• English  English
    Select to close.
    Current Settings are:
      /  English

    Change Preferences:
    Country / Region of Residence:
    Available Languages:
  • |
  • |
  • |
  • 1 888 HOLIDAY
Select to close.
Select to close.
Email or IHG® Rewards Club # PIN
Not a member?Join Today!
Forgot PIN
All fields are required.
 
If you have forgotten or lost your Personal Identification Number (PIN), we can email your PIN to the email address in your IHG® Rewards Club account profile.
If you do not have an email address in your profile, please contact your local IHG® Rewards Club Customer Care  to source your PIN and to update your profile with your email address. When you receive your PIN you can also update your email address viawww.ihgrewardsclub.com/email.
IHG® Rewards Club # Email Address

Not a member?Join Today!
Create PIN
All fields are required.
IHG® Rewards Club # ZIP/Postal Code
First Name Last Name
Please select a 4 number Personal Identification Number (PIN) which will be used to access your IHG® Rewards Club account.
PIN Verify PIN
 
Not a member?Join Today!
Create Email
All fields are required.
Thank you. Your PIN has been created. Please enter your email address so you can use it to log into the site in the future.
Email Address Verify Email Address
 
Email Hotel Get Directions Add to Favorites Print Fact Sheet

Book this Hotel

Best Price Guarantee
1

Reward Nights
When redeeming points for a Reward Night, you may only book one room at a time.

Once you complete your Reward Night reservation you will be given the option to duplicate this reservation.

(e.g. Jul-26-2014)
(e.g. Jul-27-2014)
Have a Group Code?
Have a Corporate ID?
Check Availability
Processing your request...

* Requires affiliation in the respective organization.

** Best Available Rate Search does not include affiliation rates.

Select to close.

To book more than 9 rooms for one stay or request a quote, please use our Easy Meetings tool, call 1-800-MEETING (in United States, Mexico and Canada) or contact a Global Sales Office.

Close Button
Your Recently Viewed Hotels

About our Hotel

Location: Downtown/City Center

  • Location: Downtown/City Center
  • Closest City: CHARLESTON
  • Distance From Hotel: 0.0MI
  • Local time zone: GMT-04:00

Check In: 4:00 PM Check Out: 11:00 AM

  • Check In: 4:00 PM
  • Check Out: 11:00 AM
  • Minimum check-in age: 21
  • Late checkout available

Credit cards

Credit cards

  • American Express
  • Carte Blanche
  • Diners Club
  • Discover
  • Master Card
  • Visa

Accessibility

Accessibility

  • Number of Rooms:7
  • Parking
  • Service Animals Allowed

Languages

Languages

  1. English

Pet Policy

Pet Policy

Pleasse accept our apologies, the Holiday Inn Charelston Historic Downtown does not accept pets. Kennels are located within several miles of the hotel. Please call us in advance to make arrangements for your furry loved ones. Guide Dogs are welcome.

What's Nearby

What's Nearby

Attraction:
Year-round Festivals and Special Events
Distance From Hotel:0.0
Attraction:
Charleston for Families! The BEST things to do!
Distance From Hotel:0.0
Attraction:
Charleston is a Photographer's Paradise!
Distance From Hotel:0.0
Attraction:
St. Philip's Episcopal Church Steeple
Distance From Hotel:0.0

Internet

Standard Internet Service

Standard Internet service is free for all guests
Wireless Internet available in Standard Rooms,Suites,Business Center,Public Areas
Wired Internet available in Standard Rooms,Suites

