• English  English
    Select to close.
    Current Settings are:
      /  English

    Change Preferences:
    Country / Region of Residence:
    Available Languages:
  • |
  • |
  • |
  • 1 888 HOLIDAY
Select to close.
Select to close.
Email or IHG® Rewards Club # PIN
Not a member?Join Today!
Forgot PIN
All fields are required.
 
If you have forgotten or lost your Personal Identification Number (PIN), we can email your PIN to the email address in your IHG® Rewards Club account profile.
If you do not have an email address in your profile, please contact your local IHG® Rewards Club Customer Care  to source your PIN and to update your profile with your email address. When you receive your PIN you can also update your email address viawww.ihgrewardsclub.com/email.
IHG® Rewards Club # Email Address

Not a member?Join Today!
Create PIN
All fields are required.
IHG® Rewards Club # ZIP/Postal Code
First Name Last Name
Please select a 4 number Personal Identification Number (PIN) which will be used to access your IHG® Rewards Club account.
PIN Verify PIN
 
Not a member?Join Today!
Create Email
All fields are required.
Thank you. Your PIN has been created. Please enter your email address so you can use it to log into the site in the future.
Email Address Verify Email Address
 
Email Hotel Get Directions Add to Favorites Print Fact Sheet

Book this Hotel

Best Price Guarantee
1

Reward Nights
When redeeming points for a Reward Night, you may only book one room at a time.

Once you complete your Reward Night reservation you will be given the option to duplicate this reservation.

(e.g. Jul-14-2014)
(e.g. Jul-15-2014)
Have a Group Code?
Have a Corporate ID?
Check Availability
Processing your request...

* Requires affiliation in the respective organization.

** Best Available Rate Search does not include affiliation rates.

Select to close.

To book more than 9 rooms for one stay or request a quote, please use our Easy Meetings tool, call 1-800-MEETING (in United States, Mexico and Canada) or contact a Global Sales Office.

Close Button
Your Recently Viewed Hotels

About our Hotel

Location: Downtown/City Center

  • Location: Downtown/City Center
  • Closest City: CHARLESTON
  • Distance From Hotel: 2.0MI
  • Local time zone: GMT-04:00

Check In: 4:00 PM Check Out: 11:00 AM

  • Check In: 4:00 PM
  • Check Out: 11:00 AM
  • Minimum check-in age: 21
  • Late checkout available

Credit cards

Credit cards

  • American Express
  • Carte Blanche
  • Diners Club
  • Discover
  • Master Card
  • Visa

Accessibility

Accessibility

  • Number of Rooms:6
  • Parking
  • Service Animals Allowed

Languages

Languages

  1. Spanish
  2. French

Pet Policy

Pet Policy

The Holiday Inn does not accept pets, please accept our apologies. Only service animals as any guide dog, signal dog, or other animal individually trained to provide assistance to an individual with a disability are allowed.

Parking

Parking

  • Number of parking spaces:232
  • Car Parking Available
  • Complimentary parking is provided for our registered guests. Space available for Buses and RV's. No RV connections.

Internet

Standard Internet Service

Standard Internet service is free for all guests
Wireless Internet available in Standard Rooms,Executive Rooms,Suites,Business Center,Public Areas

Facility

Facility

  • Hotel renovated inFebruary 01, 2012
  • Total number of rooms:178
  • Total number of suites:3
  • Total number of non-smoking rooms:178
  • Total number of rooms for the physically challenged:6
  • Interior corridor
  • Total number of floors:14
  • FEMA Property Number:SC0020

Stay Your Way at the Holiday Inn® Charleston-Riverview

This amazing Charleston, SC hotel's location is perfect for business and leisure travelers looking for lodging near some of the city's best attractions, restaurants, and shopping. Whether you are looking for long days on the beach, exciting nightlife, or beautiful historic sites our hotel allows you to stay your way.

Leisure travelers enjoy the many Charleston hotel deals that our property has to offer including our close proximity
View More

Stay Your Way at the Holiday Inn® Charleston-Riverview

This amazing Charleston, SC hotel's location is perfect for business and leisure travelers looking for lodging near some of the city's best attractions, restaurants, and shopping. Whether you are looking for long days on the beach, exciting nightlife, or beautiful historic sites our hotel allows you to stay your way.

