Select to close.
Select to close.
Email or IHG® Rewards Club # PIN
Not a member?Join Today!
Forgot PIN
All fields are required.
 
If you have forgotten or lost your Personal Identification Number (PIN), we can email your PIN to the email address in your IHG® Rewards Club account profile.
If you do not have an email address in your profile, please contact your local IHG® Rewards Club Customer Care  to source your PIN and to update your profile with your email address. When you receive your PIN you can also update your email address viawww.ihgrewardsclub.com/email.
IHG® Rewards Club # Email Address

Not a member?Join Today!
Create PIN
All fields are required.
IHG® Rewards Club # ZIP/Postal Code
First Name Last Name
Please select a 4 number Personal Identification Number (PIN) which will be used to access your IHG® Rewards Club account.
PIN Verify PIN
 
Not a member?Join Today!
Create Email
All fields are required.
Thank you. Your PIN has been created. Please enter your email address so you can use it to log into the site in the future.
Email Address Verify Email Address
 
Email Hotel Get Directions Add to Favorites Print Fact Sheet

Book this Hotel

Best Price Guarantee
1

Reward Nights
When redeeming points for a Reward Night, you may only book one room at a time.

Once you complete your Reward Night reservation you will be given the option to duplicate this reservation.

(e.g. Jul-29-2014)
(e.g. Jul-30-2014)
Have a Group Code?
Have a Corporate ID?
Check Availability
Processing your request...

* Requires affiliation in the respective organization.

** Best Available Rate Search does not include affiliation rates.

Select to close.

To book more than 9 rooms for one stay or request a quote, please use our Easy Meetings tool, call 1-800-MEETING (in United States, Mexico and Canada) or contact a Global Sales Office.