Facility

Facility

  • Total number of rooms:120
  • Total number of suites:3
  • Total number of rooms with only one bed:59
  • Total number of rooms with only double beds:61
  • Total number of non-smoking rooms:120
  • Total number of rooms for the physically challenged:7
  • Interior corridor
  • Total number of floors:5
Known for its rich history, well-preserved architecture, a celebrated restaurant community and mannerly people; Charleston has been named Top U.S. City by Conde Nast Traveler 2013 Readers Choice Awards for the third year. This coastal destination remains one of the top destination cities in the world. Holiday Inn Charleston Historic Downtown is proud to be a part of Historic Charleston blending contemporary luxury with traditional southern hospitality. Situated on Meeting and Woolfe Street; we are
View More
Known for its rich history, well-preserved architecture, a celebrated restaurant community and mannerly people; Charleston has been named Top U.S. City by Conde Nast Traveler 2013 Readers Choice Awards for the third year. This coastal destination remains one of the top destination cities in the world. Holiday Inn Charleston Historic Downtown is proud to be a part of Historic Charleston blending contemporary luxury with traditional southern hospitality. Situated on Meeting and Woolfe Street; we are just one block from the Charleston Visitor's Center, minutes from attractions, boutique shops and restaurants located throughout downtown Charleston. Our location is within close proximity to other Charleston's historic sites, attractions, museums, sport venues, beaches and more; providing easy access to I-26 and US Highway 17. The Meeting Room Restaurant & Tapas Bar offers farm-to-table dining with a twist on tradition with American inspired entrees prepared with local ingredients offering something to suit every palette. Unwind in an atmosphere of relaxed elegance that allows friends and family to meet and enjoy great food, signature cocktails, wine and beer. After a long day workout in our fitness center, take a dip in our heated outdoor pool or bask in the warm Charleston sun. Stay cool and relax around our outdoor covered patio with overhead fans and living room style seating. Visit our business center and stay connected to electronic devices with free WIFI.
View Less
Features
Our Charleston Hotel has the ideal location in the peninsula. Holiday Inn Charleston Historic Downtown is easy accessible to I-526 and US Highway 17 and the gateway to plantations, picturesque islands and beaches, seasonal events, festivals, wedding venues and more. Offering all the charm and great food that makes Charleston so desirable to many repeat visitors.

