• English  English
    Select to close.
    Current Settings are:
      /  English

    Change Preferences:
    Country / Region of Residence:
    Available Languages:
  • |
  • |
  • |
  • 1 888 HOLIDAY
Select to close.
Select to close.
Email or IHG® Rewards Club # PIN
Not a member?Join Today!
Forgot PIN
All fields are required.
 
If you have forgotten or lost your Personal Identification Number (PIN), we can email your PIN to the email address in your IHG® Rewards Club account profile.
If you do not have an email address in your profile, please contact your local IHG® Rewards Club Customer Care  to source your PIN and to update your profile with your email address. When you receive your PIN you can also update your email address viawww.ihgrewardsclub.com/email.
IHG® Rewards Club # Email Address

Not a member?Join Today!
Create PIN
All fields are required.
IHG® Rewards Club # ZIP/Postal Code
First Name Last Name
Please select a 4 number Personal Identification Number (PIN) which will be used to access your IHG® Rewards Club account.
PIN Verify PIN
 
Not a member?Join Today!
Create Email
All fields are required.
Thank you. Your PIN has been created. Please enter your email address so you can use it to log into the site in the future.
Email Address Verify Email Address
 
Email Hotel Get Directions Add to Favorites Print Fact Sheet

Book this Hotel

Best Price Guarantee
1

Reward Nights
When redeeming points for a Reward Night, you may only book one room at a time.

Once you complete your Reward Night reservation you will be given the option to duplicate this reservation.

(e.g. Jul-23-2014)
(e.g. Jul-24-2014)
Have a Group Code?
Have a Corporate ID?
Check Availability
Processing your request...

* Requires affiliation in the respective organization.

** Best Available Rate Search does not include affiliation rates.

Select to close.

To book more than 9 rooms for one stay or request a quote, please use our Easy Meetings tool, call 1-800-MEETING (in United States, Mexico and Canada) or contact a Global Sales Office.

Close Button
Your Recently Viewed Hotels

About our Hotel

Location: Downtown/City Center

  • Location: Downtown/City Center
  • Closest City: CHARLESTON
  • Distance From Hotel: 2.0MI
  • Local time zone: GMT-04:00

Check In: 4:00 PM Check Out: 11:00 AM

  • Check In: 4:00 PM
  • Check Out: 11:00 AM
  • Minimum check-in age: 21
  • Late checkout available

Credit cards

Credit cards

  • American Express
  • Carte Blanche
  • Diners Club
  • Discover
  • Master Card
  • Visa

Accessibility

Accessibility

  • Number of Rooms:6
  • Parking
  • Service Animals Allowed

Languages

Languages

  1. Spanish
  2. French

Pet Policy

Pet Policy

The Holiday Inn does not accept pets, please accept our apologies. Only service animals as any guide dog, signal dog, or other animal individually trained to provide assistance to an individual with a disability are allowed.

Parking

Parking

  • Number of parking spaces:232
  • Car Parking Available
  • Complimentary parking is provided for our registered guests. Space available for Buses and RV's. No RV connections.

Internet

Standard Internet Service

Standard Internet service is free for all guests
Wireless Internet available in Standard Rooms,Executive Rooms,Suites,Business Center,Public Areas

Facility

Facility

  • Hotel renovated inFebruary 01, 2012
  • Total number of rooms:178
  • Total number of suites:3
  • Total number of non-smoking rooms:178
  • Total number of rooms for the physically challenged:6
  • Interior corridor
  • Total number of floors:14
  • FEMA Property Number:SC0020

Stay Your Way at the Holiday Inn® Charleston-Riverview

This amazing Charleston, SC hotel's location is perfect for business and leisure travelers looking for lodging near some of the city's best attractions, restaurants, and shopping. Whether you are looking for long days on the beach, exciting nightlife, or beautiful historic sites our hotel allows you to stay your way.

Leisure travelers enjoy the many Charleston hotel deals that our property has to offer including our close proximity
View More

Stay Your Way at the Holiday Inn® Charleston-Riverview

This amazing Charleston, SC hotel's location is perfect for business and leisure travelers looking for lodging near some of the city's best attractions, restaurants, and shopping. Whether you are looking for long days on the beach, exciting nightlife, or beautiful historic sites our hotel allows you to stay your way.

Leisure travelers enjoy the many Charleston hotel deals that our property has to offer including our close proximity to many area attractions such as the Charleston Aquarium, Fort Sumter, Hunley Museum, and three of South Carolina's best beaches. After a long day of visiting Charleston return to the hotel for a relaxing dinner at our newly renovated restaurant.

