• English  English
    Select to close.
    Current Settings are:
      /  English

    Change Preferences:
    Country / Region of Residence:
    Available Languages:
  • |
  • |
  • |
  • 1 888 HOLIDAY
Select to close.
Select to close.
Email or IHG® Rewards Club # PIN
Not a member?Join Today!
Forgot PIN
All fields are required.
 
If you have forgotten or lost your Personal Identification Number (PIN), we can email your PIN to the email address in your IHG® Rewards Club account profile.
If you do not have an email address in your profile, please contact your local IHG® Rewards Club Customer Care  to source your PIN and to update your profile with your email address. When you receive your PIN you can also update your email address viawww.ihgrewardsclub.com/email.
IHG® Rewards Club # Email Address

Not a member?Join Today!
Create PIN
All fields are required.
IHG® Rewards Club # ZIP/Postal Code
First Name Last Name
Please select a 4 number Personal Identification Number (PIN) which will be used to access your IHG® Rewards Club account.
PIN Verify PIN
 
Not a member?Join Today!
Create Email
All fields are required.
Thank you. Your PIN has been created. Please enter your email address so you can use it to log into the site in the future.
Email Address Verify Email Address
 
Email Hotel Get Directions Add to Favorites Print Fact Sheet

Book this Hotel

Best Price Guarantee
1

Reward Nights
When redeeming points for a Reward Night, you may only book one room at a time.

Once you complete your Reward Night reservation you will be given the option to duplicate this reservation.

(e.g. Aug-27-2014)
(e.g. Aug-28-2014)
Have a Group Code?
Have a Corporate ID?
Check Availability
Processing your request...

* Requires affiliation in the respective organization.

** Best Available Rate Search does not include affiliation rates.

Select to close.

To book more than 9 rooms for one stay or request a quote, please use our Easy Meetings tool, call 1-800-MEETING (in United States, Mexico and Canada) or contact a Global Sales Office.

Close Button
Your Recently Viewed Hotels

About our Hotel

Location: Downtown/City Center

  • Location: Downtown/City Center
  • Closest City: CHARLESTON
  • Distance From Hotel: 0.0MI
  • Local time zone: GMT-04:00

Check In: 4:00 PM Check Out: 11:00 AM

  • Check In: 4:00 PM
  • Check Out: 11:00 AM
  • Minimum check-in age: 21
  • Late checkout available

Credit cards

Credit cards

  • American Express
  • Carte Blanche
  • Diners Club
  • Discover
  • Master Card
  • Visa

Accessibility

Accessibility

  • Number of Rooms:7
  • Parking
  • Service Animals Allowed

Languages

Languages

  1. English

Pet Policy

Pet Policy

Pleasse accept our apologies, the Holiday Inn Charelston Historic Downtown does not accept pets. Kennels are located within several miles of the hotel. Please call us in advance to make arrangements for your furry loved ones. Guide Dogs are welcome.

What's Nearby

What's Nearby

Attraction:
Year-round Festivals and Special Events
Distance From Hotel:0.0MI
Attraction:
Charleston for Families! The BEST things to do!
Distance From Hotel:0.0MI
Attraction:
Charleston is a Photographer's Paradise!
Distance From Hotel:0.0MI
Attraction:
St. Philip's Episcopal Church Steeple
Distance From Hotel:0.0MI

Parking

Parking

  • Number of parking spaces:82
  • Car Parking Available
  • Parking is valet parking only in the hotels parking garage for 16 dollars per day plus 8.5 percent sales tax. Offsite parking for oversized vehicles. Additional parking 2 blocks at Visitors Center 12.00 per day.
  • Valet parking fee  ( 16.0 USD )

Internet

Standard Internet Service

Standard Internet service is free for all guests
Wireless Internet available in Standard Rooms,Suites,Business Center,Public Areas
Wired Internet available in Standard Rooms,Suites

