• English  English
    Select to close.
    Current Settings are:
      /  English

    Change Preferences:
    Country of Residence:
    Available Languages:
  • |
  • |
  • |
  • 1 888 HOLIDAY
Select to close.
Select to close.
Email or IHG® Rewards Club # PIN
Not a member?Join Today!
Forgot PIN
All fields are required.
 
If you have forgotten or lost your Personal Identification Number (PIN), we can email your PIN to the email address in your IHG® Rewards Club account profile.
If you do not have an email address in your profile, please contact your local IHG® Rewards Club Customer Care  to source your PIN and to update your profile with your email address. When you receive your PIN you can also update your email address viawww.ihgrewardsclub.com/email.
IHG® Rewards Club # Email Address

Not a member?Join Today!
Create PIN
All fields are required.
IHG® Rewards Club # ZIP/Postal Code
First Name Last Name
Please select a 4 number Personal Identification Number (PIN) which will be used to access your IHG® Rewards Club account.
PIN Verify PIN
 
Not a member?Join Today!
Create Email
All fields are required.
Thank you. Your PIN has been created. Please enter your email address so you can use it to log into the site in the future.
Email Address Verify Email Address
 

Book this Hotel

Best Price Guarantee
1

Reward Nights
When redeeming points for a Reward Night, you may only book one room at a time.

Once you complete your Reward Night reservation you will be given the option to duplicate this reservation.

(e.g. Apr-19-2014)
(e.g. Apr-20-2014)
Have a Group Code?
Have a Corporate ID?
Check Availability
Processing your request...

* Requires affiliation in the respective organization.

** Best Available Rate Search does not include affiliation rates.

Select to close.

To book more than 9 rooms for one stay or request a quote, please use our Easy Meetings tool, call 1-800-MEETING (in United States, Mexico and Canada) or contact a Global Sales Office.

Close Button
Your Recently Viewed Hotels

About our Hotel

Location: Downtown/City Center

  • Location: Downtown/City Center
  • Closest City: CHARLESTON
  • Distance From Hotel: 0.0MI
  • Local time zone: GMT-04:00

Check In: 4:00 PM Check Out: 11:00 AM

  • Check In: 4:00 PM
  • Check Out: 11:00 AM
  • Minimum check-in age: 21
  • Late checkout available

Credit cards

Credit cards

  • American Express
  • Carte Blanche
  • Diners Club
  • Discover
  • Master Card
  • Visa

Accessibility

Accessibility

  • Number of Rooms:7
  • Parking
  • Service Animals Allowed

Languages

Languages

  1. English

Pet Policy

Pet Policy

Pleasse accept our apologies, the Holiday Inn Charelston Historic Downtown does not accept pets. Kennels are located within several miles of the hotel. Please call us in advance to make arrangements for your furry loved ones. Guide Dogs are welcome.

What's Nearby

What's Nearby

Attraction:
Year-round Festivals and Special Events
Distance From Hotel:0.0
Attraction:
Charleston for Families! The BEST things to do!
Distance From Hotel:0.0
Attraction:
Charleston is a Photographer's Paradise!
Distance From Hotel:0.0
Attraction:
St. Philip's Episcopal Church Steeple
Distance From Hotel:0.0

Internet

Standard Internet Service

Standard Internet service is free for all guests
Wireless Internet available in Standard Rooms,Suites,Business Center,Public Areas
Wired Internet available in Standard Rooms,Suites