Located just a few miles from CHS Airport our Charleston, SC hotel's location is perfect for business travelers looking to move in and out of the city with ease. These guests also enjoy the convenience of our 24-hour Business Center with free Internet access and 780-sq ft meeting room as well as our newly renovated Fitness Center that allows them to stay in shape while they are away from home.

Make reservations today to take advantage of our great hotel amenities including a seasonal outdoor pool, 24-hour Fitness Center, and complimentary scheduled shuttle service into the historic downtown area. Your Charleston travel plans are not complete without booking a room at the Holiday Inn® Charleston-Riverview.

View Less
Features
Our property offers close proximity to some of the city's greatest attractions and sites such as the Citadel, Charleston Aquarium, and fun beaches. We have the best Charleston hotel deals around!
Announcements
The Holiday Inn Charleston Riverview is now accepting reservations for the 2015 Annual Cooper River Bridge Run. This special event weekend fills quickly! We offer a complimentary hotel shuttle
View More
Announcements
The Holiday Inn Charleston Riverview is now accepting reservations for the 2015 Annual Cooper River Bridge Run. This special event weekend fills quickly! We offer a complimentary hotel shuttle beginning at 5:30am that transports to the corner of Anson St and Calhoun St where our guests can join the City Bridge Run Shuttle. We offer a grab and go breakfast in the lobbly the morning of the race.
View Less

