• English  English
    Select to close.
    Current Settings are:
      /  English

    Change Preferences:
    Country / Region of Residence:
    Available Languages:
  • |
  • |
  • |
  • 1 888 HOLIDAY
Select to close.
Select to close.
Email or IHG® Rewards Club # PIN
Not a member?Join Today!
Forgot PIN
All fields are required.
 
If you have forgotten or lost your Personal Identification Number (PIN), we can email your PIN to the email address in your IHG® Rewards Club account profile.
If you do not have an email address in your profile, please contact your local IHG® Rewards Club Customer Care  to source your PIN and to update your profile with your email address. When you receive your PIN you can also update your email address viawww.ihgrewardsclub.com/email.
IHG® Rewards Club # Email Address

Not a member?Join Today!
Create PIN
All fields are required.
IHG® Rewards Club # ZIP/Postal Code
First Name Last Name
Please select a 4 number Personal Identification Number (PIN) which will be used to access your IHG® Rewards Club account.
PIN Verify PIN
 
Not a member?Join Today!
Create Email
All fields are required.
Thank you. Your PIN has been created. Please enter your email address so you can use it to log into the site in the future.
Email Address Verify Email Address
 
Email Hotel Get Directions Add to Favorites Print Fact Sheet

Book this Hotel

Best Price Guarantee
1

Reward Nights
When redeeming points for a Reward Night, you may only book one room at a time.

Once you complete your Reward Night reservation you will be given the option to duplicate this reservation.

(e.g. Aug-28-2014)
(e.g. Aug-29-2014)
Have a Group Code?
Have a Corporate ID?
Check Availability
Processing your request...

* Requires affiliation in the respective organization.

** Best Available Rate Search does not include affiliation rates.

Select to close.

To book more than 9 rooms for one stay or request a quote, please use our Easy Meetings tool, call 1-800-MEETING (in United States, Mexico and Canada) or contact a Global Sales Office.

Close Button
Your Recently Viewed Hotels

About our Hotel

Location: Downtown/City Center

  • Location: Downtown/City Center
  • Closest City: CHARLESTON
  • Distance From Hotel: 0.0MI
  • Local time zone: GMT-04:00

Check In: 4:00 PM Check Out: 11:00 AM

  • Check In: 4:00 PM
  • Check Out: 11:00 AM
  • Minimum check-in age: 21
  • Late checkout available

Credit cards

Credit cards

  • American Express
  • Carte Blanche
  • Diners Club
  • Discover
  • Master Card
  • Visa

Accessibility

Accessibility

  • Number of Rooms:7
  • Parking
  • Service Animals Allowed

Languages

Languages

  1. English

Pet Policy

Pet Policy

Pleasse accept our apologies, the Holiday Inn Charelston Historic Downtown does not accept pets. Kennels are located within several miles of the hotel. Please call us in advance to make arrangements for your furry loved ones. Guide Dogs are welcome.

What's Nearby

What's Nearby

Attraction:
Year-round Festivals and Special Events
Distance From Hotel:0.0MI
Attraction:
Charleston for Families! The BEST things to do!
Distance From Hotel:0.0MI
Attraction:
Charleston is a Photographer's Paradise!
Distance From Hotel:0.0MI
Attraction:
St. Philip's Episcopal Church Steeple
Distance From Hotel:0.0MI

Parking

Parking

  • Number of parking spaces:82
  • Car Parking Available
  • Parking is valet parking only in the hotels parking garage for 16 dollars per day plus 8.5 percent sales tax. Offsite parking for oversized vehicles. Additional parking 2 blocks at Visitors Center 12.00 per day.
  • Valet parking fee  ( 16.0 USD )

Internet

Standard Internet Service

Standard Internet service is free for all guests
Wireless Internet available in Standard Rooms,Suites,Business Center,Public Areas
Wired Internet available in Standard Rooms,Suites