Facility

Facility

  • Total number of rooms:120
  • Total number of suites:3
  • Total number of rooms with only one bed:59
  • Total number of rooms with only double beds:61
  • Total number of non-smoking rooms:120
  • Total number of rooms for the physically challenged:7
  • Interior corridor
  • Total number of floors:5
Known for its rich history, well-preserved architecture, a celebrated restaurant community and mannerly people; Charleston has been named Top U.S. City by Conde Nast Traveler 2013 Readers Choice Awards for the third year. This coastal destination remains one of the top destination cities in the world. Holiday Inn Charleston Historic Downtown is proud to be a part of Historic Charleston blending contemporary luxury with traditional southern hospitality. Situated on Meeting and Woolfe Street; we are
View More
Known for its rich history, well-preserved architecture, a celebrated restaurant community and mannerly people; Charleston has been named Top U.S. City by Conde Nast Traveler 2013 Readers Choice Awards for the third year. This coastal destination remains one of the top destination cities in the world. Holiday Inn Charleston Historic Downtown is proud to be a part of Historic Charleston blending contemporary luxury with traditional southern hospitality. Situated on Meeting and Woolfe Street; we are just one block from the Charleston Visitor's Center, minutes from attractions, boutique shops and restaurants located throughout downtown Charleston. Our location is within close proximity to other Charleston's historic sites, attractions, museums, sport venues, beaches and more; providing easy access to I-26 and US Highway 17. The Meeting Room Restaurant & Tapas Bar offers farm-to-table dining with a twist on tradition with American inspired entrees prepared with local ingredients offering something to suit every palette. Unwind in an atmosphere of relaxed elegance that allows friends and family to meet and enjoy great food, signature cocktails, wine and beer. After a long day workout in our fitness center, take a dip in our heated outdoor pool or bask in the warm Charleston sun. Stay cool and relax around our outdoor covered patio with overhead fans and living room style seating. Visit our business center and stay connected to electronic devices with free WIFI.
View Less
Features
Our Charleston Hotel has the ideal location in the peninsula. Holiday Inn Charleston Historic Downtown is easy accessible to I-526 and US Highway 17 and the gateway to plantations, picturesque islands and beaches, seasonal events, festivals, wedding venues and more. Offering all the charm and great food that makes Charleston so desirable to many repeat visitors.

