Select to close.
Select to close.
Email or IHG® Rewards Club # PIN
Not a member?Join Today!
Forgot PIN
All fields are required.
 
If you have forgotten or lost your Personal Identification Number (PIN), we can email your PIN to the email address in your IHG® Rewards Club account profile.
If you do not have an email address in your profile, please contact your local IHG® Rewards Club Customer Care  to source your PIN and to update your profile with your email address. When you receive your PIN you can also update your email address viawww.ihgrewardsclub.com/email.
IHG® Rewards Club # Email Address

Not a member?Join Today!
Create PIN
All fields are required.
IHG® Rewards Club # ZIP/Postal Code
First Name Last Name
Please select a 4 number Personal Identification Number (PIN) which will be used to access your IHG® Rewards Club account.
PIN Verify PIN
 
Not a member?Join Today!
Create Email
All fields are required.
Thank you. Your PIN has been created. Please enter your email address so you can use it to log into the site in the future.
Email Address Verify Email Address
 
Email Hotel Get Directions Add to Favourites Print Fact Sheet

Book this Hotel

Best Price Guarantee
1

Reward Nights

When redeeming points for a Reward Night, you may only book one room at a time.


Once you complete your Reward Night reservation you will be given the option to duplicate this reservation.

(e.g. 24 Jul 2014)
(e.g. 25 Jul 2014)
Have a Group Code?
Have a Corporate ID?
Check Availability
Processing your request...

* Requires affiliation in the respective organization.

** Best Available Rate Search does not include affiliation rates.

Select to close.

To book more than 9 rooms for one stay or request a quote, please use our Easy Meetings tool, call 1-800-MEETING (in United States, Mexico and Canada) or contact a Global Sales Office.

