Select to close.
Select to close.
Email or IHG® Rewards Club # PIN
Not a member?Join Today!
Forgot PIN
All fields are required.
 
If you have forgotten or lost your Personal Identification Number (PIN), we can email your PIN to the email address in your IHG® Rewards Club account profile.
If you do not have an email address in your profile, please contact your local IHG® Rewards Club Customer Care  to source your PIN and to update your profile with your email address. When you receive your PIN you can also update your email address viawww.ihgrewardsclub.com/email.
IHG® Rewards Club # Email Address

Not a member?Join Today!
Create PIN
All fields are required.
IHG® Rewards Club # ZIP/Postal Code
First Name Last Name
Please select a 4 number Personal Identification Number (PIN) which will be used to access your IHG® Rewards Club account.
PIN Verify PIN
 
Not a member?Join Today!
Create Email
All fields are required.
Thank you. Your PIN has been created. Please enter your email address so you can use it to log into the site in the future.
Email Address Verify Email Address
 
Email Hotel Get Directions Add to Favourites Print Fact Sheet

Book this Hotel

Best Price Guarantee
1

Reward Nights

When redeeming points for a Reward Night, you may only book one room at a time.


Once you complete your Reward Night reservation you will be given the option to duplicate this reservation.

(e.g. 22 Jul 2014)
(e.g. 23 Jul 2014)
Have a Group Code?
Have a Corporate ID?
Check Availability
Processing your request...

* Requires affiliation in the respective organization.

** Best Available Rate Search does not include affiliation rates.

Select to close.

To book more than 9 rooms for one stay or request a quote, please use our Easy Meetings tool, call 1-800-MEETING (in United States, Mexico and Canada) or contact a Global Sales Office.

