• English  English
    Select to close.
    Current Settings are:
      /  English

    Change Preferences:
    Country / Region of Residence:
    Available Languages:
  • |
  • |
  • |
  • 1 888 HOLIDAY
Select to close.
Select to close.
Email or IHG® Rewards Club # PIN
Not a member?Join Today!
Forgot PIN
All fields are required.
 
If you have forgotten or lost your Personal Identification Number (PIN), we can email your PIN to the email address in your IHG® Rewards Club account profile.
If you do not have an email address in your profile, please contact your local IHG® Rewards Club Customer Care  to source your PIN and to update your profile with your email address. When you receive your PIN you can also update your email address viawww.ihgrewardsclub.com/email.
IHG® Rewards Club # Email Address

Not a member?Join Today!
Create PIN
All fields are required.
IHG® Rewards Club # ZIP/Postal Code
First Name Last Name
Please select a 4 number Personal Identification Number (PIN) which will be used to access your IHG® Rewards Club account.
PIN Verify PIN
 
Not a member?Join Today!
Create Email
All fields are required.
Thank you. Your PIN has been created. Please enter your email address so you can use it to log into the site in the future.
Email Address Verify Email Address
 
Email Hotel Get Directions Add to Favourites Print Fact Sheet

Book this Hotel

Best Price Guarantee
1

Reward Nights

When redeeming points for a Reward Night, you may only book one room at a time.


Once you complete your Reward Night reservation you will be given the option to duplicate this reservation.

(e.g. 12 Jul 2014)
(e.g. 13 Jul 2014)
Have a Group Code?
Have a Corporate ID?
Check Availability
Processing your request...

* Requires affiliation in the respective organization.

** Best Available Rate Search does not include affiliation rates.

Select to close.

To book more than 9 rooms for one stay or request a quote, please use our Easy Meetings tool, call 1-800-MEETING (in United States, Mexico and Canada) or contact a Global Sales Office.

Close Button
Your Recently Viewed Hotels

Welcome to Holiday Inn Stratford Upon Avon

Location: Downtown/City Center

  • Location: Downtown/City Center
  • Closest City: STRATFORD UPON AVON
  • Distance From Hotel: 0.0KM
  • Local time zone: GMT-00:00

Check In: 3:00 PM Check Out: 11:00 AM

  • Check In: 3:00 PM
  • Check Out: 11:00 AM
  • Minimum check-in age: 16
  • Late checkout available

Credit cards

Credit cards

  • American Express
  • Master Card
  • Visa

Accessibility

Accessibility

  • Number of Rooms:2
  • Parking
  • Service Animals Allowed

Languages

Languages

  1. Czech
  2. German
  3. English
  4. Spanish
  5. French
  6. Dutch
  7. Polish
  8. Chinese

Pet Policy

Pet Policy

Guide Dogs or Service Animals Only

What's nearby

What's nearby

Attraction:
Shakespeare Houses - Hall's Croft
Distance From Hotel:0.5MI
Attraction:
Shakespeare Houses - Birthplace
Distance From Hotel:0.5MI
Attraction:
Shakespeare Houses - Nash's House & New Place
Distance From Hotel:0.5MI

Parking

Parking

  • Number of parking spaces350
  • Car Parking Available
  • 350 on site self parking spaces are available at the hotel this includes accessiable car parking at the front of the building. A car park charge of £5.00 per night will be added to your Hotel account. CCTV is in operation
  • Daily Parking Fee ( 5.00  GBP)

Internet

Standard Internet Service

Standard Internet service is free for all IHG® Rewards Club members
Wireless Internet available in Standard Rooms,Executive Rooms,Suites,Business Center,Public Areas
Standard Room Wireless Fee for Non Members:£ 15.00 15.0  GBP

Accommodation

Accommodation

  • Hotel renovated in:February 01, 2006
  • Total number of rooms:259
  • Total number of suites:2
  • Total number of rooms with only double beds:124
  • Total number of non-smoking rooms:259
  • Total number of accessible rooms:2
  • Executive rooms
  • Interior corridor
  • Total number of floors:3

Book the riverside Holiday Inn Stratford-upon-Avon hotel for conference facilities in the heart of Shakespeare country.

