• English  English
    Select to close.
    Current Settings are:
      /  English

    Change Preferences:
    Country / Region of Residence:
    Available Languages:
  • |
  • |
  • |
  • |
  • 1 888 HOLIDAY
Select to close.
Select to close.
Email or IHG® Rewards Club # PIN
Not a member?Join Today!
Forgot PIN
All fields are required.
 
If you have forgotten or lost your Personal Identification Number (PIN), we can email your PIN to the email address in your IHG® Rewards Club account profile.
If you do not have an email address in your profile, please contact your local IHG® Rewards Club Customer Care  to source your PIN and to update your profile with your email address. When you receive your PIN you can also update your email address viawww.ihgrewardsclub.com/email.
IHG® Rewards Club # Email Address

Not a member?Join Today!
Create PIN
All fields are required.
IHG® Rewards Club # ZIP/Postal Code
First Name Last Name
Please select a 4 number Personal Identification Number (PIN) which will be used to access your IHG® Rewards Club account.
PIN Verify PIN
 
Not a member?Join Today!
Create Email
All fields are required.
Thank you. Your PIN has been created. Please enter your email address so you can use it to log into the site in the future.
Email Address Verify Email Address
 
Email Hotel Get Directions Add to Favorites Print Fact Sheet

Book this Hotel

Best Price Guarantee
1

Reward Nights
When redeeming points for a Reward Night, you may only book one room at a time.

Once you complete your Reward Night reservation you will be given the option to duplicate this reservation.

(e.g. Dec-18-2014)
(e.g. Dec-19-2014)
Have a Group Code?
Have a Corporate ID?
Check Availability
Processing your request...

* Requires affiliation in the respective organization.

** Best Available Rate Search does not include affiliation rates.

Select to close.

To book more than 9 rooms for one stay or request a quote, please use our Easy Meetings tool, call 1-800-MEETING (in United States, Mexico and Canada) or contact a Global Sales Office.

Close Button
Your Recently Viewed Hotels

About our Hotel

Location: Downtown/City Center

  • Location: Downtown/City Center
  • Closest City: CHARLESTON
  • Distance From Hotel: 0.0MI
  • Local time zone: GMT-05:00

Check In: 4:00 PM Check Out: 11:00 AM

  • Check In: 4:00 PM
  • Check Out: 11:00 AM
  • Minimum check-in age: 21
  • Late checkout available

Credit cards

Credit cards

  • American Express
  • Carte Blanche
  • Diners Club
  • Discover
  • Master Card
  • Visa

Accessibility

Accessibility

  • Number of Rooms:7
  • Parking
  • Service Animals Allowed

Languages

Languages

  1. English

Pet Policy

Pet Policy

Pleasse accept our apologies, the Holiday Inn Charelston Historic Downtown does not accept pets. Kennels are located within several miles of the hotel. Please call us in advance to make arrangements for your furry loved ones. Guide Dogs are welcome.

What's Nearby

What's Nearby

Attraction:
Charleston for Families! The BEST things to do!
Distance From Hotel:0.0MI
Attraction:
Charleston is a Photographer's Paradise!
Distance From Hotel:0.0MI
Attraction:
Charleston Museums - Where History Lives!
Distance From Hotel:0.0MI
Attraction:
Charleston Parks Explore, Discover and Let Loose!
Distance From Hotel:0.0MI

Parking

Parking

  • Number of parking spaces:82
  • Car Parking Available
  • Parking is valet parking only in the hotels parking garage for 16 dollars per day plus 8.5 percent sales tax. Offsite parking for oversized vehicles. Additional parking 2 blocks at Visitors Center 12.00 per day.
  • Valet parking fee  ( 16.0 USD )

Internet

Standard Internet Service

Standard Internet service is free for all guests
Wireless Internet available in Standard Rooms,Suites,Business Center,Public Areas
Wired Internet available in Standard Rooms,Suites

