• English  English
    Select to close.
    Current Settings are:
      /  English

    Change Preferences:
    Country / Region of Residence:
    Available Languages:
  • |
  • |
  • |
  • 1 888 HOLIDAY
Select to close.
Select to close.
Email or IHG® Rewards Club # PIN
Not a member?Join Today!
Forgot PIN
All fields are required.
 
If you have forgotten or lost your Personal Identification Number (PIN), we can email your PIN to the email address in your IHG® Rewards Club account profile.
If you do not have an email address in your profile, please contact your local IHG® Rewards Club Customer Care  to source your PIN and to update your profile with your email address. When you receive your PIN you can also update your email address viawww.ihgrewardsclub.com/email.
IHG® Rewards Club # Email Address

Not a member?Join Today!
Create PIN
All fields are required.
IHG® Rewards Club # ZIP/Postal Code
First Name Last Name
Please select a 4 number Personal Identification Number (PIN) which will be used to access your IHG® Rewards Club account.
PIN Verify PIN
 
Not a member?Join Today!
Create Email
All fields are required.
Thank you. Your PIN has been created. Please enter your email address so you can use it to log into the site in the future.
Email Address Verify Email Address
 
Email Hotel Get Directions Add to Favorites Print Fact Sheet

Book this Hotel

Best Price Guarantee
1

Reward Nights
When redeeming points for a Reward Night, you may only book one room at a time.

Once you complete your Reward Night reservation you will be given the option to duplicate this reservation.

(e.g. Oct-20-2014)
(e.g. Oct-21-2014)
Have a Group Code?
Have a Corporate ID?
Check Availability
Processing your request...

* Requires affiliation in the respective organization.

** Best Available Rate Search does not include affiliation rates.

Select to close.

To book more than 9 rooms for one stay or request a quote, please use our Easy Meetings tool, call 1-800-MEETING (in United States, Mexico and Canada) or contact a Global Sales Office.

Close Button
Your Recently Viewed Hotels

About our Hotel

Location: Suburban

  • Location: Suburban
  • Closest City: BUFFALO
  • Distance From Hotel: 12.0MI
  • Local time zone: GMT-04:00

Check In: 3:00 PM Check Out: 11:00 AM

  • Check In: 3:00 PM
  • Check Out: 11:00 AM
  • Minimum check-in age: 21
  • Late checkout available

Credit cards

Credit cards

  • American Express
  • Carte Blanche
  • Diners Club
  • Discover
  • Master Card
  • Visa

Accessibility

Accessibility

  • Number of Rooms:7
  • Parking
  • Service Animals Allowed

Languages

Languages

  1. English

Pet Policy

Pet Policy

No Pets Please. Guide Dogs or Service Animals are allowed with documentation.

What's Nearby

What's Nearby

Attraction:
State University of New York At Buffalo
Distance From Hotel:1.5MI
Attraction:
Northtown Center at Amherst
Distance From Hotel:3.0MI
Attraction:
Walden Galleria Mall
Distance From Hotel:7.0MI
Attraction:
Shea's Performing Arts Center
Distance From Hotel:14.0MI

Parking

Parking

  • Number of parking spaces:343
  • Car Parking Available
  • Ample outdoor space for buses, RVs and trucks.

Internet

Standard Internet Service

Standard Internet service is free for all guests
Wireless Internet available in Standard Rooms,Executive Rooms,Suites,Business Center,Public Areas

Facility

Facility

  • Hotel renovated inFebruary 01, 2011
  • Total number of rooms:199
  • Total number of suites:1
  • Total number of rooms with only one bed:105
  • Total number of rooms with only double beds:94
  • Total number of non-smoking rooms:199
  • Total number of rooms for the physically challenged:7
  • Interior corridor
  • Total number of floors:2

Amherst Hotel's Location Provides Great Opportunities

Ideally situated between Buffalo and Niagara Falls, the Holiday Inn® Buffalo - Amherst hotel's location in Amherst, NY affords easy access to big business and excellent entertainment. Here, patrons enjoy numerous opportunities to work and play, in addition to pleasant, peaceful surroundings.

The hotel's location in the Buffalo, NY area ensures a convenient commute to the city's business district for business guests. Companies
View More

Amherst Hotel's Location Provides Great Opportunities

Ideally situated between Buffalo and Niagara Falls, the Holiday Inn® Buffalo - Amherst hotel's location in Amherst, NY affords easy access to big business and excellent entertainment. Here, patrons enjoy numerous opportunities to work and play, in addition to pleasant, peaceful surroundings.

The hotel's location in the Buffalo, NY area ensures a convenient commute to the city's business district for business guests. Companies like General Motors, General Electric and Praxair, as well as a number of business parks, are nearby. The free shuttle service can take guests to and from the Buffalo / Niagara International Airport (BUF).

