• English  English
    Select to close.
    Current Settings are:
      /  English

    Change Preferences:
    Country of Residence:
    Available Languages:
  • |
  • |
  • |
  • 1 888 HOLIDAY
Select to close.
Select to close.
Email or IHG® Rewards Club # PIN
Not a member?Join Today!
Forgot PIN
All fields are required.
 
If you have forgotten or lost your Personal Identification Number (PIN), we can email your PIN to the email address in your IHG® Rewards Club account profile.
If you do not have an email address in your profile, please contact your local IHG® Rewards Club Customer Care  to source your PIN and to update your profile with your email address. When you receive your PIN you can also update your email address viawww.ihgrewardsclub.com/email.
IHG® Rewards Club # Email Address

Not a member?Join Today!
Create PIN
All fields are required.
IHG® Rewards Club # ZIP/Postal Code
First Name Last Name
Please select a 4 number Personal Identification Number (PIN) which will be used to access your IHG® Rewards Club account.
PIN Verify PIN
 
Not a member?Join Today!
Create Email
All fields are required.
Thank you. Your PIN has been created. Please enter your email address so you can use it to log into the site in the future.
Email Address Verify Email Address
 

Book this Hotel

Best Price Guarantee
1

Reward Nights
When redeeming points for a Reward Night, you may only book one room at a time.

Once you complete your Reward Night reservation you will be given the option to duplicate this reservation.

(e.g. Apr-19-2014)
(e.g. Apr-20-2014)
Have a Group Code?
Have a Corporate ID?
Check Availability
Processing your request...

* Requires affiliation in the respective organization.

** Best Available Rate Search does not include affiliation rates.

Select to close.

To book more than 9 rooms for one stay or request a quote, please use our Easy Meetings tool, call 1-800-MEETING (in United States, Mexico and Canada) or contact a Global Sales Office.

Close Button
Your Recently Viewed Hotels

About our Hotel

Location: Suburban

  • Location: Suburban
  • Closest City: PHILADELPHIA
  • Distance From Hotel: 17.0MI
  • Local time zone: GMT-04:00

Check In: 3:00 PM Check Out: 11:00 AM

  • Check In: 3:00 PM
  • Check Out: 11:00 AM
  • Minimum check-in age: 18
  • Late checkout available

Credit cards

Credit cards

  • American Express
  • Carte Blanche
  • Diners Club
  • Discover
  • Master Card
  • Visa

Accessibility

Accessibility

  • Number of Rooms:7
  • Parking
  • Service Animals Allowed

Languages

Languages

  1. English
  2. Spanish
  3. Hindi

Pet Policy

Pet Policy

Must book your room directly with the hotel as dogs and cats, under 25 lbs, are only allowed in limited rooms. Hotel charges a fee of 20.00 per pet upon check in. Guests will be charged 100.0 for pets found in non pet friendly rooms. No exotic animals.
Pet deposit amount  20.00  USD  per stay

What's Nearby

What's Nearby

Attraction:
Sesame Place
Distance From Hotel:6.0MI
Attraction:
Philadelphia Zoo
Distance From Hotel:20.0MI
Attraction:
Please Touch Museum
Distance From Hotel:30.0MI
Attraction:
New Jersey State Aquarium
Distance From Hotel:20.0MI

Parking

Parking

  • Number of parking spaces:200
  • Car Parking Available
  • AMPLE FREE PARKING.

Internet

Standard Internet Service

Standard Internet service is free for all guests
Wireless Internet available in Standard Rooms,Executive Rooms,Suites,Business Center,Public Areas

Facility

Facility

  • Hotel renovated inFebruary 01, 2009
  • Total number of rooms:121
  • Total number of suites:2
  • Total number of rooms with only one bed:47
  • Total number of rooms with only double beds:72
  • Total number of non-smoking rooms:90
  • Total number of rooms for the physically challenged:7
  • Total number of floors:2
  • FEMA Property Number:PA0043

Nestled in the foothills of beautiful Bucks County, the Holiday Inn® NE Philadelphia - Bensalem offers exceptional service and outstanding amenities to Bucks County visitors. Our hotel's location makes us the closest full-service Holiday Inn to Sesame Place and Parx Casino.

Corporate guests love the easy access to I-276, I-95, US-1 and being 14 miles from downtown Philadelphia. Our hotel's guests appreciate being near the Philadelphia Convention Center, GMAC, PA Steel and Sunoco. Having
View More

Nestled in the foothills of beautiful Bucks County, the Holiday Inn® NE Philadelphia - Bensalem offers exceptional service and outstanding amenities to Bucks County visitors. Our hotel's location makes us the closest full-service Holiday Inn to Sesame Place and Parx Casino.