You can relax on the banks of the River Avon at the Holiday Inn Stratford-upon-Avon hotel. Surrounded by the historic sights of Shakespeare's birthplace, the hotel is set in landscaped gardens, and has parking for up to 350 cars. Stratford train station is 1 mile from the hotel, and Birmingham Airport 20 miles away.

The Holiday Inn
View More

Book the riverside Holiday Inn Stratford-upon-Avon hotel for conference facilities in the heart of Shakespeare country.

You can relax on the banks of the River Avon at the Holiday Inn Stratford-upon-Avon hotel. Surrounded by the historic sights of Shakespeare's birthplace, the hotel is set in landscaped gardens, and has parking for up to 350 cars. Stratford train station is 1 mile from the hotel, and Birmingham Airport 20 miles away.

The Holiday Inn Stratford Upon Avon hotel offers extensive conference facilities, with 14 meeting rooms for up to 550 guests. Take advantage of the wireless Internet in the Conference Café between sessions, and the support of the 24 hour Business Centre.

Our dedicated 24-hour Concierge will help you make the most of your proximity to Shakespeare's birthplace and Warwick Castle, 10 miles away. Children will love splashing around in our indoor heated swimming pool.

View Less
Features
Book our Shakespeare Package at Holiday Inn Stratford-upon-Avon, which includes accommodation, a river cruise and tickets to Shakespeare's Birthplace.

