• English  English
    Select to close.
    Current Settings are:
      /  English

    Change Preferences:
    Country / Region of Residence:
    Available Languages:
  • |
  • |
  • |
  • 1 888 HOLIDAY
Select to close.
Select to close.
Email or IHG® Rewards Club # PIN
Not a member?Join Today!
Forgot PIN
All fields are required.
 
If you have forgotten or lost your Personal Identification Number (PIN), we can email your PIN to the email address in your IHG® Rewards Club account profile.
If you do not have an email address in your profile, please contact your local IHG® Rewards Club Customer Care  to source your PIN and to update your profile with your email address. When you receive your PIN you can also update your email address viawww.ihgrewardsclub.com/email.
IHG® Rewards Club # Email Address

Not a member?Join Today!
Create PIN
All fields are required.
IHG® Rewards Club # ZIP/Postal Code
First Name Last Name
Please select a 4 number Personal Identification Number (PIN) which will be used to access your IHG® Rewards Club account.
PIN Verify PIN
 
Not a member?Join Today!
Create Email
All fields are required.
Thank you. Your PIN has been created. Please enter your email address so you can use it to log into the site in the future.
Email Address Verify Email Address
 
Email Hotel Get Directions Add to Favorites Print Fact Sheet

Book this Hotel

Best Price Guarantee
1

Reward Nights
When redeeming points for a Reward Night, you may only book one room at a time.

Once you complete your Reward Night reservation you will be given the option to duplicate this reservation.

(e.g. Oct-01-2014)
(e.g. Oct-02-2014)
Have a Group Code?
Have a Corporate ID?
Check Availability
Processing your request...

* Requires affiliation in the respective organization.

** Best Available Rate Search does not include affiliation rates.

Select to close.

To book more than 9 rooms for one stay or request a quote, please use our Easy Meetings tool, call 1-800-MEETING (in United States, Mexico and Canada) or contact a Global Sales Office.

Close Button
Your Recently Viewed Hotels

About our Hotel

Location: Downtown/City Center

  • Location: Downtown/City Center
  • Closest City: CHARLESTON
  • Distance From Hotel: 0.0MI
  • Local time zone: GMT-04:00

Check In: 4:00 PM Check Out: 11:00 AM

  • Check In: 4:00 PM
  • Check Out: 11:00 AM
  • Minimum check-in age: 21
  • Late checkout available

Credit cards

Credit cards

  • American Express
  • Carte Blanche
  • Diners Club
  • Discover
  • Master Card
  • Visa

Accessibility

Accessibility

  • Number of Rooms:7
  • Parking
  • Service Animals Allowed

Languages

Languages

  1. English

Pet Policy

Pet Policy

Pleasse accept our apologies, the Holiday Inn Charelston Historic Downtown does not accept pets. Kennels are located within several miles of the hotel. Please call us in advance to make arrangements for your furry loved ones. Guide Dogs are welcome.

What's Nearby

What's Nearby

Attraction:
Year-round Festivals and Special Events
Distance From Hotel:0.0MI
Attraction:
Charleston for Families! The BEST things to do!
Distance From Hotel:0.0MI
Attraction:
Charleston is a Photographer's Paradise!
Distance From Hotel:0.0MI
Attraction:
St. Philip's Episcopal Church Steeple
Distance From Hotel:0.0MI

Parking

Parking

  • Number of parking spaces:82
  • Car Parking Available
  • Parking is valet parking only in the hotels parking garage for 16 dollars per day plus 8.5 percent sales tax. Offsite parking for oversized vehicles. Additional parking 2 blocks at Visitors Center 12.00 per day.
  • Valet parking fee  ( 16.0 USD )

Internet

Standard Internet Service

Standard Internet service is free for all guests
Wireless Internet available in Standard Rooms,Suites,Business Center,Public Areas
Wired Internet available in Standard Rooms,Suites

