Your session will expire in 5 minutes, 0 seconds, due to inactivity. Stay Logged In

It's easy to start earning points. Just travel, shop or dine out, and watch your points add up.

Ways to Earn

It's easy to start earning points. Just travel, shop or dine out, and watch your points add up.

Ways to Earn

Congratulations!

You have now earned Gold Elite status.

Explore the Benefits

Ready for some great rewards? Redeem your points for free nights, flights, merchandise and more.

Ways to Redeem
Create PIN
All fields are required
If you joined IHG® Rewards Club at a hotel, then you will need to create a 4-digit PIN in order to access your IHG® Rewards Club account.
Unexpected Server Error
Your session has expired. Please sign in to your profile
We are sorry, our system is temporarily unavailable. Please try again later or contact the IHG® Rewards Club Customer Care Centre for assistance.
The 4-digit numbers entered must match.
Forgot PIN?
All fields are required
Unexpected Server Error
Your session has expired. Please sign in to your profile
We are sorry, our system is temporarily unavailable. Please try again later or contact the IHG® Rewards Club Customer Care Centre for assistance.
Don't have an email address in your profile?

Contact your local IHG® Rewards Club Customer Care to source your PIN and to update your profile with your email address. When you receive your PIN you can also update your email address via www.ihg.com/updateemail.

Email Hotel Get Directions Add to Favourites Print Fact Sheet

Book this Hotel

Best Price Guarantee
1

Reward Nights

When redeeming points for a Reward Night, you may only book one room at a time.


Once you complete your Reward Night reservation you will be given the option to duplicate this reservation.

(e.g. 04 Jul 2015)
(e.g. 05 Jul 2015)
Have a Group Code?
Have a Corporate ID?
Check Availability
Processing your request...

* Requires affiliation in the respective organization.

** Best Available Rate Search does not include affiliation rates.

Select to close.

To book more than 9 rooms for one stay or request a quote, please use our Easy Meetings tool, call 1-800-MEETING (in United States, Mexico and Canada) or contact a Global Sales Office.

Close Button
Your Recently Viewed Hotels

Welcome to Holiday Inn Washington

Location: Suburban

  • Location: Suburban
  • Closest City: NEWCASTLE
  • Distance From Hotel: 7.0MI
  • Local time zone: GMT+01:00

Check In: 2:00 PM Check Out: 12:00 PM

  • Check In: 2:00 PM
  • Check Out: 12:00 PM
  • Minimum check-in age: 18
  • Late checkout available

Credit cards

Credit cards

  • American Express
  • Business Advantage Card
  • Carte Blanche
  • Diners Club
  • Discover
  • MasterCard
  • Visa

Accessibility

Accessibility

  • Number of Rooms:4
  • Parking
  • Service Animals Allowed

Languages

Languages

  1. English

Pet Policy

Pet Policy

Pets allowed, yet restricted to bedroom

What's nearby

What's nearby

Attraction:
Durham City – Cathedral and Castle
Distance From Hotel:0.0MI
Attraction:
Sunderland Football Club Stadium of Light
Distance From Hotel:0.0MI
Attraction:
Angel of the North / Washington Wildfowl Park
Distance From Hotel:0.0MI
Attraction:
Durham County Cricket Club
Distance From Hotel:3.0MI

Parking

Parking

  • Car Parking Available
  • Free Car Parking on site

Internet

Standard Internet Service

Standard Internet service is free for all IHG® Rewards Club members
Wireless Internet available in Standard Rooms,Executive Rooms,Suites,Business Center,Public Areas
Standard Room Wireless Fee for Non Members:£ 2.95 2.95  GBP

Accommodation

Accommodation

  • Hotel renovated in:February 01, 2009
  • Total number of rooms:136
  • Total number of rooms with only double beds:37
  • Total number of non-smoking rooms:136
  • Total number of accessible rooms:4
  • Executive floors
  • Executive rooms
  • Interior corridor
  • Total number of floors:7

Enjoy good service and convenient transport links when you stay at the Holiday Inn Washington hotel.

Turn off junction 64 of the A1(M) motorway and follow our driveway through well-tended lawns. You'll receive a friendly welcome at Holiday Inn Washington, an ideal stopover on your journey to London or Edinburgh. We're in Washington, 15 miles from Newcastle Airport with ample complimentary parking. Choose an inviting Green Room for the opportunity to plant your own
View More

Enjoy good service and convenient transport links when you stay at the Holiday Inn Washington hotel.

