• English  English
    Select to close.
    Current Settings are:
      /  English

    Change Preferences:
    Country / Region of Residence:
    Available Languages:
  • |
  • |
  • |
  • 1 888 HOLIDAY
Select to close.
Select to close.
Email or IHG® Rewards Club # PIN
Not a member?Join Today!
Forgot PIN
All fields are required.
 
If you have forgotten or lost your Personal Identification Number (PIN), we can email your PIN to the email address in your IHG® Rewards Club account profile.
If you do not have an email address in your profile, please contact your local IHG® Rewards Club Customer Care  to source your PIN and to update your profile with your email address. When you receive your PIN you can also update your email address viawww.ihgrewardsclub.com/email.
IHG® Rewards Club # Email Address

Not a member?Join Today!
Create PIN
All fields are required.
IHG® Rewards Club # ZIP/Postal Code
First Name Last Name
Please select a 4 number Personal Identification Number (PIN) which will be used to access your IHG® Rewards Club account.
PIN Verify PIN
 
Not a member?Join Today!
Create Email
All fields are required.
Thank you. Your PIN has been created. Please enter your email address so you can use it to log into the site in the future.
Email Address Verify Email Address
 
Email Hotel Get Directions Add to Favorites Print Fact Sheet

Book this Hotel

Best Price Guarantee
1

Reward Nights
When redeeming points for a Reward Night, you may only book one room at a time.

Once you complete your Reward Night reservation you will be given the option to duplicate this reservation.

(e.g. Sep-17-2014)
(e.g. Sep-18-2014)
Have a Group Code?
Have a Corporate ID?
Check Availability
Processing your request...

* Requires affiliation in the respective organization.

** Best Available Rate Search does not include affiliation rates.

Select to close.

To book more than 9 rooms for one stay or request a quote, please use our Easy Meetings tool, call 1-800-MEETING (in United States, Mexico and Canada) or contact a Global Sales Office.

Close Button
Your Recently Viewed Hotels

About our Hotel

Location: Downtown/City Center

  • Location: Downtown/City Center
  • Closest City: CHARLESTON
  • Distance From Hotel: 0.0MI
  • Local time zone: GMT-04:00

Check In: 4:00 PM Check Out: 11:00 AM

  • Check In: 4:00 PM
  • Check Out: 11:00 AM
  • Minimum check-in age: 21
  • Late checkout available

Credit cards

Credit cards

  • American Express
  • Carte Blanche
  • Diners Club
  • Discover
  • Master Card
  • Visa

Accessibility

Accessibility

  • Number of Rooms:7
  • Parking
  • Service Animals Allowed

Languages

Languages

  1. English

Pet Policy

Pet Policy

Pleasse accept our apologies, the Holiday Inn Charelston Historic Downtown does not accept pets. Kennels are located within several miles of the hotel. Please call us in advance to make arrangements for your furry loved ones. Guide Dogs are welcome.

What's Nearby

What's Nearby

Attraction:
Year-round Festivals and Special Events
Distance From Hotel:0.0MI
Attraction:
Charleston for Families! The BEST things to do!
Distance From Hotel:0.0MI
Attraction:
Charleston is a Photographer's Paradise!
Distance From Hotel:0.0MI
Attraction:
St. Philip's Episcopal Church Steeple
Distance From Hotel:0.0MI

Parking

Parking

  • Number of parking spaces:82
  • Car Parking Available
  • Parking is valet parking only in the hotels parking garage for 16 dollars per day plus 8.5 percent sales tax. Offsite parking for oversized vehicles. Additional parking 2 blocks at Visitors Center 12.00 per day.
  • Valet parking fee  ( 16.0 USD )

Internet

Standard Internet Service

Standard Internet service is free for all guests
Wireless Internet available in Standard Rooms,Suites,Business Center,Public Areas
Wired Internet available in Standard Rooms,Suites