Facility

Facility

  • Total number of rooms:120
  • Total number of suites:3
  • Total number of rooms with only one bed:59
  • Total number of rooms with only double beds:61
  • Total number of non-smoking rooms:120
  • Total number of rooms for the physically challenged:7
  • Interior corridor
  • Total number of floors:5
Known for its rich history, well-preserved architecture, a celebrated restaurant community and mannerly people; Charleston has been named Top U.S. City by Conde Nast Traveler 2013 Readers Choice Awards for the third year. This coastal destination remains one of the top destination cities in the world. Holiday Inn Charleston Historic Downtown is proud to be a part of Historic Charleston blending contemporary luxury with traditional southern hospitality. Situated on Meeting and Woolfe Street; we are
View More
Known for its rich history, well-preserved architecture, a celebrated restaurant community and mannerly people; Charleston has been named Top U.S. City by Conde Nast Traveler 2013 Readers Choice Awards for the third year. This coastal destination remains one of the top destination cities in the world. Holiday Inn Charleston Historic Downtown is proud to be a part of Historic Charleston blending contemporary luxury with traditional southern hospitality. Situated on Meeting and Woolfe Street; we are just one block from the Charleston Visitor's Center, minutes from attractions, boutique shops and restaurants located throughout downtown Charleston. Our location is within close proximity to other Charleston's historic sites, attractions, museums, sport venues, beaches and more; providing easy access to I-26 and US Highway 17. The Meeting Room Restaurant & Tapas Bar offers farm-to-table dining with a twist on tradition with American inspired entrees prepared with local ingredients offering something to suit every palette. Unwind in an atmosphere of relaxed elegance that allows friends and family to meet and enjoy great food, signature cocktails, wine and beer. After a long day workout in our fitness center, take a dip in our heated outdoor pool or bask in the warm Charleston sun. Stay cool and relax around our outdoor covered patio with overhead fans and living room style seating. Visit our business center and stay connected to electronic devices with free WIFI.
View Less
Features
Our Charleston Hotel has the ideal location in the peninsula. Holiday Inn Charleston Historic Downtown is easy accessible to I-526 and US Highway 17 and the gateway to plantations, picturesque islands and beaches, seasonal events, festivals, wedding venues and more. Offering all the charm and great food that makes Charleston so desirable to many repeat visitors.

