• English  English
    Select to close.
    Current Settings are:
      /  English

    Change Preferences:
    Country / Region of Residence:
    Available Languages:
  • |
  • |
  • |
  • 1 888 HOLIDAY
Select to close.
Select to close.
Email or IHG® Rewards Club # PIN
Not a member?Join Today!
Forgot PIN
All fields are required.
 
If you have forgotten or lost your Personal Identification Number (PIN), we can email your PIN to the email address in your IHG® Rewards Club account profile.
If you do not have an email address in your profile, please contact your local IHG® Rewards Club Customer Care  to source your PIN and to update your profile with your email address. When you receive your PIN you can also update your email address viawww.ihgrewardsclub.com/email.
IHG® Rewards Club # Email Address

Not a member?Join Today!
Create PIN
All fields are required.
IHG® Rewards Club # ZIP/Postal Code
First Name Last Name
Please select a 4 number Personal Identification Number (PIN) which will be used to access your IHG® Rewards Club account.
PIN Verify PIN
 
Not a member?Join Today!
Create Email
All fields are required.
Thank you. Your PIN has been created. Please enter your email address so you can use it to log into the site in the future.
Email Address Verify Email Address
 
Email Hotel Get Directions Add to Favorites Print Fact Sheet

Book this Hotel

Best Price Guarantee
1

Reward Nights
When redeeming points for a Reward Night, you may only book one room at a time.

Once you complete your Reward Night reservation you will be given the option to duplicate this reservation.

(e.g. Oct-01-2014)
(e.g. Oct-02-2014)
Have a Group Code?
Have a Corporate ID?
Check Availability
Processing your request...

* Requires affiliation in the respective organization.

** Best Available Rate Search does not include affiliation rates.

Select to close.

To book more than 9 rooms for one stay or request a quote, please use our Easy Meetings tool, call 1-800-MEETING (in United States, Mexico and Canada) or contact a Global Sales Office.

Close Button
Your Recently Viewed Hotels

About our Hotel

Location: Suburban

  • Location: Suburban
  • Closest City: BUFFALO
  • Distance From Hotel: 12.0MI
  • Local time zone: GMT-04:00

Check In: 3:00 PM Check Out: 11:00 AM

  • Check In: 3:00 PM
  • Check Out: 11:00 AM
  • Minimum check-in age: 21
  • Late checkout available

Credit cards

Credit cards

  • American Express
  • Carte Blanche
  • Diners Club
  • Discover
  • Master Card
  • Visa

Accessibility

Accessibility

  • Number of Rooms:7
  • Parking
  • Service Animals Allowed

Languages

Languages

  1. English

Pet Policy

Pet Policy

No Pets Please. Guide Dogs or Service Animals are allowed with documentation.

What's Nearby

What's Nearby

Attraction:
State University of New York At Buffalo
Distance From Hotel:1.5MI
Attraction:
Northtown Center at Amherst
Distance From Hotel:3.0MI
Attraction:
Walden Galleria Mall
Distance From Hotel:7.0MI
Attraction:
Shea's Performing Arts Center
Distance From Hotel:14.0MI

Parking

Parking

  • Number of parking spaces:343
  • Car Parking Available
  • Ample outdoor space for buses, RVs and trucks.

Internet

Standard Internet Service

Standard Internet service is free for all guests
Wireless Internet available in Standard Rooms,Executive Rooms,Suites,Business Center,Public Areas

Facility

Facility

  • Hotel renovated inFebruary 01, 2011
  • Total number of rooms:199
  • Total number of suites:1
  • Total number of rooms with only one bed:105
  • Total number of rooms with only double beds:94
  • Total number of non-smoking rooms:199
  • Total number of rooms for the physically challenged:7
  • Interior corridor
  • Total number of floors:2

Amherst Hotel's Location Provides Great Opportunities

Ideally situated between Buffalo and Niagara Falls, the Holiday Inn® Buffalo - Amherst hotel's location in Amherst, NY affords easy access to big business and excellent entertainment. Here, patrons enjoy numerous opportunities to work and play, in addition to pleasant, peaceful surroundings.