Facility

Facility

  • Total number of rooms:120
  • Total number of suites:3
  • Total number of rooms with only one bed:59
  • Total number of rooms with only double beds:61
  • Total number of non-smoking rooms:120
  • Total number of rooms for the physically challenged:7
  • Interior corridor
  • Total number of floors:5
Known for its rich history, well-preserved architecture, a celebrated restaurant community and mannerly people; Charleston has been named Top U.S. City by Conde Nast Traveler 2013 Readers Choice Awards for the third year. This coastal destination remains one of the top destination cities in the world. Holiday Inn Charleston Historic Downtown is proud to be a part of Historic Charleston blending contemporary luxury with traditional southern hospitality. Situated on Meeting and Woolfe Street; we are
View More
Known for its rich history, well-preserved architecture, a celebrated restaurant community and mannerly people; Charleston has been named Top U.S. City by Conde Nast Traveler 2013 Readers Choice Awards for the third year. This coastal destination remains one of the top destination cities in the world. Holiday Inn Charleston Historic Downtown is proud to be a part of Historic Charleston blending contemporary luxury with traditional southern hospitality. Situated on Meeting and Woolfe Street; we are just one block from the Charleston Visitor's Center, minutes from attractions, boutique shops and restaurants located throughout downtown Charleston. Our location is within close proximity to other Charleston's historic sites, attractions, museums, sport venues, beaches and more; providing easy access to I-26 and US Highway 17. The Meeting Room Restaurant & Tapas Bar offers farm-to-table dining with a twist on tradition with American inspired entrees prepared with local ingredients offering something to suit every palette. Unwind in an atmosphere of relaxed elegance that allows friends and family to meet and enjoy great food, signature cocktails, wine and beer. After a long day workout in our fitness center, take a dip in our heated outdoor pool or bask in the warm Charleston sun. Stay cool and relax around our outdoor covered patio with overhead fans and living room style seating. Visit our business center and stay connected to electronic devices with free WIFI.
View Less
Features
Our Charleston Hotel has the ideal location in the peninsula. Holiday Inn Charleston Historic Downtown is easy accessible to I-526 and US Highway 17 and the gateway to plantations, picturesque islands and beaches, seasonal events, festivals, wedding venues and more. Offering all the charm and great food that makes Charleston so desirable to many repeat visitors.