Facility

Facility

  • Total number of rooms:120
  • Total number of suites:3
  • Total number of rooms with only one bed:59
  • Total number of rooms with only double beds:61
  • Total number of non-smoking rooms:120
  • Total number of rooms for the physically challenged:7
  • Interior corridor
  • Total number of floors:5
Known for its rich history, well-preserved architecture, a celebrated restaurant community and mannerly people; Charleston has been named Top U.S. City by Conde Nast Traveler 2013 Readers Choice Awards for the third year. This coastal destination remains one of the top destination cities in the world. Holiday Inn Charleston Historic Downtown is proud to be a part of Historic Charleston blending contemporary luxury with traditional southern hospitality. Situated on Meeting and Woolfe Street; we are
View More
Known for its rich history, well-preserved architecture, a celebrated restaurant community and mannerly people; Charleston has been named Top U.S. City by Conde Nast Traveler 2013 Readers Choice Awards for the third year. This coastal destination remains one of the top destination cities in the world. Holiday Inn Charleston Historic Downtown is proud to be a part of Historic Charleston blending contemporary luxury with traditional southern hospitality. Situated on Meeting and Woolfe Street; we are just one block from the Charleston Visitor's Center, minutes from attractions, boutique shops and restaurants located throughout downtown Charleston. Our location is within close proximity to other Charleston's historic sites, attractions, museums, sport venues, beaches and more; providing easy access to I-26 and US Highway 17. The Meeting Room Restaurant & Tapas Bar offers farm-to-table dining with a twist on tradition with American inspired entrees prepared with local ingredients offering something to suit every palette. Unwind in an atmosphere of relaxed elegance that allows friends and family to meet and enjoy great food, signature cocktails, wine and beer. After a long day workout in our fitness center, take a dip in our heated outdoor pool or bask in the warm Charleston sun. Stay cool and relax around our outdoor covered patio with overhead fans and living room style seating. Visit our business center and stay connected to electronic devices with free WIFI.
View Less
Features
Our Charleston Hotel has the ideal location in the peninsula. Holiday Inn Charleston Historic Downtown is easy accessible to I-526 and US Highway 17 and the gateway to plantations, picturesque islands and beaches, seasonal events, festivals, wedding venues and more. Offering all the charm and great food that makes Charleston so desirable to many repeat visitors.

