Select to close.
Select to close.
Email or IHG® Rewards Club # PIN
Not a member?Join Today!
Forgot PIN
All fields are required.
 
If you have forgotten or lost your Personal Identification Number (PIN), we can email your PIN to the email address in your IHG® Rewards Club account profile.
If you do not have an email address in your profile, please contact your local IHG® Rewards Club Customer Care  to source your PIN and to update your profile with your email address. When you receive your PIN you can also update your email address viawww.ihgrewardsclub.com/email.
IHG® Rewards Club # Email Address

Not a member?Join Today!
Create PIN
All fields are required.
IHG® Rewards Club # ZIP/Postal Code
First Name Last Name
Please select a 4 number Personal Identification Number (PIN) which will be used to access your IHG® Rewards Club account.
PIN Verify PIN
 
Not a member?Join Today!
Create Email
All fields are required.
Thank you. Your PIN has been created. Please enter your email address so you can use it to log into the site in the future.
Email Address Verify Email Address
 
Email Hotel Get Directions Add to Favourites Print Fact Sheet

Book this Hotel

Best Price Guarantee
1

Reward Nights

When redeeming points for a Reward Night, you may only book one room at a time.


Once you complete your Reward Night reservation you will be given the option to duplicate this reservation.

(e.g. 28 Jul 2014)
(e.g. 29 Jul 2014)
Have a Group Code?
Have a Corporate ID?
Check Availability
Processing your request...

* Requires affiliation in the respective organization.

** Best Available Rate Search does not include affiliation rates.

Select to close.

To book more than 9 rooms for one stay or request a quote, please use our Easy Meetings tool, call 1-800-MEETING (in United States, Mexico and Canada) or contact a Global Sales Office.

