• English  English
    Select to close.
    Current Settings are:
      /  English

    Change Preferences:
    Country / Region of Residence:
    Available Languages:
  • |
  • |
  • |
  • 1 888 HOLIDAY
Select to close.
Select to close.
Email or IHG® Rewards Club # PIN
Not a member?Join Today!
Forgot PIN
All fields are required.
 
If you have forgotten or lost your Personal Identification Number (PIN), we can email your PIN to the email address in your IHG® Rewards Club account profile.
If you do not have an email address in your profile, please contact your local IHG® Rewards Club Customer Care  to source your PIN and to update your profile with your email address. When you receive your PIN you can also update your email address viawww.ihgrewardsclub.com/email.
IHG® Rewards Club # Email Address

Not a member?Join Today!
Create PIN
All fields are required.
IHG® Rewards Club # ZIP/Postal Code
First Name Last Name
Please select a 4 number Personal Identification Number (PIN) which will be used to access your IHG® Rewards Club account.
PIN Verify PIN
 
Not a member?Join Today!
Create Email
All fields are required.
Thank you. Your PIN has been created. Please enter your email address so you can use it to log into the site in the future.
Email Address Verify Email Address
 
Email Hotel Get Directions Add to Favorites Print Fact Sheet

Book this Hotel

Best Price Guarantee
1

Reward Nights
When redeeming points for a Reward Night, you may only book one room at a time.

Once you complete your Reward Night reservation you will be given the option to duplicate this reservation.

(e.g. Sep-20-2014)
(e.g. Sep-21-2014)
Have a Group Code?
Have a Corporate ID?
Check Availability
Processing your request...

* Requires affiliation in the respective organization.

** Best Available Rate Search does not include affiliation rates.

Select to close.

To book more than 9 rooms for one stay or request a quote, please use our Easy Meetings tool, call 1-800-MEETING (in United States, Mexico and Canada) or contact a Global Sales Office.

Close Button
Your Recently Viewed Hotels

About our Hotel

Location: Downtown/City Center

  • Location: Downtown/City Center
  • Closest City: CHARLESTON
  • Distance From Hotel: 2.0MI
  • Local time zone: GMT-04:00

Check In: 4:00 PM Check Out: 11:00 AM

  • Check In: 4:00 PM
  • Check Out: 11:00 AM
  • Minimum check-in age: 21
  • Late checkout available

Credit cards

Credit cards

  • American Express
  • Carte Blanche
  • Diners Club
  • Discover
  • Master Card
  • Visa

Accessibility

Accessibility

  • Number of Rooms:6
  • Parking
  • Service Animals Allowed

Languages

Languages

  1. Spanish
  2. French

Pet Policy

Pet Policy

The Holiday Inn does not accept pets, please accept our apologies. Only service animals as any guide dog, signal dog, or other animal individually trained to provide assistance to an individual with a disability are allowed.

Parking

Parking

  • Number of parking spaces:232
  • Car Parking Available
  • Complimentary parking is provided for our registered guests. Space available for Buses and RV's. No RV connections.

Internet

Standard Internet Service

Standard Internet service is free for all guests
Wireless Internet available in Standard Rooms,Executive Rooms,Suites,Business Center,Public Areas

Facility

Facility

  • Hotel renovated inFebruary 01, 2012
  • Total number of rooms:178
  • Total number of suites:3
  • Total number of non-smoking rooms:178
  • Total number of rooms for the physically challenged:6
  • Interior corridor
  • Total number of floors:14
  • FEMA Property Number:SC0020

Stay Your Way at the Holiday Inn® Charleston-Riverview

This amazing Charleston, SC hotel's location is perfect for business and leisure travelers looking for lodging near some of the city's best attractions, restaurants, and shopping. Whether you are looking for long days on the beach, exciting nightlife, or beautiful historic sites our hotel allows you to stay your way.

Leisure travelers enjoy the many Charleston hotel deals that our property has to offer including our close proximity
View More

Stay Your Way at the Holiday Inn® Charleston-Riverview

This amazing Charleston, SC hotel's location is perfect for business and leisure travelers looking for lodging near some of the city's best attractions, restaurants, and shopping. Whether you are looking for long days on the beach, exciting nightlife, or beautiful historic sites our hotel allows you to stay your way.