Corporate guests love the easy access to I-276, I-95, US-1 and being 14 miles from downtown Philadelphia. Our hotel's guests appreciate being near the Philadelphia Convention Center, GMAC, PA Steel and Sunoco. Having free Wi-Fi access, 24-hour business center and flexible meeting rooms makes doing business on the road a pleasure. Our custom catering adds a bit of flair to any meeting in Bucks County.

Families know our Bensalem, PA hotel's location means less travel time and more time for fun. Flyers Skate Zone is nearby as well as Sesame Place, Peddler's Village and the Franklin Mills Outlets. Kids love the Please Touch Museum and the Philadelphia Zoo. Don't miss the chance to bring history to life with a trip to Independence Hall in downtown Philadelphia.

Our hotel's guest can spend the day exploring and then return to relax in the game room, kiddie pool and sparkling outdoor pool. Families know that our restaurant offers kid-friendly meals that also appeal to business clients. Experience the best of Philadelphia and Bucks County when you allow our Bensalem, PA hotel's staff to serve you. Book your stay today!

View Less
Features
As the closest full-service Holiday Inn to Sesame Place, our family friendly hotel offers amenities that are ideal for your next Pennsylvania vacation. Parx Casino, the Philadelphia Zoo, Peddler's Village and additional great shopping is nearby. Dunkin Donuts is now open and located right next door.
Announcements
Staying to visit Sesame Place? Visit Sesameplace.com to book a package!