Close Button
Rated 4.1 out of 5 by 713 reviewers.
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Convenient location Convenient location, close to the Mall & Smithsonian. EXTREMELY friendly staff. Food in the restaurant was good but over priced. Rooms were clean and quiet. Would stay here again. 28 July 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by great location the deli wasn't open in the afternoon but food was great at the other two resturant and open quite late. Housekeeping was at or close to the same time daily which was great for planning. 27 July 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Nice comfortable room. My daughter and I stayed for two nights at the Holiday Inn Capitol. We checked in quickly with no problems. The room was clean and comfortable. The Holiday Inn was extremely convinient to all the Smithsonians and the Capitol as well as a number of other attractions. We ate at the buffet one morning and it was good. We ate at 21 one evening. We both had the steak salad. Service was a bit poor. Our waiter was slow and not observant. We had to ask for silverware when our food came and I went without a refill on my drink for quite a while as he passed our table a number of times and I was unable to attract his attention. The steak on my salad was very grissly.....my daughter said hers was ok. Overall it was a good stay. You cant have absolute perfection. I would reccomend this to anyone who wanted to be close to the Smithsonians. 26 July 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by pillows I thought the pillows were lumpy. I couldn't tell the differance between soft and hard and couldn't seem to lay my head without a hard spot. Everything else was good and we had a nice vacation. 26 July 2013
Rated 2.0 out of 5.0 by Not the most impressive Holiday Inn I as not very satisfied during my last Holiday Inn stay in the Capital. I was told at check-in....."sorry we didn't realize you were Gold member until after we assigned rooms, so we can't move you up to a higher floor (away from the train/metro - outside my window#, however we will let you know if we can move you during the week stay. Never received a call or option to move and didn't rest well. Also wanted to let you know your staff in the restaurant/bar was very unfriendly, rude and provided terrible service. Was also harassed by the garage attendant #about a pass I never had - but was charged $35 a day to park my car). I was never asked at checkout how the stay was, so hope you care about my feedback now. 25 July 2013
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Needs upgrades for the price. Great location for the Grad School Upon my arrival I initially had an issue with my government travel card. I was told they couldn't hold the room until the following business day (until my card could be reactivated#, and I was charged for the first night on my debit card. I was not given the option to do credit or debit. I was told after the fact that the card is automatically ran as a debit and thus the monies would be extracted immediately while the credit card is just a 'hold' until you check out. Once a different card is rendered, the amount would be credited in 3-4 business days. My biggest issue was with the staff in the 21st Amendment. The front desk of the hotel tells you to go to one of the restaurants to have your food warmed #because there are not microwaves in non executive rooms, you have to pay an additional 10.00 per night#. While the servers are pleasant if you are ordering from them, if in the event you want to warm food purchased elsewhere, you get an attitude from them! When I was finally acknowledged #after 7 minutes of waiting#, she warmed my food on 1:45, but forgot about it and I didn't get the food for another 6 minutes #which had cooled by that time#. I only advise that the hotel gives out complimentary microwaves, especially if the stay is over a week. Or, if at the very least, put a microwave on each floor in the general vicininty of the vending machines, where its not an inconvenience to the patrons. Most patrons do not want to slip back into proper attire just to warm food, and have to go 'downstairs' in a restaurant to do it. When I mentioned it to the staff, not once were they accomodating about it. It was basically, 'oh, our microwaves are 10.00 a night.' So, it was just like suck it up. I did love my cleaning lady!!! She was awesome! I had fresh sheets everyday! For the price of the hotel, there should be better internet service and more upgrades! 25 July 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Very good place to stay in DC Enjoyed my 9 days; room was always clean; Staff was always friendly; if I ever return to DC I will be staying at the Washington-Capitol Holiday Inn 23 July 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Great Staff & Location, but Ready for a Renovation I always stay at the Washington-Capitol for its convenient location and welcoming staff. However, the property is really beginning to show its age. The carpeting in the hallways has serious stains, bathroom plumbing is old and the bathtub/shower tile grouting is grubby and shows signs of many past imperfect patch jobs. Hope there is a plan to invest in an upgrade in the near future. 23 July 2013