Facility

Facility

  • Total number of rooms:120
  • Total number of suites:3
  • Total number of rooms with only one bed:59
  • Total number of rooms with only double beds:61
  • Total number of non-smoking rooms:120
  • Total number of rooms for the physically challenged:7
  • Interior corridor
  • Total number of floors:5
Known for its rich history, well-preserved architecture, a celebrated restaurant community and mannerly people; Charleston has been named Top U.S. City by Conde Nast Traveler 2013 Readers Choice Awards for the third year. This coastal destination remains one of the top destination cities in the world. Holiday Inn Charleston Historic Downtown is proud to be a part of Historic Charleston blending contemporary luxury with traditional southern hospitality. Situated on Meeting and Woolfe Street; we are
View More
Known for its rich history, well-preserved architecture, a celebrated restaurant community and mannerly people; Charleston has been named Top U.S. City by Conde Nast Traveler 2013 Readers Choice Awards for the third year. This coastal destination remains one of the top destination cities in the world. Holiday Inn Charleston Historic Downtown is proud to be a part of Historic Charleston blending contemporary luxury with traditional southern hospitality. Situated on Meeting and Woolfe Street; we are just one block from the Charleston Visitor's Center, minutes from attractions, boutique shops and restaurants located throughout downtown Charleston. Our location is within close proximity to other Charleston's historic sites, attractions, museums, sport venues, beaches and more; providing easy access to I-26 and US Highway 17. The Meeting Room Restaurant & Tapas Bar offers farm-to-table dining with a twist on tradition with American inspired entrees prepared with local ingredients offering something to suit every palette. Unwind in an atmosphere of relaxed elegance that allows friends and family to meet and enjoy great food, signature cocktails, wine and beer. After a long day workout in our fitness center, take a dip in our heated outdoor pool or bask in the warm Charleston sun. Stay cool and relax around our outdoor covered patio with overhead fans and living room style seating. Visit our business center and stay connected to electronic devices with free WIFI.
View Less
Features
Our Charleston Hotel has the ideal location in the peninsula. Holiday Inn Charleston Historic Downtown is just minutes from the gateways of Highway 17 and I-26, and offers easy access to historic sites, plantations, picturesque islands and beaches, seasonal events, festivals, wedding venues and more. Offering all the charm and great food that makes Charleston so desirable to many repeat visitors.