Guest Reviews

Rated 4.5 out of 5 by 324 reviewers.
Rated 2.0 out of 5.0 by would not recommend for the price was told incorrect of the cost which for Mt. Pleasant was high, said we would have a suite and when arrived was told not sure why they told you that on the phone. Bedding was terrible, duvet not anything thicker than a bad mattress pad, had to ask for another one Maid who cleaned room smelled so bad we had to spray anything we had to get the smell out. Good locations but would not stay again. May 31, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Great bed! The bed was exceptionally comfortable. The pillows were soft and lovely. Nice pool. Breakfast was so-so: liked the cinnamon buns, hated the eggs! Good experience, I'd go back. May 30, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Good breakfasts We found this hotel ideal for our visits to Shem Creek, Sullivan's Island, Mount Pleasant,and of course, Downtown Charleston itself. Wonderful places for dinner at Shem Creek and ideal for dolphin and pelican watching! Always sad to leave. May 24, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great Location, Great Experience Whenever we travel anywhere around the country, we almost always stay at Holiday Inn Express chains because of the easy and predictable quality it has. We are always pleased about the atmosphere, service, and general cleanliness/upkeep. The location was ideal for going to the beach and downtown Charleston, both within 15/20 minutes or less. One other big plus is that the entire hotel is smoke-free and pet-free, which helps keep allergies and noises down for us - very important when traveling pregnant and with small children! May 20, 2014
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Smokey We found the entry way and breakfast area to be very smoky from the smoke that was coming in from outside where people were standing the ventilation there was extremely poor. The breakfast staff was extremely unfriendly front desk was very friendly pool was very nice and clean! May 20, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Fantastic location and comfortable beds Hotel located less than 5 minutes from downtown Charleston. Found it a bit hard to find as we do not have GPS and you actually have to get off tthe main street to find it. Check.in was quick and all the girls were very friendly and helpful. There is a tour of the historic district that picks you up at the hotel and drops back approx 2 hours later. If you take the early tour you can stay in town and catch the later bus back. Breakfast had lots of choice and the room is beautiful. Lots of great places to eat in Mt. Pleasant, no need to go into Charleston, just ask the front desk for recommendations. It was graduation time so no upgrade available for Platinum member and only hotel on the trip that did not offer a welcome gift!! Overall a nice hotel with a fantastic location and a reasonable price. May 20, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great place We stayed 3 nights on our vacation, location was very important to us. Hotel was super clean and very comfortable. I also really liked the touch screen located near the pool area to help with things to do, we did use it as well to buy and print tickets to places we were interested in visiting! Would stay here again if ever back in the area, loved this hotel!!! May 19, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Excellent value for the price It is expensive to stay in historic Charleston. This hotel is a short drive away and is very reasonably priced, especially considering the amenities included. Also, it is close to Waterfront Park, a great place for a walk down the pier. Very interesting to see the Ravenel Bridge from underneath. May 18, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great Service & Comfortable The service was awesome. The room was very clean & spacious!!! I do wish the front desk carried aspirin. May 13, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Quiet and comfortable I stayed two nights. The rooms were very clean and quiet. I slept great without hearing noise from any rooms or the hallway. I would recommend this hotel and I would stay here in the future. May 9, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Perfect Location Awesome location with anything you need around it, and a very short trip to downtown without paying downtown prices. Very safe and quiet also, unlike downtown could be. May 8, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by One little thing... My overall experience was more than satisfactory. The young woman who checked me and was not exactly professional. My concern is small but still felt that I should report it. When I first arrived she greeted me and told me that my room was not yet ready. I explained that I had my grand son with me who is only a few months old and I was hoping to get into the room early because he needed to be changed. She reminded me that I was still too early to check in. When I returned at the appropriate time she seemed put off by me. She was showing me where I needed to initial on the contract for the room and then accused me of grabbing the pen out of her hand in order to sign it. I apologized as I didn't have my glasses on and thought she was handing me the pen. A small discourtesy but I felt it. I travel to Mount Pleasant to visit with my new grandson and this is my third stay at your hotel. May 5, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great place to stay when visiting Charleston My wife and I were looking for a place to celebrate our 25th anniversary and we chose Charleston. This hotel is very conveniently located just across the river in Mt. Pleasant ~ only a 5 minute drive from downtown Charleston. It is also very convenient to the visitor center, park, and plenty of restaurants. We will return! May 5, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Beautiful facility! Our first visit to Charleston: This location in Mt Pleasant was a good choice, for going back and forth into Charleston. We had four rooms, and our family members remarked on the very nice rooms, and the good breakfasts! April 21, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Suite We had a suite which was very nice with lots of room. Only had 1 issue. The water in the sink in the bathroom drained very slow. Everything else was great. April 10, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great Location to downtown Charleston and Nice Rooms! We were in town for the Cooper River Bridge Run and this hotel was in the perfect location! We were able to walk to the start of the race and not have to deal with traffic. It was also close to the beaches, nice restaurants, and downtown Charleston. We will for sure be staying here again next year! April 9, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Shower Tub did not drain well while showering. Computer room not air conditioned. April 7, 2014