The hotel's location in the Buffalo, NY area ensures a convenient commute to the city's business district for business guests. Companies
View More

Amherst Hotel's Location Provides Great Opportunities

Ideally situated between Buffalo and Niagara Falls, the Holiday Inn® Buffalo - Amherst hotel's location in Amherst, NY affords easy access to big business and excellent entertainment. Here, patrons enjoy numerous opportunities to work and play, in addition to pleasant, peaceful surroundings.

The hotel's location in the Buffalo, NY area ensures a convenient commute to the city's business district for business guests. Companies like General Motors, General Electric and Praxair, as well as a number of business parks, are nearby. The free shuttle service can take guests to and from the Buffalo / Niagara International Airport (BUF).

Great entertainment is another benefit of this hotel's location in the Buffalo, NY area. Along with attending professional sporting events, guests can go skating at the Northtown Center at Amherst Ice Rinks, Hockey Outlet or Holiday Twin Rinks. College visits to the University of Buffalo, Niagara University, Buffalo State, DYouville, Canisius College and ECC, home of Flickinger Aquatic Center, also promise fun.

The Holiday Inn® Buffalo - Amherst hotel provides a Fitness Center or free access to Bally Total Fitness. A large indoor pool is a great places to cool down during your stay. Visit Amherst, and see what makes this hotel's accommodations the preferred choice.

View Less
Features
This hotel sits perfectly in Amherst, NY between downtown Buffalo and Niagara Falls, NY. The location provides easy access to some of the best entertainment areas in Western New York.

