• English  English
    Select to close.
    Current Settings are:
      /  English

    Change Preferences:
    Country / Region of Residence:
    Available Languages:
  • |
  • |
  • |
  • 1 888 HOLIDAY
Select to close.
Select to close.
Email or IHG® Rewards Club # PIN
Not a member?Join Today!
Forgot PIN
All fields are required.
 
If you have forgotten or lost your Personal Identification Number (PIN), we can email your PIN to the email address in your IHG® Rewards Club account profile.
If you do not have an email address in your profile, please contact your local IHG® Rewards Club Customer Care  to source your PIN and to update your profile with your email address. When you receive your PIN you can also update your email address viawww.ihgrewardsclub.com/email.
IHG® Rewards Club # Email Address

Not a member?Join Today!
Create PIN
All fields are required.
IHG® Rewards Club # ZIP/Postal Code
First Name Last Name
Please select a 4 number Personal Identification Number (PIN) which will be used to access your IHG® Rewards Club account.
PIN Verify PIN
 
Not a member?Join Today!
Create Email
All fields are required.
Thank you. Your PIN has been created. Please enter your email address so you can use it to log into the site in the future.
Email Address Verify Email Address
 
Email Hotel Get Directions Add to Favorites Print Fact Sheet

Book this Hotel

Best Price Guarantee
1

Reward Nights
When redeeming points for a Reward Night, you may only book one room at a time.

Once you complete your Reward Night reservation you will be given the option to duplicate this reservation.

(e.g. Sep-18-2014)
(e.g. Sep-19-2014)
Have a Group Code?
Have a Corporate ID?
Check Availability
Processing your request...

* Requires affiliation in the respective organization.

** Best Available Rate Search does not include affiliation rates.

Select to close.

To book more than 9 rooms for one stay or request a quote, please use our Easy Meetings tool, call 1-800-MEETING (in United States, Mexico and Canada) or contact a Global Sales Office.

Close Button
Your Recently Viewed Hotels

About our Hotel

Location: Suburban

  • Location: Suburban
  • Closest City: BUFFALO
  • Distance From Hotel: 12.0MI
  • Local time zone: GMT-04:00

Check In: 3:00 PM Check Out: 11:00 AM

  • Check In: 3:00 PM
  • Check Out: 11:00 AM
  • Minimum check-in age: 21
  • Late checkout available

Credit cards

Credit cards

  • American Express
  • Carte Blanche
  • Diners Club
  • Discover
  • Master Card
  • Visa

Accessibility

Accessibility

  • Number of Rooms:7
  • Parking
  • Service Animals Allowed

Languages

Languages

  1. English

Pet Policy

Pet Policy

No Pets Please. Guide Dogs or Service Animals are allowed with documentation.

What's Nearby

What's Nearby

Attraction:
State University of New York At Buffalo
Distance From Hotel:1.5MI
Attraction:
Northtown Center at Amherst
Distance From Hotel:3.0MI
Attraction:
Walden Galleria Mall
Distance From Hotel:7.0MI
Attraction:
Shea's Performing Arts Center
Distance From Hotel:14.0MI

Parking

Parking

  • Number of parking spaces:343
  • Car Parking Available
  • Ample outdoor space for buses, RVs and trucks.

Internet

Standard Internet Service

Standard Internet service is free for all guests
Wireless Internet available in Standard Rooms,Executive Rooms,Suites,Business Center,Public Areas

Facility

Facility

  • Hotel renovated inFebruary 01, 2011
  • Total number of rooms:199
  • Total number of suites:1
  • Total number of rooms with only one bed:105
  • Total number of rooms with only double beds:94
  • Total number of non-smoking rooms:199
  • Total number of rooms for the physically challenged:7
  • Interior corridor
  • Total number of floors:2

Amherst Hotel's Location Provides Great Opportunities

Ideally situated between Buffalo and Niagara Falls, the Holiday Inn® Buffalo - Amherst hotel's location in Amherst, NY affords easy access to big business and excellent entertainment. Here, patrons enjoy numerous opportunities to work and play, in addition to pleasant, peaceful surroundings.

