• English  English
    Select to close.
    Current Settings are:
      /  English

    Change Preferences:
    Country / Region of Residence:
    Available Languages:
  • |
  • |
  • |
  • 1 888 HOLIDAY
Select to close.
Select to close.
Email or IHG® Rewards Club # PIN
Not a member?Join Today!
Forgot PIN
All fields are required.
 
If you have forgotten or lost your Personal Identification Number (PIN), we can email your PIN to the email address in your IHG® Rewards Club account profile.
If you do not have an email address in your profile, please contact your local IHG® Rewards Club Customer Care  to source your PIN and to update your profile with your email address. When you receive your PIN you can also update your email address viawww.ihgrewardsclub.com/email.
IHG® Rewards Club # Email Address

Not a member?Join Today!
Create PIN
All fields are required.
IHG® Rewards Club # ZIP/Postal Code
First Name Last Name
Please select a 4 number Personal Identification Number (PIN) which will be used to access your IHG® Rewards Club account.
PIN Verify PIN
 
Not a member?Join Today!
Create Email
All fields are required.
Thank you. Your PIN has been created. Please enter your email address so you can use it to log into the site in the future.
Email Address Verify Email Address
 
Email Hotel Get Directions Add to Favorites Print Fact Sheet

Book this Hotel

Best Price Guarantee
1

Reward Nights
When redeeming points for a Reward Night, you may only book one room at a time.

Once you complete your Reward Night reservation you will be given the option to duplicate this reservation.

(e.g. Nov-26-2014)
(e.g. Nov-27-2014)
Have a Group Code?
Have a Corporate ID?
Check Availability
Processing your request...

* Requires affiliation in the respective organization.

** Best Available Rate Search does not include affiliation rates.

Select to close.

To book more than 9 rooms for one stay or request a quote, please use our Easy Meetings tool, call 1-800-MEETING (in United States, Mexico and Canada) or contact a Global Sales Office.

Close Button
Your Recently Viewed Hotels

About our Hotel

Location: Downtown/City Center

  • Location: Downtown/City Center
  • Closest City: CHARLESTON
  • Distance From Hotel: 0.0MI
  • Local time zone: GMT-05:00

Check In: 4:00 PM Check Out: 11:00 AM

  • Check In: 4:00 PM
  • Check Out: 11:00 AM
  • Minimum check-in age: 21
  • Late checkout available

Credit cards

Credit cards

  • American Express
  • Carte Blanche
  • Diners Club
  • Discover
  • Master Card
  • Visa

Accessibility

Accessibility

  • Number of Rooms:7
  • Parking
  • Service Animals Allowed

Languages

Languages

  1. English

Pet Policy

Pet Policy

Pleasse accept our apologies, the Holiday Inn Charelston Historic Downtown does not accept pets. Kennels are located within several miles of the hotel. Please call us in advance to make arrangements for your furry loved ones. Guide Dogs are welcome.

What's Nearby

What's Nearby

Attraction:
Charleston for Families! The BEST things to do!
Distance From Hotel:0.0MI
Attraction:
Charleston is a Photographer's Paradise!
Distance From Hotel:0.0MI
Attraction:
Charleston Museums - Where History Lives!
Distance From Hotel:0.0MI
Attraction:
Charleston Parks Explore, Discover and Let Loose!
Distance From Hotel:0.0MI

Parking

Parking

  • Number of parking spaces:82
  • Car Parking Available
  • Parking is valet parking only in the hotels parking garage for 16 dollars per day plus 8.5 percent sales tax. Offsite parking for oversized vehicles. Additional parking 2 blocks at Visitors Center 12.00 per day.
  • Valet parking fee  ( 16.0 USD )

Internet

Standard Internet Service

Standard Internet service is free for all guests
Wireless Internet available in Standard Rooms,Suites,Business Center,Public Areas
Wired Internet available in Standard Rooms,Suites

Facility

Facility

  • Total number of rooms:120
  • Total number of suites:3
  • Total number of rooms with only one bed:59
  • Total number of rooms with only double beds:61
  • Total number of non-smoking rooms:120
  • Total number of rooms for the physically challenged:7
  • Interior corridor
  • Total number of floors:5
Known for its rich history, well-preserved architecture, a celebrated restaurant community and mannerly people; Charleston has been named Top U.S. City by Conde Nast Traveler 2013 Readers Choice Awards for the third year. This coastal destination remains one of the top destination cities in the world. Holiday Inn Charleston Historic Downtown is proud to be a part of Historic Charleston blending contemporary luxury with traditional southern hospitality. Situated on Meeting and Woolfe Street; we are
View More
Known for its rich history, well-preserved architecture, a celebrated restaurant community and mannerly people; Charleston has been named Top U.S. City by Conde Nast Traveler 2013 Readers Choice Awards for the third year. This coastal destination remains one of the top destination cities in the world. Holiday Inn Charleston Historic Downtown is proud to be a part of Historic Charleston blending contemporary luxury with traditional southern hospitality. Situated on Meeting and Woolfe Street; we are just one block from the Charleston Visitor's Center, minutes from attractions, boutique shops and restaurants located throughout downtown Charleston. Our location is within close proximity to other Charleston's historic sites, attractions, museums, sport venues, beaches and more; providing easy access to I-26 and US Highway 17. The Meeting Room Restaurant & Tapas Bar offers farm-to-table dining with a twist on tradition with American inspired entrees prepared with local ingredients offering something to suit every palette. Unwind in an atmosphere of relaxed elegance that allows friends and family to meet and enjoy great food, signature cocktails, wine and beer. After a long day workout in our fitness center, take a dip in our heated outdoor pool or bask in the warm Charleston sun. Stay cool and relax around our outdoor covered patio with overhead fans and living room style seating. Visit our business center and stay connected to electronic devices with free WIFI.
View Less
Features
Our Charleston Hotel has the ideal location in the peninsula. Holiday Inn Charleston Historic Downtown is easy accessible to I-526 and US Highway 17 and the gateway to plantations, picturesque islands and beaches, seasonal events, festivals, wedding venues and more. Offering all the charm and great food that makes Charleston so desirable to many repeat visitors.

