Select to close.
Select to close.
Email or IHG® Rewards Club # PIN
Not a member?Join Today!
Forgot PIN
All fields are required.
 
If you have forgotten or lost your Personal Identification Number (PIN), we can email your PIN to the email address in your IHG® Rewards Club account profile.
If you do not have an email address in your profile, please contact your local IHG® Rewards Club Customer Care  to source your PIN and to update your profile with your email address. When you receive your PIN you can also update your email address viawww.ihgrewardsclub.com/email.
IHG® Rewards Club # Email Address

Not a member?Join Today!
Create PIN
All fields are required.
IHG® Rewards Club # ZIP/Postal Code
First Name Last Name
Please select a 4 number Personal Identification Number (PIN) which will be used to access your IHG® Rewards Club account.
PIN Verify PIN
 
Not a member?Join Today!
Create Email
All fields are required.
Thank you. Your PIN has been created. Please enter your email address so you can use it to log into the site in the future.
Email Address Verify Email Address
 
Email Hotel Get Directions Add to Favorites Print Fact Sheet

Book this Hotel

Best Price Guarantee
1

Reward Nights
When redeeming points for a Reward Night, you may only book one room at a time.

Once you complete your Reward Night reservation you will be given the option to duplicate this reservation.

(e.g. Jul-12-2014)
(e.g. Jul-13-2014)
Have a Group Code?
Have a Corporate ID?
Check Availability
Processing your request...

* Requires affiliation in the respective organization.

** Best Available Rate Search does not include affiliation rates.

Select to close.

To book more than 9 rooms for one stay or request a quote, please use our Easy Meetings tool, call 1-800-MEETING (in United States, Mexico and Canada) or contact a Global Sales Office.

