• English  English
    Select to close.
    Current Settings are:
      /  English

    Change Preferences:
    Country / Region of Residence:
    Available Languages:
  • |
  • |
  • |
  • 1 888 HOLIDAY
Select to close.
Select to close.
Email or IHG® Rewards Club # PIN
Not a member?Join Today!
Forgot PIN
All fields are required.
 
If you have forgotten or lost your Personal Identification Number (PIN), we can email your PIN to the email address in your IHG® Rewards Club account profile.
If you do not have an email address in your profile, please contact your local IHG® Rewards Club Customer Care  to source your PIN and to update your profile with your email address. When you receive your PIN you can also update your email address viawww.ihgrewardsclub.com/email.
IHG® Rewards Club # Email Address

Not a member?Join Today!
Create PIN
All fields are required.
IHG® Rewards Club # ZIP/Postal Code
First Name Last Name
Please select a 4 number Personal Identification Number (PIN) which will be used to access your IHG® Rewards Club account.
PIN Verify PIN
 
Not a member?Join Today!
Create Email
All fields are required.
Thank you. Your PIN has been created. Please enter your email address so you can use it to log into the site in the future.
Email Address Verify Email Address
 
Email Hotel Get Directions Add to Favorites Print Fact Sheet

Book this Hotel

Best Price Guarantee
1

Reward Nights
When redeeming points for a Reward Night, you may only book one room at a time.

Once you complete your Reward Night reservation you will be given the option to duplicate this reservation.

(e.g. Nov-28-2014)
(e.g. Nov-29-2014)
Have a Group Code?
Have a Corporate ID?
Check Availability
Processing your request...

* Requires affiliation in the respective organization.

** Best Available Rate Search does not include affiliation rates.

Select to close.

To book more than 9 rooms for one stay or request a quote, please use our Easy Meetings tool, call 1-800-MEETING (in United States, Mexico and Canada) or contact a Global Sales Office.

Close Button
Your Recently Viewed Hotels

About our Hotel

Location: Downtown/City Center

  • Location: Downtown/City Center
  • Closest City: CHARLESTON
  • Distance From Hotel: 0.0MI
  • Local time zone: GMT-05:00

Check In: 4:00 PM Check Out: 11:00 AM

  • Check In: 4:00 PM
  • Check Out: 11:00 AM
  • Minimum check-in age: 21
  • Late checkout available

Credit cards

Credit cards

  • American Express
  • Carte Blanche
  • Diners Club
  • Discover
  • Master Card
  • Visa

Accessibility

Accessibility

  • Number of Rooms:7
  • Parking
  • Service Animals Allowed

Languages

Languages

  1. English

Pet Policy

Pet Policy

Pleasse accept our apologies, the Holiday Inn Charelston Historic Downtown does not accept pets. Kennels are located within several miles of the hotel. Please call us in advance to make arrangements for your furry loved ones. Guide Dogs are welcome.

What's Nearby

What's Nearby

Attraction:
Charleston for Families! The BEST things to do!
Distance From Hotel:0.0MI
Attraction:
Charleston is a Photographer's Paradise!
Distance From Hotel:0.0MI
Attraction:
Charleston Museums - Where History Lives!
Distance From Hotel:0.0MI
Attraction:
Charleston Parks Explore, Discover and Let Loose!
Distance From Hotel:0.0MI

Parking

Parking

  • Number of parking spaces:82
  • Car Parking Available
  • Parking is valet parking only in the hotels parking garage for 16 dollars per day plus 8.5 percent sales tax. Offsite parking for oversized vehicles. Additional parking 2 blocks at Visitors Center 12.00 per day.
  • Valet parking fee  ( 16.0 USD )

Internet

Standard Internet Service

Standard Internet service is free for all guests
Wireless Internet available in Standard Rooms,Suites,Business Center,Public Areas
Wired Internet available in Standard Rooms,Suites

