• English  English
    Select to close.
    Current Settings are:
      /  English

    Change Preferences:
    Country / Region of Residence:
    Available Languages:
  • |
  • |
  • |
  • 1 888 HOLIDAY
Select to close.
Select to close.
Email or IHG® Rewards Club # PIN
Not a member?Join Today!
Forgot PIN
All fields are required.
 
If you have forgotten or lost your Personal Identification Number (PIN), we can email your PIN to the email address in your IHG® Rewards Club account profile.
If you do not have an email address in your profile, please contact your local IHG® Rewards Club Customer Care  to source your PIN and to update your profile with your email address. When you receive your PIN you can also update your email address viawww.ihgrewardsclub.com/email.
IHG® Rewards Club # Email Address

Not a member?Join Today!
Create PIN
All fields are required.
IHG® Rewards Club # ZIP/Postal Code
First Name Last Name
Please select a 4 number Personal Identification Number (PIN) which will be used to access your IHG® Rewards Club account.
PIN Verify PIN
 
Not a member?Join Today!
Create Email
All fields are required.
Thank you. Your PIN has been created. Please enter your email address so you can use it to log into the site in the future.
Email Address Verify Email Address
 
Email Hotel Get Directions Add to Favorites Print Fact Sheet

Book this Hotel

Best Price Guarantee
1

Reward Nights
When redeeming points for a Reward Night, you may only book one room at a time.

Once you complete your Reward Night reservation you will be given the option to duplicate this reservation.

(e.g. Sep-21-2014)
(e.g. Sep-22-2014)
Have a Group Code?
Have a Corporate ID?
Check Availability
Processing your request...

* Requires affiliation in the respective organization.

** Best Available Rate Search does not include affiliation rates.

Select to close.

To book more than 9 rooms for one stay or request a quote, please use our Easy Meetings tool, call 1-800-MEETING (in United States, Mexico and Canada) or contact a Global Sales Office.

Close Button
Your Recently Viewed Hotels

About our Hotel

Location: Downtown/City Center

  • Location: Downtown/City Center
  • Closest City: CHARLESTON
  • Distance From Hotel: 0.0MI
  • Local time zone: GMT-04:00

Check In: 4:00 PM Check Out: 11:00 AM

  • Check In: 4:00 PM
  • Check Out: 11:00 AM
  • Minimum check-in age: 21
  • Late checkout available

Credit cards

Credit cards

  • American Express
  • Carte Blanche
  • Diners Club
  • Discover
  • Master Card
  • Visa

Accessibility

Accessibility

  • Number of Rooms:7
  • Parking
  • Service Animals Allowed

Languages

Languages

  1. English

Pet Policy

Pet Policy

Pleasse accept our apologies, the Holiday Inn Charelston Historic Downtown does not accept pets. Kennels are located within several miles of the hotel. Please call us in advance to make arrangements for your furry loved ones. Guide Dogs are welcome.

What's Nearby

What's Nearby

Attraction:
Year-round Festivals and Special Events
Distance From Hotel:0.0MI
Attraction:
Charleston for Families! The BEST things to do!
Distance From Hotel:0.0MI
Attraction:
Charleston is a Photographer's Paradise!
Distance From Hotel:0.0MI
Attraction:
St. Philip's Episcopal Church Steeple
Distance From Hotel:0.0MI

Parking

Parking

  • Number of parking spaces:82
  • Car Parking Available
  • Parking is valet parking only in the hotels parking garage for 16 dollars per day plus 8.5 percent sales tax. Offsite parking for oversized vehicles. Additional parking 2 blocks at Visitors Center 12.00 per day.
  • Valet parking fee  ( 16.0 USD )

Internet

Standard Internet Service

Standard Internet service is free for all guests
Wireless Internet available in Standard Rooms,Suites,Business Center,Public Areas
Wired Internet available in Standard Rooms,Suites