Guest Reviews

Rated 4.0 out of 5 by 412 reviewers.
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Beautiful View The staff was friendly from the moment we arrived.The location was great.Our room was beautiful. The only thing is I wish you didn't have to pay for parking it should be included. The restaurant was also beautiful with a awesome view but I didn't like my breakfast. I would go back in a heart beat,The lobby staff was excellent. April 14, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Good hotel with a few issues My family just finished up a 6 day trip from Georgia to Canada, and we stayed at this hotel on nights 2 and 3. Front desk/check in/check out: This was actually the highlight of the hotel for us. We dealt mostly with Trevor, and he was wonderful: friendly, courteous, and beyond helpful. While we were in the hotel, a pipe burst in a hotel room, necessitating shutting off the water to several rooms, ours included. Trevor made sure to call us to let us know the situation, and he also called when the water was available again. Room: The room (2 double beds), as other reviewers have noted, was quite small, as well as the bathroom. This is to be expected since it is a historic hotel. However, it was quite a squeeze for 4 people. I would not choose this hotel again for a family trip for this reason. Saying that, the tiled bathroom and porcelain tub were beautiful and made you feel like you were not in just another hotel. There was no AC in the room, which led us to feeling quite warm during the day.....but we're from Georgia, so we might be too used to AC. We had been upgraded to a Fallsview room on the 9th floor for being Platinum members, and the view was beautiful! In room amenities: I disliked not having a fridge available. Cleanliness of room: Room was sparkly clean. Hotel amenities: The indoor heated pool was wonderful after a long drive. We loved the tiled pool area set up, with main pool, kiddie pool, and jacuzzi. There was also a wash-off shower and a sauna. The pools and jacuzzi were an excellent temperature and very clean. Pool towels were abundant. Parking: Parking was $25 (or $20?) per night in a garage connected to the hotel. We found this quite reasonable for a tourist destination. Extras: The complimentary bottle of wine on our first night was wonderful! The hotel atmosphere and ambience cannot be beat. Misc: There is a huge renovation going on on Floor 3, which is also the Pool floor. It was a little uncomfortable dodging carpet rolls whenever we went to the Pool. April 12, 2014
Rated 1.0 out of 5.0 by Great view The view from our room was like a post card, so much so that we spent a few hours just watching the lights changing the color of the ice, snow and water of the falls. Looking forward to our next chance to spend more time at this hotel. April 10, 2014
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Needs work Excellent location, excellent staff, excellent restaurant But...despite its obvious historic charm, the hotel desperately needs updating. Walls are paper thin -- be careful what you say because your neighbors will hear everything. The rooms are average at best, even the executive rooms. I'd recommend staying at the Sheraton next door instead. April 9, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by 1st Time at Crowne Plaza - Excellent Experience This was our first time at the Crowne Plaza, and it won't be our last. From the friendly staff at the check-in counter to the room service, it was an excellent experience. The room was so perfect. Extremely clean and comfortable. Such a beautiful hotel. Loved all the old pictures of Niagara Falls all over. Will definitely stay there again for our next trip to the Falls. April 4, 2014
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Room needs some attention The bathroom door "whined" terribly and our clock couldn't keep time at all, it would be 2 hours ahead, then 1 hour behind. The bathroom was very small, and the toilet was a little too close to the wall. April 2, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Older historied hotel with connections to modern fun This is an older hotel and the walls seemed thinner (more noise) than I've observed with newer hotels. The historic feel, however, is a plus with all the old annotated photos educating on the history of the hotel and the region. The location at the bottom of the walk from the rainbow bridge up to the horseshoe falls is great. The view out the window was wonderful with the outlook on the American falls and the (head turned) view up to the horseshoe falls. The restaurant had excellent food and service but the ambiance was a little lacking with the breakfast buffet tables pushed out to one side. The pool is deep enough to swim lengths but shallow enough to comfort worried parents. There is a also a small splash pool and hot hot tub. The connected access to the watermark (big plus for my family) and nearby stores, restaurants and other attractions is handy when visiting on a glum weather weekend as we did. April 2, 2014
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Don't think I would stay again Great service but rooms not great. They are on the small side and they claim that they have soft comfortable beds but mine was quite hard. Room was clean and they have been updated but toilets are very old and loud. We had a view of the parking garage and we heard a lot of honking during our stay. April 1, 2014