Leisure travelers enjoy the many Charleston hotel deals that our property has to offer including our close proximity to many area attractions such as the Charleston Aquarium, Fort Sumter, Hunley Museum, and three of South Carolina's best beaches. After a long day of visiting Charleston return to the hotel for a relaxing dinner at our newly renovated restaurant.

Located just a few miles from CHS Airport our Charleston, SC hotel's location is perfect for business travelers looking to move in and out of the city with ease. These guests also enjoy the convenience of our 24-hour Business Center with free Internet access and 780-sq ft meeting room as well as our newly renovated Fitness Center that allows them to stay in shape while they are away from home.

Make reservations today to take advantage of our great hotel amenities including a seasonal outdoor pool, 24-hour Fitness Center, and complimentary scheduled shuttle service into the historic downtown area. Your Charleston travel plans are not complete without booking a room at the Holiday Inn® Charleston-Riverview.

View Less
Features
Our property offers close proximity to some of the city's greatest attractions and sites such as the Citadel, Charleston Aquarium, and fun beaches. We have the best Charleston hotel deals around!
Announcements
The Holiday Inn Charleston Riverview is now accepting reservations for the 2015 Annual Cooper River Bridge Run. This special event weekend fills quickly! We offer a complimentary hotel shuttle
View More
Announcements
The Holiday Inn Charleston Riverview is now accepting reservations for the 2015 Annual Cooper River Bridge Run. This special event weekend fills quickly! We offer a complimentary hotel shuttle beginning at 5:30am that transports to the corner of Anson St and Calhoun St where our guests can join the City Bridge Run Shuttle. We offer a grab and go breakfast in the lobbly the morning of the race.
View Less

