Select to close.
Select to close.
Email or IHG® Rewards Club # PIN
Not a member?Join Today!
Forgot PIN
All fields are required.
 
If you have forgotten or lost your Personal Identification Number (PIN), we can email your PIN to the email address in your IHG® Rewards Club account profile.
If you do not have an email address in your profile, please contact your local IHG® Rewards Club Customer Care  to source your PIN and to update your profile with your email address. When you receive your PIN you can also update your email address viawww.ihgrewardsclub.com/email.
IHG® Rewards Club # Email Address

Not a member?Join Today!
Create PIN
All fields are required.
IHG® Rewards Club # ZIP/Postal Code
First Name Last Name
Please select a 4 number Personal Identification Number (PIN) which will be used to access your IHG® Rewards Club account.
PIN Verify PIN
 
Not a member?Join Today!
Create Email
All fields are required.
Thank you. Your PIN has been created. Please enter your email address so you can use it to log into the site in the future.
Email Address Verify Email Address
 
Email Hotel Get Directions Add to Favourites Print Fact Sheet

Book this Hotel

Best Price Guarantee
1

Reward Nights

When redeeming points for a Reward Night, you may only book one room at a time.


Once you complete your Reward Night reservation you will be given the option to duplicate this reservation.

(e.g. 21 Aug 2014)
(e.g. 22 Aug 2014)
Have a Group Code?
Have a Corporate ID?
Check Availability
Processing your request...

* Requires affiliation in the respective organization.

** Best Available Rate Search does not include affiliation rates.

Select to close.

To book more than 9 rooms for one stay or request a quote, please use our Easy Meetings tool, call 1-800-MEETING (in United States, Mexico and Canada) or contact a Global Sales Office.