Rated 2.0 out of 5.0 by Average. Parking is terrible. Small rooms. View from our side room was only visible through a window in the corner of the room. Parking is shared with the casino customers and as such is very busy. Also, it requires two separate elevators to go from your car to your room which we found to be an inconvenience as well as being packed with other guests. I also was put off this hotel by the "resort" and parking fees which increases the price of the room by over 30%.They should pay the guests for the aggravation of parking here. The hotel lobby area was clean and impressive with staff that were courteous however, I would not stay here again. March 30, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great Romantic Stay in March Excellent, professional staff. Caring friendly and helpful. We were upgraded to a King Suite and made to feel special. Can't wait for a return visit. March 27, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great view of the Falls My son and I stayed for one night, for his first trip to the Falls. I can't think of a single thing that bothered me about the trip. Our room was ready early and we'd been upgraded to a room with a great view. All of the staff we encountered were friendly and helpful. The room was clean and comfortable (a little small but it is an older hotel and for one night, wasn't a concern at all) and my son was very taken with the carpet in the lobby area. I'd stay here again. March 26, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Great March Break Family Trip We booked a "package" for our family over the March Break, and it was a great value. So much included: magic show, water park, brunch, arcade activities. Plus, you can't beat this location for access to the Falls, Bird Kingdom (highly recommend) or Clifton Hill. Our room was small, as you would expect from an old, characterful hotel, but the beds were comfortable. The bathroom was tiny and may have had some original fixtures, but everything worked well and it was clean. One problem was that our room was very hot, despite what the in-room thermostat/control told us, and we had to leave the window open all night. Perhaps because we live in an old house and value character, none of the problems with this hotel was an issue for us, and we would go back again. March 19, 2014
Rated 1.0 out of 5.0 by Not worth the money. We purchased the "ultimate couples package" and intended on staying for two nights (Friday and Saturday), the package seemed like a good value and from what we could tell this was an upscale hotel so we were looking forward to it. When we arrived, we were told that we could upgrade to a Fallsview executive room for an extra $-- per night - we said yes to that. Then we saw the room... We were give room 1207 (I believe), and told it was on the special "executive floor", but I can't see how it was different from any other floor, but for the fact that it didn't have an ice machine so I had to go back down to floor 9 to get ice. We were told "floor to ceiling windows" which is a very generous way of putting what is actually in that room. The door to the room itself doesn't open all the way, we barely got our suitcase through. The room is SMALL... very small. The bathroom is SMALL ... very small. Water pressure, terrible. Bed, she said was a queen, but I'm not sure... Went for dinner at the buffet since a coupon came with the package. Food was good and so was service, but the prices were insanely high ($--ish dollars AFTER the discount coupon for two), worse yet, we were charged a mysterious PF fee (which to our waitresses credit she said was "optional" and removed). It was at this point we decided to cut our stay in half and leave on Saturday because we were so disappointed, we went downstairs and told the check-in desk, they revised our confirmation without question of why. Went back up to the room, only to find that we could hear EVERYTHING in the room next door, where a family with small children were staying (they weren't being loud, just normal speaking voices), the walls are paper thin, not such a great thing considering we were there for your "couples package". We asked to be moved, and were moved without question... to a room with two double beds... We checked out the next day, there was the mysterious PF fee again, and a "resort fee" on top of that (yet when we tried to access the wifi on our cell phones we were redirected to a screen indicating it would be $15? Were never given a wifi password or instructions?) In the end we spent $-- to stay one night at your hotel, and would never return. March 19, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great service! My son and I had such a good time at your hotel :) Special thanks to room service! Food was great! And yes we are coming back! See you soon! March 18, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by March break We booked a room for one night at the Crowne Plaza and joined the throng of families in the water park for March Break. While the room was definitely quieter and more relaxing than our previous ventures at the Skyline, the parking was quite a hike, and the wait for the elevator was very tiring for anyone with mobility issues such as myself. Having a few benches here and there would go a long way to making it more enjoyable for disabled persons. Nonetheless, David, one of the excellent Bell staff, was quick to pull up a comfortable chair for me and assist with our check-in & luggage. The pool and hot tub on the 3rd floor were a welcome, quiet respite from the busy water park and a great way to unwind for an hour or two before bed. Dinner in the Rainbow Room was absolutely delicious and filling. Everything was perfectly prepared and presented from the scrumptious carciofini (crispy fried artichoke hearts) to the melt in your mouth steak & lamb entrées to the wickedly decadent molten chocolate banana bread pudding with dulce leche. The staff were professional yet personable and made sure we had a thoroughly enjoyable evening -special heartfelt thanks to Christopher & Evan! We`ll be back! March 16, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by EXCEPTIONAL SERVICE The service during our family March Break vacation was a delight. The hotel was very buisy, possibly filled to capacity, but very well managed. The staff catered to our individual needs and in fact exceeded our expectations. There was lots of little perks (magic show tickets, efficient checkout and waterpark access, to name a few) which really made a difference. A sincere thanks to Theresa, in the reservations dept. for accomodating our emergency cancellation in February with the March Break date and the front desk for accomdating an extra night stay when the winterstorm made driving home impossible. March 16, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by friendly staff Room was very small the door was realy hard to open and close we were able to hear a baby crying in next door in the middle of night. Staff was very nice and friendly extremely help full location was awesome Extra vouchers and free magic show was good Over all it was good and my kids loved it and enjoyed a lot March 16, 2014