Guest Reviews

Rated 3.9 out of 5 by 294 reviewers.
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by wonderful I stayed here for my cousins wedding. the staff was great small gym which is nice, pool the food was a big variety. and a very good host Robin......:) coffee & teas free of charge 24hrs in lobby. convenient trolly and taxi to town. which is very close, front desk and managers are very helpful with every need. they also have a small sort of store if you need items. like toothpaste, toothbrush, asprins. post cards, souvenirs, lilttle things like that. May 8, 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Great Stay We spent a little more on a good quality room, view and balcony....comfortable beds..quality linens...the bathroom is small but the room is a nice size..on the 7th floor there was a great view of the river....but the river is a block or so away..lots of parking.. but there was no balcony..a romeo and juilett style..nothing you could sit out on.... May 6, 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Room wasn't cleaned We left the hotel at 0930, spent some time in Charleston and then returned at 1430(230PM) we did not have a do not disturb sign on the door. The room had not been serviced, nor did anyone come by to do so later. Happy to get my own washcloths, but should have been at least bussed properly. May 5, 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Beds were very comfortable The room was nice, loved the bed it was very comfortable, the building must have been an old one because the hall ways did smell a little bit, but over all it was a great room and the staff was very nice. I thought this was downtown but it was not, your were about a five minute drive to the old downtown Charleston. May 5, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Excellent service and good value The staff was both courteous and helpful and the accommodation very comfortable. Attractive lobby area with outdoor pool and fitness center on site. Hotel is conveniently located and accessible to downtown shopping area by public transportation. Restaurants are within walking distance for lunch and dinner, and breakfast buffet is served in the hotel dining room. Altogether, a delightful experience and good value at moderate cost. May 2, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Very nice and comfortable The entire staff was friendly and professional. Room was nice size with great bed and very clean. Good breakfast with good selection. Will stay again when in Charleston. April 28, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Beds are very comfortable - breakfast was great! I stayed at this Holiday Inn Express because of an appt at MUSC. The staff was extremely kind and accomodating. The rooms were very clean and very comfortable. The beds and pillows were excellent! It was very quiet and we had a wonderful stay! I would highly recommend this Holiday Inn. If I am back in the Charleston area for a vacation (or a medical appt) I will most definitely stay here! Thanks for making this a great stay! April 27, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great Hospitality Staff was excellent, clean place, great convenient location for us. April 26, 2013
Rated 1.0 out of 5.0 by NOT as advertised First, this property is NOT new! It is advertised as new on the HIEx website and when you call they answer "The NEW HIEx.....". Apparently the lobby and reception area are new, but the tower containing the rooms is merely "renovated" with new paint and maybe some new furniture and linens. Expecting a new and modern property we were very disappointed upon entering our room. The bedspread had hair on it and there was debris on the carpet...we decided to just stay thinking it may be hard to find other accommodations. However after more thought we decided to leave and called to inquire about that possibility. We were told that they wanted us to be happy and were very sorry about the issues. When we returned to get our luggage...prior to 6pm...we were told that the "upper management" had told them that we would have to pay for the first night because they had a 24 hour cancellation policy. We were not cancelling, we were checking out because we were dissatisfied with the property for the reasons mentioned above. I am requesting a refund of that 1 night stay and possibly some incentive as additional points to encourage me to remain a loyal Priority Club Member. We have stayed in almost exclusively HIExpress for several years doing extensive travelling. Recently we have been disappointed several time due to lack of consistency in the quality. There are many other chains to be loyal to. April 23, 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Inexperienced Staff Upon check in my friend asked to have the room charges put on her credit card. Mine had been used to make the reservation. The young man at the front desk took her card and swiped it. Upon return home I called to make sure they took the charges off my card and put on her card as requested. The gal at customer service advised he did not do that. He had only used her card for incidental charges (which there was none). That has created a problem for the two of us splitting the cost of the trip. We were also assigned a room and just as we got unpacked and settled in the room someone came to the door and said we would have to move to another room because they had to repair our sliding glass door. Told us the other room would be a upgrade but it was identical to the first one. The staff is untrained and not good on customer service. April 23, 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Great and close hotel! We only stayed for a night in this hotel, but it was quiet and clean. The room was comfortable, and had a "view" of Ashley River. It was a nice-ish view, though I wouldn't expect an amazing panoramic view from the location. We took a cab into downtown, and it was $3/person. You can't beat that! And the front desk said there are cabs there 24/7. It's also close to Hominy Grill, where we ate Sunday morning. And it was FABULOUS! It was close and convenient, and for a great value. Thanks! April 23, 2013
Rated 2.0 out of 5.0 by very expensive for an old hotel I usually stay uptown but picked this Holiday Inn Express as it had just opened, Big mistake Old hotel in need of renivation, would not recommend April 22, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Clean room, comfy quiet and able to bring our dog. We were able to bring our dog with us and that made the trip even better not stressing about leaving a family member behind. The room was clean and very comfortable. We will definately stay here again. I hope they continue to keep up the cleanliness and good service. Maybe work on having some rooms available for earlier check in for those of us who want to get there sooner. But overall great experience. Will stay again. April 21, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great place to stay! We stayed for one night but we appreciated our romm, the proximity of downtown which is walk distance but also accessible by free trolley which pick you up/drop you just in front of hotel! Great breakfast! Loved the pancakes machine! April 19, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great value Hotel staff is great. Breakfast ladies really work hard and take care of business. Hotel is very clean and you can get to downtown easy. I like to run and you can run the battery easily from here. Good 6 miler round trip gets all the sites in. Rooms are smaller, bed is comfortable, no bath tub shower only. April 18, 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Great value and good location The computers were down when we checking in so our first impression was bad. The elevators were a little slow and the room was smaller than what we expected. However, we soon realized the room was comfortable and very nice for the price. The location was central for all the spots we wanted to see. The breakfast was awesome and helped us save money on food. I would stay there again in a heart beat! April 16, 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Nice property The room and hotel were nice, but it's poorly set up for anyone in town on business. There's no desk, but there is a table. However, no electrical outlets for plugging in a laptop, phone charger, etc. Also, lighting very dim. Great location, though. April 15, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Charleston Stay Great Stay, Great room and staff. Would recomment to anyone. April 11, 2013
