• English  English
    Select to close.
    Current Settings are:
      /  English

    Change Preferences:
    Country / Region of Residence:
    Available Languages:
  • |
  • |
  • |
  • 1 888 HOLIDAY
Select to close.
Select to close.
Email or IHG® Rewards Club # PIN
Not a member?Join Today!
Forgot PIN
All fields are required.
 
If you have forgotten or lost your Personal Identification Number (PIN), we can email your PIN to the email address in your IHG® Rewards Club account profile.
If you do not have an email address in your profile, please contact your local IHG® Rewards Club Customer Care  to source your PIN and to update your profile with your email address. When you receive your PIN you can also update your email address viawww.ihgrewardsclub.com/email.
IHG® Rewards Club # Email Address

Not a member?Join Today!
Create PIN
All fields are required.
IHG® Rewards Club # ZIP/Postal Code
First Name Last Name
Please select a 4 number Personal Identification Number (PIN) which will be used to access your IHG® Rewards Club account.
PIN Verify PIN
 
Not a member?Join Today!
Create Email
All fields are required.
Thank you. Your PIN has been created. Please enter your email address so you can use it to log into the site in the future.
Email Address Verify Email Address
 
Email Hotel Get Directions Add to Favorites Print Fact Sheet

Book this Hotel

Best Price Guarantee
1

Reward Nights
When redeeming points for a Reward Night, you may only book one room at a time.

Once you complete your Reward Night reservation you will be given the option to duplicate this reservation.

(e.g. Jul-30-2014)
(e.g. Jul-31-2014)
Have a Group Code?
Have a Corporate ID?
Check Availability
Processing your request...

* Requires affiliation in the respective organization.

** Best Available Rate Search does not include affiliation rates.

Select to close.

To book more than 9 rooms for one stay or request a quote, please use our Easy Meetings tool, call 1-800-MEETING (in United States, Mexico and Canada) or contact a Global Sales Office.

Close Button
Your Recently Viewed Hotels

About our Hotel

Location: Suburban

  • Location: Suburban
  • Closest City: ANN ARBOR
  • Distance From Hotel: 3.0MI
  • Local time zone: GMT-04:00

Check In: 3:00 PM Check Out: 12:00 PM

  • Check In: 3:00 PM
  • Check Out: 12:00 PM
  • Minimum check-in age: 21
  • Late checkout available

Credit cards

Credit cards

  • American Express
  • Carte Blanche
  • Diners Club
  • Discover
  • Master Card
  • Visa

Accessibility

Accessibility

  • Number of Rooms:7
  • Parking
  • Service Animals Allowed

Languages

Languages

  1. English

Pet Policy

Pet Policy

No pets permitted. Guide or Service animals permitted, please contact hotel prior to arrival to notify if you have a service animal.

What's Nearby

What's Nearby

Attraction:
Domino's World Hdqtrs & Petting Zoo
Distance From Hotel:10.0MI
Attraction:
Ann Arbor Hands On Museum
Distance From Hotel:3.5MI
Attraction:
Washtenaw County Fairgrounds
Distance From Hotel:4.8MI
Attraction:
Michigan International Speedway
Distance From Hotel:33.0MI

Parking

Parking

  • Car Parking Available
  • Free parking for all guests. Have space in back of building to park buses or trailers

Internet

Standard Internet Service

Standard Internet service is free for all guests
Wireless Internet available in Standard Rooms,Executive Rooms,Suites,Business Center,Public Areas
Wired Internet available in Standard Rooms,Executive Rooms,Suites,Business Center,Public Areas

Facility

Facility

  • Hotel renovated inFebruary 01, 2006
  • Total number of rooms:107
  • Total number of suites:18
  • Total number of rooms with only one bed:25
  • Total number of rooms with only double beds:82
  • Total number of non-smoking rooms:107
  • Total number of rooms for the physically challenged:7
  • Interior corridor
  • Total number of floors:5
Enjoy your stay at one of Ann Arbor's Newest Hotels!