Guest Reviews

Rated 4.5 out of 5 by 222 reviewers.
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by OUTSTANDING HOTEL FOR THE MONEY We have stayed at many hotels over the years including five star facilities that did not match up to the excellence of this hotel. Comfortable beds, quiet facility, excellent cleanliness, wonderful breakfast and beverage service. Staff was helpful and courteous Holiday Inn ownership at this facility knows what they are doing. June 8, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great visit to Charleston The hotel was very clean, breakfast was standard fare for HIxpress, (processed eggs, meats, gravy, biscuits, etc. + cereals and plenty of their cinnamon rolls). Staff was very accommodating and polite. Would recommend staying and would stay again if in the area. June 7, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Hotel Review Our experience at this hotel was very good. We had never visited the area before and were pleased with the location to the various tourist areas. Housekeeping was a little relaxed, (not as clean as I would prefer) but overall it was a good experience. We would definitely recommend this to others planning to visit Charleston. June 5, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 excellent service and clean very enjoyable stay, Very pleasant Staff Thought that the price could be a little better being a Member of the Holiday Inn Club and IHG otherwiseVeryVery Good Keep up the Good work June 2, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Comfortable bed and pillows. The motel was nice. It's a great benefit to have the complimentary breakfast. Pool area was nice. Front desk personnel were friendly but not very informative. The motel was further out of the downtown area than it appeared and the desk personnel knew little about the bus schedule that took place right by their location. June 1, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Nice quiet, clean, comfortable room You can count on a nice place to stay with a great breakfast . The pool looked very nice, but I didn't use it. The cookies at 5:00 and coffee [or tea] always available were a nice touch. The staff was helpful and efficient. The place was spotless. Close--but not too close to the attractions. May 22, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great accommodations and guest servives During our recent stay our accommodations and the guest services provided were fantastic. That's why we have chosen this hotel in the past and will continue doing so in the future. May 18, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Overall Experience Comfortable bed, huge pillows with soft and firm choice, great breakfast and evening cookie snacks. Staff was great, courteous, and helpful. wi fi was helpful. May 12, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Loved it, would stay here again!! The room was very large we had 2 queen beds that were so comfortable we wanted to take the bed home. The room was very clean with a fridge and microwave!, the staff was very friendly. Breakfast was pretty good, coffee and cinnamon rolls were really good. The pool was very relaxing after a long day of sightseeing. Close drive to restaurants and Charleston. We really enjoyed this nice hotel and will stay here again!! May 12, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great service and caring staff. The room was large and very clean. The towels were plentiful and very soft - not scratchy like a lot of chains. The breakfast was good with a nice variety of items. The coffee was available day and evening. It was nice to be away from the hubbub of the downtown area which was 10 minutes away. The staff was very friendly and helpful. May 4, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by SC Getaway My stay overall was good. I had one small issue and management addressed it as soon as they were informed. My room was clean and comfortable. Nice, quiet, and relaxing just the way I like it. We were just close enough to downtown. May 3, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by easy drive to historic area The =room was lovely, the breakfast area very nice & the coffee very good, but the hot breakfast choices tasted just awful, if you want more than cold cereal or bagel,l go out & have a GOOD breakfast SOMEWHERE ELSE April 23, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Would stay here again The service was top notch, friendly and courteous. The room was comfortable and the staff was helpful. They printed maps for me if needed and provided address information to various locations. This hotel is centrally located for everything that we did and saw. I would recommend this hotel to friends and family. Great job! April 20, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by good experience overall especially the entier staff The only negative would be the air conditioner was set at 62 and it took awhile to warm up, plus the conditioner made too much noise. April 18, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Charleston Bucket List My husband and I decided to visit Charleston and wanted to find a place close to the downtown area while not paying the big downtown prices. We found it with Holiday Inn Express CHARLESTON US HWY 17 & I-526. Downtown was about 8 or 9 minutes away, depending on traffic, it was a straight shot down Rte 17. The hotel was also close to all the other points of interest. As for the hotel staff they were great! Very helpful all around. They gave us great suggestions for place to visit, eat at, etc. Everything was always clean, and well presented. The breakfasts served where fine; depending on the time it could be a little crowded, but overall it was good. The only drawback, and it is very minor, was a “stale,” perhaps cigarette smoke smell that lingered in the hallways. This hotel accommodates both non-smokers and smokers. Maybe a better filtration systems is needed, it would not stop me from going again and enjoying myself. TM April 16, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Great food selection and comfortable rooms. My husband and I were on a road trip to several southern cities. We thoroughly enjoyed the Charleston area for it beauty and history. When we first arrived, I wished the staff were more informed about Charleston city and it's restaurants. Thank you! April 11, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Will we return? That would be a definite yes since the quality, cleanliness, and staff made our stay very comfortable. Thank you! April 4, 2014