The hotel's location in the Buffalo, NY area ensures a convenient commute to the city's business district for business guests. Companies
View More

Amherst Hotel's Location Provides Great Opportunities

Ideally situated between Buffalo and Niagara Falls, the Holiday Inn® Buffalo - Amherst hotel's location in Amherst, NY affords easy access to big business and excellent entertainment. Here, patrons enjoy numerous opportunities to work and play, in addition to pleasant, peaceful surroundings.

The hotel's location in the Buffalo, NY area ensures a convenient commute to the city's business district for business guests. Companies like General Motors, General Electric and Praxair, as well as a number of business parks, are nearby. The free shuttle service can take guests to and from the Buffalo / Niagara International Airport (BUF).

Great entertainment is another benefit of this hotel's location in the Buffalo, NY area. Along with attending professional sporting events, guests can go skating at the Northtown Center at Amherst Ice Rinks, Hockey Outlet or Holiday Twin Rinks. College visits to the University of Buffalo, Niagara University, Buffalo State, DYouville, Canisius College and ECC, home of Flickinger Aquatic Center, also promise fun.

The Holiday Inn® Buffalo - Amherst hotel provides a Fitness Center or free access to Bally Total Fitness. A large indoor pool is a great places to cool down during your stay. Visit Amherst, and see what makes this hotel's accommodations the preferred choice.

View Less
Features
This hotel sits perfectly in Amherst, NY between downtown Buffalo and Niagara Falls, NY. The location provides easy access to some of the best entertainment areas in Western New York.

