Your session will expire in 5 minutes, 0 seconds, due to inactivity. Stay Logged In
Create PIN
All fields are required
If you joined IHG® Rewards Club at a hotel, then you will need to create a 4-digit PIN in order to access your IHG® Rewards Club account.
Unexpected Server Error
Your session has expired. Please sign in to your profile
We are sorry, our system is temporarily unavailable. Please try again later or contact the IHG® Rewards Club Customer Care Center for assistance.
The 4-digit numbers entered must match.
Forgot PIN?
All fields are required
Unexpected Server Error
Your session has expired. Please sign in to your profile
We are sorry, our system is temporarily unavailable. Please try again later or contact the IHG® Rewards Club Customer Care Center for assistance.
Don't have an email address in your profile?

Contact your local IHG® Rewards Club Customer Care to source your PIN and to update your profile with your email address. When you receive your PIN you can also update your email address via www.ihg.com/updateemail.

Book Now
MoreFewer Options

* Required Field

** Best Available Rate Search does not include affiliation rates.

Manage Reservations
Need to make changes to your reservation? You've come to the right place!
Already an IHG® Rewards Club Member? to view reservations.
View This Reservation

* Required Field

Manage Reservations
Need to make changes to your reservation? You've come to the right place!
Already an IHG® Rewards Club Member? to view reservations.
View This Reservation

* Required Field

Guest Reviews
Each review and rating that we receive is verified to ensure that we only display information provided by guests who have actually stayed in the hotel.
92%
Recommend This Property

Overall Experience

4.4

based on 554 reviews
92%
Recommend This Property

Ratings Breakdown

554reviews

  • 5 Stars
    361
  • 4 Stars
    119
  • 3 Stars
    35
  • 2 Stars
    27
  • 1 Stars
    12

Comfortable and quiet

By

July 05, 2016

club

Easy check in and out, good location, comfortable and quiet. The food was pretty good too.

Read More
Read Less

Old hotel, attentive staff but ammentities a little lacking.

By

July 05, 2016

Upon check in, the staff was very attentive and professional. The building is old and the layout very confusing. I apparently did not understand the room numbering system and I wandered for about 10 minutes before returning the front desk to ask someone to take me to my room. Once there, the room was very clean and comfortable. The T.V. controls however were a bit frustrating (the power button takes you to a blank screen and you have to know to press the channel button, not the Guide button to find something (Guide is not functional; you have to look at a laminated paper guide). Not a big deal, just frustrating - I had to call to get someone to look at the T.V. which I thought was non-operational. It was a little embarrassing.

Read More
Read Less

Older Hotel, Comfortable stay

By

June 30, 2016

I don't typically write reviews, but I'm just disappointed how I arrive and greeted as a Spire member, then find out that my credit card wouldn't go through because the front desk clerk did not know how to use the new system. After complete embarrassment of having to call my IHG MasterCard number to confirm the card is working fine, I had to tell them they were using their own system wrong. The manager did however let me go to my room and they said they would "sort it out in the morning". They never sorted it out, but when I checked out, the front desk clerk had no problem charging my car like always and just told me that the previous clerk didn't know how to use the new system.

People make mistakes, but the embarrassment of having to stand there 30 minutes was not right.

Posted byHotelStaff
July 07, 2016
Dear Valued Guest, We are extremely disappointed that your expectations, especially as a Spire Elite member, were not exceeded. We value all guests, and we especially value and welcome those who spend so much of their time in IHG hotels. As you know, we are going through a system update, but we completely understand your frustrations and embarrassment. We can assure you that this is not the standard we hold ourselves to at the Holiday Inn Athens-University Area and truly hope that we are given the opportunity to improve any future stays you might have with us. Again, we apologize and want to thank you for staying with us and for your loyalty as a Spire Eliite member. Kindest Regards, Sarah P. Social Media Representative
Read More
Read Less

Great night

By

June 29, 2016

club

I came in and was accommodated with my last minute arrangements and had a wonderful stay. I would say that the bathroom was filled with plush towels and I will most certainly put Holiday Inn at the top of my recommended hotels.

Posted byHotelStaff
July 07, 2016
Dear Valued Guest, Thank you for choosing to stay with us at the Holiday Inn Athens-University Area. We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us, as each team member makes it a priority to ensure that each guest is taken care of and that their expectations are exceeded. We look forward to seeing you next time. Kindest Regards, Sarah P. Social Media Representative
Read More
Read Less

Always a winner

By

June 27, 2016

I stay at this property 3 or 4 times a year. I have never had a bad experience. Oh, there have been a few little "bumps" along the way, but staff have always handled them. Parking was a little tough for this visit, but that has not been the norm. One thing that always impresses me here is that the staff look like they enjoy working here! Will definitely be back.