Great entertainment is another benefit of this hotel's location in the Buffalo, NY area. Along with attending professional sporting events, guests can go skating at the Northtown Center at Amherst Ice Rinks, Hockey Outlet or Holiday Twin Rinks. College visits to the University of Buffalo, Niagara University, Buffalo State, DYouville, Canisius College and ECC, home of Flickinger Aquatic Center, also promise fun.

The Holiday Inn® Buffalo - Amherst hotel provides a Fitness Center or free access to Bally Total Fitness. A large indoor pool is a great places to cool down during your stay. Visit Amherst, and see what makes this hotel's accommodations the preferred choice.

View Less
Features
This hotel sits perfectly in Amherst, NY between downtown Buffalo and Niagara Falls, NY. The location provides easy access to some of the best entertainment areas in Western New York.

Guest Reviews

Rated 3.9 out of 5 by 185 reviewers.
Rated 1.0 out of 5.0 by Loud And bad mattress We stayed one night and did the park and fly. This was our first stay at this holiday inn express and we were very disappointed. We had to wake early for our flight but did not sleep at all. First, the halls were filled with kids/teens running around from room to room slamming doors and screaming until late into the night. Second, we had a room with a king bed and a pull out couch for our family of four. I thought this would be fine but the mattress on the pull out was awful. It sagged in the middle and we felt the framework underneath. I would definitely not recommend staying here. We will find a different hotel the next time we fly out of buffalo! September 23, 2013
Rated 1.0 out of 5.0 by Hard Bed and Rude Staff I have stayed at many Holiday Inns and Holiday Inn expresses before. I would have to say this one was the worst. The whirlpool tub was tiny. I am not very big and I barely could fit in it. The jets were on the side of the tub so it hit my legs. The on and off button was missing. The rubber piece on the bottom of the shower door was sticking out. There was a chair in the parlor that was falling apart and I would not of felt safe to sit on it. The bed was as hard as a rock. Usually you get complementary breakfast when I stay at these hotels, not with this one. When we arrived the staff were very friendly but when we left they were not. They stared at us without saying anything and when we said we wanted to check out and hand in our room keys the man's response was "you have your bill in your hand, was there anything wrong with it", we said no and then he said well then your fine to leave. We never got a hello or good morning. They seemed annoyed with us for stopping to check out and looked at us like we had 3 heads for trying to stop at the desk to check out. I always check out at the desk because I don't want to be accused of not turning in my room keys. There was signs for a game room but there was not game room. The price we paid was not worth what we got. Overall I was not impressed with this hotel and will not be staying there again. September 11, 2013
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Average stay Besides having to basically fight with the door to open to my room and having to pull the handle up , instead if down, my stay was a typical stay at a hotel . We were kinda bummed that the jacuzzi didn't work ( it was warm and water was moving from a few jets slong the wall) but the button didnt work to turn it totally on. It was one if the reasons why we booked our stay at this place, for the jacuzzi and inside pool) . The breakfast in the morning was better than most places so that was nice and the staff was friendly . September 10, 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Just fine Staff is extremely pleasant!! Breakfast surprised us...premade omelettes, sausage patties & biscuits, made to order pancake machine, fresh hot cinnamon rolls as well as the usual continental offerings of cereal, oatmeal, fruit, toast, bagels, etc. room was fine, is a little but dated but a very obvious effort made and nothing was unacceptable, it just isn't a new hotel. One of the only hotels we could find offering rooms with 2 queen beds - that is appreciated when traveling with teenage children! My only complaint would have to be the room seemed to have a bit of a smell like it had previously been smoked in but had been tried to be heavily cleaned. A good airing out would help. The smell of cleaners was pretty strong for a person with allergies but that was my only negative thing to point out. August 31, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Friendly staff and a nice place to stay The staff were very friendly and accommodating. The rooms were comfortable and very spacious but a little out-dated. The pool was clean. The breakfast was good with a lot of selection, and the staff went out of their way to make sure you were happy. August 30, 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Mostly good. The quality of the hotel and the room were just fine. Although a room was not ready at 3:00, the front desk managed a room soon after. I observed the head of housekeeping being extremely short and impatient with other guests who were waiting for a room. That was not a good impression. August 28, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by A good rest from a very long day of business Travelling a lot lately and had to travel from Syracuse to Buffalo after a seminar in Syracuse. Comfort was what I was looking for and some peace and quiet. We heard the occasional plane take off but still very quiet. August 27, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great to be able to travel w/ our loved standard poodle. We enjoy the hotel & location where we are able to safely walk our dogs. The rooms have ample room for us the have space & relax. Like having a room w/ a refrigerator, microwave & sink area. Hotel staff are always very helpful & friendly. August 26, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Service needs The staff at this hotel do an excellent job of making me feel at home everytime I visit Buffalo. August 26, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by awesome We arrived