• English  English
    Select to close.
    Current Settings are:
      /  English

    Change Preferences:
    Country / Region of Residence:
    Available Languages:
  • |
  • |
  • |
  • 1 888 HOLIDAY
Select to close.
Select to close.
Email or IHG® Rewards Club # PIN
Not a member?Join Today!
Forgot PIN
All fields are required.
 
If you have forgotten or lost your Personal Identification Number (PIN), we can email your PIN to the email address in your IHG® Rewards Club account profile.
If you do not have an email address in your profile, please contact your local IHG® Rewards Club Customer Care  to source your PIN and to update your profile with your email address. When you receive your PIN you can also update your email address viawww.ihgrewardsclub.com/email.
IHG® Rewards Club # Email Address

Not a member?Join Today!
Create PIN
All fields are required.
IHG® Rewards Club # ZIP/Postal Code
First Name Last Name
Please select a 4 number Personal Identification Number (PIN) which will be used to access your IHG® Rewards Club account.
PIN Verify PIN
 
Not a member?Join Today!
Create Email
All fields are required.
Thank you. Your PIN has been created. Please enter your email address so you can use it to log into the site in the future.
Email Address Verify Email Address
 
Email Hotel Get Directions Add to Favorites Print Fact Sheet

Book this Hotel

Best Price Guarantee
1

Reward Nights
When redeeming points for a Reward Night, you may only book one room at a time.

Once you complete your Reward Night reservation you will be given the option to duplicate this reservation.

(e.g. Nov-23-2014)
(e.g. Nov-24-2014)
Have a Group Code?
Have a Corporate ID?
Check Availability
Processing your request...

* Requires affiliation in the respective organization.

** Best Available Rate Search does not include affiliation rates.

Select to close.

To book more than 9 rooms for one stay or request a quote, please use our Easy Meetings tool, call 1-800-MEETING (in United States, Mexico and Canada) or contact a Global Sales Office.

Close Button
Your Recently Viewed Hotels

About our Hotel

Location: Downtown/City Center

  • Location: Downtown/City Center
  • Closest City: CHARLESTON
  • Distance From Hotel: 0.0MI
  • Local time zone: GMT-05:00

Check In: 4:00 PM Check Out: 11:00 AM

  • Check In: 4:00 PM
  • Check Out: 11:00 AM
  • Minimum check-in age: 21
  • Late checkout available

Credit cards

Credit cards

  • American Express
  • Carte Blanche
  • Diners Club
  • Discover
  • Master Card
  • Visa

Accessibility

Accessibility

  • Number of Rooms:7
  • Parking
  • Service Animals Allowed

Languages

Languages

  1. English

Pet Policy

Pet Policy

Pleasse accept our apologies, the Holiday Inn Charelston Historic Downtown does not accept pets. Kennels are located within several miles of the hotel. Please call us in advance to make arrangements for your furry loved ones. Guide Dogs are welcome.

What's Nearby

What's Nearby

Attraction:
Charleston for Families! The BEST things to do!
Distance From Hotel:0.0MI
Attraction:
Charleston is a Photographer's Paradise!
Distance From Hotel:0.0MI
Attraction:
Charleston Museums - Where History Lives!
Distance From Hotel:0.0MI
Attraction:
Charleston Parks Explore, Discover and Let Loose!
Distance From Hotel:0.0MI

Parking

Parking

  • Number of parking spaces:82
  • Car Parking Available
  • Parking is valet parking only in the hotels parking garage for 16 dollars per day plus 8.5 percent sales tax. Offsite parking for oversized vehicles. Additional parking 2 blocks at Visitors Center 12.00 per day.
  • Valet parking fee  ( 16.0 USD )

Internet

Standard Internet Service

Standard Internet service is free for all guests
Wireless Internet available in Standard Rooms,Suites,Business Center,Public Areas
Wired Internet available in Standard Rooms,Suites