Guest Reviews

Rated 4.3 out of 5 by 213 reviewers.
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 Great Golf Room a BIt too small I visited Heythrop Park in April with a group of 8 friends for a golf break. We stayed in twin rooms at the Crowne Plaza and accommodation was fantastic with plenty of room. This time I visited for a weekend with my husband and another couple, again for a golf break. We stayed in a double room again at the Crowne Plaza. This room was disappointing as it was much smaller than the twin room we stayed in in April. Room was on ground floor and very small compared to a twin. Nowhere to put anything, unable to open the window, and even with the air conditioning on the room was still too warm and stuffy. Didn't sleep too well on either of the two nights that we stayed. If we stay again we will definitely book a twin room. Would not recommend a double on the ground floor to anyone for more than one night. 09 October 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Hidden Gem It's not often I write "Superb" on a review, but Heythrop Park and the team running it deserve every credit. I stayed here with Mrs L for one night and wish it had been longer. We arrived early evening up the long and winding drive, to find a beautiful hotel in a stunning setting. Warmly greeted as a Platinum Member and offered every possible benefit, upgraded to a King Size room. The room was excellent, clean, modern and offered everything we wanted. We dined in the bar area, and again the service was above the norm for a Crowne Plaza. Only to be bettered at breakfast the following morning. Great choice of food for breakfast and stunning views across the open lawns and woods. This one is on my favourite top five hotels list and I'm looking forward to going back very soon. I did read some negative reviews about Heythrop on other websites before visiting, those relate to the DeVere on the same estate. Dont be mislead this one is a stunner. 07 October 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Good Experience Lovely junior suite, walk in shower was excellent. The hotel is ideally situated for a quiet break, but be warned couldn't get an Orange Signal anywhere in the hotel which did cause a slight issue as I was there for business reasons! 07 October 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Good hotel in a country setting. We spent one night at this hotel/resort and were very pleased we chose to do so. The room was large and well appointed. The bed was very comfortable and huge! Breakfast was varied but not exceptional. The staff were helpful and friendly. Grounds are spectacular and worth exploring We will return soon. 04 October 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Time to chill Another enjoyable short break in the relaxing grounds of Heythrop Park. The room was as spacious and comfortable as usual and the food & drink in the bar made for a relaxing evening. Really enjoy my visits to this hotel and recommend it to others in need of rest and relaxation, a base for walking in the Cotswolds or for those who wish to chase a golf ball for a few hours........enjoy! 30 September 2013
Rated 2.0 out of 5.0 by Overpriced hotel with quite a few let downs I stayed at the Heythrop Park Oxford a few weeks ago and despite being a a great location, there were some real let downs during my stay. Firstly there is no mobile phone network coverage in the majority of the guest rooms and hotel. This is quite a significant problem and I had to walk out of the front of reception to make a call or send a text message. This is not a small distance and to be honest was a real pain and it was compounded by the fact that Crown Plaza deem it acceptable to charge an extortionate sum for WiFi access. Essentially you cannot communicate in your room without paying for it which is totally unacceptable. Secondly the standard of the catering was terrible. The hot breakfast was awful quality sausages and bacon and the scrambled eggs were made with so much UHT cream they were white in colour. The pastries were small and dry and the fruit was unripe and poor quality. I would expect a significantly better standard of produce given the rural Oxford location of the hotel and the hefty £15 a head price tag. There were several local farms and I just don't understand why they don't source from them. Finally the layout of the hotel itself was really strange and the wayfinding was poor. I regularly went in the wrong direction or ended up on the wrong floor when trying to find the reception or restaurant. Overall very disappointing for the money. 29 September 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by crown plaza Heythrop Park Stayed at the hotel as part of a Golf Package using the Heythrop Park Golf course. Crown Plaza is a lovely hotel, the room was superb, fantastic furnishing, really nice and stylish. We had 2 twin rooms as it was 4 golfers and the 2 beds in each room were doubles so that was great. Public areas are really good, there are quiet corners, buzzy bars so it serves everyones needs in our opinion. The breakfast was superb and we had a Dinner B&B package. Our evening meal was a set 3 course meal with loads of choice on each course - everything on the menu that we ate was really nice so we were happy. 