• English  English
    Select to close.
    Current Settings are:
      /  English

    Change Preferences:
    Country of Residence:
    Available Languages:
  • |
  • |
  • |
  • 1 888 HOLIDAY
Select to close.
Select to close.
Email or IHG® Rewards Club # PIN
Not a member?Join Today!
Forgot PIN
All fields are required.
 
If you have forgotten or lost your Personal Identification Number (PIN), we can email your PIN to the email address in your IHG® Rewards Club account profile.
If you do not have an email address in your profile, please contact your local IHG® Rewards Club Customer Care  to source your PIN and to update your profile with your email address. When you receive your PIN you can also update your email address viawww.ihgrewardsclub.com/email.
IHG® Rewards Club # Email Address

Not a member?Join Today!
Create PIN
All fields are required.
IHG® Rewards Club # ZIP/Postal Code
First Name Last Name
Please select a 4 number Personal Identification Number (PIN) which will be used to access your IHG® Rewards Club account.
PIN Verify PIN
 
Not a member?Join Today!
Create Email
All fields are required.
Thank you. Your PIN has been created. Please enter your email address so you can use it to log into the site in the future.
Email Address Verify Email Address
 

Book this Hotel

Best Price Guarantee
1

Reward Nights
When redeeming points for a Reward Night, you may only book one room at a time.

Once you complete your Reward Night reservation you will be given the option to duplicate this reservation.

(e.g. Apr-21-2014)
(e.g. Apr-22-2014)
Have a Group Code?
Have a Corporate ID?
Check Availability
Processing your request...

* Requires affiliation in the respective organization.

** Best Available Rate Search does not include affiliation rates.

Select to close.

To book more than 9 rooms for one stay or request a quote, please use our Easy Meetings tool, call 1-800-MEETING (in United States, Mexico and Canada) or contact a Global Sales Office.

Close Button
Your Recently Viewed Hotels

About our Hotel

Location: Suburban

  • Location: Suburban
  • Closest City: BUFFALO
  • Distance From Hotel: 12.0MI
  • Local time zone: GMT-04:00

Check In: 3:00 PM Check Out: 12:00 PM

  • Check In: 3:00 PM
  • Check Out: 12:00 PM
  • Minimum check-in age: 21
  • Late checkout available

Credit cards

Credit cards

  • American Express
  • Carte Blanche
  • Diners Club
  • Discover
  • Master Card
  • Visa

Accessibility

Accessibility

  • Number of Rooms:7
  • Parking
  • Service Animals Allowed

Languages

Languages

  1. English

Pet Policy

Pet Policy

No Pets Please. Guide Dogs or Service Animals are allowed with documentation.

What's Nearby

What's Nearby

Attraction:
Prime Factory Outlets
Distance From Hotel:16.0MI
Attraction:
Buffalo Bills - Ralph Wilson Stadium
Distance From Hotel:22.0MI
Attraction:
Northtown Center at Amherst
Distance From Hotel:3.0MI
Attraction:
Niagara Falls, Shopping, Canadian Border, Parks
Distance From Hotel:15.0MI

Parking

Parking

  • Number of parking spaces:343
  • Car Parking Available
  • Ample outdoor space for buses, RVs and trucks.

Internet

Standard Internet Service

Standard Internet service is free for all guests
Wireless Internet available in Standard Rooms,Executive Rooms,Suites,Business Center,Public Areas

Facility

Facility

  • Hotel renovated inFebruary 01, 2011
  • Total number of rooms:199
  • Total number of suites:1
  • Total number of rooms with only one bed:105
  • Total number of rooms with only double beds:94
  • Total number of non-smoking rooms:199
  • Total number of rooms for the physically challenged:7
  • Interior corridor
  • Total number of floors:2

Amherst Hotel's Location Provides Great Opportunities

Ideally situated between Buffalo and Niagara Falls, the Holiday Inn® Buffalo - Amherst hotel's location in Amherst, NY affords easy access to big business and excellent entertainment. Here, patrons enjoy numerous opportunities to work and play, in addition to pleasant, peaceful surroundings.

