• English  English
    Select to close.
    Current Settings are:
      /  English

    Change Preferences:
    Country / Region of Residence:
    Available Languages:
  • |
  • |
  • |
  • 1 888 HOLIDAY
Select to close.
Select to close.
Email or IHG® Rewards Club # PIN
Not a member?Join Today!
Forgot PIN
All fields are required.
 
If you have forgotten or lost your Personal Identification Number (PIN), we can email your PIN to the email address in your IHG® Rewards Club account profile.
If you do not have an email address in your profile, please contact your local IHG® Rewards Club Customer Care  to source your PIN and to update your profile with your email address. When you receive your PIN you can also update your email address viawww.ihgrewardsclub.com/email.
IHG® Rewards Club # Email Address

Not a member?Join Today!
Create PIN
All fields are required.
IHG® Rewards Club # ZIP/Postal Code
First Name Last Name
Please select a 4 number Personal Identification Number (PIN) which will be used to access your IHG® Rewards Club account.
PIN Verify PIN
 
Not a member?Join Today!
Create Email
All fields are required.
Thank you. Your PIN has been created. Please enter your email address so you can use it to log into the site in the future.
Email Address Verify Email Address
 
Email Hotel Get Directions Add to Favorites Print Fact Sheet

Book this Hotel

Best Price Guarantee
1

Reward Nights
When redeeming points for a Reward Night, you may only book one room at a time.

Once you complete your Reward Night reservation you will be given the option to duplicate this reservation.

(e.g. Jul-28-2014)
(e.g. Jul-29-2014)
Have a Group Code?
Have a Corporate ID?
Check Availability
Processing your request...

* Requires affiliation in the respective organization.

** Best Available Rate Search does not include affiliation rates.

Select to close.

To book more than 9 rooms for one stay or request a quote, please use our Easy Meetings tool, call 1-800-MEETING (in United States, Mexico and Canada) or contact a Global Sales Office.

Close Button
Your Recently Viewed Hotels

About our Hotel

Location: Suburban

  • Location: Suburban
  • Closest City: PHILADELPHIA
  • Distance From Hotel: 17.0MI
  • Local time zone: GMT-04:00

Check In: 3:00 PM Check Out: 11:00 AM

  • Check In: 3:00 PM
  • Check Out: 11:00 AM
  • Minimum check-in age: 18
  • Late checkout available

Credit cards

Credit cards

  • American Express
  • Carte Blanche
  • Diners Club
  • Discover
  • Master Card
  • Visa

Accessibility

Accessibility

  • Number of Rooms:7
  • Parking
  • Service Animals Allowed

Languages

Languages

  1. English
  2. Spanish
  3. Hindi

Pet Policy

Pet Policy

Must book your room directly with the hotel as dogs and cats, up to 100 lbs, are only allowed in limited rooms. Hotel charges a fee of 20.00 per pet upon check in. Guests will be charged 100.0 for pets found in non pet friendly rooms. No exotic animals.
Pet deposit amount  20.00  USD  per stay

What's Nearby

What's Nearby

Attraction:
Parx Casino
Distance From Hotel:1.0MI
Attraction:
Pennsylvania Academy of Fine Arts
Distance From Hotel:20.0MI
Attraction:
Please Touch Museum
Distance From Hotel:30.0MI
Attraction:
Crayola Factory
Distance From Hotel:50.0MI

Parking

Parking

  • Number of parking spaces:200
  • Car Parking Available
  • AMPLE FREE PARKING.

Internet

Standard Internet Service

Standard Internet service is free for all guests
Wireless Internet available in Standard Rooms,Executive Rooms,Suites,Business Center,Public Areas

Facility

Facility

  • Hotel renovated inFebruary 01, 2014
  • Total number of rooms:121
  • Total number of suites:2
  • Total number of rooms with only one bed:47
  • Total number of rooms with only double beds:72
  • Total number of non-smoking rooms:90
  • Total number of rooms for the physically challenged:7
  • Total number of floors:2
  • FEMA Property Number:PA0043

Nestled in the foothills of beautiful Bucks County, the Holiday Inn® NE Philadelphia - Bensalem offers exceptional service and outstanding amenities to Bucks County visitors. Our hotel's location makes us the closest full-service Holiday Inn to Sesame Place and Parx Casino.