Rated 2.0 out of 5.0 by DON'T STAY IN THIS HOTEL!! I had a great experience in the HI Key West while on business. They convinced me to join the Priority Club so I decided to try the Capital when in DC for pleasure over a four day weekend. I purchased multiple rooms for our party. In short, the Capital has turned me (and most of the adults in our party)off HI's in general. Some of the issues; not in order: Vending machines on several floors didn't work the entire time we were there, leaving us to wander the halls in hopes of finding one that worked in the middle of the night. Conflicting instructions from the front guest regarding dinning followed by similar issues in the dining room. One day a pleasant smile and no problem with an OJ refill at breakfast; the next different employee, told us in no uncertain terms, "we don't give refills and left." Finally, got late checkout. Packed some things in the vehicle and left some in the rooms. Came back several hours later to find the one room had been gone through by housekeeping, stripped the beds and thrown out the items left in the room. The only consistency was the on-going issues. Took away from the experience of DC. The inoperable equipment and staff conflicts seem to demonstrate a management issue as opposed to a individual employee. The employees were polite in general but seemed to have differing instructions.; if they were given instructions. 23 July 2013
Rated 1.0 out of 5.0 by good view on parking lot and busy railway line for 350 bugs Nerver again! Couldn't sleep, room Basement Level Fasching Packung ans busy railway line 23 July 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great location! Helpful staff! The location, staff and dining made up for the somewhat dated rooms. It is a good spot for accessing the major sites in D.C. as transportation comes to the hotel and other means are within a block. It is a quick walk to the National Mall, Capitol, and Smithsonian. A good stay! 22 July 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Great location but costly If you are visiting on vacation, there is no better location. The hotel is located 2 blocks south of the Air and Space Museum. All the Smithsonium Museums and the U.S. Capital are within a comfortable walking distance. There is a Starbucks in the lobby. There is a Mcdonalds, Quiznos, and a CVS Phanacy nearby. There are few decent restaurants nearby, you will have to use a taxi and expect to spend $50 per person at even a modest place. The hotel offers a nightly buffet the isn't bad at about $25. The rooms are pricey but if you have AAA or are a Government Employee you can cut the price substantially. Parking a vehicle will cost you $30 per day ... Do not take a large or lifted vehicle, the parking is poorly designed. The staff is very pleasant and helpfull. 22 July 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Happy Customer Very nice hotel with comfy beds. Very convenient to downtown area and close to metrorail. Will stay here again. Excellent service! 22 July 2013
Rated 2.0 out of 5.0 by Convenient to sights but poor service Our room was not ready when we checked in at 3 and wasn't ready for 3 more hours. On one day we were gone from 10am until 7pm and the room was never cleaned. We had to call to get it cleaned. The staff at the restaurants were pushy and grumpy. If the location were not so convenient to the monuments ther would be no reason to return. 20 July 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Great location at a reasonable price!! Great location, close to Capitol Hill, museums and other points of interest. 20 July 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Independence Day Vacation From the time we arrived until the time we left, the staff was very helpful. Latosha at the front desk made everything easy for us. Most importantly...with a SMILE! 19 July 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Just Fine Great central location for everything but restaurants, typical Holiday Inn decor etc, friendly staff, beds too hard but very clean... recommend staying away from the restaurant... 18 July 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Will Come Back! This Hotel is situated in the middle of everything. Walking distance to what ever you want to see! Subway right around the corner, could have a few nice restaurant closer but they have good food at the bar. Hotel is a little worn but very clean and the staff is excellent. Will definitely stay there the next visit to DC. We came from NC to see Paul McCartney at the Nationals Stadium which by subway was a % minute trip and drops you out right by the stadium. Concert was FANTASTIC! 18 July 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Would definetly stay at again Was extremely pleased with our stay. Location cannot be beat!! Staff and service was excellent....very helpful in giving directions to sites off the beaten path. Room was very comfortable and clean. Was pleasantly surprised at how clean the room was. Had read a review that stated room next to train and metro tracks was loud....our room was on this side and we didn't notice either the train or metro. Loved that this hotel offers room service....very nice after a LONG day of museum visiting and very easy for breakfast in the morning. Only complaint that I do have is the AC is set to operate on motion so when we left the room for the day the AC didn't run until we returned. Room was not overly hot but was a little stuffy. 18 July 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Perfect Location There is no other hotel that can provide this convient of a location to all the DC attractions. This is the 4th time we've stayed at this hotel and I have never been disappointed. You are 2 blocks from the National Mall. The Capitol is very close, and Union Station is only about a 10 minute walk. The L'Enfant Plaza metro stop is about 5 minutes away which can take you pretty much anywhere. The Air & Space Museum is about a 2 minute walk. You cannot find a better location...believe me I've looked! The hotel itself is very nice. The staff is friendly and the rooms are clean. The price is high, but it is worth it. 18 July 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Perfect Stay My recent stay was one of the most enjoyable I've had in DC. I wish I had known years ago how close this was to the Metro and waterfront. I would have stayed here sooner. The staff was superb, the room comfortable and quiet, and the hotel restaurant was great. Highly recommended. 17 July 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great Place to Stay My husband and I as well as our 11 year old grandson stayed at the Holiday Inn Capitol from 7/10/13 to 7/12/13 and had a fantastic time. The staff and service were excellent. The room was very nice and we slept well. There was a train running off and on just outside our window but it didn't wake us up at all. We had the buffet breakfast each morning and it's well worth the extra we had to pay. They had everything you can imagine. We also bought trolley tickets right at the hotel and the trolley stopped at the hotel for a quick and easy pickup. The trolley stops at all the major attractions every half hour so you can get on and off all day. No need to worry about driving your car and trying to find a parking place. I would definitely recommend this as a wonderful place to stay. The room was well decorated and very clean. 17 July 2013
