing more than either deep fried freezer bits or microwaved packs. I made the ill-fated mistake of ordering the "Crispy Chicken Sandwich and Chips". what I got literally made my jaw drop. On the surface all looked good. I then lifted the bun to discover a "patty" was MAYBE 2.5" in diameter and 1/8" thick. WOW - What can I even say. To ensure I got the slightest taste of "chicken" in every bite, I cut the patty into 4 pieces and distributed it across the area of the bun. I did eat there one other time, burger and chips, and that was acceptable. Overall, an acceptable place to sleep. Beyond that, you will need to invest in taxi rides. 25 April 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Excellent stay The two night stay was an exceptional night of comfort and relaxation. I would recommend this experience to anyone who feels they are over worked or feel they just need a good nights rest. Great service and close to everything you need for a few nights of relaxation. 24 April 2013
Rated 2.0 out of 5.0 by For one night only We booked a room at this hotel for 1 night to go to a concert at the NEC. The room was clean and tidy on arrival. On returning to our room (23) after the concert i noticed a procession of ants crawling across the headboard of the bed. I informed reception straight away and we were given a new room immediately, no questions asked. The bed was comfortable and considering we were on the ground floor fairly close to reception the noise levels were ok. A breakfast buffet was included in the price and there was plenty of choice. we did not make use of any of the facilities the hotel has to offer as we were on a tight timescale. If it wasn't for the ants it would have been a very good stay, unfortunately, although the issue was resolved immediately, we still didn't like the fact of changing rooms in the middle of the night. 23 April 2013
Rated 2.0 out of 5.0 by Disappointing Despite booking a double room several months in advance, we got given a twin. The staff refused to swap us, citing the hotel being fully booked. So why did single friends arriving later all get doubles? Room shabby, broken tiles, a shortage of power points, expensive wifi and £7 parking! Talk about feeling like a captive market. 19 April 2013
Rated 1.0 out of 5.0 by not a enjoyable stay staff were unhappy apart from the manager.. room was dirty,food stains all over the walls,did ask for walls to be cleaned but never happened... beds were uncomfortable.. only 5 channels on tv intill thursday nite,after nec show had finished, i did ask why and staff told me that was it..... just got master card bill today and been charged a extra £7.00???? 19 April 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Regular Stayer I stay at this hotel often due to work. Its not flash but is comfortable and clean. 17 April 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by GETTING BETTER GOOD RECEPTION GREETING, ACTUALLY OFFERED SHUTTLE TO AIRPORT THIS STAY. AND THEN SURPRISE SURPRISE NICE BACON AT BREAKFAST. HOTEL STILL TIRED AND COLD. I HAVE PREVIOUSLY REVIEWED AS RORY 14 April 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Comfortable bed and great service The staff was so friendly and helpful with everything you need, the rooms are great for the price and such great breakfast and dinner so much to choice from, And was handy as it is so close to the nec, we will be using this hotel again for sure 11 April 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Lovely room Had a very pleasant stay over, staff very helpful and accomodating rooms very clean, beds comfy ideal for us! Food good, happy alround. 05 April 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Lovely Stay We had a lovely stay at the Holiday Inn Express NEC. Staff very friendly and helpful. Food Excellent. Only minor issue was the tiny duvet on the pull out bed for the children, little small for two, but not a major issue, everything else was brilliant. Thanks. 05 April 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great stay We realy enjoyed our stay the staff were wonderful service was a1 04 April 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Warm, comfortable and good staff service Not the best weekend as it decided to snow and was very cold. However we were made very welcome by the staff. The rooms were warm and the beds were comfortable. We stay every year and with the extra breakfast choices and evening food, we would have no qualms about recommended it. 31 March 2013
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Breakfast Shambles! Overall this hotel is an average HIE but a couple of things let it down on our stay. Firstly, the sofa bed in our room was made up, although there were only two of us, which meant we could not use the sofa or the chair as it was wedged under the desk. Secondly, the breakfast was a total shambles. At first there were no cups or glasses, then no cutlery, then no rolls, then no eggs or bacon. The staff did their best to refill these but you were always waiting for something and when more food arrived it was gone within seconds. It took so long to get our food that when we returned to our table our full coffee cups were gone and the table cleared, luckily no one had taken the table. Try to avoid busy times in the breakfast room if you want to have avoid queues and a long wait. 30 March 2013
Rated 2.0 out of 5.0 by Lack of pillows and poor breakfast We had child on sofa bed but no pillows had been provided for it. Were told "there aren't any more". Breakfast served until 11 on Sundays. Went down at 10:30, cereals were down to last few spoonfuls, as were the "hot" foods (tepid). No croissants or rolls which are promoted on the menu; we were told "they've run out", no attempt to replenish, nor apology or care. Staff seems disinterested. So the two crucial things weren't provided; comfy bed and good breakfast. If they can't get that right, what's the point. 30 March 2013