Corporate guests love the easy access to I-276, I-95, US-1 and being 14 miles from downtown Philadelphia. Our hotel's guests appreciate being near the Philadelphia Convention Center, GMAC, PA Steel and Sunoco. Having
View More

Nestled in the foothills of beautiful Bucks County, the Holiday Inn® NE Philadelphia - Bensalem offers exceptional service and outstanding amenities to Bucks County visitors. Our hotel's location makes us the closest full-service Holiday Inn to Sesame Place and Parx Casino.

Corporate guests love the easy access to I-276, I-95, US-1 and being 14 miles from downtown Philadelphia. Our hotel's guests appreciate being near the Philadelphia Convention Center, GMAC, PA Steel and Sunoco. Having free Wi-Fi access, 24-hour business center and flexible meeting rooms makes doing business on the road a pleasure. Our custom catering adds a bit of flair to any meeting in Bucks County.

Families know our Bensalem, PA hotel's location means less travel time and more time for fun. Flyers Skate Zone is nearby as well as Sesame Place, Peddler's Village and the Franklin Mills Outlets. Kids love the Please Touch Museum and the Philadelphia Zoo. Don't miss the chance to bring history to life with a trip to Independence Hall in downtown Philadelphia.

Our hotel's guest can spend the day exploring and then return to relax in the game room, kiddie pool and sparkling outdoor pool. Families know that our restaurant offers kid-friendly meals that also appeal to business clients. Experience the best of Philadelphia and Bucks County when you allow our Bensalem, PA hotel's staff to serve you. Book your stay today!

View Less
Features
Closest full-service Holiday Inn to Sesame Place & Parx Casino. Our family friendly hotel offers amenities that are ideal for your next Pennsylvania vacation. Close to major attractions such as The Philadelphia Zoo, Peddler's Village & Please Touch Museum. There is also additional great shopping nearby.
Announcements
The hotel is currently undergoing renovations to better your hotel experience. We are sorry for any inconvenience this will cause.