Close Button
Rated 4.1 out of 5 by 700 reviewers.
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by vacation This was my first trip to Washington, DC. I found the accommodations very comfortable. The staff was very helpful regarding all my questions. We enjoyed the breakfast buffet that was included in our room price. The location of the hotel made it easy to travel throughout the city on our visit there. 17 July 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Exceptional Service From the moment I arrived at this hotel I was given exceptional service. I was greeted and assisted from my taxi by Hypolite, who helped get my electric wheelchair out of the boot His big genuine smile each day was uplifting and I would quite often use the front entrance just so that I could say hello. I was checked in by Cheryl, who was also fantastic. She gave me a lot of helpful information on Washington DC and the Metro system. The room itself was extremely comfortable and a good size, the guest laundry was very useful. During my stay I suffered a punctured tyre on my wheelchair and asked if it was possible for the maintenance staff to repair it for me, this was done overnight, by Chris, who was fantastic. I had a great stay at this hotel and would definitely stay here again. Fantastic Hotel. 16 July 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Some flaws but overall quite good The bad: we asked for a room away from the train track side of the building. We got a room ON the train track side of the building. Fortunately my family sleeps more deeply than I, but I was stirred to wakefulness every weekday at approximately 6:30 by a loud train horn blast. The food downstairs is overpriced, except for the little a la carte spot, which is not open on weekends. My husband repeatedly asked for an extra blanket and was repeatedly promised one would be coming from housekeeping. It NEVER came. The good: you CANNOT beat the location if you're in town to see Smithsonian museums and other things on the mall: it's literally a block and a half from Air & Space! The rooftop pool is really great and a good relief from summer's heat and tired feet from walking all day. The Old Town Trolley tour has a pickup at the hotel. The Metro is a block and a half from the hotel so you can easily go car-free, especially if you fly into Reagan. Cabs are readily available and you're close enough to Reagan that the cost of the metro for 4 and a cab are competitive. Room service was prompt and the pizza was not too bad. Beds were comfortable, the rooms were clean, and there were ample pillows for everyone. The televisions are modern with HDMI ports, which meant I could hook up my laptop and run a movie through the TV when the kids needed to zone out. Housekeeping was unobtrusive and yet efficient (except for getting an extra blanket, see above). When we next come to DC we will definitely stay here again. 16 July 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Definitely return Room clean and large and nice. Bed great, good sleep. Bathroom clean and large. Only negative is a hole in the air vent in the shower box that looks like a camera hole which I am sure it is not, photo attached, Definitely needs fixing. Restaurant buffet breakfast was great. Located in the center of the tourist attractions, can walk to everything. 15 July 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Beautiful hotel Everything is perfect there, the hotel, the rooms, the stuff, etc. and very close to many museum! Planning to return in 2015!! 15 July 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Comfortable bed and an overall nice facility Great stay. The parking should have been no more than $20.00 for guest. Was not at all happy about my room being left open. Even more disappointed that management never contacted me. I don't feel the housekeeper should be the scapegoat because mistakes happen. However being in business for myself I know you (management) always need to be accountable for you employees. 15 July 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great Hotel for location This was a great jumping off point for my family. We chose this location because it is only a block from the Air and Space Museum. I purchased our trolley tickets in the gift shop down stairs which saved me lots of time. There were three options for food, one was for breakfast where you could get the basics-nothing fancy. It was quick and easy.There is also a Starbuck's coffee shop inside the hotel but is also accessible from the street. Then there was the Bistro, it was next to the breakfast area. I wasn't too impressed with the menu, the restaurant was dingy and my fork had food left on it that hadn't been cleaned in the dish washer. We just got up and left. The staff was pleasant. Hamburger cost $15! The other restaurant was packed so I went and asked the front desk clerk if they had a pizza restaurant in the area that delivers. He was very helpful and I ordered in Pizza from the New York Pizza Co. They delivered to the hotel in 40 minutes in a down pour! Oh, there is a postage size pool on the roof, and you can see the capitol from it. It was clean and crowded. Just stagger the time you go. Lots of kids having fun splashing about, I waited and went later and there weren't too many. Most small kiddos are in bed by 7! Our room had two Queen sized beds, a refrigerator, Kurig coffee maker and a T.V. For the price, the room was comfortable, clean and cozy. The staff was nice and willing to help if you needed anything. I would stay here again in a heartbeat, but skip the restaurant. You can't have everything perfect but this hotel was a winner in my book. Will be back again in the future. 14 July 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Awesome We stayed in Knoxville heading to DC and this was was just as nice I would recommend to anyone. Nice room clean and nice front Desk attendants as well. 14 July 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Very Nice Hotel I really liked the Hotel, Staff and Location... I was not Happy that I had to pay for Parking... $35.00 a night for parking was a little inconvenient... 14 July 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Good hotel Only problem I had was the ice machine was broke on our floor, also was not made aware that parking deck had three floors so had to wander around looking for car, also parking price is expensive 13 July 2014
