• English  English
    Select to close.
    Current Settings are:
      /  English

    Change Preferences:
    Country / Region of Residence:
    Available Languages:
  • |
  • |
  • |
  • 1 888 HOLIDAY
Select to close.
Select to close.
Email or IHG® Rewards Club # PIN
Not a member?Join Today!
Forgot PIN
All fields are required.
 
If you have forgotten or lost your Personal Identification Number (PIN), we can email your PIN to the email address in your IHG® Rewards Club account profile.
If you do not have an email address in your profile, please contact your local IHG® Rewards Club Customer Care  to source your PIN and to update your profile with your email address. When you receive your PIN you can also update your email address viawww.ihgrewardsclub.com/email.
IHG® Rewards Club # Email Address

Not a member?Join Today!
Create PIN
All fields are required.
IHG® Rewards Club # ZIP/Postal Code
First Name Last Name
Please select a 4 number Personal Identification Number (PIN) which will be used to access your IHG® Rewards Club account.
PIN Verify PIN
 
Not a member?Join Today!
Create Email
All fields are required.
Thank you. Your PIN has been created. Please enter your email address so you can use it to log into the site in the future.
Email Address Verify Email Address
 
Email Hotel Get Directions Add to Favorites Print Fact Sheet

Book this Hotel

Best Price Guarantee
1

Reward Nights
When redeeming points for a Reward Night, you may only book one room at a time.

Once you complete your Reward Night reservation you will be given the option to duplicate this reservation.

(e.g. Jul-11-2014)
(e.g. Jul-12-2014)
Have a Group Code?
Have a Corporate ID?
Check Availability
Processing your request...

* Requires affiliation in the respective organization.

** Best Available Rate Search does not include affiliation rates.

Select to close.

To book more than 9 rooms for one stay or request a quote, please use our Easy Meetings tool, call 1-800-MEETING (in United States, Mexico and Canada) or contact a Global Sales Office.

Close Button
Your Recently Viewed Hotels

About our Hotel

Location: Suburban

  • Location: Suburban
  • Closest City: BUFFALO
  • Distance From Hotel: 12.0MI
  • Local time zone: GMT-04:00

Check In: 3:00 PM Check Out: 12:00 PM

  • Check In: 3:00 PM
  • Check Out: 12:00 PM
  • Minimum check-in age: 21
  • Late checkout available

Credit cards

Credit cards

  • American Express
  • Carte Blanche
  • Diners Club
  • Discover
  • Master Card
  • Visa

Accessibility

Accessibility

  • Number of Rooms:7
  • Parking
  • Service Animals Allowed

Languages

Languages

  1. English

Pet Policy

Pet Policy

No Pets Please. Guide Dogs or Service Animals are allowed with documentation.

What's Nearby

What's Nearby

Attraction:
State University of New York At Buffalo
Distance From Hotel:1.5MI
Attraction:
Niagara Falls, Shopping, Canadian Border, Parks
Distance From Hotel:15.0MI
Attraction:
Coca-Cola Field - Bison's Baseball
Distance From Hotel:14.0MI
Attraction:
Walden Galleria Mall
Distance From Hotel:7.0MI

Parking

Parking

  • Number of parking spaces:343
  • Car Parking Available
  • Ample outdoor space for buses, RVs and trucks.

Internet

Standard Internet Service

Standard Internet service is free for all guests
Wireless Internet available in Standard Rooms,Executive Rooms,Suites,Business Center,Public Areas

Facility

Facility

  • Hotel renovated inFebruary 01, 2011
  • Total number of rooms:199
  • Total number of suites:1
  • Total number of rooms with only one bed:105
  • Total number of rooms with only double beds:94
  • Total number of non-smoking rooms:199
  • Total number of rooms for the physically challenged:7
  • Interior corridor
  • Total number of floors:2

Amherst Hotel's Location Provides Great Opportunities

Ideally situated between Buffalo and Niagara Falls, the Holiday Inn® Buffalo - Amherst hotel's location in Amherst, NY affords easy access to big business and excellent entertainment. Here, patrons enjoy numerous opportunities to work and play, in addition to pleasant, peaceful surroundings.