Guest Reviews

Rated 3.9 out of 5 by 129 reviewers.
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Nice Room and Wonderful, Patient Employees! I stayed over at this hotel with my mom from October 5th to October 6th, and it was a very positive experience. The beds were very comfortable, especially the pillows! All of the employees we interacted with were very kind and patient, especially the man at the front desk during the night shift. I lost my cellphone while staying at the hotel, and he was so helpful! :-) The breakfast selection was alright, but I was disappointed that there was no sausage. I was told that there would be and was looking forward to it. I think the sausage was gone before I got there. I did get to the breakfast relatively late but still before its ending time, and all foods really should be available to everyone, both early and late risers. October 7, 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Clean Had a nice and comfortable stay here. Only comment I have, as I have for all Holiday Inn Expresses is the breakfast served on plastic plates and with plastic cutlery. It is near some restaurants and Philadelphia is not too far away. September 28, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Eye for Details I must say I was hesitant when reading some of the reviews left for this Holiday Inn Express. I have to say I made the correct choice by staying here. The front desk was very friendly on my arrival and the following morning. The exterior was clean and SAFE, and parking was free. The interior was also clean including the complete room, beds, and bathroom. The beds were comfortable and everything in the room was in good working order. The breakfast the next day was very filling and would meet the needs of most families. It had a wide variety and someone was attending to the FREE breakfast nonstop. They also had like 3 or 4 flavors of yogurt and fresh fruit.I was very pleased with my stay and the price was also right. I am a person to read all reviews and trust me this is the best place to stay in this area. September 15, 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Great Hotel in a Great Location We visited whilst attending a Wedding Anniversary Celebration for friends. Was somewhat surprised when we recived no recognition of our IHG Rewards Club Membership level (first time that has been the case). Sort of "missed" the little green bag. Staff was friendly and accommodating, and evryplace was extremely clean. One pont of dis-satisfaction was having to listen to Time-Share sales folks in the Breakfast Area whilst trying to enjoy a late morning coffee. The thee of them were really working over an elderly couple, with hard sell tactics. Was management aware of these sales going on in the hotel's public area? Surely, they could have rented a conference room. Other than that we would be happy to stay here again. September 10, 2013
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Hotel OK I stayed here over the labor day weekend with my husband and kids. Overall, the hotel is okay. However, the breakfast was awful. The food selection was poor, my kids said the food liked jail food. September 6, 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Work or Pleasure The room was clean, food was hot but typical HI breakfast fare. The housekeeping staff was friendly but very noisy early in the morning. It didn't bother me, because I was up and ready to work, but if I were trying to sleep in, I would have been annoyed by their calling out to each other up and down the halls, banging their carts against the walls, etc. at such an early hour. September 5, 2013
Rated 2.0 out of 5.0 by Bugs I was awakened quite early on the first of my 4 mornings by a chirping cricket in my room. To their credit, the maintenance department was able to get rid of it. However, during the next 3 days I saw more crickets, spiders and a couple of other various bugs. In addition, I woke up one day with no shower curtain. Evidently, they had taken mine to clean but did not return it. I brought all of this to the attention of the morning desk clerk who politely said "I'm so sorry about that", never offering her managers assistance. I'm not sure what he/she could or would have done but it probably would have made me feel better anyway. Usually, I would walk away from this situation just shaking my head. However, in this case, I thought one more step may be in order. I emailed the morning manager about the situation and have yet to receive a reply. Good luck in staying here and be sure to bring your raid! September 2, 2013
Rated 1.0 out of 5.0 by If your not staying long I did the sesame place package. The place was filthy. There was hair in the bathroom, bed and pull out couch. The pull out couch smelled like it had just stepped in something. The pool was filthy. Our room was by the elevator so I can hear the dinging all night. The best thing was the staff at the front desk, Gevin and the employee handling the breakfast. August 30, 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Breakfast I have stayed at this location in NE Philly numerous times in the past but this was the first time I have stayed since the brand change. The renovation and upgrades look great since changing to Holiday Inn Express. I stayed from Aug 16th to the 19th, 2013. Looking at the parking lot the hotel was sold out or close to it. When going to breakfast Sat and Sun morning around 9 AM everything was empty. There was only one attendant trying to keep up with the demand. As she tried to meet the demand it was almost impossible. Bob Evans and Dunkin Donuts are out the front door which was convenient for breakfast. My travels will put me back in NE Philly late October and I plan on staying here. August 30, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Very well kept hotel Room was clean, bath was clean, darkening drapes worked well, TV was fine, parking was good and breakfast area was clean and well attended to. I have absolutely no qualms about recommending this property/ August 28, 2013