Close Button
Rated 4.0 out of 5 by 138 reviewers.
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Welcoming hotel! We had a relaxing and very enjoyable stay at Washington. Staff - helpful and friendly Room - comfortable and clean Breakfast - fantastic! Thanks to all the staff for a lovely break away from home. 22 October 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Enjoyed staying here I have stayed here a number of times and the service in general has always been to a high standard - this stay was no exception. Room was good and the staff on the front desk were very good. A couple of minor points to mention however 1. The fish and chips ordered for evening meal was not as good as before - the chips were advertised as chunky but were not and for the price, I would have expected better 2. There was a lawnmower going outside my room from 07.45. I would have thought a later start would have been a better idea when most guests would have checked out 3. I had trouble getting internet access. As a Gold member I didn't have this option when signing in, although to be fair the staff found a way around the issue 21 October 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great hotel I was upgraded to a suite room being for being an elite member which i really great. Staffs are lovely and friendly. 10 October 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great Service Cally in particular deserves a mention for her professional yet friendly approach. Please thank her. 09 October 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Pleasant hotel and pleasant staff Have stayed in the hotel several times and no doubt will return. The meals are good as is the service 08 October 2013
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by hotel Food was of a poor quality and had to be sent back on one occasion. Alternative meal offered. Hotel judged as average budget accommodation. Building is showing its age. 08 October 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by good service Relaxation was easy in this clean and comfortable hotel. Top marks for very pleasant and helpful staff 06 October 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Two weddings, Three coaches .............” and we where treated like special guests. Yes it was mad busy, yes we had to have dinner in the function room, yes we got a upgrade, yes the staff where fab. Would go back again . Really enjoyed our stay, breakfast was a bit mad, but staff cleaned tables quickly, restocked breakfast item's when needed. The location is handy for Durham and Beamish. Clean rooms, and public areas. Couldn't ask for any more Special thanks to all the staff who made our stay special 29 September 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Excellent service and great breakfast All staff were very friendly and went the extra mile to accommodate all requests - restaurant staff, reception, housekeeping and bar. Rooms very clean and very comfortable beds. Extra pillows of your choice. Buffet breakfast very, very good. Excellent variety and plenty of everything. Have stayed here three times in the past 8 weeks and will be staying again in the future. 21 September 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Holiday inn express review Stayed for great north run, other hotels in newcastle booked out, so had to stay a bit further out. Pretty standard hotel, just what you'd expect really. Nice clean largish room. But no free wi fi it's around £3 an hour, which seemed a tad expensive to me. Also we were asked at reception "would you be having breakfast"? I said " is it included" No - was the reply, so we declined Then we are sitting in our room about 2 hours later, and on the TV an ad appears . It shows 3 people, 2 adults and a child. Turns out its an advert for holiday inn express, and it ends with, " that's why at holiday inn express breakfast is included" eh ! 20 September 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by One night stay We were only staying over for one night with an early morning start to the next day. Comfortable bed, clean room and bathroom. 16 September 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Very comfortable rooms We drove down from London with our 2 kids to spend a few days in the Newcastle area so after 6 hours of driving was tired and needed a rest. I have stayed in Holiday Inns before so was expecting good standards. Our de luxe rooms were next to each other and were very comfortable. The kids particularly liked the big screen and ability to buy films to watch. The housekeepers tidied the rooms up well and restocked the fridge. The beds were comfy and the complimentary slippers handy. The only issue we had (and other patrons too) was the re-stocking of items on the breakfast buffet, it was inefficient and caused delays as you had to wait for individual items to be restocked to complete your selection. The waitresses though pleasant and helpful did not have a sense of urgency around queues building up due to no sausages, eggs etc. Apart from this I would recommend this hotel and would happily return if I was in the area. Mrs U London 08 September 2013
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Handy for A1 Newcastle and Durham No problems with room or noise. Rooms are away from main reception and function rooms. Staff were very helpful, but under pressure due mainly to wedding reception and two or three coach trips at hotel on same evening. We stayed there to attend the international cricket at Durham, on a DBB deal. First night hotel had a couple of coach tours in but plenty of room in restaurant. Jack who waited our table was very good and made sure that everything was ok, couldn't fault the food or service. Breakfast was plentiful and enjoyable. Taxi to cricket ground arrived 5 mins after reception called. Only £7 one way fare. Returned to hotel about 7.30 Saturday evening to be informed that the restaurant was closed as they has a wedding reception and we would need to wait until 8:30pm as the Trader Bar was full with coach tours. Went to room to freshen up, came down at 8:45 to find trader bar still packed with coach tour. Waitress apologised said to order complimentary drinks at bar and she would let us know when table was available. We were informed 30 mins later still no tables but offered full menu service in our rooms, not ideal but again couldn't fault the food and effort from Mandy, we think, to sort out our meal. Mandy also told us to avoid breakfast between7 and 8 to let the coach trippers eat and be on their way. Sunday breakfast was again fine, and the checkout was quick and easy 04 September 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by You should stay here If you are looking for that 7 star stay the staff were just terrific. They deserve a better building but the service was 119% I have stayed twice in 10 days and it was the same on both occasions. Will be staying again 29 August 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Bedroom The room 620 was in the top floor of the block and the A1 road passes about 300 meters away. The road noise was excessive as there was no sound break barrier at that altitude. This road never seemed to sleep, and that gave me some disturbed sleep. Otherwise, a satisfactory visit. 26 August 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by friendly staff The staff make you feel very welcome and nothing is too much trouble. They are friendly and efficient. The hotel overall is excellent value for money and the food is spot on. Thanks to everyone. 26 August 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Great stay We had an over night stay, we found all the representatives of Holiday Inn to be very helpful and professional. The only complaint we had, was that we would have preferred to have been informed of the 30 minute wait for dessert whilst dinning and not just left to wonder and then cancel. But would definitely stay again and would recommend a stay to our friends. 25 August 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Good hotel I have been staying here regularly for the past 12 years, for work purposes and can recommend this hotel. The staff are always friendly, welcoming and efficient. Rooms are always comfortable and clean, very quiet too. Breakfast is plentiful both hot and cold food with a good selection of healthy options for those of us who do not wish to eat a fry up. Staff are always very friendly in the dining room and remember regular guests. They always do their best to get things from the kitchen, which may not be on the breakfast buffet. The hotel has plenty of parking and is very close to the A1M, with quick access to Durham and Newcastle. All in all, a good standard of hotel for the reasonable prices charged. I would recommend this hotel to anyone, no matter what their reason for stay. 24 August 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Ashes Test Stayed here for two nights for Ashes Tour in Durham. All staff were exceptionally pleasant and helpful. Room was comfortable, although we would have preferred a slightly larger bed and the room could do with a freshen-up. However, the aircon worked well, which was welcome. 22 August 2013
Rated 1.0 out of 5.0 Evening Meal For me as a frequent user of Holiday Inn hotels this is the first time I have written a negative feedback on a hotel, that although was cheap to stay in I will never stay in again. 1.Receptionist was not friendly as I have come to expect from Holiday Inn's. 2. I ordered a Angus Beef Burger to my room presention was poor just looked as if it had been thrown together chips were overcooked, this is a meal I have had in several other H Inns which I have always enjoyed. Macdonalds offer better value v this hotel. 19 August 2013
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 Bit sleezy, needs a bigger make up I stayed at this hotel for about 12 - 15 times during the past 10 years, since it has not been renovated. In particular the halls, doors, and from the outside it looks VERY used. Can't do much about the noisy Motorway behind the hotel, but good, modern, sound proved windows would help a lot. Hotel staff is friendly / okay. Kitchen is okay but nothing special, quite expencive for the standard. 17 August 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great short break hotel Just off the A1(M) and a great hotel for a short break. Within easy reach of Durham CCC, Newcastle and Sunderland. 16 August 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by welcoming As always the staff are very capable and obliging. The room was nice and clean and well organised. However the one problem is with thw bathroom, the toillets are much lower than standard, and so not very easy for senior citizens and the side of the bath is too hiigh, surely this is something that the planners did not take in to consideration when organising the refurbishment. 13 August 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by first class treatent I stayed at the Holiday Inn and was very impressed the room was very clean and comfortable the staff were excellent in fact could not find any fault, breakfast again first class will recommend, car parking there was plenty off space even for the mini bus like I said could not find fault. Thank You 12 August 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Excellent! One of the best Holiday Inns we've stayed in. Staff couldnt be more helpful, very approachable manager, so much so its now our first choice when visiting the NE. 03 August 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by comfortable bed A good stay and a reputable hotel. Room had AC which was required. We found the quilt on our bed to be a bit small. Could have done with next size up. Breakfast was well presented and great variety. 29 July 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by fridges not happy with the fridges in the room,they use to be a lot better than they are now.we would get lock out of our room every time we went out it is very annoying.we had problems with the tv,s loosing the signal again.But the staff are very helpful.many thanks mrs charlton 28 July 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Extremely friendly staff and good value for money The staff were extremely friendly and helpful. Always cheerful and ready with a smile and a welcoming word. Always ensuring that you had everything that you needed and were enjoying your stay. 25 July 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by great staff. great value one of the best IGH for value. the staff was brilliant! they overcharged me by mistake, they deeply apoligised, refund me and they gave me 1000 points complementary. if you are heading to newcastle, this is the place to be! the staff is super friendly and professional! 21 July 2013
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Comfortable beds Average hotel standards, the hotel was noisy as a wedding party was in progress, the bathroom had a leak so woke up to a flood. The room also had a strong smell of cigarettes. 19 July 2013
<<prev 2 3 4 5 6 next>>