The hotel's location in the Buffalo, NY area ensures a convenient commute to the city's business district for business guests. Companies
View More

Amherst Hotel's Location Provides Great Opportunities

Ideally situated between Buffalo and Niagara Falls, the Holiday Inn® Buffalo - Amherst hotel's location in Amherst, NY affords easy access to big business and excellent entertainment. Here, patrons enjoy numerous opportunities to work and play, in addition to pleasant, peaceful surroundings.

The hotel's location in the Buffalo, NY area ensures a convenient commute to the city's business district for business guests. Companies like General Motors, General Electric and Praxair, as well as a number of business parks, are nearby. The free shuttle service can take guests to and from the Buffalo / Niagara International Airport (BUF).

Great entertainment is another benefit of this hotel's location in the Buffalo, NY area. Along with attending professional sporting events, guests can go skating at the Northtown Center at Amherst Ice Rinks, Hockey Outlet or Holiday Twin Rinks. College visits to the University of Buffalo, Niagara University, Buffalo State, DYouville, Canisius College and ECC, home of Flickinger Aquatic Center, also promise fun.

The Holiday Inn® Buffalo - Amherst hotel provides a Fitness Center or free access to Bally Total Fitness. A large indoor pool is a great places to cool down during your stay. Visit Amherst, and see what makes this hotel's accommodations the preferred choice.

View Less
Features
This hotel sits perfectly in Amherst, NY between downtown Buffalo and Niagara Falls, NY. The location provides easy access to some of the best entertainment areas in Western New York.