The hotel's location in the Buffalo, NY area ensures a convenient commute to the city's business district for business guests. Companies
View More

Amherst Hotel's Location Provides Great Opportunities

Ideally situated between Buffalo and Niagara Falls, the Holiday Inn® Buffalo - Amherst hotel's location in Amherst, NY affords easy access to big business and excellent entertainment. Here, patrons enjoy numerous opportunities to work and play, in addition to pleasant, peaceful surroundings.

The hotel's location in the Buffalo, NY area ensures a convenient commute to the city's business district for business guests. Companies like General Motors, General Electric and Praxair, as well as a number of business parks, are nearby. The free shuttle service can take guests to and from the Buffalo / Niagara International Airport (BUF).

Great entertainment is another benefit of this hotel's location in the Buffalo, NY area. Along with attending professional sporting events, guests can go skating at the Northtown Center at Amherst Ice Rinks, Hockey Outlet or Holiday Twin Rinks. College visits to the University of Buffalo, Niagara University, Buffalo State, DYouville, Canisius College and ECC, home of Flickinger Aquatic Center, also promise fun.

The Holiday Inn® Buffalo - Amherst hotel provides a Fitness Center or free access to Bally Total Fitness. A large indoor pool is a great places to cool down during your stay. Visit Amherst, and see what makes this hotel's accommodations the preferred choice.

View Less
Features
This hotel sits perfectly in Amherst, NY between downtown Buffalo and Niagara Falls, NY. The location provides easy access to some of the best entertainment areas in Western New York.