Facility

Facility

  • Total number of rooms:120
  • Total number of suites:3
  • Total number of rooms with only one bed:59
  • Total number of rooms with only double beds:61
  • Total number of non-smoking rooms:120
  • Total number of rooms for the physically challenged:7
  • Interior corridor
  • Total number of floors:5
Known for its rich history, well-preserved architecture, a celebrated restaurant community and mannerly people; Charleston has been named Top U.S. City by Conde Nast Traveler 2013 Readers Choice Awards for the third year. This coastal destination remains one of the top destination cities in the world. Holiday Inn Charleston Historic Downtown is proud to be a part of Historic Charleston blending contemporary luxury with traditional southern hospitality. Situated on Meeting and Woolfe Street; we are
View More
Known for its rich history, well-preserved architecture, a celebrated restaurant community and mannerly people; Charleston has been named Top U.S. City by Conde Nast Traveler 2013 Readers Choice Awards for the third year. This coastal destination remains one of the top destination cities in the world. Holiday Inn Charleston Historic Downtown is proud to be a part of Historic Charleston blending contemporary luxury with traditional southern hospitality. Situated on Meeting and Woolfe Street; we are just one block from the Charleston Visitor's Center, minutes from attractions, boutique shops and restaurants located throughout downtown Charleston. Our location is within close proximity to other Charleston's historic sites, attractions, museums, sport venues, beaches and more; providing easy access to I-26 and US Highway 17. The Meeting Room Restaurant & Tapas Bar offers farm-to-table dining with a twist on tradition with American inspired entrees prepared with local ingredients offering something to suit every palette. Unwind in an atmosphere of relaxed elegance that allows friends and family to meet and enjoy great food, signature cocktails, wine and beer. After a long day workout in our fitness center, take a dip in our heated outdoor pool or bask in the warm Charleston sun. Stay cool and relax around our outdoor covered patio with overhead fans and living room style seating. Visit our business center and stay connected to electronic devices with free WIFI.
View Less
Features
Our Charleston Hotel has the ideal location in the peninsula. Holiday Inn Charleston Historic Downtown is easy accessible to I-526 and US Highway 17 and the gateway to plantations, picturesque islands and beaches, seasonal events, festivals, wedding venues and more. Offering all the charm and great food that makes Charleston so desirable to many repeat visitors.