Guest Reviews

Rated 4.1 out of 5 by 240 reviewers.
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great Event Venue The downtown Buffalo Holiday Inn made my aunt's 90th birthday banquet a smashing success; courtesy airport shuttle, truly comfortable suites, decent-size banquet hall, tasty catering options, super-caring staff everywhere, quick problem-solving, reasonable value. Could do with an upgrade on audio-visual equipment--newer LCD projector, stronger microphone. I should definitely hold an event here again. November 6, 2013
Rated 2.0 out of 5.0 by Turn off the heat !!! We were in Buffalo for a conference at the convention center for the weekend. The Holiday Inn - Downtown was on the list of the conference hotels with attractive rates. As an IHG Platinum Elite member I chose to stay at there even though it was the furthest reccommended hotel from the convention center and was outside of a comfortable walking distance, necessitating driving and dealing with parking issues at the convention center and at the hotel. Check-in was painless; our room was on the 8th floor. The Buffalo weather was cool; maybe in the 40’s, with wind and rain, my room was tropical. I immediately found the thermostat and attempted to cool it to a more agreeable level. There was a brand new looking thermostat on the wall but it had no effect on the amount of heat radiating from the rather ancient heating unit on the opposite wall. The heater produced a low level of heat continuously, regardless of thermostat setting, the thermostat had no effect on it or on what may have been an AC unit in the wall above. However, there was a window that would open, which I found very welcomed, if not unusual on the 8th floor. The first night was uncomfortable. Opening the window let in cool air, wind, rain and the noise from Delaware St. Closing it made the room warm and the lack of a circulating fan made for a very quiet room in a relatively noisy hotel. Saturday morning I mentioned my concerns at the front desk and was told that the air conditioning system had been turned off for the winter. But the thermostat should still run the fan and maintenance would check on it. Saturday evening we were late returning, the conditions were the same as the night previous except it seemed that there was an increase in the traffic and pedestrian noise level with the window open and more guests in the hotel creating more in-house noise. Apparently the maintenance crew didn’t make it to the room or felt that nothing was amiss. The hotel appears old, and the facilities need to be upgraded. I have a very short list of IHG properties that I will not return to. Holiday Inn Buffalo – Downtown has been added to it. There are other IHG properties nearby, Ill give them a chance next time. November 6, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Wonderful hotel, enjoyed our stay. We very much enjoyed our stay. The less than stellar marks for food & beverage are because I received regular instead of decaf coffee and an allergy made my day a little horrible. We were able to relax until 3:30 when some noisy guests woke us up, there were several buses of cross country athletes from PA and we made allowances for this reason, but other than that we had no complaints and would not hesitate to stay again. November 5, 2013
Rated 1.0 out of 5.0 Great until iPod was stolen Staff seemed great until I left an iPod behind at checkout; I realized my mistake quickly and called, and the staff was not at all helpful and even rude. When I came back to get the iPod it was claimed that no one saw it and that it could not possibly have gone through the wash...the only possible conclusion I can come to is that someone on the staff kept it. It was implied several times that the fault for the theft was mine, and the front desk manager didn't even offer me an apology, let alone any form of compensation. Calls to ask if anyone has found it or turned it in have been completely ignored by management and housekeeping. If you stay here, be careful with all of your belongings, and don't leave anything of value behind. November 2, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Conference weekend As always, I loved the holiday inn pillows. I stayed 3 nights for a conference that was a 22 minute walk away. The food was great, loved the friday night sangria. Had a minor issue of no TV remote and my room phone didnt work when I first got to the room, but it was fixed within 15 minutes. I wish I was told of the $20 per night hold when I checked in, so I wasnt surprised to have an extra $60 put on my credit card. Its a small parking lot, so when a tour bus pulled in the parking lot, traffic was backed up for 20 minutes out the entrance and no one could get around. Also considering the hotel was part of a discount rate group for conference goers, there was no shuttle to the convention center, which would have been nice. All in all, everything was great and will def be using Holiday Inn once again. October 30, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Location, Location, Location Great location, perfect for both my business meeting and local architectural interests. Extremely clean with friendly & helpful staff at the front desk. Very pleased. will definitely be there on all my return trips. Thank you October 29, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great staff! From the people who work the front desk, to the waitstaff in the restaurant to the driver who took me to the airport--top-notch. Very friendly and helpful. Thanks for making me feel comfortable. October 26, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 Great getaway in Buffalo, NY Friendly staff, clean and comfortable accommodations. Easy to get to. A nice play to stay! October 19, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Looking good! With the recent upgrades and improvements the hotel is looking great! October 19, 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Great Location! We stayed at the Holiday Inn Buffalo-Downtown on a recent Saturday and Sunday evening. The hotel is in a great location-the Allentown neighborhood is right out the front door, and there are several interesting dining options nearby. Elmwood Avenue is also literally right around the corner and we had brunch at a lovely restaurant (Betty's) on Sunday morning. The "subway" is three blocks away and can get you downtown in 10 minutes, but it only runs about every 20 minutes. The hotel room itself was more than adequate-the only complaint I have is that the bathroom was in need of an update. The faucet in the tub was not aligned properly so it was hard to control the water temperature. The vent did not seem to work and therefore the mirror was steamed up after using the shower. I did notice that the staff changed the shower curtain on day 2-which was a nice touch. Front desk staff was very friendly and helpful. Overall a pleasant stay. October 17, 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Great location but no free breakfast Great hotel and awesome location. Not far from any of the restaurants and places my family wanted to check out. Only bad thing was no free breakfast like all of the other IHG hotels I have stayed at. Would stay here again though if given the opportunity. October 15, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Rested and refreshed Excellent sleep. Comfortable bed. Helpful staff. Looking forward to my next stay. October 14, 2013