Leisure travelers enjoy the many Charleston hotel deals that our property has to offer including our close proximity to many area attractions such as the Charleston Aquarium, Fort Sumter, Hunley Museum, and three of South Carolina's best beaches. After a long day of visiting Charleston return to the hotel for a relaxing dinner at our newly renovated restaurant.

Located just a few miles from CHS Airport our Charleston, SC hotel's location is perfect for business travelers looking to move in and out of the city with ease. These guests also enjoy the convenience of our 24-hour Business Center with free Internet access and 780-sq ft meeting room as well as our newly renovated Fitness Center that allows them to stay in shape while they are away from home.

Make reservations today to take advantage of our great hotel amenities including a seasonal outdoor pool, 24-hour Fitness Center, and complimentary scheduled shuttle service into the historic downtown area. Your Charleston travel plans are not complete without booking a room at the Holiday Inn® Charleston-Riverview.

View Less
Features
Our property offers close proximity to some of the city's greatest attractions and sites such as the Citadel, Charleston Aquarium, and fun beaches. We have the best Charleston hotel deals around!
Announcements
The Holiday Inn Charleston Riverview is now accepting reservations for the 2015 Annual Cooper River Bridge Run. This special event weekend fills quickly! We offer a complimentary hotel shuttle
View More
Announcements
The Holiday Inn Charleston Riverview is now accepting reservations for the 2015 Annual Cooper River Bridge Run. This special event weekend fills quickly! We offer a complimentary hotel shuttle beginning at 5:30am that transports to the corner of Anson St and Calhoun St where our guests can join the City Bridge Run Shuttle. We offer a grab and go breakfast in the lobbly the morning of the race.
View Less