Guest Reviews

Rated 4.5 out of 5 by 47 reviewers.
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Thank You all I have been a business traveler for a good portion of the last 30 years and had many varied experiences with hotel accommodations. A few years back, I discovered the Candlewood Suites in Amherst NY.. and have not stayed anywhere else since then. I visit the property fairly regular, and am always amazed at the friendly greeting when I arrive, no matter what time of day or night. Even when there are changes in staff, the overall attitude remains the same. The quality of the experience is outstanding, from the cleanliness, to the bedding, and even the towels are far above my expectations, and very consistent. I recently announced my retirement, and happened to mention it when I checked in on my last trip, and to my amazement, when I checked out there was a greeting card signed by the entire staff waiting for me. I do belong to other frequent traveler programs, but will always go out of my way to stay here due to the outstanding overall experience. June 16, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great Value Although not a glamorous location, this hotel is great. Conveniently located. Clean, well-staffed. I love having a kitchenette. June 11, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Met all my Expectations I was there with family for a short trip to Niagara and this hotel met my expectation when I was looking to book one and also during my stay. Good one to stay with family any day. May 31, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Friendly staff Very comfortable very good for families with children May 19, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by A Warm Stay During Very Cold Weather Thank you, Thank you, Thank you, Thank you! Our stay at the Candlewood Suites in Amherst, NY was warm and comfortable. Everyone was friendly and helpful and did whatever they could to make our stay enjoyable! Thank you Jackie, Laurie, Tamra, Rene', Matt & Brad...Thank you! Our Queen Suite was clean, cozy and warm, the furnishings were in excellent condition including the kitchen and utensils; the extra spacious bathroom was amazing. The guest laundry was clean and large enough to serve several guests at a time. The fitness center was clean, spacious and operational. Thank you for the daily news and updates about weather and driving conditions. The Tuesday "Pizza" night was a bonus. Thank you all for giving our eight night stay a warm feeling! March 4, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Amazing Staff, Service, Rates and More! My experience at Candlewood Suites was incredible. I was in the midst of a stressful move for work, and everything they did to accommodate me made my difficult situation that much easier. Unbelievably friendly and accommodating staff and service, and great rates too. I would not hesitate to recommend them to any and all! February 13, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great Service! I had forgotten my jacket in closet. The Hotel found and mailed it within 2 days! January 3, 2014
Rated 2.0 out of 5.0 by Christmas stay Staff were friendly from check-in to checkout. We stayed for 4 nights and liked the location. Was close to family. The room should have been better cleaned--raisinettes under the bed, used tissues. All of which were there before we checked in. December 31, 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Affordable comfort and close to shopping Went Christmas shopping with a girlfriend and we decided to try a hotel with the kitchenette area, and we weren't disappointed. Room came with a full fridge, 2 burners, microwave and coffee pot. 2 queen size beds and an ample space for a workstation/table for dinner after a long day of shopping. Right off of the Millersport Highway - easy 15 -20 minutes from either the Fashion Outlets of Niagara - or Waldin Galleria. We will definitely be back to this location. December 5, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Truely a Tremendous place to stay I travel on business and pleasure almost every week of the year for more years than I care to remember. Of all the places that I stay, this is by far the best. Comfort, convenience, and most importantly the treatment by the staff there. I always feel welcome, when I walk in the door it is to a smile and usually they remember me by name, this is amazing considering all the people that come thru the door. I will go out of my way to stay there, and if I am in other cities, will go the extra mile to stay at this facility because of the quality, but more importantly the staff there. I will be back next week and will be bringing 9-10 of my associates. THank you and keep up the goog work October 31, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Another Successful Stay Candlewood is in a great location. Easy access to UB, local stores, Niagra Falls & Walden Galleria Mall. This has been my 5th time here due to the convenience. The staff is always cheerful and helpful. The beds are super comfy. The rooms have always been clean. I like the fact that there is a refridge/stove/microwave in room. Free wifi is always attractive to my kids! October 24, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great place to stay We enjoyed our stay. Staff was excellent...whenever we needed more towels etc, there was no problem. Coffee was always ready. We had two queen beds and the room was spacious and beds comfortable. The location is great...near many restaurants. Very clean rooms and the grounds well maintained. The staff was always very courteous! Especially Laurie..made us feel welcome. The free washers and the gym are very convenient. We will be back there again in May. October 3, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great Stay! Over the top hospitality-some of the best group of folks at the front desk I have ever seen! Especially by the GM that gave a special welcome to me for being an 'awards' member! Thanks! October 3, 2013
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Good hotel, just don't expect to get your suite cleaned This pet friendly suite hotel is conveniently located. Our suite on the third floor had a separate bederoom and nicely appointed kitchen. The central air vent is located just below the window in the living, unfortunately the sofa is also next to that window -- mkaing it very uncomfortable when the air is blowing directly on you as you sit on the sofa. The central air vent in the bedroom was just a fan coming off the central unit in the living...a noisey vent at that. We were staying four nights but, becuase it was less than a week, we didn't get any room cleaning or even extra bags for the trash cans. We "exchanged" our dirty towels at the front desk for clean ones when necessary.The doggy "walking area" was a small patch of grass behind the hotel. September 27, 2013