Guest Reviews

Rated 3.7 out of 5 by 118 reviewers.
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Best showers and warm beds The staff is very friendly. We were spoken to by every employee we passed. It was very cold outside, but the room was comfortable. This hotel has great showers that are somewhat unique. December 3, 2013
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Aging Quickly I don't think the hotel is very old (4 yrs.?) but it is aging quickly. In my particular room, the furniture had stains and the bathroom was showing moisture damage. The hallway carpets were stained with something that dripped about 20 feet as it was carried. The matress was overly soft on the night stand side and rock hard in the middle. I really did not like the plastic matress cover underneath the bottom sheet. The staff was very pleasant . Breakfast was mixed quality. The hot items were good but the orange juice was absolutely gross. A bad plastic taste. Not sure if the bad taste was from the cups or the juice coming from the machine. Fairly expensive considering you're about a 1/4 mile from the end of the runway of the airport. November 25, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great room I stay at this holiday inn every time I fly out of buffalo airport I feel very comfortable here it is like coming home. Thank you November 24, 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Great Spot near Buffalo Airport Very nice quiet upgraded suite. Staff very helpful with info on local restaurants. No issues or problems. November 18, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great Staff! This hotel is conveniently located by the Buffalo airport with a super shuttle service. Our flight was leaving before the breakfast service startedd but the hotel staff prepared us four take away bagged breakfasts which we enjoyed at the airport. Our shuttle driver (the same one both ways) was so incredibly friendly and helpful. He loadeda and unloaded all of our suitcases and golf bags for us. I have stayed at this hotel before and will certainly stay there again. November 17, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by great location great service comfortable bed, great location,great service will be here next year November 14, 2013
Rated 2.0 out of 5.0 by Staff not very helpful. Young and inexperienced. Hot tub closed with no explanation. Room had no heat. An attempt was made to fix the problem by the bell boy! Eventually, we had to change rooms. No hot water in the lounge for the complimentary tea. No pool towels. Staff at the front desk seems young and inexperienced. Breakfast was good and staff there excellent. Overall, overpriced. November 13, 2013
Rated 1.0 out of 5.0 by Very bad experience Bugs were in my room the first night & I had to switch rooms Light made loud humming noise Gym thermostat was stuck on 85 all 3 days - no one had the key to change it Staff was friendly & tried to be helpful Very poor stay - not happy about paying for an experience that was sub standard at best November 3, 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Excellent, and friendly, staff. Nice rooms, one problem (heating not working on first night) was fixed the next morning. Staff make you feel welcome. Noise from hallway due to a number of children on our floor was annoying but this is down to the parents not the hotel. October 31, 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Very Close to the Airport Stayed here a few times when travelling in the US, this location is close to airport. Use this hotel as Sleep, Park and Fly. This hotel have a free shuttle that drop and pick up right from the airport. October 30, 2013
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 Good hotel Our stay at the Holiday Inn Express was nice. The bathroom had wallpaper coming off the wall and it was unsightly. The toiletpaper holder was loose and those are things one sees as needing repair in order to keep the hotel looking updated and clean. Overall though, we enjoyed our stay. The staff was kind and helpful, especially Jim the Shuttle driver. He went out of his way to be kind, polite and helpful. Good for him!!! October 29, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Thankful for Buffalo Airport Holiday Inn Express In returning to the BA Holiday Inn Express once again my wife and I were not disappointed in any aspect of our hotel stay . We loved the King sized bed which we found comfortable as well as the layout of the room. The breakfast offered was well prepared and presented in an appetizing way. The staff was so courteous and helpful. Whether it was the front desk clerk, the dining room or housekeeping staff we were treated with a genuine respect. We loved our shuttle van drivers--so congenial. I gladly encourage travellers to check into this Holiday Inn location--you wil lnot be disappointed. October 25, 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Great staff We booked in for the night before our flight to Vegas. The staff were amazing and very accommodating we had asked about a good place for wings and mentioned that we wanted to go to the Original wing place ...the staff recommended another place that has beaten the originals out for the last 2 years. Wow the food was great there. The manager (Mark I think) was supper nice and would stay there again before flying out of Buffalo. C.W & Family October 21, 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Great with one glaring exception Like in gymnastics, the routine can look wonderful, but everybody looks to see if you can stick the landing. I have no problem with the hotel but this deserves both a comment and an immediate change. I've stayed here before so I had complete confidence in the property, but the 'fatal flaw' in the logic came out this time. They have a policy that if you are departing before the breakfast bar starts they pack a 'breakfast to go' in a bag. That's rather useful for Buffalo as a lot of flights are early-outs, which is why you stay at this location to begin with. The problem is, believe it or not, the bags they use. There was light rain, and in getting between the parking lot, shuttle bus, and front of the airport the bag got a little damp and just disintegrated, dumping my breakfast on the airport floor. With full hands of luggage, it just got left there. Same thing happened with my traveling associate. Passengers that witnessed it said it is a common occurrence in Buffalo. Please replace the breakfast bags with something of a plastic based material that doesn't immediately dissolve in water. October 21, 2013