Guest Reviews

Rated 3.9 out of 5 by 295 reviewers.
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by location very hard to get around that area of Charleston--especially if you are not familiar with the area--Dining not close by--McDonalds is not dining--- Breakfast was pretty good--met my requirements as a customer- July 13, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Convenient and Clean This provided us a clean and convenient place to stay while visiting the Charleston area. The breakfast was great each morning and had the best cinnamon roles. One night of our visit there were some noisy neighbors but once the front desk was notified the noise stopped. Parking is a bit crowded if you arrive late and people parked in the grass. There is extra parking a little further out. We never had a problem. July 11, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Nice suite When we arrived at the hotel it was about 11:50 PM so my first impression was morphed by the darkness, but once in the lobby I could immediately see the quality I have come to expect from the brand. The 2 bed suite had a large living area and separate bedroom with 2 double beds. The bathroom was a Jack and Jill style with one opening leading from the living room and the other from the bedroom area. Since I was traveling with the family, the 3 kids took the bedroom and my spouse and I slept on the pullout couch. I enjoyed the size of the room and the cleanliness of the facility and the out door pool was on the south side of the building which is key since it was an outdoor pool. July 8, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great experience We attended a wedding at the Historic Rice Mill very close to the hotel.It was not only convenient to the wedding but also to free transportation downtown to allow us to tour during our free time. There are not a lot of choices to eat nearby But lots of restaurants downtown and Market Square. Be sure to check bus times for return. The staff were very helpful in registering and supplying information to view the city. July 8, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by First holiday in Charleston Great place to visit.. The free Trolly service is a great idea and very tourist friendly. Shame it stopped so early - circa 8.30 - 9 pm dependant on your stop. Location of hotel a bit out of the way from the main areas Pool needed some attention I only used it once during my stay. July 7, 2014
Rated 1.0 out of 5.0 by Not the usual Holiday Inn Express A very disappointing experience : No IHG welcome on arrival. No internet service No cable tv Front desk did not answer phone when I called 3 times Sink in bathroom did not drain Air conditioner very noisy did not seem to cool the room July 7, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by great service Need a microwave downstairs because the food was cold. The staff was very knowlegable and helpful and booked our tours for us. July 6, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Great Staff The staff was more than friendly and willing to help with anything. The breakfast was one of the best we have had traveling. A little far from all the shops and river, but managable. July 5, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Comfortable bed and great service Very nice facility for a Holiday Inn, Bathroom needs some work not as clean as expected. Service was on par with world class hotels I have stayed in. July 5, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great Location Close to Charleston River Dogs (Yankee affiliation) Stadium, Citadel's stadiums, Medical UNiversity of South Carolina, free trolley to historic district. Actually got to see the river dogs play the Kannapolis Intimidators and family got in for free! Marina acroos the street on the Ashley River. Good area for a 4 mile jog in the mornings. Great location, great stay! July 4, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by bed service is good the bed is so good pillow is soft and nice service is good people at front dask is frendly July 3, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by HOLIDAY INN EXPRESS ASHLEY RIVER, S.C. HolidayInn was very beautiful, clean, comfortable bed, excellent service, rooms were basically soundproof, pool was clean, and breakfast nice to start your day. The free trolley was a short walk outside of the hotel and perfect to get to Downtown Historic Charleston. I would stay here again. July 3, 2014
Rated 2.0 out of 5.0 by Overall value Absolutely the worst value per dollar I have ever experienced at a Holiday Inn Express. The hotel is in a terrible part of town, with nothing at all, nearby. I had a king room which was without doubt the smallest room I have ever stayed in. For the money I paid , I could have stayed a lot closer to civilization. The breakfast area was overcrowded and the food left a lot to be desired. Thank goodness for your cinnamon rolls. If I have any more experiences like this, I will reconsider the benefits of being a Priority Club member July 3, 2014
Rated 2.0 out of 5.0 by Unfortunately, I was disappointed I stayed in two rooms during my three night stay. One room ( King bed) had a very loud and inefficient air conditioner. The vents in the unit were such that cold air blew directly on the person in lying closest to the unit. Additionally, the lighting in the bathroom was dim. The second room (Two Queen beds) was larger and more comfortable until I noticed a pile of toenail clippings on the rug by the sliding glass door. From that point on, I questioned how clean the room was and did not feel at ease. I do not think I will return and I would not give this hotel the 3 star rating that I saw online. July 2, 2014
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Good and clean, but poor breakfast The hotel is comfortable and relatively new, although I am not a big fun of green carpets and curtains. Unfortunately at 9am there was no food left for breakfast and empty trays were not replaced at all. So I ended up having to get breakfast from a bakery in town....! July 2, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Awesome place. This was a very nice place. Comfortable beds nice rooms. Trolley was convenient never had to drive anywhere . The staff was so friendly and helpful, always a smile. The breakfast was very good and the cinnamon rolls were to die for! Would definitely stay again. July 2, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Comfortable bed. I loved the colors and decoration style, cleanness, and specially hospitality details such fruit availability for most part of the day. I would have loved longer hours for breakfast. July 2, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Awesome Service and Very comfortable beds We stayed here while my daughter was at MUSC having surgery. The staff was very helpful and friendly and the breakfast was delicious. The beds were the most comfortable beds we had ever had in a hotel and when my daughter was discharged she was able to rest well in the beds. July 1, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great place for a fair price! We have stayed at this hotel several times over the years and it always seems to get better! Our room this stay was on the 8th floor overlooking the river. It was clean and comfortable. The breakfast was great as usual! It's a little tricky to see as you drive up so keep your eyes open. ;-) Also, the parking lot can get very full pretty quick. If there is one thing wrong with this hotel, its the parking situation. July 1, 2014