2 small complaints - one was the time it took to get through our dinner - over 2 1/2 hours because they were very busy in the restaurant. Agency staff had been employed to cover coach loads of Japanese tourists and I suspect they were one chef short on the night.. My friends couldnt order draft beer and real ale in the restaurant as only bottled beer was available - the only option was for US to have to go to the bar on the floor below to get our own drinks because the waiting staff were not allowed to go down for draft beer. Did seem a little odd that the hotel has a directive for guests to have to go to get their own drinks if they want draft beer. Golf course was in superb condition. Fantastic Grounds, Heythrop Manor is a fantastic building as well. We got a great deal and I would definately go back as either a golf break with mates or with the wife for a nice weekend break. One other small point Reception couldnt find my Rewards Details on the system so I have to sort this out directly 25 September 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Reasonable value for money, some pros some cons. I booked for two nights but my room was changed after the first night as they needed the interconnecting room that I had. The 2nd room was identical except for the location. It was Saturday night but the noise from a function was very noisy, it also overlooked the bins and beer barrel storage. I could hear someone out there at about midnight. Otherwise the room was very nice and had everything I required. I used the pool which was also very nice the receptionist said it was a 2 minute walk, I'd say more like ten so don't go in flipflops and a bathrobe! Take a coat. Charging for Wi-Fi in the room is unacceptable, it's a bit like charging for hot water these days. Selection of free Sat/Sun paper is very limited. Didn't eat breakfast but had room service, which was nice and very quick. There is a £5 tray charge on all room service meals which is not made very clear. On the whole lovely setting (if you don't overlook the bins!) Friendly staff and reasonable value for money. 21 September 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by great short break Stayed here for a short break mid-week with my husband and 7 year old son. A perfect place for unwinding. Took our bicycles and toured the grounds which are extensive. Fabulous setting. Good spa and pool which my 7 year old loved. Good food in the informal Brassy Bar. My son was made to feel very welcome and the staff were generally excellent. Room was lovely, although I would recommend that you travel light as there isn't a great deal of storage space. We had a room with two double beds though so room was a decent size with a beautiful view onto the front lawn, fountain and grounds beyond. Clean and well kept. Intending to do a return visit very soon. 09 September 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Wonderful It was absolutely amazing from arrival to departure. The bedroom was so welcoming that we ended up napping instead of using the leisure facilities (although in fairness the 5 minute walk seemed offputting!). Cocktail were fabulous and the evening meal in the Brassey Restaurant was first class. Breakfast the next day was super too although disappointed there weren't any hash browns or fried bread on offer. I'm coming back again when I need to recharge my batteries! It is slightly disappointing that the car park is a bit of a walk away from the entrance but a small price to pay for the scenery and views. 06 September 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Lovely hotel Lovely hotel in a tranquil setting. Very efficient check in and check out and the room was comfortable, although lack of mini bar surprising in a hotel of this standard. Very pretty, well kept grounds,too. 06 September 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Lovely setting, just don't let the taxi drop you off at the start of the drive! Wonderful setting, massive and really comfortable beds. Just the place to de-stress and treat yourself, although the tennis court isn't up to Wimbledon club, more like a municipal park court. Still if you don't go for the tennis, it is really special. 03 September 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 A Really Nice Hotel, but.... Full marks for ambience and comfort. The breakfast was excellent in perfect surroundings. Let's not mention the drive in from the road. it will probably be repaired at some point. The only difficulty we encountered was with signage. There are two hotels on the site and it is more than a little confusing. We found the car park for the Crowne Plaza, but there were no signs to take us that step further to the entrance of the hotel itself. A sign pointing to Reception as one enters the car park would do wonders. Our difficulty was accentuated when we returned to the hotel late in the evening. Darkness and poor signage meant that we missed the turn into the car park. The turn off the main drive needs to be more clearly indicated. In the hotel itself there is confusion between the numbering of the lift buttons and the floors. Also signs leading from the lifts to the dining room ( quite a distance) are quite small. Larger and more signs would provide reassurance for guests new to the hotel. As regular visitors to the area we will definitely come to stay in the future, as the overall experience was very pleasant. Just that little niggle... 01 September 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Tranquality and quality rooms well appointed, comfy bed, we had a balcoy with beautiful views. Strolled around the estate, so peaceful and beautiful on a hot summer day! Breakfast good selection buffet. Bike hire a bit pricey at £10 an hour. Overall a superb choice for the Cotswold. We will definitely be back with our little daughter. 29 August 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Excellent Just Excellent stay Although breakfast to expensive even with the discount offered Swimming pool too shallow. 29 August 2013
