• English  English
    Select to close.
    Current Settings are:
      /  English

    Change Preferences:
    Country of Residence:
    Available Languages:
  • |
  • |
  • |
  • 1 888 HOLIDAY
Select to close.
Select to close.
Email or IHG® Rewards Club # PIN
Not a member?Join Today!
Forgot PIN
All fields are required.
 
If you have forgotten or lost your Personal Identification Number (PIN), we can email your PIN to the email address in your IHG® Rewards Club account profile.
If you do not have an email address in your profile, please contact your local IHG® Rewards Club Customer Care  to source your PIN and to update your profile with your email address. When you receive your PIN you can also update your email address viawww.ihgrewardsclub.com/email.
IHG® Rewards Club # Email Address

Not a member?Join Today!
Create PIN
All fields are required.
IHG® Rewards Club # ZIP/Postal Code
First Name Last Name
Please select a 4 number Personal Identification Number (PIN) which will be used to access your IHG® Rewards Club account.
PIN Verify PIN
 
Not a member?Join Today!
Create Email
All fields are required.
Thank you. Your PIN has been created. Please enter your email address so you can use it to log into the site in the future.
Email Address Verify Email Address
 

Book this Hotel

Best Price Guarantee
1

Reward Nights
When redeeming points for a Reward Night, you may only book one room at a time.

Once you complete your Reward Night reservation you will be given the option to duplicate this reservation.

(e.g. Apr-18-2014)
(e.g. Apr-19-2014)
Have a Group Code?
Have a Corporate ID?
Check Availability
Processing your request...

* Requires affiliation in the respective organization.

** Best Available Rate Search does not include affiliation rates.

Select to close.

To book more than 9 rooms for one stay or request a quote, please use our Easy Meetings tool, call 1-800-MEETING (in United States, Mexico and Canada) or contact a Global Sales Office.

Close Button
Your Recently Viewed Hotels

About our Hotel

Location: Downtown/City Center

  • Location: Downtown/City Center
  • Closest City: BIRMINGHAM
  • Distance From Hotel: 0.0KM
  • Local time zone: GMT-00:00

Check In: 2:00 PM Check Out: 12:00 PM

  • Check In: 2:00 PM
  • Check Out: 12:00 PM
  • Minimum check-in age: 18
  • Late checkout available

Credit cards

Credit cards

  • American Express
  • Master Card
  • Visa

Accessibility

Accessibility

  • Number of Rooms:4
  • Service Animals Allowed

Languages

Languages

  1. German
  2. English
  3. Spanish
  4. French
  5. Italian
  6. Punjabi
  7. Polish
  8. Portuguese
  9. Turkish

Pet Policy

Pet Policy

Pets will incur a 20.00 charge per night which will be applied to your bill
Pet fee amount  20.00  GBP  per night

What's Nearby

What's Nearby

Attraction:
Birmingham National Exhibition Centre
Distance From Hotel:8.0MI
Attraction:
Birmingham Symphony Hall
Distance From Hotel:0.2MI
Attraction:
Mail Box
Distance From Hotel:0.0MI
Attraction:
Birmingham Canal Network
Distance From Hotel:0.3MI

Parking

Parking

  • Number of parking spaces:8
  • Car Parking Available
  • There is an NCP car park next to hotel which we have an agreement of 50% off std prices Approximate charge for (24hr) is £12 after validation of ticket at hotel reception desk.

Internet

Standard Internet Service

Standard Internet service is free for all guests
Wireless Internet available in Standard Rooms,Executive Rooms,Suites,Business Center,Public Areas

Facility

Facility

  • Hotel renovated inFebruary 01, 2009
  • Total number of rooms:241
  • Total number of rooms with only one bed:221
  • Total number of rooms with only double beds:20
  • Total number of non-smoking rooms:241
  • Total number of rooms for the physically challenged:4
  • Interior corridor
  • Total number of floors:14

Stay central at the comfortable Holiday Inn Birmingham City Centre hotel, 2 minutes' walk from Birmingham New Street train station.