Guest Reviews

Rated 4.0 out of 5 by 414 reviewers.
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great hotel The staff at breakfast were so great and the cleaners were so friendly and helpful September 27, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Staff was great Every single staff person at this hotel was friendly and accommodating. I do a lot of business in Charleston and I will always stay at this hotel. The location is perfect as well... September 27, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Excellent Value My stay was booked by MUSC for the purpose of a surgical procedure. My room was quiet and clean and service was there when I needed it, but we were not disturbed when rest was required. We remained an extra day to tour Charleston, and were very pleased with the hotel, and the free buses that are nearby for easy travel around the city. Breakfast was excellent, and fast food was a walk away if you don't want to go into the historic district for dinner. September 23, 2014
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by great location, very nice staff all in all our stay was a good one, the beds comfortable, bathroom was clean and bright. the frig kept the drinks cold, which was nice for a change. the staff was very friendly and helpful. the only thing that could have been better is the parking, as we parked away from the hotel and had to walk a distance in the rain. apart from our first night in the handicap room, it was a nice experience. September 23, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Holiday Inn Express Charleston Dwtn - Ashley River Great location and rooms. The staff was extremely friendly and helpful. traveled for business but enjoyed the area and local cuisine. September 22, 2014
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Disappointed My husband and I stayed at this hotel 9/14/14-9/16/14. Walking into the lobby was exactly what I had expected, nice, new, and modern. When I approached the front desk roughly around 1:30PM, I was told by a female staff member that my room was not ready and besides, check in was not until 3PM. I sat in the lobby for about 30 minutes then decided to go sit in my car. My husband went to tell them that we were going to the car when the other female staff member pipped up and said that we could get into our room. Did the first female not realize I am an IHG Platinum Elite member? Is that why she told me I had to wait until 3PM check in? However, when we finally got into our room I was a bit disappointed. I felt the room and bathroom were in need of an update. Also, the AC unit was so stinking noisy you really couldn't sleep well. And the location was not the greatest for going to the Historic District. I would not recommend this hotel. September 19, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Excellent stay this was extremely enjoyable and we loved the historical village! Only one criticism about the low lighting bot for reading and applying make-up. September 17, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great time in Charleston... Great staff, Great place, Great location...... These people understand customer service! September 16, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Amazing Staff The beds and pillows were so comfortable. They even have 2 firm and 2 soft pillows labled for the comfort that you need and want. We had three rooms 2 king & 1 Double. The only thing that was a huge disappointment to me was that non of the King rooms had a freg or microwave. Something that I hope they will fix in the near future, because this is our choice of stay when we visit. My husband and I have been going to Charleston for 36 years and stayed at many places and this by far felt like home away from home. I also took my 84 year old mother with me on this trip and you couldn't ask the staff to be any more help with her than what they did, from her room to helping me get her in the pool with the lift chair they provide. By the time we left, I felt that I was with family not a staff. Also, make sure you eat at Fleet Landing (some of the best seafood I have ever had). September 16, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Clean Room Comfortable furnishings Room was clean and comfortable. Location was perfect for my trip. Breakfast was good. September 15, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Port in a Strorm The management and staff of Ashley River went above and beyond what one would expect it making the Holiday Inn a refuge when we had a relative nearby receiving health care. Our stay and the holiday Inn including the family member involved was comfortable, friendly and belied the efficient but insensitive image of the word Express. This staff to the person was friendly, helpful, and thoughtful. We are grateful and will stay there again. September 14, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by September Visit Clean, good enviroment. Friendly staff. Nice layout. September 12, 2014
Rated 2.0 out of 5.0 by tiny rooms with great staff The Hotel rooms and common areas were all very clean. The staff was very helpful. This is one of the smallest rooms and bathrooms that I have ever stayed in anywhere. The AC is right next to your bed. There is no room for you luggage or to sit and work at the desk. September 11, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by This hotel was perfect for us! After years of spending a week in a condo on Folly Beach, we wanted a room with a balcony and a nice view. We were on the top floor (the 8th) and the view was mostly green space, boats and the river. The breakfast is NOT just the usual stuff, and they had 2 attendants keeping things filled. There are nice tables outdoors if the weather is good, and they even open up a meeting room if needed (going down early is a good idea). Using the free trolley to get around was great. Sometimes we had to drive downtown, but taking Lockwood down to Broad is quick and easy and there are lots of parking garages. Our room with 2 queen beds was spacious and the beds were very comfortable. This is the place to be for a trip to Charleston! September 9, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Loved the fitness center and breakfast variety! We especially enjoyed our stay at this location because the fitness center had dumbbells in addition to the usual cardio equipment. They even have rowing machines, which I have not seen at any other Holiday Inn Express. They also had more breakfast options than most hotels (omelets!). The only issue was that parking is limited, so it was difficult to find a spot. Apparently we came in on a night they were completely booked, so I don't know if that is always an issue. If we visit Charleston again, we will definitely come back to this Holiday Inn Express!!!! September 8, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Comfortable bed Goood rooms but the a/c could have been better. great breakfast, freindly staff.. September 8, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Labor Day Wkend Stay This hotel has clearly been renovated, and it appears recently. The decor and update is attractive and modern. The rooms are small, but updated as