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Little less than typical HIE Little less than typical HIE, especially for the money. June 30, 2014
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Hotel has major maintenance issues This hotel is OLD! We rented two rooms for us and our family that was coming into town. We were disappointed and embarrassed that the condition of the hotel was subpar. Our AC unit was not working when we arrived, and staff had to replace the entire unit the second day we were there. Then the new unit leaked water all over the floor near the unit. Our door also had no strike plate and didn't look very secure..we asked that it be replaced and it never was. Also, the door to the balcony was falling apart and the handle came completely off. Then the shower handle broke off in my granddaughters hand in the other room. To top that off, the staff brought my son in law a screwdriver so he could fix it himself? That is unacceptable...he was there on vacation, not to fix their hotel. Its clear that they have spruced the place up on the surface, it was clean and the beds were comfortable. But the whole place needs maintenance. June 30, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Good Job Holiday Inn Express Two friends and I spent the night here while on vacation in June and it was just what we were looking for. Comfy beds. And a great time swimming. June 27, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great Stay We stayed at this Holiday Inn Express while in route to Florida. Nathan Hamric and his staff were wonderful! Very friendly and extremely helpful. The room was clean, comfortable, and very quiet. Breakfast was great! We enjoyed our visit and would recommend this hotel to anyone. June 27, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by convienient location Great room except for air conditioning unit. Strange one with controls that were odd and unchangeable. On and off cycle with water draining noise. Right next to bed. June 27, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by The bed was so comfortable, I never wanted to get up. The stay was wonderful. The only complaint I would have would be the loudness of the air conditioning unit when it turned on, however, it was not loud enough to wake me. We will definitely be back. Great value. Chris at the Service Counter was always helpful. Dining staff were always cleaning and very courteous. June 26, 2014
Rated 1.0 out of 5.0 by staff your staff was not very helpfully.Shannon did not help me at all.i am in customer service and the customer come first. I think the staff could of helped me more I was 4 days short of the discounted rate and there could not give me the discounted rate,i did not want something for free.we had 50 people booked rooms with you and you couldn't go that extra mile for me. June 26, 2014
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Comfortable bed noisy air conditioner 1. The bed was very comfortable-enjoyed it. 2. The room itself was much smaller than expected, very disappointing for an Holiday Inn Express. 3. There was no refrigerator or Microwave oven in the room. 4. The air conditioner was sort of an antique, very loud when running, creating an unpleasant competition between hearing and watching television or being comfortable. 5. The staff was very friendly and accommodating as much as they could. 6. I have paid much less for a much better quality stay at many Holiday Inn Expresses. June 26, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great place to stay in Charleston Great place to stay while visiting Charleston. Location is excellent for getting around to all the sights. RACHEL was especially accommodating in getting us in and recommending places to go and places to eat. MIKE was friendly about asking how our stay was and making conversation when we were checking out. We really felt welcome at this hotel. Well Done!!! June 25, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Good location Great location. Was unhappy about the "occupancy tax" applied to my bill. Other than that, I have no complaints. June 25, 2014
Rated 2.0 out of 5.0 by Gold Rewards Member Disappointed I wholeheartedly agree with all of the points made by Steven I. As a person who knows what Holiday Inn Express should be, I was disappointed. I stay at them all over the country, and have achieved Gold status in my rewards membership. If you are not used to the standards of the Holiday Inn Express, then you will likely find this place just fine. But the main disappointments are that the rooms are ridiculously small by comparison. The air conditioning unit was woefully in need of service. All through the night and the next morning everything had a damp and wet feel to it. The breakfast bar was extremely crowded and poorly kept up with. The facility and rooms were acceptably clean and tidy, and the staff seemed very friendly, but that's about the best I could say for the property. Because of where it is located in the city scape, do not imagine that you will easily stroll to anything. However, everything is a very short taxi or shuttle service ride. June 24, 2014
<<prev2 3 4 5 ... 11 next>>
Hotel Exterior
Hotel Exterior
Select to close.
Hotel Exterior Enjoy Historic Charleston, fall in love with Holiday Inn! Holiday Inn Charleston Historic Downtown Meeting & Woolfe Street Holiday Inn Charleston Downtown  Large Map Charleston Peninsula Relax in the Lobby at Holiday Inn Charleston Historic Downtown Welcome to Holiday Inn Charleston Historic Downtown Welcome to the Holiday Inn Charleston Historic Downtown
Select to close.
Terms & Conditions
Select to book our daily parking package.
Close
Check In
(e.g. Jul-26-2014)
Check Out
(e.g. Jul-27-2014)
Check Availability
Loading