The Holiday Inn and Suites University of Michigan Area, features 107 non-smoking guest rooms including 18 spacious suites. Our beautiful guestrooms include plush pillow-top mattresses, refrigerators and microwaves in every room, and so much more. Amenities include our full service restaurant and lounge, Mallett's Creek Bar & Grille, room service, full-service business center, indoor pool, whirlpool, spacious fitness room, high speed
View More

Enjoy your stay at one of Ann Arbor's Newest Hotels!

The Holiday Inn and Suites University of Michigan Area, features 107 non-smoking guest rooms including 18 spacious suites. Our beautiful guestrooms include plush pillow-top mattresses, refrigerators and microwaves in every room, and so much more. Amenities include our full service restaurant and lounge, Mallett's Creek Bar & Grille, room service, full-service business center, indoor pool, whirlpool, spacious fitness room, high speed internet access and 1300 sq. ft. of flexible Meeting Space. Nearby attractions include

Detroit Wayne County Airport, which is just 25 miles from the hotel. University of Michigan's Main Campus and Downtown Ann Arbor are just 3 miles away. We are also just four blocks from Briarwood Mall which features shopping and a wide array of restaurants to choose from.

We are conveniently located near the following businesses: Google, Proquest, Thompson Reuters (formerly Thomson Medstat), Toyota Technical Center, Service Brands, U of M, Sorenson and Affinia.

View Less
Features
At the newest Holiday Inn in Ann Arbor, you will enjoy award winning service and every amenity you need! Unwind in our spacious guest rooms, or enjoy a cocktail in our onsite bar, Mallett's Creek Bar & Grille. 24-Hour business center available for all of your office needs, or just relax in our indoor pool and hot tub!