Friendly staff is ready to welcome you to the Holiday Inn Birmingham City Centre. Contemporary decor makes your guest room a stylish home-from-home experience, complimentary wireless Internet is available throughout the hotel.

We're located in the heart of the city in a great location to all of Birmingham’s main attractions such as
View More

Stay central at the comfortable Holiday Inn Birmingham City Centre hotel, 2 minutes' walk from Birmingham New Street train station.

Friendly staff is ready to welcome you to the Holiday Inn Birmingham City Centre. Contemporary decor makes your guest room a stylish home-from-home experience, complimentary wireless Internet is available throughout the hotel.

We're located in the heart of the city in a great location to all of Birmingham’s main attractions such as the ICC, Bullring Shopping Centre, NIA, Hippodrome Theatre, Alexandra Theatre, Sea life Centre and many more, certainly making us the ideal choice when you are looking for a hotel in Birmingham.

We are able to host banquets and conferences for up to 600 people in Holiday Inn Birmingham City Centre's 13 meeting rooms which makes for an impressive corporate event, dinner or conference .

Holiday Inn Birmingham City Centre's Albany Restaurant serves a full English buffet breakfast each morning and our Albany restaurant makes for an impressive spot to enjoy tasty dishes throughout the evening. Our Albany Bar is a great place to watch sports on plasma TVs and enjoy drinks on the terrace.

The Hotel is a short stroll to The Arcadian complex, where you can dine on world cuisine from British to Chinese, spending an evening sipping cosmopolitans and watching hilarious stand-up comedy at the famous, Glee Club.