Guest Reviews

Rated 4.0 out of 5 by 285 reviewers.
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by bed service is good the bed is so good pillow is soft and nice service is good people at front dask is frendly July 3, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by HOLIDAY INN EXPRESS ASHLEY RIVER, S.C. HolidayInn was very beautiful, clean, comfortable bed, excellent service, rooms were basically soundproof, pool was clean, and breakfast nice to start your day. The free trolley was a short walk outside of the hotel and perfect to get to Downtown Historic Charleston. I would stay here again. July 3, 2014
Rated 2.0 out of 5.0 by Overall value Absolutely the worst value per dollar I have ever experienced at a Holiday Inn Express. The hotel is in a terrible part of town, with nothing at all, nearby. I had a king room which was without doubt the smallest room I have ever stayed in. For the money I paid , I could have stayed a lot closer to civilization. The breakfast area was overcrowded and the food left a lot to be desired. Thank goodness for your cinnamon rolls. If I have any more experiences like this, I will reconsider the benefits of being a Priority Club member July 3, 2014
Rated 2.0 out of 5.0 by Unfortunately, I was disappointed I stayed in two rooms during my three night stay. One room ( King bed) had a very loud and inefficient air conditioner. The vents in the unit were such that cold air blew directly on the person in lying closest to the unit. Additionally, the lighting in the bathroom was dim. The second room (Two Queen beds) was larger and more comfortable until I noticed a pile of toenail clippings on the rug by the sliding glass door. From that point on, I questioned how clean the room was and did not feel at ease. I do not think I will return and I would not give this hotel the 3 star rating that I saw online. July 2, 2014
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Good and clean, but poor breakfast The hotel is comfortable and relatively new, although I am not a big fun of green carpets and curtains. Unfortunately at 9am there was no food left for breakfast and empty trays were not replaced at all. So I ended up having to get breakfast from a bakery in town....! July 2, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Awesome place. This was a very nice place. Comfortable beds nice rooms. Trolley was convenient never had to drive anywhere . The staff was so friendly and helpful, always a smile. The breakfast was very good and the cinnamon rolls were to die for! Would definitely stay again. July 2, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Comfortable bed. I loved the colors and decoration style, cleanness, and specially hospitality details such fruit availability for most part of the day. I would have loved longer hours for breakfast. July 2, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Awesome Service and Very comfortable beds We stayed here while my daughter was at MUSC having surgery. The staff was very helpful and friendly and the breakfast was delicious. The beds were the most comfortable beds we had ever had in a hotel and when my daughter was discharged she was able to rest well in the beds. July 1, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great place for a fair price! We have stayed at this hotel several times over the years and it always seems to get better! Our room this stay was on the 8th floor overlooking the river. It was clean and comfortable. The breakfast was great as usual! It's a little tricky to see as you drive up so keep your eyes open. ;-) Also, the parking lot can get very full pretty quick. If there is one thing wrong with this hotel, its the parking situation. July 1, 2014
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Little less than typical HIE Little less than typical HIE, especially for the money. June 30, 2014
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Hotel has major maintenance issues This hotel is OLD! We rented two rooms for us and our family that was coming into town. We were disappointed and embarrassed that the condition of the hotel was subpar. Our AC unit was not working when we arrived, and staff had to replace the entire unit the second day we were there. Then the new unit leaked water all over the floor near the unit. Our door also had no strike plate and didn't look very secure..we asked that it be replaced and it never was. Also, the door to the balcony was falling apart and the handle came completely off. Then the shower handle broke off in my granddaughters hand in the other room. To top that off, the staff brought my son in law a screwdriver so he could fix it himself? That is unacceptable...he was there on vacation, not to fix their hotel. Its clear that they have spruced the place up on the surface, it was clean and the beds were comfortable. But the whole place needs maintenance. June 30, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Good Job Holiday Inn Express Two friends and I spent the night here while on vacation in June and it was just what we were looking for. Comfy beds. And a great time swimming. June 27, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great Stay We stayed at this Holiday Inn Express while in route to Florida. Nathan Hamric and his staff were wonderful! Very friendly and extremely helpful. The room was clean, comfortable, and very quiet. Breakfast was great! We enjoyed our visit and would recommend this hotel to anyone. June 27, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by convienient location Great room except for air conditioning unit. Strange one with controls that were odd and unchangeable. On and off cycle with water draining noise. Right next to bed. June 27, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by The bed was so comfortable, I never wanted to get up. The stay was wonderful. The only complaint I would have would be the loudness of the air conditioning unit when it turned on, however, it was not loud enough to wake me. We will definitely be back. Great value. Chris at the Service Counter was always helpful. Dining staff were always cleaning and very courteous. June 26, 2014
Rated 1.0 out of 5.0 by staff your staff was not very helpfully.Shannon did not help me at all.i am in customer service and the customer come first. I think the staff could of helped me more I was 4 days short of the discounted rate and there could not give me the discounted rate,i did not want something for free.we had 50 people booked rooms with you and you couldn't go that extra mile for me. June 26, 2014
