• English  English
    Select to close.
    Current Settings are:
      /  English

    Change Preferences:
    Country / Region of Residence:
    Available Languages:
  • |
  • |
  • |
  • 1 888 HOLIDAY
Select to close.
Select to close.
Email or IHG® Rewards Club # PIN
Not a member?Join Today!
Forgot PIN
All fields are required.
 
If you have forgotten or lost your Personal Identification Number (PIN), we can email your PIN to the email address in your IHG® Rewards Club account profile.
If you do not have an email address in your profile, please contact your local IHG® Rewards Club Customer Care  to source your PIN and to update your profile with your email address. When you receive your PIN you can also update your email address viawww.ihgrewardsclub.com/email.
IHG® Rewards Club # Email Address

Not a member?Join Today!
Create PIN
All fields are required.
IHG® Rewards Club # ZIP/Postal Code
First Name Last Name
Please select a 4 number Personal Identification Number (PIN) which will be used to access your IHG® Rewards Club account.
PIN Verify PIN
 
Not a member?Join Today!
Create Email
All fields are required.
Thank you. Your PIN has been created. Please enter your email address so you can use it to log into the site in the future.
Email Address Verify Email Address
 
Email Hotel Get Directions Add to Favorites Print Fact Sheet

Book this Hotel

Best Price Guarantee
1

Reward Nights
When redeeming points for a Reward Night, you may only book one room at a time.

Once you complete your Reward Night reservation you will be given the option to duplicate this reservation.

(e.g. Jul-25-2014)
(e.g. Jul-26-2014)
Have a Group Code?
Have a Corporate ID?
Check Availability
Processing your request...

* Requires affiliation in the respective organization.

** Best Available Rate Search does not include affiliation rates.

Select to close.

To book more than 9 rooms for one stay or request a quote, please use our Easy Meetings tool, call 1-800-MEETING (in United States, Mexico and Canada) or contact a Global Sales Office.

Close Button
Your Recently Viewed Hotels

About our Hotel

Location: Downtown/City Center

  • Location: Downtown/City Center
  • Closest City: CHARLESTON
  • Distance From Hotel: 0.0MI
  • Local time zone: GMT-04:00

Check In: 4:00 PM Check Out: 11:00 AM

  • Check In: 4:00 PM
  • Check Out: 11:00 AM
  • Minimum check-in age: 21
  • Late checkout available

Credit cards

Credit cards

  • American Express
  • Carte Blanche
  • Diners Club
  • Discover
  • Master Card
  • Visa

Accessibility

Accessibility

  • Number of Rooms:7
  • Parking
  • Service Animals Allowed

Languages

Languages

  1. English

Pet Policy

Pet Policy

Pleasse accept our apologies, the Holiday Inn Charelston Historic Downtown does not accept pets. Kennels are located within several miles of the hotel. Please call us in advance to make arrangements for your furry loved ones. Guide Dogs are welcome.

What's Nearby

What's Nearby

Attraction:
Year-round Festivals and Special Events
Distance From Hotel:0.0
Attraction:
Charleston for Families! The BEST things to do!
Distance From Hotel:0.0
Attraction:
Charleston is a Photographer's Paradise!
Distance From Hotel:0.0
Attraction:
St. Philip's Episcopal Church Steeple
Distance From Hotel:0.0

Internet

Standard Internet Service

Standard Internet service is free for all guests
Wireless Internet available in Standard Rooms,Suites,Business Center,Public Areas
Wired Internet available in Standard Rooms,Suites