Close Button
Rated 4.2 out of 5 by 265 reviewers.
Rated 2.0 out of 5.0 by a little disappointed i am a platinum level ihg rewards member so try to book with the group whenever i can for work and leisure (i probably stay in hotels anywhere between 5 to 10 nights per month). cardiff holiday inn on the good side excellent breakfast, bar and staff within both ( i was late for my breakfast on my second day but the staff sorted me out and i was able to enjoy my breakfast). however on the minus. i was never offered any upgrade on my room and when i got to my room it was very cramped, there was no safe and no fridge (i have medication which i need to keep refrigerated so had to use my cool box. the bathroom was tiny. as i said the room was cramped and there was not even a small bottle of water within the room.. my problem is i am staying in cardiff in october for 2 weeks so do i stick with my brand loyalty or do i go to another hotel where i know i get the things i want (safe, fridge, big room) currently i am not sure which way to jump August 26, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Convenient Location & Excellent Services ! We stayed for two nights at this hotel and overall it has been excellent experience. Duty manager have been extremely helpful and resolved our room changing issues. Kids loved Pancake Machine. Plenty of food choices at “Cardiff Bay” and a hidden gem “Barafundle Bay” are must to visit in Wales. Downside: No Swimming Pool @ Hotel August 23, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by THOROUGHLY ENJOYABLE STAY We have stayed at this hotel a few times over the last year and yet again this latest stay was faultless. Clean and functional room with a very comfortable bed - an excellent night's sleep. The service was first class - without exception staff were friendly, attentive but very professional. The hotel is centrally located for all local attractions, and is excellent value for money. Already looking forward to our next trip to Cardiff and will no doubt stay at this hotel again. August 23, 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by service and staff fine As an IHG gold card member who uses the group on a regular basis I was not impressed with the room I was given,Top floor...at the end of the corridor..in a box room as if it was the last room in the hotel. I had booked well in advance for the weekend. The hotel was full..l...many people on stag and hen weekends who must have had a better room than my wife and I did. How many of these were regular customers ???? Very few I suggest. I do not expect preferential treatment but as a gold card member expect something better than I was given August 22, 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Great location Excellent central location (right opposite the castle) for our first visit to this enjoyable city. Friendly, helpful and cheerful staff giving great service (particularly enjoyed very well cooked and presented breakfasts). Will definately make a return stay and would not hesitate to recomend this hotel for anyone's visit to Cardiff. August 22, 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Fantastically situated Comfortable bed and good size room. Hotel is fantastically placed for everything that Cardiff has to offer. Hotel car park meant that everything was easy and enjoyable. August 21, 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Improved My family and I have been staying at this hotel over the past year a number of times whilst visiting our son at Uni. During this time we have had some not so good visits and only one ok one. Not this time a great improvement insofar everything worked in the room and it was very clean and comfortable. The staff as ever though are exceptionally helpful and knowledgable of the surrounding areas best places to see. Will we return. Of course August 20, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great service The staff were very friendly and helpful, they could not have done more to help us feel comfortable in our stay. Dinner service was very good and the children enjoyed the meals. August 19, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great Service and coped well, all things considered. Considering the fact, that I was unaware that the hotel would not be notified of my dietary requirements until the morning we arrived. As a medically diagnosed Coeliac (this means I can't eat anything that contains gluten, in simple terms if it contains flour I can't eat it, but it's not that simple.) I was disappointed that the online booking form didn't tell me this. However I met with the Chef when we arrived and Dinner in the restaurant was satisfactory. I had asked for Fish and Chips...was told they couldn't do Batter, but could cover the fish in Breadcrumbs (as they had some GF breadcrumbs left over). That was fine. My dinner arrived, minus chips...when I enquired why, I was told that the Chef had noticed that they were coated with wheat flour and therefore were not safe for me to eat, I was then told that the Chef would make me chips which he did big chunky ones with the skin on yum!! My eldest daughter decided the week before we got to the Hotel that she was going to be vegan (this is not a necessity just a lifestyle choice) and they coped with that admirably too, but what was nice was I came first as a medical necessity. Breakfast must have had a change of chef, as the evening before I had been told that all there sausages were gluten Free....due to cross contamination issues I can't safely use the buffet, so I asked for my breakfast from the kitchen......I was told that the sausages weren't gluten free and would I like vegetarian sausages (clearly the chef had no idea that veggie sausages contain more wheat starch, than the ordinary sausages as that what holds them together!!) I was then told that the bacon also wasn't gluten free (still confused about that one!) i did however receive a hot plate of two fried eggs, scrambled egg, tomatoes and mushrooms, and the best bit a toasted gluten free roll (now that I wasn't expecting.) Overall this hotel coped very well considering the lack of notice they had, heving filled out the online form in June, it would be useful if it told you that they wouldn't get the message until the arrival date. August 14, 2013