Posted byHotelStaff
June 29, 2016
Dear JChr, Thank you so much for taking the time to review your stay at Holiday Inn Athens-University Area! We love our repeat guests and are delighted that you continue to stay with us when you visit Athens. Thank you for your loyalty as a Gold Elite IHG Rewards Club member! Sincerely, Amber K Guest Services Manager
Read More
Read Less

Nice, helpful staff at a clean and comfortable facility.

By

June 27, 2016

platinumelite

Very convenient to Downtown Athens for day and evening activities.

Posted byHotelStaff
June 29, 2016
Dear RHAH, We appreciate your loyalty as a Platinum Elite IHG Rewards Club member! I am happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay at Holiday Inn Athens-University Area. Our team works very hard to exceed your expectations and we hope to have you as our guest again in the future! Sincerely, Amber K Guest Services Manager
Read More
Read Less

Excellent Hotel

By

June 22, 2016

club

This hotel surpassed my expectations. Customer service was excellent. The beds were very comfortable. The cleanliness of the hotel was excellent. I usually do not book at Holiday Inn, but after this visit I will probably do so. The room temperature was excellent and the noise factor was very low. All employees greeted me during passing in the hallways

Posted byHotelStaff
June 28, 2016
Dear Sar1234, I am so happy to hear that we exceeded your expectations during your stay at Holiday Inn Athens-University Area. We appreciate your loyalty as an IHG Rewards Club member and are delighted that we have changed your impression of the Holiday Inn brand. We work very hard to deliver excellent service to all of our guests and are pleased that we made a difference in your visit to Athens. We hope to have you as our guest again next time your travels bring you to the Classic City! Sincerely, Amber K Guest Services Manager
Read More
Read Less

Facility Appearance

By

June 22, 2016

club

The overall appearance of this facility is excellent! It is very close to the UGA campus and downtown, and has plenty of room for seminars. I would definitely recommend this hotel to people I encounter if going to Athens for business and pleasure.

Posted byHotelStaff
June 22, 2016
Dear wam56, Thank you so much for your kind words about the Holiday Inn in Athens, GA! I am so glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. We appreciate your loyalty as an IHG Rewards Club member and look forward to having you as our guest again in the future! Sincerely, Amber K Guest Services Manager
Read More
Read Less

comfortable

By

June 21, 2016

platinumelite

great stay would stay here again. Always stay at holiday inn for all business trips, excellent service, consistence is best

Posted byHotelStaff
June 22, 2016
Dear Rux1970, Thank you so much for taking the time to review your stay at Holiday Inn Athens-University Area! We appreciate your loyalty as a Platinum Elite IHG Rewards Club member and are delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us! We hope you have you as our guest again int he future. Sincerely, Amber K Guest Services Manager
Read More
Read Less

Great Hotel

By

June 21, 2016

club

Great Hotel at a great price! Central to everything!

Posted byHotelStaff
June 23, 2016
Dear KP1979, Thank you for your positive review of Holiday Inn Athens-University Area! We appreciate your loyalty as an IHG Rewards Club member and I am delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us! We hope to have you as our guest again in the future. Sincerely, Amber K Guest Services Manager
Read More
Read Less

Quite and convenient

By

June 20, 2016

club

They allowed a late checkout which helped with my schedule to take a pharmacy exam at the university. The lounge was nice and the restaurant staff was overly kind and quick.

Posted byHotelStaff
June 21, 2016
We appreciate your kinds words and thank you for your review. The Holiday Inn Athens recognizes the importance of being flexible in order to exceed our guest needs. We are the only full service hotel in Athens so our restaurant is a nice amenity to have. We look forward to seeing you soon. Sincerely Michael Coward General Manager
Read More
Read Less

Excellent location

By

June 20, 2016

club

Room was spacious, comfortable and clean. We were in town for a wedding and the bride and her bridesmaids were able to get ready in our suite comfortably.
We were adjacent to downtown and campus and our guests could enjoy all while we got ready for the wedding.
Rehearsal dinner was at the hotel also and it was delicious. Service excellent.

Posted byHotelStaff
June 20, 2016
Thank you for your wonderful review. We know weddings are a special time and we at the Holiday Inn Athens are dedicated to making every guest time with us special. We look forward to seeing you again. Thank you Michael Coward General Manager
Read More
Read Less