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by room terrible Unfortunately we had been allocated a room which was not only next to the service lift BUT also looked out over the delivery yard ( one particularly noisy beer delivery) AND the service area to the Pub next door...to add insult some of the Hotel staff decided to pull up quite early and park in the Hotel delivery area ( is that allowed?) so not a particularly great environment for a sleep. we have stayed before and had a great experience....unfortunately this was the complete reverse....no shuttle bus running to and from events (no prior warning of this) so making our way by taxi was not expected and we got seriously snowed on! 27 March 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Basic and comfy Holiday Inn Express is ideal for a short break or for staying overnight if going to the NEC/LG Arenas. We've stayed here several times now - mainly as their prices are cheaper than other 'value' hotels in the area. The rooms are starting to look a little tired and I see from their response to another review that they are due a refurb. Well if you are, please provide drawers - I really don't want my 'smalls' on a shelf or keep them in my case..oh and a power point by the bed so we can put a phone charger in overnight and use the mobile clock.. Breakfast was fine - not fine dining but good quality and plenty to be had. The only thing I hate about the hotel is the charging for car parking...why?? When we visited the parking barrier was up and the pay station was covered up. I assumed parking was now free but was charged on checking out. They are having a new system put in for the car park but I still cannot understand why they charge..if they do it so non-guests can go to the NEC/LG then hotel guests should park for free Another issue - they used to provide a bus service to the LG Arena but they don't do this any longer. They do provide a shuttle to Birmingham International but the last return is 8pm.. not much use when a concert finishes at 10:30pm. We were advised to get a taxi back.. bet the young lady on reception had never tried getting a taxi along with (possibly) hundreds of others.. As long as you remember that this is a 'value' brand you get what you pay for. Comfy bed and bit of brekkie. If you want more then pay double and stay elsewhere. 23 March 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by comfortable bed and spacious room I visit the NEC twice a year for the 'Memorobilia' show and always stay at the Holiday Inn 23 March 2013
Rated 2.0 out of 5.0 by Ok hotel Stayed at holiday inn and we were located room number 5. Room was ok and clean. Woken up at 7.30am by someone trying lots of keys into store cupboard next to our room and then by children running up and down the hallway. The hotel bar ran out of coke and beer by 6.30pm also. Parking charge was high at 7pounds for overnight stay. Good location for nec. 22 March 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Excellent Service What an excellent hotel. My daughter and I stayed for 2 nights, twin room. Very clean and tidy. All staff were very polite and extremely helpful, even under pressure. The food was very tasty and filling and value for money. We stayed to attend Crufts, so many dogs were also present, not that you would have known, as all was quiet, clean and tidy. We walked from the hotel to the NEC, which was a pleasant 20 minute strole. The only down being that the road we had to cross was very busy. I would highly recommend this hotel to anyone, wonderful stay, Thank you all staff. 16 March 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by CRUFTS THE place to stay for Crufts! Staff were freindly and helpful and the place has a real atmosphere and 'buzz' about it - we'll be coming again! 15 March 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Total Experience The check-in was to the standard experienced in many of the chained establishments and did highlight at check-in that i was a valued priority member. Found in the morning that I had no milk available to make a coffee? When using the bathroom of which i was on the third floor found that the hot water was intermittent when using the shower in that either was to hot to stand under or that cold I did not wish to be in the shower. The hot tap made a sound of a set of badgers squealing at daybreak which i thought could be heard from fellow residents due to noise levels! The breakfast experience I have to say was slick and efficient on both days however did feel that on day of checking out it was more structured and pleasant with plenty of meet and greet and selection available which was not present so much on first morning. The layout of items was user friendly without having to stop fellow residents in obtaining breakfast. Having two toaster stations made the speed of a highly sourced commodity beneficial. One observation in such a busy establishment would be putting buutter portions close to the toasting machines if needs be in a bowl of iced water rather than one point of collection being next to the Youghurts? Found the staff Tracy and Jan most engaging and organized with polite welcoming conversation not forgetting the staff member who was on waste collection whos name has escaped me (sorry ) he was most helpful and sped up the breakfast process. Checkout I feel could be better as I saw the staff members who cleared the late shift back on duty the following morning? does the chain have dispensation from the working time directive with staff members only having five hours between shifts?! in my view this does not allow them to be at there best to deliver customer service.let alone if opted out of the WTD ? I would use the hotel again but do feel there is some customer experiences that could be better however check- in and breakfast service day two well done and thank you for the quality experience. 12 March 2013