Guest Reviews

Rated 3.9 out of 5 by 83 reviewers.
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Great front desk service. Katie at the front desk really took care of the front desk while I was there. she really handled the evacuation in a professional manner upon waiting on the FD to arrive. January 13, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Holiday inn stay @ Bensalem Enjoyed my stay. Convenient location. Comfortable feeling In the room. Was my second stay there this year, previously I had staye at other locations in the area, but this was the most enjoyable. December 31, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Home away from home Lovely rooms....great customer service...sparkling clean...great breakfast December 27, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by It's home away from home Lovely rooms....great staff....sparkling clean...great breakfast!! December 27, 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by EXCELLENT SERVICE THE OVERALL STAY WAS GOOD. SAW THREE BUGS ON LAMP AND LAMPSHADE. BED WAS MADE EACH DAY BUT TRASH WAS STILL IN ROOM WHEN I RETURNED. HAD A TOILET ISSUE THAT WAS RESOLVED IMMEDIATELY. LAST NIGHT OF STAY THERE WAS A ROWDY BUNCH OF KIDS AND ADULTS RUNNING THE HALL BUT FINALLY QUIETED DOWN. December 19, 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Comfort and convenience We stayed here for the weekend for a wedding in Philadelphia. Overall I was very satisfied with the hotel. The staff was very friendly and helpful, and the room was clean. The hotel looked to be well maintained. I also enjoyed the free breakfast, which had good food. It was also nice having fast, free WiFi access. I would definitely recommend staying here. December 12, 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Good value Clean rooms and extremely friendly staff. Bed were a bit soft for my taste but otherwise good. Breakfast was subpar. That's the place that really needs improvement. Otherwise it's a great value. December 11, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by The place to stay. Whenever I am in Philadelphia, this is where I stay. Clean, comfortable, economical. The staff is as good or better than I encounter in my travels. I recommend it. November 24, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Excellent service, very clean I enjoyed my stay and will be back for sure....my stay was very comfortable and I enjoyed everyone working there. I highly recommend this hotel. November 17, 2013
Rated 1.0 out of 5.0 by Don't stay here I travel a lot and prefer to stay at IHG hotels. I am always welcomed and receive a Club Welcome bag upon check-in. My stay at this Holiday Inn Express Bensalem, PA was awful. I waited in line to not even be greeted. I felt like I was an inconvenience and when I inquired about my points and my gift bag I was told I do not qualify for one. That comment embarrassed me in front of my co-worker and made me feel like I was asking for something above and beyond. I went to my room toting all of my bags only to find the key did not work. My co-worker was locked of the hotel as well since the key did not work. He went to the desk and got new keys so I didn't have to drag everything 2 floors back down to the front desk. Next day we were gone from the room from 8am til 4pm and upon return our room still wasn't cleaned. I wasn't expecting a red carpet or anything but at least empty the trash and make the bed. I called the front desk because at this point I am feeling like because I prepaid my reservation in full I was being treated unfairly. You know...already have the money so don't offer any service. I never got a call back from the manager. I asked for fresh towels and at least got those. I called the Corporate office and asked if they could intervene as my experience was less than satisfactory. They assured me the manager would call me...again nothing. It is quite apparent this property is poorly managed and the manager could care less about customer service. I travel to this particular area frequently and I will not be staying there again. No one cares to call back or apologize for such an experience. Welcome to the world of the customer is wrong..... November 13, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by The beds are too soft for my husband and I, but we were pleased with our room. Although our bed was too soft for us, we prefer a firm feel to our mattress. We were very pleased with the clean comfortable well appointed rooms, and helpful courteous staff. We will probably stay there again. This was our second visit within a two month time frame where we attended a family function. October 31, 2013
Rated 2.0 out of 5.0 by slow wifi service the wifi service is so slow that it is completely not useable at all. October 25, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by The staff goes out of there way to make your stay Geat The staff at the Holiday Inn Express really goes out of there way to make your stay great. October 24, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great location for the Sisters of the Blessed Sacrament functions! We attend functions offered by the Sisters of the Blessed Sacrament located nearby at various times of the year. The property is ideal for attending and participating in their events. Our experience has been excellent . October 11, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Nice Room and Wonderful, Patient Employees! I stayed over at this hotel with my mom from October 5th to October 6th, and it was a very positive experience. The beds were very comfortable, especially the pillows! All of the employees we interacted with were very kind and patient, especially the man at the front desk during the night shift. I lost my cellphone while staying at the hotel, and he was so helpful! :-) The breakfast selection was alright, but I was disappointed that there was no sausage. I was told that there would be and was looking forward to it. I think the sausage was gone before I got there. I did get to the breakfast relatively late but still before its ending time, and all foods really should be available to everyone, both early and late risers. October 7, 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Clean Had a nice and comfortable stay here. Only comment I have, as I have for all Holiday Inn Expresses is the breakfast served on plastic plates and with plastic cutlery. It is near some restaurants and Philadelphia is not too far away. September 28, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Eye for Details I must say I was hesitant when reading some of the reviews left for this Holiday Inn Express. I have to say I made the correct choice by staying here. The front desk was very friendly on my arrival and the following morning. The exterior was clean and SAFE, and parking was free. The interior was also clean including the complete room, beds, and bathroom. The beds were comfortable and everything in the room was in good working order. The breakfast the next day was very filling and would meet the needs of most families. It had a wide variety and someone was attending to the FREE breakfast nonstop. They also had like 3 or 4 flavors of yogurt and fresh fruit.I was very pleased with my stay and the price was also right. I am a person to read all reviews and trust me this is the best place to stay in this area. September 15, 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Great Hotel in a Great Location We visited whilst attending a Wedding Anniversary Celebration for friends. Was somewhat surprised when we recived no recognition of our IHG Rewards Club Membership level (first time that has been the case). Sort of "missed" the little green bag. Staff was friendly and accommodating, and evryplace was extremely clean. One pont of dis-satisfaction was having to listen to Time-Share sales folks in the Breakfast Area whilst trying to enjoy a late morning coffee. The thee of them were really working over an elderly couple, with hard sell tactics. Was management aware of these sales going on in the hotel's public area? Surely, they could have rented a conference room. Other than that we would be happy to stay here again. September 10, 2013