Guest Reviews

Rated 4.4 out of 5 by 234 reviewers.
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Fantastic hotel and convenient to everything The hotel was very clean, fresh and modern. The beds were very comfortable, the bathrooms spacious and the a/c worked great -- which is hugely important in Charleston! Highly recommend this hotel! Will definitely stay again! August 8, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Bartender Very friendly and helpful... makes a wonderful drink. I overall enjoyed my stay even though I will probably be staying at the river view hotel in the future. I would love to try one of thier suites in the future as my only complaint with this hotel is the small rooms. Will be interested to see how they compare. August 8, 2014
Rated 2.0 out of 5.0 by Sad Experience at Charleston Historic Downtown First night we went walking to King Street. The streets were dark and a little scary. Neighborhood wasn't the best and service at the hotel needs to be improved. Some front desk personnel were no help whatsoever. Had breakfast at the hotel and kids free meals were fantastic but for two adults for a regular breakfast it was $30.00 and the food wasn't great. It took forever for us to get our food plus after asking for our check the waiter forgot and had to ask a second time for our check. Wasn't impressed with the service. Pool was wonderful but no towels when you got out of the pool, which was very awkward. For the price you would have thought the location would have been a 10. Not so much. August 7, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great Charleston Experience Love the suites at this property. Much like being in a small condo. It's a great location and near lots of cool spots to eat and bar hop. Super clean and attentive staff. Only regret was having to move from my suite on my second night when using my ICHG rewards night due to it being booked. A great choice for upper King St. area. August 6, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Girls Weekend Getaway This hotel was great for a weekend getaway for a girls weekend. Upon check-in the front desk staff were very friendly and extremely helpful in helping us decide where to go over the weekend. They had great advice! There were only a few downsides to our stay during this trip. Our room had a door to the adjoining room and you could clearly hear conversations from the other room which was odd. One of the other items to comment on was the hotel taxi service. We wanted to visit one of the plantations and asked for a taxi to be called and the hotel called a black car for us instead. When researching, we knew that a cab ride to the plantation would run about $25-30, but the black car ended up charging us $45 for the ride, plus a mandatory tip. We decided to forego this service for the trip back and got an actual taxi to the hotel. The ride plus tip ended up being $25. We felt like we had no choice but to take the black car out since it was called for us and then got overcharged for it - it would have been helpful to have the option of taking a cab to begin with. August 5, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by general Pleased with stay overall. Will stay again. Good location, attractive hotel lobby and rooms. Breakfast buffet can use some improvements in terms of food quality. August 4, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Don't judge the Book by its Cover The building is new, but the location looks like a sad part of town on the outskirts. HOWEVER, it's close to great shopping, restaurants, and the highway. I would recommend using the valet parking inside the garage. August 4, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Delightful This is right in Charleston, right up the street from King Street, which is the non-waterfront section for food and shopping. The hotel is fresh, clean and the staff (and even other guests) are friendly and professional. I was very pleased. August 2, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by A GOOD EXPERIENCE Very friendly and professional staff. Very accommadating and food and drinks were great. July 31, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great hotel The hotel is modern and comfortable. The mattresses are firm and you get soft and firm pillows. The hotel staff is very friendly and extremely accommodating. I had trouble with the dead bolt lock on my door and it was fixed right away. Over the years, I have stayed in a number of hotels, and I can say this was my best experience. I highly recommend this hotel. P.S. The restaurant serves the best she crab soup. July 30, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by great stay Wonderful hotel to start your vacation in Charleston! July 27, 2014
Rated 1.0 out of 5.0 by Bad balcony view The additional cost for what was to be a balcony view was a joke. The view was horrible. Also, when we had breakfast the next morning before checkout, the restaurant's debit card system was down. As a result, we were told that we could add the meals to our bill and pay at checkout. We did. However, when we got to checkout, the bill for the food was $3.50 more than the original cost that was told to us by the waiter. What happened? The waiter added his own tip in on our bill without our approval. We don't want to get the kid fired, but the manager needs to speak with him and train him that this type behavior is inappropriate. Customers will tip based on service received, We were not opposed to giving him a tip because he did a great job, but the equipment was not working at the time for us to add it to the bill. July 24, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great Stay While not in the city's historic district, it was only a five minute drive away. Also, this hotel was near many fantastic restaurants on King St. The hotel was fairly new and very clean with a great staff. July 24, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by excellent staff restaurant, front desk and cleaning staff all great many thanks July 24, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Charleston SC Nice hotel, responsive staff. The Valet service left a lot to be desired. (Not the cost, the actual service provided) Would recommend to others. July 23, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Very good experience We had a very nice stay. The staff was very friendly. Check-In was very easy and when we asked to have the tabletop adjusted in our room the matainance people were right there and fixed it in minutes. The room was clean and the service was very good. Two downsides. 