on Tuesday afternoon. The staff had their customer appreciation day that was terrific. Nice little snacks and drinks. This was a great start to our vacation. Cheers! August 26, 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Good Experience I stayed here as a Delta distressed passenger, and I got a better rate here than at the hotel recommended by Delta. The property is right across the street from Buffalo Airport, and the shuttle was quick to pick me up. Check-in was smooth and very friendly. My room was big and comfy. The bed was not quite as good as most HI and HI Express properties but still very comfortable. The carpet was a bit frayed, and I only had a shower (no tub), but these were no big issue at all. In the middle of the night, the people in the room next to me got way too loud, and I called management to complain. They had the situation under control within five minutes, and that impressed me. My flight left too early for breakfast, but overall, this was a very good experience. August 23, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great staff and This was a great staff, great breakfast selection... August 21, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Comfort is #1 Our most recent stay was August 9-11, but we have stayed at this Express for several years and we're always impressed with its many amenities, ie, location, free breakfast, free WiFi, bedding, etc. The breakfast offerings are MORE than can be expected for FREE, and it is always FRESH!!! The noise from the airport is not noticable unless you are outdoors. The beds are the most comfortable for us, seeming like what we have at home. Although we have not used the fitness room, we do find the perimeter of the grounds around the building to be excellent for our early morning power walk. Even before we became Club Members, the staff was (and still is) very professional and helpful, to the point of having maps of the city and knowledge of cities within a 50 mile radius. Need a needle and thread? Ask the desk. When in Buffalo, we would rather stay at this Holiday Inn Express...and we have relatives who live in the city!!! August 16, 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Overall happy For being directly across from the airport, it was very quiet. Very accessible to highways. Breakfast selection was good. However, I don't think people should be able to take food out. (There were several groups of people that were hoarding bananas and yogurt!). The rooms were nice. Beds were comfortable. Sheets were too heavy in my opinion. Air conditioning could have been a lot cooler! But overall, a pretty decent hotel. August 9, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Excellent Service, Hard Working Staff, Well managed facility We stayed here last weekend and were very pleased by the hospitality and service. The courtesy van took us to dinner and picked us up again, all with a smile. The driver was very considerate to all of his passengers and was very thoughtful in helping a family who were new to the area. The breakfast staff worked constantly to keep tables open and clean and the front desk staff were prompt and courteous. The maintenance crew checking out the facility were also very nice. We'd stay here anytime. August 9, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great hotel Came for. Night and thought he hotel was great. Very spacious and nice! August 4, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Right next to airport, front desk was very friendly A nice hotel right next to airport. We didn't hear any planes in the morning because we left on the first flight out of Buffalo. I didn't hear any planes late at night either. The front desk packed us a beakfast to go bag because we left before complimentary breakfast started. We are priority club members, so we were offered choice of candy and bottled water upon check-in. The room was standard nothing fancy. I don't need fancy. July 30, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Favorite Locations I have been staying here since the hotel opened. It is one of my favorite locations to stay. The hotel staff all treat me great and most know me by name. I typically get the same room each stay if available. They always find me a room if needed even with last min. notice. The breakfast menu is getting old but that is a corporate issue. There is another issue that should be addressed and that is not this hotel's issue is : The" Blue Ribbon " needs to be brought back as a reward mechanism for the hotel employees that work hard every day to make my stay more pleasant. Of all the Hotels I stay at, this is one of my favorites. July 30, 2013
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Electrical outlets The room has a shortage of outlets. Most outlets had something already plugged in. July 29, 2013
Rated 1.0 out of 5.0 by Starting to look run down Stayed here three years ago. Was fine then. Now The hotel is starting to look run down in the rooms. Also air conditioning unable to keep room cool. Furniture and carpeting starting to look worn. Park and fly is no better then the price to stay long term at the airport. No value. July 24, 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Easy to get to. The hotel staff is friendly and the rooms clean. An ok place to put your head down. July 24, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Just what you expect at a Holiday Inn Express Friendly, courteous service Comfortable accommodations Well-appointed rooms July 22, 2013
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Close to airport & Great Staff, Rooms? The staff was pleasant and knowlegable. I was greeted upon entering and exiting the hotel. Breakfast was good and statff was also friendly and courteous. HOwever, my room had a used shampoo bottle in tthe shower and hair on the pillows. Sheets did not feel fresh. The window also had some water damage around the framing. Size of room was great, but it felt a bit dirty? Not sure if I just had a 1 off unusual experience or common among the other rooms. Lighting seemed dark in rooms and hallways. Gym is nice and pool is great as well. July 16, 2013