Close Button
Rated 4.1 out of 5 by 788 reviewers.
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by First Time Stay When looking for a hotel close to the mall we came across the Holiday Inn Capitol and felt it would work for us. What we saw from the website is exactly what we experienced when we got there. Our room looked exctly like the pictures. Everything had been recently remodeled and was brand new. The room was spacious and very clean. The ladies at the desk were very nice and answered all our questions. We checked in right at 3 so it was a little busy, but they had 3 people working the desk so things moved quickly. I'd recommended getting a parking package. It'll save you money and you can park in the underground deck. Check out is noon, but you can leave your car there till 5 on day of check-out. We ate a late dinner at the 21st Amendment restaurant, we had burgers and fries, everything was good. There are other places to eat and a little cafeteria to grab and go if you want to get something for your walk to the mall. Prices are a little high, but not break your bank. And a Starbucks on site. That made my wife happy. It is literally a 2 minute walk to the Air and Space museum. There is a Metro station a few hundred yards from the hotel. A lot of complaints about the train from other reviewers. It didnt bother us. We were gone all day and so tired at night we hardly noticed it. Would definitely stay here again. 06 August 2014
Rated 1.0 out of 5.0 by Comfortable bed only good thing about hotel Our room was to the back of the alley so I had to keep curtains closed because people walking in alley could see in my room. The drink vending machines on my floor did not work, so when I tried calling downstairs the front desk people did not pick up, the phone kept ringing. There was no book in the room that included the amenities so once again front desk did not pick up phone. So when I went downstairs I was not going to wait in line behind the people checking in. I was not even recognized as a IHG member. These are small things that could be corrected and if so then it would be an okay place to stay. 06 August 2014
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Just okay ... I was looking for a hotel within walking distance to the sites of Washington, DC, and that's about all this hotel had to offer. The food and service at the bar and restaurant were average/indifferent; the rooms were not made for relaxing (the couch was a chaise style with pleather cushions that slid all over so you couldn't relax comfortably; the TV didn't work when the plug was hit by the housekeeper (but I had to call a maintenance worker to find that out); train or boat whistles (not sure which) awakened me frequently during the night; my room wasn't cleaned the first two days I was there; and the plug in the bathroom made a sizzling noise when something was plugged in. I'm also used to staying at hotels that are more "green" than this one is. I'm used to being asked to leave a card on my sheets if I don't need my bed linens changed daily, hanging up towels that don't need to be replaced and not having my soap bars replaced daily. This hotel did not offer any of these options, but the floor did have recycling bins for certain materials (which I found by accident). On the plus side, there is a Starbucks on premise and a McDonald's and CVS pharmacy very close by. 05 August 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by location, location, location... The location is perfect for access to the mall as it is within walking distance of the museums and the Capitol. The hotel was very clean and the service was excellent with even a message from the manager thanking us for our stay and asking if we needed anything. The kids enjoyed the roof top pool. We also liked the quiet courtyard view. This also is one of few hotels which have Queen beds instead of the smaller doubles which seem prevelant in D.C. Queens are much more comfortable when travelling as a family of four so this was one of the deciding factors in choosing this hotel along with it's location. There are a few fast food restaurants next door and the hotel has a few restaurants but otherwise dining options in the immediate neighborhood are limited. Just wish the parking fee wasn't so high, although this seems to be the norm in Washington D.C. All in all the location, cleanliness and friendly service made this a great stay and I would recommend this hotel to others. 05 August 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Great service Our overall experience was great. The food in both the bar and bistro was very good (also excellent beer selection). Staff attended to our needs and were friendly. We have already recommended this Hotel to friends, who will be visiting DC in the near future. 05 August 2014
Rated 2.0 out of 5.0 by Great location! The hotel is very well appointed, and the restaurant was good. Check-in was hurried and no directions given to the elevators or room.. When reservations were made the month before our visit, we were told specifically that breakfast was included. The morning after check-in, however, we were told that due to our AAA rate, breakfast was not complimentary. The staff was not overly service oriented. 05 August 2014
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Hot Hot Hot Great location. Friendly Staff. Unfortunately our stay was sleepless due to someone's great idea to put the air conditioner on a sensor. The air only turns on when there is movement detected in the room. So, when you leave and come back, your room is stuffy. But the worse part is.....when you are trying to sleep, obviously there is no movement in the room, and therefore the air never kicks on. Our room was miserable. We literally were up all night waving our hands periodically to get the air to turn on. Made for a very frustrating stay. The bed was comfortable, but when we turned down the comforter, there was a big coffee stain, that obviously had not been washed (gross). We had house keeping change the linens. House keeping was very friendly and attentive to our immediate needs. Room service was average, but did take over an hour to arrive. (for one meal only). If you are looking to swim, go somewhere else. The pool was in need of some cleaning. Skimming especially. 05 August 2014