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Access to NEC We booked this hotel to attend Focus on Imaging at NEC. Hotel description states it is a 15 minute walk to NEC. When we asked the way at reception we were told you could walk but it was on roads without pavements and across car parks so wasn't recommended. You could drive or take the shuttle bus to the station and walk across. Driving would have meant queuing into the car parks and incurring a £10 parking charge and the shuttle bus would have cost us £8 there and back for 2. We therefore went for a walk, saw the hole in the hedge across the dual carriageway that people obviously used and went that way. Climb through the fence, short grassy walk, across a bit of car park and onto the pavement. Hotel was comfortable and quiet, breakfast was fine. Reception staff ok but not particularly helpful or cheerful. Breakfast room staff cheerful and helpful. Hotel description misleading. Might stay again now we know where the hole in the hedge is! 11 March 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Good service and great value Have not stayed at a Holiday Inn Express for quite a few years, so didn't have high expectations. I was pleasantly surprised how much the brand has improved. Firstly, the service was excellent from the front desk welcome and efficiency to the bar and food provided in the evening. The biggest thing I welcomed was the inclusion of a full english breakfast, which was one of the reasons for not staying at an 'Express' recently. The whole atmosphere of the hotel was of peace and calm. 10 March 2013
Rated 1.0 out of 5.0 by Hotel is modern and inviting on approach ,shame the staff where not the same. When we approached the hotel, we thought "what an attractive hotel, when we went inside we thought "what an attractive reception area, then we looked at the staff and that's where it all went wrong.. The receptionist,s first grunts where .... Yerrrrr.. We thought we would give her the benefit of the doubt ,but it didn,t get any better... The staff that where on duty when my wife slipped out for more milk I the evening didn,t even respond to her conversion and just pointed in the direction of the cartons, then wen back to there conversation.....seems like we just got in there way.... We mentioned the room was to cold but the receptionist on the evenin couldn,t do anything she said in a bored way an returned to her more important conversation... We brought these matters up with the deputy manager the following day when we checked out, she was very understanding and helpful and said she would let the manager know and the manager would ring us the following day as she was of that day....guess what !! She has never rung... They say bad staff are led by bad managers.... 01 March 2013
Rated 1.0 out of 5.0 by Birmingham NEC not the best :-( After staying in Stratford holiday inn express and having an excellent stay i decided to book birmingham NEC. I must say the room was the same very comfortable and clean. Unfortunately the breakfast was very disappointing, everything had run out at 9.00am and while waiting for more food everything else was going cold. Then after finally getting a breakfast there was no cutlery to eat it with! Short staff was given as an explanation, but I'm afraid it was more like very bad management! I had recommended this chain of hotels to our friends so was very diasappointed that it was so poor! 01 March 2013
Rated 2.0 out of 5.0 by Basic but if you have to Basic business hotel in middle of no where only stay if you need NEC or airport 24 February 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Very comfortable express Comfortable stay. Rooms of a good size with average size bathroom. Clean and tidy. Breakfast good. Friendly staff. Good restaurant next door. Use this hotel many times going to dog shows. 21 February 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great Price and Location to the LG Arena Great night sleep for a great price. I would stay here again........................ 16 February 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Good room. Poor breakfast. The room and the staff were great. Certainly better and more comfortable rooms compared to competitors at the same price. However , it was all let down a bit by the breakfast. The choice was poor for the sort of continental breakfast I like. The english breakfast was available in masses, but did not look appealing. I would not of had a problem with an english breakfast if it had been more appetising looking. 14 February 2013
Rated 2.0 out of 5.0 by overpriced lLooking forward to relaxing after trade show, staff good, Room poor, rubbish in both bins, bed looked like it had had someone rest on it. floor gave the appearance of not been hoovered. tear in duvet cover.. Overall impression well overpriced, could do with an upgrade 12 February 2013
<<prev 4 5 6 7 8 next>>
Hotel Exterior Holiday Inn Solihull
Hotel Exterior Holiday Inn Solihull
Select to close.
Hotel Exterior Holiday Inn Solihull Front Desk Lobby Lounge Holiday Inn Solihull Lobby Lounge Holiday Inn Solihull Hotel Entrance Holiday Inn Solihull View from Hotel of Fountain & Lake Holiday Inn Solihull Hotel Exterior With Fountain & Lake Holiday Inn Solihull
Select to close.
Free Internet
Close
Check-In Date
(e.g. 11 Jul 2014)
Check-Out Date
(e.g. 12 Jul 2014)
Check Availability
Loading