Rated 2.0 out of 5.0 by Platinum Elite has no meaning They didn't do the normal things for long time holiday Inn express customers. The Room has no refrigerator or microwave. The TV needed to have someone come and service it. The toilet took three flushes to empty. The tub took 20 minutes to drain. There was black mold in the soap dish. The bathroom was closet size. On the positive side the breakfast was at the top of the HIex standards. I will use up my points and move on. August 27, 2013
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Good food but average room service Convenient location, the price was good and they have the best continental breakfast but, unfortunately the rooms had an awful smell to them and the room service staff were not efficient. August 26, 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Great stay Great hotel. Perfect for a family looking for a clean place to sleep for a few nights. Will definitely stay their again on my next visit to the area. August 23, 2013
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Great Location for Families, But no Fridge or Microwave We have stayed in this hotel in the past when it was part of a different chain. Since becoming a Holiday Inn Express, it is not as nice of a hotel as it used to be. But it is in a great, safe location in Northeast Philadelphia and it is competitive with the hotels in the area. We are just a little disappointed that it now seemed "average" to us, when before it was "excellent." Positives: ---The location is very convenient to Northeast Philadelphia and Sesame Place. ---It is located beside a Bob Evans Restaurant, Dunkin Donuts and directly across the street is a McDonalds. There is also a new Acme grocery store, movie theater, and Home Depot across the street in a new looking shopping plaza. All great places for families Negatives: --The rooms have small kitchen style sinks and cabinetry/outlets for a small fridge and microwave. However, the rooms no longer have the fridge and microwave. They have some you can request at the front desk and would be brought to your room. However, on Friday night in August 2013, when the hotel appeared close to being full, there were no fridges and microwaves still available for checkout at 7pm when I was at the front desk. There were three families who could not get a fridge and microwave in the small amount of time I was at the front desk. At least one Mom was panicked that she had perishables and now discovered she would not get a fridge. I hated to see her like that because I used to have little ones too. These are very important for families with small children and I was disappointed that they were not available, especially since the rooms can easily accommodate them. ---The breakfast area did not have the variety that it had before when it was part of another chain. The breakfast was an "average" one that you would find at a typical Holiday Inn Express, just not what it used to be. There also used to be evening appetizers in the breakfast area and that perk is no longer there. ---There were problems with our AC unit. The controls stopped working and the unit would not shut off. We had to unplug, wait, and then plug up later in the evening to resolve the issue. ---There was a water leak from the ceiling in the breakfast area one morning. Several room numbers were falling off the walls. It appeared that maintenance was not what it used to be. ---No towel racks or hooks in the bathroom. Just a shelf under the sink for towel storage. August 20, 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by sesame place very nice location staff was very nice property well taken care of. August 20, 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by second stay here and another nice experience First off, I had originally booked the Holiday Inn in Bensalem, PA on Street Road for 2 nights and that hotel was so deplorable, after checking in for about 2 hours, I packed up the family and checked out....that hotel looked like a homeless shelter with all types of strange people hanging out in the hallway. My wife and I agreed to take the monetary loss and book at the Holiday Inn expess since we stayed there in mid-July and had a decent stay. The HI Express is much cleaner, modern and inviting. We had originally chose the Holiday Inn for the IHG rewards fast track to Elite status and the pictures depicted on the website. If you are looking for a decent hotel at a reasonable price, this is the place to go. Complimentary breakfast was a nice amenity. The staff is top notch. August 19, 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Will Stay again Quite and clean Hotel. Room were clean and comfortable. Friendly and polite staff. August 12, 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Overall better than expected I was dreading my stay at this Holiday Inn location after reading some of the previously posted reviews. My experience was totally different than what was reported there. My room and the hotel in general was very clean, and the staff very friendly and helpful. The only cons for me were that the bathroom was kind of small and the vanity much too crowded. Also, the breakfast was a bit limited, although what was available was fresh and ample. August 9, 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by 8-2-13 stay Very clean, very reasonable, good choices for breakfast. Staff were extremely friendly. August 9, 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Decent inexpensive hotel Spent 2 nights on a short getaway from our frenzied hometown of New York City. Staff was very nice and allowed us to check in early. Our room was clean and our son enjoyed the pool. Modest complimentary breakfast that wasn't all that bad. My only gripe concerning breakfast was that the coffee ran out fast and wasn't re-filled in a timely manner...big disappointment. Now to the bad: The hotel had a strong strange odor and only one set of elevators (only 1 working elevator as the other one was out of order). The hotel is rather big and accessing our room from the elevator was somewhat tedious. NO refrigerator in our room was another disappointment. The ice machine was located next to the elevators which also meant that getting ice and returning to our room was tedious. Would I stay here again, probably as this hotel isn't very expensive. August 8, 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Great location This hotel is located conveniently close to Sesame Place and Philadelphia. For the value the hotel is clean. Although it felt a little damp we opened the windows and it went away. Breakfast is ok.. Close to a variety of restaurant and stores. August 8, 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Excellent Value Good value and location for my business trip, clean room and well decorated ....with work room. No Fox News!......not good! August 5, 2013