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Poor Internet connection Very slow Internet connection Towels are too small Low water pressure for shower August 12, 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Top location A good HI located right in the heart of Cardiff opposite Cardiff castle and in front of the Millennium Stadium and Cardiff Blues RFC. Very friendly staff , comfortable room and good bar ( a tad expensive though ). Happy to recommend this place. August 9, 2013
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 Alright - But The Holiday Inn Cardiff is centrally situated across the main road from Cardiff Castle. All staff were friendly, attentive and professional. In general terms the hotel is 'alright' with a few 'buts'. The hotel is alright because it has its own car park and predictably you have to pay #£10 per day# BUT the car park is at the rear of the hotel and the architect did not think to provide a back entrance to the hotel and so you need to carry your suitcases up a hill and around the corner to the main entrance, only to be told by reception "For drop-off purposes, you can ignore all the yellow lines outside of the hotel." We had requested 'a high room away from lifts' and sure enough we were allocated a room at the end of the corridor on the 6th floor. BUT we forgot to state in our request 'We prefer not to be allocated the smallest room in the hotel'. The bedroom was tiny and the bathroom was miniscule. Every piece of furniture provided an obstacle and the wardrobe doors when opened created a total barrier to entering or getting out of the room. Surely as a Priority Club member you are entitled not to be fobbed off with this. I went to reception and with no fuss was reallocated a room on the same floor. The dimensions of the bedroom were more reasonable BUT with a bathroom/toilet floor area of approximately 1 square metre in area, surely not all the bathrooms in the Holiday Inn are so cramped for space. The WC lid forms a useful table next to the bath to place a morning cup of coffee or an evening G&T, BUT it also forms an obstacle to getting in and out of the bath. As other reviews have stated, the hotel is on a main road and although not overly obtrusive, traffic noise can be an irritation. All in all the Holiday Inn Cardiff is alright and if you are lucky enough to be allocated facilities of reasonable proportions most the BUTS will not occur. August 9, 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Good stay at Holiday in Cardiff August the 1st myself and friends stayed at holiday inn. The rooms were great. They were also clean and tidy. No issues and would stay in the holiday in again. August 8, 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by The staff make it! My second stay on business; this time I was on the 6th floor, the rooms are larger here and seem less shabby than on the 5th. As a single female traveller I appreciated the door chain and peep hole for extra security. The toaster has now been fixed! Food good, rooms and public areas very clean, excellent location - I choose to stay here even though there are many hotels in central Cardiff at a similar price, because of the location opposite the castle is an easy walk from the park, and close to the station. However what makes the hotel is the staff who are consistently friendly and polite. The staff on reception are particularly helpful and do their very best to assist you. It's the simple things like saying "welcome back" when I check in that makes the difference. I will be back. August 5, 2013
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Incredibly noisy karaoke downstairs kept kids awake We have stayed in this Holiday Inn at least a couple of times a year for a few years, however we are re-considering our options. As usual the room was comfortable and a good size for 2 adults and 2 children. The bathrooms in this hotel are a little tired but ok. The staff are friendly and breakfast efficient. During this stay we managed to get the kids in bed at 7.30 after many late nights and although we could hear a function below us it wasn't too loud. As the night progressed the music got louder and louder - we may as well have been in the party room, it woke the kids and they wouldn't settle again. We eventually complained (at just before 10) and the music was turned down but the damage was done and the children were awake for several hours. I was surprised by how loud the music was in a guest room and how ANY hotel might consider this level of noise in their guest rooms as acceptable. Tired children do not make for a good break and we are looking for alternatives to stay in Cardiff for our next trip. August 4, 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Great City Break Booked the Holiday Inn City Centre for a Sunday night, to use the hotel in the city, as a base. Great spot for the centre of Cardiff. Stayed here many times. Fabulous value. Wonderful breakfast. Great beds. Booked evening meal with our package, good value. Easy to get to Cardiff Bay on the Baybus No 6, just down the road on Westgate St. every 15 Mins. Easy parking behind hotel for night £10.00. Good staff. Very friendly house staff. Check in , check out ,great. August 3, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Excellent staff This was our second visit to this hotel. Once again the staff were excellent. The visit was to celebrate my wife's 60th birthday and the hotel could not have been more accommodating to our party. All of the party - 6 rooms in total had nothing but good to say about the hotel. The evening meal was very enjoyed by everyone with various meals selected. The hotel is well situated to visit the centre of Cardiff with the castle across the road. Special mention to the lady behind the bar, the