Close Button
Rated 4.2 out of 5 by 66 reviewers.
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Stay there do not eat there. Decor is outdated but rooms are clean. Beds are comfortable. The restaurant is not well managed. Most every meal had some issue. Stale noodles on salads, cold cinnamon roll pancakes. french fries instead of onion rings. Eat somewhere else. If you are travelling by yourself the $10 breakfast is not worth it, unless you eat a really large breakfast. June 10, 2014
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Privacy issues - restaurant rather than complementary breakfast Privacy for regular hygiene at sink - NONE No complementary breakfast or discount in the restaurant for business guests or Seniors. Having grown accustomed to these things in other motels of lesser price that were easily as clean and comfortable and friendly - even other Holiday Inn Express motels-this one disappointed. June 10, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great new pillows and terrific service I loved the new, longer pillows that had "soft" or "firm" embroidered on the pillowcase. There were two of each, and I would buy them myself if I knew where they came from. The hotel, as usual, was a warm and hospitable place to stay. A lot of that is due to the genuine caring and friendly staff. Joel, Bailey, Jake, Tanner, Cody, Kara Lynn, Adangia, and everyone else on staff were truly caring and makes the hotel very special. I love having a microwave and a mini fridge so that I can eat most meals in my room and save money on eating out. The entire staff, including the maintenance men, helps make the Holiday a winner. June 8, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Front desk The ladies at the front desk were polite, courteous, and helpful with dining suggestions. They also knew their city. June 6, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Bailey is what made my experience excellent!!!!!!!! If you decide to stay at this hotel, please make sure you give Bailey a "Great job" for me. Bailey was extremely helpful and went above and beyond, which most everyone knows, has been lacking in the service industry lately! Joel, the manager on site at the time was the same as Bailey. Worked very well with me and the questions I had, responded very quickly and promptly. This Holiday Inn is by far the BEST I have stayed at anywhere and I believe should be the benchmark for customer service for the whole chain! Thank you guys, you made my stay enjoyable and I hope to be back soon! May 20, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Ames Holiday Inn Review Love this hotel. We always use it as our base hotel for our annual convention! May 11, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Great Place to Stay I highly recommend staying at this Holiday Inn in Ames especially for families traveling with small children. The staff was friendly and helpful. The hotel has a wading pool that is 6" deep, which is perfect for small children. The rooms were very clean. I recommend checking out the Holiday Inn in Ames the next time you need a place to stay in the greater Ames area. May 5, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Another Excellent Stay I stay here for business and I have never had a bad experience at this hotel. The staff is friendly and the rooms are always clean. The hotel's location is close to many amenities and the ISU campus. If you are looking for an affordable, comfortable place to stay with a friendly staff, this is the place for you. I highly recommend getting up early to chat with Sherri in the morning. She is always friendly and get's your day off to a great start. April 30, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Work out facilities Very very very poor work out facility. Machines old and not useable. Hotel clean and staff friendly. April 22, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Excellent staff, home away from home As usual, the staff at this hotel was the epitome of customer-oriented. This is our third time staying at the Ames Holiday Inn Conference Center and we have never left dissatisfied. This facility is the "total package" for the hospitality industry. We will not stay at any other hotel in Ames. April 14, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by It was Awesome!! Have been to Ames many times, but this is the first time we stayed here, will definitely stay here again. Very nice staff, very comfortable, quiet rooms. A very enjoyable night. Thank you!!! April 1, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Waitress in Cafe was helpful. The young lady that waited on me was very helpful. I had a migrane coming on and trouble focusing. She said she would be glad to bring my salad up to my room so I didn't have to wait. I needed to get to a dark area and lay down.....so I took her up on it. She deserves a pat on the back for being customer friendly! March 31, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Reservations The only complaint I have is that a couple of days before our stay someone from the hotel called to verify that I actually wanted 2 rooms. They left a voicemail but didn't leave a name. When I called back, no one knew what I was talking about. I called back a couple of hours later to confirm my reservation because I was concerned & evidently there was a note that on my reservation about the original call. It created a lot of anxiety because it was a busy weekend in Ames. I have never had that happen before. March 26, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Friendly service above the call of duty Every employee that I came in contact with was friendly and helpful. The room was very clean and comfortable. When I checked out I accidentally left my ipad there. Before I even discovered the loss, the hotel staff had called me to let me know they found it, and since I was already at the airport, they shipped it to my home. I was very impressed with my experience there. March 12, 2014
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by What's with all the fake plants? The room had a minimun of 3 fake plants that hadn't been dusted in quite some time. I rounded them up so as to not sleep next to them or have to look at look at the dirt on them. I wanted to put them in the shower but was afraid I'd damage their appearance and be charged for them. The ledge around the top of the shower had at least a quarter inch of dust as well. Rest of the room was ok but the fridge and microwave were in a rather worn piece of furniture with loose cupboard doors. There was an obvious place for a fridge over by the sink but the new fridge must not have fit in that spot designed for it hence the mismatched furniture. I told the staff at checkout about the dirty fake plants and dusty shower and she looked at my room number and said, "I 'll let the staff know to clean that room real good". I could only reply, "Yes that would be nice and maybe you could ask them to do a few others while they're at it." The lobby is full of fake dusty plants as well....there was even one right in front of us(as I pointed out) on the desk -full of dust - yuck! March 4, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Almost Like Home As always, I stayed at this Holiday Inn while I was in Ames visiting my mother and getting my house ready for sale. The staff was wonderful, as usual, and worked me in on two nights that I didn't realize ahead of time that I would need. I love the new table they have set up in the mornings with a staff member serving coffee, tea, hot chocolate with mini marshmallows and biscotti. Great idea. The cleaning staff was great, including Melissa and Adangia; front desk went out of their way as usual; Joel, Bailey, Carol and others who were newer to the position. The restaurant staff are also always friendly. February 26, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Nice general place to stay Nice general place to stay. Great pool and hot tub with a small workout facility. Too much snow and too cold but not their fault, lol... Beds are ok not greatly comfortable. TV has gotten better over the last few weeks. February 12, 2014