Rated 2.0 out of 5.0 by Did not enjoy stay I stayed at the holiday inn due to a good reputation the hotel chain has. I was very disappointed for many reasons. The beds were very uncomfortable. I was surprised to find no mini fridge and microwave in room. The staff was very tight with towels. Stains in the carpet were noticed throughout the hotel. A bottle of water for sale in the bathroom was very tacky and unsanitary. The itinerary emailed to me listed a Buell Avenue in Buffalo not Cheektowaga which sent me to a very bad area of town. The hot tub was broken. I was unable to find a cart for my luggage and had make numerous trips. I am sorry to say I did not enjoy my stay here and would not recommend this hotel to anyone. I will have to think twice before staying at another Holiday Inn. October 20, 2013
Rated 2.0 out of 5.0 by Needs an overhaul We've stayed at several Holiday Inn Express hotels in the past and always had nice rooms. This hotel was not nearly as comfortable. The air conditioner rattled a panel in the wall off & on all night; the bathtub had a large patch of rust under the faucet; room service skipped our room on the 2nd day of our stay; and the pillows on the beds were flat (all 8 of them). October 19, 2013
Rated 1.0 out of 5.0 by Would stay here again We stayed at this hotel for a hockey tournament as it was where we needed to stay through the tournament organization. We, however, would not choose to stay at the hotel. We were given a King Suite for a family of four but could not sleep the first night due to what sounded like a generator or large truck motor running over top of us all night. When we mentioned it to the front desk, they were apologetic and upon returning to the hotel after a hockey game, we were told they could not fix the noise but they would move us to another room. The room was okay but clearly not well taken care of. There was dust everywhere!! And the hot water supply was awful. Even at 5:00am you had to stand for quite some time before any hot water came out of the faucet. I found the rate that we had far too pricey....especially since we had to move rooms, on different floors I might add. Although the breakfast was good, I don't feel the price was a good one for the hassle we endured. And being Priority Club members to boot, I don't feel we received our money's worth. I don't think we will stay at the hotel again :( October 16, 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Convenient location. Property is located near airport, restaurants were within walking distance, shuttle service and staff were great. Overall property was clean, safe and bed was comfortable! October 16, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Excellent, really helpful staff We stayed just one night en route to Toronto. The hotel was clean and quiet. I cannot stress how helpful the front desk staff were, especially when we had problems returning our hire car to the airport. The free shuttle came and collected us on request, and also took us to a nearby restaurant later. A very good experience. Thank you. October 16, 2013
Rated 1.0 out of 5.0 by No communication I arrived and everything was fine. The room was great and comfortable. I want to return my rental car and they staff at the front desk said just call us and we will be there right away. They are only 2 minutes from the airport. After I dropped off my car I called and they said it would be about 15 minutes. After 30 minutes I called again and after 45 minutes I called again. It took them 50 minutes to pick me up, far from the 15 minutes as promised. I told the driver that pick me up that I was so far not impressed with the service. He comes back to me and said I can see what type of person you are. I held my temper. Who is this guy telling me who I am. If he was an employee of mine, I would have fired him on the spot. When I check in I told them I need a 4:00 AM wake up call and to make sure it is done right because I had to catch a early flight. I set the clock in the room to make sure. I did get my 4:00 AM call from the hotel. The hotel is great, I love Holiday-Inn but the way I was handled was not right, especially me being a Platinum member. The manager did call and apologized and she was adding 10,000 point to my account. October 8, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by EXCELLENT PLACE TO STAY _ THANK YOU!!! I have been working on a nearby job site for the last 5 months, and with the exception of 2 weeks when this hotel was previously booked, have stayed at thi location the entire time. The staff is, with out a doubt, some of the friendliest people I have had the pleasure of dealing with while on the road. Katy and Brenda have always been friendly, and when not servicing other customers, taken the time to chat for a few minutes. ALL the staff became my family away from my family, and I would not hesitate to recommend this hotel to anyone I know who will be traveling to or through the area. I also would be happy to stay here again if I am again working in the area, and would even stay here if I was working farther away, just for the friendly staff and the comfortable accommodations. Thank you all for making the last 5 months enjoyable. October 7, 2013