Facility

Facility

  • Total number of rooms:120
  • Total number of suites:3
  • Total number of rooms with only one bed:59
  • Total number of rooms with only double beds:61
  • Total number of non-smoking rooms:120
  • Total number of rooms for the physically challenged:7
  • Interior corridor
  • Total number of floors:5
Known for its rich history, well-preserved architecture, a celebrated restaurant community and mannerly people; Charleston has been named Top U.S. City by Conde Nast Traveler 2013 Readers Choice Awards for the third year. This coastal destination remains one of the top destination cities in the world. Holiday Inn Charleston Historic Downtown is proud to be a part of Historic Charleston blending contemporary luxury with traditional southern hospitality. Situated on Meeting and Woolfe Street; we are
View More
Known for its rich history, well-preserved architecture, a celebrated restaurant community and mannerly people; Charleston has been named Top U.S. City by Conde Nast Traveler 2013 Readers Choice Awards for the third year. This coastal destination remains one of the top destination cities in the world. Holiday Inn Charleston Historic Downtown is proud to be a part of Historic Charleston blending contemporary luxury with traditional southern hospitality. Situated on Meeting and Woolfe Street; we are just one block from the Charleston Visitor's Center, minutes from attractions, boutique shops and restaurants located throughout downtown Charleston. Our location is within close proximity to other Charleston's historic sites, attractions, museums, sport venues, beaches and more; providing easy access to I-26 and US Highway 17. The Meeting Room Restaurant & Tapas Bar offers farm-to-table dining with a twist on tradition with American inspired entrees prepared with local ingredients offering something to suit every palette. Unwind in an atmosphere of relaxed elegance that allows friends and family to meet and enjoy great food, signature cocktails, wine and beer. After a long day workout in our fitness center, take a dip in our heated outdoor pool or bask in the warm Charleston sun. Stay cool and relax around our outdoor covered patio with overhead fans and living room style seating. Visit our business center and stay connected to electronic devices with free WIFI.
View Less
Features
Our Charleston Hotel has the ideal location in the peninsula. Holiday Inn Charleston Historic Downtown is easy accessible to I-526 and US Highway 17 and the gateway to plantations, picturesque islands and beaches, seasonal events, festivals, wedding venues and more. Offering all the charm and great food that makes Charleston so desirable to many repeat visitors.