Guest Reviews

Rated 3.9 out of 5 by 176 reviewers.
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by staff friendly,helpful and service in restaurant was great.room was great. came to Charleston with reservations already made.no problems checking in. hotel was clean and neat. staff was really nice. easy to get to elevators. hotel is round, so you can't get lost. room was very clean, furniture was nice, beds were comfy. I like that the vanity was outside of the room where the toilet and tub were. breakfast buffet was really good. swimming pool on top of a 3 story building was just plain fun. i will go there again. o and lets not forget the view and the round restaurant on the top floor and it's view. October 10, 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by convenient We were attending a wedding on one side of the river with the reception on the other side so this was very convenient. It was a bit scary trying to get out and in the parking lot. Very comfortable and clean. October 10, 2013
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Somewhat disappointing Our recent stay was not very good. Even though the staff is friendly, the hotel room was substandard. The toilet barely flushed, which was alarming, the balcony door was busted and allowed noise and marsh smell into the room, and the air conditioning unit sounded like a freight train. The location of the hotel is also not optimal, especially if one does not have a car! It is located on a small island surrounded by highways. October 10, 2013
Rated 1.0 out of 5.0 by Old building Very old building, not a nice hotel to stay, everything looks dirty, carpet, bathroom etc. They charge you for breakfast. The only good thing is that is close to the water. October 8, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Excellent stay Our military veterans group stayed here for 4 nights. We found the staff to be extremely helpful and courteous. They always greeted us with a smile and a "can-do" attitude. The rooms were comfortable. One has to remember that this hotel is an older hotel (it was here when I left Charleston in 1986). It has been remodeled somewhat but does lack some of the more modern amenities you might find at a new hotel. That said, the hotel was VERY WELL maintained. 32" flat screen TVs, cable TV, and free Wi-Fi. Free shuttles to the historic district. The restaurant served excellent food. The breakfast buffet was good and on par with the majority of other breakfast buffets. I would highly recommend this hotel if you are in Charleston and want a moderate priced hotel close to the historic area. October 7, 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Thank You Thank you for making me feel at home, during a time when my travel plans were delayed. A special thank you to Marybeth for helping me thru it all. Jayda you were a great server, the food was excellent. October 6, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Our stay We had an awesome stay in Charleston. The facility was clean, the staff was most accommodating. The bar staff great. The only mediocre experience at the hotel was the morning restaurant staff. I visited and ordered to go and also we had the buffet one morning. On both times, the staff seemed a little indifferent to my/our needs. Other than that, I would def recommend. The guys who drove the shuttles were informative and professional and had a sense of humor. Greatly enjoyed our experience.. September 30, 2013
Rated 2.0 out of 5.0 by closed in Have stayed here in the past and great views of Ashley River. However, they have now locked the balcony doors. Felt closed in. Will not be going back. September 30, 2013
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Nice, clean room We stayed 5 days while visiting family in Charleston. There were no perks. No refridgerator or microwave, which would have been nice for a longer stay. No free breakfast. Not even a simple continental type. Also I realize the staff is busy but after watching us come and go for 5 days you would think we would be greeted or at least acknowledged. We felt almost invisible. We also watched guests that were checking in receive gift packs and coupons for discounts at the hotel restaurant. We were never offered any of these items. All in all the experience was a little disappointing. We will try another hotel next time we travel. September 30, 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Girl on front desk EXCELLENT Enjoyed the whole thing - only thing missing was a fridge in room September 25, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Courtious service. Friendly and exceptional assistance. Good location and beautiful view. Van service into town a great service, especially for someone without a car. Although the hotel was very busy we were not disturbed by noise. There could be some improvement in the meals. Breakfast buffet was sometimes cold and not much variety. September 25, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great experience I recently stayed 5 nights. The staff was very friendly, the room was clean, the bed was comfortable, the TV was a new Samsung flat screen. I called about 4 days before my reservation to confirm. I asked for a room away from the ice machine and elevator and that's exactly what I got. The only drawback (and why I didn't give 5 stars for everything) was the traffic noise, even up on the 9th floor. The hotel can't do anything about that & after the 2nd night I got used to it. I highly recommend this hotel. September 23, 2013
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by BATHROOM I think the shower could have been a little more cleaner especially the pink invested shower head September 23, 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Good Value We stayed up on the 11th floor. The room was pretty tired and noisy as the sliding doors didn't close 100%. However, it was comfortable and clean. The hotel is cheaper than others in the area and therefore I would say it was good value. The location is a little out of town, but the shuttle bus makes up for this. The pool and fitness facilities were pretty good and the front desk staff were excellent! September 10, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by The place to stay! We stayed here 4 nights over the labor day weekend and thoroughly enjoyed our stay. The hotel is clean, the rooms comfortable and the staff go out of their way to be accommodating. The restaurant on top has breathtaking views of the river and Charleston . The food is great and the service is excellent. Great breakfast buffet! Very relaxing stay! This is definitely my "go to" hotel in Charleston. Looking forward to my next visit in November. September 8, 2013