Rated 1.0 out of 5.0 by The Worst Holiday Inn Express I stay at Holiday Inn Express whenever possible. However, this one has really changed my opinion of this chain. First, the curtains in my room were torn and I could not shut them. Also, the toilet was not flushed. I asked for another room and the second room was even worse. Again, the curtains were torn. There were dirty towels in the shower, a condom in the toilet, sticky substances on the bathroom floor and the door lock was broken. This experience was absolutely terrible. I think the Motel 6 might have been a better choice compared to this hotel. I asked for a to go breakfast and did not receive it. I would not recommend this particular hotel to anyone especially those with children. October 1, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 Well Worth It! This Holiday Inn Express location is among the better of the Express locations that zI've stayed in throughout the country. From the staff to the breakfast... the Wifi to the pool, I experienced a wonderful stay. Their staff was super friendly and attentive to the needs of the traveler. Their breakfast staff was helpful and everyone there at the hotel made sure that my stay was a great one. Housekeeping was efficient and everything was simply great. I cannot say enough good things about the Holiday Inn Express in Cheektowaga! September 23, 2013
Rated 1.0 out of 5.0 by Loud And bad mattress We stayed one night and did the park and fly. This was our first stay at this holiday inn express and we were very disappointed. We had to wake early for our flight but did not sleep at all. First, the halls were filled with kids/teens running around from room to room slamming doors and screaming until late into the night. Second, we had a room with a king bed and a pull out couch for our family of four. I thought this would be fine but the mattress on the pull out was awful. It sagged in the middle and we felt the framework underneath. I would definitely not recommend staying here. We will find a different hotel the next time we fly out of buffalo! September 23, 2013
Rated 1.0 out of 5.0 by Hard Bed and Rude Staff I have stayed at many Holiday Inns and Holiday Inn expresses before. I would have to say this one was the worst. The whirlpool tub was tiny. I am not very big and I barely could fit in it. The jets were on the side of the tub so it hit my legs. The on and off button was missing. The rubber piece on the bottom of the shower door was sticking out. There was a chair in the parlor that was falling apart and I would not of felt safe to sit on it. The bed was as hard as a rock. Usually you get complementary breakfast when I stay at these hotels, not with this one. When we arrived the staff were very friendly but when we left they were not. They stared at us without saying anything and when we said we wanted to check out and hand in our room keys the man's response was "you have your bill in your hand, was there anything wrong with it", we said no and then he said well then your fine to leave. We never got a hello or good morning. They seemed annoyed with us for stopping to check out and looked at us like we had 3 heads for trying to stop at the desk to check out. I always check out at the desk because I don't want to be accused of not turning in my room keys. There was signs for a game room but there was not game room. The price we paid was not worth what we got. Overall I was not impressed with this hotel and will not be staying there again. September 11, 2013
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Average stay Besides having to basically fight with the door to open to my room and having to pull the handle up , instead if down, my stay was a typical stay at a hotel . We were kinda bummed that the jacuzzi didn't work ( it was warm and water was moving from a few jets slong the wall) but the button didnt work to turn it totally on. It was one if the reasons why we booked our stay at this place, for the jacuzzi and inside pool) . The breakfast in the morning was better than most places so that was nice and the staff was friendly . September 10, 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Just fine Staff is extremely pleasant!! Breakfast surprised us...premade omelettes, sausage patties & biscuits, made to order pancake machine, fresh hot cinnamon rolls as well as the usual continental offerings of cereal, oatmeal, fruit, toast, bagels, etc. room was fine, is a little but dated but a very obvious effort made and nothing was unacceptable, it just isn't a new hotel. One of the only hotels we could find offering rooms with 2 queen beds - that is appreciated when traveling with teenage children! My only complaint would have to be the room seemed to have a bit of a smell like it had previously been smoked in but had been tried to be heavily cleaned. A good airing out would help. The smell of cleaners was pretty strong for a person with allergies but that was my only negative thing to point out. August 31, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Friendly staff and a nice place to stay The staff were very friendly and accommodating. The rooms were comfortable and very spacious but a little out-dated. The pool was clean. The breakfast was good with a lot of selection, and the staff went out of their way to make sure you were happy. August 30, 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Mostly good. The quality of the hotel and the room were just fine. Although a room was not ready at 3:00, the front desk managed a room soon after. I observed the head of housekeeping being extremely short and impatient with other guests who were waiting for a room. That was not a good impression. August 28, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by A good rest from a very long day of business Travelling a lot lately and had to travel from Syracuse to Buffalo after a seminar in Syracuse. Comfort was what I was looking for and some peace and quiet. We heard the occasional plane take off but still very quiet. August 27, 2013
<<prev2 3 4 5 next>>
Hotel Exterior
Hotel Exterior
Select to close.
Hotel Exterior Entrance Front Desk Hotel Exterior
Select to close.