Guest Reviews

Rated 4.2 out of 5 by 66 reviewers.
Rated 2.0 out of 5.0 by Desk Staff Unhelpful Hotel is not bad, and the location is good for Chelsea and surrounding areas. However, the desk staff needs to be better trained in customer support. They won't tell you whether your room is ready, EVEN AFTER CHECKIN TIME. I have had this experience with them TWICE (so it is not just an anomaly). Something that is fixable, if management will pay some attention to this. In the first case, my wife and I just cancelled our reservation rather than drive to the hotel with the uncertainty about leaving our bags in the room. Most things about the hotel are fine. Our room had a very dated bathroom that needed significant updating. June 18, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Guest Laundry Since their guest laundry was out of order at this time, they had us drop off at night & had washed, dried, folded & had ready the next morning for a reasonable fee. Thank you very much! June 15, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 Great stay at Holiday Inn Express Chelsea We loved the amenities in the room particularly the small refrigerator. The décor throughout the hotel was stylish-actually more than we expected. The room was a little warm when we entered. It took some time for the room to cool down. The bottom of bath tub needed to be whitened. Overall, we were very happy with the entire stay. June 9, 2014
Rated 2.0 out of 5.0 by Older, overpriced property Older property, dated furnishings, and poorly maintained HVAC units in the room. Not impressed. June 9, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Nice place to stay The hotel was clean, quiet, and had excellent service from all.The staff was very kind and helpful . June 8, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Business/graduation Very convenient to where we needed to be. Great eateries in the area and golf. June 5, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great place I had a great stay -- Joseph the front desk manager was very nice! Room was very comfortable, quiet and clean. I travel to the area three times a year and always enjoy staying at this hotel. June 4, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Clean, quiet and great service This hotel was exceptionally clean. Our room was comfortable and quiet. The breakfast which is included was very good. June 4, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Ms Lana The hotel staff was very accommodating they were always asking if they could get us anything, The cleanlyness of the hotel was excellent. The staff was always doing something to make the coffee area clean. June 4, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by great stay from start to finish way more than i expected, this place was excellent!!! May 23, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Excellent I had to return to Chelsea for a procedure at MHNI/ Chelsea Hospital. See my review dated April 24. Second visit confirmed that this is a well run facility. Well maintained, clean, friendly staff, good variety at breakfast and nice amenities. A relaxing environment only 5 minutes to Chelsea Hospital. Great for families of in patients and out patients at Chelsea Hospital. May 12, 2014
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Front desk clerk did not want to honor my reservations I reserved 4 rooms in August of 2013 for a stay in May of 2104 for my family visiting from out of town. I called several days in advance to try to change the name on the reservation from my name to my guest(s) names. The man on the phone, said "no, that is not possible". So, I went online and added my guest names, under the Additional Guest field of the online form and saved. All good so far. All 4 of my guests (4 separate rooms) were told by the front desk clerk that no rooms were available and each had some sort of other issue: Guest 1 & 2 arrived on Thursday and were told they did not have rooms for the night, and their reservations didn't start until Friday. A lenghty conversion ensued. Finally, after each handed over the printout with confirmation number from website, he was able to "find" the rooms. Guests 3 & 4 arrived on Friday and were told again, no rooms, and that they had already checked in on Thursday. Again, needed to hand over the printed confirmation from website before he could "find" the rooms. Stay was fine for all, but front desk needs sensitivity training and computer training as well. May 6, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Outstanding Spent 10 nights while being treated at Chelsea Hospital (MHNI). Spotless rooms and common areas. Excellent breakfast selections. Very clean breakfast area. Many items hand wrapped for cleanliness. Nice indoor pool and fitness center. Friendly helpful staff. Owner/Operator is on site. He is focused on providing a comfortable stay. Greeted by name. Often heard," what can I do to make you more comfortable". One mile from Chelsea Hospital. 1.2 miles to downtown Chelsea restaurants. Hotel has fast food restaurants within walking distance. It is always a risk stopping at an unknown interstate exit. What condition will we find? This Inn is excellent. The owner/operator is new(4months), if he can keep up this level of comfort,cleanliness and customer service then he certainly will be fully booked and a Holiday Inn award winner. Patients and family of Chelsea Hospital and MHNI will find this a soothing ,peaceful and relaxing place during stressful times. Just far enough off I94 ( about 300yards) to eliminate road noise. April 24, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by very clean. with excellent service We were very pleased with our accommodations. The hotel was very clean. The staff were professional and friendly. The breakfast choices were awesome. We will stay here again. It was our first time at a holiday inn express. We loved it. April 1, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Convenient and Quiet Location Hotel is seconds from 94W and only a 15 minute drive from the Univeristy of Michigan campus. Hotel offers excellent and friendly customer service. Rooms are clean and offer a quiet atmosphere to complete work remotely if needed. Continental breakfast includes numerous choices daily. Staff are always welcoming and helpful. I highly recommend this hotel for anyone staying in the Ann Arbor or surrounding areas. March 31, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Love the Staff at this hHotel Day Inn Express This is my number chose for my hotel stay while working in Michigan (Manchester). What really makes this hotel great is the staff from the top to the bottom. Great customer services!!!! Great Staff!!!! March 10, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Excellent service Courteous staff and very comfortable room. Very clean. March 1, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Nice hotel! I have stayed at this hotel several times now because it is about half way between my home and work. The staff is very friendly and the rooms are always clean. February 22, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Staff is friendly and helpful I travel for business and stay in many hotels/motels. The front desk staff in Chelsea were very helpful. The room was clean and comfortable. February 13, 2014