Facility

Facility

  • Total number of rooms:120
  • Total number of suites:3
  • Total number of rooms with only one bed:59
  • Total number of rooms with only double beds:61
  • Total number of non-smoking rooms:120
  • Total number of rooms for the physically challenged:7
  • Interior corridor
  • Total number of floors:5
Known for its rich history, well-preserved architecture, a celebrated restaurant community and mannerly people; Charleston has been named Top U.S. City by Conde Nast Traveler 2013 Readers Choice Awards for the third year. This coastal destination remains one of the top destination cities in the world. Holiday Inn Charleston Historic Downtown is proud to be a part of Historic Charleston blending contemporary luxury with traditional southern hospitality. Situated on Meeting and Woolfe Street; we are
View More
Known for its rich history, well-preserved architecture, a celebrated restaurant community and mannerly people; Charleston has been named Top U.S. City by Conde Nast Traveler 2013 Readers Choice Awards for the third year. This coastal destination remains one of the top destination cities in the world. Holiday Inn Charleston Historic Downtown is proud to be a part of Historic Charleston blending contemporary luxury with traditional southern hospitality. Situated on Meeting and Woolfe Street; we are just one block from the Charleston Visitor's Center, minutes from attractions, boutique shops and restaurants located throughout downtown Charleston. Our location is within close proximity to other Charleston's historic sites, attractions, museums, sport venues, beaches and more; providing easy access to I-26 and US Highway 17. The Meeting Room Restaurant & Tapas Bar offers farm-to-table dining with a twist on tradition with American inspired entrees prepared with local ingredients offering something to suit every palette. Unwind in an atmosphere of relaxed elegance that allows friends and family to meet and enjoy great food, signature cocktails, wine and beer. After a long day workout in our fitness center, take a dip in our heated outdoor pool or bask in the warm Charleston sun. Stay cool and relax around our outdoor covered patio with overhead fans and living room style seating. Visit our business center and stay connected to electronic devices with free WIFI.
View Less
Features
Our Charleston Hotel has the ideal location in the peninsula. Holiday Inn Charleston Historic Downtown is easy accessible to I-526 and US Highway 17 and the gateway to plantations, picturesque islands and beaches, seasonal events, festivals, wedding venues and more. Offering all the charm and great food that makes Charleston so desirable to many repeat visitors.