Facility

Facility

  • Total number of rooms:120
  • Total number of suites:3
  • Total number of rooms with only one bed:59
  • Total number of rooms with only double beds:61
  • Total number of non-smoking rooms:120
  • Total number of rooms for the physically challenged:7
  • Interior corridor
  • Total number of floors:5
Known for its rich history, well-preserved architecture, a celebrated restaurant community and mannerly people; Charleston has been named Top U.S. City by Conde Nast Traveler 2013 Readers Choice Awards for the third year. This coastal destination remains one of the top destination cities in the world. Holiday Inn Charleston Historic Downtown is proud to be a part of Historic Charleston blending contemporary luxury with traditional southern hospitality. Situated on Meeting and Woolfe Street; we are
View More
Known for its rich history, well-preserved architecture, a celebrated restaurant community and mannerly people; Charleston has been named Top U.S. City by Conde Nast Traveler 2013 Readers Choice Awards for the third year. This coastal destination remains one of the top destination cities in the world. Holiday Inn Charleston Historic Downtown is proud to be a part of Historic Charleston blending contemporary luxury with traditional southern hospitality. Situated on Meeting and Woolfe Street; we are just one block from the Charleston Visitor's Center, minutes from attractions, boutique shops and restaurants located throughout downtown Charleston. Our location is within close proximity to other Charleston's historic sites, attractions, museums, sport venues, beaches and more; providing easy access to I-26 and US Highway 17. The Meeting Room Restaurant & Tapas Bar offers farm-to-table dining with a twist on tradition with American inspired entrees prepared with local ingredients offering something to suit every palette. Unwind in an atmosphere of relaxed elegance that allows friends and family to meet and enjoy great food, signature cocktails, wine and beer. After a long day workout in our fitness center, take a dip in our heated outdoor pool or bask in the warm Charleston sun. Stay cool and relax around our outdoor covered patio with overhead fans and living room style seating. Visit our business center and stay connected to electronic devices with free WIFI.
View Less
Features
Our Charleston Hotel has the ideal location in the peninsula. Holiday Inn Charleston Historic Downtown is easy accessible to I-526 and US Highway 17 and the gateway to plantations, picturesque islands and beaches, seasonal events, festivals, wedding venues and more. Offering all the charm and great food that makes Charleston so desirable to many repeat visitors.