Facility

Facility

  • Total number of rooms:120
  • Total number of suites:3
  • Total number of rooms with only one bed:59
  • Total number of rooms with only double beds:61
  • Total number of non-smoking rooms:120
  • Total number of rooms for the physically challenged:7
  • Interior corridor
  • Total number of floors:5
Known for its rich history, well-preserved architecture, a celebrated restaurant community and mannerly people; Charleston has been named Top U.S. City by Conde Nast Traveler 2013 Readers Choice Awards for the third year. This coastal destination remains one of the top destination cities in the world. Holiday Inn Charleston Historic Downtown is proud to be a part of Historic Charleston blending contemporary luxury with traditional southern hospitality. Situated on Meeting and Woolfe Street; we are
View More
Known for its rich history, well-preserved architecture, a celebrated restaurant community and mannerly people; Charleston has been named Top U.S. City by Conde Nast Traveler 2013 Readers Choice Awards for the third year. This coastal destination remains one of the top destination cities in the world. Holiday Inn Charleston Historic Downtown is proud to be a part of Historic Charleston blending contemporary luxury with traditional southern hospitality. Situated on Meeting and Woolfe Street; we are just one block from the Charleston Visitor's Center, minutes from attractions, boutique shops and restaurants located throughout downtown Charleston. Our location is within close proximity to other Charleston's historic sites, attractions, museums, sport venues, beaches and more; providing easy access to I-26 and US Highway 17. The Meeting Room Restaurant & Tapas Bar offers farm-to-table dining with a twist on tradition with American inspired entrees prepared with local ingredients offering something to suit every palette. Unwind in an atmosphere of relaxed elegance that allows friends and family to meet and enjoy great food, signature cocktails, wine and beer. After a long day workout in our fitness center, take a dip in our heated outdoor pool or bask in the warm Charleston sun. Stay cool and relax around our outdoor covered patio with overhead fans and living room style seating. Visit our business center and stay connected to electronic devices with free WIFI.
View Less
Features
Our Charleston Hotel has the ideal location in the peninsula. Holiday Inn Charleston Historic Downtown is easy accessible to I-526 and US Highway 17 and the gateway to plantations, picturesque islands and beaches, seasonal events, festivals, wedding venues and more. Offering all the charm and great food that makes Charleston so desirable to many repeat visitors.

