• English  English
    Select to close.
    Current Settings are:
      /  English

    Change Preferences:
    Country / Region of Residence:
    Available Languages:
  • |
  • |
  • |
  • 1 888 HOLIDAY
Select to close.
Select to close.
Email or IHG® Rewards Club # PIN
Not a member?Join Today!
Forgot PIN
All fields are required.
 
If you have forgotten or lost your Personal Identification Number (PIN), we can email your PIN to the email address in your IHG® Rewards Club account profile.
If you do not have an email address in your profile, please contact your local IHG® Rewards Club Customer Care  to source your PIN and to update your profile with your email address. When you receive your PIN you can also update your email address viawww.ihgrewardsclub.com/email.
IHG® Rewards Club # Email Address

Not a member?Join Today!
Create PIN
All fields are required.
IHG® Rewards Club # ZIP/Postal Code
First Name Last Name
Please select a 4 number Personal Identification Number (PIN) which will be used to access your IHG® Rewards Club account.
PIN Verify PIN
 
Not a member?Join Today!
Create Email
All fields are required.
Thank you. Your PIN has been created. Please enter your email address so you can use it to log into the site in the future.
Email Address Verify Email Address
 
Email Hotel Get Directions Add to Favorites Print Fact Sheet

Book this Hotel

Best Price Guarantee
1

Reward Nights
When redeeming points for a Reward Night, you may only book one room at a time.

Once you complete your Reward Night reservation you will be given the option to duplicate this reservation.

(e.g. Sep-01-2014)
(e.g. Sep-02-2014)
Have a Group Code?
Have a Corporate ID?
Check Availability
Processing your request...

* Requires affiliation in the respective organization.

** Best Available Rate Search does not include affiliation rates.

Select to close.

To book more than 9 rooms for one stay or request a quote, please use our Easy Meetings tool, call 1-800-MEETING (in United States, Mexico and Canada) or contact a Global Sales Office.

Close Button
Your Recently Viewed Hotels

About our Hotel

Location: Suburban

  • Location: Suburban
  • Closest City: BUFFALO
  • Distance From Hotel: 12.0MI
  • Local time zone: GMT-04:00

Check In: 3:00 PM Check Out: 11:00 AM

  • Check In: 3:00 PM
  • Check Out: 11:00 AM
  • Minimum check-in age: 21
  • Late checkout available

Credit cards

Credit cards

  • American Express
  • Carte Blanche
  • Diners Club
  • Discover
  • Master Card
  • Visa

Accessibility

Accessibility

  • Number of Rooms:7
  • Parking
  • Service Animals Allowed

Languages

Languages

  1. English

Pet Policy

Pet Policy

No Pets Please. Guide Dogs or Service Animals are allowed with documentation.

What's Nearby

What's Nearby

Attraction:
State University of New York At Buffalo
Distance From Hotel:1.5MI
Attraction:
Northtown Center at Amherst
Distance From Hotel:3.0MI
Attraction:
Walden Galleria Mall
Distance From Hotel:7.0MI
Attraction:
Shea's Performing Arts Center
Distance From Hotel:14.0MI

Parking

Parking

  • Number of parking spaces:343
  • Car Parking Available
  • Ample outdoor space for buses, RVs and trucks.

Internet

Standard Internet Service

Standard Internet service is free for all guests
Wireless Internet available in Standard Rooms,Executive Rooms,Suites,Business Center,Public Areas

Facility

Facility

  • Hotel renovated inFebruary 01, 2011
  • Total number of rooms:199
  • Total number of suites:1
  • Total number of rooms with only one bed:105
  • Total number of rooms with only double beds:94
  • Total number of non-smoking rooms:199
  • Total number of rooms for the physically challenged:7
  • Interior corridor
  • Total number of floors:2

Amherst Hotel's Location Provides Great Opportunities

Ideally situated between Buffalo and Niagara Falls, the Holiday Inn® Buffalo - Amherst hotel's location in Amherst, NY affords easy access to big business and excellent entertainment. Here, patrons enjoy numerous opportunities to work and play, in addition to pleasant, peaceful surroundings.