Guest Reviews

Rated 4.4 out of 5 by 286 reviewers.
Rated 2.0 out of 5.0 by Great Staff but lousy location While the service was excellent, I was dismayed at the location which was on the furthest edge of the Historic District and not in a great area. My room overlooked a junkyard and rusted cars. Having traveled alone, I felt uncomfortable walking on the side street in the evening. Poor parking facilities, narrow street, hard to maneuver. The tapas restaurant quality and food was one bright spot. September 11, 2014
Rated 1.0 out of 5.0 by Not User Friendly for Physically Challenged The staff was courteous and efficient but the facility was not user friendly for me as a physically challenged individual.; this is a situation I have encountered in the past. In 2014 with an aging clientele population, I find it incredible that a corporation of your stature cannot or does not have the will to provide better service to the very clientele who made you who you are. September 10, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by We had a lovely stay By the looks of the hotel and rooms it is relatively new. Everything is modern & clean. The rooms and bathrooms are generously sized. The bed & pillows were very comfortable. The staff is friendly & helpful. The heated outdoor pool was a bonus! The hotel is one block from King Street & there's a stop for the free trolley right across the street from the hotel. The only thing I would suggest is that more washers & dryers be made available. There is currently only one washer & one dryer. I had to wait for another guest for over two hours late into the evening/night to finish multiple loads of laundry. But even the laundry room had new machines and a nice counter to fold. If I visit Charleston again I will not hesitate to stay here again. September 8, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Outstanding service! The hotel and it's amenities was great. The service by the staff, bar and restaurant staff, valet staff was exceptional, especially Tammy at the reception desk. September 5, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great service comfortable bed Enjoyed our stay. Room was comfortable and service was excellent. September 4, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Wonderful We have stayed at this location a number of times. Every time has been a pleasant experience. The staff is friendly and helpful. The valet parking is great, and I have never had to wait on my car. I love the modern design of the rooms, and the beds and pillows are very comfortable. What we like the most is the location to the wonderful things that Charleston has to offer. Food, shopping, and entertainment are all within walking distance. September 3, 2014
Rated 2.0 out of 5.0 by Good room and staff; poor location Not a great place for dinner or drinks and it's not really in the historic district, but the room was adequate and the staff friendly. September 3, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Nice Hotel Only slight disappointment was the room temperature and thermostat September 1, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Clean room great service Staff was very helpful and informed. All areas were clean and neat. August 31, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Boutique hotel in great location Outstanding service at this brand new hotel was the highlight of our short stay. Planning to come back very soon! August 31, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great Hotel - Friendly Staff Staff was outstanding. Very helpful with suggestions where to eat and what to do and see. Great, comfortable rooms. Hotel was very clean. August 31, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Beautiful Hotel in a Beautiful City My wife and I were thrilled to be back in Charleston and couldn't have picked a better place to stay. Great location, friendly staff, and a very comfortable room. We will definitely be staying there again and hopefully soon! August 27, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Chef Jonathan Made My Stay While there were issues with guest room cleanliness, the Night Auditor responded with clean sheets immediately. Best pillows in any hotel room, ever. The restaurant and bar made the stay, especially the incredibly talented Executive Chef Jonathan, and the gregarious bartender Lauren. MUST try Chef Jonathan's hummus. POS terminals were down during stay, so everything purchased in restaurant and bar must be cash or charged to room. Hotel's proximity to downtown Charleston is close enough for 15-20 minute walk to most attractions, or better yet, inexpensive Charleston Rickshaw "pedicab" tricycle taxi service. Be sure to eat at Hominy Grill, and wait in line if necessary for Jestine's. August 27, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 Good Location. Great Breakfast. Outstanding Staff Great Hotel - we would definitely stay at the Holiday Inn again if we are back in Charleston. The Staff was very accommodating, friendly, and helpful...specifically Ryan at the Front Desk. He provided a great overview of the City, some suggestions on places / attractions to visit, and provided a good overview to the Free Trolley System (that picks up across the street from the Hotel). Spacious Rooms, good bed, nice bathroom, fridge, and good high speed internet. Outdoor Pool was great - especially after putting on 5 miles of walking during the day. Breakfast Buffet (which included made-to-order omelets, waffles, or pancakes from the kitchen) was great and the service that went along with it was fantastic. The Valet Crew ($16 / day for Valet Parking) were also very friendly and helpful. I would definitely recommend Holiday Inn! Good Value, Great Service, and Good Location. Thanks all! August 26, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great place to stay and relax. Severices and staff were outstanding Best Holifday Inn I have ever stayed in, Will change the way you think of Holiday Inns! August 20, 2014
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Not a Good Restaurant Great hotel; everything is new; very clean and modern. Location is just 'OK' - not really close to the heart of things but would still recommend. Price was right for the type of establishment. Couldn't eat dinner in the restaurant because their computer system wasn't working; they said they couldn't transmit the orders to the kitchen so they gave us a mini menu that had only a few things on it; we walked out and spent $80 in a nearby eatery. Guess they haven't heard about writing an order on a piece of paper and giving it to the cook. Ate breakfast there the next day; just the buffet; quite pricey though; they also wouldn't let us order off of a menu. Other than that, would still recommend; kudos to the bell staff; they were most accommodating. August 17, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Charleston Historic Downtown Very up to date rooms! Beds comfortable! Close to beaches and other things to do in Charleston! August 14, 2014