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Bad Customer Service We stayed at this hotel for a weekend get-away/family reunion in March. While it was clean, we were disappointed in two things: 1. It is indeed not close to downtown Charleston area like it references (at least the market area); 2. After returning home, I realized that I had left behind something at the hotel. When I called the hotel (on two separate occasions) to check on the item, the staff was very unfriendly and unwilling to help. Was basically just told sorry, not in lost and found. They were very short, did not offer to go double check the room for me. Was told they would ask the housekeeping staff and call me back.....never received a phone call. A little extra effort would have been a nice gesture. April 11, 2013
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Easter week vacation This hotel opened 30 days prior to our arrival as a retread of a former hotel. As such, it was still experiencing growing pains. The staff was enthusiastic and strived to make the stay more enjoyable. The rooms were nice, beds comfortable, although the bathrooms were on the smaller side compared to a new HIE. The breakfast buffet staff were overwhelmed by the volume of guests this week, therefore breakfast was a bit chaotic. This is a pet friendly hotel, however we never were bothered by them. The free trolley to downtown Charelston is located a short walk from the hotel, so we didn't have to rent a car for the week- rather we used a shuttle to and from the airport to the hotel and rented a car for one day to tour the plantations. April 11, 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Bathroom The water pressure thru the bathroom facet was extremely low for both hot and cold. The water stream was was also extremely small. The fan in the bathroom was very noisy and the lighting was very poor in the bathroom. Everything else was great at the Hotel and the room. April 10, 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Limited parking/access Parking is limited around the hotel for the number of rooms and access is tricky. Staff was also slow to refill breakfast items. April 10, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Very nice alternative to downtown Charleston Clean, comfortable, free parking, and priced right! A short 5-minute drive to downtown Charleston. Newer room with pretty decor. Hot breakfast items plus cereal and fruit. Often had to wait for refill of hot items. Coffee available 24/7. McDonald's next door had the s-l-o-w-e-s-t service I have ever experienced at a fastfood restaurant! Overall, I would recommend this Holiday Inn. April 10, 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Comfortable bed, newly remodeled Nicely remodeled hotel with great beds. Service was excellent and the front desk personnel was very professional, friendly, & helpful. Adequate breakfast, but hotel was very busy and breakfast items ran out fast. Location is OK, but one cannot dine anywhere close (except fast foods, or the Marriott close by). No shops in the area and no bars. Trolley stop is close by also, but waits are common. Be prepared for a 20 minute wait and another 20 to get downtown if you don't have a car. No complaints about the hotel itself or the staff. Expensive taxi/shuttle to the airport. Reasonable rates compared to others in the area. April 10, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Good location and Value Wonderful place to stay on our first visit to Charleston. Convenient to Free Trolley and downtown areas. Loved all the amenities. Wished there was an on-site restaurant. No restaurants close by. April 9, 2013
Rated 2.0 out of 5.0 by Comfortable Bed but Breakfast Lacking The room was comfortable, but when we arrived for breakfast, all the scrambled eggs were gone as well as bagels and muffins. We waited for 20 minutes for the eggs to come out and then they were runny. The cold breakfast cereals were gone, so had to settle for yogurt and coffee. It was busy, but it was not worth waiting for. April 8, 2013
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by room noise The property was beautiful and the staff handled the torrential rains very well. However I haves stayed in 50+ dufferent properties of yours and this was the most noise that could be heard from neighboring rooms on both side.. Dont know if you dont need as much insulation due to warmer cilmate, but we could very clearly hear tv and conversations late at night April 6, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Very Pleased We were VERY pleased with our rooms. We had 2 rooms with 6 people. I have to admit I was "nervous" about our stay based on other reviews I read on here but I was pleasantly surprised. The room was nice, clean and roomy. Beds were comfortable and room clean. I needed extra towels and the staff was quick to respond. The breakfast had many choices. The staff did have a hard time keeping up with breakfast but they worked HARD. It was extremely busy with "not so nice" guests. I felt like everyone was working hard and we should have patience. When I was checking in on Sunday evening there was a very unhappy guest complaining to the clerk. She was very nice to him but he was rude. Listening to him made me "more nervous" about my stay but I was pleasantly surprised. The bathroom was smaller then I would prefer but it was clean and updated. I liked the balcony. It was ALL good. THANK YOU Rebecca for taking the time to address my concerns before arriving. Otherwise, I would have just cancelled and never experienced this hotel. I would stay there again. It was nice. April 3, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by 3-26 to 3-28-13 I really enjoyed my stay here. The staff was very accommodating when I checked in with my two pets. The reservation was messed up and did not put me in a pet friendly room. The staff said no problem and put me on the sixth floor which is not a pet friendly room. I had exhausting training during those days and the hotel was very comfortable and quiet. I will be staying there for the next two months as I travel to Charleston. April 2, 2013
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Rooms way too small Rooms too small, no vanity space. Supposed to be new shoddy construction. Not for me. April 1, 2013
<<prev 7 8 9 10 11 next>>
Holiday Inn Charleston Riverview at night
Holiday Inn Charleston Riverview at night
Select to close.
Holiday Inn Charleston Riverview at night East Battery Charleston Historic Carriage Tours USS Yorktown at the Patriots Point Naval & Maritime Museum. Boone Hall Plantation Middleton Plantation St Michael's Steeple Rainbow Row Drayton Hall Waterfront Park Hotel Lobby Lobby Lounge Concierge Desk Lobby front desk area. Exterior landscape view of the Holiday Inn Riverview. Hotel entrance. View of the Ashley River Downtown Charleston views from the Holiday Inn Riverview. Views of the Ashley River Bridge from the Holiday Inn Riverview Holiday Inn Charleston Riverview exterior
Select to close.
Terms & Conditions
Close
Check In
(e.g. Jul-23-2014)
Check Out
(e.g. Jul-24-2014)
Check Availability
Loading