Guest Reviews

Rated 4.4 out of 5 by 287 reviewers.
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Excellent hotel I would recommend this hotel to anyone coming to Charleston. Easy to find, Large clean rooms, The pool was wonderful. Just a couple of blocks to great eateries and bars June 28, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by very confortable hotel I really enjoyed my stay at the Holiday Inn Charleston - evertything works well and the staff are super friendly! The only downturn was the area in which the hotel is located which felt sometimes a bit dodgy especially late in the evening June 27, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great stay Hotel is excellent, has clean contemporary design, has a spacious layout and the staff was extremely helpful, June 26, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by A nice hotel near king street Me and my fiancee had such a pleasant stay in this nice hotel. The staff was very friendly and even recommended bars and restaurants nearby. The only thing we had to explicitly ask for where the vouchers for a breakfast, which the man at the front desk had forgotten to give to us during check-in. Nevertheless the breakfast was worth it, but it was also a large amount (at least for Europeans ;-) ). The king street with bars and restaurants for every taste is just round the corner and the DASH trolley (bus) brings you into the historic downtown free of charge. Walking to the downtown is a long walk and I would not recommend it. Fort Sumter and Patriots Point are really worth a visit during a stay in Charleston. June 25, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Nice Hotel, a bit far from the old town The facility is very nice, almost new. Outstanding restaurant and desk staff. The maid service left us with no spare toilet paper and had to ask for more, which was promptly delivered. It is a bit of a walk to the old city center, but is only about 2 blocks from the northwest end of King Street and it's great restaurants and shopping. The market area is about a mile and a half from the hotel. Overall, a good value, but it would be nice to be closer to the old town. June 24, 2014
Rated 1.0 out of 5.0 by Absolutely filthy I've stayed in a lot of hotels and this one was by far the dirtiest hotel room I've ever stayed in. I told the front desk that the room was not cleaned and they assured me that they would clean it properly. Next morning, it was still disgusting. Staff and service was terrible. DO NOT STAY HERE! Biggest waste of money. June 23, 2014
Rated 1.0 out of 5.0 by Coch Roach hotel with poor service Room had coch roaches and found a pair of soiled underwear in a drawer. When we told the front desk they acted in dis belief and indicated they would send a housekeeping staff member. The person never showed, however they insisted they had. If I could post a picture of the soiled underwear and dead coch roach I would. They lied too us. Sorry to be so blunt - you recreational dollars are better spent elsewhere. June 22, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great stay On arrival you could tell the staff enjoyed their job. The hotel was one of the cleanest hotels I have stayed at. June 17, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by breakfast staff They made a great start to the day. The buffet was always fresh and full. June 17, 2014
Rated 1.0 out of 5.0 by comfortable bed room was beutiful, clean, not happy with quoted prices. June 17, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great customer service We came from Northern California and were so pleased with the service provided by Brendan at the front desk. Wow, what can we say. We loved everything about our stay here and the the lovely city of Charleston. June 16, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Comfortable Stay The room we stayed in was a suite, which made our stau very comfortable. The food was exceptional. we had breakfasts, two lunches and a dinner. they were better maels than we had at other resraurants. The workers at the hotel were very accomadating and helpful. June 13, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Wonderful Staff and Super Comfy Beds We stayed while attending a conference in June. We had amazing service from the time we drove up (Cristian greeted us as we pulled up) from the time we drove off (Again, Cristian saw us off). The rooms were very nice and the mattresses, pillows and linens were very comfortable. All in all, we had a great visit. I would definitely stay again and definitely refer to s friend. June 10, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Great Hotel This a very nice hotel, but it is a mile and a half from the market area. As with most hotel the rooms near the elevator are noisy. June 9, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by You will be happy you picked this hotel! Great location... close to everything! Staff is great, everyone is so nice and ready to help with anything! We had a great stay! June 5, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Room The bathroom was not clean, when I went to shower there was HAIR ON THE BOTTOM of the shower!!!!! Not nice!!! June 4, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great Location, Modern Clean Hotel We spent our honeymoon here and were extremely pleased. The hotel was clean, comfortable, and modern. The location is great - walking distance to all of the action. Jamie Reau was especially helpful in telling us great places to check out. The Meeting Room food is delicious as well. We WILL be back!! June 3, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great service. All the comforts of home. A wonderful time while we were there. Everyone was polite and considerate to our needs and my family's needs. June 3, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great Town and the Staff to Match it. I want to point out a member of