Rated 2.0 out of 5.0 by Breakfast and stay could have been better. For the second year in a row, our room was not cleaned one day. We were out of the room before 10:00 each morning. There were no clean towels, so I had to call again to get some for the next day. With breakfast, two mornings of our stay they were taking it down at around 9:30. People were still coming down to eat. It is supposed to be served until 10:00. We have stayed at this hotel 3 years in a row, but it will be our last. April 6, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Wonderful place to stay Spent three nights while attending Family Circle Cup. Will be back next year! Great staff, clean comfy rooms,very nice breakfast! Great location to the venue. April 6, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Wonderful experience!! This was our first time at this hotel. So happy we chose to stay here!! Very clean. Great location. It was so relaxing in our room, it was difficult to leave! We will be returning next year. Thank you to everyone at the hotel who made our visit so nice. :) April 6, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great experience The mattress and pillows were so comfortable! The staff was pleasant and responsive to our needs. The room was clean and the staff were prompt in cleaning our room every day. We absolutely loved the location, near Patriots Point, Ravenel Bridge, downtown Charleston (take the water taxi to downtown!), great shopping and restaurants. Our only disappointment was the breakfast offerings, rather tasteless. April 3, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great location! We had a wonderful time visiting the Mt. Pleasant/Charleston area during our spring break. The location of the Holiday Inn Express was perfect! We had a very spacious "Presidential Suite" for our six night stay at a great rate. It was our first time visiting this area and staying at this hotel allowed us to be in historical downtown Charleston in approximately 5 to 6 minutes. We were very close to Patriot's Point and the Boone Plantation in Mt. Pleasant as well. We would recommend staying at this hotel if you are visiting the Charleston area. March 29, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Pleasant room Room was pleasant but temperature control annoying nearly always blowing. Soap was next to impossible to open. Breakfast was very limited mainly simple carbs and fats. Bananas were frequently old. Coffee was good. March 26, 2014
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Sorry to say Disappointed The room was very nice and Clean. It is also close to lots of places to eat and close to downtown. Our TV did not work well. Very poor color and the picture did not fit the screen. When we reported it, we were informed that is was a problem with the Cable technology not matching with the TV. This property was a bit too noisy for me. You can hear everyone's foot steps, not only above you.and out in the hall, but even by those in your room. (like foot steps running, boom, boom) Very un-restful night. The staff was very nice and polite. The room was waaaaay to expensive to not have a properly working TV and not to sleep. We expect many future trips to Charleston, and I hate to say, we will not stay here. March 25, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Lovely and Clean We were so happy about the cleanliness. Thank you for making this a priority. The breakfast was great and staff were prompt and conscientious . Thank you again for a great stay. March 24, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Generally good place to stay. This was a good stay as far as location and price. The breakfast was more than usual with hot items and good variation. The staff was extremely pleasant in the breakfast room. The hotel in general was clean and well maintained; however, we did find the bed and pillows too soft for comfort. My husband and both had difficulty sleeping and woke up with backaches. To add to the discomfort, the room temperature was difficult to control and maintain at a comfortable temperature. Daily room cleaning was average, and we noticed on the second day the room was not cleaned. They made the bed, replaced towels, and emptied garbage. Sink, tub, toilet, and floors were not touched. March 17, 2014
Rated 2.0 out of 5.0 by Hotel did not live up to its advertisement. I was disappointed in my visit, both in the room size and breakfast food selection. I paid extra for a junior suite with a pullout couch. There was barely any room to walk around it when pulled out. Overall, suite was very small. It was a regular oblong hotel room. I was told the sheets would be on the couch prior to checking in; I had to make up the bed. I was told you had a deluxe free hot bar, in additional to regular breakfast items. Hot bar consisted of sausage and premade egg substitute small omelet with a dab of "velveetta" cheese. Not a fresh egg omelet. Regular bar did not include standard items found at other continental hotel breakfasts, such as hot oatmeal (only had packages of instant), fresh fruit, boiled eggs, or waffles (premade pancakes available). I had to ask to have raisin bran replenished. Rooms weren't sound proof. Ours, on top floor, right by elevator; could hear everyone getting on/off. I requested a quiet room on fourth floor. Joke. Staff not that friendly; especially those in dining area. Way over priced for what we got. First and last visit. March 12, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Stay here everytime and it is great. I have no really complaints. Rooms seem to always smell musty but nothing a can of Lysol can not cure. Besides that ,place is top notch in my book. March 10, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Return visit We return after a few years hiatus and can only say this is still a favorite. Outstanding cleanliness, staff, breakfast and amenities. Will always return on our trips south. I can always count on a relaxing stay. February 27, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great Front Desk Staff and breakfast! I stayed Friday night, January 31, 2014, but despite the rainy forecast for the weekend, the parking lot was pretty full. This property is one of the closest 3*+ to the Ravenel Bridge and Patriot's Point, so to beat the high prices in downtown Charleston, you're sacrificing almost nothing in time/distance, plus free parking. I'd booked online and had forgotten to include my IHG Priority Club info, but the lady at the front desk was very helpful in getting the stay credited. The room was spotless and everything worked (although finding the "master switch" for everything in the bathroom took a little thought and hunting). I really like having a fridge in the room and the breakfast at pretty much all HIEs is good food at a good value (I much prefer HIEs to old Holiday Inns for this reason and they are typically less expensive - go figure). The breakfast serving staff was on the ball and extra but not invasively friendly, and what can I say about the cinnamon rolls except I owe the fitness room an extra hour. February 4, 2014
<<prev 2 3 4 5 6 ... 12 next>>
Hotel Exterior
Hotel Exterior
Select to close.
Hotel Exterior Enjoy Historic Charleston, fall in love with Holiday Inn! The Battery. A great way to experience the Charleston Peninsula Arthur Ravanel Bridge known as the NEW Cooper River Bridge Holiday Inn Charleston Historic Downtown Meeting & Woolfe Street Famous Pineapple Fountain at Waterfront Park Historic Charleston USS Yorktown located at Patriots Point Enjoy a dinner cruise around the Charleston Peninsula Isle of Palms Beach Resort Seabrook Island Holiday Inn Charleston Downtown  Large Map Charleston Peninsula Welcome to Holiday Inn Charleston Historic Downtown Relax in the Lobby at Holiday Inn Charleston Historic Downtown Welcome to Holiday Inn Charleston Historic Downtown Holiday Inn Downtown Charleston - Enjoy lots of Natural Lighting Welcome to the Holiday Inn Charleston Historic Downtown
Select to close.
Select to book our daily parking package.
Close
Check In
(e.g. Aug-28-2014)
Check Out
(e.g. Aug-29-2014)
Check Availability
Loading