• English  English
    Select to close.
    Current Settings are:
      /  English

    Change Preferences:
    Country / Region of Residence:
    Available Languages:
  • |
  • |
  • |
  • 1 888 HOLIDAY
Select to close.
Select to close.
Email or IHG® Rewards Club # PIN
Not a member?Join Today!
Forgot PIN
All fields are required.
 
If you have forgotten or lost your Personal Identification Number (PIN), we can email your PIN to the email address in your IHG® Rewards Club account profile.
If you do not have an email address in your profile, please contact your local IHG® Rewards Club Customer Care  to source your PIN and to update your profile with your email address. When you receive your PIN you can also update your email address viawww.ihgrewardsclub.com/email.
IHG® Rewards Club # Email Address

Not a member?Join Today!
Create PIN
All fields are required.
IHG® Rewards Club # ZIP/Postal Code
First Name Last Name
Please select a 4 number Personal Identification Number (PIN) which will be used to access your IHG® Rewards Club account.
PIN Verify PIN
 
Not a member?Join Today!
Create Email
All fields are required.
Thank you. Your PIN has been created. Please enter your email address so you can use it to log into the site in the future.
Email Address Verify Email Address
 
Email Hotel Get Directions Add to Favorites Print Fact Sheet

Book this Hotel

Best Price Guarantee
1

Reward Nights
When redeeming points for a Reward Night, you may only book one room at a time.

Once you complete your Reward Night reservation you will be given the option to duplicate this reservation.

(e.g. Jul-29-2014)
(e.g. Jul-30-2014)
Have a Group Code?
Have a Corporate ID?
Check Availability
Processing your request...

* Requires affiliation in the respective organization.

** Best Available Rate Search does not include affiliation rates.

Select to close.

To book more than 9 rooms for one stay or request a quote, please use our Easy Meetings tool, call 1-800-MEETING (in United States, Mexico and Canada) or contact a Global Sales Office.

Close Button
Your Recently Viewed Hotels

About our Hotel

Location: Suburban

  • Location: Suburban
  • Closest City: BUFFALO
  • Distance From Hotel: 12.0MI
  • Local time zone: GMT-04:00

Check In: 3:00 PM Check Out: 12:00 PM

  • Check In: 3:00 PM
  • Check Out: 12:00 PM
  • Minimum check-in age: 21
  • Late checkout available

Credit cards

Credit cards

  • American Express
  • Carte Blanche
  • Diners Club
  • Discover
  • Master Card
  • Visa

Accessibility

Accessibility

  • Number of Rooms:7
  • Parking
  • Service Animals Allowed

Languages

Languages

  1. English

Pet Policy

Pet Policy

No Pets Please. Guide Dogs or Service Animals are allowed with documentation.

What's Nearby

What's Nearby

Attraction:
State University of New York At Buffalo
Distance From Hotel:1.5MI
Attraction:
Niagara Falls, Shopping, Canadian Border, Parks
Distance From Hotel:15.0MI
Attraction:
Coca-Cola Field - Bison's Baseball
Distance From Hotel:14.0MI
Attraction:
Walden Galleria Mall
Distance From Hotel:7.0MI

Parking

Parking

  • Number of parking spaces:343
  • Car Parking Available
  • Ample outdoor space for buses, RVs and trucks.

Internet

Standard Internet Service

Standard Internet service is free for all guests
Wireless Internet available in Standard Rooms,Executive Rooms,Suites,Business Center,Public Areas

Facility

Facility

  • Hotel renovated inFebruary 01, 2011
  • Total number of rooms:199
  • Total number of suites:1
  • Total number of rooms with only one bed:105
  • Total number of rooms with only double beds:94
  • Total number of non-smoking rooms:199
  • Total number of rooms for the physically challenged:7
  • Interior corridor
  • Total number of floors:2

Amherst Hotel's Location Provides Great Opportunities

Ideally situated between Buffalo and Niagara Falls, the Holiday Inn® Buffalo - Amherst hotel's location in Amherst, NY affords easy access to big business and excellent entertainment. Here, patrons enjoy numerous opportunities to work and play, in addition to pleasant, peaceful surroundings.