Guest Reviews

Rated 4.4 out of 5 by 243 reviewers.
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Clean, Close and Comfortable This was our first time staying at this hotel and I am glad we decided to check it out. We received 5 star service from the time Tyler checked us in until the time the bellman checked us out. The room was plenty big enough (much bigger than most Charleston hotel rooms), clean, and within walking distance to the great restaurants and nightlife Charleston is famous for. Another great feature was the bar and restaurant area near the lobby which had great food, drinks and service. It was a perfect spot to watch the basketball game before going back out for the night. In all, it was everything I had hoped for and expected. I can't say enough good things about this hotel and I will definitely be making reservations here again in the fall. March 12, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Best holiday inn on our trip to Florida This was the 4th Holiday Inn we stayed in on our trip to Florida and it was THE BEST. wonderful experience March 12, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great service The staff was very nice and I thanks goes out to Brandon at the front desk for going out of his way to please us! The rooms are large and I enjoyed the labels of the pillows from soft to firm. Breakfast was excellent and very reasonable in price. Would've been nice if they were open for lunch but they do have a happy hour every evening during the weeknight. The free trolley runs across the street about every 20 minutes and it's free into town. The visitor center is only five small blocks from the hotel which was valuable for booking tours. Good restaurants about 3-5 blocks away. The hotel is right at the edge of the historical district which is not walking distance to the heart of downtown but with the trolley you get there in minutes. The trolley makes a lot of stops and covers the whole heart of downtown. Sure saves a lot of money from having to take taxis! March 10, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Holiday Inn Downtown comfortable, nicely remodeled I stayed here for a recent conference and found it to be clean and very well decorated/maintained. Wish I had more time to see Charleston but do plan to return! Friendly staff, assisted with airline check in as well as shuttle to and from airport. Conference facilities were good and I would recommend this convenient location. March 10, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by my stay in Charleston Very nice room, very quiet and relaxing. Walked to everything downtown, although a hike to some places close to the Battery but great distance to King street pubs and Dinning. Valet parking very quick and helpful. March 10, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great Service - Great Food - Great Staff I recently spent four nights at this Holiday Inn and truly enjoyed my stay. The hotel is very clean, comfortable and offers all the comforts of home. The entire staff is very friendly and the location is very good. I especially enjoy dining in the restaurant. March 9, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by 1st time Took a while to settle in and get comfortable with the location as surroundings werent exactly heart warming. Turned out to be just fine to get to the active spots of King ST., the market area and coast. Staff front desk folks Kristen and Brendan bent over backwards to get us headed in the right direction to the key spots. Not sure how to compare value because we paid with points, but the $16 plus tax per day to park a car seemed a bit much. For only a soggy, cold 40 hour stay we learned enough to commit to a return for 4 birthday celebrating women in the fall when all the facilities will be in season. March 8, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Traveling Man We enjoyed our stay very much. The hotel was modern and clean and the location was great. The staff was polite and helpful, from the valet to the desk clerk. They have a daily parking charge, but the parking is in an attached garage with nighttime security, so for peace of mind I thought it was worth it. If there is anything negative about this hotel it would be the restaurant. We decided to eat at the hotel and just relax for the rest of the evening. Big mistake. There was only one other couple in the restaurant and that should have been our first clue. My wife's steak was over cooked, the potatoes were burnt, and the creamed spinach was barely warm. When the waiter finally came to check on us, we informed him of this. He offered to get my wife another steak, but she didn't want to wait for another to be cooked. They gave us a free dessert (a brownie with ice cream) and it tasted like it was weeks old. With two glasses of wine and tip, the two meals almost cost what the room did. The price would not have been an issue if it had been good. March 7, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by modern comfort in historical district Beautiful modern hotel within walking distance of historic district, great restaurants, entertainment. Staff was great. March 7, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Jim The staff was excellent and very helpful. Comfortable bed. March 7, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Staff very helpful and comfortable room Although the hotel was clean, comfortable and the staff helpful in getting us cabs, etc. we were quite a distance from the restaurants, shops and the market. The name of the hotel "historic downtown" is a little misleading in that we thought we would be near the area where the market, etc was going to be. March 7, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 Great hotel, Great city I had not stayed in Holiday inns for awhile, express yes, but not the full service. I was highly impressed. Absolutely beautiful hotel, with excellent ammenties, food, room, service, staff etc. I love Charleston. I lived there for 13 years in 70/s and 80's. Was married there and think the world of Charleston. Your hotel is in a great location, walking distance to everything, and excellent value. Again highly impressed and will defintely stay there again. March 7, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great Experience We have stayed at this location 3 times. Each time has been an enjoyable experience. The room, the staff, and the location are excellent. On our last stay, we went to dinner and a jazz concert. We were able to walk to the restaurant and the theatre. Walking the streets of Charleston is quite an experience. We had a wonderful time. February 27, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Great location, good value Room was as expected, bathroom shower was awesome. Good temp control. Not sure the valet parking was a good value. February 25, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by 5 Stars Our stay at the Charleston Historic Downtown was, by far, our best Holiday Inn experience to date. It is new, modern, clean and very professionally run - a classic and charming place. We thank our host, Brennan for his attentive service and knowledge of the city - every Holiday Inn should have a Brennan and be managed as he so expertly does at the Charleston Historic Downtown. DM February 25, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great hotel Great hotel, good location, good staff. Nothing else to say. February 24, 2014