well. For the value, the stay was pleasant and comfortable! There was not ample parking on a busy weekend, however no one complained when we parked out front. The staff was helpful and friendly. The breakfast bar was consistently not stocked as there were many many guests. The staff did a moderate job keeping up with the pace. No matter how many requests for absent items, however, they remained friendly and attentive. Overall I'd recommend this stay for anyone looking for a value. September 4, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Good hotel with good Location Hotel front desk staff was extremely pleasant and even put my family and me into a room with a river view. The hallway to the room was too warm causing some discomfort. The room was clean and the beds comfortable; however even though clean, the bathroom is small with limited counter space. Breakfast was the usual Hi Express fanfare. Pros: Pleasant front desk staff Recognized as a Platinum Elite member Clean room Comfortable beds River view from room Nice outside pool area Good location to area attractions Cons: Hallway to warm Bathroom clean but small with little counter space Usual Hi Express breakfast foodstuff September 2, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Older but nice hotel We enjoyed our 1 night stay here. Not the best Holiday Inn Express I've stayed at (I stay at a different one probably on average once per month), but definitely not the worst. It's obviously a bit older of a hotel, but it is clean and the staff is friendly. Probably my main and only complain was that our room's ac window unit didn't really seem to cool the room. It blew cold air, but unless you were standing right next to it to feel the air blowing out, it just did not keep the entire room cold. Almost like it was a fan, rather than an air conditioner. We never mentioned it to the staff because we weren't uncomfortable enough for it to really matter, but since I like to sleep in the cold, it did make it a rough night's sleep. Overall, we enjoyed our stay. September 2, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Gute Lage um Charleston zu erkunden Haben mit der kompletten Familie (5 Personen) drei Tage in Charleston verbracht. Angenehmer Aufenthalt und geräumige, saubere Zimmer. August 31, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Downtown place needed near hospital that was a really nice one. Excellent place: Fine fine friendly staff, free plentiful parking downtown, free breakfasts that were of solid quality in a comfortable dining room. They were always ready to help. Rooms a little old, but clean with comfortable beds, good lighting and internet was really nice. Cute little pool and porches. And could use the MUSC shuttle for patients needing the hospital which is just behind the property! One of the bordering streets is a tough neighborhood, but the other direction is a beautiful walkway along the Ashley River with a park. Cannot lose staying here. Nice stop. August 31, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Location not far from Downtown and Clean Room Nice property, checkin and out was easy. Breakfast was hot, would have liked a little more variety but no real complaints. Room and bathroom were clean and roomy. August 28, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 great hotel Excellent hotel...centrally located...trolley close by to shuttle you downtown. MUSC across the street. Staff always friendly and helpful. August 27, 2014
Rated 2.0 out of 5.0 by Room Size etc. Room not as pictured online. It was much, much smaller. Our view was above a really huge deisel engine. Lovely. A/C ran full blast right against the bed. Had to go to another hotel for a drink at night and that hotel porovided a free shuttle back to Holiday Inn Express. Pool was kiddie size compared to what we saw online. August 22, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by great service We had a great experience with the hotel .We were here for the purpose of dropping off our daughter for college in charleston. We had stayed here before when coming down last year for a pre visit and would stay here again. My only complaint was a personal preference . I don't like big fat pillows! August 22, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Nice place This hotel is very nice and clean. Staff is friendly I have stayed here a couple of times and have been very pleased. My daughter left an item last time which they found and when they couldn't relocate it they replaced it with no problem. Its very close to the downtown area and the College. I highly recommend this hotel. August 20, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Easy access to downtown Easy to get around the downtown area from the hotel August 19, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Nice, clean hotel I enjoyed staying here. The area had experienced major flooding that day, and the hotel parking lot was under water and no power.It soon came back on and we had no further issues. The rooms are big and beds are comfortable. A short cab ride to downtown or during the day you can hop on the free trolley. The breakfast was good and lots of tables for the morning rush. Parking is free and plenty of parking. I will stay here again when visiting my daughter at College Of Charleston. August 18, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Wonderful Hotel Wonderful hotel. Very convenient to MUSC and glad that you partner with them to make a stressful time easier! Wonderful, friendly staff!! August 14, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Excellent customer service & very clean! We had a great stay, despite a citywide power outage on our last day (which of course was out of anyone's control!). The staff was very, very accommodating with any of our requests, and the room was spotless. Quite close to downtown, however a bit difficult to maneuver since the street in front was one-way that went the opposite direction of the historical district, so we had to go out and around the block a bit, but not really a big deal. Easy access to Folly Beach, as well as Isle of Palms. Would definitely stay here again!! August 13, 2014
<<prev 2 3 4 5 6 ... 15 next>>
Hotel Exterior
Hotel Exterior
Select to close.
Hotel Exterior Enjoy Historic Charleston, fall in love with Holiday Inn! The Battery. A great way to experience the Charleston Peninsula Arthur Ravanel Bridge known as the NEW Cooper River Bridge Holiday Inn Charleston Historic Downtown Meeting & Woolfe Street Famous Pineapple Fountain at Waterfront Park Historic Charleston USS Yorktown located at Patriots Point Enjoy a dinner cruise around the Charleston Peninsula Isle of Palms Beach Resort Seabrook Island Holiday Inn Charleston Downtown  Large Map Charleston Peninsula Welcome to Holiday Inn Charleston Historic Downtown Relax in the Lobby at Holiday Inn Charleston Historic Downtown Welcome to Holiday Inn Charleston Historic Downtown Holiday Inn Downtown Charleston - Enjoy lots of Natural Lighting Welcome to the Holiday Inn Charleston Historic Downtown
Select to close.
If you are not already a member, join now.
Close
Check In
(e.g. Dec-18-2014)
Check Out
(e.g. Dec-19-2014)
Check Availability
Loading