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 ROOM NOT READY THE ROOM WAS NOT READY WHEN WE ARRIVED, THERE WAS NO OFFER TO HOLD OUR BAGS SO WE COULD EAT SOMETHING. WE HAD TO WAIT FOR AN HOUR TO GET IN OUR ROOM. 17 July 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great place to stay I was here for a one night stay and found the hotel to be just right, great service from a very friendly staff. I ate all my meals in the hotel restaurants and found the food to be very good, although a little pricey. I had the free breakfast with the room price, but would probably opt for the lower price next time and just eat at the take-out deli they have next to the Bistro instead, although the 2pm check-out worked great for me since I had a 2pm meeting and wanted to sight see in the morning so I could go back to my room at noon and shower and change before check-out. My only complaint was the room got stifling hot at night and I awoke every hour to turn the AC back on. I had read another review that someone posted saying that the AC was motion detected, hence the reason it kicked off while sleeping. I also stored my luggage in the bell hop's closet at checkout since my meeting was across the street and they were very helpful and accommodating when I returned to get something out if my bag. I would definitely stay here again if I was returning to DC. 17 July 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Clean and convenient Whilst I was in town for three days attending mandatory meetings, I found this property to be clean, the staff friendly, and awesome proximity to many of the tourist venues. Will most certainly stay again when we come to 'visit' the Capitol! 16 July 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Close to everything in DC Great hotel very close to the Mall and all the museums. Extremely reasonable price for the quality of service and rooms. We had two rooms adjoining and were there with the grandkids. We requested a rollaway bed and they were quick to respond. This hotel is literally one block from the Air and Space Museum so you are right in the center of the museums and monuments. It was so convenient. The staff was very cordial and helpful. Food at the hotel is a little pricey, but we were on a plan with a complimentary breakfast which was a delicious buffet and was excellent. For those folks with kids, McDonald's is on the same block and there was a great pizza restaurant two blocks away. Close to the metro and also convenient. You won't go wrong on this one for the price. We were very pleasantly surprised and happy and will go back next trip to DC. The only "con" is that the beds are just doubles so they are a little tight when you are used to a larger bed. 16 July 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Convenient, at the middle of the National Mall. 1.5 blocks from the Air and Space Museum. 2 blocks from Metro subway station. Free hot breakfast buffet every morning with a variety of fruits, meats, pancakes, juices, coffee; etc. Real china ware and cloth napkins with fresh carnation in a vase on all tables make us feel like home. We had dinner at the restaurant every night. Waiters are very friendly. Front desk people are helpful and friendly as well. Starbucks next door - downstairs. Bus tour tickets sold at the souvenir shop. We requested a quiet room and we got it. With the air conditioner running, we couldn't hear the underground train at all. The only negative experience we had was the pool. It was crowded and the water didn't feel clean. 16 July 2013
Rated 2.0 out of 5.0 by The shaking 9th floor I recently stayed at the Holiday Inn Capitol, and have to say; I was thoroughly disappointed. I tried to book online, and wanted to be sure I had adjoining rooms, so the family could all be together. So I called the phone number listed for that specific hotel. I was confirmed that I would have a suite with an adjoining room. When I arrived, not only did I not have an adjoining room, but the rooms were not even on the same floor. The next night, I was able to get the rooms on the same floor, but still not adjoining. Next came the shaking. I'm not sure what it was, but around midnight; every night, the 9th floor shook. I think it may have been the laundry, but I don't know. It scared my entire family. Will I stay there again? No. For the price I paid for the two rooms for 3 nights; there are a dozen other choices in Washington, DC. 15 July 2013
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Filthy When I checked in on Tuesday, there was trash outside the door to my room. When I checked out on Friday, the trash was still there. 15 July 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by 4th of July We were there for the 4th celebration. I used reward points and list price was also very good. The staff couldn't have been friendlier and the rooms were clean. The place is one of the best HI that I have ever stayed in, Great location for all the Mall and other attractions 14 July 2013
<<prev 14 15 16 17 18 ... 25 next>>