Guest Reviews

Rated 4.6 out of 5 by 387 reviewers.
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by great location This hotel is in a great location with plenty of restaurants and shopping close by. Rooms were clean and a hot breakfast in the morning. You can hear guests coming and going down the halls, but everyone was very respectful during my stay. November 10, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great service I dealt with Regan (female) when confirming my reservation several hours prior to my arrival. Her ability to work with my special needs for the two nights we were there was no less than excellent. My husband had surgery and from check-in to the staff's assistance in getting us a wheelchair several times to extra bedding, etc. everything was seemless. We are members of another hotel chain and travel quite often. Among the many brand hotels where we have stayed, your hotel and staff rank among the top three. Please thank your front desk, housekeeping, porters, breakfast staff and Regan. November 9, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great service Very late arrival into Charleston airport and got to hotel about 12:30 a.m. The staff person at check in was very helpful and attentive. My reservation was complex and the associate reviewed it with me to make certain that all was in order. November 8, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Charleston Vacation Would return excellent location. Small but nice rooms. November 6, 2014
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Maid Service Enters Room Intrudes Maid Service Enters Room when Do Not Disturb Sign is on Door November 3, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by The BEST Location!!! Our three nights at the Holiday Inn Express in Mount Pleasant was an enjoyable experience. Friendly staff, lovely rooms, great breakfast and evening snack all added to our very pleasant stay. For us the very best part was that we were visiting our son at the Patriot's Point Marina and we did not have to get on the busy highway to go back and forth to visit him. Thank you for our fun, short vacation. November 1, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by comfortable bed and pillows, clean This hotel was very clean and comfortable. The staff was very friendly and helpful. It was also very convenient to tourist areas without being on a busy, nosy highway October 31, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Awesome Express hotel If you haven't been to this property, give it a try. It's only a few years old, so everything is fairly new. Close to downtown Charleston (a few minutes over the bridge - take East Bay to avoid Meeting Street) and close to Isle of Palms (best family-friendly beach in the area). October 27, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Convienient Perfect location for my needs. Nice restaurant choices nearby. October 27, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great location Spent 4 days in the Charleston area and stayed at the Holiday Inn. Great location to Charleston and to Isle of Palms. Nice hotel, friendly staff, would stay there again. October 23, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great stop outside of Charleston, SC Great value for the room booked. Very clean and up to date rooms. October 23, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Beautiful property Accommodating staff, nice breakfast and very roomy, comfortable common areas. My only issue with our room was the stingy hanging options in the bathroom (no hooks and an inaccessible towel bar) and the complimentary shampoo was previously used. Not a deal breaker, but disconcerting nonetheless. October 19, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Staff and breakfast The staff is very friendly and welcoming, also helpful. My previous accommodation and been on the first floor and/or the handicapped suite. Neither was available this most recent visit, but front desk searched for such. No problem, though, because the bathroom in the standard room had bars in the shower making it easily accessible for me. I love the quality and variety of the breakfast bar. Also, I'm impressed that the bananas are ripe but not too ripe! October 19, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Gingerbreadman Value of room and stay were excellent. Price for room was very high. October 18, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great hotel The hotel exceeded my expecations. They provided great customer service and the room was great. October 17, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by 10/11/14 Returning guests. Came for a weekend get away. Will return again. October 15, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 Great hospitality Our stay was started with a great greeting by the check in staff and all in all was a great stay. An added plus was the running trail right outside our door almost. Would highly recommend this hotel! October 14, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by High End Fixtures and Furniture - Great Breakfast HI Express may give you the idea that this is a budget/basic hotel but this site is really nice. The countertops, furnishings, and beds are really top quality. The dining area for breakfast is really nice and the food is outstanding. We make sure that this hotel is available before we travel to the area. October 13, 2014
Rated 1.0 out of 5.0 by Poor customer service Hotel staff was not very friendly or helpful. Guests in the room above us were stomping on the floor for three or four hours (until about 3 AM or later). Front desk receptionist did little to fix the problem with the other guest or make us comfortable. Not very attentive. Breakfast was not very good. There were no eggs and coffee for an extended period of time. October 13, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Excellent Location / Easy to relax Great hotel location. Our room was very quiet and we slept great each of the 4 nights we stayed. Breakfast was always well stocked and the selection was fresh and varied. Best coffee of any HI Express I've stayed at. Lobby was large and very clean. Room was always cleaned early and restocked with clean towels. October 13, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 Wonderful Hotel Stayed for three nights and loved everything about this location. Staff were polite and friendly, bed and room very comfortable, and surrounding grounds of hotel held singing birds and flowers everywhere. Will stay there again next time I am in Charleston. October 12, 2014
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Not as good as most HIE We were disappointed with our stay here. The room was comfortable and the staff were very nice, but the hotel was dirty - there were food scraps on the carpet in the hallway outside our door for 24 hours. The pricing is also much higher than a typical Holiday Inn Express which is not justified by the lack of cleanliness, nor by the location near Charleston. I suggest you avoid the cheese wiz omelet at breakfast and dehydrated biscuits and stick to fruit, yogurt and cereal. We will not stay here again at this price. October 11, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Recent visit Very comfortable hotel. Easy access to Charleston. We booked the trolley and was very convenient. Would definitely recommend this hotel for anyone visiting Charleston. October 10, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Bed Nice room. Very good Hi Express. Very Bad bed. Need new matterss. October 9, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Friendly staff and relaxing stay We found our stay very relaxing. Our visit to Charleston was solely for the purpose of leisure and entertainment. The hotel provided the perfect setting to relax in a clean comfortable environment. October 9, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Wonderful location with excellent service and comfort. This is one of the best values. Super location with excellent service. Extremely clean and safe. October 7, 2014
Rated 2.0 out of 5.0 by I guess I stayed too long! The hotel is rated best in Mt.Pleasant. At first it seemed fine, but after staying for 6 weeks I started to see lots of issues with the facility. And when I addressed them the woman at the front desk while nice and all seemed to be uninterested in my issues. October 7, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Best breakfast ever We have stayed in many hotels across America. We always try to get the complimentary breakfast. It saves so much time and energy. They are usually just "so - so" or adequate. But this breakfast was really the best. Fresh - not frozen, hot - not microwaved. And to top it off - the best coffee on our two week trip!! October 6, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by bed and the cleam room This hotel had very clean rooms and all the areas such as outside and around the grounds. The bed was the most comfortable I've slept on in a hotel. October 3, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Superb service and extremem attentin to detail Great place to live when you are on the road. A person with character, a bit flamboyant, with dogged determination. A winner, always! I have been around the world three times to some of the most exotic places. As a Combat Cameraman and Photojournalist, I have seen things in life many people could not imagine both good and bad. I have been in some very life threatening situations and have always completed my mission. I love photography and I am a passionate person in work, in love and in life. I hate stupidity and will let a person know it in a heartbeat. I have just retired and I am ready to see the lighter side of life across America, my home and the land I love so much. September 29, 2014
<<prev2 3 4 5 ... 14 next>>
Hotel Exterior
Hotel Exterior
Select to close.
Hotel Exterior Enjoy Historic Charleston, fall in love with Holiday Inn! The Battery. A great way to experience the Charleston Peninsula Arthur Ravanel Bridge known as the NEW Cooper River Bridge Holiday Inn Charleston Historic Downtown Meeting & Woolfe Street Famous Pineapple Fountain at Waterfront Park Historic Charleston USS Yorktown located at Patriots Point Enjoy a dinner cruise around the Charleston Peninsula Isle of Palms Beach Resort Seabrook Island Holiday Inn Charleston Downtown  Large Map Charleston Peninsula Welcome to Holiday Inn Charleston Historic Downtown Relax in the Lobby at Holiday Inn Charleston Historic Downtown Welcome to Holiday Inn Charleston Historic Downtown Holiday Inn Downtown Charleston - Enjoy lots of Natural Lighting Welcome to the Holiday Inn Charleston Historic Downtown
Select to close.
If you are not already a member, join now.
Close
Check In
(e.g. Nov-28-2014)
Check Out
(e.g. Nov-29-2014)
Check Availability
Loading