The hotel's location in the Buffalo, NY area ensures a convenient commute to the city's business district for business guests. Companies
View More

Amherst Hotel's Location Provides Great Opportunities

Ideally situated between Buffalo and Niagara Falls, the Holiday Inn® Buffalo - Amherst hotel's location in Amherst, NY affords easy access to big business and excellent entertainment. Here, patrons enjoy numerous opportunities to work and play, in addition to pleasant, peaceful surroundings.

The hotel's location in the Buffalo, NY area ensures a convenient commute to the city's business district for business guests. Companies like General Motors, General Electric and Praxair, as well as a number of business parks, are nearby. The free shuttle service can take guests to and from the Buffalo / Niagara International Airport (BUF).

Great entertainment is another benefit of this hotel's location in the Buffalo, NY area. Along with attending professional sporting events, guests can go skating at the Northtown Center at Amherst Ice Rinks, Hockey Outlet or Holiday Twin Rinks. College visits to the University of Buffalo, Niagara University, Buffalo State, DYouville, Canisius College and ECC, home of Flickinger Aquatic Center, also promise fun.

The Holiday Inn® Buffalo - Amherst hotel provides a Fitness Center or free access to Bally Total Fitness. A large indoor pool is a great places to cool down during your stay. Visit Amherst, and see what makes this hotel's accommodations the preferred choice.

View Less
Features
This hotel sits perfectly in Amherst, NY between downtown Buffalo and Niagara Falls, NY. The location provides easy access to some of the best entertainment areas in Western New York.