Guest Reviews

Rated 4.6 out of 5 by 342 reviewers.
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by FRONT DESK MALLORY WAS A VERY PLEASANT CHECK IN AND CHECK OUT LADY. October 25, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Nice and clean. Cozy! We were in Charleston for our daughters wedding. This hotel was so close to downtown Charleston and convenient to all other attractions. Very nice and all the staff we spoke to were willing to go out of their way to help and answer any questions we had. We had a very nice stay and will stay there again when we visit Charleston. Also, a great breakfast each morning . You wont be disappointed. October 25, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by One of the best Great stay. Clean,quiet,comfy.Front deck suggestion for dinner was exactly what we were looking for! Would recommend this Inn highly. October 24, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by great location very accessible; friendly staff; great overall stay October 23, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Friendly staff and great service Every one was exceptionally nice including the maintenance/cleaning personnel. Greeted you every single time you walked by. Just a very friendly, clean hotel to stay in:) October 23, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Presidential Suite This hotel is very clean and in a great location. Our room was spacious and kept clean every day. The staff was so friendly and if we need anything they were prompt in taking care of it for us. The refrigerator in the room was somewhat noisy but other than that we had a very restful sleep all three nights we were there. We will definitely stay here again and recommend to anyone else. I think a hot tub or at the very least heat the pool in the fall as other hotels do in the area. October 22, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Excellent hotel. We were so happy with our choice of this hotel when vacationing in Charleston. I would go back and would recommend it to everyone. We did not have a single complaint. This hotel ranks in our favorite top hotels we ever stayed in. Look no more - just book it! October 20, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by friendly staff room was very nice and beds comfortable also staff great October 18, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Wedding experience made better I stayed at the Holiday Inn Express in Charleston for my daughter's wedding and was very pleasantly surprised on how clean and comfortable it was. I travel several times a year for business and pleasure and have stayed in both high end and not so much hotels. The breakfast was very good, the pancake machine a hoot but best of all the rooms were clean and quiet. After all the pomp and circumstance of the wedding, a nice relaxing room really fit the bill. Kudos. October 17, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Junior Suite We were three sisters traveling, so we reserved a Junior Suite. Everything was to our liking and the lady who checked us in was especially cheerful and very helpful when we asked suggestions for a place to have dinner. Excellent staff training was apparent. October 16, 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Nice hotel Our stay at this hotel was great. The rooms were very clean and the beds were comfy. Breakfast in the morning was very good. Mallory at the front desk was awesome....her recommendations for restaurants in the area was truly appreciated and every dinner was excellent! September 30, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great location and cozy room When deciding where to stay, inside Charleston or outside, we took the chance and booked here. We were nicely surprised by the cleanliness of this property and the pleasant staff. A variety of nearby restaurants and a Wholefoods Market if you want to snack/dine closer to your stay rather than in Charleston. Take time for a sunset stroll at the Water Park, you can also fish here. Many events going on at the other nearby attractions and parks. Minutes from Charleston and very convenient. This hotel's rooms are spacious, the beds comfortable, multiple pillows to choose from, nice toiletries and very quiet, you'll get a good night's sleep. At Breakfast you'll be greeted with smiles, everyone was happy and relaxed! Absolutely no complaints only compliments! September 29, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great experience all round. I checked out the reviews of this hotel and checked the information online and in the booklets for visiting Charleston. We were very pleased with our stay. Location worked very well for visiting Charleston as well as visiting the islands. Our room was clean and comfortable. Staff friendly and helpful. Breakfast was good, plenty of choices and plenty of food and drinks. We had no complains at all. We would stay here again. September 29, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Still Good Place We love the location and convenience of this HI Express. The staff has always been very welcoming and efficient. One of our favorite things to do here is walk to Patriot's Point and the Ravenelle Bridge. September 28, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by relaxing, clean room. Impressive accommodations. Would recommend this hotel to family and friends visiting the Charleston S.C. area. September 28, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by convenient, comortable and a very friendly and helpful staff Everything about this motel was wonderful.. We will definitely return! September 26, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great stay Staff was wonderful and very helpful. Room was clean and comfortable. Would definitely stay here again! September 22, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great service and amenities This was a great place to stay while in the Charleston area. It was easy asset to things in Charleston as well as the surrounding area The service here was great and the personnel were all very helpful and always smiling and pleasant. We really enjoyed our stay here and would recommend this hotel to anyone staying in this area.. September 21, 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by nice hotel but our tub was not clean My overall experience was good, however, I was dissapointed that our tub was not cleaned. I called the front desk to inform them that the bottom of my tub was dirty, and that I could tell it had not been cleaned due to the soap from the previous guest still being left in the shower when we entered the room. I asked to speak with a mangaer to request that housekeeping come and clean the shower, however, the front desk attendant stated that a manager was not on duty tonight, and that housekeeping had already left for the night. Instead the attendant came to the room, and cleaned our shower. I was very dissapointed that our tub was not cleaned prior to checking in. Next time I travel, I will look into staying with another hotel chain. September 19, 2013