Rated 1.0 out of 5.0 by No air-condition and mediocre service Room did not include room service menu, and wasn't brought to me even after I requested it. Air-conditioner started blowing hot air in middle of night, making it extremely uncomfortable getting ready in the morning. 13 July 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Nice Property and Staff Overall, the property is clean, well maintained and is an excellent location for DC. The cab service is readily available at the entrance and Bellhop service is also available. The staff was very friendly and it is obvious by the way the property is maintained that they have a very competent housekeeper and manager. Rooms are very nice The restaurant staff is friendly...needs a little more training, but nothing major...Food was good, but nothing to write home about...Very bland, generic, hotel/restaurant menu... High prices 11 July 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by DC Trip Our stay at the Holiday Inn Capital hotel was great. We had wonderful service when we needed something and the staff was very helpful in giving us directions to various things around DC. It was a great location to the National Mall as we were only 2 blocks away. You could park your car and walk just about everywhere you wanted to go. We were there for a week and found it quite comfortable. They have good laundry facilities isf you need to wash clothes. No free breakfast included, but there was a CVS store right next to the hotel so we got our breakfast supplies there. They do have places in the hotel where you can get breakfast if you want. We would definately try to stay here again if we make it back to DC. 11 July 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by HICapitol TV Channel Suggestions There is nothing on the TV channel in the room (and no TV in the lobby that could be tuned to the HIChannel) that would help visitors that are in DC. HI TV Channel Suggestions: 1. Upcoming events at the hotel (like after the fireworks there was a cookout in the courtyard that was never announced). 2. Special showings at local museums 3. Pool hours to include unusual closings (fireworks) 4. What floors the pool and fitness rooms are on (nothing posted in hallways) 5. Evacuation routes illustrated on TV. 6. Other parking locations besides the hotel would be a big help. 7. Nearby places for film, food, and antiques for example that might enrich our stay! Come on! Make the HIC channel exciting and informative!!!!! Thanks for the great stay. Rad and Becky 11 July 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great Experience My family of 4 had a fantastic July 4th holiday weekend. The location of the hotel was perfect as was the accomodations. 10 July 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Great location for the 4th of July! I had an excellent stay. When I arrived for my 12:00 pm check in, the man at the desk asked if I would be willing to wait until 3:00 pm and see some of the sights. If I waited until 3:00 pm, he said he could get me into a quieter part of the hotel which was an issue with the holiday. I was very willing to wait since I was planning on going to a museum anyway. They took my luggage and I could park in the garage. I had a very quiet, restful stay thanks to this considerate gentleman. 10 July 2014
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Dirty/Used Bar Of Soap & Dried Up Soap Drippings Left On Shower Shelf When we arrived & inspected the room we noticed on the shower shelf nearest the shower head a dirty/used bar of hotel soap & dried up soap drippings left behind from the last guest. It was so Gross! I wanted to call down to the desk & complain & ask housekeeping to come and clean it up, but my husband asked me not to because he didn't want to make a scene and make it seem like we were looking for any type of discount from our stay. My husband cleaned it up himself which we wish he hadn't of had to do. I didn't make the call, and I absolutely regret not doing so because I still think of that dirty sight. It could of been avoided if someone would of double checked their work before the room was released to us. There are so many choices of hotels in DC. This was our second time staying at this Holiday Inn Capitol Hotel, and unfortunately because of this incident of our shower being unclean it will be our last. 10 July 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by impressed by room and amenities, one glitch with shower I was impressed by my regular room at this hotel -- attractive decor, nice linens, etc. The only problem I had was that the shower faucet handle was mislabeled. It has label that is supposed to help you use it, but one key part of the label ("pull to start" text) is obscured by the handle itself, and then the hot/cold arrows on the label are BACKWARDS! I stood there in the shower for a minute (morning daze) trying to figure out how to get the stupid thing to work. I nearly broke the handle off try to BEND it on, until I noticed the text hidden under the handle and simply pulled the handle straight out. Then there was the excitement with the temperature. Parking is overpriced -- they charge $37 for overnight parking, which is what the deck costs for a full 24 hours. Most guests will park for much less than 24 hours. Other than that, it was great! 09 July 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Great location The hotel was very nice. Comfortable clean room. Very close to national mall and many other DC tourist sites. Would definitely stay again. 