The hotel's location in the Buffalo, NY area ensures a convenient commute to the city's business district for business guests. Companies
View More

Amherst Hotel's Location Provides Great Opportunities

Ideally situated between Buffalo and Niagara Falls, the Holiday Inn® Buffalo - Amherst hotel's location in Amherst, NY affords easy access to big business and excellent entertainment. Here, patrons enjoy numerous opportunities to work and play, in addition to pleasant, peaceful surroundings.

The hotel's location in the Buffalo, NY area ensures a convenient commute to the city's business district for business guests. Companies like General Motors, General Electric and Praxair, as well as a number of business parks, are nearby. The free shuttle service can take guests to and from the Buffalo / Niagara International Airport (BUF).

Great entertainment is another benefit of this hotel's location in the Buffalo, NY area. Along with attending professional sporting events, guests can go skating at the Northtown Center at Amherst Ice Rinks, Hockey Outlet or Holiday Twin Rinks. College visits to the University of Buffalo, Niagara University, Buffalo State, DYouville, Canisius College and ECC, home of Flickinger Aquatic Center, also promise fun.

The Holiday Inn® Buffalo - Amherst hotel provides a Fitness Center or free access to Bally Total Fitness. A large indoor pool is a great places to cool down during your stay. Visit Amherst, and see what makes this hotel's accommodations the preferred choice.

View Less
Features
This hotel sits perfectly in Amherst, NY between downtown Buffalo and Niagara Falls, NY. The location provides easy access to some of the best entertainment areas in Western New York.