Rated 2.0 out of 5.0 by Pretty sad. Rude staff member The staff that checked us in were polite and efficient , unfortunately that is where the good points end.. The room was loud. Heard constant banging of doors and such all night long. The saddest part of the trip was breakfast where an angry breakfast worker practically shoved everyone out of the way saying "'excuse me" in anything but a polite voice. I must say I was underwhelmed overall. April 2, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great Value You can't go wrong with this Holiday Inn Express. The staff were very friendly. The room was so comfortable. The beds are great! The location was great for a variety of destinations. The free breakfast was very well done. I would love to stay there again! March 22, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great value. Been going to this holiday inn for many years, had many managers in charge over that time, all have maintained a good property with great help. Quality standards are still very high. Thank you March 20, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Good value for the money. Helpful staff, clean room, good value for the money. March 7, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Nice business trip to Charleston Everything was great, my only concern is for Holiday Inn Express as a whole. Can you offer something different once in a while for breakfast? I love Holiday Inn Express, I use an IHG hotel every chance I can so for someone who spends 3 nights a week in a hotel, just want a little variety for breakfast. And BTW, the breakfast options are not that great to begin with but I do appreciate it March 7, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Quiet, Comfortable, Great Service This is the 3rd Holiday Inn Express in which we have stayed in the Charleston area. This property lived up the usual standards of High quality accomodations with Great Service. The hostess at the desk greated us with a smile, effiently checked us in & made sure we had no unanswered questions. We even arrived early, and they were happy to check us in early since there was a room ready. Our room was nice & cool, clean, quiet and comfortable. We were very close to the lobby, yet did not hear any noises. Room #107. Later on, the front desk called to make sure we had everything we needed! The beds were very comfortable - memory foam maybe? As usual, you could select the type of pillow you wanted (soft/firm). The continental breakfast was included, and had a choice of pancakes, eggs, gravy biscuits, bakon, cinnamon rolls and more. The area is a bit small if you get there during prime time (after 8:30), but nearly all hotels are that way. Finally, location. It's easy to get to 526 (very close), and of course, the hotel is on hwy 17. It isn't far to get to Folly Beach, or even Downtown Charleston. There is also a mall nearby and plenty of restaurants. Just look off hwy 17, a lot are not on the highway. A great stay. March 3, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Pleasant Staff When we arrived the front desk was very busy. The woman looking after the check-in was very pleasant and accommodating. She did an excellent job getting everyone settled and to there rooms. Our room was nice and clean and bed was comfortable. We only stayed the one night and we enjoyed our stay. March 3, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by OUTSTANDING EXPERIENCE! As we are Holiday Inn Express Priority Club members, we have stayed in quite a few! This one has to be one of the better ones! The staff, location, and comfort were outstanding....easy off/on to downtown Charleston, the plantations, and USS Yorktown! I would recommend this hotel to ANYONE who want a great place to stay in comfort.....we will be back! February 25, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 Best Value In Town My sister and I took a short trip to Charleston recently. It was my 4th time but her first time to visit the city. This is the first time for me to stay at this hotel. It was so easy to get downtown to all that is going on;close to Magnolia Plantation;staff directed us to Gilligans,a local sefood resaurant, which was a great relaxed place to eat. This hotel was very clean.The beds were awesome. The staff was helpful and really knows what customer service is all about. Compared to downtown prices, this is a great valuse. I would definitely stay here again. February 20, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great value and excellent cruise ship package The staff was very helpful with sightseeing ideas. The included breakfast was excellent. Good value received with the "Don't miss the boat" package. The shuttle drivers taking us to and from the cruise ship were prompt and courtesy. Highly recommend this property to anyone traveling to Charleston, SC. February 19, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Comfortable bed and good breakfast Both my husband and I loved the bed, which doesn't happen often since we have different preferences. I think it was a memory foam of some sort. The breakfast buffet had a decent selection with fruit, cereal, pancakes, yogurt, eggs (scrambled and hard boiled#, bacon, biscuits and gravy, and an assortment of bread #bagels, English muffins, muffin, etc.) which was welcome after staying at a higher star hotel the previous weekend with a much lesser selection. But I am also partial to Holiday Inn's cinnamon rolls and was very happy! We got in late and left at check-out so interaction with the staff was minimum, but the little we had was pleasant. The halls also seemed quiet. Overall nice place at a decent price. February 5, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Excellent stay. I was blown away with the staff and value for this stay. We have been on the road for about a month and this was the quietest and most comfortable room yet. So very pleased we chose this hotel and highly recommend this hotel! Thank you all so much. January 24, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Staff was great! The best part of my stay was the friendly staff. I felt like family - everyone was genuine, helpful, and kind. Thank you all! January 11, 2014
<<prev 2 3 4 5 6 ... 9 next>>
Hotel Exterior
Hotel Exterior
Select to close.
Hotel Exterior Enjoy Historic Charleston, fall in love with Holiday Inn! The Battery. A great way to experience the Charleston Peninsula Arthur Ravanel Bridge known as the NEW Cooper River Bridge Holiday Inn Charleston Historic Downtown Meeting & Woolfe Street Famous Pineapple Fountain at Waterfront Park Historic Charleston USS Yorktown located at Patriots Point Enjoy a dinner cruise around the Charleston Peninsula Isle of Palms Beach Resort Seabrook Island Holiday Inn Charleston Downtown  Large Map Charleston Peninsula Welcome to Holiday Inn Charleston Historic Downtown Relax in the Lobby at Holiday Inn Charleston Historic Downtown Welcome to Holiday Inn Charleston Historic Downtown Holiday Inn Downtown Charleston - Enjoy lots of Natural Lighting Welcome to the Holiday Inn Charleston Historic Downtown
Select to close.
Terms & Conditions
If you are not already a member, join now.
Earn at least two free nights, 50,000 bonus points or 10,000 miles. Book Now.
Close
Check In
(e.g. Oct-01-2014)
Check Out
(e.g. Oct-02-2014)
Check Availability
Loading