Rated 2.0 out of 5.0 by Disappointed Very long,badly lit and signed drive from main road. Sprawling building, poor and confusing layout. Very cold air con in public areas, when the heatwave was over! Too cold to sit in the bar or lounge areas. Gardens poorly maintained. Long hike to Spa. We booked a room with a terrace - just a few paving slabs facing overgrown weeds and grass. Good breakfast but staff couldn't cope when busy. Staff need to understand English to communicate with the guests. Good standard to bedroom and bathroom but poor lighting in the bathroom. Hot corridors with a strange smell This seems to be a hotel for conferences and groups, not for individuals but a good location to visit Blenheim Palace 28 August 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Classy, comfortable family room. Very modern decor. The decor of the Executive Family Room that we booked was very modern and classy - children loved it as much as the adults. It was a little cramped - with the two double beds - but the children loved having a 'big bed' and the beds were exceptionally comfortable. All fixtures and fittings, along with the comfort, made up for the lack of walking space. Room was very clean and quiet, despite being located close to the Mezzanine Floor seating area. Interesting seating options and 'funky' decor throughout the hotel made it a very pleasant environment. Very friendly and helpful staff on Reception Desk. 27 August 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Wonderful setting. The setting of this hotel has so impressed my 2 daughters that they are now wanting their wedding here. I must say that the grounds are impressive and the whole feeling of the time spent was very relaxing. The staff were very friendly and we felt very welcome to the point of coming back again. Thank you for making our return to England after our holiday in Italy a pleasure to be back. 27 August 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Great location, good room, under par restaurant My wife and I recently stayed at the Heythrop for my birthday and we had a lovely weekend. The location is stunning, check-in smooth and room incredibly comfortable. We made use of the pool and spa facilities and had a very relaxing experience. Sadly, our evening was slightly ruined by the poor service in the restaurant. While they made every effort to accommodate us on what was a busy evening, it took an age for our food to get to us. I am never one to complain having worked in bust restaurants in my past, but when our meals arrived, the food had gone cold. I mentioned this to our waitress who was happy to help. However, it then took another half hour for my meal to come out, by which point my wife had eaten. At this stage, the plate had clearly been zapped in the microwave as to ensure I wouldn't complain it was cold once more. I ate the meal and accepted the kind offer of free dessert to make-up for the mistake, but the whole experience left a sour taste in my mouth. Additionally, we weren't the only people who had issues with their meals. I would happily recommend this hotel to anyone planning both a couples of group stay. But I was really disappointed by the dining experience. Given that the nearest pub/restaurant outside of the hotel is quite far away if walking, it blunted what had been up until that point, a great stay. 22 August 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Very impressed I am extremely impressed with the staff and service we received during our stay. The hotel did have electrical issues and we were even stuck in a lift at one point, but the staff couldn't have dealt with the matter any more professionally and courteously. Would definitely recommend and consider additional stays. Oh and the beds were so comfy!! I want one. 17 August 2013
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Noise and broken lift but nice grounds On arrival at the hotel, the people at reception were a little flustered but tried hard. We were traveling with our 3 month old baby and were put above a very loud wedding party. After several hours of 'thump, thump, thump' from below us, we called reception and asked them to move us to the other side of the hotel. They did this after about half an hour. It is good that they moved us but I have no idea why they put us there in the first place. The other issues were related to the facilities. When we first arrived the air-conditioning wasn't working and later none of the lifts were working. Since we had a new born baby with us, and were on the second floor, both these issues made life difficult. Finally, we speciically requested not to have a paid for newspaper and not to have a wake-up call. We received two wake-up calls at about 6.30am and also received a 'Daily Mail' (my least favourite newspaper). On leaving they tried to charge me for the newspaper, which I hadn't requested, which was my final impression after this string of issues. On the positive side, the staff, although they didn't seem to have had much training, were trying hard to be nice and did move us when we complained about the noise. They also fixed the air-con and lift by the next morning, although i got the impression that these were ongoing issues. Also on the positive side, the grounds are beautiful, the room in good condition and the hotel next to ours was very historic and interesting. The food in the restaurant, both in the evening and for breakfast was very tasty. 17 August 2013
