Select to close.
Select to close.
Email or IHG® Rewards Club # PIN
Not a member?Join Today!
Forgot PIN
All fields are required.
 
If you have forgotten or lost your Personal Identification Number (PIN), we can email your PIN to the email address in your IHG® Rewards Club account profile.
If you do not have an email address in your profile, please contact your local IHG® Rewards Club Customer Care  to source your PIN and to update your profile with your email address. When you receive your PIN you can also update your email address viawww.ihgrewardsclub.com/email.
IHG® Rewards Club # Email Address

Not a member?Join Today!
Create PIN
All fields are required.
IHG® Rewards Club # ZIP/Postal Code
First Name Last Name
Please select a 4 number Personal Identification Number (PIN) which will be used to access your IHG® Rewards Club account.
PIN Verify PIN
 
Not a member?Join Today!
Create Email
All fields are required.
Thank you. Your PIN has been created. Please enter your email address so you can use it to log into the site in the future.
Email Address Verify Email Address
 

Book this Hotel

Best Price Guarantee
1

Reward Nights
When redeeming points for a Reward Night, you may only book one room at a time.

Once you complete your Reward Night reservation you will be given the option to duplicate this reservation.

(e.g. Apr-18-2014)
(e.g. Apr-19-2014)
Have a Group Code?
Have a Corporate ID?
Check Availability
Processing your request...

* Requires affiliation in the respective organization.

** Best Available Rate Search does not include affiliation rates.

Select to close.

To book more than 9 rooms for one stay or request a quote, please use our Easy Meetings tool, call 1-800-MEETING (in United States, Mexico and Canada) or contact a Global Sales Office.

