• English  English
    Select to close.
    Current Settings are:
      /  English

    Change Preferences:
    Country / Region of Residence:
    Available Languages:
  • |
  • |
  • |
  • 1 888 HOLIDAY
Select to close.
Select to close.
Email or IHG® Rewards Club # PIN
Not a member?Join Today!
Forgot PIN
All fields are required.
 
If you have forgotten or lost your Personal Identification Number (PIN), we can email your PIN to the email address in your IHG® Rewards Club account profile.
If you do not have an email address in your profile, please contact your local IHG® Rewards Club Customer Care  to source your PIN and to update your profile with your email address. When you receive your PIN you can also update your email address viawww.ihgrewardsclub.com/email.
IHG® Rewards Club # Email Address

Not a member?Join Today!
Create PIN
All fields are required.
IHG® Rewards Club # ZIP/Postal Code
First Name Last Name
Please select a 4 number Personal Identification Number (PIN) which will be used to access your IHG® Rewards Club account.
PIN Verify PIN
 
Not a member?Join Today!
Create Email
All fields are required.
Thank you. Your PIN has been created. Please enter your email address so you can use it to log into the site in the future.
Email Address Verify Email Address
 
Email Hotel Get Directions Add to Favorites Print Fact Sheet

Book this Hotel

Best Price Guarantee
1

Reward Nights
When redeeming points for a Reward Night, you may only book one room at a time.

Once you complete your Reward Night reservation you will be given the option to duplicate this reservation.

(e.g. Jul-29-2014)
(e.g. Jul-30-2014)
Have a Group Code?
Have a Corporate ID?
Check Availability
Processing your request...

* Requires affiliation in the respective organization.

** Best Available Rate Search does not include affiliation rates.

Select to close.

To book more than 9 rooms for one stay or request a quote, please use our Easy Meetings tool, call 1-800-MEETING (in United States, Mexico and Canada) or contact a Global Sales Office.

Close Button
Your Recently Viewed Hotels

About our Hotel

Location: Downtown/City Center

  • Location: Downtown/City Center
  • Closest City: BIRMINGHAM
  • Distance From Hotel: 0.0KM
  • Local time zone: GMT+01:00

Check In: 2:00 PM Check Out: 12:00 PM

  • Check In: 2:00 PM
  • Check Out: 12:00 PM
  • Minimum check-in age: 18
  • Late checkout available

Credit cards

Credit cards

  • American Express
  • Master Card
  • Visa

Accessibility

Accessibility

  • Number of Rooms:4
  • Service Animals Allowed

Languages

Languages

  1. German
  2. English
  3. Spanish
  4. French
  5. Italian
  6. Punjabi
  7. Polish
  8. Portuguese
  9. Turkish

Pet Policy

Pet Policy

Pets will incur a 20.00 charge per night which will be applied to your bill
Pet fee amount  20.00  GBP  per night

What's Nearby

What's Nearby

Attraction:
Birmingham National Exhibition Centre
Distance From Hotel:8.0MI
Attraction:
Birmingham Symphony Hall
Distance From Hotel:0.2MI
Attraction:
Mail Box
Distance From Hotel:0.0MI
Attraction:
Birmingham Canal Network
Distance From Hotel:0.3MI

Parking

Parking

  • Car Parking Available
  • There is an NCP car park next to hotel which we have an agreement of 50% off std prices Approximate charge for (24hr) is £12 after validation of ticket at hotel reception desk.

Internet

Standard Internet Service

Standard Internet service is free for all guests
Wireless Internet available in Standard Rooms,Executive Rooms,Suites,Business Center,Public Areas

Facility

Facility

  • Hotel renovated inFebruary 01, 2009
  • Total number of rooms:241
  • Total number of rooms with only one bed:221
  • Total number of rooms with only double beds:20
  • Total number of non-smoking rooms:241
  • Total number of rooms for the physically challenged:4
  • Interior corridor
  • Total number of floors:14

Stay central at the comfortable Holiday Inn Birmingham City Centre hotel, 2 minutes' walk from Birmingham New Street train station.