the staff that went out of her way to help us with any questions we had regarding the area restaurants and local attractions to see while in town. My wife and I were there to celebrate our 33 wedding anniversary. We were greeted with strawberries and champagne., What a nice surprise... This person was always smiling and wow what a personality. Her name is Tammy ! ! Don't leave without meeting her... We will be back.... Thanks Again... June 3, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Excellent Stay Great service, great location and the team really helped with the local area. June 2, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Clean, affordable and would stay again The staff very informative. Hotel location great, only a couple of blocks from visitors center and shopping on King street. Would stay there again. Only downside was the restaurant menu, none of us are into Tapas bars. However to be fair, we ate out most of the time at famous seafood places. June 2, 2014
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Beware of parking Parking at the hotel is valet only. Also, the parking is car over car. If you car is on the lift above another car and you want something out of your car they will have to move one car before you can get into yours. Worse yet, better hope the guys car above yours isn't dripping oil and grease. The rooms are beautiful! But unfortunately our bathroom had a couple balls of hair on the floor. Kinda gross. The price given to us at the desk was $70 more than the Holiday Inn hotline gave us an hour before we got there. They did match the price but only after explaining that the price was matched because "we are not full and were just filling the rooms" I've been a priority club member for 9 years. Beautiful, new, good location but not a great experience there. June 1, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by great staff The staff was excellent. The valets were a tremendous help. May 31, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great Service Great Hotel The hotel was very clean, modern and conveniently located. The staff was always helpful and very friendly. I'd stay here again! May 31, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by food breakfast breakfast was buffet style and not acceptable- cold and not well prepared- should have ordered off of the menu May 30, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Great location! Wonderful staff! Location is great, right down the block from great pubs, restaurants, and not far from shopping. Pool area is a great place to relax. Staff were friendly and helpful. Really enjoyed my visit to Charleston and would stay here again. May 28, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Unexpected Excellence! I travel frequently for work, and occasionally stay at a HI or HIE, and they are always 'okay', so when I was planning a getaway with my mother, I was looking for something more than 'okay'. I wanted this to be a 'fantastic' trip, something memorable (in a good way!). This hotel provided the BEST service I have ever experienced and an Excellent rating for service does not do it justice. From the moment you pull up to the hotel, you are treated as though you are the most important person there....absolutely fantastic! Our only 'poor' experience was the breakfast buffet, but, the beds make up for this..I've never slept better. Thank you for a fantastic trip to Charleston, folks. I will be returning and staying ONLY at this hotel! May 27, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by wonderful experience! Our stay couldn't have been better. This was our first time in Charleston and the hotel is in a great location, and in walking distance to shopping, historic landmarks, great restaurants, etc. The hotel itself was clean with modern touches, the room was spacious and comfortable, and the staff was SO friendly. They offered great suggestions for restaurants, sights to see, and places to venture. If we were to come back to Charleston, we would definitely stay here again! May 21, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by A great Stay Nice comfortable room with good bed. Food was outstanding and very good service. The Shower recess was very dirty.....needed a good scrub. May 20, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Exceptional downtown location The IHG property has an exceptional downtown location and is an easy walking distance to many attractions. Parking is not easy in this location so you have to rely on the Valet Service at the hotel. We found this service to be very good also, but the cost of the service is a little high. The hotel was exceptionally clean and well kept. We did not use the food or beverage services so my comment there is neutral. Room cost was very high, but since I used reward points it was not a consideration for me. May 7, 2014
<<prev 3 4 5 6 7 ... 11 next>>
Hotel Exterior
Hotel Exterior
Select to close.
Hotel Exterior Enjoy Historic Charleston, fall in love with Holiday Inn! The Battery. A great way to experience the Charleston Peninsula Arthur Ravanel Bridge known as the NEW Cooper River Bridge Holiday Inn Charleston Historic Downtown Meeting & Woolfe Street Famous Pineapple Fountain at Waterfront Park Historic Charleston USS Yorktown located at Patriots Point Enjoy a dinner cruise around the Charleston Peninsula Isle of Palms Beach Resort Seabrook Island Holiday Inn Charleston Downtown  Large Map Charleston Peninsula Welcome to Holiday Inn Charleston Historic Downtown Relax in the Lobby at Holiday Inn Charleston Historic Downtown Welcome to Holiday Inn Charleston Historic Downtown Holiday Inn Downtown Charleston - Enjoy lots of Natural Lighting Welcome to the Holiday Inn Charleston Historic Downtown
Select to close.
Terms & Conditions
If you are not already a member, join now.
Close
Check In
(e.g. Nov-26-2014)
Check Out
(e.g. Nov-27-2014)
Check Availability
Loading