View Less

Guest Reviews

Rated 3.9 out of 5 by 257 reviewers.
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Top quality as always I am a regular visitor to Crowne Plaza NEC Birmingham and always find it quite comfortable and relaxing. Staff is top notch and rooms are really nice and comfortable. I love the extras they include with every room things: Bath robe, chocolates, free water, Sleep well air freshners and comforters etc. Also comes with Sky Sports. The only blemish is break fast which can be improved. January 27, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 Business Travel made enjoyable When you arrive at a hotel after a long day of work, and before you settle in to that food and drink you crave, the welcome to a hotel can transform a stressful day into a pleasant experience. On arrival I was greeted by Joanna, a trainee at the hotel.... professionalism and friendliness in abundance, I felt so welcome and even shared a laugh that took away a lot of the stress I had built up during the day. As an all week business traveller with IHG, this kind of experience gives you the home from home feeling And that is half the battle won :) January 23, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Autosport stayi not to happy booking months in advance to find on arrival that the 2 double beds we had booked was not available due to a computer glitch. If I had wanted a double bed and a sofa bed I would have booked it. January 16, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Good service - needs a little attention Rooms are not as clean as should be for CP - dust under desk on cables etc. Whilst room had a Bose sound system, it was fixed so close to the TV, it made it impractical to use. One bug bear I raised at check out was the issue of tips. I added a tip to my restaurant bill. t This appeared on by bill BUT 20% vat was applied to it!!! When I challenged this I did not get a satisfactory response. So when rewarding staff for good service, give cash. It seems if you add it to your bill the exchequer adds 20% to this! First time I have encountered this - surely an accounting problem with the CP system? Front desk said the duty manager will investigate. The manager never got back to me - poor show. :( January 14, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by A great Hotel Booked this hotel online with late rooms then read the reviews and i dont know what people are talking about. Very clean hotel freindly helpfull staff who gave the impression that nothing was to much trouble room was spotless with nice bedding and furnishing. Easy parking and location to NEC and the best full english breakfast iv had in a hotel for a long time highly recommended. January 13, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Comfortable bed and just a short walk to the LG arena I booked a queen bed room for June, however had to cancel that due to concert date change. I changed the date of the booking to Januarywith ease, however the hotel rates had increased and had to pay the difference. The room was lovely, spacious and inviting. The bathroom was very modern and clean with a large mirror. The concert venue (LG arena) was a short walk, maybe about 5 minutes and was the reason for booking the hotel in the first place. Unfortunately we had to pay for parking (£10) in the hotel carpark which I've never had to do before. Other hotels have provided car passes but I guess every hotel is different, I just thought the price was rather steep. The bed was very comfortable and big. The hair dryer did not work. There were no plugs close to the bed which was annoying for when I needed to charge my phone but have it close for business calls. Also the air conditioning was noisy and would keep stopping and restarting which was annoying. The bar and reception staff were friendly. Overall it was a nice stay, would reccomend to anyone who is travelling to Birmingham to see a concert at the LG arena. January 12, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by General Experience Registration at reception was Ok, but I would suggest that customers should be able to log their details on line prior to arriving at the hotel to save time, queuing, looking for glasses, and trying to remember car registration plate numbers. There were lifts to the room but I would also like the option to use the stairs but I couldn't find them? The room was very nice, standard for this type of hotel. However the room was unbearably hot when I arrived. Buffet breakfast was ok but I couldn't initially find where all the different types of food were located, signs on or above the counter would help. Food was good. Generally I would recommend this hotel if you are looking for standard 4* accommodation. January 5, 2014
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Nice modern rooms but poor service I suppose it lives up to the name of crown plaza when the room comfort and general decor is concerned. Generally clean but a close inspection prevents an excellent rating, still good. Location is not best as there is nothing around, unless it's for NEC centre. So not for a leisure type stay. Reception and checkout was trouble free and is not a reflection of poor service. It's the breakfast which killed it. The choice of continental stuff was poorer than a holiday inn Express and the idea of hot food on order failed it miserably. The waiting time for a humble egg, beans with hash brown was an hour. It wasn't crowded at all... Empty chairs all around still we got our chairs after 15 minutes wait. I think there was a lack of staff and poor state of service. I am glad we didn't opt for dinner the previous night. We were able to order hot food 30 minutes wait and calling for the staff on duty a few times. It only arrived after another 40 minutes wait. So all in all the biggest disappointment of our stay. I suppose for the price of room it was extremely cheap for a crown plaza.... So if you can opt for breakfast elsewhere it may be better. However as I said nothing in vicinity so be prepared to drive away or stay at the one in the city. January 1, 2014