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Unhappy Platinum Member The hotel and room were nice enough, but I was left with a bad taste in my mouth from my stay. When we returned home, I discovered a $3 charge on my credit card for the hotel. When I called to inquire, I was told immediately that it was for a bottle of water. Apparently this was not the first time that somebody had called about it. There had been a bottle of water sitting on the counter in the bathroom. However, there was no indication of any kind that we were going to be charged $3 for it. The person answering my phone call said that it was clearly marked with the price. After I got off the phone, I checked to see if we still had the empty bottle. We did and there definitely was no price on it. I asked my wife who had taken the bottle if she noticed a price on it. She said that there was definitely no price on it and if there had been one, she would not have taken the bottle. I called back to complain and was told that my credit card would be credited for the $3 charge. It is now a week later and no credit has been given. I realize that this might seem petty to some, but I don't think this is how a platinum member should be treated. It bothered me enough that I decided to write this negative review. July 14, 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Lovely place to stay for an early flight So close to the airport. The staff even put together a take away breakfast for us as we had a 6:30am flight which was wonderful. no complaints. July 8, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Holiday Inn Express Buffalo Airport This is the second time we have stayed at this hotel prior to a flight out of Buffalo. It is very clean and well kept. Location is great for a flight from airport or for weekend shopping trip. Staff is very friendly and helpful. Room is very comfortable with fridge and microwave as well as comfortable bed. Would definitely stay here again. July 6, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Quiet and clean room The check-in process was very courteous and prompt. My room type and location was exactly as requested. Very friendly staff at breakfast and front desk. The hotel location was perfect for access to major highways needed to reach my appointments. July 3, 2013
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Holiday nn Express Stay Hello, I usually travel on business every couple of weeks, and recently have decided to give the Holiday Inn my loyalty after a couple a decent stays. However, I had not experienced a stay such as this before I made that decision. When I first arrived to the Holiday Inn Express in Lockport, NY, the parking lot was pretty dirty. I had never seen one as such before. I wasn't sure if I was in the correct place, as there were two hotels next to each other, and the Holiday Inn had no display sign on he building. When I checked in, the gentlemen at the help desk did not seem to be dressed up to par. Most hotels I have been to (including previous Holiday Inns), the standard is usually casual dress at a minimum. This gentleman's shirt was very dressed down. I could not tell if he had jeans on, but I did not look too hard. When he checked me in, I specifically asked if I would be able to receive a receipt, as I needed one for business purposes. He said that their system was down, but ensured me I would have one available that next morning when I checked out. When I went to my room, there was obvious painting being done in the hallways. Upkeep is understandable. However, most of the "wet paint' signs were covering the room numbers, and there was tape covering the insert for the room keys. When I entered the room, it was indeed clean.However, there did seem to be some debris of some sort in my toilet. Later on, I proceeded to watch television. As I looked for the channel guide that are usually in rooms, I found it folded up inside the drawer with other papers. It was obvious that the channel guide, as well as the other papers were the product of multiple photo copies due to the quality of the print. When I went to shower that night, the liquid soap and shampoo was labeled Best Western. That was a surprise to me, so I decided not to use it. The next morning when I checked out, I asked for a receipt. The lady (who was dressed appropriately) at the front desk said that she would have to email me a receipt. When I received my receipt days later, it did not even say Holiday Inn at the top. So there is no real proof of which hotel I stayed at for my company. If this was the normal standard for Holiday Inn, I would not be writing such a review. However, if I would have known this from the beginning, I would not have stayed at the Holiday Inn in the first place, or joined as a Priority Club member. I was very disappointed in my overall stay and will choose carefully on where I stay in the future. Thank you Membership #: 230925897 June 26, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Sales Travel I really enjoy staying at this Holiday Inn express near the Buffalo airport. I am never disappointed!! June 25, 2013
Rated 2.0 out of 5.0 by June 20th stay I would not recommend this hotel. Was on hold for >30 minutes trying to call and get someone to pick me up a 9:30 pm at the airport. Tried from cell and airport courtesy phone-both went straight to hold. Had luggage or would have just walked. Finally gave up and got a taxi, so I was unhappy before I entered the hotel. Desk clerk's only response to my issue of getting a shuttle was "oh,". I understand being busy at checkin, but this was a 7 second conversation at most to handle a shuttle request. Hotel is older and below average for HEI. Mattress cheap and uncomfortable. Luke warm water for my shower in the morning. Checkout experience and morning shuttle were fine. HEI has the poorest quality control across their brands of any hotel change. June 24, 2013
<<prev 3 4 5 6 7 next>>
Hotel Exterior at Night
Hotel Exterior at Night
Select to close.
Hotel Exterior at Night Front Desk Exterior Feature Entrance
Select to close.
If you are not already a member, join now.
Close
Check In
(e.g. Oct-20-2014)
Check Out
(e.g. Oct-21-2014)
Check Availability
Loading