Close Button
Rated 3.9 out of 5 by 70 reviewers.
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by need up dating and better beds. needs a deep cleaning too Need to deep clean rooms and new beds. Nice staff and great service, bar and restaurant is a plus. December 14, 2013
Rated 1.0 out of 5.0 by Great maid service, poor management This is the only hotel that I have ever been to that charges you for coffee in the lobby. The hot tub was luke warm and slimy. There was a barking dog on our wing. The girls serving breakfast were over worked leaving customers with poor food, no silverware while management stood by and watched. While hoping for a romantic weekend with my spouse we were disappointed that our room was directly above the service desk. Customers should be warned about that room. The noise coming from the lounge bar kept us up late. I would not recommend this hotel. I hope management contacts me for a discount as the honorable thing to do. December 6, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Thanksgiving weekend Chose the holiday Inn alton as a central meeting point for family in northern il and tx. Couldn't have asked for a better stay, staff was very attentive and rooms were clean. The lounge and restaurant were a nice bonus during downtime. Thanks for a great stay. December 3, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great Service The staff was remarkable. Exceptional service. Would absolutely recommend this hotel. November 24, 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Online advance purchase pricing excludes breakfast buffet I was really happy to see the advance purchase/online pricing option when I made my reservation. But I was really disappointed to find out that the reduced price also included reduced service - the nice breakfast buffet was not included with the reservation. It seemed like a cheap move on Holiday Inn's part and I was very disappointed. The staff is always great in Alton and I enjoy the amenities at the hotel, including the pool, hot tub, exercise room, pub, and restaurant. The room is always comfortable, though the valance and the air intake were rather dusty on this stay. November 5, 2013
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Perhaps the best option in Alton? I've stayed here a couple of times and they have done a good job with an older property to make it feel newer. The noise level in the room is higher than I think it should be and the HVAC doesn't allow a continuous fan to help mask out noise from the hallway and neighbors. I ended up tuning the radio to static to cover it up so I could get to sleep. There is good hot breakfast every day. Nothing fancy but a typical buffet approach. This may be the best option for a hotel in Alton but the price still seems high for what you are getting in this area. To get prices for this trip, a call to the front desk for a price yielded an different answer (higher $ and lesser room type) than the online offer, so I used the latter. The first time I stayed there, the opposite approach (front desk) produced the better price. October 30, 2013
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Clean and comfortable but nothing special. The room was clean, the area felt safe and it was exactly what I expected, no surprises. The breakfast was hot and the staff was very friendly. The negatives were that the address was not recognized by my GPS (led me to the wrong place). The lobby smelled like chlorine from the indoor pool. I got the room directly above the foosball table, which was very loud on a Friday night and the room was not sound proof. I imagine all the rooms overlooking the lobby/pool area are vulnerable to noise. October 30, 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Good, with exceptions First, I found the staff to be very friendly. Second, as others have noted, the lack of an automatic entry door does seem rather short-sighted. Third, if you NEED the internet, their service is LOUSY! HORRIBLE! It isn't wireless, which is fine (although I did find a weak wireless signal), but it is so painfully slow I couldn't get work done. I have Verizion wireless which I can hop onto, but that signal (both internet and phone) was even bad, which has been a very rare experience for me. Forth, the fan on the heater was loud, even on low. It was pretty obvious that it needed service. It was very distracting while trying to sleep and watch TV. Thankfully, it wasn't cold enough to need it, so I just turned it off. I could, however, hear the heating units from neighboring rooms. October 29, 2013
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Ok, rooms Staff were good. Breakfast was good. Question the cleanliness. October 21, 2013
Rated 1.0 out of 5.0 by Horrible treatment My initial impression of the hotel was less than a warm and fuzzy (no one open manual doors when you have lots of luggage, yet they are 3 or 4 people SITTING behind the counter) My issue was is more with the night manager. I was burying my wife on 10/10/2013. When I returned to my room I received a call from the front desk from an employee named Mark (he refused to give me his last name) he said "I you don't shut you dog up your out" I asked what he was talking about, he said my dog barked intermittent that and was bothering people. I proceeded to question his professionalism and he hung up. Next I received a call from the night manager and was accused of abusing his employee, He was rather loud and obnoxious. He stated I was no longer welcome and asked me to leave. Which I did. First this is not a pet friendly hotel period. Secondly, in a very stressful time in my life, to be treated as "trash" is unexceptionable. The night manager knew why I was there. He asked me when in. I will never stay at this establishment again. October 13, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by A hidden gem. A bit off the "straight thru" journey for cross-country travelers, but this is a great stop for St. Louis visitors. Well worth the slight detour. Excellent dining room and the complimentary breakfast buffet for IHG members was a delight. October 10, 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Good except for sheets The sheets on the bed were so worn, they looked stained. We asked for new and the man who brought them up to us showed us that they were worn. He said he gets complaints about them several times a week. You should not be putting old, worn sheets on the bed. October 1, 2013
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by last stay Room was fine. Staff was positive. Restaurant was out of pork chops for dinner. A free appetizer sounds nice, until its limited by no choice and rather weak provided choice. 3 crackers with a topping. Not much of a way to say thanks for the business... I usually do not respond to these evals but, disappointing. September 21, 2013
Rated 2.0 out of 5.0 by Needs upgrades - badly This is an older Holiday Inn in need of some updates. I love the atrium area but the front doors aren't automatic so you have to wrestle your luggage through the doors. It's a real pain and several other guests agreed with me. One employee even joked to me that it entertained them to watch guests struggle with it and agreed that automatic doors should have been installed years ago. I like the sports bar - it had a nice layout and the staff was very friendly. They had issues with their dish service so could only view the local channels. Supposedly that was a rare occurrence but certainly hurt business since the place was empty on a football Sunday at 2pm. The room looked and felt old and needs an update - the motel I stayed in the night before for half the price was in better condition. At least the bed was comfortable and the remote worked. They have free Internet but it is not WiFi - each room has a router with a LAN cable you can connect to your laptop. That would be fine except my router was having issues and I never was able to connect to the network. I'm a software engineer and know how to troubleshoot networking issues but I never could get it to work. I'm not a picky person normally and this is only the second hotel review I have ever written but some issues like the manual doors irritated me enough to take the time to write one. This would be a very nice hotel if they spent some money on updates - maybe in a few years I'll stay here again to see if this review helped. Until then I'll stay elsewhere. Hope this review helps! September 20, 2013