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Some good, some not so good! On arrival reception very busy and additional staff would have made initial welcome experience much quicker and more impressive. There were no additional facilities to recognise Platinum Priority Club membership. Although spotlessly clean, room very "compact" for a Crowne Plaza bedroom and no upgrades were offered. Would have been good to have outdoor furniture to be able to enjoy the balcony space. Food was excellent as we're restaurant staff especially when dealing with large family party including young children. Location was superb and leisure facilities catered for all age groups and varied interests. Would not recommend as value for money poor. 16 August 2013
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Beautiful Grounds The hotel sits in beautiful grounds but unfortunately the hotel building itself spoils the atmosphere. The rooms are of average comfort but clean. (need to get decent pillows- we needed to bring our own) The Decor is really quite dated (very 80's) with the lobby being really ugly and totally out of context. Breakfast was excellent with nice views (coffee awful) Service was also good 16 August 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Preparing for a wedding I stayed at the Crowne Plaza for a few days before my wedding in the near by town of Woodstock. In terms of rooms, I booked into one of the large suites because we needed the space. The room was excellent especially the bed was very comfortable and the bathroom had a wet room type shower which I particular love. I had a number of family members stay in the crowne plaza as well and they were happy with their rooms. Included is access to the gym which has a very large pool perfect for a few laps. The setup however is very odd with the old (Heythrup) and new buildings intersecting. As we had some friends and family staying in both parts it did cause some confusion in navigating through the passages and levels. The other issue was the power kept cutting out, given the temperatures in late July this wasn't ideal as the air con would keep going on and off. One tip I would advise, is make sure you have the right postcode as the hotel isn't that easy to find if you're using satnav as the new postcode hadn't been updated on the hotel website. Aside from this the staff were very friendly and accommodating and overall it was a successful stay. 10 August 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Wonderful night away Lovely hotel food was excellent. Next time I will try the golf course. 07 August 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Good Stay Breakfast and evening meals in bar were great (Breakfast a little pricey but in fairness a voucher was issued), all staff were very friendly and service was excellent. Rooms were spacious and clean and we enjoyed our stay very much 07 August 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by One of the Best My husband and I had a truly wonderful time in this Hotel. Nothing was too much trouble. The staff were so polite and helpful. The food was extremely good and the servings were very generous. The cleanliness was of a good standard. We love walking and the grounds were extensive and well kept. We sadly found some tiny unkempt areas behind the conference room and other hidden places in corners BUT that is because we love exploring. Thank you for a really superb 3 days that we will never forget! Chris and Catherine 06 August 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by weekend aways hotel fresh and clean, gardens well kept, but staff looked like they did not want to be there, service in bar very slow especially as bar downstairs closed made it very business like , more smiles needed 04 August 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Senior Suite experience We had a senior suite for a 2 night stay and had a great experience. everything in the room had clearly been thought through and well designed, everything you needed was there. Except a do not disturb sign which would have been useful as housekeeping knocked three times before 10am (and breakfast didn't finish until 11.30hrs). but other than that it was a great stay and the beds are incredibly comfortable and the little spray etc was a lovely touch which really did work to give you a very deep and comfortable sleep. 03 August 2013
Rated 2.0 out of 5.0 by Sleepless nights! We all lead busy lives and work/life balance always seem to tip the scales the wrong way! I am sure that some of you out there can relate to sleepless nights, stress and working excess hours. So when the man in you life treats you to a relaxing weekend away in the lovely Heythrop Park hotel to recoup and catch up on some well earned sleep, who can resist. However, 4am on Saturday morning a power cut kicked in and a generator started up that was so loud it sounded like and aeroplane starting up. This went on for nearly an hour by which time the stress levels were too high to resume sleep. Hey, we still had Sunday, nice lie in breakfast in bed - you know the routine! Well at 7.45 the power cut kicked in again and the generator started up equally as noisy - the sleep and moment lost. When checking out we were asked if everything was o.k, to which we responded about the deafening noise. The only reply we got was "Sorry about that but power cuts are out of our control". Stay here by all means, it is a lovely hotel and location but do not go for a balcony room (60) if you want to get a good nights sleep. 02 August 2013
<<prev 2 3 4 5 6 ... 8 next>>
Holiday Inn Stratford Upon Avon  Exterior by day
Holiday Inn Stratford Upon Avon Exterior by day
Select to close.
Holiday Inn Stratford Upon Avon  Exterior by day Lobby Area Hotel Lobby Reception Lobby Hotel Exterior Hotel Exterior Holiday Inn Stratford Upon Avon Exterior by night Holiday Inn Stratford upon Avon - Entrance
Select to close.
Free Internet
Close
Check-In Date
(e.g. 12 Jul 2014)
Check-Out Date
(e.g. 13 Jul 2014)
Check Availability
Loading