Rated 2.0 out of 5.0 by Totally disappointed and not recommended The bookings were done online for family and a Superior Falls View was chosen which comes with a higher rate. Upon checkin, a side room with little :falls view" and more of the side building view was given. Came back to the reservation counter and was told that one more room is available on the same floor, so up I went and this time it was "rainbow bridge" view. Came down again and guess what, another room was shown, this time there was a little more of the "falls view". Tired of arguing, finally settled down. Better to stay at neighboring hotel and get what you paid for with wall to wall glass for better falls view. March 16, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Fabulous get away We visit niagara on a regular basis and have stayed in most hotels there. The Crowne Plaza was by far the best. From check in to check out the staff were great. The room was impeccable with an old world feel but with all modern amenities. this will definitely be our place to stay. March 16, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 Great Hotel Trevor thank you for quickly resolving the issue with our room and helping to make it a memorable birthday week for my husband. I will definitely stay at The Crown Plaza again and see if we can get Marilyn Munro's room 801 March 16, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Very Welcoming and Accomodating Our room was as expected. Hotel staff went above and beyond to make sure our stay was an excellent one. I thought I had booked accommodation s with breakfast, but in fact I had not. The front desk staff looked after us and comped our breakfast. I thought that was wonderful Something that was clearly my error they looked after us. Now that is hospitality. March 12, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by best stay THE STAFF WAS THE BEST EVER!!!!!! ANY QUESTIONS WE HAD THEY HAD ANSWERS!!! WE LOCKED OURSEVES OUT, NOT ONLY DID THEY REPLACE OUR KEY THEY HAD SOMEONE JOIN US TO MAKE SURE OUR NEW KEY WORKED!!! IT WAS CLEAN A GREAT VIEW VERY FRIENDLY STAFF AND VERY HELPFUL!!! YOU CAN TELL THE STAFF REALLY ENJOY THEIR JOBS!!! ITS NICE TO SEE FRIENDLY FACES WHEN YOU ARE AWAY FROM HOME!!! THIS WAS THE FIRST TIME I HAVE TRAVELLED TO NIAGARA FALLS WITH JUST THE KIDS AND MYSELF!! IT WAS FUN AND WE WOULD DO IT AGAIN!!! THANKS February 26, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Comfortable stay and lovely dinner Stayed the week of family day for two nights I had a great night sleep and the room was very clean .When we return back to our room a nice note was left behind by a room attendant we felt very proud to know that the room attendant appreciated our stay. The Restaurant service and food was Excellent thanks to Chef for a great dinner. The presentation and taste of food was perfect February 24, 2014
Rated 2.0 out of 5.0 by rooms a bit small, tight space was given an unrequested upgrade (which is nice) but charged for the extra $$$ (not-so-nice). upgrade was view of falls but we were on that side in both our rooms.... easy location to get to and get around. Starbucks at street level needs more staff. February 12, 2014
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Family getaway wknd Overall, it was a good weekend away with the family. The rooms, although fairly clean, could have had some updating in the bathroom for sure. The temperature, although self regulated, were still very warm and became uncomfortable. Elevators were always extremely long waits. February 6, 2014
Rated 2.0 out of 5.0 by Better places to stay - Bedding was very uncomfortable - Toilet was very dated - The room is very tight in space, the corner desk and TV table makes it impossible for two people even kids to walk through it without bumping into the furniture or each other - Carpet had stains every where - Wall paper is peeling off - The TV is just in a very bad spot and a size too small for the room, it wont turn enough to center it for the guests on the other bed to be able to watch February 6, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by I don't write reviews I never write a review typically on principal but... I can honestly say that the service by Trevor at the front desk was by far the best service I have ever received at any of your IHG properties and I stay at a lot of them, often. I was travelling with my children and his welcome set the tone for the weekend. Congratulations on the excellent service! January 30, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great Service and Location Loved the location and service at the Crowne Plaza January 15, 2014
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Uncomfortable bed and poor service when I booked the hotel with water park package there were no sign of excluded breakfast. Just before heading for breakfast we inform that there is no breakfast and there buffet was break. the room was so small and good for a couple not 4 people(as they said). the beds were double and suit for one person not two. really uncomfortable beds and pillows. no refrigerator in the room. when came back found that they charge me around 80 $ more. when I called them they said there is 75 & deposit which they did not explain in front desk. we should travel around the world to see what is marketing and how customers are valuable. when we pay by credit there is no deposit. And the charge me for parking 1.5$ more which i still dont know why. really disappointed by their quality and policy. January 15, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great Package - Great Value! My friends and I recently bought a Waterpark Package thru the Crowne Plaza Hotel! It was such great value; if only we knew about the coupon booklet we would have gotten that included passes to Mini Golf, Swat Car attraction, Bumper Cars, Magic Show and so much more! Thank you for making our stay both totally fun & totally memorable! Looking forward to coming back. January 8, 2014
<<prev 5 6 7 8 9 ... 15 next>>
Hotel Exterior at Night
Hotel Exterior at Night
Select to close.
Hotel Exterior at Night Front Desk Exterior Feature Entrance
Select to close.
Terms & Conditions
If you are not already a member, join now.
Earn at least two free nights, 50,000 bonus points or 10,000 miles. Book Now.
Close
Check In
(e.g. Oct-01-2014)
Check Out
(e.g. Oct-02-2014)
Check Availability
Loading