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Nice place Came to Charleston to visit family, did not use many amenities. Hotel clean, had room with 2 beds, pretty small. Bathroom nice, but built a little cramped. The bed was very comfortable, the price was not bad. The best part was the view from the restaurant on the top floor. You could see the whole city at night. Not sure if I would stay there again but my experience was a pleasant one. September 6, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Excellent!! We absolutely loved our stay with you guys over Labor Day! The staff was fantastic, the rooms were good, the view was amazing and the location was great (especially that waffle house was right behind the hotel, very convenient after a long night out)! Marybetth at the front desk was amazing and so were so many other staff members that I don't remember the names of, Sorry!! The shuttle was so convenient and the drivers gave great suggestions on the local spots. Definitely coming back! September 5, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great Service. Wonderful view of Charleston It was our first time in the Charleston area. While it wasn't the best hotel we've ever stayed at, it was fine for a long weekend....and for the price it was pretty darn good. Try to make your reservations for the east side of the hotel on an upper floor (9+). The room was clean and the bed was very comfortable (housekeeping and the entire staff were very accomadating). I would recommend This hotel. We're glad we didn't stay in downtown Charleston on a busy Labor Day weekend. September 5, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Excellent room Loved everything about our stay except the wait time for elevator. Will certainly stay there again. September 5, 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Weekend Stay The hotel was convenient to downtown and to the beaches. However, the location of the hotel between the roads resulted in traffic noise at night. The rooms were not very sound proof. We could hear doors slamming and every once in a while we could hear the television from the room next door. Our room was located near the elevators, so we could hear people as they waited for the elevators. Once we turned on some white noise, the outside noises were not audible. September 5, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Charisse S. and Elizabeth S. These staff members made our stand enjoyable. We hope to see these ladies on our nex visit. If we had questions, they were very informative and answer them. We would like to thank these ladies again. September 5, 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Nice place great value! We found this to be a nice hotel and a great value. The staff took excellent care of us. Great views of the harbor and Charleston! September 5, 2013
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Are you a pet-friendly hotel, or no? I copy verbatim the pet policy posted in http://www.ihg.com/holidayinn/hotels/us/en/charleston/chsrv/hoteldetail: "The Holiday Inn does not accept pets, please accept our apologies. Kennels are located nearby. Contact us for telephone numbers and contact kennels to make advance arrangements." While the pet policy does state clearly that pets are not allowed (at least at this location), an exception is made for service animals--and I can totally understand that. Having said this, if only seeing-eye dogs are permitted, then how did a guest who apparently had no visual impairment get away with bringing her dog into the building? Not only that: the dog wasn't outfitted like a seeing-eye dog. Pet policy in need of updating? September 4, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great people This is one of my favorite hotels anywhere. It's main attraction is the staff. The front desk staff remembers you and shows it. The views from any room are awesome. If Jay is at the desk you will get a smile and any information you may need. Enjoy yourself, I know I do! August 24, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by We had a great time with the family!!!! The beds are great and the service was great. we had nice service and all the workers were great. August 21, 2013
Rated 2.0 out of 5.0 by Poor Room Service I was very DISAPPOINTENTED IN ROOM SERVICE It was evident that the room was not cleaned or bed changed. The mirror was not clean, bathroom floor not mopped. It appeared that the house keepers were either tired or not good housekeepers. I reported this situation to the front desk and was compensated with $25.00 taken off my bill, which wasn't enough considering what we paid for the entire week and expected great service without worrying about cleanliness. August 20, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Comfortable bed and great service Even though I did not get time to spend time in the room (meetings all day) when I did return I found everything in order. It was nice to use a computer it was right on time for what I had to do. Thanks to everyone when I had to make copies, use your staple machine and staple remover Again thanks for everyone service with a smile is important. August 20, 2013
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Disappointing Stay, Breakfast and Cruise Parking Package My group wanted to stay in Charleston overnight, see the sights, and eat at the wonderful restaurants. We thought we'd save money with the shuttle service and free parking while on our cruise. Unfortunately, we were unable to get on the 10 person shuttles on two occasions and had to call a cab at $20 each way rather than waste time waiting for the shuttle to return and then take us. The schedule leaving the hotel at two hour intervals was also unacceptable.....but I should have asked about it before booking....my mistake. The schedule to the cruise port was much too early when you have carryons to then lug around the city. We were finally able to coax the staff to give us a 12:30 pm shuttle to the port. In summary, the rooms were okay but we ended up paying $100 over the typical room rate for the parking, limited shuttle service and marginal breakfast buffet. Next time, I will park at the port. August 20, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Comfortable beds and good view The headquarters for my class reunion and very accommodating. Comfortable beds and nice view of the river. Very pleasant staff. August 10, 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Excellent Front Desk Staff The front desk was very helpful and courteous to our unique situation!! August 10, 2013
<<prev 2 3 4 5 ... 7 next>>
Hotel Exterior
Hotel Exterior
Select to close.
Hotel Exterior Enjoy Historic Charleston, fall in love with Holiday Inn! The Battery. A great way to experience the Charleston Peninsula Arthur Ravanel Bridge known as the NEW Cooper River Bridge Holiday Inn Charleston Historic Downtown Meeting & Woolfe Street Famous Pineapple Fountain at Waterfront Park Historic Charleston USS Yorktown located at Patriots Point Enjoy a dinner cruise around the Charleston Peninsula Isle of Palms Beach Resort Seabrook Island Holiday Inn Charleston Downtown  Large Map Charleston Peninsula Welcome to Holiday Inn Charleston Historic Downtown Relax in the Lobby at Holiday Inn Charleston Historic Downtown Welcome to Holiday Inn Charleston Historic Downtown Holiday Inn Downtown Charleston - Enjoy lots of Natural Lighting Welcome to the Holiday Inn Charleston Historic Downtown
Select to close.