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by What hotel doesn't have a pool these days??? Staff was friendly and hotel was clean. Little disappointed that our room was never upgraded considering our IHG Reward level. We paid for our stay with points but have always received the complimentary upgrades in the past when paying with points. Staying there we were aware that breakfast was not provided like Holiday Inn Express and Staybridge but also there was not even a breakfast place close by. Not the best hotel for families that want to have a quick swim as there was not pool at this location Overall, ok hotel. September 25, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 Nice stay My husband and I were in Buffalo to drop our daughter off for college. The suite was wonderful. Very accomodating. We brought our dog along and he enjoyed his stay also. The suite was very clean. Bed very comfortable. Staff very personable. Green hotel which I LOVE (linens arent changed unless requested). Suite felt like home. This is our home away from home when we are visiting our daughter. We will be returning for homecoming/family wknd. Im very very selctive and complain often.....no complaints here. Thanks Candlewood!!!! September 9, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great staff and great stay Excellent staff, went above and beyond to make my stay as comfortable as possible. Friendly, curtious, and willing to to work with me, I definitely recommend this hotel to stay at when you are in the Buffalo/Niagra Falls area. September 6, 2013
Rated 2.0 out of 5.0 by Lacks Platinum Hospiatlity For me this is one of the worst IHG/Priority experiences I have had since being a loyal IHG member(platinum). When I checked in they told me there were no larger upgraded suites available even though I had a confirmed printed reservation using points that showed a larger room. The staff 1st told me that the better rooms were reserved for paying guests( not for IHG point awards) then later the next morning changed the story and just plain denied larger suite availability. The staff seemed indifferent to any courteous response over our 3 day stay and made no attempt to re-assign or find us a different room even after the 1st night, when we know larger rooms became available. I believe this has demonstrated that loyalty to IHG properties and frequent stays pays no dividend and other hotel chains value frequency/loyalty more. September 5, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Recent Stay I found the staff to be extremely courteous and attentive to my personal needs during my recent stay (08/04 through 08/30). It is a pleasure to be greeted by name and asked if there is anything needed to make your stay more enjoyable. I highly recommend this property whether your stay is an extended visit or just for one night. September 4, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by friendly staff and comfortable atmosphere Great staff, very accommodating. Very private and clean hotel. August 27, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great friendly place This was our second year for staying here and what a great clean friendly place to stay,. We have been coming up & staying in different hotels the same time of year for 10 years and I have to say these people are great! Nice clean rooms. We are already planning our trip for next August!!! No complaints at all..... August 25, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great Experience Spent a couple of nights and it was good. Front counter was very helpful. August 24, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Good trip We've stayed here before. It's convenient to the interstate, near everything we needed and close to family. We enjoyed our stay and will probably return. August 16, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Outstanding staff very accommodating and helpful Over the five nights of my stay I got to see quite a few of your staff. They are a valuable asset to the hotel. I will be looking for this hotel chain in future travels. August 10, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Exceeded our high expectations! Initially I needed to change my reservation 24 hours before our arrival...I was pleased with the courteous and helpful front desk as they cheerfully handled my request. At arrival we were greeted with even more smiles and pleasant conversation. The suite was wonderful. Clean, spacious and comfortable are a few of the words to describe it. The next morning we were again greeted and wished well by the front desk staff. I would highly recommend this specific hotel for it's ambiance and great location.. August 5, 2013
Rated 1.0 out of 5.0 by Never again. As an IHG Platnum Ambassador member having stayed all over the world, this was one of the worst hotels I have stayed at. Change your own towels, and very noisy. The room was the size of a walk-in closet. Never again. My status as a PM meant nothing. August 4, 2013
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by room key? only 1 negative.............and all else was as usual very good! room key failed on two different days............staff very cooperative, defective door key sensor is all I can figure? I will be back for my next businees trip to the area- super friendly staff- as always- felt at home immediatley. ..........not the staffs fault for key problems. June 4, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Will stay here again for Buffalo/Niagara The big room and kitchenette with full size frig were perfect for our family of 4 and the location can't be beat. We were 10-15 minutes from the Buffalo Zoo downtown, barely 25 from Niagara. Clean, Convenient, easy to find, significantly less than the competition and every bit as nice. I don't need a pool, or a free breakfast -- easy access to everything Buffalo, even as people who had never been, was key. Never got lost even once! Would definitely stay here again. May 30, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great room and great facility!! i stayed here for a couple weeks, and each week was great. rooms were very clean and comfortable. the staff was great and helpful with everything!! May 15, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great Staff We have stayed at alot of hotels in our life, but never had the friendly and helpful staff your hotel had. Thanks March 22, 2013
<<prev2 3 next>>
Hotel Exterior
Hotel Exterior
Select to close.
Hotel Exterior Entrance Front Desk Hotel Exterior
Select to close.
Have pizza and soda delivered to your room with our in-room pizza package.  Book Now!
Close
Check In
(e.g. Jul-11-2014)
Check Out
(e.g. Jul-12-2014)
Check Availability
Loading