Friendly staff is ready to welcome you to the Holiday Inn Birmingham City Centre. Contemporary decor makes your guest room a stylish home-from-home experience, complimentary wireless Internet is available throughout the hotel.

We're located in the heart of the city in a great location to all of Birmingham’s main attractions such as
View More

Stay central at the comfortable Holiday Inn Birmingham City Centre hotel, 2 minutes' walk from Birmingham New Street train station.

Friendly staff is ready to welcome you to the Holiday Inn Birmingham City Centre. Contemporary decor makes your guest room a stylish home-from-home experience, complimentary wireless Internet is available throughout the hotel.

We're located in the heart of the city in a great location to all of Birmingham’s main attractions such as the ICC, Bullring Shopping Centre, NIA, Hippodrome Theatre, Alexandra Theatre, Sea life Centre and many more, certainly making us the ideal choice when you are looking for a hotel in Birmingham.

We are able to host banquets and conferences for up to 600 people in Holiday Inn Birmingham City Centre's 13 meeting rooms which makes for an impressive corporate event, dinner or conference .

Holiday Inn Birmingham City Centre's Albany Restaurant serves a full English buffet breakfast each morning and our Albany restaurant makes for an impressive spot to enjoy tasty dishes throughout the evening. Our Albany Bar is a great place to watch sports on plasma TVs and enjoy drinks on the terrace.

The Hotel is a short stroll to The Arcadian complex, where you can dine on world cuisine from British to Chinese, spending an evening sipping cosmopolitans and watching hilarious stand-up comedy at the famous, Glee Club.

View Less
Features
Our hotel is situated in the heart of Birmingham City Centre and a 2-minute walk from Birmingham's Bullring Shopping Centre and Birmingham New Street Train Station. It is also ideally situated just off the Smallbrook Queensway and the M6 motorway is within 2 miles of the hotel. With adjacent car parking offering discounted rates at the NCP.