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Comfortable bed and average service. Location of hotel good to venue. Very comfortable and clean room. Some bar and restaurant staff below average - stood around talking amongst themselves, not particularly friendly or interactive, limited menu choices due to unavailability of certain items (" none left - no apology"). Breakfast average, poor continental choice compared to crowne plaza in city centre, had to ask for tea and coffee because we were not offered after we were shown to the table for some time. Reception staff good although after asking for our feedback, listened and apologised but action not followed up with the promise of a call from customer service. Feedback is only valuable if the information is used to attempt improvements, not just filed away. December 26, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Staff always exceptional at this Crowne Plaza We've stayed here several times now and the staff have always all been so friendly, helpful and efficient. The hotel is well organised for those days when there is an event on at NEC or LG Arena. The rooms are comfortable and quiet with blissfully comfortable beds and bedding. I recommend this hotel highly. December 24, 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Ticks the Boxes Stayed overnight for a vist to LG Arena, perfect location. No problems with our stay, would stay again if in the Area. Usual Hotel let down with poor quality Sausages for breakfast, but hey minor fault, would still recommend to others. December 23, 2013
Rated 2.0 out of 5.0 by Mediocre (at best) Bathroom had 3 pieces of broken glass, living room had one. Other than that, rooms generally very clean. Had dinner at hotel too, summary is overpriced and poor quality. Breakfast was poor (and overpriced too) Evening restaurant staff were generally a bit on the grumpy side but this was more than compensated by the breakfast and reception staff who were all extremely pleasant. December 20, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Excellent! We booked the concert package, amazing value for money! Hotel was everything we could've asked for! Definitely stay there again! December 18, 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Fabulous breakfast, friendly staff Situated within easy walking distance of the NEC arena, close to Birmingham International Airport and with good travel links to the city centre, this hotel is in an ideal location. The rooms are clean with comfortable beds and a decent sized bathroom. There are the usual tea and coffee making facilities, hair dryer etc. The bar area was clean with a good choice of beverages including Starbucks coffee. The buffet breakfast was really good. There was plenty of choice and the food was hot and tasted fresh. The breakfast staff were really friendly and welcoming. If you're looking for a comfortable, friendly hotel, in a good location, this is a great choice. December 17, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Very nice stay My friend and I stayed 1 night at this hotel after a concert at the LG arena, our stay was very very pleasant, the room was very well equipped and spacious and the in room dinner service was excellent as we could eat before we went over to the arena. The food was very nice. The only down side we had was being woken up at 3am due to noisy staff in the smoking area. We told the staff this upon check out- they didn't charge for our parking! :) we will be back!!! December 17, 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Fab Fantastic stay lovely and clean value for money the only thing is wifi should be included also I booked a concert package that included dinner they sent us to the restaurant it wasn't open as it it was early but I booked a concert and needed to be at the lg for six thirty but a lovely man took us upstairs were we had a wonderful meal they got soya milk for me at Starbucks which was great they did try to charge me for car parking on check which was included in the concert package other than a few things we were made to feel special thankyou December 17, 2013
Rated 2.0 out of 5.0 by unwanted early morning call Even though I live local I decided to stay as I was at the NEC for an xmas party and didn't want to woken at 6am by young son. When booking I ticked for an optional upgrade and was given this on check-in. I was offered a wake up call and said that would not be required. The room was as expected with a very comfortable bed, blackout curtains and even a sleeping kit! I decided to watch a movie on the on demand system but was very disappointed that for the price of a cinema ticket all I got was a glitch ridden, just watchable experience. After a late night I was looking forward to a late start but was woken at around 8 am by some loud internal banging that lasted for a few minutes stopping and starting. I was now awake! On check out I was asked how my stay was and explained as above. I was told it may have been some workman they had on site and I received an apology and free parking - I would have much preferred an uninterrupted nights sleep! December 17, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great customer experience Myself and a friend enjoyed an excellent stay at this hotel. On arrival our room was not ready, however thanks to the accommodating staff we were offered a complimentary drink and to relax in the spacious bar. The room was great, with a great view of the NEC Lake. We both got a double bed each and could not recommend the quality of the sleep enough. To top it off, we received sleeping kits with aromatherapy remedies. Great touch. All the staff were great; very helpful & knowledgeable. Room service was quick and great quality. Big thank you to the member of reception who informed us about the shuttle bus service. We really appreciated this and was a great end to our stay at the Crowne Plaza. Overall, the hotel had a welcoming and relaxed atmosphere, perfect for our first visit to Birmingham and the NEC complex. Recommend it to anyone attending the LG arena or NEC. December 12, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great food and excellent service We booked the concert package which included Dinner, Bed & Breakfast and car parking. All the staff were friendly, helpful and extremely efficient. The LG Arena was just a 5 minute walk along the side of the lake and when the new complex next door is opened there will be even more facilities available. Would definitely stay again and not just for the concerts. December 12, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Excellent! Will definately return. Me and My mum stayed here the night before visiting the clothes show and were very impressed with the hotel and the staff. Hotel was incredibly clean and very modern. In the evening we didnt particuarly fancy what was on the restaurant or lounge bar menu so we asked at reception where we could go nearby. The girl on reception advised us that there werent many nearby restaurants but we would be able to go to a number of Balti houses for a small taxi fare. We decided to go to "The Titash" which provided an excellent meal for a good price. The only slight dissapointment with my stay was the lack of free wifi. We stayed at the crowne because we were visiting the Clothes Show the next day and it was only a 5 minite walk (at most) to the NEC so it was ideal! We didnt have breakfast included with our room so grabbed something at the NEC Wetherspoon for a fair price. Also - I have trouble sleeping in hotel rooms and unfamiliar beds but I had an excellent night sleep in a very comfortable bed! December 12, 2013