Rated 1.0 out of 5.0 by Overrated! Simeone stuffed the ballot box. I've been staying at HI Express hotels for a long time. This was my worse experience. Rude staff, dirty rooms, no toilet paper, elevators smelling of beer, etc. And this place had a 4.6 out of 5 rating. It was rated one of the best in Charleston area. Poor Charleston. September 18, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great stay We have to small child and had lots of room for them to run around and play. Very nice hotel and room. The breakfast was good and we enjoyed the fact that we could take the food back to the room and eat! Also very close the Charleston and the beach. September 8, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Value close to the city. This Holiday Inn Express in Mt. Pleasant is an attractive property and convenient to downtown, the point, Sullivan's Island, the beaches. The rooms are clean, nicely decorated and fairly spacious. Free breakfast with a number of choices. Staff was very pleasant. If you are a points member of the Holiday Inn properties, you get free waters everyday and a few snacks to ward off the munchies upon your arrival. I thought this was a very nice touch. Easy access off bridge from downtown, yet neighborhood quiet. Price a tad high on Saturday night, but what isn't near Charleston. I would stay there again without hesitation. Oh yes, robes are provided...another lovely touch. September 7, 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Standerd Express Newer modern HIE, clean and kept up well, only issue was room was not cleaned or serviced. Did not complain, to late at night, just made our own beds. September 5, 2013
Rated 2.0 out of 5.0 by Messy room on wedding night I've stayed at this hotel before and haven't had a problem. BUT.....I got married last Saturday and had booked a room online stating that it would be our wedding night. We arrived at the hotel around 11:30pm to find a used blanket on the bench, water still in the bathtub, used forks and spoons next to the bed and old food still in the fridge. Since the hotel was completely full, the nice man at the front desk cleaned the room for us, but it was still a bit unsettling. It was a bit frustrating to have to deal with this when we'd just gotten married and were exhausted. But.....maybe it was just a fluke. September 5, 2013
Rated 2.0 out of 5.0 by Poor Service/Cleanliness/Food HIE's are usually our first choice during travel and we've never had an experience so poor that I have completed a review. However, on this trip we stayed in a suite since our trip was an extended one and was very disappointed. The room was not thoroughly cleaned daily, only the towels were replaced and the bed was made - one night we came in and it was only partially made and the coverlet was laying on the side table. The cups were never restocked - we had to ask for them and was then told by the front desk there was no one to bring us any. The liner in the ice bucket was not changed for 3 days - I threw it away and set the empty bucket on the edge of the counter and it was there when we returned that evening. Really? The bathroom floor was not swept or mopped as evident by the hair laying on the floor by the tub when we arrived. After 4 days, I threw all the dirty towels on the spot anticipating the hair would be picked up with the towels. The kitchenette countertop was never cleaned, although it was obvious we were using it. The toilet was obviously not cleaned daily. We asked the front desk to arrange a taxi for us one morning, only to find out later that the fare we paid was almost double what residents normally pay - why wouldn't they have an arrangement with a lower cost service for their guests? The breakfast was consistently undercooked - we only tried it twice. The breakfast at the other properties we've stayed at was always delicious, well cooked and a selling point for choosing HIE. We would not return or recommend this property. Very disappointing overall. September 1, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Comfortable stay Add weight training machine to the Fitness Center. Friendly staff. A/C in Business Center not working; extremely small room, unbearble to work in there more than a couple of minutes in this heat. Staff said they are aware it is broken; just haven't bothered to fix. August 31, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by The Best in Mt Pleasant We go to Mt Pleasant frequently & have stayed at several hotels in the past few years. So far this one is the best. The front desk had the absolutely fastest & most efficient check-in procedure ever. The room was cool where we arrived - something I could get used to! It was also clean & had everything we needed (coffee maker, micro, refrigerator, etc.) The room was quiet & the beds were comfortable. We were able to enjoy the nice outdoor pool also. The pool and deck were clean. Breakfast was more than most hotels. It had some hot items, and also cereal, yogurt, etc. There's something for everyone. The breakfast area was spacious - another advantage over other hotels. Overall, this is a good value. It's price is competitive. It is slightly higher than a few other (comparable, but not as nice) hotels, but it is definitely worth it. We are actually planning another stay here within the next 2 weeks! August 27, 2013
Rated 1.0 out of 5.0 by Bugs are us!!!! This hotel offer breakfast with your stay, which was a great added bonus but who would want to eat there. The juice fountain was covered with bugs and when I said something to the staff, I got dismissed. The staffs answer was.... " well that's how it is here in Charleston." I'm from Charleston and I know this is not true, especially not in any hotel I've been in or worked at in Charleston. This hotel set a bad example for me for any future stays in this hotel chain. I'm disappointed and the Wedding group I brought with me all feel the same. August 25, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by very pleasant stay in mt. pleasant Very nice hotel, well worth the money. Staff was very friendly and the beds were very comfortable. Room stayed nice and cold. Had a great time August 25, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by No complaints The hotel is a nice place to stay. I think the breakfast could have used a bit more of the fresh fruit options, maybe some oatmeal. For the non egg-eater there was mostly sugary options - pancakes and syrup, cinnamon rolls, and so on. Also, I would prefer the real deal cereals as opposed to the knock offs. I tried them and they don't taste very good. Otherwise, the room itself was clean and comfortable. The business center was out of commission but the staff let me use one of their office computers to download and print my boarding passes. August 22, 2013
<<prev 5 6 7 8 9 ... 13 next>>
Hotel Exterior
Hotel Exterior
Select to close.
Hotel Exterior Enjoy Historic Charleston, fall in love with Holiday Inn! The Battery. A great way to experience the Charleston Peninsula Arthur Ravanel Bridge known as the NEW Cooper River Bridge Holiday Inn Charleston Historic Downtown Meeting & Woolfe Street Famous Pineapple Fountain at Waterfront Park Historic Charleston USS Yorktown located at Patriots Point Enjoy a dinner cruise around the Charleston Peninsula Isle of Palms Beach Resort Seabrook Island Holiday Inn Charleston Downtown  Large Map Charleston Peninsula Welcome to Holiday Inn Charleston Historic Downtown Relax in the Lobby at Holiday Inn Charleston Historic Downtown Welcome to Holiday Inn Charleston Historic Downtown Holiday Inn Downtown Charleston - Enjoy lots of Natural Lighting Welcome to the Holiday Inn Charleston Historic Downtown
Select to close.
Terms & Conditions
If you are not already a member, join now.
Earn at least two free nights, 50,000 bonus points or 10,000 miles. Book Now.
Close
Check In
(e.g. Sep-21-2014)
Check Out
(e.g. Sep-22-2014)
Check Availability
Loading