Guest Reviews

Rated 4.0 out of 5 by 338 reviewers.
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Not Impressed Have been to a number of Holiday Inn Express in the past. Have always been pleased. Couldn't get past the long hair on the bathroom floor and the unclean commode. Also, we were placed on the 8th floor, with a view (of the interstate) and the elevator was out for one of 2 days. Not a good experience. August 4, 2013
Rated 2.0 out of 5.0 by Room Comfort The room was damp because the heating and air conditioning system is old and needs to be updated to eliminate humidity. Surely Holiday Inn has enough money to install a new heating and air conditioning system. August 3, 2013
Rated 2.0 out of 5.0 by Not as expected We have stayed at Holiday Inns and Expresses often and in many places, including all of the local Charleston Holiday Inns. We found our experience here quite disappointing. First of all, we came straight from the beach to check in at 4:00. Our room was not ready even though check in time at the hotel is at 3:00. During our check in process we waited patiently as the staff member answered several unrelated phone calls and kept talking to maintenance. Then we were asked to step to the side and wait for our room. It took almost 30 minutes. Finally another staff member told us our room was ready. Our room was nice, however, I had paid to upgrade our room to an Ashley River view. I did not realize there was a parking lot, 4-lane Lockwood Drive and another hotel between us and the river. The bathrooms are small with limited counter space. We will definitely choose another hotel next time. August 2, 2013
Rated 1.0 out of 5.0 by So Many Other Much Better Choices I love Holiday Inn Express. This one not so much. the rooms are not to the standard of the rest of the HIE hotels. I decided not to spend the night here and stay at another downtown Hotel. (I lost my money but moving hotels was worth it) I recommend saving your dough and just book another hotel. August 2, 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Not the best location ..... Not the greatest location in Charleston but if you like walking, the Battery is only 40 minutes away. Well maintained hotel. Braekfast was a zoo but the staff kept the food coming! August 2, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Quick Trip Everything was great. Did not get to eat breakfast. Had to check out before breakfast was served. August 1, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by WONDERFUL Our stay was wonderful! From the clean rooms to the friendly and helpful staff to the yummy breakfast it was wonderful. We will be back in the Fall. See you then. August 1, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great location; great staff; very pleasant stay This is a very convenient location. Although the bldg is not new construction, the rooms and lobby have apparently had an extensive makeover and are very nice. The bathrooms are a little smaller than one usually finds in newer hotels, but plenty big enough. Rooms and beds very comfortable, hotel staff absolutely superb, and breakfast options were also superb. After driving around Charleston, I didn't see any place that I thought would have been better. This Holiday Inn will definitely be at the top of my list if I ever get back to Charleston, SC... and I hope I do! July 30, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great stay for a great value I stayed here for 7 days and was very pleased with my room and the service. I was not impressed with the breakfast choices but can't complain considering it was complementary! July 18, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great service and friendly staff Every staff member I encountered during the four days I stayed there said hello and asked if everything was good. Beds were very comfortable and staff was knowledgeable about the area and seemed glad to help in any way they could. July 18, 2013
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by There is NO view at this hotel The view we had was a abandoned building and some rather shabby houses and businesses along the way, and the balcony that is "walk out" would be if they didn't have the doors sealed shut. Otherwise the hotel was clean and the staff was friendly. I marked my review as I would recommend this property. If you are a business traveler and aren't "hanging out" at the hotel it would be great. It also would not be fair to the staff to knock it like that. They definately made this hotel. July 17, 2013
Rated 1.0 out of 5.0 by Cramped Room and poor quality Holiday Inn leads you to believe that this is a New Property, but in fact it's a remodeled property. Rooms are tiny & cramped and outdated! I was given a gift bag upon checking in recognizing my IHG membership and once in the room checking the bag, the 2 pieces of candy they placed in the bag with the water were just 2 empty wrapers. Someone ate the treats and left the wrapers and they still gave it to me!. Worst Holiday Inn Property I've ever stayed in. July 16, 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Great room with a view only 5 mins from Market St, Charleston We enjoyed our stay at the Holiday Inn. Our River View Room was very comfortable, spacious and clean. The manager was extremely hospitable and went the extra mile to make sure our family had a great stay. One of the staff members recommended Fleet Landing for a great sea food experience and we enjoyed it very much. Also the hotel was conveniently located just 5 min. from the best of Charleston so it worked out perfectly for our short stay. July 14, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Very nice stay. We stayed four nights while visiting our daughter and family. Very good service, and they obtained everything we needed such as a luggage rack and baby crib. There were plenty of choices for breakfast and the egg dishes with meat were varied as well. Great location to get downtown and over the connector to James Island and Folly Beach. The only thing that I had hoped for was a small refrigerator and microwave in the room to keep leftover food from dinners out. We were taking care of our granddaughter overnight, and I also needed some place to store her bottles of milk. There was an area in the lobby with a microwave and a freezer with small food items for purchase. The rooms were small but I was able to use the lobby eating area for a craft project. We like to eat outside, and it was nice to see picnic tables in the back and a table with umbrella out on the front porch. July 13, 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Average stay Because I had a pet I was placed in a handicap room by the desk clerk and I was not liking the the room. Had to speak to a manager to get out of the room and she was accommodating. The first morning breakfast had no meat at all, very disappointed. July 9, 2013