Guest Reviews

Rated 4.1 out of 5 by 201 reviewers.
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great Food! Hotel bars and restaurants many times get overlooked by customers, this place shouldn't. The service and food here is wonderful! When you sit at the bar it's like sitting with a bunch of friends. Great people! January 29, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great Staff! I was one of many travelers stranded in Buffalo during the Blizzard of 2014. I am very thankful I was at the HI/Downtown! The staff couldn't have been more attentive or helpful. Many of them were stranded for up to 2 nights. Despite their inconveniences, they performed wonderfully and couldn't have been nicer. NICE JOB HI/DOWNTOWN! January 13, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Close to area businesses Average Holiday Inn with friendly staff. Not as good of priority club perks as compared to others. January 12, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great Service, Great Staff! After a great evening at the hotel, we had a great breakfast at the coffee bar and checked out quickly. After driving 2 hours home we realized we left a laptop in the room. 1 phone call to the front desk, and before you know it the item was recovered and waiting for us. Thanks to all the staff of Holiday Inn Buffalo Downtown for your quick reaction and understanding of our predicament. We can't wait for our next trip your hotel. January 2, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Lights and Blankets The light on my side of the bed was not plugged in because the plug could not reach the closest outlet. Needed an extension cord or surge protector to get it to work. But when my girlfriend was cold on the first night (even with the temperature turned up) we got extra blankets for the bed. If you want to go downtown to the clubs and bars you're only a few blocks away. But it was too cold to walk. :-) The staff was very kind. It was over Christmas so there were only a few people working. At any rate, they were very nice. I always stay here when I visit my family in Buffalo. December 30, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great Experience My boyfriend and I recently stayed at your hotel and it was great. We were only in town for the one night stay but wished we could have stayed longer. Everything is great the staff the hotel and our room. My boyfriend couldn't get over on how comfortable the bed was. He LOVED IT!! The hotel it self is in a great location and we will definitely be staying there again when we are in town. I would recommend this hotel to anyone! December 29, 2013
Rated 2.0 out of 5.0 by Horrible Our room was dated and old. The bed was very hard and the pillows were so soft, even the "firm" ones, that I could never get comfortable. The ceiling in the bathroom was so low that I kept hitting it with the hands when I was drying off from a shower! The entire building needs to be remodeled, now. The only bright spot was our waitress/bartender. She was delightful and attentive beyond her duty. December 18, 2013
Rated 1.0 out of 5.0 by Everything was cold! The exercise room was left unheated in the middle of winter. It was so cold I could see my breath. The room was also drafty due to the large old windows. Avoid the restaurant. The salmon I ordered came out cold. The waitress explained that it was poached earlier in the day and supposed to be served cold. My guest had a burger that wasn't fresh - just cheap and frozen. I won't return to this location. December 15, 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Good, solid, dependable hotel I could stay at any number of hotels each week for business. This property and its staff are worth returning to each week! December 11, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Staff are A++ Upon arriving, the Staff was extremely helpful assisting me with transportation in the area. In the morning, the woman working in the café was polite and sociable. They made for a really great experience. The only caveat is that it's rather obvious that the rooms need some updating. But they are clean and comfortable. December 11, 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Great location Graet location. Nearby amenities permitted me to limit need to drive, I will return when in the area. December 10, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Good and modern hotel Very good hotel, parking included. Great bar for happy hour. December 7, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by overall expeience help and one of the night managers were great. Manager went far beyond the call. Thanks December 4, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Thanks for the help! The maintenance staff was wonderful in helping me with a minor issue. They are always super helpful and friendly! December 4, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great Atmosphere! I recently met 5 associates in the lounge at the hotel. The atmosphere was great, the food was great, and the staff couldn't be more friendly and courteous! They said they would come back any time! November 24, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Excellent Customer Service! I was attending a training session and stayed the first night at a different hotel and had a horrible experience. The staff at the Holiday Is compassionate and caring. The manager Judy went out of her way to make sure I was comfortable. The staff at the restaurants were great as well. Thank you! November 20, 2013
Rated 1.0 out of 5.0 by Horrible experience I was staying there the night before an interview actually a couple of the people that were interviewing were staying also there. There wasnt any sleep going on in the floor I was on you kept trying to make them stop screaming and laughing and talking but it went on until 4:30am. If they know there are people on interview cause they give you a "special deal" (which wasnt that great from the actual price) for interviewing at a near by hospital couldnt you at least place everyone going to interview on the same floor and the basketball, volleyball teams on another??? Just saying! November 20, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Wonderful staff We stayed for an overnight college basketball tournament and the room was spacious and clean, the staff from check in, to the restaurant to checking out was very pleasant to work with. I would highly recommend. November 19, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great view comfortable bed It was a great experience from the time we walked in the door, we were upgraded to a king suite and had the most beautiful view of the city. The room was great, the bed comfortable, and