1. The room was either too cold or too hot. 2. The breakfrast server was very slow and unatentive. July 22, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Clean, New, and Attractive Hotel We had a very comfortable and restful stay at this hotel. Staff are very friendly and helpful. Breakfast was hearty and a good start to our days of sightseeing. July 22, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Pleasant stay Our stay was nice and comfortable. I recommend a walk to Jestine's for a good southern meal. The grits are the best in town! Paired with good shrimp and corn bread it's hard to beat. July 22, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by the place to stay in Charleston I moved from another hotel in the area to this one, this Holiday Inn is the hotel to stay at in the area. Rooms are great and this was one of, if not the best bed I have slept on. The staff are all very friendly and the bartenders and cooks are great. If you want a good Holiday Inn experience I recommend this hotel. July 21, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Excellent Hotel Very nice Hotel. Central to Downtown Charleston. Hotel staff from Valet, Front Desk, Room Cleaning and Restaurant were all Customer Service focused. Great location to College of Charleston. Looking forward to my next stay. Ron July 21, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Excellent Staff, Service and Location Staff was very good. Service was excellent. Room service lacked, hamburger was not very good. Good location July 20, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Historic Charleston Find Edge of historic district and walking distance to all attractions. A wonderful find for a great value. Clean, modern and had it all. I would stay there again July 17, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by no housekeeping? Over all, the hotel was adequate. Very average when I get I was expecting more history. July 17, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Fantastic stay As stated in previous reviews, the staff are ALL awesome. Hands down the most attentive, caring, and friendly I have even seen. We were very much impressed, keep the mojo going. July 17, 2014
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by breakfast After working 7 days a week over ten hours a day for 4 weeks it would be nice to have the chance of a good breakfast. 7 am is to late to start the kitchen. July 16, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Beautiful hotel! Beautiful hotel, loved the room and bathroom! Would like to see breakfast included, or more discounted for children... Within walking distance to great sites in Charleston! July 15, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by THANKS for a great stay! Thank you for a great stay. The staff was professional and kind. It was like having a welcoming committee froth valet to the front desk persons. The property was a surprise, mixing both modern and Charleston themes. We were able to easily walk to our favorite places and the visitor center with ease so the location was perfect! July 14, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Charleston nice new hotel in rough area good access to old town, breakfast waiter slow, food overcooked. All staff pleasant and helpful, why can you not get a drink in a glass ? function drinks in plastic cup, not good. July 11, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Excellent staff. We were able to check in early for a wedding. Staff was helpful in storing our luggage until the room was available. Matt printed out directions for us. Check in staff, (did not remember their names) were very helpful with recommendations for places to eat. Thank you to the staff for being so helpful! July 10, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Fourth of july in Charleston We booked this particular motel because it was listed as being in th Historic District. It actually was; it was only a few blocks walking distance to King Street and all the shopping. The walk took us through some dilapidated areas and I definitely would not go there after dark. We walked during the day and there were plenty of other people around so we felt safe enough. The staff and valets were vey helpful and the motel is new and clean..not at all run down. We didn't try the restaurant but stopped by the bar. The bar lacked warmth due to the design and the industrial look but it was fine. The value for the money was good and we enjoyed it very much. I would recommend the motel . July 8, 2014
<<prev2 3 4 5 ... 9 next>>
Hotel Exterior
Hotel Exterior
Select to close.
Hotel Exterior Enjoy Historic Charleston, fall in love with Holiday Inn! The Battery. A great way to experience the Charleston Peninsula Arthur Ravanel Bridge known as the NEW Cooper River Bridge Holiday Inn Charleston Historic Downtown Meeting & Woolfe Street Famous Pineapple Fountain at Waterfront Park Historic Charleston USS Yorktown located at Patriots Point Enjoy a dinner cruise around the Charleston Peninsula Isle of Palms Beach Resort Seabrook Island Holiday Inn Charleston Downtown  Large Map Charleston Peninsula Welcome to Holiday Inn Charleston Historic Downtown Relax in the Lobby at Holiday Inn Charleston Historic Downtown Welcome to Holiday Inn Charleston Historic Downtown Holiday Inn Downtown Charleston - Enjoy lots of Natural Lighting Welcome to the Holiday Inn Charleston Historic Downtown
Select to close.
Terms & Conditions
Click here to earn up to 5,000 bonus points or 1,000 bonus points every night.
Close
Check In
(e.g. Aug-27-2014)
Check Out
(e.g. Aug-28-2014)
Check Availability
Loading