Guest Reviews

Rated 4.1 out of 5 by 281 reviewers.
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Comfortable bed. Nice pool, sauna, whirlpool. We enjoyed relaxing in the pool and whirlpool after a long day of walking. The comfortable bed helped us relax and sleep good getting us ready for another day. August 18, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Excellent value for great accomodation Great deal, wonderful stay, excellent food. Definitely will recommend this to friends. The package we had was really enjoyable and relaxing. This was our only night away together this year because of business so this was a perfect getaway. August 18, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by friendly staff We stayed here 3 days,was worth the traveling time and money, very close to the falls- conveinent,breakfast was well worth the value-highly recomend it, the wait staff was extra friendly.Will stay here again if in the area. August 18, 2014
Rated 2.0 out of 5.0 by Staff is Great - Hotel is not Pull out bed was awful, bathtub was rusted, walk to hotel from the falls is awful. Front desk staff were friendly and helpful. August 17, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by holiday Inn niagara falls Aug 2014 The hotel was clean. The room was over priced compared to what we received. Holiday Inn usually offers complimentary breakfasts or kids eat free. I had to ask about this program. It wasn't offered up front. The pool hours weren't very convenient. It didn't open until 1030 am. The kids wanted to swim early and couldn't. August 16, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by convenient location, with courteous and helpful staff we thoroughly enjoyed our stay at the Holiday Inn at Niagara. The location was close to everthing we wanted to see and the pool was accesible from our room which the kids loved. My only complaint was that we had to pay 10 dollars a day for a minature refrigerater and there wasn't a microwave . Other than that we loved everything about our stay. August 16, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great overall experience at this hotel Location, room, pools, food and staff were all great. August 16, 2014
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Better Options I chose HI for my one night stay in Niagra Falls because I am an Platinum Elite member of IHG. This hotel is old and even though it has been given a face lift it shows. For example the wash rooms don't even have fans in them to exhaust the steam from a shower. For the price there are much better alternatives. I should also mention that I was not treated very well by the staff as well. while waiting in line the clerk by passed me to take care of another party. August 16, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Good location, but no falls view I had good time here and the location is great for casino night life. I thought the hotel is closed to the falls and will have the water view, but it doesn't. The hotel is a good 20 min walk to the clifton hill and have to walk down hill to the falls. August 15, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Excellent Bed A great experience, good service, excellent location! August 14, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by staff extremely courteous and helpful dining room staff willing to diffuse a touch issue August 14, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by not bad for older hotel Great location, about five minute walk to the falls (about the closest hotel), and convenient to lots of restaurants. About 10-minute walk to Clifton Hill. It is an older hotel, but reasonably well maintained. During our stay, the bed was replaced. It seemed like they were doing the whole hotel. The old one was not that bad. I can report that the internet has been upgraded and works very well. They need outlet strips and/or new lamps with plugs in the bases, because there are almost no free outlets for charging. The one day we ate breakfast there, the buffet food was cold. Can't speak much about the value, since we used points. August 11, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Great location Been staying here for years...great location...great value August 11, 2014
Rated 1.0 out of 5.0 by Awful from the start, never got better Poor customer service, dirty room, lack of caring, staff non responsive, emailed manager and he never followed up. carpet was both dirty and spotted. room aged. common areas not maintained. staff couldn't even tell us where parking lot was. don't stay here. August 10, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Average Holiday inn Rooms are ok but still no fridge and microwave in rooms. The rooms are clean and beds are comfortable. August 10, 2014
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Typical Low End Hotel I have stayed in many, many Holiday Inns over my many years of travel and this is your average 20-30 year old hotel. The hallways are dark, it has the smallest elevators I have ever been in other than the empire State Building upper deck. The soda machines took many "dollars" from me with no output. When I said something to the front desk their response was;" those are controlled by an outside company and we do not refund, you must contact them". The one redeeming point was that my particular room was such that I had a spectacular view of the nightly fireworks. All in all; a very average stay with nothing outstanding with the facility or employees. August 10, 2014
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Restaurant Staff I was pleased with both the room staff and the especially the waitress in the restaurant. I think the hotel could be updated to look more modern. August 9, 2014
Rated 1.0 out of 5.0 by Terrible Service We were really disappointed in this hotel after staying at numerous other Holiday Inn properties. When we arrived at the room there was no fridge or microwave, when requested we were informed by the staff that we would be charged for them by the day. The rooms were dingy and old, the ice machine on our floor didn't work, there was only one elevator for the whole building which made it very slow. The staff kept saying that everything that was wrong was the owner of the hotel's fault. The breakfast buffet was ice cold and when I questioned the waitress she told me that concerns had been brought to the attention of the chef many times but nothing ever gets done or changed. August 7, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by vey good location but room not soundproof Spacious room, but not soundproof, we heard every thing from the room next door and from above! One of the front desk attendant was very friendly and welcoming...too bad I didn't have her name! Very well located, walk distance from the falls and from the casino!! August 4, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Nice get away Enjoyed our stay and the location was great, would recommend this location to anyone August 4, 2014