the breakfast in the in house restaurant was delicious , I would defiantly go back November 18, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great Place to stay I was greeted very professionally. Anything I needed was always fulfilled and in a timely manner. I was always greeted on my return at night with a warm hello. November 18, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by service I have stayed numerous times and have always encountered nothing but great employees. They make the stay totally enjoyable. November 15, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great Event Venue The downtown Buffalo Holiday Inn made my aunt's 90th birthday banquet a smashing success; courtesy airport shuttle, truly comfortable suites, decent-size banquet hall, tasty catering options, super-caring staff everywhere, quick problem-solving, reasonable value. Could do with an upgrade on audio-visual equipment--newer LCD projector, stronger microphone. I should definitely hold an event here again. November 6, 2013
Rated 2.0 out of 5.0 by Turn off the heat !!! We were in Buffalo for a conference at the convention center for the weekend. The Holiday Inn - Downtown was on the list of the conference hotels with attractive rates. As an IHG Platinum Elite member I chose to stay at there even though it was the furthest reccommended hotel from the convention center and was outside of a comfortable walking distance, necessitating driving and dealing with parking issues at the convention center and at the hotel. Check-in was painless; our room was on the 8th floor. The Buffalo weather was cool; maybe in the 40’s, with wind and rain, my room was tropical. I immediately found the thermostat and attempted to cool it to a more agreeable level. There was a brand new looking thermostat on the wall but it had no effect on the amount of heat radiating from the rather ancient heating unit on the opposite wall. The heater produced a low level of heat continuously, regardless of thermostat setting, the thermostat had no effect on it or on what may have been an AC unit in the wall above. However, there was a window that would open, which I found very welcomed, if not unusual on the 8th floor. The first night was uncomfortable. Opening the window let in cool air, wind, rain and the noise from Delaware St. Closing it made the room warm and the lack of a circulating fan made for a very quiet room in a relatively noisy hotel. Saturday morning I mentioned my concerns at the front desk and was told that the air conditioning system had been turned off for the winter. But the thermostat should still run the fan and maintenance would check on it. Saturday evening we were late returning, the conditions were the same as the night previous except it seemed that there was an increase in the traffic and pedestrian noise level with the window open and more guests in the hotel creating more in-house noise. Apparently the maintenance crew didn’t make it to the room or felt that nothing was amiss. The hotel appears old, and the facilities need to be upgraded. I have a very short list of IHG properties that I will not return to. Holiday Inn Buffalo – Downtown has been added to it. There are other IHG properties nearby, Ill give them a chance next time. November 6, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Wonderful hotel, enjoyed our stay. We very much enjoyed our stay. The less than stellar marks for food & beverage are because I received regular instead of decaf coffee and an allergy made my day a little horrible. We were able to relax until 3:30 when some noisy guests woke us up, there were several buses of cross country athletes from PA and we made allowances for this reason, but other than that we had no complaints and would not hesitate to stay again. November 5, 2013
Rated 1.0 out of 5.0 Great until iPod was stolen Staff seemed great until I left an iPod behind at checkout; I realized my mistake quickly and called, and the staff was not at all helpful and even rude. When I came back to get the iPod it was claimed that no one saw it and that it could not possibly have gone through the wash...the only possible conclusion I can come to is that someone on the staff kept it. It was implied several times that the fault for the theft was mine, and the front desk manager didn't even offer me an apology, let alone any form of compensation. Calls to ask if anyone has found it or turned it in have been completely ignored by management and housekeeping. If you stay here, be careful with all of your belongings, and don't leave anything of value behind. November 2, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Conference weekend As always, I loved the holiday inn pillows. I stayed 3 nights for a conference that was a 22 minute walk away. The food was great, loved the friday night sangria. Had a minor issue of no TV remote and my room phone didnt work when I first got to the room, but it was fixed within 15 minutes. I wish I was told of the $20 per night hold when I checked in, so I wasnt surprised to have an extra $60 put on my credit card. Its a small parking lot, so when a tour bus pulled in the parking lot, traffic was backed up for 20 minutes out the entrance and no one could get around. Also considering the hotel was part of a discount rate group for conference goers, there was no shuttle to the convention center, which would have been nice. All in all, everything was great and will def be using Holiday Inn once again. October 30, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Location, Location, Location Great location, perfect for both my business meeting and local architectural interests. Extremely clean with friendly & helpful staff at the front desk. Very pleased. will definitely be there on all my return trips. Thank you October 29, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great staff! From the people who work the front desk, to the waitstaff in the restaurant to the driver who took me to the airport--top-notch. Very friendly and helpful. Thanks for making me feel comfortable. October 26, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 Great getaway in Buffalo, NY Friendly staff, clean and comfortable accommodations. Easy to get to. A nice play to stay! October 19, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Looking good! With the recent upgrades and improvements the hotel is looking great! October 19, 2013
<<prev 2 3 4 5 ... 8 next>>
Hotel Exterior
Hotel Exterior
Select to close.
Hotel Exterior Entrance Front Desk Hotel Exterior
Select to close.
Terms & Conditions
Kids Stay and Eat Free at all Holiday Inn Hotels.
Close
Check In
(e.g. Jul-29-2014)
Check Out
(e.g. Jul-30-2014)
Check Availability
Loading