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Comfortable bed noisy air conditioner 1. The bed was very comfortable-enjoyed it. 2. The room itself was much smaller than expected, very disappointing for an Holiday Inn Express. 3. There was no refrigerator or Microwave oven in the room. 4. The air conditioner was sort of an antique, very loud when running, creating an unpleasant competition between hearing and watching television or being comfortable. 5. The staff was very friendly and accommodating as much as they could. 6. I have paid much less for a much better quality stay at many Holiday Inn Expresses. June 26, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great place to stay in Charleston Great place to stay while visiting Charleston. Location is excellent for getting around to all the sights. RACHEL was especially accommodating in getting us in and recommending places to go and places to eat. MIKE was friendly about asking how our stay was and making conversation when we were checking out. We really felt welcome at this hotel. Well Done!!! June 25, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Good location Great location. Was unhappy about the "occupancy tax" applied to my bill. Other than that, I have no complaints. June 25, 2014
Rated 2.0 out of 5.0 by Gold Rewards Member Disappointed I wholeheartedly agree with all of the points made by Steven I. As a person who knows what Holiday Inn Express should be, I was disappointed. I stay at them all over the country, and have achieved Gold status in my rewards membership. If you are not used to the standards of the Holiday Inn Express, then you will likely find this place just fine. But the main disappointments are that the rooms are ridiculously small by comparison. The air conditioning unit was woefully in need of service. All through the night and the next morning everything had a damp and wet feel to it. The breakfast bar was extremely crowded and poorly kept up with. The facility and rooms were acceptably clean and tidy, and the staff seemed very friendly, but that's about the best I could say for the property. Because of where it is located in the city scape, do not imagine that you will easily stroll to anything. However, everything is a very short taxi or shuttle service ride. June 24, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Lage ok Die Lage des Hotels war ok, sehr vorteilhaft war daß die Trolley direkt vor dem Hotel gehalten hat, somit konnte man kostenlos nach Charleston fahren. Das Hotel selbst ist ok, das Personal war sehr nett und hilfsbereit wie in fast allen Holiday Inn`s. June 24, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Comfortable bed and great service Totally satisfied with our stay...i had some medical procedures performed @ MUSC June 20, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great Room and Breakfast We were very pleased with our stay. Very nice room and a great breakfast. Easy access to downtown. June 18, 2014
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by leisure vacation would not come back, rooms small, breakfast too crowded, too far away from historic district June 16, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Convenient to beautiful Charleston and MUSC Thoroughly enjoyed my stay at this Holiday Inn Express. Staff is lovely, very efficient, knowledgeable and helpful in every way! June 12, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great Stay!!! This is a great hotel in a wonderful area, surrounded by TONS of history! As usual, the breakfast is THE BEST! June 12, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Bachelorette Weekend This was a great hotel, but was a little far from downtown. You will have to taxi to and from the downtown area. Overall it was a nice, clean hotel and the staff was extremely friendly! June 11, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Nice Staff - Good Location This hotel was in a convenient location relative to to downtown Charleston w/ out the full downtown price - the included breakfast was passable and added to the value - the staff was all very friendly and attentive - I would stay here again in a heartbeat June 11, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Great service This hotel was clean. The hallways felt dated, but the room was generally clean. I thought the towels were not great, but towels seem to be that way in all hotels now. The common areas were very clean, and the breakfast was an added bonus. The best thing about this hotel was the staff. We made a booking mistake online and showed up at the location (Holiday Inn Meeting St./ Historic District) we originally booked. Due to our mistake, there was not a single room available. But the staff immediately contacted the Ashley River location and booked us a room. Once we arrived at the Ashley River location, the staff could not have been more accommodating. Great service! Also, despite what people say, you can walk to some restaurants and other sights from the Ashley Street location. We easily walked to Hominy Grill. The location is not as far away from the city center as it seems. June 5, 2014
Rated 1.0 out of 5.0 Good location and beds, but poor service - old building Staying in Charleston, SC can be expensive and while this hotel is not the cheapest, you still don't get what you paid for. My advice, skip this hotel and invest in a better hotel. Pros: Comfy bed and pillows, location Cons: Dark and tiny bathrooms, unfriendly breakfast staff and cleaning staff, cleaning staff forgot to completely close our room door, so anybody could have entered, luckily we came to our room in the afternoon instead of the evening as planned, chaotic breakfast June 4, 2014
<<prev2 3 4 5 ... 11 next>>
Holiday Inn Charleston Riverview at night
Holiday Inn Charleston Riverview at night
Select to close.
Holiday Inn Charleston Riverview at night East Battery Charleston Historic Carriage Tours USS Yorktown at the Patriots Point Naval & Maritime Museum. Boone Hall Plantation Middleton Plantation St Michael's Steeple Rainbow Row Drayton Hall Waterfront Park Hotel Lobby Lobby Lounge Concierge Desk Lobby front desk area. Exterior landscape view of the Holiday Inn Riverview. Hotel entrance. View of the Ashley River Downtown Charleston views from the Holiday Inn Riverview. Views of the Ashley River Bridge from the Holiday Inn Riverview Holiday Inn Charleston Riverview exterior
Select to close.
Terms & Conditions
Click here to earn up to 5,000 bonus points or 1,000 bonus points every night.
Close
Check In
(e.g. Jul-14-2014)
Check Out
(e.g. Jul-15-2014)
Check Availability
Loading