Rated 2.0 out of 5.0 by 1st time and the LAST TIME to many reasons dirty pool, no room service food quality awful room not what i was told August 12, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by great service outstanding location Great place to stay while enjoying downtown Charleston. August 12, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Well Worth It This was a fine choice. From the first conversation with the car Valet to our check-out where they held our bags and car for several additional hours while we wandered about Charleston, the staff could not have been more friendly or helpful. This was a great find for us. There are many excellent food and shopping choices a short walk away from the contemporarily styled lodging in an historic place. We walked all over town or took the free trolley - there's a stop close by - and let the car stay tucked away for our entire visit. They have a library on the second floor, among other amenities, and cool water at the ready in the lobby. We toured the College of Charleston, the museum, and had lunch on the waterfront. Charleston is lovely with a fascinating history. But, it's nice to stay in a bright and modern hotel after taking in the old town charms. August 11, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Historic Charleston Holiday Inn was a pleasure to stay inn. Staff was very friendly and accommodating. Rooms were very clean. Good location if you like to walk for exercise. About 3/4 of a mile from downtown. Visitors Center is about 1/4 of a mile. August 11, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by EXCELLANT SERVICES We travel a lot but the first time at Holiday INN in many years . But I must say it was a wonderful stay.. We will be staying with them as long as the service remains at the high level that it is. August 10, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Fantastic hotel and convenient to everything The hotel was very clean, fresh and modern. The beds were very comfortable, the bathrooms spacious and the a/c worked great -- which is hugely important in Charleston! Highly recommend this hotel! Will definitely stay again! August 8, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Bartender Very friendly and helpful... makes a wonderful drink. I overall enjoyed my stay even though I will probably be staying at the river view hotel in the future. I would love to try one of thier suites in the future as my only complaint with this hotel is the small rooms. Will be interested to see how they compare. August 8, 2014
Rated 2.0 out of 5.0 by Sad Experience at Charleston Historic Downtown First night we went walking to King Street. The streets were dark and a little scary. Neighborhood wasn't the best and service at the hotel needs to be improved. Some front desk personnel were no help whatsoever. Had breakfast at the hotel and kids free meals were fantastic but for two adults for a regular breakfast it was $30.00 and the food wasn't great. It took forever for us to get our food plus after asking for our check the waiter forgot and had to ask a second time for our check. Wasn't impressed with the service. Pool was wonderful but no towels when you got out of the pool, which was very awkward. For the price you would have thought the location would have been a 10. Not so much. August 7, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great Charleston Experience Love the suites at this property. Much like being in a small condo. It's a great location and near lots of cool spots to eat and bar hop. Super clean and attentive staff. Only regret was having to move from my suite on my second night when using my ICHG rewards night due to it being booked. A great choice for upper King St. area. August 6, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Girls Weekend Getaway This hotel was great for a weekend getaway for a girls weekend. Upon check-in the front desk staff were very friendly and extremely helpful in helping us decide where to go over the weekend. They had great advice! There were only a few downsides to our stay during this trip. Our room had a door to the adjoining room and you could clearly hear conversations from the other room which was odd. One of the other items to comment on was the hotel taxi service. We wanted to visit one of the plantations and asked for a taxi to be called and the hotel called a black car for us instead. When researching, we knew that a cab ride to the plantation would run about $25-30, but the black car ended up charging us $45 for the ride, plus a mandatory tip. We decided to forego this service for the trip back and got an actual taxi to the hotel. The ride plus tip ended up being $25. We felt like we had no choice but to take the black car out since it was called for us and then got overcharged for it - it would have been helpful to have the option of taking a cab to begin with. August 5, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by general Pleased with stay overall. Will stay again. Good location, attractive hotel lobby and rooms. Breakfast buffet can use some improvements in terms of food quality. August 4, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Don't judge the Book by its Cover The building is new, but the location looks like a sad part of town on the outskirts. HOWEVER, it's close to great shopping, restaurants, and the highway. I would recommend using the valet parking inside the garage. August 4, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Delightful This is right in Charleston, right up the street from King Street, which is the non-waterfront section for food and shopping. The hotel is fresh, clean and the staff (and even other guests) are friendly and professional. I was very pleased. August 2, 2014
<<prev 2 3 4 5 ... 11 next>>
Hotel Exterior
Hotel Exterior
Select to close.
Hotel Exterior Enjoy Historic Charleston, fall in love with Holiday Inn! The Battery. A great way to experience the Charleston Peninsula Arthur Ravanel Bridge known as the NEW Cooper River Bridge Holiday Inn Charleston Historic Downtown Meeting & Woolfe Street Famous Pineapple Fountain at Waterfront Park Historic Charleston USS Yorktown located at Patriots Point Enjoy a dinner cruise around the Charleston Peninsula Isle of Palms Beach Resort Seabrook Island Holiday Inn Charleston Downtown  Large Map Charleston Peninsula Welcome to Holiday Inn Charleston Historic Downtown Relax in the Lobby at Holiday Inn Charleston Historic Downtown Welcome to Holiday Inn Charleston Historic Downtown Holiday Inn Downtown Charleston - Enjoy lots of Natural Lighting Welcome to the Holiday Inn Charleston Historic Downtown
Select to close.
Terms & Conditions
If you are not already a member, join now.
Close
Check In
(e.g. Nov-23-2014)
Check Out
(e.g. Nov-24-2014)
Check Availability
Loading