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Hotel OK I stayed here over the labor day weekend with my husband and kids. Overall, the hotel is okay. However, the breakfast was awful. The food selection was poor, my kids said the food liked jail food. September 6, 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Work or Pleasure The room was clean, food was hot but typical HI breakfast fare. The housekeeping staff was friendly but very noisy early in the morning. It didn't bother me, because I was up and ready to work, but if I were trying to sleep in, I would have been annoyed by their calling out to each other up and down the halls, banging their carts against the walls, etc. at such an early hour. September 5, 2013
Rated 2.0 out of 5.0 by Bugs I was awakened quite early on the first of my 4 mornings by a chirping cricket in my room. To their credit, the maintenance department was able to get rid of it. However, during the next 3 days I saw more crickets, spiders and a couple of other various bugs. In addition, I woke up one day with no shower curtain. Evidently, they had taken mine to clean but did not return it. I brought all of this to the attention of the morning desk clerk who politely said "I'm so sorry about that", never offering her managers assistance. I'm not sure what he/she could or would have done but it probably would have made me feel better anyway. Usually, I would walk away from this situation just shaking my head. However, in this case, I thought one more step may be in order. I emailed the morning manager about the situation and have yet to receive a reply. Good luck in staying here and be sure to bring your raid! September 2, 2013
Rated 1.0 out of 5.0 by If your not staying long I did the sesame place package. The place was filthy. There was hair in the bathroom, bed and pull out couch. The pull out couch smelled like it had just stepped in something. The pool was filthy. Our room was by the elevator so I can hear the dinging all night. The best thing was the staff at the front desk, Gevin and the employee handling the breakfast. August 30, 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Breakfast I have stayed at this location in NE Philly numerous times in the past but this was the first time I have stayed since the brand change. The renovation and upgrades look great since changing to Holiday Inn Express. I stayed from Aug 16th to the 19th, 2013. Looking at the parking lot the hotel was sold out or close to it. When going to breakfast Sat and Sun morning around 9 AM everything was empty. There was only one attendant trying to keep up with the demand. As she tried to meet the demand it was almost impossible. Bob Evans and Dunkin Donuts are out the front door which was convenient for breakfast. My travels will put me back in NE Philly late October and I plan on staying here. August 30, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Very well kept hotel Room was clean, bath was clean, darkening drapes worked well, TV was fine, parking was good and breakfast area was clean and well attended to. I have absolutely no qualms about recommending this property/ August 28, 2013
Rated 2.0 out of 5.0 by Platinum Elite has no meaning They didn't do the normal things for long time holiday Inn express customers. The Room has no refrigerator or microwave. The TV needed to have someone come and service it. The toilet took three flushes to empty. The tub took 20 minutes to drain. There was black mold in the soap dish. The bathroom was closet size. On the positive side the breakfast was at the top of the HIex standards. I will use up my points and move on. August 27, 2013
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Good food but average room service Convenient location, the price was good and they have the best continental breakfast but, unfortunately the rooms had an awful smell to them and the room service staff were not efficient. August 26, 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Great stay Great hotel. Perfect for a family looking for a clean place to sleep for a few nights. Will definitely stay their again on my next visit to the area. August 23, 2013
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Great Location for Families, But no Fridge or Microwave We have stayed in this hotel in the past when it was part of a different chain. Since becoming a Holiday Inn Express, it is not as nice of a hotel as it used to be. But it is in a great, safe location in Northeast Philadelphia and it is competitive with the hotels in the area. We are just a little disappointed that it now seemed "average" to us, when before it was "excellent." Positives: ---The location is very convenient to Northeast Philadelphia and Sesame Place. ---It is located beside a Bob Evans Restaurant, Dunkin Donuts and directly across the street is a McDonalds. There is also a new Acme grocery store, movie theater, and Home Depot across the street in a new looking shopping plaza. All great places for families Negatives: --The rooms have small kitchen style sinks and cabinetry/outlets for a small fridge and microwave. However, the rooms no longer have the fridge and microwave. They have some you can request at the front desk and would be brought to your room. However, on Friday night in August 2013, when the hotel appeared close to being full, there were no fridges and microwaves still available for checkout at 7pm when I was at the front desk. There were three families who could not get a fridge and microwave in the small amount of time I was at the front desk. At least one Mom was panicked that she had perishables and now discovered she would not get a fridge. I hated to see her like that because I used to have little ones too. These are very important for families with small children and I was disappointed that they were not available, especially since the rooms can easily accommodate them. ---The breakfast area did not have the variety that it had before when it was part of another chain. The breakfast was an "average" one that you would find at a typical Holiday Inn Express, just not what it used to be. There also used to be evening appetizers in the breakfast area and that perk is no longer there. ---There were problems with our AC unit. The controls stopped working and the unit would not shut off. We had to unplug, wait, and then plug up later in the evening to resolve the issue. ---There was a water leak from the ceiling in the breakfast area one morning. Several room numbers were falling off the walls. It appeared that maintenance was not what it used to be. ---No towel racks or hooks in the bathroom. Just a shelf under the sink for towel storage. August 20, 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by sesame place very nice location staff was very nice property well taken care of. August 20, 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by second stay here and another nice experience First off, I had originally booked the Holiday Inn in Bensalem, PA on Street Road for 2 nights and that hotel was so deplorable, after checking in for about 2 hours, I packed up the family and checked out....that hotel looked like a homeless shelter with all types of strange people hanging out in the hallway. My wife and I agreed to take the monetary loss and book at the Holiday Inn expess since we stayed there in mid-July and had a decent stay. The HI Express is much cleaner, modern and inviting. We had originally chose the Holiday Inn for the IHG rewards fast track to Elite status and the pictures depicted on the website. If you are looking for a decent hotel at a reasonable price, this is the place to go. Complimentary breakfast was a nice amenity. The staff is top notch. August 19, 2013
<<prev2 3 4 next>>
Terms & Conditions
Kids Stay and Eat Free at all Holiday Inn Hotels.