Rated 2.0 out of 5.0 by Comfortable but not convenient We specifically chose this property for 2 reasons: 1) the promise of convenient transportation to historic areas of Charleston; 2) outdoor pool. PROS: Rooms were nicely sized and comfortable. Breakfast was good, though it would have been nice to have more fresh fruit options. The staff was incredible -- very friendly, professional and accommodating. CONS: 1) The pool has no steps, no railing and as such we couldn't use it, with 4 children under the age of 8. 2) The promised convenience of just "hopping" on the trolley is misleading. We arrived 20 minutes prior to the scheduled departure time, and ended up waiting for 45 minutes in the heat (with 4 kids!). I called the trolley line, only to be told that the trolley always runs late b/c it's free transportation. When we finally did get on, it was cramped, smelly and NO a/c. We ended up missing our scheduled carriage tour and had to readjust our entire day. Ended up taking cars and paying for parking each day after that. NOT at all convenient nor cost effective. Knowing what we do now, I would have paid a little more to stay in the historic area and enjoyed the true convenience of walking to points of interest. We were comfortable at the property, but it did not satisfy when considering the 2 main criteria for our selection of the hotel. July 8, 2013
Rated 2.0 out of 5.0 by Over priced the view was of mostly parking lot I wanted a special weekend with my wife and boys during a business trip. We normally choose to stay in a Holiday Inn Express with great success. That wasn't the case this time, our plans changed and we were locked into a room rate, which we were able to have moved to a later time, thank you. We paid extra to see the river view from our balcony, which was about a mile away over an abandoned parking lot or construction to see a glimpse of this river view, it was a waste of the extra cost especially since the balcony window didn't open. The room was small, no counter space in the bathroom, and several outlets didn't work for my Computer. The overall hallways leading to the room were small and cramped, there were beams in the way of the elevator making a luggage dolly a hassle. On all together let down Holiday Inn Express, I expected more especially since your marketing campaign of " I stayed in a Holiday Inn Express last night" The rest of the times I stayed in your hotels they were amazing and lived up to the commercials but Charleston Downtown Ashley River was terrible, service, quality and value all lacked. Even parking was difficult. July 6, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Wonderful Home away from Home The Holiday Inn Express in Charleston Dwtn-Ashley River was a wonderful experience. Upon arrival I was greeted by Chris who is a very friendly gentleman and check us in. I was super impressed by the cleanliness of our room and the facility overall. Kudos to the all of the staff! There was never a time when the staff did not extend a friendly "Hello, How are you doing today." The breakfast was always set up and refilled promptly. Not just your average breakfast...scrabbled eggs, bacon, hot biscuits, yogurt, Orange Juice, cereal, Coffee (available all hours), fresh fruit, cereal....need I say more. Something for everyone. Overall, The swimming pool was wonderful. I can not say enough about our stay. I would stay here again without hesitation. Again KUDOS to the staff and management, keep up the outstanding service!!!! July 4, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great location not far from the waterfront I chose this location for its free parking and did not realize how convenient it was. It is not within walking distance to the waterfront park (unless you don't mind walking a few miles) but there is a free trolley with a stop close by. While there is not a restaurant on premises, the restaurant at the Marriott is within walking distance and has good food. The breakfast was good and fresh items were brought out on a regular basis. The only fruit when I got there were oranges but the hotel was full so I might have missed the bananas. The hotel was nice, comfortable, clean and quiet. I was upgraded to a suite upon arrival and it was spacious. The staff was very friendly and helpful and gave good directions on the surrounding area. I was only there for one night so did not get to use any of the amenities. July 2, 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Good, but the riverview is better I was between this hotel (Ashley River) and the Holiday Inn Riverview (the cylinder shaped one). I chose this one because it included breakfast AND had a shuttle service, while the riverview only had shuttle service (i knew, because i'd stayed there before). well... breakfast was good. lots of healthy options too. BUT. the shuttle was no good. I waited. the concierge told me to keep waiting. noone ever came. I could've walked downtown and back before the taxi (whom i called after getting tired of waiting for the free shuttle) even got to the hotel to get me. good hotel, but for the same price, i'd go to the riverview and get a secure ride downtown when i expect to get one downtown- not 45 minutes later. also, the rooms are teeny tiny. July 1, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Excellent staff and reasonable prices For starters, I had a great experience with the front desk staff. I called the 800 number (bad experience there) and asked for the number to the actual hotel. Once I was speaking to the hotel operator, I was able to speak to someone who knew what they were talking about particular to the property I wanted to stay in. Holly was able to get me in a suite with an adjoining room to accommodate my particular needs. I have twin toddlers that need to be separated out from the