Rated 1.0 out of 5.0 by poor service miss managed hotel I would rather sleep in my car before i stay at this property again. August 3, 2013
Rated 1.0 out of 5.0 by Platinum means nothing here..... Booked the stay at the hotel about 4 months in advance, I called two weeks ahead of time to see if I could get a suite. I was told to call back a couple of days ahead of my stay, I called not only on the second day but the day before and was told getting a suite was not a problem. We arrived on Saturday, what a disaster this place was. The manager on duty, Sonny, was so unorganized, stated there was no suite. Then he said he had a queen suite that the A/C didn't work very well. 99 degrees outside and raining and no A/C. He moved me into a queen/sofa sleeper room and put a very upset family into the suite, with husband and wife plus two little kids. They were very upset and then I was told they would get me a suite on Monday. Well, Monday came around and Sonny stated they couldn't do anything for me as they were not available. I talked with Mr. Velasquez who is the manager and when they tried to call him on his cell, they stated he never answers and they needed his authorization to put me, a Platinum member into a suite? Also, I had been in the hotel for 3 days now and not one person greeted me as a platinum member. I finally got to meet this Mr. Velasquez, what a poor manager, you can tell that the staff was following his lead. Listened to what I told him about the service and yet I got the attitude that he really didn't care either. I stay at a lot of IHG facilities and am true to them for the great service and the earned points. I feel I got taken at this facility and I am very unhappy with the way I was treated and the room I received and what I had to go through. I wound up staying in the same queen/sofa sleeper with my wife and daughter. I was not please at all and very embarrassed as to how we were treated being a true member of your plan. July 30, 2013
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Ok, but Of note are two things one really matters. Our stay was during a humid heat wave. The rooms climate control was poor at best. Maintenance department came, cleaned filter..shouldn't the filter always be clean?....but to no avail...we were told the facility was booked and being late, the fan they offered got us through the night. Clearly the furniture and décor of the room needs to be upgraded..again acceptable but. I'll try somewhere else the next time I'm back. July 27, 2013
Rated 2.0 out of 5.0 by change in personnel= poor service? room air conditioner not working. was "offered" another room but no follow through., even though I repeated my complaint. took several prods just to get someone to even look at the unit...he was not a maintenance man nor could he do any more than give me two fans. possibly the least satisfactory hotel stay in 20-30 years. may have to find another hotel in the area for future stays. third visit to this property in last 5 moths, for a total of about 10 days...no staff recognition or greeting as a returning client. as opposed to two prior visits, staff seemed totally disinterested. VERY disappointing experience!!! jr July 21, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great service Our extended families stayed at the Holiday Inn Express during the festivities surrounding our son’s wedding. The hotel is newly renovated, in excellent condition and spotlessly clean. We had the privilege of watching staff during our extended stay, a time when you really get to see people shine. We were impressed by all and most impressed by Antonio. Antonio works in the breakfast common area. No matter what time I arrived the space was buzzing with guests of all ages and all levels of need. Antonio addressed every single person as if family with quick, courteous service, never missed a beat and never lost his smile. He is a credit to Holiday Inn as are many others we had the pleasure of meeting. Our stay away from home was made much easier by your highly qualified staff as we navigated through wedding plans and wonderful ceremonies. Thank you again. July 19, 2013
Rated 1.0 out of 5.0 by Trerrible internet and the dirtiest hotel I have stayed in in several years For a HEX property, this place is filthy. The room cleanliness was below par, ad the common areas, hallways, etc were filthy July 14, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Wonderful experience!!! Don't hesitate to book your room here. They have a great staff, comfortable beds, & our room was very clean. Also, the continental breakfast was fabulous! Thanks again, Holiday Inn Express- Bensalem!!! July 11, 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Very comfortable bed and great service We were greeted with professionalism and handled with care upon arrival. My room was a bit small but overall comfortable. What really impressed me was the comfort level of the bed. An uncomfortable bed would have been a deal breaker for me. The breakfast the next morning was excellent. They really had a good variety of food choices and overall cleanliness was satisfactory. I would highly recommend a stay at this hotel. July 11, 2013
<<prev 2 3 4 5 6 next>>
Hotel Exterior
Hotel Exterior
Select to close.
Hotel Exterior Hotel Exterior
Select to close.
Terms & Conditions
Click here to earn up to 5,000 bonus points or 1,000 bonus points every night.
Close
Check In
(e.g. Jul-28-2014)
Check Out
(e.g. Jul-29-2014)
Check Availability
Loading