Rated 1.0 out of 5.0 by Soft bed, hot room and woken up by builders Bed too soft. Room too hot and couldn't cool it down unless window open. Woken up by neighbouring building site/builders working from before 8am on a Sunday morning. Ruined our expensive weekend away. Was birthday present for my husband. Never again!! December 11, 2013
Rated 1.0 out of 5.0 by Worst hotel I've stayed in to date If you want constant banging from the building work then come to this hotel. I didn't state anywhere on there website about this building work which would disrupt my stay. Not only that our ticket said check out at 12. So the receptionist rudely said "well il change it just this one" not only to get a knock at 11am saying we have to check out. No no no! Poor block got put right in his place. Also I liked the fact u had to pay for wifi and I love the small print on the room service menu. Put your glasses on to read the 3.50 room service charge. I would of got the food myself if I had known that. Stay again........ Yeah right! December 10, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great/Excellant food Really nice stay and the food in the resturant was eceptionally good. December 10, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Excellent stay I had lost my voice and when we went to breakfast, the manager (sorry, I didnt get his name!!) offered me hot water with lemon and honey! Really nice touch. The whole of our stay was excellent December 5, 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by excellent staff, good room and great food This is one of the many times I have chosen the NEC Crowne Plaza whilst attending various events at the NEC and the staff were very friendly and helpful as usual. We did notice that the carpet in the room was wet in some places obviously as a result of being cleaned but avoiding that small area was no big deal. The heating in the room was barely able to warm the room up but we like our room to be warm, it didn't reach the 24 degrees it was set to but the air conditioning units in this hotel are quite old. We ordered in room dining and the food was excellent, both the quality and the portions were very good indeed. Once the room next door had quietened down we had a very good nights sleep. The breakfast included was a very good quality (apart from the defrosted melon balls) and there was certainly plenty of choice to fill yourself up for the day ahead. As always the staff were very friendly and helpful. This is, however, the first time that I have been charged £10 to park in the car park whilst staying at the hotel and would make me think twice about staying here when the main car park next door is only charging £8! The hotel is a very short walk from the NEC itself and indeed closer than normal car parked which is potentially the only benefit to staying at the hotel car park, if you have stayed the night and paid for the room though, this should be included and always has been so policy must have changed. In all its an ok hotel to stay in, made great by the staff that work here. December 3, 2013
Rated 2.0 out of 5.0 by Not quiet right Booked for 3, checked in as 3, clarified by staff. Room set for 2. Requested linen, gown, towels and mug for third person, waited over an hour and got linen and towel. Due to Xmas party, couldn't get to bar, gave up. Room comfort difficult to obtain, either have noise of fan and cooler room or turn it off and have over warm room. This is alongside pillows which were as hard as rocks. So to a sleepless night. Trainee advised that breakfast was included in package........ Oh no it wasn't. At least we didnt get a view of a crane & building works. Claire did offer 25% of total bill.... Small consolation. Disappointing as previous stay was satisfactory. December 3, 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Bathroom and Service Strong smell of damp in bathroom. Housekeeper should check behind bathroom door for cleanliness. One restaurant waitress clearly not enjoying job, wasn't rude just disinterested. Overall a pleasant stay. November 29, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 ideal for nec Perfect location , easy access from motorway, short walk from nec , November 28, 2013
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Bar Menu in Restaurant Booked to include Dinner and Breakfast, found that in the restaurant the only menu available because of it being prepaid was the bar menu, disappointing as i was looking forward to trying a steak as advertised in the foyer. The bar also did not stock a decent whisky and when asked for a Canada Dry the barman went to the wine fridge? On the plus side a excellent nights sleep and a good choice for breakfast. November 27, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by For a convention hotel, just great This is my second stay and it gets better each year. Friendly staff with a warm vibrant feel to the hotel. November 27, 2013
<<prev2 3 4 5 ... 10 next>>
Welcome to the Holiday Inn Birmingham City Centre
Welcome to the Holiday Inn Birmingham City Centre
Select to close.
Welcome to the Holiday Inn Birmingham City Centre Holiday Inn Birmingham City Centre located on Smallbrook Queensway Hotel Lobby 2 minutes from New Street Train Station Hotel Entrance located on Hill Street Welcome to the Holiday Inn Birmingham City Centre Our Spacious Reception ensures an easy check-in Reception welcomes you to The Holiday Inn Birmingham City Centre
Select to close.
Terms & Conditions
Have pizza and soda delivered to your room with our in-room pizza package.  Book Now!