Rated 2.0 out of 5.0 by Don't Go After I got into my 3rd room I got to unpack completely! 1st one TV didn't work. 2nd one there was a suitcase under the sink. Front desk lady said someone had requested that room. Had to move again to a 3rd room! The TV didn't work in the morning again!! I won't stay there again! February 8, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Great place to relax and great people I come to this hotel at least twice a year for a "girls weekend" and the people at the desk and in the café/bar remember me. To me that is phenomenal considering how many people come and go through this hotel! The room is very comfortable and the service is great! I highly recommend this hotel to anyone. The price is right; not to pricey for a single parent. For our weekend there, they feed us lunch. The café is not opened until 5 p.m. but they cater us a small meal and a very reasonable cost. I think this goes above/beyond the call of duty. February 5, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Comfortable Place A comfortable place, nice hot tub and pool and work out facility. Some very nice people work there. Some loud noise as I am working when I live there and have to get up early. The room is set up well in 119, less so in other rooms. TV channels are not labeled well and there is over 100 channels with no idea of what we can watch. HBO is not active... The cleaners are great and nice. February 5, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Good Hospitality I was impressed with the service, the customer service were very good. December 9, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Centrally located to everything. only complaint was I ordered oatmeal for breakfast in my room and it came with nothing except frozen blueberries... no milk, sugar, brown sugar.. nothing!! Other than that it was a great stay December 3, 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by nice place The rooms were decent, the restaurant/ bar area could use an upgrade since there really isn't any establishments within walking distance. Overall it's a nice hotel. November 25, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Nice stay Unfortunately the hot tub didn't work. Otherwise the stay was very nice. November 13, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great customer service and accomodations! I highly recommend Holiday Inn as a great place to stay while traveling. October 18, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great Hotel-great service We stayed here while we were visiting ISU and would definitely stay here again should our son choose to go to school there. October 17, 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Clean, new, friendly, close to campus I was in town for a conference, this hotel has easy access to Highway 30, so arriving late means not having to drive through the streets of Ames looking for it. The staff was a very friendly and helpful. As a Rewards Member I did receive a coupon for $4 off breakfast. At breakfast we were running late and mentioned it to the waitress. She said she would tell the chef and see if our meal could be out quicker and she brought our check shortly after our meal arrived to speed our exit. Walking trails are very nearby so my outdoor run was easily planned; the fitness center is small and cramped. Free coffee and USA Today in the lobby each morning was a plus. The HVAC unit does not have a setting for the fan to be just ON. So overnight it shuts on and off. It is, however, not as loud as many other locations I've stayed at - I was still able to get a good night's sleep. October 15, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Always Stay Here When in Town! This Holiday Inn remains my favorite of any Holiday I've stayed at. Carol, Joel, Bailey, Kara Lynn, Andrew, Nicholas and the rest of the staff are all professional, kind, and truly caring. My latest stay was very long because my house was having work done, and then I had a fire there. All of the staff went out of their way to make sure I had everything I needed and sympathized and listened to my tales of woe! Holiday Inn was certainly my "home away from home" this time. They have some new people on that were training while I was there, and they were great, too. Thank you, Holiday. October 12, 2013
Rated 1.0 out of 5.0 by More of a 2-star motel at best I don't want to spend too much time on this review as it may take for ever to go through all the details. I however will simplify my review by saying that this hotel should be rated as a 1-star motel, or 2-star in best case scenario and if you are very generous. Simply put, literally imagine a 1-star motel and that's what you'll get from this hotel. I've stayed in many hotels across the US, and stayed in multiple hotels in Ames as part of my job. By far, this is the worse stay I have ever had in anywhere. One specific thing that is worthy of noting is the smoking/non-smoking rooms. I have never seen a respected hotel that still offers such a thing. What made it even worse is that the vents in my non-smoking room were constantly blowing cigarette-smelling air to the point that I had to leave the room multiple times for a fresh air. If quality is not your primary goal, then save you money and stay in a 1-star motel, and if you want to spend the amount of money this hotel charges, you are better off with other 3-star hotels. October 9, 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Nice and Close to ISU I choose this property based on its closeness to Iowa State. I was in town on business and was going to be at the University two days. I checked in late at night and the two guys (students) behind the counter were quick and efficient and very nice. I received a small snack pack (water and chips) and some complimentary drink tickets (which I didn't get to use, because I missed the times). My room was good, nice and clean and large. I was on the second floor in one of the rooms overlooking the lobby. While that was fine, there were a few large groups of people there that stayed up quite late on a Wednesday and Thursday night and I could hear everything. I did have dinner in the small bar/restaurant one night because it was pouring rain and my sandwich was good. Nothing special but it was good and the bartender was very nice. I would stay here again, when I pass through on business again. October 8, 2013
<<prev2 3 next>>