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Come on - you can do better Arrived late on a Friday, around 9pm. Very friendly staff at reception and valet parking. The hotel booklet in the room said that the bar was open till 11pm so I went down at 10pm (hadn't eaten) to find the bar already shut. Saturday morning, I went down for breakfast and ordered oatmeal. After 15-20 minutes, a bowl of uncooked oats arrived. I have photos to prove it! I sent them back and the F&B Manager brought me another bowl which was a little better but still not looking like anything like cooked oatmeal. He explained that they had to follow the Holiday Inn cooking instructions, so I would suggest they are wrong. I sent back the second bowl too. The people themselves in the hotel are great - very welcoming and friendly. The rooms are good too but the Food/Bar mishaps plus the distance to walk to the main points of interest in the town mean that I wouldn't stay there again but I'm sure that with a little refocusing, this hotel could be much better. February 5, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by New HI Property in Charleston New HI Hotel on upper Meeting provides excellent value within acceptable walking distance from downtown. Location on upper Meeting just shy of the Crosstown is a bit of a walk from the Market and other Calhoun/Broad St activities. In house restaurant is nice for the idea of quick meal & drinks (only experience) but is far out matched by the abundance of restaurants on King St. Walk to hotel is acceptable for groups, suggest taxi for others. Rooms were comfy for rest and business purposes. February 3, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Excellent property. Great restaurant. Highly reccommended This is a modern hotel well located in the historic district close to the Visitors Centre and the cruise ship terminal. Also close to Avis, Budget and Enterprise car rental depots. The rooms are large and well appointed. Quality bedding and linen. Friendly and helpful staff. Excellent food in restaurant for breakfast and dinner. Good value for money. Would happily recommend this establishment. February 3, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great place to stay Nice room great staff very convenient to upper king January 31, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Slight glitch but handled well Our room was not cleaned one day and we noted a note under door stating that we had the "do not disturb" sign on door. The note nor the sign were there when we left the room and a cart was in the hallway. Upon our return, I called the Front Desk to request the room cleaned. I was impressed with the speed of response, the non defensiveness of all staff involved and the fact that Nicole from Front Desk came to the room to check the status of the room and our response. I worked in the Long Term Care industry and know and appreciate good Customer Service! January 29, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Priority, what's that? My wife and I spent a night here this past weekend. While, like others, we were surprised at the walking distance to downtown, we found cutting over to King St. made the journey much more enjoyable. ~ The room was great; clean and roomy. My only complaint is my status as a Priority Club / IHG member. At check-in there was no recognition for being a member other than a comment, "I see you used some of your points for this stay." No thank you for being a member, no complimentary water or token of appreciation that we've always received in the past. At check out I asked the gal at the desk about my concern and she stated, "We've been told by corporate that we don't do that anymore." When the manager came by and overheard our conversation, he gave me two bottles of water and thanked me for staying, but never really clarified my concern. I'm not sure when the policy changed, but recognizing club membership isn't a priority any more, you're just another guest. January 22, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Excellent hotel After a 10 days trip with 9 differents hotel nights, I can compare ... This hotel is excellent , with a great and gentle staff. Good location from down town( less 1 mile) Nice and comfortable room and bed. The only small thing is the breakfast . There is no breakfast buffet , just a la carte breakfast . Good value. January 20, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by far away hotel located too from away from the main historic district, dicey neighborhood January 16, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Nice downtown hotel The Holiday Inn was situated close to downtown. The room was less expensive than those at nearby hotels. It was clean and handsomely furnished, like it had recently been remodeled. The bed was a bit on the stiff side but still comfortable. Staff were friendly and professional. January 15, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Premier Mid-Town Lodging Magical weekend in Mid-Town Charleston. Location, location, location--new restaurants, clubs, galleries and excellent weather too. The view from the suites are memorably breathtaking. December 25, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Outstanding Staff Everyone we encountered was friendly and professional from the valet parking person to the maintenance lady. This is a new facility on the edge of a developing tourist mecca. Potential use of the free tourist trolley offsets location. We were able to use a Travelzoo offer which made the weekday one-night stay very attractive. The rooms are new and noise from the hallway and adjoining rooms are a distraction. Recommend a higher floor to avoid street noises and a room facing the bridge for a better view. December 23, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by December Fun The Charleston Holiday Inn was a perfect place for a short December getaway from the mountains. Great location was a short walk from the Visitor's Center on Meeting Street and the trolley to downtown was across the street. We used valet parking and the guys were all attentive, quick and personable. We thought the staff were excellent from the front desk to the bar. We were there mid week in early December so it was quiet, but we enjoyed every moment of the trip. Very comfortable bed and we always had a great sleep well into the morning. December 15, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Delightful staff & great experience Had only one night to stay in Charleston & this hotel was a great choice. It was close to what we wanted to do & the staff was ready & able to answer all our questions. Don't usually sleep well the first night in any location but I slept great on the comfortable bed. Had in room refrig & coffee pot. Restaurant is open breakfast & dinner. Did both & very satisfied. Price moderate. Easy walk for convenient lunch place. Trolly available but didn't use. Worst part was GPS brougt us in through questionable part of town. Spoke to the staff & they were very reassuring about the safety of the location. We felt very comfortable walking on Meeting St & King St & the connecting streets. December 15, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great hotel in one of our favorite cities! This hotel is located in the Midtown area, which has a vibrant young nightlife. It has its own restaurant with great chefs. Plus there are other superb, UNIQUE restaurants in the area. One can hop on a free trolley right across the street to reach the historic district south of the hotel. We loved the look and feel of this hotel. The second floor has a library, the pool, and the gym. It is a wonderful hotel. December 11, 2013
<<prev 3 4 5 6 7 ... 9 next>>
Hotel Exterior
Hotel Exterior
Select to close.
Hotel Exterior Enjoy Historic Charleston, fall in love with Holiday Inn! The Battery. A great way to experience the Charleston Peninsula Arthur Ravanel Bridge known as the NEW Cooper River Bridge Holiday Inn Charleston Historic Downtown Meeting & Woolfe Street Famous Pineapple Fountain at Waterfront Park Historic Charleston USS Yorktown located at Patriots Point Enjoy a dinner cruise around the Charleston Peninsula Isle of Palms Beach Resort Seabrook Island Holiday Inn Charleston Downtown  Large Map Charleston Peninsula Welcome to Holiday Inn Charleston Historic Downtown Relax in the Lobby at Holiday Inn Charleston Historic Downtown Welcome to Holiday Inn Charleston Historic Downtown Holiday Inn Downtown Charleston - Enjoy lots of Natural Lighting Welcome to the Holiday Inn Charleston Historic Downtown
Select to close.
If you are not already a member, join now.
Earn at least two free nights, 50,000 bonus points or 10,000 miles. Book Now.
Close
Check In
(e.g. Sep-17-2014)
Check Out
(e.g. Sep-18-2014)
Check Availability
Loading