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Great location, if you can avoid the train noise Renovated rooms still fail to exclude interior and exterior noise, so rooms facing the railroad get blasted at 5 and 6 am as well as 11pm. Only courtyard rooms are somewhat immune. Some good craft beers in lounge when they are not all out, but $8 pints are not competitive. Tasteful interior decor. iPod docks are a nice touch but all did not function. Wall safes are a good size for laptops. Adequate hangers. Good hot and cold water. Bath is shower only, no tub. Reasonable WiFi. TV with basic cable channels but no pay movies or international channels. Friendly staff, they try to be accommodating. 04 August 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Memoriable Vacation with Grandson This was our third trip to DC and staying at the Holiday Inn. It is really nice since it was remodeled since our last stay. The location is excellent for most of the sites and the Metro, which was one of our grandson's favorite times on the trip. He got to know how to use it pretty goo and he is only 13 years old. He liked the hotel, but worried a little when he heard the sirens at night, since he comes from a small town in south central Nebraska, but he adjusted. 04 August 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great location / great property Love this Holiday Inn. It was a great location and great amenities. Restaurant, Bar, and Starbucks were all great! Staff was so helpful in negotiating Washington. 04 August 2014
Rated 2.0 out of 5.0 by Won't return I booked this location for a business trip to DC because of the proximity to my office. I will never stay there again. I attempted to book a government rate, only to discover upon my arrival that I was booked under a non-refundable rate. The hotel management was the opposite of caring and accommodating with regard to this matter. It took me 3 days to get a room service menu. There were dirty towels in my room upon arrival - wonder what else was dirty! The hotel was crowded, and the overall sense of all staff members encountered was a complete and total lack of interest in providing any customer service. I don't normally write reviews at all - take a pass on this hotel. Not worth your time or money. 04 August 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Family stay was great! Location hard to beat. Room was comfortable. Slept great on the beds. Stayed with wife and two adult children and we had plenty of room. It was only a block and a half walk to the National Mall and the Air and Space Museum. If you have an oversized vehicle, you have to park in the alley on the side of the building. I parked my Econoline there no problem, but there is limited space. Also, Starbucks right in the building and several good breakfast and lunch options in the business complex right across the street. I marked food and beverage average as I thought there were lower cost alternatives available nearby and did not use the bar or restaurant. It looked ok though. I'd recommend for consideration when staying in DC. 04 August 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great experience, excellent customer service Stayed just one night with our young daughters, while in DC to do some sight-seeing, and had an excellent experience. Alex, who was at the front desk, helped with a situation in a manner in which exceeded my expectation. Perfect location to be able to park your car, walk to all major attractions, eat a decent meal in the on-site restaurant, and not get in your car again until leaving for home. Would recommend and stay again. 02 August 2014
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Bad outweighs the good This property is on the commuter railroad. You hear trains from 5:30 AM on, and they are LOUD. Also, we found it difficult to find restaurants and bars within walking distance. A gorgeous hotel with a nice pool, but the bad outweighs the good. They also say they have a gym, but they don't. 02 August 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by clean and neat room the room was very clean and neat. Staff was polite. Pool was a great addition to our stay with two boys! Close to all Washington has to offer. Good food and good prices! 02 August 2014
Rated 2.0 out of 5.0 by Great Location, Poor Location I booked this hotel 4 months ago and asked then for an adjoining room. Was told they would handle that. Arrived at hotel at check in time and was told no adjoining rooms were available. Then was told my rooms were not available yet. When finally got to my room, the train traffic noise was too much to ask for. The trains run all hours of the night and blow their whistles. The cleaning staff still didn't have our rooms cleaned by 5 in the afternoon. When asked at check out how my stay was, I told them horrible and they just blew me off. I would not stay in this hotel ever again. 02 August 2014
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by D.C. The pool closed an hour early and my charges weren't put through until 3 days after my stay. Otherwise the room was fine. Comfy pillows & bed. The valet was nice enough to tell us how to park cheaply in D.C. The bar prices were high and it took a while to get service. 01 August 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Our seven night stay was mostly enjoyable. You have to appreciate this hotel for what it offers most, convenience. The L'Enfant Metro Plaza (take the Maryland Ave/7th St. exit after you get off) is a stone's throw away as well as a Capital Bikeshare station. What is great about the L'Enfant Metro station is that it is a major transfer stop for multiple lines and it's essentially at the center of the city if you factor in Anacostia. The Air and Space Museum is about a two-minute walk up 6th street. The lobby and the rooms are quite modern and updated. I was very impressed with the decor and darker color scheme. And of course, the pictures and frames of DC landmarks add a nice comforting touch. Even though the rooms were well kept and contemporary, the walls are a bit thin since I could hear the TV next door each and every night. The rooms come with complimentary k-cup coffee dispensers and cable TV (although non-HD channels were poor in quality). The A/C is automated where it only comes on if someone is in the room. That's nice for energy efficiency. The top floor is the ninth floor. The wifi is complimentary and the signal strength is pretty strong and stable. However, the last couple of nights, the wifi was down altogether. One would have to visit the Starbucks downstairs for internet connection of some sort. The staff here are friendly and willing to answer any questions you may have about what the hotel offers and local area amenities. It's nice that there is a "daily calendar" available near the checkout desk that meticulously lists everything, and I mean everything there is to do and see in DC from 7:00 am to midnight. There is a Starbucks directly on site as well as an upper scale restaurant (21st Amendment) and a family-oriented eatery (Capital Bistro). Kids eat free with most meals, which is nice if you have children. Buffet breakfasts and dinners are also available for additional costs at the bistro. Just down the block you'll find a CVS, Quizno's, McDonalds, an independent cafe and deli, a French bakery inside the Graduate USA building across the street, and numerous food trucks that line up along Maryland Ave and 7th St. during the work week. The nearest grocery store is a Safeway which is about 0.6 mile walk down 4th St. The Waterfront-SEU metro station is adjacent to the store if you're not willing to walk through a gentrified neighborhood. The rooftop pool is your basic rectangular size pool with the shallow end at 3 feet and the deep end at 4 feet. There is a lifeguard on duty and it closes at 10 pm. I did not notice a hot tub. There are a few tables and lawn chairs to relax, but the views of the landmarks are obscured by other taller buildings. 