Rated 2.0 out of 5.0 by Subpar vs other Holiday Inns This is an older Holiday Inn in need of some updates. I love the atrium area but the front doors aren't automatic so you have to wrestle your luggage through the doors. It's a real pain and several other guests agreed with me. One employee even joked to me that it entertained them to watch guests struggle with it and agreed that automatic doors should have been installed years ago. I like the sports bar - it had a nice layout and the staff was very friendly. They had issues with their dish service so could only view the local channels. Supposedly that was a rare occurrence but certainly hurt business since the place was empty on a football Sunday at 2pm. The room looked and felt old and needs an update - the motel I stayed in the night before for half the price was in better condition. At least the bed was comfortable and the remote worked. They have free Internet but it is not WiFi - each room has a router with a LAN cable you can connect to your laptop. That would be fine except my router was having issues and I never was able to connect to the network. I'm a software engineer and know how to troubleshoot networking issues but I never could get it to work. I'm not a picky person normally and this is only the second hotel review I have ever written but some issues like the manual doors irritated me enough to take the time to write one. This would be a very nice hotel if they spent some money on updates - maybe in a few years I'll stay here again to see if this review helped. Until then I'll stay elsewhere. Hope this review helps! September 20, 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Nice hotel and great staff Staff was friendly and helpful. Room was clean and quiet. September 20, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Our special sercustances stay I wasn't sure how things were going to turn out for my family and best friend when we booked at this hotel but it was awesome. My best friend and I have undergone some serious surgeries and she is currently in chemo treatments causing her body not to detoxify itself as others do. So perfumes and average chemicals used to clean and do laundry actually harm her. I contacted the hotel upon my reservation and asked them if there was anyway they could make the room as chemical free as possible to accommodate her condition and even though they were unsure if they could make it perfect for her they assured me they would do what they could. I am happy to say they did great and our stay went off without a hitch and my friend did not get sick. The manager and staff at this hotel really do care about your comfort and go beyond their job to make it happen. Thank you very much management and staff of the Holiday Inn Alton! September 16, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Good deal. Usually l can't get a room on the weekends. The rate the weekend I stayed was a Great deal. Had a lot more amenities than the other motel I looked at. That were alittle cheaper. Nice rooms and staff nice here. Usually full on the weekends. Only thing as a bump in the road was someone didn't flush the toilet before they left. But a quick flick of the handle and as good as new. No big deal. September 11, 2013
Rated 1.0 out of 5.0 by Making the reservation for my guest for a Family Reunion I made reservation for two rooms, one for three nights and another for two nights to accommodate any of my relatives who were coming in town for the reunion. I was told the Continental Breakfast was free and explained that different ones would be using the rooms except one family would use one of the rooms for two nights. Apparently this was not communicated to staff as my quests were unhappy with me that their Continental breakfast cost them almost $7.00 dollars each including the childs. Nex when the family that stayed for the two nights all the rooms were cancelled for Sunday night. I anticipated a problem before the family went to their rooms. Sure enough this was when I learned that the rooms had been cancelled. I had to reserve a room, but only one as the cost was now more than quoted to me. I will know when my credit card summary comes at the end of the month if I was charged for the two rooms for Sunday night, my quess is that i will be. I will reserve rooms at another Hotel for quests coming into town to visit in the future. September 4, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Lots of fun! Normally, hotels aren't considered "fun." But this one definitely falls under that category. We got back from a day on the water and hit the swimming pool until they kicked us out, then we walked into the bar and they had karaoke setup. The drinks were dirt cheap and the service was really good. It was one of those nights you never forget - when everyone is just having a really great time. In the morning, we had a cheap buffet before we left. The shuttle picked us up from the Marina and dropped us off at the marina the next morning for free - and both drivers were extremely friendly. This hotel has pool tables, video games - I mean, you name it they have it! Next time we drive down to Alton/Grafton area, we're definitely staying here again! September 4, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by HOLIDOME This is the best place to take a family. it includes breakfast and the buffet has everything on it. Great to take a family for the weekend. August 28, 2013
Rated 1.0 out of 5.0 by Very Disappointed This hotel is severely in need of remodeling! The roof trusses in the public area are rusting as are the sky lightes in the public area. The hotel smelled musty. The first room assigned to us smelled of smoke and faced the indoor pool so it was also very noisy. The second room at least did not smell but it was very worn. The wallpaper was peeling, the rug was grimy, and the furniture needed repair. All the hot items on the breakfast buffet were cool or cold. The staff attending the breakfast buffet made us feel that we did not want to touch the food. This hotel is far from what we expect from the Holiday Inn Brand!! The desk staff were nice but that is not a reason to stay at this hotel until it is remodeled!!! August 22, 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Great service Reservation staff so helpful giving us a great deal on two rooms since they were sold out on a room to accommodate our family of four. Housekeeping staff was very friendly and helpful bringing rollaways for our boys. It was nice to stay right there and eat dinner even though they were out of several items the service as great the waitress was friendly we had a nice conversation. August 21, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Our annual trip We make an annual trip to the Alton/St. Louis area every Summer and always stay at the Alton Holiday Inn. We've always been happy there. The rooms are comfortable, the breakfast is delicious and the staff is so nice. August 21, 2013
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Room was OK. Restaurant is OK for Breakfast but NOT OK for dinner Room is OK. There was smell of chlorine in the room from the indoor pool in the atrium. The restaurant is good for quick breakfast specially the omelet stall and fresh fruit. I was served burnt pizza and stale fruit juice for dinner. People did not even care to correct it when complained. August 19, 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Weekend getaway Overall we had a nice time. The room was comfortable and clean. There was a fridge in our room but no microwave. We found that to be a little inconvenient. Wish they would allow the last hour of swim time for Adults only! We had an issue with the room next door screaming and partying. When we brought this issue to the attention of the desk clerks they were quick to deal with the situation! August 16, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Quiet Corner Room and helpful staff We were pleased to stay in the quiet corner room on the 4th floor. We heard very little noise during our stay. The breakfast was always great and the staff was helpful. August 4, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Wonderful Weekend! My stay was for the weekend (Friday through Sunday) and I can say that I enjoyed the atmosphere, facilities, services and the room accommodations. The staff made checking in very welcoming and simple. I was attending a family reunion event and many of our dining experiences were away from the hotel. I did have breakfast at the hotel one day and found that to be really good. Execellent service, excellent stay and excellent value! August 3, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Outstanding Staff I travel for work and stay at several different hotel chains. When I checked into this Holiday the staff was above and beyond from the check in, to the restaurant, even the morning breakfast crew where shutting everything down and a couple came up after the hours and the crew - with a smile put everything back and made them breakfast!!!! It was so nice to see GREAT SERVICE from all of them! July 31, 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Loved the King size bed, wanted to know the name of the mattress. The hotel at Alton was very nice, clean, comfortable king size bed. The food was really good in the restaurant. If we go to the water park in Grafton will definitely stay at this Holiday Inn again. July 31, 2013
<<prev2 3 4 next>>