Guest Reviews

Rated 4.5 out of 5 by 171 reviewers.
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great value I was first put off by the "Cheap motel smell" I experienced every time I walked in the front door the first 3 days of my 6 day stay. I don't know if this is some cleaning supplies hotels use but I was initially put off by it. and it was only noticeable in the lobby and first floor. After the 3rd day, that smell was not apparent. I was impressed with the large, spacious rooms, comfortable beds - love, love the pillows marked soft or firm. Great having frig in room Great breakfast choices. Staff was very helpful, very courteous. i would definitely stay here again and definitely recommend November 17, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by excellent Very clean and comfortable room, would use again when in they city, easy access, no parking fee November 17, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Nice Hotel With Helpful Desk Associate We enjoyed our stay. The Front Desk Associate was exceptionally helpful. She arranged a tour for us and was most helpful in giving us directions and information we needed. She is very good at her job and always made us feel welcome and comfortable. The cleaning staff was polite and accomodating. The Hotel was clean and the breakfast was great. I especially love the little pancakes. I would recommend this Holiday Inn Express to everyone. November 14, 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Stayed here several times in 2013 I have stayed at this location several times from May through November 2013. There was a "smoky" smell upon entering the lobby for my first few visits here, but not as of 11/08/13. The staff is very courteous and helpul, and I would recommend this location for travelers in the Charleston area. November 12, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Wonderful front desk sevice / Samatha The room was clean the bathroom was spotless!!! We saw many housekeeping staff going about their daily duties but they were all very knid and spoke as we walked pass. The hotel was located in great proximity to the port. (We were there to board a Carnival cruise from SC). It was an added benefit that we were able to leave our car at the hotel during the duration of the stay. The staff was attentive and knowledgeable about the surrounding area. The hotel and amenities were well worth the price. November 8, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Convenient Location and Good Value This was our second stay at the hotel. We were in Charleston for a fishing excursion and naturally had to leave early in the morning. The hotel is easy to get to with a variety of restaurants nearby. It is also very convenient to the many historical attractions in the Charleston area, such as the Hunley submarine, Patriot's Point, the old plantation homes, etc., as well as many other attractions, including boat ramps. The breakfast is served early, 6:30 AM, which was great for us. The rooms are very comfortable and quiet. October 31, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by our 5th time to stay here easy access to downtown and to the plantation district. very soft beds with great linens. plenty of cable stations to watch on TV. quiet rooms, nice area. October 30, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great Service This was only a 1 night stay. Very confortable, staff friendly. They were, what appeared by the people at breakfast, very full. The dining area was full to overflowing. Would stay again if we were in the area. October 27, 2013
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Average stay - nothing special Dining area was too small with people taking up room using their laptops during breakfast. The humidity made the rooms rather dank. Desk staff was excellent and helpful but the dining room person was more interested in getting out to smoke than refiling coffee pots or emptying trash containers on Sunday and Monday. Friday and Saturday dining staff were excellent. No lounge chairs or couches in the lobby or general space. October 25, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by staff friendly and accommodating Picked your hotel for a one night lay over in Charleston, price was reasonable for decent location. Staff was extremely friendly and courteous. Beds comfortable and rooms updated. Only complaint would be upon arrival, lobby and elevators smelled like smoke and we found housekeeping staff sitting in their car (parked right next to our vehicle), smoking in parking lot. Overall, we would definitely recommend hotel. October 24, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Very convenient without the high cost of downtown. Needed a clean, economical place to stay overnight following a wedding which was actually in Mt. Pleasant. All similar hotels there were filled, with only much more expensive ones available. This was only a 20 minute drive away, quite a bit more reasonably priced. It was clean, comfortable, safe and friendly. Just perfect for our need. It was also very convenient for a quick drive downtown before returning home the next day. Our first stay at a Holiday Inn Express. We will add to our list of places to stay. October 23, 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Clean, comfortable, welcoming We visited Charleston from Boston, staying 4 nights at the Holiday In Express on US Hwy 17. The room was very clean, the bed was really comfortable, and any time we were in the room to rest it was quiet and peaceful. The staff could not have been more courteous and welcoming. I would recommend this hotel to anyone who is looking for an affordable, comfortable place to stay! October 19, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Southern Hospitality At Its Best This was our fourth stay at this Holiday Inn Express. Everyone is so helpful and courteous. It is a pleasure to stay with them. October 17, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Very Nice Holiday Inn Express Very nice clean hotels. Breakfast adequate, nice fitness room. Staff very nice and helpful. Will stay again when we are in the area. My only suggestion...the sign at the street needs to be larger or higher, it's difficult to see. October 17, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Quiet and comfortable close to downtown without the price. Our room was clean and the service was great. Was surprised at free breakfast to be able to get a cheese omelet and sausage patty. We will return next time we are in Charleston. October 13, 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Good, clean, affordable. We found the hotel to be very affordable, considering the costs in the city of Charleston. The staff was extremely friendly and helpful. Room was clean, smelled clean. The only complaint, and it's a small one, is that when you walked into the front lobby,it smelled of smoke, probably because the smoking area is right outside the front door. Probably wouldn't bother some,but if you are not a smoker, not a good first impression. Otherwise, would highly recommend the hotel and will stay there again whenever I am in the area. October 11, 2013