Turn off junction 64 of the A1(M) motorway and follow our driveway through well-tended lawns. You'll receive a friendly welcome at Holiday Inn Washington, an ideal stopover on your journey to London or Edinburgh. We're in Washington, 15 miles from Newcastle Airport with ample complimentary parking. Choose an inviting Green Room for the opportunity to plant your own tree in our 9-acre grounds.

Holiday Inn Washington is a short drive to local business parks, like Emerson and Crowther, and Portobello Trading Estate is 5 miles away. Nissan's European headquarters are 5 miles from the hotel. You can catch up with wireless Internet in our airy lounge and the 9 day-lit meeting rooms.

Explore the North East from Holiday Inn Washington. Durham and Sunderland are both 9 miles away, while Newcastle city centre shopping and nightlife is 15 miles. Travel back to the Industrial Age with the family at sepia-tinged Beamish open-air museum, 5 miles away. Antony Gormley's 20-metre Angel of the North, 2 miles away, is an icon of the region.

Soak up the morning sun with a full English breakfast out on Traders Restaurant's patio. You can socialise on leather sofas in the smart Lobby. Wedding reception guests mingle in the gardens outside the 120-person Beamish Suite.

View Less
Features
Book a Green Room for accommodation, breakfast and a tree to grow in Holiday Inn Washington's 9-acre grounds. As part of the Tree Appeal, we are planting oak, ash and beech saplings on our site to encourage local biodiversity.

Guest Reviews

Rated 4.1 out of 5 by 296 reviewers.
Rated 1.0 out of 5.0 by Back in time Very old hotel. It like going back at least 20 years, staff service poor to average July 1, 2015
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Oh dear. This is not good I loyally book Holiday Inns as first choice and on a global scale feel I know what to expect in terms of service, accommodation, facilities and catering. But this visit was disappointing in that the kitchen and restaurant service spoilt all the rest. We stayed for 4 nights and really hoped that the restaurant would get its act together during our stay. It did not happen. Dinner on the first night was ok-ish but some time after ordering we were told that some ingredients were not available, and when asking for cheese and biscuits for dessert - there were no biscuits but I could have bread. (declined). Maybe dinner on the 2nd night would be better. Nope! Still no biscuits for the cheese!! Why? So we gave up dinners for the remainder of the stay. But we were prisoners of pre-booked breakfasts. All four were farcical!! Repeated requests for fresh fruit were met with "It's all gone", and maintaining a supply on the hot ranges was very poor. Repeatedly we had to ask for this and that to be brought out. This occurred every morning despite our time of arrival in the restaurant. I have long experience in running restaurants and this one requires a serious management makeover. Judging by other reviews and your constant assurance that you are striving to make things better here, the restaurant staff need training and direction. In the meantime they are unsuccessfully fighting fires. June 30, 2015
Rated 2.0 out of 5.0 by Very Disppointed Due to traffic on M25 and A1m being closed we did not arrive at the hotel past midnight. Check in was very quick. we walk in to room 110 and what a disappointment it was. The room very small. The room was booked for 3 people and i had called earlier in the day to advise the hotel that we will be late arriving and will it be set up for 3 people and I was confirmed yes it will all ok. but it was different story. the room only had double bed, sofa bed was not prepared. I called the front desk to ask why? and his answer was he realised that when we check in we were 3 and the room was only ready for 2.. He then came over 15 minutes later to make the sofa bed. when you are tired and all you want to do is to go to bed. but it was not the case as the bathroom stank of very bad smell I had to spry my perfume to make it bearable in the room. Why was it that even after calling to confirm re the room. Room was not ready as it should be. I am very disappointed with the hotel and will never use it again. as we will be visiting Durham very often as our son will be at university in Durham. June 30, 2015
  • 2015-07-03T10:04:40.600-05:00
  • bvseo_lps, prod_bvrr, vn_prr_5.6
  • cp-1, bvpage1
  • co_hasreviews, tv_296, tr_296
  • loc_en_US, sid_NCLWS, prod, sort_default
2 3 4 5 ... 11 next>>
Stay for longer or go for less
Close
Check-In Date
(e.g. 04 Jul 2015)
Check-Out Date
(e.g. 05 Jul 2015)
Check Availability
Loading