09 July 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Great location. Frustrating accommodations. We stayed over July 4th holiday weekend. The location was spectacular. We jumped right on the green line and saw the Nationals play and walked around the corner to the Mall. The only issue we had was the inability to check-in until after 430 when check in started at 3 pm. Our reservation was made in JUne and we requested adjoining rooms with close family friends, but the best they could do at check-in was give us rooms side by side. This made it difficult when we were sharing food and drinks. We were disappointed that staff did not attempt to compensate for the inconvenience. After explaining to the hotel manager our frustrations Sam made adjustments to our parking bill which we greatly appreciated. I would go back to this Holiday Inn! 08 July 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great location and hotel Wonderful experience for our first visit to DC, prime location along with friendly staff. The only negative is that the website and info books in rooms advertise cots which our group had relied would happen. However, with recent remodeling, cots do not fit in most of the rooms anymore due to firecode regulations. We were able to work with what we had, but these things should be updated immediately. 08 July 2014
Rated 2.0 out of 5.0 by Used & Dirty Bar of Soap & Dried Soap Drippings Left Behind on Shower Shelf I wanted to call down to the front desk to complain right when we first arrived at the hotel when we were inspecting the room, but my husband didn't want to start out our three day holiday weekend stay at this hotel off by us both getting all upset. He just cleaned up the used, dirty bar of hotel soap and dried soap drippings sitting on the shower shelf near the shower head himself and discarded it. We both thought that was just so gross! We still can't get it off our minds. I absolutely regret not calling down to complain and asking them to send housekeeping to clean it up instead of my husband. I don't think anyone came in to double check the room before we checked in. This could of easily been avoided, and we would of had a better feeling with our Holiday Inn Smithsonian hotel stay this past 4th of July weekend. As it stands now this upsetting incident is the only feeling and image we have of this hotel experience. This was our second stay here, and because of this used bar of soap left behind on the shower shelf it will be our last . 08 July 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great stay Hotel clean and outstanding customer service. Rooms spacious and felt like being at home. Location was great as well as it was close too all monuments and museums. 07 July 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Convenient location near L'Enfant Plaza It was convenient to take the metro to the hotel from Reagan National Airport; I just walked around the corner to the hotel from the L'Enfant Plaza station. This hotel has a great location. I slept like a rock. Since I had to be up early, I was thankful that the a la carte snack bar was open at 6am, and I could pick up a few tasty breakfast items before heading out. 07 July 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Great upgrades and new style When originally booking this hotel, having stayed there four years ago was not excited about returning, BUT, to my delight and suprise, the hotel has been completly renovated and the rooms are wonderful, clean, up to date and the bathroom have major improvements-definitely recommend staying if visiting Washington and the Museums and Mall area. Really a GOOD experience this time aroundl, will book again in the future. 07 July 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great Location! The Holiday Inn Capitol puts the Smithsonian within comfortable walking distance and offers excellent service and comfort. 07 July 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Muy buena ubicación Muy buena ubicación y poco ruido para descansar. La pieza estaba limpia y de buen nivel. 05 July 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Wonderful stay The location one block from the Air and Space museum was amazing. We enjoyed a very comfortably, updated room . Being so near the mall and having some food choices that met kids needs on sight and right down the block was an asset to the property. The roof top pool was great and included a view of the Capitol building. Overall the hotel was a great place to rest after busy days of sightseeing. The only negative was the train noise at night. 04 July 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Convenient location with clean comfortable hotel The location is so close to the National Mall it made it so convenient to get up and go without hassle of having to get mass transportation or taxi... Love that!! The restaurant buffet and the pool were not a good experience- --the food was dry and tasteless, cheap quality, messy buffet table with foods dropped into other food bowls (olives in the cottage cheese, lettuce in the salad dressings, etc.) --the pool was dangerously overcrowded, no room to get in so we were not able to use it during our stay, we had been looking forward to cooling off from the long day in the heat and walking the National Mall... --the in-room coffee maker coffee was awful, stale(?) and undrinkable. We had to buy coffee at Starbucks during our stay. The staff was friendly and professional other then the restaurant manager, Oscar. I asked for a full refund of the dining cost $93.00 but he gave excuses and would not give me my full refund, after waiting an hour and him bringing out the chef to speak with me, he still would not refund the total amount. He said "it will take seven days to process" I said I am ok with that. then he said "I can not give you the full amount I will give you only $50.00, take it or leave it". After waiting an hour or more I finally gave in and accepted. I am still unsettled with his treatment and unprofessional attitude. 04 July 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Best place to stay with kids. We have stayed here before and loved being able to walk everywhere we wanted. Also close to metro if needed. The only complaint I would have is not getting the connecting rooms I requested for our large family. We got rooms close together, but it wasn't what I wanted. We would definitely stay here again in the future. 03 July 2014
<<prev2 3 4 5 ... 25 next>>