Guest Reviews

Rated 4.3 out of 5 by 131 reviewers.
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by lovely large room stayed one night in order to attend 'optrafair' enjoyed meal at hotel which was a good deal and found ourselves in an executive room with sofas - very relaxing. April 21, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Best Holiday Inn we've ever stayed at everything I mean everything just right, superb staff - everyone. Stayed here now three times April 19, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Comfortable, ideal location, helpful staff I have stayed here before would use it more but I live only 35 miles away. I use it when I have business in the area and I have never been dissapointed. The rooms are quiet and comfortable. I am less than 2 miles from the M42 and if bored I can shop just over the road in Solihull town centre. Staff are very helpful and the breakfast is excellent. It's got everything I need for my purposes April 18, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great all round hotel Really enjoyed our one night stay, no complaints whatsoever, everything was perfect. The location is excellent, just opposite Touchwood Shopping Centre. Will definitely stay again. PS We did not try the food as our stay included an evening meal in the town and an early start. April 16, 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Very welcoming! Priority membership acknowledged from the moment we arrived. The staff were very helpful and were quick to resolve problems raised, as far as they were able. The room was clean and comfortable; extra towels were provided for swimming, upon request. The food and drink seemed very expensive and there was not a great variety to choose from. However there are several reasonably priced restaurants across the road. It was a shame that a Movie channel or SKY channels are not offered at the hotel. £5 parking charge per day seems unnecessary and should be waived for all stays, without having to ask for this to be done. April 10, 2013
Rated 2.0 out of 5.0 by Restaurant Somewhat disappointing. Restaurant in particular. No-one told us that as fully inclusive we had an allowance of £23 for the evening meal. Not made aware of that until we sat down so somewhat embarrassing. Also told we could not have the special 2 course meal offer with wine that was available although we were allowed it on the second night. On looking at the menu to get a 3 course meal for £23 one would have to select the cheapest stater and dessert and a non meat main course. In other words selection for £23 was very limited in deed. Whole experience in the restaurant ,as we had to speak at length to the duty manager,was stressful and embarrassing We were also not too pleased with our room on the 3rd floor as it only had a small window thus making the room rather dark. Would advise anyone choosing the hotel to request a room not on the third floor and check their meal options if staying on an inclusive break April 6, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by excellent staff A wonderful Holiday Inn. I wish all Holiday Inns had the same high standards. We were remembered by name despite our last stay being 2 years ago. Platinum Priority status always recognised. March 30, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Wonderful stay We booked a suite (room 106) and were delighted with the layout and size. Two flat screen televisions were a bonus and about time hotels had these as standard. We had hoped to make use of the balcony but 6 inches of snow put pay to that...maybe next time. Ate in the restaurant which was good with a 'deal' but as ever bar prices way too high. Close proximity of shopping centre is a nice aspect of this hotel. We usually stay in Crowne Plaza as we like to make use of The Club Lounge but we enjoyed our stay at this Holiday Inn. March 30, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Excellent staff and great room This is our second stay at this hotel and we love it. It's convenient to Birmingham but we enjoy Solihull too. The staff are excellent - warm and friendly and nothing is too much trouble. Room are a good size and well equipped. We aim to stay here every year for the foreseeable future. March 16, 2013
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Good accommodation; poor restaurant service. This would have been a very pleasant weekend stay, had it not been for the apparent shortage of bar and restaurant/kitchen staff, On the first evening, our group of 7 decided to dine in the hotel restaurant. The waiter was very pleasant, but he appeared to be the only person serving tables. The order, once taken, took more than half an hour to be delivered to the table. This suggested that perhaps the kitchen was also under-staffed. Due to the above experience, our party decided to eat out on the second evening. On returning to the hotel, we ordered 1 tea, 3 coffees and 3 Irish Coffees. This order took 25 minutes to appear. Once again, there seemed to be only 1 person serving at the bar which, as it was a Saturday evening, was fairly busy. In addition, the Irish Coffees were served in WHITE MUGS!!!! March 15, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Quick visit Needed a quick visit to Solihul and booked in without any problem. On arrival reception staff were welcoming and efficient. Great atmosphere in the bar for a large hotel and in the morning the breakfast was also taken in a good atmoshere wirh unobtrusive but efficient staff, just as it should be! March 4, 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Smell the coffee Perfect apart from the odd behaviour