Rated 2.0 out of 5.0 by DIsappointing. Why is it that Holiday Inns, supposedly superior to the lowly HI Express, always comes out second? Room was average, if a little shabby. Dark hallways. Ice machine broken for 3 of our 4 days. Internet was weak and intermittent - I am a Gold member and was told we were on the "best" flloor, but our view was of rooftops, not the falls as was implied in the advertising. One of the two elevators was not working at the highest traffic time - the morning. When I told the front desk the guy looked at me like I was lying. Both key cards stopped working at the time the elevator did - and we were on the top floor and had to go all the way day to get them redone. Why are there no comfortable chairs in the room? Mini fridge costs an extra $10/ day when it sould be included at all times. Hotel shop was literally never open. August 3, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Great Location Location is about a block from the falls, you cannot see directly to the falls but its just a very short walk away. Staff were very friendly and helpful. They provided a free ticket to the Skylon tower for being a Platinum Rewards member. It was a 1 night stay passing through on business but the hotel seemed clean, just dated, especially room decor. WIFI was weak and not overly fast but it was enough to do what I needed for work. August 1, 2014
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by my only issue was being charged for a regrig for which i needed to store my medicines and the lack of electrical outlets July 31, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Great Stay, Terrible Parking Stayed at the HI Niagara Falls for two (2) nights and it was very good with the exception of the parking and internet.......the Hotel was short on parking and the internet never worked the entire stay. The location of this Hotel is in the heart of the action and as such the area is very busy. When we checked in we were given a large yellow/orange parking pass that was to be displayed on the dash of the car. Long story short, there was no enforcement of people parking in the lot and then heading to the Casino or wherever, knowing they could avoid paying for parking. When we did leave the Hotel in our car we spent all kinds of time circling the lot looking for a space. I would guess 30-40% of the cars in the lot didn't have a parking pass. Our room faced the lot and we had a balcony and would watch locals in uniforms park in a space, get out and head to work. One guy cut me off and pulled into a space I was waiting for, shot me the bird and headed over to the Casino? When I asked where I should park due to the lot being full I was told "find a space in the back of the lot next door if you can". I asked why they didn't enforce parking rules or have a gate that opened with your room key and all they said was "yes, we have a problem with illegal parkers", end quote? I was on vacation and staying on my points so the internet not working wasn't a real deal breaker, however it would have been nice to have it as we were interested in booking golf and finding dinning spots on the net. I spend over 100 nights a year in IHG #Platinum Member# hotels and do business in the Falls, if I ever stay over night I won't stay here, I can't be bothered playing the parking spot game and going without internet when on business. The parking reminded me of the "pool chair" game at Resorts, drop your stuff at 5:30 AM and save a chair for later in the day. We actually saw a woman and her two children stand in a space with their luggage blocking anyone from taking it while her husband went to the back of the lot next door to get the family car.....it was comical and maddening at the same time. Otherwise it was a great stay and great location. July 31, 2014
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Disappointed Not up to regular Holiday Inn standards. As a loyal customer I expected more. Stayed on points with my family. The room had a terrible smell and plugged drains which became apparent too late to make a switch. My kids loved the outdoor and indoor pool as well as the hot tub. This made it worthwhile. Good proximity to the falls. July 29, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Great location with reasonable rates Great location with on-site parking and reasonable rates. Hotel front desk staff could have been more accommodating and proactive at check-in. As a first time visitor to the area they did nothing to tell me about the amenities at their location or the surrounding area. Room was reasonably clean but the bathroom could have had more attention. The wifi was not working during our visit but the staff offered a solution when it was brought to their attention. We enjoyed our stay and would stay there again. July 28, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by great location For the price, this hotel has a lot to offer. My only negatives are a lack of electrical plugs near the beds and the condition of the carpet. The bathroom was very clean and there was plenty of towels July 27, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great Place To Stay Stayed here on a little family vacation stay. Good value. Clean. Great location, within walking distance to just about everything. The pool/space area is great for kids as there is an outdoor and indoor pool and the kids like to cycle between them. They are side by side with each other and they can go in and out between the two of them. July 27, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Old, needs updating This hotel is in a very good location. Walk to the falls, but be aware that it is a steep hill. About a 15 minute walk to Clifton Hill area. Lots of restaurants around. However, the rooms are showing their age and in need of an upgrade. We had an executive king suite, but were asked to pay extra for a mini-fridge. After some discussion, they did give us a fridge at no charge. There was no microwave either. For these prices, these are typically supplied in other hotels in the immediate area. The room was large, but could have been laid out much better, and could have had a small kitchenette. A larger shower would have nice as well. The TV was small, with limited channels. The 2 small chairs were uncomfortable. There didn't seem to be any way to turn off the light on the balcony. There were a couple of light switches that apparently do nothing. July 26, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by great place to stay loved staying at the holiday inn Niagara. the hotel and staff were great. Easy to get to every thing at the falls. July 25, 2014
<<prev2 3 4 5 ... 11 next>>
Hotel Exterior
Hotel Exterior
Select to close.
Hotel Exterior Front Desk Exterior Feature Entrance
Select to close.
Terms & Conditions
If you are not already a member, join now.
Click here to earn up to 5,000 bonus points or 1,000 bonus points every night.
Close
Check In
(e.g. Sep-01-2014)
Check Out
(e.g. Sep-02-2014)
Check Availability
Loading