31 July 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Wifi The Wifi was down for the majority of our stay. This was a big disappointment! 31 July 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Close to the National Mall and L'enfant Metro stop This hotel is updated (room, beds, bathroom -everything), well staffed, with pool, basic fitness, nice central courtyard, reasonable onsite dining, adjacent to a Starbucks, within walking distance to Smithsonian and National Mall attractions, the metro and to the Bike Share system. Very convenient to attractions and great for families. Our family used the nearby bike share system to make short work of the monuments and mall attractions. We hopped on the metro at L'enfant plaza to get to other areas of town. There was some minor construction going on while we were there, and the complimentary wifi was down when we arrived, but it was up again in the morning and available for the rest of our trip. There actually is a train that ran by the backside of our 3rd floor room, but it never woke us up at night. I noticed it one morning so thought I should mention it. 31 July 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great Experience...Great Location....Excellent Overall Took my Children and Grandchildren on Vacation...Three rooms and the complete Experience was very, very good! 31 July 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Excellent Vacation My wife, grandchildren and myself had the opportunity to stay at the Holiday Inn-Capitol last week on a family vacation. I chose this hotel on recent reviews and it's location to many of the sites in DC. We were not disappointed. From the moment we arrived, the staff went out of their way to make sure our stay was exceptional. The room was spacious, clean and had all the needed amenities. (The only drawback was that we got the train track side of the hotel and even at that, it was not too much of a distraction.) The food and staff at the Capitol Bistro were excellent and they treated the grandchildren with conversation and respect. We relied on public transportation and the Metro is one block away and there is always a cab out front. Many of the sites are within walking distance, which made the hotel location great. If we make it back to DC, we will be staying here again. Thank you to all for an excellent vacation. 30 July 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by OVERALL ALL WAS GREAT, FELT VERY SAFE AND WELL TAKEN CARE OF, GREAT PRICE AND NICE AREA CLOSE TO ATTRACTIOS, COULD NOT HAVE BEEN MORE PLEASED!!!!!!!! 30 July 2014
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by TRAINS!!! We had a terrible first night,Holiday Inn unworthy! There was really a freight train running through our heads at 05.30 a.m. So take a room on the other side,where it's quieter. I didn't get a refund for the first night,but our next day was ruined because we were all 4 exhausted. That was really a shame because we only stayed 3 nights at the Holiday Inn Capitol. 29 July 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by D.C. review This was a perfect spot to stay since we were in town to visit the Smithsonian Institutes. The close availablity and the parking garage enabled us to have a worry-free visit. 29 July 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Beds very comfortable staff very helpful Our experience was great, everyone friendly and helpful. Had a bathroom problem and they solved that the next morning after a late night report. Resturant a little pricey. 29 July 2014
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by excellent location...but you pay for it Overall a great stay, and so convenient for good walking excursions to many locations. We were pressed for time so went for this option, but room and parking costs are inflated because of the location. We didn't know about DC public transport and in future would use a cheaper hotel further out but close to a metro station. We only ate once at the restaurant, Wed night buffet which was good value for $23, but sorry to say that the wait staff were the most bored, disengaged and unfriendly that we encountered in two great weeks visiting the USA. 28 July 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Best choice for dowtown I took a wild guess about a hotel in the DC area not having any personal recommendations. I chose this due to high reviews and they were correct. My son had a broken leg and we needed to be within a short walk to the major attractions. We were a block from the Smithsonian Air and Space and a quick walk to the mall. The staff was a delight and the hotel itself is gorgeous. Parking was not so easy due to the crazy arrangement of the garage but I believe its like that in most places. The staff went out of their way to make our stay perfection and the Bellman Marcus went above and beyond. We would stay here again in a minute! 28 July 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by great overall experience and great location This restaurant was wonderful. Of the Holiday Inn chain locations I've stayed in, this hotel was great! Other than the refrig. not working, the desk staff was terrific, the waiters in both restaurants cheerful, accommodating - even to our young grandchildren, and presented a good face for Holiday Inn. The pool was clean, relaxing and the rooms were cleaned well everyday. When we left a note asking for additional coffee, they appeared on the counter. Would definitely recommend to anyone. Yes it is not a cheap hotel, but you're paying for the location - and when you're playing tourist, it's great to have somewhere close to return to for a break. (1 block from Air and Space off the mall). Parking is available for additional fee, but it was easy to use and my car seemed safe! 27 July 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great location , large room One block to metro , easy walk to air and space museum and national mall. Great staff , accommodated our early check in and late check out requests. We got breakfast pkg which was a very good buffet with made to order Omelets in addition to other selections. Ask for room facing courtyard or mall not the train side. There is a large nice shower but no tub. Love the lighted magnified make up mirror . Pick up spot for trolley tour as well . 26 July 2014
<<prev 2 3 4 5 ... 27 next>>