parents' bedrooms and Holly was able to get me everything I needed. Once we arrived, we realized we had stayed in this hotel before, but a different company ran it. We did not have fond memories of the last stay, but this one was exactly the opposite. Everything felt clean and new throughout the property. We had nothing but amazing things to say about the styling and layout of the room. The bathroom was amazing and the views were incredible from the 8th floor. The balconies overlooked the pool, so even though it was cloudy, our twins would not rest until we went for a swim. Kudos to whoever made the decision to put the handicapped lift on the side. It isn't in my requirements, but I know there are those that find this mandatory and would definitely be impressed that it was there. We went to a concert that night and came back to find all of the parking spaces were filled. We parked illegally but verified with Brian at the front desk that we were indeed in trouble. He asked us if we tried every nook and cranny of the parking lot for a space, which we had. He graciously moved his own car to give us his space. This is something you don't normally expect. +1 for customer service. We will definitely come back and use this property again. Every bit of it was amazing. Thanks for everything. June 26, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Room I appreciated the laundry room for guests but would be more convenient with multiple machines. The Staff was friendly and helpful. The service was excellent. June 21, 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Small Rooms but great value for area I always stay in Holiday Inn Express hotels, primarily because I always know what I am getting. A newer hotels with clean comfortable rooms and a good breakfast. The Charleston hotel missed that mark in only one area. The hotel was older and had small rooms but for the area, rates were excellent and the room was very nice. The customer service was excellent! I booked the hotel online with a pre-payment (non-refundable) for 3 nights. When I arrived I had a bad case of gout and was unable to stay for the 3rd night. Hotel management was very understanding and refunded the 3rd night. If you are looking for a clean room at a good price in Charleston, don't hesitate to book. If price isn't an object, book one of the hotels in the historic district because of the proximity to shopping and restaurants. The trolley was an experience I would not recommend! June 21, 2013
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Too far from town We thought that the trolley service was going to make travel to downtown easy.. It was not on time, the driver was rude and we tired of it after one day. It would have been helpful if the desk employees could have passed that information along. If anyone thinks that the trolley service is going to make their stay better, it is not!!! The breakfast at the hotel was not as good as it could be.. Eggs were disgusting!! Coffee was good!! Everything else was just so-so. Probably will find somewhere else to stay the next time. June 14, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 Great Experience We really enjoyed our stay. We found the hotel and room lovely, the staff very helpful, and the breakfast huge. We come to Charleston quite often, and will make this our hotel of choice. June 14, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great Experience The staff was always friendly and helpful. I did not have one request that they did not fulfill. Thank you!!!!! The women who were working behind the desk when I checked in went out of their way to make my check in as fast and smoothly as humanly possible. I had a great stay! June 11, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Comfortable with good location & friendly staff The staff was very friendly and accommodating to our needs. Good location, not far from downtown. Nice hot breakfast in the morning with some daily variety. Front desk went out of their way to help us and always had a smile. June 10, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great stay for the money My husband and I stayed here with our two kids (3 year old and 3 month old). This hotel was great! And considering the prices for the other hotels around the area, it was a great value! The room and hotel was very clean and the staff was very friendly and helpful. The breakfast was excellent!!! It was great that it's close to the trolley stop too, since we rode that every day. We will definitely be staying here again in the future. June 10, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Accommodations & Staff were excellent. Staff was very friendly and helpful inall ways! Enjoyed the hot breakfast tremendously! Room was nice & comfortable. June 10, 2013
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Beautiful Facility, Great Staff, Comfy Room We were pleased to stay in a handicap room on the first floor as I need assistance in the bathroom and shower. This room was well set up and easy to maneuver around. Our only problem was the pool party that went on at 2am, the thumping on the floor above us and the knocking on our door. We didn't call the desk, just tried to ignore it. Kids will be kids. On check out I mentioned it to the staff and they were unaware of anything happening. We plan on staying there again later this month and have recommended it friends. June 9, 2013
<<prev 8 9 10 11 12 next>>
Holiday Inn Charleston Riverview at night
Holiday Inn Charleston Riverview at night
Select to close.
Holiday Inn Charleston Riverview at night Charleston Historic Carriage Tours East Battery St Michael's Steeple Middleton Plantation Waterfront Park Boone Hall Plantation Drayton Hall USS Yorktown at the Patriots Point Naval & Maritime Museum. Rainbow Row Hotel Lobby Lobby Lounge Concierge Desk Lobby front desk area. Exterior landscape view of the Holiday Inn Riverview. Hotel entrance. View of the Ashley River Downtown Charleston views from the Holiday Inn Riverview. Views of the Ashley River Bridge from the Holiday Inn Riverview Holiday Inn Charleston Riverview exterior
Select to close.
Terms & Conditions
If you are not already a member, join now.
Earn at least two free nights, 50,000 bonus points or 10,000 miles. Book Now.
Close
Check In
(e.g. Sep-20-2014)
Check Out
(e.g. Sep-21-2014)
Check Availability
Loading