of staff at breakfast, i went to get my coffee from the self service machine only to be told by the member of staff guarding it that i should return to the table and I would be waited at table. odd but odder was when I asked for as second cup was told it was self service not served at table, sort out if its self service or not and make sure its consistent. February 28, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Best nights sleep, great bed and nice room The room was nice but the bed was superb. So comfortable best nights sleep I've had in a hotel for a long while. Great value, service. Good location February 15, 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Would stay again We had to travel to Solihull unexpectedly one evening. Making the reservation was easy and quick. We didn't know how long we would be staying, but that was no problem to the hotel staff who couldn't have been more accomodating. We booked the next morning for another night, and again the following day without any fuss. Our room was clean and comfortable, with a huge double bed. On Sunday evening we ordered a Pizza from room service which was ok, but not great. Altogether, good value for money and, should we return to Solihull, we will stay here again. February 15, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Good food and comfort We usually stay here at least twice a year. Rooms are comfortable and food is excellent, although the dinner menu does not appear to have changed in a couple of years. It is nice to see the same staff on each visit which says a lot about the hotel. Only one gripe and that is cost of internet access. as this is a franchised hotel charges are higher than at other Holiday Inns where some offer free access. But a major concern February 13, 2013
Rated 2.0 out of 5.0 by Helpful Staff The staff at this Holiday Inn were very good. I do not see why this hotel charges for both parking and internet. Also for the price I would have expected the hotel to provide at least a continental breakfast as part of the price. 10 pounds per person for breakfast seems like poor customer relations to me. They did provide free water but it would be nice if someone at the hotel actually realised that you need to provide glasses as well! January 28, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by It's a Holiday Inn What I mean by the title of the review is that it is a fairly standard Holiday inn if you have stayed in them like I have, a lot. My purpose this time was business, but I stay in these for business and pleasure as they are usually good value for money and a standard that you have come to expect. I am a platinum priority club member and after having the foresight to call in advance to make sure they had my booking as such (my corporate bookers do get it wrong sometimes), I was greeted as such, given an upgraded Exec room, although we pay for standard with breakfast. It was good as you would expect with complimentary newspaper etc. Parking is usually extra I understand, but our corporate rate includes that too, which is handy. Breakfast was standard - good, with a wide enough variety and good quality. The room - good beds etc, clean, carpets a little tired and should be replaced, bath etc good, tv good. No wifi as far as I could make out, at least not free. I use my 3g anyway. Good shopping centre just opposite with some restaurants (Wagamama, Giraffe, TGIF, Handmade Burger, Nando's etc etc) means you don't have to rely on internal restaurants, so I didn't. I would happily stay again, it is a little *tired* and could do with a little makeover, but again, it is a Holiday Inn, for the price you pay, you get the essentials. Can't complain. January 9, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Another fab stay Stayed here again due to a work party and highly recommend. The breakfasts are fab with so much choice, and the meal at the party was again of a high standard. My only disappointment this year was the charge to leave your car. There was no notice that you now need to pay and personally I feel this should be free to guests. January 5, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Excellent service and value for money Stayed over the weekend following xmas. Very good service, very comfortable, excellent value for money. Excellent location and close to all amenities. Good work. January 5, 2013
Rated 2.0 out of 5.0 by Does not meet canadian standards My husband and myself are Platinum Priority Members and was not greeted as such, asked for upgrade told there was nothing available when we were next to higher standard rooms which were empty. We stayed for a week, there were no doors on the closet, only 2 small drawers for underwear etc, no clock, no coffee maker, no plugs in bathroom to use hairdryer or hair tongs, pool closed early most nights, room wasnt cleaned for 2 days as staff were off for Xmas, did get clean towels when we called front desk for them. Food was very expensive at hotel restuarant so ate over the restuarents opposite hotel, cost of parking was unreal, five pounds per day, internet charge was even worse, most times in Canada have free internet & parking. January 3, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great hotel and location Stayed one night after the good food show,perfect place to stay for the show,just a ten pound taxi ride to the NEC.Stayed here for the past few years for the show and love the location - straight opposite the Touchwood Shopping Centre and restaurants. Marek on reception is a wonderful first point of contact, very polite and helpful. Would recommend this hotel to anyone December 7, 2012