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Good Location Rooms are pretty standard. Not all rooms have a refrigerator and microwave though. Beds are comfortable. No noticeable upgrades for platinum members. Overall good place to stay. October 14, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by You will enjoy this place We go to Buffalo 4 times a year. I will not stay anywhere else. The Holiday Inn is a wonderful place to stay , for your family , for your kid's, for all. Front staff are friendly and so are the cleaning staff and all are there to help. October 10, 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Compfy Food was great bar was good lots to do close by and coffee was great October 8, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Overall very nice experience This hotel had an excellent staff, both at the front desk and housekeeping. Room was very nice size, but bathroom was a bit undersized (but functional). Convenient shuttle service made available for a mtg at a different hotel. Would definitely stay again if in the area. October 6, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Food is GREAT! As always my stay at Downtown/HI was fantastic. I am a huge fan of this facility and its people! Usually the food gets overlooked though. The wings are always great-Why drive 2 blocks to the Anchor Bar when the wings are better here? Hotel restaurants get a bad rap but not here. The food is great at a reasonable price, and on top of that they give you discounts towards your breakfast or dinner! Kudos to the kitchen/restaurant staff!!! October 6, 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Comfotrbale big room with poor wifi service The only negative experience I had was with a very poor quality internet. If you are planning to have any video conference do not come to this place. They had the slowest internet service I have seen in years, I couldn't video conference and even smile web surfing was extremily slow. In regards to room, other services it was a very good experience. October 6, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Comfortable Nice experience quiet and comfortable hotel. Staff very gentle. Located in a quiet area with a variety of restaurants in the neighbor in case you choose differently from the hotel restaurant October 4, 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Lived here again Love the place! Location is good and staff is wonderful September 30, 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Stay here from Mon-Thurs most of weeks Very nice and convenient location. Like the staff. September 30, 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Good location and service. Had a very nice stay. Only criticism, the bed was uncomfortable and the mattress cover was very plastic feeling. September 25, 2013
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Good Downtown Location The staff was not attentive. They were cool and not friendly. The hotel is dated (from the 1960's vintage) well worn and is due for renovation / upgrading. There was no complimentary coffee, tea, cookies, etc. as other hotels. The Platinum amenity is a $5.00 coupon for use in the 620 Grill with very high prices for breakfast items. Would prefer to have a complimentary continental breakfast with coffee and juice. The location while convenient was rater noisy. September 24, 2013
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Good Location but older hotel Very old hotel; Walls are very thin the AC needs re-hauling - very noisy. Did not sleep very well. September 23, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great staff and experience at Buffalo Holiday inn Awesome staff. Especially Cari Ann, Linda, Brian, Alexis and everyone there. September 22, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Local Favorite If you are staying in the Downtown area...There is NO reason not to stay here. Great staff...Great food...Great bar...And all at a reasonable location! Stay here...You'll come back! September 21, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Pleasant staff. Convenient location. This was second time staying at hotel. 1st was for daughters college visit. Took long train ride they had shuttle service from train to hotel. Hotel than college. Picked up at college and shuttled to train. Drivers were courteous and went beyond call of duty to get our departing train on time. Second visit to move in college student. Upon returning to room found a beautiful note of encouragement and free breakfast vocher. Will definitely be a returning quest over next 4 years. September 8, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Last Minute Savior I wasn't planning on staying an additional night in Buffalo so I hadn't booked a room. Luckily, I,found this great hotel with great service and it was not too far from the airport. I would definitely stay here again. September 6, 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by What I expected Clean room at the going market rate. Nice to have a restaurant on the first floor to go to. Also on a main street that's easy to find, and has a 24 hour drugstore next door. The only weird thing was that they only had ice machines on every other floor. They didn't tell me that when I checked in, so I spent a while trying to find one. September 5, 2013
Rated 1.0 out of 5.0 by Cleanliness We saw some human hair on the rim of the toilet bowl. when we tried to sleep after a long day, it was too noisy. Actually some body tried to open our front door 2-3 times. May be by mistake but not appeciated. September 5, 2013
<<prev 3 4 5 6 7 ... 9 next>>
Hotel Exterior at Night
Hotel Exterior at Night
Select to close.
Hotel Exterior at Night Front Desk Exterior Feature Entrance
Select to close.
Terms & Conditions
If you are not already a member, join now.
Close
Check In
(e.g. Sep-18-2014)
Check Out
(e.g. Sep-19-2014)
Check Availability
Loading