Lithuanian waitress and Pedro the Portugese waiter. These members of staff are a credit to Holiday Inn and if possible could you convey our thanks and appreciation to these 3 team members August 2, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Good hotel in a great location Staff and hotel very friendly and helpful. If your a priority member they offer some excellent incentives. The only thing that let it down was the cleanliness of bathroom. August 2, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Fabulous Great location. Lovely room. Comfortable bed. Great city to stay in. August 1, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Excellent staff Of all the hotels I've stayed in, the staff at the Holiday Inn, Castle Street, Cardiff are the friendliest and most professional I've ever come across. July 31, 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Quick Stop for Doctor Who We made a quick stop in Cardiff to see the Castle and the Dr Who Experience. Choose this property for proximity to Castle. Staff was excellent in getting us rooms with a view of the castle. Rooms were clean and well appointed. Service at Front desk was quick and efficient. Had dinner in the restaurant downstairs and a nice waitress (Lithuanian I believe) helped us with the meal Her service was great and the food good. Also ate breakfast the next morning in same restaurant, once again went well. Would recommend this property for other guests that maybe in town for quick visits. July 31, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Perfect for concert at millennium stadium The perfectly situated venue. Not only was it the most ideal spot for walking from the station but also for walking a matter of a few hundred yards to the concert. As if that wasn't enough, our room was well presented, air conditioned, roomy and clean. Staff were friendly and professional and attended to any request efficiently and thoroughly. We had a wonderful time and have already highly recommended it to our friends and family. Thank you. July 31, 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Concert At Millennium Stadium - 1 Night Stayed here before on business and made mental note to book room if ever attending an event at the MS. This hotel is quite literally a stone's throw from the MS... and the centre of Cardiff Staff are really nice and we were very pleased with the help and overall value offered. Only complaint about the general dining area was the fridge-like temperatures from the aircon. Some people will like this in hot weather. Big bonus is the car parking on site - right next door to the MS. But beware you need to come at it from the city side, get off the road quickly and it can be a bit tight if you have a large vehicle. Our room was large, comfortable and had the things we needed. Not the best HI in-room facilities we have enjoyed, but adequate for our one night trip. Could probably do with a lick of paint and someTLC, but certainly not below par for a city centre venue. My Priority Club platinum status was recognised in the form of a choice of a bar voucher or extra points. Free car parking was also included - which was great so close to our venue. I will stay here again and would recommend for MS events and central Cardiff visits. July 29, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Location, Location, Location This hotel is perfectly situated in the centre of Cardiff. There is a good car park and it is convenient for sporting venues, shops and entertainment. The staff are excellent and guests are made to feel very welcome. The hotel is attractive and provides everything you would expect. July 29, 2013
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Comfortable and functional A comfortable and functional room for visiting this lovely city. Great location right opposite Bute Park and the Castle, five minutes to the shopping centre. Bed was good, the room was a little over furnished for the size, great shower. Good selection of TV channels too. I was surprised that internet was an extra cost and very expensive as was the price of the breakfast. July 29, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Cool bedroom We arrived on a very hot day and it was nice to walk into our bedroom with the Air con already on and able to chill out. Comfortable bed July 28, 2013
Rated 1.0 out of 5.0 by nur schlechte Erfahrung gemacht Entgegen anderer IHG-Hotels wurde ich im Holiday-Inn Cardiff City Centre Hotel mit keiner einzigen Silbe als IHG-Platin Member begruesst. Dies ist das erste Hotel, in welchem man mir kein Zimmer-Upgrade bei der Ankunft anbot. Das Zimmerpersonal war während meines 7-taegigen Aufenthaltes um ein vielfaches freundlicher als das Personal an der Rezeption . Im Fruehstuecksraum war taeglich das Problem des Personalmangels unverkennbar. An der Bar arbeitete eine wortkarge und zugleich unfreundliche Bedienung. Die Key-Card zum Eintritt ins Hotelzimmer musste ich jeden Abend neu programmieren lassen. Kein Safe im Zimmer! Werde dieses Hotel nicht weiterempfehlen. July 23, 2013
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Needs some updating Service lift next to our room woke us up at 7.00 / 7.30am, so much for our lay in on the Saturday morning! Bar area good Location good Staff good Not sure if we would stay again due to the service lift July 22, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Super location and great service I really like this hotel, perfect location for a day out in Cardiff - opposite the castle (recommended visit) and next to Bute Park and the relaxing boat service to "The Bay" Staff were pleasant and attentive, and we look forward to our return. Rooms were a little tired, but the bed was comfortable, and the restaurant was fine. July 21, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 A good experience A great location by the castle and city centre. Lovely staff, who couldn't do enough. Breakfast buffet and dinner were very good. The hotel and rooms were immaculate. July 13, 2013
<<prev 4 5 6 7 8 ... 10 next>>