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Enjoyable stay, would stay again Was made welcome on arrival and breakfast and dinner was explained to us. We found the room quite spacious, warm and clean. The double bed was very large and comfortable and there was a choice of firm or soft pillows. The room had complimentary tea/coffee and in the bathroom it had shower gel, bath room and soap. There are other items available like toothbrush, cotton buds etc on request. At dinner time we opted for two dine for £29.99 which is a two course meal, starter and main and a glass of wine each. We ere not offered the wine and I ended up asking for it half way through the meal but other diners were asked when taking the order. I ordered battered fish and chips. The portion size could of fed two but the quality was appaling. The fish tasted teribble and the chips were just your standard frozen chips. The peas tasted very dry as well. My husband said his beef and ale pie was lovely but the mash was smash which is a big let down. The breakfast was of much better quality with lots to choose from and we really enjoyed that. Parking was not a problem but think it is very inappropriate to have to pay if your staying. Would stay again though but perhaps considering eating out next time. December 6, 2012
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Room Bed hard and uncomfortable. Not recognised as Priority Customer. Not offered any Priority Member facilities. Bathroom had signs of mould at bath. November 30, 2012
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Solihull Ideal shoppers location, good value, nice staff, will return again at this price. November 25, 2012
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Comfortable and friendly Staff It was a warm welcome by the staff, the breakfast gave a very good selection, my only complaint although minor was the scambled egg was very poor. The staff were very nice and was excellent I certainly would stay again - good value for money. November 22, 2012
Rated 2.0 out of 5.0 by WORSE FOOD EVER I HAVE STAYED AT MANY PLACES THROUGH MY JOB AND BUISNESS, I HAD A MEAL IN THE RESTAURANT ON MY STAY. THE FOOD WAS TERRIBLE, I ORDERED FROM THE SPECIAL MENU HOW WRONG WAS I! THE CHICKEN, MUSHROOM AND BACON PIE WAS DRIED, THE PEAS SHRIVELLED AND LIKE BULLETS AND THE MASHED POTATO HARD AND DRY.......AH YES KEEP IT ON THE HOT PLATE TO KEEP WARM, WHAT A POORLY EXPERIENCED CHEF...NOT REALISING THIS ACTUALLY DRIES THE FOOD OUT. NOT TOO WORRY, I WILL GIVE BREAKFAST A GO.....HOW WRONG WAS I!! IT TOOK THEM NEAR 25 MINS TO BRING ME MY POACHED EGGS, OH MY HOW COLD WERE THEY....I GOT A MERE 'SORRY FOR THE WAIT' FROM THE WAITRESS AS SHE FLED IN SHAME #SAME WAITRESS FROM THE NIGHT BEFORE# TO TOP IT OFF, WHEN I DID COMPLAIN I WAS OFFERED A COMPLIMENTRY COFFEE, WHAT FROM THE COFFEE MACHINE I THINK NOT I COULD GET A BETTER COFFEE IN BURGER KING..............................SUCH A SHAME AS I ENOY STAYING AT HOLIDAY INN AND HAVE NEVER EXPERIENCED SUCH DIRE SERVICE AND FOOD. I WAS PUT IN A ROOM WHICH WAS RIGHT NEXT TO THE LFIT, SO ALL NIGHT THIS KEPT ME AWAKE GOING UP AND DOWN.....THEN THE CLEANERS DECIDED TO WAKE ME UP @0600HRS HAVING A WEE CHAT OUTSIDE MY ROOM, I DID OPEN THE DOOR AND REMIND THEM IT WAS SUPPOSED TO BE A 'RELAXING' STAY, TO WHICH I WAS GIVEN A 'WHO DO YOU THINK YOU ARE' LOOK. CHEERS HOLIDAY INN FOR A REAL UNPLEASANT STAY :)) November 22, 2012
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Great staff but rooms need maintaining more. Room 308 The left hand window was broken and would not close. It was a very cold night so I turned the radiator up full but because the curtains were floor length and covered the radiator the room remained cold. Also, the sink had a few large cracks in it and the plug was clogged as it took quite a while to drain. As for the staff, they were all delightful. Chloe, the trainee receptionist was particularly lovely. November 16, 2012
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Staff are excellent Average hotel and property with dated rooms, however the service is excellent. Extremely impressive. Thanks again to all the staff. Rich November 7, 2012
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by comfortable stay, great food The room was very comfortable, food was great, evening meal`s table service was poor. Breakfast food was good, lots of choice and much better service, must have been different staff. Only niggle was the fact that the bathroom fan did not work. Felt I was in a tropical rain forest. In fairness the manager addressed the situation upon checking out. Very close to the NEC and would stay again October 28, 2012
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by comfortable bed, outstanding customer service I had a very enjoyable 2 night stay, very convienient location. The staff are outstanding, very helpful and curtious. Clean comfortable bed. Will be staying again. Thank you October 27, 2012
<<prev 2 3 4 5 6 next>>
Welcome to the Holiday Inn Birmingham City Centre
Welcome to the Holiday Inn Birmingham City Centre
Select to close.
Welcome to the Holiday Inn Birmingham City Centre Holiday Inn Birmingham City Centre located on Smallbrook Queensway Hotel Lobby 2 minutes from New Street Train Station Welcome to the Holiday Inn Birmingham City Centre Our Spacious Reception ensures an easy check-in Hotel Entrance located on Hill Street Reception welcomes you to The Holiday Inn Birmingham City Centre
Select to close.
Have pizza and soda delivered to your room with our in-room pizza package.  Book Now!
Close
Check In
(e.g. Jul-29-2014)
Check Out
(e.g. Jul-30-2014)
Check Availability
Loading