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Nice alternative to Downtown Charleston! The overall stay was very good. We checked in very quickly with no problems. Staff was courteous and efficient. The room was on the first floor, which was very convenient and actually very quiet. The room was clean and nicely decorated. I can't comment on the breakfast, as we did not eat at the hotel. The only negative was the smell of cigarette smoke in all of the common areas. The room did not smell of cigarette smoke, but as you walk in the front door, you could definitely smell cigarette smoke. We used a different entrance the rest of the stay, but unfortunately, could still smell smoke in the hallways. Overall, nice stay, about 10-15 minutes from downtown. There was a little traffic, but not bad. Price considerably less than downtown hotels. If you want something cheaper than downtown, this is a good alternative. Still overpriced for HIE, but definitely cheaper than downtown! October 9, 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Ebony was great Ebony was always smiling and gave us great service October 8, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Comfortable Room and nice free Breakfast in Lobby. The Staff was helpful and informative, and accommodated our needs. The house maids did a very nice job of taking care of our room and we found them very pleasant . The Hotel is well located and lends itself to good access to the local landmarks and history of Charelston. We had a car so we fully enjoyed our two day stay. October 5, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Fresh, clean, comfortable, and great hospitality This is a very good Holiday Inn Express. We loved the location as it is 5 miles from the downtown historic area- so you do not have to deal with the many traffic and parking issues unless you choose to. Easy access to plantations and close to The Glass Onion Restaurant that we fell in love with. Comfortable beds provided a great nights sleep. Wonderful hospitality so you are not a stranger. Even though it is right on Highway 17 it is so quiet at the pool we got food to go (yes from The Glass Onion) and a terrific bottle wine and enjoyed my birthday dinner at a great table poolside, on a perfect evening. Just the two of us. Nice. The place is very clean both inside and out and feels very safe. October 2, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great Quick Vacation I recently spent a long weekend at the Holiday Inn in Charleston SC. This hotel was very nice and I will certainly stay there again. The staff was very friendly and the room was very nice. We had a king size bed and it was very comfortable and all the bed linens seemed to be new. The hotel had fresh baked cookies every day in the lobby with fresh lemonade which was a nice treat in the afternoons. I would highly recommend this hotel to anyone traveling through the area. October 2, 2013
Rated 1.0 out of 5.0 by Never stay here! The Customer service is terrible. I would recommend sleeping in your car before staying here. September 25, 2013
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Smell Beds firm and comfortable. Lobby had chemical smell Blower in action to dry hallway carpeting on our floor -no one knew why Some breakfast items were not fresh Staff very nice Bathroom lighting poor Roach in bathroom upon checkout September 24, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great experience Easy access to drive into Charleston. Very comfortable bed. Quiet. Very nice. Friendly employees. September 23, 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Comfortable king suite The suite was comfy. I had concerns because we were situated right behind the elevator. We could not hear it at all. The hotel needs another elevator and a set of stairs in the middle of the hotel. Not just at each end of the hallway. I was not recognized at checking as a Priority club member. Was not even asked. We did fix this later in our stay. The suite bathroom was really small. Two people could not navigate in this small space together September 22, 2013
Rated 1.0 out of 5.0 by Poor experience When we arrived they acted like we did not have a reservation even though we rewards club members. They did not give us the code for Internet access, and the room they gave us smelled damp and was freezing. The heater did not work. Breakfast was not available until 6:30 and we had to leave before then so we did get any. They did not give us a receipt for our stay either. September 21, 2013
Rated 2.0 out of 5.0 by worst bed ever The mattress and the linens were the worst I have ever experienced. The mattress pad was so hard I ended up taking it of in the middle of the night. I asked to have them changed and they were replaced with the exact same thing. Both mattresses had indentations in them, I guess they were really old. The staff was polite and the breakfast was nice. September 12, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Virginia Family This was our first trip to Charleston. Staff was exceptional and we were very satisfied with the accommodations. Excellent breakfast and all around service. We will definitely stay here on our next visit. Thanks! September 5, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great Find, New Clean Rooms Very nicely appointed newer hotel with very comfortable, clean rooms. Desk staff was extremely friendly and accommodating. Complementary breakfast was great. Used the business center and Wi-Fi were both very good. Highly recommended. Stayed here for 2 nights then moved to the Francis Marion for 3 nights. Should have stayed here the entire trip. September 4, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by good service and location Stayed for three nights staff were very friendly and helpful especially Sherry. Ideal base for bus into Charleston would stay here again August 28, 2013
<<prev 2 3 4 5 6 7 next>>
Hotel Exterior
Hotel Exterior
Select to close.
Hotel Exterior Enjoy Historic Charleston, fall in love with Holiday Inn! Holiday Inn Charleston Historic Downtown Meeting & Woolfe Street Holiday Inn Charleston Downtown  Large Map Charleston Peninsula Relax in the Lobby at Holiday Inn Charleston Historic Downtown Welcome to Holiday Inn Charleston Historic Downtown Welcome to the Holiday Inn Charleston Historic Downtown
Select to close.
Click here to earn up to 5,000 bonus points or 1,000 bonus points every night.
Close
Check In
(e.g. Jul-25-2014)
Check Out
(e.g. Jul-26-2014)
Check Availability
Loading