Rated 2.0 out of 5.0 by Never again If a barking puppy dog is what you want to hear for 2 hours, then this is the place for you. If after you are 50% finished with your shower and the water pressure drops to a trickle, this is the place to stay. To Finnish off me stay I grabbed a cup of coffee only to find the coffee filled with coffee grounds. Due to I stay over 120 nights in hotels a year, am I asking too much? All I want is a clean, comfortable, quite place to stay with a understanding hotel staff when there is an issue. January 26, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great stay Really enjoyed my recent stay. Lots of room, nice treadmills, good breakfast selection. I enjoyed the staff the most. Worked with 4 different staff members all whom were eager to help and very friendly. I will return on my next trip to Chelsea area. Thanks! January 17, 2014
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Inflexible manager/policy I am a resident of the city of Chelsea who experienced a flood at my home during the subzero temperatures January 9, 2014. My fiancé and I stayed at this facility as a result. I booked 2 nights not knowing if I would need both. The clerk and manager at the time of check in made a point of tell us to notify them before 6pm the next day to avoid being charged an extra night. The next day at 430 pm I call the facility to notify them we wouldn't need that second night. I was told that it was "too late" for them to resell the room and I would be charged the extra night. After speaking to that night's manager, I was quite frustrated with her lack of empathy and was told I would be charged a late checkout fee of $69. Being misled by the previous night's staff, I felt I was not responsible for the late checkout time. I was not offered any other compensation as a result. I told the manager, Dannell, that I was not happy with this outcome but was only told "I'm sorry you feel that way" I will not be using this hotel in the future or recommending it to any visitors to our city. January 14, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Winter Classic Visit Great Stay...friendly people, clean comfortable accomodation for reasonable value...Chelsea is a nice little town...eat at the Common Grill if you can...fantastic!! January 6, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Clean room but average service The Good Recognition of IHG membership at check-in. Check-in agent was pleasant and jovial. Offered one complimentary bottle of water at check-in even though we were two people checking-in. Nevertheless I genuinely appreciated the gesture. On the night of January 1st there was no water in the vending machine but when I brought it to the attention of the front desk, the nice lady at the front desk was kind enough to offer us a couple of complimentary bottles of water. The not so good On the night of Dec. 31st the smoke alarm went off in our room at 3:00am for no apparent reason. After about 20 minutes a lady and a man from the hotel staff were pounding at our door. The man came in pulled a chair, removed the alarm and left abruptly with a short apology. The alarm was never replaced the remainder of our trip (we checked out on January 2nd). No apology/explanation was offered at the front desk the next day or when we checked out. The Bad The day we checked out I asked the lady at the front desk if we could have a bottle of water. The weather was bad outside and I didn't want to stop on the way to get a bottle of water on our return back to Canada. She abruptly told me that they only offer complimentary water at check-in and directed me to the vending machine. I did get the water from the vending machine but what bothered me most was the pettiness of this action. A bottle of water costs not more than $0.10 or $0.25. Surely that is not going to make a huge difference in the hotel's bottom line. As an IHG member, I was disappointed. January 5, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by 7 night stay; clean room, great staff, breakfast could use some work. No complaints at all except about breakfast variety. One recommendation about security. Please offer more than 1 yogurt brand, especially when that is a 'fit' brand with artificial sweeteners. Please offer more fruit, fresh preferred, canned if necessary. PLEASE offer General Mills Cherrios, not some poor tasting off brand. Please offer some bread products with more fiber. Also, I felt uncomfortable parking in the back and using the side entrances at night. More light would be better, both in the lot, and at the 2 side entrances. Thank you for a fine overall stay. December 17, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Amazing service This was our 2nd stay in recent months at this location. We will be back. It is conveniently located right off highway. Rooms clean and well appointed. Best of all...the evening front desk clerk, Ashley, is always happy and welcoming and helpful! The night desk clerk...unfortunately, even on our 2nd stay did not catch his name...but, he made sure that the wonderful free breakfast was out early for us since we needed to leave by 7 AM for our horse show again. Highly recommend the Holiday Inn Express in Chelsea! October 31, 2013
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Bathtub The bathtub has no bath mat or applique on the base to make it less slick. When taking a shower, the combination of soap and water makes it hazardous. October 10, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Quite. Comfortable bed and clean rooms. I realize we all try to save money and as requested, we used our towels more than once, actually 2 days. However, it is always refreshing to have clean towels daily at a motel. We asked for clean linens and we received that but fresh and clean towels would have been great too. Overall, great service, cleanliness. Would definitely recommend and stay there again. Thanks October 7, 2013
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by A quite expensive "budget" hotel While this property was well maintained and very comfortable with a very congenial and helpful, it is quite overpriced. I had stayed at a Holiday Inn Express in another city that was comparable to this one and was given a discount as a retired military member and payed about 50% of what I payed at this facility. I am not sure what caused the significant difference in charge or the unwillingness to give me a military discount, but it truly lowered my satisfaction significantly. October 1, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by No Better Place then my Second Home at the Hotel All i can say its my second home a place i love to go a place that is kind and nice its like the cheers bar where every one knows every one that a place you want to be September 29, 2013
<<prev2 3 next>>
Hotel Exterior
Hotel Exterior
Select to close.
Hotel Exterior Lobby Seating Area Hotel Lobby Front Desk Hotel Exterior
Select to close.
Close
Check In
(e.g. Jul-30-2014)
Check Out
(e.g. Jul-31-2014)
Check Availability
Loading